DRIVEN: Toyota Camry 2.5V Test Drive Report

The Toyota Camry is a car “enthusiasts” love to hate. It’s an uncle car, big and boring, overpriced and underspecced, they say. Rubbish, some might add. For an online reviewer to say that it’s decent would be akin to running across a firing line. Online? Without the scrutiny of active feedback from you, dear readers, papers and car mags can get away with almost anything.

Anyway, we believe there’s a car for everyone, and one that’s not to your personal taste doesn’t make it a bad car. After drving this XV50 Camry 2.5V for few days, not only am I quite fond of it, I now fully understand why the Camry is such a popular car, the default big sedan that racks up sales Koreans dream about in our part of the world.

First, let’s get some niggles out of the way. There’s no Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) available, even on our range topping RM180,900 2.5V. This is either very stingy or a big oversight on Toyota’s part, especially when the previous Camry had it. Needs to be rectified for the facelift, if not sooner.

UPDATE: The Camry 2.0G and 2.5V now come with VSC – click here to read more.

Looks wise, I prefer the quiet elegance of the previous model (pre-facelift was even smoother) than the sharper “more dynamic” lines of this Camry. Could be just me, but it looks a little forced. Perhaps they wanted to incorporate “more Lexus” into the image, but those who prioritise eye-catching design won’t be looking this way, not with the Sonata and Optima in town.

The chiselled new face, dominated by that huge chromed grille, is bolder but a bit fussy, and those LED strips below the fog lamps can’t be anything but an afterthought. There’s more adventure then you’d expect from Toyota’s designers though – there’s an arc that rises from the headlamps, diving down to meet the rising belt line for a signature character stroke.

Another unique cue is the way the car’s sides don’t meld into the front and rear surfaces, and are instead “cut off” quite severely. Toyota calls this “aero corner design” and it helps simplify air flow, aiding aerodynamics along with the discreet “aero stabilising fin” behind the wing mirrors and under-floor covers.

Moving inside, I like the simplicity of this new dashboard. Same amount of functions, via less buttons – a completely opposite approach from the Honda Accord.

Another plus point for me is the rich meter panel, now incorporating a fuel-consumption section (needle for average FC, light bar for instantaneous) and a two-tier trip meter. When the latter shows average FC and range, I rarely need to jog it via the steering buttons. And like most new cars, an ECO light is included to coach your right foot.

It has to be said though that the more spartan feel (“feel” because there are no less functions than before) and plain black plastic on the centre stack do little to add to the impression of luxury, something that the previous car did better. Points are clawed back with the stitched dashboard, stereo knobs with fine cut surfacing and a richly-lined handphone slot below the AC panel.

If wood is a must, then they’ve done all they can to make the cabin look “younger” compared to the previous Camry and the Nissan Teana. The black-beige colour combo is right for me, especially in a car like this. The lighter hue provides an expansive feel, while the contrasting black (dashboard, steering, door caps) adds dynamism. Better than the Teana’s different shades of beige theme, I think.

Let’s not forget the Camry specials. Things like a powered rear blind, manual rear window blinds and shoulder switches give the Camry a touch of limo appeal. The latter is located on the side of the front passenger seat, allowing the driver to adjust that seat electrically without bending over and stretching. Ferrying the family over the weekend, I used it often.

Speaking of limo appeal, rear occupants can really sit back and relax, like a boss. Besides the features above, the Camry’s front passenger headrest can be folded down for a better view.

The rear bench seating position is good (base not too low, seat back angle not too reclined) and there’s plenty of knee and legroom, more than before thanks to reshaped front seat backs and centre console, which houses air vents. The Camry’s exterior dimensions, 2,775 mm wheelbase included, are unchanged, but packaging has been improved to realise better cabin space.

Kit wise, our 2.5V came with niceties like HID projectors (across the range), eight-way powered seats with electric lumbar for the driver, touch-screen DVD-AVN system with USB, AUX, Bluetooth and reverse camera, front and side airbags, plus keyless entry with push start button.

Good stuff, but for the money, I would have liked an anti-glare rear view mirror (current one is a thin, cheap looking unit) and wing mirrors that auto fold along with the keyless entry. There’s also no auto headlamps and wipers.

