Mitsubishi Mirage on display at Mid Valley Megamall

As previously reported, the Mitsubishi Mirage made its first public showing today at Mid Valley Megamall and is open for booking – here are live pics of the car as promised.

There are two Mirages on display, both top-of-the-range GS variants, but one is kitted out in Aero and Chrome accessory packages (pictured above), giving it a subtle bodykit, side window deflectors, scuff plates and chrome trim on the fog lamps, front bumper and tailgate. This car also has the optional leather seats and Ralliart fuel lid cover, while the other car is a standard GS (interior pictured below).

The GS-variant Mirage is up for RM64,000, OTR without insurance, with the optional accessories costing as follows – Aero package RM1,999.90, Chrome package RM750, Ralliart fuel lid cover RM150 and leather seats RM1,500.

Also on display at the Centre Court up until this Sunday are the ASX and Lancer Sportback models – why not visit and see the cars for yourself? Meanwhile, you can read the full Mirage brochure and specifications here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• koochai on Oct 10, 2012 at 4:48 pm

“Ralliart fuel lid cover RM150″…oh really?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • confused on Oct 11, 2012 at 9:54 am

It provide some aero features.. Not just a typical lid that you get from Kedai Abang..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • I have a railliart fuel lid that increases the engine HP. You want or not? RM500.

• WOW AERO feature!! I want to know moree
        LOL
        XD!!

• _xXx_ on Oct 11, 2012 at 3:08 pm

It’s not even a lid, it’s just a metal sticker!
      But are buyers forced to buy? NO! Unlike….

• ramun on Oct 11, 2012 at 5:07 pm

… from a ceased business segment. Then how come they still can produce the lid? rebagde is it?

http://ralliart.com/10topics/100310.html

Or it was designed 20 years ago?

• comrade on Oct 10, 2012 at 4:49 pm

maybe go there on weekend to see it myself…from the pic the interior kinda nice..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • blackBJQ on Oct 10, 2012 at 4:51 pm

very very mild..no more cyborg.. :(

• Alpha on Oct 10, 2012 at 9:28 pm

True that,bro.

To people who don’t know,the Mirage is the original JDM name for our Proton Satria (which back in Japan,the highest specs Mirage is called the Mirage Cyborg) and Proton Putra (Mirage Asti).

Any Satria/Putra racerboys gonna trade in their rides for this new Mirage?? I doubt so.

• taboogen on Oct 10, 2012 at 4:56 pm

I can see saga FLX SE front skirt, myvi head lamp, and very cheap looking Stereo. And for 64k++.. I can just close my eyes and order dugong if I have to…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 18
    • Julian Lee on Oct 10, 2012 at 8:54 pm

that is a kenwood stereo lah dugong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • taboogen on Oct 11, 2012 at 8:49 am

do i ever care if it is kenwood or plywood..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
        • Julian Lee on Oct 12, 2012 at 6:44 pm

didn’t know you so stupid, kenwood and plywood also dono to differenciate. go back to sekolah rendah minum your tebu-vitagen lah

• koochai on Oct 11, 2012 at 4:00 pm

so what if it is kenwood/sony/jvc/panasonic/pioneer. they’re all living in past glory…..

• ckd master on Oct 10, 2012 at 4:57 pm

Next copycat to viva or kancil design….malaysia boleh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
  • Mitsubishi don’t really have good reputation even in Japan. Shouldn’t sell so expensive. On par with Koreans at best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
    • whitefox on Oct 10, 2012 at 6:16 pm

blame our duty which raise the price… thailand was selling half price of here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
    • blablabla on Oct 10, 2012 at 6:35 pm

Are you sure? So your telling me the EVO doesnt have a good reputation in Japan?

• Nippang on Oct 11, 2012 at 8:55 am

bro, remember not all people like to buy evo lol.. Only enthusiast n got extra a bit money that buy the evo.. Better they buying those lancer..

• paparazi on Oct 11, 2012 at 10:22 am

64K OTR without insurance!?
      is like pay RM15 to buy a Gardenia White Bread.
      You think so freakin easy to earn money now a day?
      pricey small(cc) car!

• peYno on Oct 14, 2012 at 3:50 am

gomen needs to protect our 2nd national compact car maker perodua myvi and viva.. they price up mirage.. if price more less same as viva, myvi…

• reputation wise.. how does mitsubishi compare to suzuki?

• yoyoan on Oct 10, 2012 at 5:43 pm

el cheapo car selling at premium price…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • Severe Tyre Damage on Oct 10, 2012 at 5:45 pm

Gearknob is not fitted as standard? This car looks cheap with shitty build quality. Malaysians get conned with carmakers with unnecessary mark-up car accessories that we can fit it ourselves, eg stereo, bodykits, tinting, leather seats, rims etc. You could get a brand new Suzuki Swift for RM 65k!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • commenter on Oct 10, 2012 at 8:49 pm

i guess gearknob must cost a bomb..that’s why they took it out, so they can offer this car at a ‘reasonable’ price..

• Josh Ling on Oct 10, 2012 at 11:23 pm

it’s normal for the dealers to take out the gear knob of a new car on display lah, come on, apparently you have not seen enough new cars to notice it…..

• Severe Tyre Damage on Oct 11, 2012 at 3:15 pm

I do, on recond second hand cars at Naza world and not on brand new ones. Who would want to show their car to a potential buyer or public with an incomplete product?

