Toyota recalls 7.43 mil vehicles over faulty window switches, UMW Toyota issues service campaign note

Toyota has announced a recall on 7.43 million vehicles globally over an issue with a faulty power-window switch. According to reports, it’s the largest single recall since 1996, when Ford pulled back eight million vehicles to replace defective ignition switches.

The voluntary recall aims to fix issues with the power-window switch on the driver’s side on a variety of models. The company said that in affected vehicles, grease wasn’t applied evenly during production, causing it to carbonise and lose its lubricating properties, resulting in a “notchy” or sticky feel during operation.

Toyota says that if someone tries to fix this problem by applying commercially available grease, it may cause friction in the switch and the possibility of smoke to be emitted from the malfunctioning part as well as that of fire. The fix involves putting a special fluorine heat-resistant lubricant on the switches, or exchanging them.

In a statement Toyota filed with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), it said it received the first field report indicating a problem in September 2008, citing an unusual smell coming from the power-window switch as well as heat damage. The part was returned to the supplier for examination, but cause for the issue could not be determined.

In May 2010, more reports popped up, this time with the controls smoking. An internal investigation revealed sticky driver-side switches made by Japanese supplier Tokai Rika and Tram, its American subsidiary, Toyota said. Aside from the US and Japanese-made parts, similar defective components were also manufactured in Thailand and China, the company added.

The recall includes 2.47 million vehicles in the US, as well as 1.40 million vehicles in China and 1.39 million vehicles in Europe, while in Japan 459,300 vehicles are affected. In Asia and Australia, the figure is 650,000.

The models being recalled include certain models of the Yaris, Vios, Corolla, Matrix, Auris, Camry, RAV4, Highlander, Tundra, Sequoia, xB and xD produced between 2005 and 2010.

Meanwhile, UMW Toyota Motor has issued an announcement that it is conducting a “special service campaign” to address the same issue here. The company says that a total of 63,083 Toyota vehicles it has sold in Malaysia are involved in the exercise.

The vehicles affected are Camry, Corolla Altis, Vios, RAV 4 and Yaris models produced between 2006 to 2010. As soon as the improved parts are available, UMW Toyota Motor will contact all affected customers for the special service campaign to carry out the necessary corrective measures, with the procedure process expected to take approximately one hour.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• vee-oh on Oct 11, 2012 at 11:25 am

the toyota way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
    • toyota way?cmne tu???
      Muahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
      • Jimmy on Oct 11, 2012 at 5:53 pm

Is this a page for Mercedes?
        Oop sorry, mistaken.

• History Teacher on Oct 12, 2012 at 4:21 pm

No idea why everyone is saying Toyota has honour to make this recall. They have honour because they were caught with their pants down by the US authorites. In actual fact Toyota also was in so much denial and lies until the US authorities came down hard on them 3 years ago. So, don’t feel proud thinking Toyota has so much honour making this recall. They are doing this because they are scared stiff of being clamped down again. Do a Google search and read about their lies in the US. the US government got so fed up and decided to nail them good. Malaysians forget fast.

The Japanese are not that honest. Just like the recent nuclear leak in Fukushima, at first there were just denials and when the world clamp down on them, they started to admit the huge nuclear disaster they have ie even bigger than Chernobyl.

So to all the Japanese fanboys who are picking on Korean cars, look at yourself first before talking about others. The Japanese also pandai tipu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
        • alldisc on Oct 13, 2012 at 11:13 am

japanese are humans. you dont think malaysians tak pandai tipu??

ha ha ha… car ownership in malaysia was claimed as the lowest in region. true, manipulation or just a lie?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Toyota Problematic Company on Oct 11, 2012 at 3:05 pm

With all the countless of recalls and scandals, I have no idea why people even bother to buy Toyota. Besides your house, the second most important thing you buy is your car. You want to take that big gamble and buy from a company that has so much scandals and recalls? Yes, all other car companies has had recalls but not to the extent and amount that Toyota has. Furthermore, when the new Camry comes with no VSC, purposely taken out to cut cost and compromise the safety of buyers, people still want to trust Toyota?