Much has been said about the rise of the Koreans, who are doing a great job, but this new Camry is proof (or rather reminder) that Toyota really knows how to make a big sedan work. No edgy design or fancy glass roof here, just a very comfortable and effortless cruiser.

The 2AR-FE 2.5-litre engine (Dual VVTi, 181 PS, 231 Nm) is very well insulated and smooth revving, and the way it picks up speed with that strong mid range is impressive.

Same goes for the silky six-speed auto gearbox, which is a good balance between smoothness and speed – changing gears is not so sharp till you feel it, but it does not overlap and slur its way around either. Judgement and perception is very good, which is why I never felt the need to use manual mode.

There’s a slickness and effortlessness to this drivetrain that’s missing in say, a Hyundai Sonata, which is more rough around the edges, and the hushed way the Camry goes about its business should appeal to more in this segment than charismatic nemesis Honda Accord.

The Camry is a smooth operator, which is why I was surprised at the higher than expected vibration at idle, which isn’t in character. Could be an isolated case, but even if not, I reckon that it’s not something that many would notice, only because we’re serial testers.

Some might say that the Camry has always been smooth. True, but it has never been this competent when hustled. The big Toyota is still not a driver’s car, or even as nice to drive hard down a B-road than an Accord, but it doesn’t feel as uncomfortable as before should you insist.

The steering has surprising weight to it, too. Not much feel, but its precision and weight alone makes the Camry a sharper tool than before. Trunk road driving is not a nightmare as many keen drivers would expect – tyres squeal very early on, and there’s quite a bit of roll, but body control is decent.

Ride comfort is good, and the primary high-speed ride isn’t disconcertingly floaty. Road and wind noise are very well insulated, adding to the XV50’s mile munching cruiser appeal. The Camry has always been a smooth operator, but this time around, the dynamics have caught up a little.

Living with it for a few days, I can understand why the Camry is so popular with the conservative buyer. It’s not the most exciting player around (far from it), there are spec (too low) and price (too high) issues, and there’s that image problem with younger folks; but Toyota understands what the bulk of D-segment buyers want, and executes the plan well, on the 2.5V at least.

Of course, there’s also the strong resale value and service network the brand commands, things that are high up the priority list of many car buyers.

I’m pleasantly surprised. The uncle never had it this good.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 1st!

anyways.. not a pretty looking car at all!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 192 Thumb down 173
    • rukawa on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:19 am

“not pretty” is an under statement LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 54
      • Bimmer on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:27 am

Danny, the 2.5 Camry is in the Passat price range already. Can you tell me one good reason why this is a better option compared to Passat, even for an uncle?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 57
        • Let's talk about facts on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:37 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 219
          • Cari fasal on Oct 15, 2012 at 5:50 pm

neither toyota or VW is premium brand.
            but u can see nowadays VW build quality is far superior then older days..
            also VW entry brand SKODA is getting stronger presence worldwide..
            u can see VW CC interior/build its far greater can Camry..
            go see/feel..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 55
          • Both r around RM180k,Passat is boring but Camry is ugly…both r not premium brands but VW performance,safety features and interior r expensive than T,both r premium brands in M’sia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 49
          • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 12:17 am

Passat Dasboard rattles. Is this good quality by your standards?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 43
          • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 1:10 am

Camry is better buy than Passat.
            Was shocked earlier today test drive the Audi A4 1.8T.
            Yes bit extra $$ than Camry/Passat.
            Shocking truth it is among best car i test.
            Power and luxury.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 69
          • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 1:50 am

You must be joking. If Passat is overpriced, then what is the Camry?! The Camry is more expensive than the Passat by 10K, but has fewer safety features, lower tech across the board has poorer fuel economy, and is slower in acceleration despite having a considerably bigger engine. And it is easily the ugliest and poorest designed D class car in the entire Malaysian market. And to the other person, the Passat’s dashboard does not rattle…in fact build quality greatly exceeds Japanese cars and the styling is much more classy, well thought out and understatedly elegant. Only those with tastes leaning towards yellow tints in their hair, and neon lighting under their cars, would think that the monstrosity that passes for the Camry looks better than the Passat…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 64
        • Expatriate VN on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:49 am

– The 2nd value for T is better than VW!
          – The uncle perceived the status of the T car is higher than VW.
          – The T brand is well established, especially Camry in the market.
          – For car, status is not necessary associated with the latest tech for engine, tech or features offer by the car!