• ckd master on Oct 10, 2012 at 5:47 pm

now japanese car like plastic material on dashboard…. only waiting timing for plastic seats in future

• Why the interior look so ugly & boring???
    The LCD screen looks like cut & paste job which is really of low quality.

• Mozilla Chrome on Oct 10, 2012 at 5:48 pm

Sorry but it looks like car from 90’s era.

• ben yap on Oct 10, 2012 at 6:06 pm

anytime i rather grab a persona or top up RM10K for a Forte baseline.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
  • not worth for money this one..fugly summore

• Better just save the money and get the myvi se

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
  • SMK SAS on Oct 10, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Next…when can we see the launch of the Sonic? asap & affordable pls.

• dugong puaka on Oct 10, 2012 at 7:27 pm

Just use my old wira rather than buy this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • slimershine on Oct 10, 2012 at 8:06 pm

the fuel cap is worst than s.neo.. not worthy..

• seancorr on Oct 10, 2012 at 8:31 pm

I can see Mitsu trying to get some sales from other competitors since they really do not have anything in the small segment that sips little fuel so this is their offering.

It does have some stuff that its competitors do not have at that price range but seriously it does not hurt to include audio controls on the steering right…?

• Syazwan on Oct 10, 2012 at 8:37 pm

ugly.. sorry

• It really, should be within the RM 30- 4OK range.

• interior is too small.Outlook nothing special.Car this size of cos la can achieve 21km/l
    For 64k not worth it.

• Syazwan on Oct 10, 2012 at 10:29 pm

Ugly. Seriously

• who say the interior is cheap? aircon vents look exactly like the premium 100k prius c!!!

• Roxas on Oct 10, 2012 at 11:11 pm

zzz..the new i10 feels more premium with better quality and great design in and out . this 1 is so cheap looking

• bro john on Oct 10, 2012 at 11:37 pm

hm…myvi looks better than tis one. sumore wif 60k u can get a 1.5 lagi best. but for sure, mesti ada org beli pasal brand Mitsubishi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • ahmadfaris93 on Oct 11, 2012 at 5:59 am

RalliArt fuel lid makes your car go faster weh. Hahahahaha. Anyways, this car is expensive in my opinion since it is relatively small compared to the MyVi. This would be an interesting competition against the base model of the Suzuki Swift. The question now is, does Chevrolet has the balls to bring in the Sonic and keep the price competitive to this since it cant match the Ford Fiesta in term of engine power.

• tis car sure must be expensive than myvi.
    r u think our BN will let foreign car maker jeopardize p2 car sales ?

• alto back, prius c front. LOL

• Put this car beside Alto almost identical 70%, althought the interioer is far superior. MMM failed on pricing again, should offer under 55K to grab the i10 and alto market as cheaper CBU K car. That market quite a number of buyers especially in Klang Valley where the need low cost daily transportation but still looking at foreign brand.

• confused on Oct 11, 2012 at 9:59 am

Compare this to the new Viva 2013 (based on Ayla), P2 will be definitely better…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Julian Lee on Oct 12, 2012 at 6:40 pm

how you know better? in the 1st place all toyota and daihatsu cars suck, and berokdua is all their leftover junk. Of course I would recomends BMW cars, they has quality

• peYno on Oct 14, 2012 at 3:57 am

daihatsu Alya.??. they are producing in Indonesia la.. Indonesia will be hub small car for Daihatsu.,. bye2 la perodua malaysia.. hahaha

• matlimmutu on Oct 11, 2012 at 12:12 pm

design so boring, nothing special.. thumbs down!!

• what i can see in this car is P2’s car alike. Nothing more special or new…… please learn from Toyota to ensure your sales. the whole world dis following Toyota

• Queen on Oct 11, 2012 at 4:37 pm

If Vios was a dugong, the Mirage is a deformed Pig

• NoIdea on Oct 11, 2012 at 5:58 pm

look like proton Savvy remake..

Why ‘porn engineer’ fail to make savvy better look is because they never employ realistic / talented but for political/family ego savvy, it was for malaysian & now only for ‘malang malaysian’ to buy.

proud for your commitment kami un…….to long to proud

• DArkerMarker on Oct 11, 2012 at 8:38 pm

yucks……..ugly car…Wont buy it even given discount

• johnny english II on Oct 12, 2012 at 11:06 am

Another small car with big price tag. Thanks to the govt of Tanah Boleh.

• spyshotX on Oct 12, 2012 at 11:35 am

i think MMM not making marketing study enough for introducing this mirage to bolehland.. in thai & indon yes this car sells like hot cake due to its eco car status.. the fuel price sentiment over there also play a role in boosting the sales..

but here in bolehland, with fuel price still cheap i think eco & hybrid cars still have a long way to go to.. the market sentiment on fuel price and environment are not there yet.. well, maybe someday they will when the gov decide to pull back on the fuel subsidy and tighter regulation on emission..

• Anti-climax after viewing the car. Better go for i10, Viva or Alto. Maybe Myvi may also fit your pocket in this segment.

• jeanloo on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:34 am

On the road without insurance ? Usually when u put OTR price it is with insurance, that is why it is called on the road. Means you can drive on the road already.

• Moherfucker on Nov 08, 2012 at 8:21 pm

Ugly like shit

• Bn go down, let pkr governs,everything including car price will be fine

• Without tax only rm47k for full spac ok what, rm40k for manual.. Like2, jual satria neo beli morage