For a company that is so big and rich to give premium cars in Malaysia without VSC, I think consumers must wake up and see the light.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 17
      • macroman on Oct 11, 2012 at 3:49 pm

buat kena, tak buat atau nga tau kena.. apaan deh. Susah juga servix org2 malaysia nih. No wonder la, most of the time, org diam2 biarkan aja. Tk bikin, tk bising, biarkan whole community POT-PIT-POT online. Bila bikin… aduhhhhhh TSUNAMI BEBBBB

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 50
      • Kalun on Oct 11, 2012 at 4:52 pm

With countless years of owning a Proton or perodua, not a single recall is announce and most of the customers suffer badly with bad quality control products. How about Kia and Hyundai? Back in the 2000′ those 2 companies don’t even bother to recall any cars until they reach US market. The Road Safety are very strict. If there are problem on multiple cars, the government will notice the manufaturer to recall all the cars. If not, lawsuit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
      • Sam Loo on Oct 11, 2012 at 6:14 pm

Honesty is the best policy.

No point hiding, like the Koreans

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 24
    • carazy on Oct 12, 2012 at 11:32 am

maybe some ppl call its brilliants or OK to car manufacture produce faulty product to the customer that can cause fatalities as worse as death. its your choice, because so many internet user praise it unfortunately, for me is is g good social obligation to recall faulty products. but its sill unwise to release some products and let it live for 6-7 years that not save and can kill a life..

• nazri on Oct 12, 2012 at 6:05 pm

special service campaign

• carnoisseur on Oct 11, 2012 at 11:27 am

a company who is willing to acknowledge the problems of their products and rectify it is one that people can respect and trust

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 57
    • tungguuu on Oct 11, 2012 at 11:47 am

yeah…then they can have more recalls along the way….u can trust them even more :D

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 18
    • RON97 on Oct 11, 2012 at 11:50 am

Agree.. at least Toyota show some respect to the end user. Proton will never do the same b’coz of their 3rd class mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 51
      • noname on Oct 11, 2012 at 12:53 pm

hahahahaha…
        Hek eleh…7 million cars, this is u call respect to end user. They shud do this long time ago. In this case toyota is worst cmpare to proton. 4th class mentality.tahu kaut untung je..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 35
    • doohhh on Oct 11, 2012 at 1:33 pm

if proton?…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
      • macroman on Oct 11, 2012 at 3:52 pm

if proton: ‘hek elehhhh… pak, this is da best I can do already. I did my best, NO REGRETS! ye sudah, jom tarikkkkkkkk’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • Sam Loo on Oct 11, 2012 at 6:15 pm

Proton and Hyundai/Kia will let the drivers die and claim user problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
      • cosmo on Oct 11, 2012 at 9:41 pm

if proton, they will release a statement like this ” we are producing thousand of cars every minute, we dont even have time to check… u wan us to recall the faulty vehicle somemore?? tak ada masa la boss ” (i actually just quote from their managing director only)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
    • Toyota Problematic Company on Oct 11, 2012 at 3:00 pm

Toyota salesman trying to cover things up. Really low life lah the salesmen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 15
    • this guy definitely bought a toyota, as long as he’s happy

• lokpi on Oct 12, 2012 at 9:41 am

kalau proton panggil 1 biji kereta untuk baiki power window, lu agak ada orang cakap mcm ni ka “respect to the owner”?? atau ” whata hell?? proton”

• Normal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Duakalilima on Oct 11, 2012 at 12:41 pm

hahahaha…what a shame!
      Toyota recall their cars due to power windows??? Hahahahah hahahahahah HAHAHAHAHAHA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 15
      • Well, it’s better than those that had that problem and their solution to it is deny Deny and DENY!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
        • "great_job" on Oct 11, 2012 at 4:14 pm

better u said? u must be toyota fanboy kikikiki..
          mana ada lagi baik bhai..sama je..
          even lagi teruk..sbb production since 2005 baru nak recall? apa nihhh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
          • LOL no, I actually hate Toyota very much. But these kind of practice is a good practice that the automotive industry SHOULD be practicing. Admit fault and repair it and not let the customer go cover it themselves.

Give credit where credit is due.