Now, at least I give you 4, not 1 as demanded by you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 135
          • Cari fasal on Oct 15, 2012 at 5:47 pm

Wrong…
            over the years VW’s price has steady in Malaysia..

for example…
            a 2.4L (2005) Camry now is only RM65K where when purchase back then was around RM150K…
            and a 2L (2005) Golf GTI now is only RM120K where when purchase back then was around RM199K…

so go figure..
            and anyway a Conti will always be superior then the Jap/Kor…
            unless u purchase the LEXUS for Jap luxury then thats different story

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 52
          • ESP PREVENTS DEATHS on Oct 15, 2012 at 6:13 pm

You dare to buy from a company that purposely omits a basic safety feature just to save costs and reap higher profits at the expense of endangering your life? Today’s Camry buyers are all informed buyers and no more the Ah Pek. The newer generation and the Y Generation know about and appreciate safety features such as ESP, ABS, VSC etc etc. These are all basic features that save lives. What happens when the 2018 Camry comes with no seat belts (just to save costs), will you buy it? Sometimes, its not all about resale value and branding, its about principles. If a company has no principles and cut costs at the expense of your life, do you want to trust that company?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 157 Thumb down 25
          • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 12:18 am

Selling price is not the trade in price. Try trading in a 2009 Golf. You’ll be lucky if you can even get RM120k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 23
          • tanpa nama on Oct 16, 2012 at 12:58 am

i think thats why he said Golf GTI.. not GOLF.. wow.. so many keyboard warrior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 38
        • TooDumb! on Oct 15, 2012 at 12:41 pm

1. a bigger engine, and being a NA, it will be much smoother.
          2. the current Passat is plagued with the same DSG problem as the Golf/Polo/Jetta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 73
          • Jonathan Lee on Oct 15, 2012 at 2:15 pm

No, I wouldn’t buy the Camry, either. Yes, the Passat is a touch down on power (160PS versus 181 for the Toyota) but it has more torque (250Nm, 19Nm more than the Camry), more of the time. It should also be more economical, thanks to the seven-speed DSG, rather than a six-speed auto. It’s better looking, both inside and out, better built and has more kit.

And the best thing is, people won’t think you’re 52 and a contractor.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 51
          • Jonathan Lee on Oct 15, 2012 at 2:15 pm

And what did you actually mean by the “DSG problem”?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 41
          • Stealth on Oct 15, 2012 at 4:57 pm

@Jonathan Lee. You can’t just look at the number of speed in a car. If everyone think like you, we will see 10 speed cars on our road today. You can watch a very good explanation here http://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=relmfu&v=bc5wIKGnC0k. I also don’t think Passat is qualified to be a better looking car than Camry. Both are equally Uncle for me. In fact I think Passat looks much more Uncle to me, IMO. DSG problem? Google will come out pages and pages of DSG issues plus the recent recall. You can’t deny that no doubt torque are higher in Passat and give you a good acceleration feel but being an Uncle car, Camry took a good route of giving big NA engine which is far smoother, quieter and easy maintenance..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 48
          • Cari fasal on Oct 15, 2012 at 5:53 pm

the VW mostly has problem with their 7 speed DSG..
            so u dont want problem/minimize problem STICK TO 6 SPEED DSG…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 19
          • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 1:49 am

1.8 A4 dont use DSG/S Tronic.
            So its reliable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 55
          • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 7:38 pm

Fake fella only talks about Audi

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
          • Jonathan Lee on Oct 18, 2012 at 1:40 pm

It is generally accepted that the higher the top ratio of a transmission, the more efficiently the car can use its fuel. To ensure a car doesn’t end up being sluggish because of its high gearing, new transmissions have more speeds than ever before (ZF’s eight-speed auto, for example, is currently used by many manufacturers such as BMW, Audi and Jaguar). It’s the same reason mountain bikes have 21 gears: to efficiently manage power so that you use as little energy as possible. The only problem with car transmissions is that the more ratios you add, the heavier and more complicated the transmission becomes, which is why you don’t see cars with 10-speed gearboxes yet.

