KL MRT: temporary realignment of Jln Bkt Bintang

Some MRT-related news, and if you use Jalan Bukit Bintang regularly, you’ll want to take note. MRT Corp says that to facilitate construction works for the KL Mass Rapid Transit system, a stretch of the road, between Jalan Bukit Bintang/Jalan Sultan Ismail junction and Jalan Bulan 1, off Jalan Bukit Bintang, will be realigned for 16 months, beginning from October 15.

The temporary realignment is necessary for the construction of the MRT Bukit Bintang station. The works will not result in any lane reductions, as three lanes will be maintained at the work area.

Safety barriers, hoardings and traffic cones will be installed at the work site to ensure road users and pedestrians are pre-warned of on-going works, and an Emergency Response Team (ERT) is on standby 24 hours a day in the area, ensuring immediate response in case a motor accident occurs.

The ERT is equipped with the proper equipment to deal with road accidents, and will act as a temporary response team while the proper authorities are called in to address the situation.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Great. That’s my daily route home.

I thought the station was to be part of BB plaza or something? Not some stand alone station. oh well.

• carl zafran on Oct 13, 2012 at 7:55 am

i heard that BB plaza owner n tenants hav dealt an agreement with MRT corp for them not to move out off the building. so, instead of the mrt station underneath bb plaza, it will be built under that jln bkt bintang..

• alex chan on Oct 12, 2012 at 12:13 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 122
    • alex for pm on Oct 12, 2012 at 1:30 pm

im not a bn supporter, you seem like a guy who can run this country easily.. i vote you for pm…dont just talk about whats smart and what’s not

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 6
    • Anwar Al-Juburi on Oct 12, 2012 at 1:53 pm

How is this project waste rakyat money?? tell me pls… PR fans so SMART…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 18
    • Simon Templer@ Seman Tempe on Oct 12, 2012 at 2:24 pm

Hello ,Smart Alex ! what are you tokong about ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
    • Look at the long term value of it. this allows a more efficient public transport facility which:

a) lessen the traffic in KL
      b) reduce carbon emission
      c) lessen the burden of RAKYAT to move about and find a cheap parking space in the heart of KL.

and THAT my friend, is not a waste of taxpayer’s and RAKYAT’s money; which funnily/ironically is what PR has been promoting, to IMPROVE public transportation.

Again, this baffles me as to how does a ‘temporary alignment of jalan bukit bintang’ can easily be politicized. so after this, lampu jalan tak ‘ON’ or rumput tak potong pun nak politicized jugak?? Come on!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
      • sean zx-10 on Oct 16, 2012 at 5:34 pm

I have a question for you to answer..opens to others too.. This new MRT is quite a long stretch . 3 lines railway , 150km. MRT line 1 is with 31 STATIONS. MRT Line 2 and 3 with more stations…So how long my ass should be in the LRT?

have u guys ever thought of that? is that attractive to malaysians? Journey from Kelana Jaya station to KLCC station is already like a tunnel of boredom. Furthermore when the LRT is packed with people at peak hours..bau hangit, masam, busuk…oh my God..imagine with that smell and cramped through 31 STATIONS…hahahaha…asnwer me guys

• Henry Ford the XII on Oct 17, 2012 at 10:27 am

I heard (and hope it is true) that they are going to ‘segmentize’ each line.

Taking Kelana Jaya line as an example, they may want to divide into 3 segments:-
          1) Kelana Jaya – KL Sentral
          2) KL Sentral – Ampang Park
          3) Ampang Park – Gombak

So say you wanna get to KLCC from Gombak, you will embark at Ampang Park (Segment No.3) and take another train to KLCC (Segment No.2)

In addition, train frequency for Segment 2 can be maintained high at all time while those for Segment 1 and 3 can be reduced during non-peak hours (hence reducing the OPEX)

I hope the relevant authorities are clever enough to note this :)

• nice thinking on Dec 06, 2012 at 11:05 am

nice thinking, the sungai buloh kajang line should have 2 segments if i’m not wrong. segment 1 consists of the entire line and segment 2 covers the stations close-to and within KL city center (such as all underground stations)

• Bujang Lapuk on Oct 26, 2012 at 11:27 pm

Sean, your backside will be on the train till you make it to your stop. It will be packed eventually, mainly because the MRT line goes through some of the most highly populated suburbs of KL.

Since you don’t seem to like the idea of taking public transport, and I quote

“packed with people at peak hours..bau hangit, masam, busuk…oh my God..imagine with that smell and cramped through 31 STATIONS”

, you should be happy! The roads will be slightly less congested when it’s fully operational. More space on the road! It’s win-win!

• hello on Oct 12, 2012 at 4:22 pm

no public transport,complain. Giving public transport, complain.

Is death the only solution for you?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
    • troll on Oct 12, 2012 at 7:55 pm

so what is your smart thinking?… give public transport complain, no give complain .facepalm

• micsx on Oct 12, 2012 at 1:15 pm

after lagi best then now lagi jam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • Come on Alex, this has nothing to do with politics. Road closure is inevitable for mrt underground construction, niot only malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Cikut on Oct 12, 2012 at 3:06 pm

Agree with u bro! Totally don’t understand on why some ppl loves to relate everthing to politic. Wake up man! It is just infomation on re-alignment of road due to a construction work. Announce pun salah… if tak announce pun salah….