• . . . . . on Oct 11, 2012 at 4:48 pm

atleast Proton covered it up with life time warranty…rather than model that is out for 4 to 5 years then recall..hahaha

• My friend, I am not referring to windows related stuff only (and it’s certainly not limited to Proton). :)

• like your proton power window never spoilt before? if not now, should be very soon ady bro… next time whenever u pass thru toll booth, dont open the door, use the window :p

• big deal. just use smarttag.

i always find it funny when people drive well beyond 120km/h but still have to Q at the toll in the end. don’t block the lane people..smarttag user’s coming through.

• kekuda on Oct 12, 2012 at 9:34 am

So Toyota also has power window problem?!!! Hahahaah new information! Please everybody take note!

• cuba klu proton yg buat..kita tgk apa org komen ;p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
    • ae101 on Oct 11, 2012 at 12:27 pm

proton car very good quality la. where got announcement of recall one. you go tell them problem and they will tell you proton ma. wat you expect?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 8
    • kat97 on Oct 11, 2012 at 12:41 pm

Proton takkan buat apa-apa. Bumbung berkarat disebabkan oleh silikon diaorang pakai pun macam tu jugak. Tak recall pun. Korang-korang lepas 7 thaun pun recall jugak. Bagusnyer. Tapi I bukan fan toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
      • lopui on Oct 11, 2012 at 6:41 pm

proton cars? no shit
        when i complaint engine, they reply :aiya 60K macam ni la…apa lagi mau? :O

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • Fiction of power window will cause smoke and fire? Nah, must be joking, i had a fictioned and not functioning power windows(all 4windows) in my proton for 5years(4years back), nothing happen. Toyota is just targetting Proton user to switch to Toyota, those who send their vehicle to rectify that issue probably park their car there for half day, nothing done and everything work fine. Because that was just part of the marketing strategy, and imagine all the ‘responsible credit’ they will get?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 33
    • kuriang on Oct 11, 2012 at 12:32 pm

110% agree

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • ben yap on Oct 11, 2012 at 12:48 pm

What are you talking about? How in the world toyota target proton customers? this is global recall and not only malaysia. also those park their cars in Toyota are toyota owners, not those protons. If they want to switch the users, they’ll market it that their windows are perfect condition and will run for decades to come.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • matlimmutu on Oct 11, 2012 at 11:56 am

my proton saga almost 9 years power window still ok, never got problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 10
    • Just me on Oct 11, 2012 at 1:58 pm

Sure lah, because you open the door when collecting parking ticket or paying toll. Only proton owner open door instead of window, I was one of them last time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 25
      • adijb on Oct 11, 2012 at 2:16 pm

I am a proton iswara owner, bought brand new in 1999. I always use the power window to wind down and up because I prefer outside air compared to aircond, unless raining or simply too hot. I never open the door to collect parking tickets.

My 13 years old iswara’s original power window is still working just fine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
        • macroman on Oct 11, 2012 at 3:56 pm

jeles nya aku, sebb proton window kau tu masi work… hmm mm mmmmmmmm jeles

• I know proton power window is not perfect.. but to stress “Only proton owner open door instead of window..” that’s too much… I have seen several other brand drivers open their windows at toll booth (people will think, they just tinted their windows coz it is not proton)..and I even know few of my acquaintances with faulty power window (honda and kia)..tp aku slalu tgk org yg tak guna proton bila ada rosak camni senyap je sbb malu nk mengaku..tp bila proton yg rosak, kita kasi tahu satu dunia la..from just a proud GEN2 owner.

• alldisc on Oct 13, 2012 at 11:20 am

hey.. i do that with my 2011 Jaguar. ha ha ha.. got so used to open the doors laa.. after 8 yrs driving waja.

• Agreed. The company some more help to cover up. I once saw a new Honda City broke down at Hosp Taiping. I saw Honda mechanics came with Freed to repair bcoz the car wont run. Good thing is they willing to go to that extend for their customer, bad thing is thats why we did not hear any faulty complaint. Owner + company both feel shame..

• I think it was purposely done…and then now showing that they are responsible company, by doing free replacement. That’s call business politic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • gtmaniac on Oct 11, 2012 at 12:26 pm

Will Toyota offer lifetime warranty for power windows after this?..hehehehe.. sorry.. couldnt resist.