As for DSGs, yes, there are some problems because of the complexity, but I think the benefits (faster shift times most of the time, higher efficiency compared to automatic gearboxes) outweigh some of the drawbacks. Besides, if it were as unreliable as you allude it to be, I don’t think VW, a manufacturer renowned for its quality and reliability, would have stuck with the DSG for so long.

P.S. I think a lot of the problems stem from owners putting standard automatic transmission fluid (ATF) into their DSGs, when they in fact require specialised fluids. It’s the same thing that afflicted owners of Honda Jazzes and older Cities that have CVTs. Generally, the better you treat them, the longer these transmissions last.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 27
          • Jonathan Lee on Oct 18, 2012 at 1:57 pm

Also, you pointed me to a video about a Nissan GT-R, which has more than twice (TWICE!) the torque of a Passat (588Nm vs. 250Nm). The higher the torque, the less it needs to rely on multiple gear ratios (which is also why electric cars usually have a single-speed gearbox). Lowering the amount of gear ratios reduces the size, weight and complexity of the gearbox, which is a better fit for a sports car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
        • keluangman on Oct 15, 2012 at 3:09 pm

how about the ticking time bomb wallet buster DSG gearbox? Mechatronic failures just waiting to happen…go and google it bro!

And don’t give me that mumbo jumbo 5 years unlimited mileage warranty with free road assist…tell me what happen after 5 years warranty is up should I decide to keep the car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 42
          • Cari fasal on Oct 15, 2012 at 5:57 pm

semua kereta pun ada problem after 3yrs.. 5 yrs… 10yrs..
            its all about luck la..
            if no money; then dont buy..
            no need cari fasal or cari masalah :)..
            go invest in GOLD (UOB) or buy property (UOA) better…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 48
          • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 12:19 am

11 grand just to fix ABS on a Golf. DSG? easily RM25k poorer.

Good Luck

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 10
          • tanpa nama on Oct 16, 2012 at 12:56 am

Fixing DSG with new component is under RM10K..
            please get the facts right and dont simply keyboard warrior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 44
          • looks like alot vw die hard supporter.
            why is there so many used car on sale for vw,some are less than 2yrs.
            this will make you wonder story behind…careful with DSG man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 22
          • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 8:37 pm

Kimchi will have problems within the 1st 2000 kms. It’s a known problem for all kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 19
        • ESP PREVENTS DEATHS on Oct 15, 2012 at 5:59 pm

No point all the sweet comments. There is no ESP on this car and when this leads to an accident and you lose your limbs or become a vegetable, then you will realise that when you pay premium money, you should get all your basic safety features. Even cheap cars like the Hyundai Elantra has ESP, how come this RM180,000 car does not have? Is your life really worththat much to you?

http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stability-control-is-a-must-malaysian-motorists-deserve-better-active-safety-in-their-cars/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 24
          • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 7:45 pm

If Camry trade in value is low, cold door models from euro and lousy quality kimchi how?

Ultra hailat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 14
        • Sam Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 8:49 pm

Camry’s don’t sui kwan, kwai tai and has great resale value, unlike Passat, Pugs, and Kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 36
          • tanpa nama on Oct 16, 2012 at 1:01 am

camry doesnt really has 2nd value.
            dont trust?
            go bring ur 1 or 2 years old Camry to 2nd hand dealer..
            see how much they open the price (one way ticket) and be prepare to cry :)

nowadays so many supply be it brand new or 2nd or 3rd hand..
            even other brand are facing the same issue; hence lowering the value due to excess demand..

name it accord.. 3 series.. 5 series.. c class.. e class.. a4… a6…
            see how many being registered/delivered..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 39
          • alldisc on Oct 16, 2012 at 2:05 pm

camry 2.0 retains its value better than 2.4. same goes to honda accord 2.0 has better resale value than 2.4.

the reason – many ppl who can afford road tax of 2.4 and its fuel consumption could afford to buy new and they prefer it that way. very few will buy used. same goes to merc S class, bmw 7 series, volvo s80, jaguar and range rover – the depreciation is just awesome!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
        • Passat would have been a much better choice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 34
      • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 3:30 pm

