EV and its associated tech on show at IGEM 2012

The announcement of the launch of the first public EV charging stations in the country may have been the focus at the EV Pavilion at the 3rd International Greentech & Eco Products Exhibition & Conference Malaysia (IGEM) yesterday, but the display at the end of Hall 1 at the KLCC had other mentionable items.

Aside from the Nissan Leaf and Renault Fluence ZE, the Mitsubishi i-MiEV and Proton’s Exora REEV also shared space on the show floor, and there was even a Renault Kangoo from Singapore – the light utility vehicle from evHUB is a conversion job.

Specs include a 9.25-inch series-wound DC motor, and the drivetrain offers 96.5 hp (72 kW) and 321 Nm of torque at its maximum output current of 1,000 amps. Top speed is 120 km/h, with an operating range of 30 to 50 km utilising a lead acid battery pack, and 100 to 150 km with a LiFE unit.

A number of charger systems were also on call, among them the Greenlots Point, a wall-mounted semi-public charger. The unit is a 16 or 32 ampere Mode 3 IEC 61851 charger, with a single socket and RFID authentication tech. The Singaporean-based company’s charger is one of the two public charging facilities announced, located at Lot 10.

General Electric also had a Level 2 charger on display, its Durastation, as did ABB, which showcased its Terra Charge Post, a unit housing two 50 kW DC outlets running on a CHAdeMo standard. The user interface is simple, with a colour LCD as well as Start/Stop and Emergency buttons.

Also present at the EV Pavilion was Evmal, the enabling provider of national EV charging infrastructure and e-mobility services – the Malaysian company had its myEVkiosk charging station on show at the exhibition.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• GreenGeek on Oct 13, 2012 at 5:58 pm

Wow….it’s interesting to see that there’s already a local company that’s making EV charging station (or are they actually like a provider like this First Energy Networks mentioned in other related earlier article here??) in Malaysia!

In this IT and smartphone era, it’d be good to see if the local EV infra and e-mobility service providers like Evmal are also able to extend features like finding and reserving charging stations via internet or mobile apps etc….convenience to the EV users on the road.

So when can we start seeing some EVs being commercialized on our Malaysian roads soon?? Or should I ask when we will see the charging stations available first??? Hmm….sounds like another chicken-and-egg issue again. haha

Malaysia boleh again!

• I think i saw a nissan leaf otr near dataran merdeka yestrday. Or maybe i’m wrong.

Anyway, if the automaker and gov want to make ev really hit the market, they should make an affordable ev, gov reduce ev tax.

And for us, we should know how ev can benefit to our life. Park and charge for hours is not practical at all. Unless they can make like 5 min fully charge.

How much the cost for servicing is important. Normal service and major, how long the battery can last, how much its cost for the battery.

More charging station will open when more people need it. And more ev otr as long as ev give more benefit on practicality and our pocket.

• GreenGreek on Oct 15, 2012 at 6:31 am

Yes, the OEMs should make the EV models more affordable …just by singing a ‘green’ tune and making the charging infra available is not enough.
      I still believe that there’s bigger opportunity for the plug-in hybrid with motor drivetrain first, before we see ful-EV models deployment. I understand that OEMs like Nissan, Tesla & Renault are betting straight on full-EV models only, whereas other makers like Toyota, GM/Chevy, Ford and Honda are mainly betting on plug-in hybrid. Let’s let the dice roll…

• FYI, there is no EV Tax in Malaysia..

About charging, the objective of public charging facilities are more towards ‘Opportunity Charging’ or known as ‘top-up charging’ instead of filling up battery to full charge. The practical means to do that is at home during overnight charging and not at the public charging station. :-)

• sean zx-10 on Oct 14, 2012 at 12:14 pm

who is this Evmal? never knew that our local have come out with malaysian made ev charging station. so our beloved G..no more delays on this EV unless you are waiting for Proton. hahahah…better recognize and help this malaysia company..dont let it be like that pendrive inventor. sold to taiwan coz our G did not give supports.

• pen driven on Oct 14, 2012 at 1:22 pm

I believe that pen drive inventor is a singaporean, not a Malaysian. And he refused to sell the right for a hefty sum of money to a giant multinational. He set up his own co. Due to lack of capital and insufficient advert exposure, he didnt reaping much money out of it. Only after the patent expired, did pen drive tech took of (widely used). By then its too late already for him.

• sean zx-10 on Oct 14, 2012 at 6:45 pm

true or not…if singaporean why did he came up front page of our news ?