• Chong on Oct 11, 2012 at 12:36 pm

As usual, Malaysia carmaker or local car assemble is unreliable! DRBHICOM, UMW, SIME, NAZA and ….. they got no quality control. Price is higher than what you deserve!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 55
    • cikubi on Oct 11, 2012 at 1:08 pm

haiya chong..lu takda baca betui2 ma…
      They said globally..so it mainly due to toyota. Lain kali baca dulu sblm komen mengarut

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Jilbaber on Oct 11, 2012 at 12:39 pm

what car is that in the first picture ? why not bring it here, best replacement for Unser..

• Nobody on Oct 11, 2012 at 1:15 pm

Dear Paultan,

Firstly sorry for my comment, but I think that some of the info in your article is contradicted to the official release from TMC website. Your article states that “The company said that in affected vehicles, grease wasn’t applied evenly during production, causing friction in the switch and the possibility of smoke to be emitted from the malfunctioning part.”

Meanwhile, the official statements says that melting of the switch assembly or smoke could occur and lead to a fire under some circumstances IF the owner do apply the commercially available lubricant himself, without using the special fluorine grease from Toyota.

Seems that somebody has already misunderstood the facts, and I hope that you can recheck your article. Thanks.

http://pressroom.toyota.com/releases/toyota+voluntary+safety+oct10.htm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 11, 2012 at 1:54 pm

Apologies for that, was working off news reports, which indicated it as such. Have appended a full explanation of the issue and its remedy in the story. Thanks for the nod.

• Wow..this could mean something fishy..”melting, smoking and lead to fire..IF..not using Toyota grease”..other grease not good meh? Or that part actually put any grease also will not solve? Just said la ” Toyota need to replace that faulty part because if not, that part will burn”..easier but a bit harsh maybe..

• confused on Oct 11, 2012 at 1:23 pm

Toyota is trolling.

The effect of the friction is seriously… trolling..

• Bataraguru on Oct 11, 2012 at 1:27 pm

Ade ke mana2 qc yg akan check sesebuah kereta utk jgkamasa 7 tahun?b***sh*t.

• No to Japanese Car on Oct 11, 2012 at 1:40 pm

Poor Japanese…

• slimershine on Oct 11, 2012 at 1:46 pm

hahaha.. many toyota buyer keep quiet about their power window failure.. but a single proton buyer will kepoh satu kampung when their power window fail.. what a shame..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
    • faisal on Oct 11, 2012 at 2:00 pm

Biasala.Sesetengah rakyat Malaysia mana pernah percaya kemampuan anak tempatan. Luar negara semua terbaik. Bila pakai baru tau tapi still tak nak mengaku.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • oko028 on Oct 11, 2012 at 4:10 pm

Because most of Toyota fans have the mentality of “Toyota makes the best car in the world” their egotism makes them ignore all problem…

I’m agree Toyota is good but everything has their pros and cons…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • EnsemGuy on Oct 11, 2012 at 4:45 pm

Toyota doesn’t make the best car in the world.
        Toyota just makes the most reliable car in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
        • Troll yo duck on Oct 11, 2012 at 6:31 pm

unless you meant reliable = recall.. then i totally agree with u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • Sam Loo on Oct 11, 2012 at 10:24 pm

Proton’s power window has been problematic since the 1st Saga rolled out in 1985. How come no recall?

• Sam from The Loo on Oct 12, 2012 at 8:59 am

1st Saga in 1985 got power window?

U sure or nooootttt…

• lappa on Oct 12, 2012 at 9:18 am

because it doesn’t occur any serious accidents like the toyota one that can occur fire

• slimershine on Oct 11, 2012 at 1:52 pm

before this the border line between toyota and proton is power window failure.. now the border line is gone leaving proton and toyota is equal.

• Toyolta on Oct 11, 2012 at 1:54 pm

lol car produced at 2005? seriously? now is at the end of 2012.. why recall so late??

• according to sam loo…all owners already sold off their cars in the 1st 2 yrs. so this recall is pointless to the original buyer and only benefits the 2nd hand user.