I would like to tender an apology to all those I have offended. I have been a salesman for Toyota for many years now. Over the years, it has been a breeze but lately, our sales haveslumpped because of strong competition from the newer Civic and Elantra. Out bread and butter Vios also is losing market share so, we were hoping the Camry would be our golden egg. The sales team were disappointed with the omission of VSC and sales of the Camry has been so so bad. I do apologise if I bad mouth the Koreans and VW but, just like yourself, we also cari makan. Please forgive me everyone for all my negative statements.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 45
        • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 8:38 pm

Copy cat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 6
          • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 12:30 pm

Today i finally signed up the A4 1.8T after test drive few days back.

Will getting the new car in a week time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 58
          • Sam Loo on Mar 25, 2014 at 2:08 pm

Today I finally decided to import the 1997 Toyota Supra GZ Aerotop after driving one few days back.

Will getting the new car in a month time.

• Sam Loo, is your Supra a vvti twin turbo?…

• netcat on Oct 20, 2012 at 10:40 pm

Most probably he has resigned and joined Honda also… hahaha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
      • mp_drucker on Nov 08, 2012 at 7:46 pm

Price in resp. ctry currency
        508 1.6 THP Camry 2.5V
        Australia 36,990 32,490
        New Zealand 46,990 44,990
        Taiwan 1,348,000 999,000
        Indonesia 535,000,000 510,600,000
        Singapore 86,799(ex-COE)91,588(ex-COE)
        Malaysia 155,888 180,900

So, do you think Peugeot 508 is a better buy in Malaysia?

• riyadh on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:16 am

But better comfort than the boring Passat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 80
      • Sam Loo Sucks on Oct 15, 2012 at 3:12 pm

better check your eyes! nothing can be more boring than fugly camry!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 61
      • Sam Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:31 pm

Most of all, Camry dun sui kwan and kwai tai like cacat Passat, Pijak Pugeot and Smelly rotten cabbage kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 30
    • seancorr on Oct 15, 2012 at 1:15 pm

The looks is actually quite decent IMHO and the interior is also good but like what Paul and Danny pointed out…Toyota Malaysia made a fatal mistake taking out the Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) from the Camry. I even twittered Toyota Malaysia to protest against them removing this feature. Speaking about safety, if Toyota it known to build good family cars then why so few airbags? How about giving 6 airbags for the 2.5 and 4 airbags for the 2.0 cars?

They could have also added auto wipers and lights…I mean c’mon how much does it cost to add that in?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 16
      • Cari fasal on Oct 15, 2012 at 6:02 pm

i think what Toyota wants to show is that..
        VSC is just a sales/marketing gimmick..
        u can see its proof what..

also during their pre launching track day see how the Camry 2.5L performed on sepang F1..
        awesome..
        no BMW/Merc/Audi or other Japan brand dare enough to let people swing around huge car with 2.5L CC without VSC!

and it shows that the camry is far superior than any other brand regardless luxury or with high tech or with VSC..

no VSC also the sales like sky rocket for the 2.5L Camry..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 61
        • you must be a moron. lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 27
          • Cari fasal on Oct 17, 2012 at 5:08 pm

its true what.. expensive with no VSC/ESP.. still can sell and demand high..
            it proof that VSC is gimmick..

if not why many 2.5 camry on the road already???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 33
      • Think again! on Oct 15, 2012 at 7:51 pm

I am very happy to know that Camry did not sell as good as they used to, they even have to give discount to promote the sale. its time for us as a buyer to show this $ sucking & profit ripping company take advantage of Malaysian.

Paul, we must do our part to keep teaching Malaysian buyers about the importance of basic safety feature.

Another stupid move is the single airbag of most basic model of Almera by ETCM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 26
      • Not necessary more airbag is safer than less airbag. Airbag is just the last level of protection, driver need to determine safety when driving. You can see nowadays, car accident was caused by for example over speed (helpless even with more airbags), no safety belt (propose to the car maker to have airbags on the windscreen, else helpless), over loaded (imagine if all airbags in actions and taking the space from passengers) etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 26
    • Pleaselah uncle/granpa, dont’t compare your Camry with my Passat… :)

If yes, this for you.. baby
      Old man + Resale Value + Don’t care about safety
      : Get a Camry.