P/S – I am not belong or in favor of any political party. Next election will be my first vote! Anyhow, I find that the above info very useful for me as I am working in KL area.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Bujang Lapuk on Oct 12, 2012 at 3:10 pm

A real demonstration of intelligence there Alex.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • gangully on Oct 12, 2012 at 5:14 pm

alex must be the owner of that private jet that the PR people used to fly to East Malaysia… he got jet mah… no need to drive… so why you complaining alex?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • this is a good move for rakyat

• alex chan on Oct 12, 2012 at 5:29 pm

we PR members must object any BN project..its clearly show that cronies will get benefit…this oso will make cronies more richer..all tax payer monies go to cronies..waste of money!..see how stupid the BN gov are…PR is 10000x better mah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 44
  • tokmoh on Oct 12, 2012 at 5:54 pm

Ah, some news about public transport. Nice.

Paul Tan should cover more news about this. As #1 malaysian car site, the writers can help campaign benefits of public transport.

Just read today’s The Star written by a Negeri Sembilan prince. He starts with a quote:

A MAYOR of Bogota is reported to have said: “A developed country is not a place where the poor have cars. It’s where the rich use public transportation.”

Come on Malaysians, impress me. I know it’s a difficult chicken and egg situation, but if we sacrifice a little bit, the govt will definitely cave in to pressure to improve public transport. We have to make the govt know that we are willing to sacrifice car for public transport if it’s convenient, reliable and efficient.

People like alex chan makes me want to vote Badawi back as PM so that he can raise petrol price to RM50 per litre. As if the current ultra traffic jam is not depressing enough to get people off their cars. Stop being spoilt and start behaving like a developed country.

http://thestar.com.my/columnists/story.asp?file=/2012/10/12/columnists/roamingbeyondthefence/12159518&sec=roamingbeyondthefence

• Henry Ford the XII on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:12 am

Well said Tokmoh and Mayor of Bogota (of Colombia?)

Am looking forward for a reliable, efficient and comprehensive public transport system.

Am looking forward where i can use my car only for weekends jaunts (hence owning a car for such purpose i.e. a sports coupe/hot hatch rather than a boring small sedan :))

Am looking forward to reduce my carbon footprint (so that my children, grandchildrean and great-grandchildren can live in a less polluted world)

Am looking forward to reduce my consumption of depleting fossil fuel (so that my children, grandchildrean and great-grandchildren can live in a world where energy resources are still available and affordable)

Is it too much to ask?

• Bujang Lapuk on Oct 26, 2012 at 11:29 pm

“Am looking forward where i can use my car only for weekends jaunts (hence owning a car for such purpose i.e. a sports coupe/hot hatch rather than a boring small sedan :) )”

Hah! What a day-brightener!

• kickers on Oct 12, 2012 at 7:04 pm

Lucky you still can use the realigned route, suruh jalan kaki mau ka ? Takmau kan ? Its not that you cant use the route at alll

• napster on Oct 12, 2012 at 7:44 pm

Well at least they inform us on when there is a traffic impact. Some people are just always out there to politicize things. If this is a waste of taxpayer’s money, then you are a waste of oxygen and space Alex.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Good, atleast, the much needed work on MRT is starting. The same work also need to start at Petaling Street. Just because of small numbers of land owner who refused to compromise, the whole cannot start & now they’re facing with compulsory evacuation according to law.

When this types of facilities will benefit thousands others, we should atleast compromise and consider others. There will be time in the future when other people will compromise for our benefit. What goes around will come around. Good things we give to other people, by God’s will, good things will come back to us.

• Well iam a victim of the whole mrt thing. They had me move out from Jalan inai(near imbi). I have sympathy with the petaling street people because the way MRT corp compensates you is by having your land & building valued and paying you like wise.

However the final say is with their own land valuer value-er? So my office was a bungalow 200 meters across ritz Carlton (near Audi showroom) where we got offers previously for 8-12 million. The gov valuer only quoted 4mill which is ridiculous and also we got it for 3.6 mil back in 2004. For such a prime location it was peanuts. The reason being the valuer method of calculation was to use the last transacted sale price in the.area and the last on happened to be in 2006. Nothing to do with. Location.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • napster on Oct 14, 2012 at 11:28 pm

All that means is your property was overvalued to start with. Nobody in the right frame of mind would have paid your intended value. Why didnt you sell when the fat offer came along?

• so are you saying that a landed 17000 sqf 10 mins from pavilion is overpriced?

we didnt accept the offer when it came along because we had no intentions of moving out. simple. dont try to be a smart ass. there are other house who have owned the land in the area since the 80s also being compensated with peanuts.

I know it may sound like us wanting to profit from it in the long run but with 4 million, tell me can you get another bunglow of similar nature in the city? it’s not over priced if you think about it.

• one more thing. you got to take into account what the land will be worth come 2016 when the tun razak exchange/mrt will be ready. it’s pretty much the last residential landed property remaining within the golden triangle apart from the jln stonor area.

put yourself in the shoes of one of the house owners in that area and tell me you won’t feel ripped off.

i’ve got nothing against the mrt. iam all for it but it’s just sad to know how they have gone about acquiring land and they will be the ones to profit off it when the value sky rockets in a couple of years.

• Carl Wong on Oct 14, 2012 at 9:27 pm

FINALLY….

• qosh moreno on Oct 29, 2012 at 6:26 am

now u ppl complaining about the price land in kl especially in d golden triangle. if its not being monopolize by a certain ppl/individuals/community that is not being control since d beginning, these would not happen. this is about what is fact, if politics wouldn’t help then we should protest. most of us knows how to put in words/talk but in real world we are bunch of coward. no need to cluttered/make nonsense in paul’s blog. go out there show that we are satisfied with what is going on but in good behaving manner. there’s so many ways but u guys choose to ignore. we the rakyat have so much to control this instead of choosing who’s fit to rule & we know d answer. why all d fuss… BN or PR is d same. if u give a certain dog such power it will abuse it. it our job to control it. WE ARE THE RAKYAT!

• macai_bn on May 14, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Everything in malaysia is politic. you have no politics in malaysia or good connection then you die lor