• faisal on Oct 11, 2012 at 2:02 pm

Toyota pun dah tiru Proton repair power windows. Amazing.Terkezut. Hee

• when toyota owner window fail, he diam diam go n repair. malu ma…toyota quality how can fail???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • hafiz arsyad on Oct 11, 2012 at 2:16 pm

my vios 2005 also no single problem about powerwindows.. lul;z

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • Troll yo duck on Oct 11, 2012 at 5:25 pm

maybe you already mistaken the smoke coming out from the window is from your cigarette..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • EnsemGuy on Oct 11, 2012 at 7:35 pm

There is no smoke la. Please read the article carefully before bashing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Do you detect any element of ‘business politic’ here? Toyota purposely do this to ensure people keep on talking about the brand. When people running to volkswagen, toyota come out with this ‘recall’. At least currents toyota users come to toyota showroom (and thinking of upgrading the brand, from vios to altis etc). That’s business strategy. I can detect that.

• Fantastico on Oct 11, 2012 at 2:24 pm

The power window isn’t malfunction or
    The recall isn’t about the failure or malfunction of the power window. Toyota’s power window almost never fail. The recall is just to fix the notchy or sticky feels during operation. It’s not like Proton’s famous power window problems. That shows how generous Toyota (not UMW) are. And please differentiate TMC and UMW, okay..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 21
    • malay on Oct 11, 2012 at 6:15 pm

damn.. those dislike.. dislike his comment does not mean toyota will go down.. all plotong supporter here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • Dah Biasalah, Inilah barulah TOYOTA, a lot of Ah pek suka sokong TOYOTA, like in Sabah, lack of power, expensive, old technology, ah pek interior, may be all these outdated disadvantage is ah pek choice, muakkak, TOYOTA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • NamNam on Oct 11, 2012 at 2:53 pm

IS toyota airbag made in china? i m damn worrying now…

• someone on Oct 11, 2012 at 3:36 pm

special service campaign? y not frankly tell people is a recall?

• This is called a responsible action taken by a car manufacturer. Everyone knows recalling cars by a manufacturer is all about incurring expensive cost not a matter of being proud or gimmick as some shallow thinking people put it. it is rather a reputation to promote safety awareness and customer satisfaction.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • Troll yo duck on Oct 11, 2012 at 5:15 pm

recall increase customer satisfaction? who enjoy getting their car sent to repair..besides, it also shows that the manufacturers got QC problems. If my car keep on getting waves of recall I am more piss off than satisfied. They should have done it right in the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Frust on Oct 11, 2012 at 10:06 pm

I am not a toyota fan and i don’t own one either but I think recalling exercise is a good supportive front, least they dare to acknowledge and identify the problem to promote quality usage and customer satisfaction even if it means a hassle. Unlike our national cars simply sweep them away pretending everything is ok. My perodua viva is facing blurdy annoying underhood noise after three weeks from delivery. Complaint so many many times to SC and and even wrote to the HQ. They had made “intelligent” identification pointing it to the fault of the brake caliper, replaced it three times already enjoyed the noise free only for three weeks then persisted again. I gave up totally and now i am like driving a piece of drumming noise junk car. They can’t fixed the blurdy problem and only can tell me many vivas are facing with the same issue. What do they expect a returning customer like myself, i lose faith in them.

• Of course recalling cars with problems is a good thing.

However in Malaysia it’s different. When Toyota or Honda recall cars, it responsible and for customer satisfaction.

But when Proton recalls cars suddenly its a sign of inferior product by Proton.
      Why not the other way around?

Double standard & such a biased stand by Malaysians who always like to condemn local product.

• Biasak la..most of the Proton owners are Malays..Malays way of giving supportive comments are by bashing hard (this is truely Malays style)..Toyoti & Hondi owners mostly Chinese..they always keep silence of their weaknesses among themselve and fully support their people works..(sorry, not mean to put racist remarks but this is the truth about Malay Dilemma)..

• sudonano on Oct 11, 2012 at 5:06 pm

First time UMW is recalling. Shocking. SO till then what do we do? Not use power window?

• Troll yo duck on Oct 11, 2012 at 6:28 pm

i believe you can seek advices from proton owners

• alldisc on Oct 13, 2012 at 7:29 pm

Umw has been practising recall since many eyars back, even before the USA crisis that caused them the No.1 spot in sales.