Hotguys + Safety 1st mentality + Performance : Go For Passat

p.s : can an under rated car get good resale value in Malaysia. ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 38
      • Sam Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 8:50 pm

Off course can’t compare Camry with Passat.

The Passat’s dashboard has rattling sound when driven out from the showroom

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 37
        • uncertain buyer on Oct 16, 2012 at 8:44 am

is the rattling sound from passat fact or fake?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 40
          • Mr Cool on Oct 16, 2012 at 11:45 am

Fake, he made it up to. Typical T salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 44
        • Look likes UMW Toyota hired their salesman to tell lots of lies to sell their camry.

No wonder so many toyota been recalled due to quality issue…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 43
        • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 8:41 pm

Try the vw showroom in bangsar, even the jetta and sharan Oso rattle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 13
        • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 1:56 am

What rattling sound?! I own a Passat and its build quality and styling makes any Japanese saloon I have sat in look inferior and lacking in sophistication.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 47
        • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 8:15 am

Either I have very sensitive ears or you are in need of hearing aid.

1 Passats I test drove in Bangsar and another 8 month old unit belonging to my customer oso lidat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 11
      • Wish you luck! on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:01 pm

I hope that your 7-speed dry clutch DSG won’t give you much problem. Unless you are driving the old Passat CC with a 6-speed wet clutch DSG.

To be honest, there is not much car to buy at that price bracket that gives you both

1. best bang for the buck
        2. hassle-free ownership.

You take only one of the above, not both

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 30
        • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 1:58 am

The 7 speed DSG is incredible – easily the best transmission I have ever driven. It shifts faster and better than a manual, and plenty of power is always available unlike conventional autos where there is always wrong ratios and lag. The turbo charged direct injected engine is far more responsive than any NA car in its class that I have driven.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 42
        • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:23 am

The DSG frequent failure makes great business for tow truck operators

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 9
          • Cari fasal on Oct 17, 2012 at 5:39 pm

sure or not failure?
            6 speed DSG so far 2 years plus OK when driven hard..
            hurm..

get ur facts dude or chick :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 39
      • Kalam on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:00 pm

Car get good resale value bcoz it give the owner less problem not just pluck the price from sky. Do some studies why all continental (incl VW)car have low resale value. Ask those used car dealer why they refuse to accept the conti car, perhaps you will know the passat still the right choice. BTW, Camry is the best selling car in the world. Where is Passat raking?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 10
        • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:02 am

The toyota has good resale value becaue (1) it is reliable. But this reliability is due to the fact that it is loaded with old tech parts and lacking in safety and efficiency systems that are common in cars used in more advanced countries (2) because there are legions of “uncles” who follow the ignorant recommendations or example of other “uncles” instead of doing proper research causing them to fail to realise that they are paying excessive prices for what is a very basic car that should cost cheaper for what little they give. SO if that is a benefit to you, go ahead and buy more Camrys…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 45
          • hippo on Oct 18, 2012 at 9:21 am

I personally feels that car with older parts are more reliable than newer one with tons of electronic gadgets, like those conti. My friends drove Audi, BM and Porsche and they have lots of electronic problem every now and then. I’m thinking of getting VW, but need a second thought

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 14
        • kadajawi on Oct 28, 2012 at 3:41 pm

Best selling car in the world? With the world being Malaysia or what?

http://bestsellingcarsblog.com/2012/02/27/world-2011-updated-toyota-corolla-ahead-of-ford-focus-and-vw-golf/
          By a big margin the VW Golf/Jetta (it’s idiotic to split them up, just because they carry a different name) wins. Then the Corolla, Focus, Polo, Fiesta, Elantra, Wuling, Cruze, … Camry is quite far behind, the Passat outsells it.

• Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 7:41 pm

Definitely can compare Sonata/K5 with Passat & 508. All have low RV, sui kwan and kwai tai in the middle of the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
      • Good choice ! of coz Passat is better…actually a 180k car do not expect much…dashboard rattling sound is quite common…my Avanza and Myvi also have the dashboard,doors panel rattling sound…

• uncle lim on Oct 16, 2012 at 11:03 am

well it still retain the wood plastics all over the internal, that is nice. looks boxy but similar to lexus, nice. yea i think i will get this car as it suits my uncle status. no vsc is not a problem becoz uncle dont drive fast. thank you toyota. luv u toyota..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 32
      • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:03 am

Have you actually read Paul tan article on the VSC?! Driving slower does not mean that you will never skid or never need the VSC to save your life…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 42
    • Rather save a little money to get the C class or F30…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
  • Heskey on Oct 15, 2012 at 12:24 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 189
    • kimikira on Oct 15, 2012 at 4:16 am

congrats, first Grand prize is 2012 Toyota CAMRY
      DREAMS ON……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 28
      • Turboman on Oct 16, 2012 at 1:47 am

Hahahaa.

Your post really made my day.

Laughing my butt off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 34
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Oct 15, 2012 at 12:34 am

Danny I smile when I read your review because it seem that Camry “forcing” it’s way out to be the top D-segment! But at the same time “cutting budget” on safety issues + installing accessory odd ward “DRL” coz trend are like that currently & hopefully M’sian buyers still prefer them. Well in any business is the same, if their “market share” didn’t feel any threat “company” don’t bother upgrade or adding values to their product.
    I wish buyers will cooperate and choose wisely :) cheers everybody.
    Let see how this Camry perform in 3 yrs time before facelift.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 21
  • command on Oct 15, 2012 at 12:34 am

you first 3 sentences had said it all. and you should stop right there… !!! LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 24
    • Spent 3 sentences to destroy the Camry. Used up a whole page to pleased the uncles. Good job bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 23
  • riyadh on Oct 15, 2012 at 12:51 am

At this price range, the Volkswagen Passat is a better option.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 168 Thumb down 36
    • Ford Mondeo is better choice …….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 37
      • Kalun on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:12 am

Ford Mondeo is best among it’s class. But why Sime Darby won’t bring the Diesel version of Ford Mondeo.
        Ford Mondeo, Engineered in Germany Nurburgring, style in Germany.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 22
      • Jonathan Lee on Oct 15, 2012 at 2:18 pm

I’m still waiting for the new Mazda 6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 36
      • Cari fasal on Oct 15, 2012 at 7:13 pm

ler u all here said buy this.. buy that..
        this is better..
        that is awesome…
        etc etc..

but the fact is u dont have money to buy..
        hais…
        keyboard warrior…
        hurm..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 22
    • at this price range, any car is better but Camry!
      Idiot UMW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 34
    • inderaloka on Oct 15, 2012 at 12:17 pm

Agreed, and plus, the Volkswagen Passat looks good too…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 37
      • Sam Loo on Oct 20, 2012 at 11:11 am

Passat looks great when the used car dealer hangs the low RV price on display at the used car yard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Sam Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 8:51 pm

If Passat is a better option, why do i find it so difficult to see Passats on the road?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 16
      • Kalam on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:13 pm

Perhaps most of them parked at Service Centre for their DSG issues, turbo oil leaks and top up engine oil after every outstation trip.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 16
      • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 12:21 am

And waiting for spare parts to arrive is the norm for kimchis and VW/Pugs. Get a spare car for these rainy days. Never happen to T&H owners

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 10
        • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:06 am

The only reason why yhou have not seen more VWs is because you are blinded by your unnatural love fort Toyotas. There are DSG-equipped VWs everywhere on the roads nowadays…face it, the days of Toyyota and Honda’s supremacy are nearly over. 10 years from now, it is going to be VWs which will fetch higher resale values…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 46
        • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 8:17 am

Malaysians are naturally smarter coz they know Passats will sui kwan and kwai tai anytime anyday.