• Bujang Lapuk on Oct 14, 2012 at 10:19 pm

Claims must be substantiated, and I’m willing to listen

• pen driven on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:39 am

This is not the orig article I read a while back but here is one that should provide the prove..

http://m.theage.com.au/technology/technology-news/thumbdrive-inventor-out-to-prove-he-is-no-onehit-wonder-20101214-18wjm.html

• sean zx-10 on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:17 am

yeah right! http://me-viewingtheworld.blogspot.com/2011/05/guy-who-invented-pendrive-humble-guy.html

• Keong WH on Oct 14, 2012 at 1:26 pm

I was at the fair last Saturday for the IGEM exhibition in KLCC Convention Center. I happen to have the chance to speak to one of the Software Engineers from Syntronic who developed the charging station on that day. He really seem to know a lot about the technicalities of EV Charging inside out! It’s indeed a rare phenomenon and heartening to know that M’sia still have bright, knowledgeable and skillful engineers one such as he is!

From what I have gathered from their brochure, it appears that the myEVKiosk is actually fusion of expertise between Stagno, Syntronic and Hager, although they also incorporated technology from Intel and Maxis in their charging station.

While the myEVKiosk seem to be able to rival the other charging stations, the chassis of the kiosk could certainly use a sleeker and leaner look on its design, like those of GE, Panasonic and ABB.

Overall, it was still all above my expectation to know that we are catching up with EV technology. It seems like the push for the age of EV has begun! :)

• Wireless charging maybe…less wire

• GreenGeek on Oct 14, 2012 at 3:00 pm

I believe majority of the public still think that the EV chargers are to be installed at places like petrol kiosks and that the EVs should be FULLY charged within 5-10 mins just like the typical amount of time the current petrol heads would spend time topping up the fuel tank.
    I think more public awareness or ‘education’ is needed, especially from the OEMs and gomen, to inform the potential EV users that charging an EV could be quite similar in analogy to charging our mobile phones, i.e we can charge it or ‘top up’ whenever we find the sockets at convenient places where these EV owners would leave or park their vehicles for some time (idle) anyway (like office car parks, malls, hypermarkets, curbside, parks…). You can do your EV charging at home while you go to sleep, just like how you’d leave your phone for overnight charging. And you may not even need to ‘top up’ charging at public chargers during daytime, if you do not drive more than say 80KM daily, then you just recharge when you return home. The ‘refilling concept’ is totally different!

Oh btw, I like the Tesla S…and X…can go up to 300KM per full charge!…can easily go to Ipoh without any recharge. haha

Personally, at least in the short to medium term, EVs especially plug-in hybrids (directions of Honda and Toyota?) are not meant to REPLACE the ICE, but to co-exist to serve or target different market segments, e.g. as a daily city car. If the traffic is more congested, I believe the EV users would even save more….due to regenerative braking?? Correct me if I’m wrong , i was made to understand that EVs could easily save at least 50% in operational cost as compared to an ICE, in terms of energy and regular maintenance cost (due to less components needed in building EVs). I read that most EV OEMs are providing at least 5 years warranty on the EV batteries also.

Hmm…yeah, who is this Evmal? Can’t find their website …same for FEN too…seems like another green start-up in the green industry! haha A quick search on paultan site you can also read previously (during Pak Lah era) a company called Prodis-T seems to be planning to do something similar too, but since has gone silent….is this the right timing again? Hmm…time will tell again??

• GreenGeek on Oct 14, 2012 at 3:12 pm

Wireless charging?? It’s indeed very much desired…not just for EVs but first please make this technology available and affordable for charging my battery-draining smartphones! hehe

If Apple and Samsung alike with already massive market volume don’t even have a business case to make wireless charging possible/affordable on a smartphone which consumes only 1A-2Amps of current, bro, keep praying harder for making it to charge the 13A-32A of current the typical EVs would draw, in the next few years or maybe decade??!! hehe

• The wireless charging or known as ‘inductive charging’ technology is already available. The decision to bring it into Malaysia is purely by the business players. Nothing stop them. It is just that the wired charging is cheaper and practical at the moment. I guess that is the main reason for business consideration. :-)

• sean zx-10 on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:08 am

Installing wireless charging is much much more expensive than wired. the efficiency is not that good. correct me if that isnt true.

• Enhanced Vehicle on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:39 am

Good idea to develop the infra for EV charging, this will help in growing volume for EV…