It is known as Special Service Campaign, and it is an ongoing campaign between UMW and its customers – no point advertising, they use direct mailer/call/SMS.

• When pay toll, use door, not pull down window..hahaha..like you never do before plak..most importantly..DONT PUT OTHER BRAND GREASE except brand Toyota..

• alldisc on Oct 17, 2012 at 1:13 pm

UMW banyak buat recall lah, but communications between them and Toyota owners.

Vios ada 3-4 recall action. just checking saja, to prevent incident from happening.

• Extrimist on Oct 11, 2012 at 5:18 pm

10 largest auto recalls in history:

1. Ford, 2009: 14++ million units (Cruise-control switch spontaneous combustion)
    2. Ford, 1996: 7.9 million units (Faulty ignition switch)
    3. GM, 1971: 6.7 million units (Engine-mount failure)
    4. Toyota, 2010: 6.67 million units (Unintended acceleratio)
    5. GM, 1981: 5.82 million units (Rear-suspension bolt failure)
    6. Ford, 1972: 4.07 million units (Seatbelts fraying and detaching)
    7. GM, 1973: 3.71 million units (Stone-guard assembly)
    8. Honda, 1995: 3.7 million units (Faulty seatbelt buckle)
    9. Volkswagen, 1972: 3.7 million units (Loose windshield wipers)
    10. GM, 2004: 3.66 million units (Tailgate cable failure)

• alex chan on Oct 11, 2012 at 5:38 pm

100. Proton : None..everything is perfecto..no complaint from user at all, all user are VERY VERY happy!..see hoe perfect is proton.No recall. means customer are very happy and cars is PERFECT condition…hahaha

• Sam Loo on Oct 11, 2012 at 6:19 pm

No. one from Bottom

1) Proton 1995-2012 – zero recalls despite 100% failure in power window within 2 years, zero recalls on any other failures on any car parts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • yea yea yea on Oct 12, 2012 at 8:52 am

stupid ppl will always be stupid

proton did make a recall for the clock spring problem in the steering wheel for neo and gen2 iirc

as i said b4, stupid ppl will always be stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • No to Japanese Car on Oct 12, 2012 at 2:33 pm

Smart ppl talking .. Please listen guys…

Poor Vios onwer…

• alex chan on Oct 11, 2012 at 5:35 pm

VERY GOOD move by toyota, shows their respect to customer ma..thats why resale value always very top..and thats why many people who cant afford prestigious toyota brand keep on barking due to jelesy ma…
    not like those cow cart owner (proton) pity them..haha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
    • Im driving a peugeot, too poor to afford a toyota vios, its bloody nice la, can use until end of the world, maybe can upgrade another model when the 1x FL version come out again :)

• omgimaretard on Oct 12, 2012 at 10:17 am

HAHAHAHAH TOYOTA PRESTIGIOUS… HAHAHA i’ve heard it all now…

• At least toyota saids globally, proton? not even sell well globally, And proton don’t even dare to recalls at its own country.. LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • malay on Oct 11, 2012 at 6:14 pm

And those who reply at the top with malay wording, semua korg pakai proton ke? LOL. butthurt much..

• No to Japanese Car on Oct 12, 2012 at 2:32 pm

What is so great about Toyota ? Overpriced and Old technology….

Poor Vios onwer…

• rear light on Oct 11, 2012 at 7:12 pm

power window problem? hahaha…hahaha…hahaha…

• does it affect gray-market toyotas too like alphard and estima?

• DArkerMarker on Oct 11, 2012 at 8:35 pm

my proton power window kong just after 1 year. hardy use it too.

Sent to Servis centre, mechanic says power window failure is a “”standard”” failure among proton.

WTF??

• Brader_4G on Oct 11, 2012 at 8:39 pm

IMHO this is the best ever new marketing strategy ever made by any car maker in the world. why spend millions every year on advertisement & marketing promotion when you can build better brand reputation by doing massive recall. this is more tangible way to show appreciation to all toyota owner around the globe!

• Moving foward….Toyota maaa……hahahahahahaha

• Sam Loo on Oct 11, 2012 at 10:26 pm

VW DSG defect but never recall. Is this called negative CSR?

• NISSpengAN on Oct 11, 2012 at 10:51 pm

nissan is the best!!!

• I think some people just misunderstood the meaning of ‘life-time’ warranty and it should meant a guarantee on the lifetime of the product on the market rather than the lifetime of the consumer.
    Meaning that if the standard ‘life/age’ for a power window is defined as 15 years, then it will be warranted within this 15 years. However, if it’s spoiled on 16th year, there is no more warranty on it since it’s is already over its standard age.

• Proton Spageti on Oct 12, 2012 at 8:57 am

Proton’s power window lifetime warranty T&C:

1. The Lifetime Warranty is defined as ten (10) years of a customer’s vehicle age or 250,000km from the car registration date (whichever comes first).
      2. The warranty is subject to full compliance of the recommended periodical service maintenance as specified in the Service Booklet to be conducted at any authorised PROTON service centre.
      3. Any Proton car model that is registered before 31 August 2011 and is still under the manufacturer’s warranty will require a valid Power Window System Warranty Registration.
      4. The Power Window Lifetime Warranty covers only four (4) components of the power window mechanism; run channel, power window motor, door regulator and power window switch.
      5. Power Window Lifetime Warranty is claimable at all authorised PROTON service centres.

• jazzed on Oct 12, 2012 at 1:03 am

Same as honda jazz cvt. Why there is no recall. They only recall thing that effects safety. Why bother to recall if it is not dangerous.

• Proton Spageti on Oct 12, 2012 at 8:54 am

Recalls from Proton:

Jack Assembly: Exora manufactured April 2009 to January 2011
    Radiator fan: Exora manufactured August 2010 to April 2011
    Clock Spring: Satria 2004 – 2008, Gen2 2004 – 2008

http://www.protonaftersales.com/radiatordefault.aspx

• Proton Spageti on Oct 12, 2012 at 9:54 am

Some of HONDA’s recall (Product update campaign) in Malaysia:

Stream: manufactured from 2008 to 2010 (water pump pulley bolts)
    Civic: 2006 year-model (YM) – 2008YM (oil leakage from the power steering feed hose)
    City: 2006YM-2007YM (power window master switch)
    Jazz: 2005YM-2007YM (power window master switch)

• Kalun on Oct 12, 2012 at 2:08 pm

If toyota have alot of recall problems, why the resell value still high?

• Because a lot of money people said Toyota is good..willing to pay more for a car that on-par with Protong quality now..

• hippo on Oct 12, 2012 at 2:58 pm

I have been driving toyota for some time and i feel the quality and reliability is there. It’s great that they admit issue and does a recall.

• nasib baik dia recall…love my vios

• Sam Loo on Oct 12, 2012 at 5:10 pm

The big difference between the Japs and Koreans is that Japs will admit their mistake and move forward.

Koreans will sweep everthing under the carpet

• hahah i donno whats wrong with u la bro.. why u always jealous of korean? they never annoy u isn’t it? or u the one who cant accept the fact that now toyota got problem? shame on u la sam loo..

• Sam oii…read the articles carefully laa..this problem existed since 2007..but their QA/QC been sleeping until 2012 to detect the issue..I said sleeping because you wont believe that they trying to cover it under carpet, dont you..

• alldisc on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:30 pm

bro, kalau barang keluar kilang tahun 2007, sepanjang 5 tahun pertama itu digunakan utnuk menilai serius atau tidak. sekiranya sebelum ini ada claim barang rosak, tapi katakan dalam 1 juta, cuma ada 10,000 claim, peratusannya terlalu kecil. habis kuat, toyota akan feedback pada supplier untuk improve produk dan toyota/supplier tanggung kerugian pada tuntutan waranti. katakan dalam 1 juta keta, ada 500,000 defect, baru akan dilakukan recall kerana kebarangkaliannya terlalu tinggi dan berisiko untuk dibiarkan.

• Dr Mamak on Oct 12, 2012 at 5:24 pm

Hey potong, my wira faulty power window how??

• leolai on Oct 13, 2012 at 8:17 am

Maybe he is toyota salesman, or fans of toyota supporter