So they rather spend their hard earned money on more reliable and durable Jap makes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 10
  • West end boys on Oct 15, 2012 at 12:51 am

This is better than the us version

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 94
  • gustofwind on Oct 15, 2012 at 12:58 am

dear lord…my jetta might not have all the creature comforts this new camry has, but the ones that it does, look and feel much more luxurious than whatever i see here. i mean, wow

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 33
    • .and your Jetta is a much safer option compared to this Camry…wow! this camry dont even have ESP!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 27
    • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 7:43 pm

When your DSG dies, make sure you have a couple of credit cards to pay for the repairs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 10
      • kadajawi on Oct 28, 2012 at 3:42 pm

When your wife dies cause of the lousy and dangerous car, make sure you have a couple of credit cards to pay for her funeral.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
  • nabill on Oct 15, 2012 at 1:04 am

ya a passat 1.8 is a better option n looks more classy..this body kit has to be sentenced to death right now…it really is ugly…looks like its be fitted from totaly diferent car…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 45
    • Sam Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:29 pm

And I am just wondering why there are so many more ACV50’s on the road despite being launched only 3 months back compared with the cacat Passat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 22
      • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:12 am

Again this is your own prejudice showing – I have seen few new Toyotas around and no more than Passats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 44
  • AlexLHThis on Oct 15, 2012 at 1:06 am

Korean Lovers are twisting in jealousy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 113
    • DonkeyKong on Oct 15, 2012 at 3:16 am

Nope, Korean fans have nothing to worry about. This Camry is total crap. What the heck is wrong with the Japanese these days.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 38
      • rukawa on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:23 am

partly is due to japanese designs, but more importantly is what the F is UMW doing? they keep bringing us mediocore cars (or same cars but with lesser specs, older engines)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 28
        • Kalam on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:28 pm

Older engine not means it bad. Only those car have engine imperfection need to change the engine regularly to survive. Car should not judge by spec alone. Reliability is more important consideration. Some car give u high spec but always breakdown or malfunction, end up
          spend more times visiting service centre rather enjoying the ride.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 11
          • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:11 am

With this kind of “logic”, perhaps we should be still driving the Model T ford?!!! Friend, you are spouting nonsense. Every advance that the Toyota is itself using now as an accepted feature was once pioneered by some other car manufacturer. Every progressive manufacturer will improve their car range to improve their product so as not to lose market share.

What UMW are doing is overcharging you for an underspecced car and you are cheering them on…only in Malaysia, Toyota need not respond to market pressure and can continue to give you less and still charge you more for essentially the same car with less features and a far uglier body…thanks to people like you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 44
      • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 7:52 pm

Camry owners only worry about car being stolen when parked next to a sonata/k5.

Kimchi owners prey really hard to get their car stolen to claim insurance, coz that is the best way to recover the loss in trade in value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 13
        • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:15 am

Do you buy a car for its resale value primarily or to use it and enjoy it? Your comments are truly warped. Make inane insults all you like – the Sonata owner will at least enjoy the greater features and far more pleasant looks of his car for the half a decade or more while you drive the ugliest D class car in Malaysia while muttering under your breath about the wonderful resale value you will get when you sell your car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 44
          • Cari fasal on Oct 17, 2012 at 5:11 pm

u kidding me.
            it rides like sampan.
            especially when u wanna change lane or hard braking.
            Camry is far better ride than Sonata YF or new Optima.
            go test drive la..
            Later u buy sonata/optima stuck cannot sale back.

haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 37
    • Cybermaster98 on Oct 15, 2012 at 8:16 am

Why would they? Its a fair article and it clearly spells out the strengths and weaknesses of the Camry. Besides comfort, refinement, resale value and service network, there is little else going for the Camry. Danny has clearly mentioned the lack of safety features, low specs and high pricing as its drawbacks. He has also said that this Camry in particular caters for the ‘uncles’ out there. Thats why the Camry sells despite all its drawbacks. And mind you this is the 2.5V model which he is comparing. What would he say for the 2.0L model i wonder. Hmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 13
    • AlexLHThis on Oct 15, 2012 at 2:04 pm

sigh..read my reply at EVO9

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
    • Sam Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:27 pm

Sonata and K5 second value already nose dive.

SO, good luck to the kimchi owners pockets when they sell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 27
      • German on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:49 pm

we don’t care, better drive a lion than cow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 43
      • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 12:23 am

One thing for sure that you do not need to worry driving a kimchi of Pug is that thieves will not pinch your car. No one wants them in the first place.

If your report it stolen, the police will think that you have forged the theft in hope to get insurance money. Really cham one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 22
        • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:17 am

Are you saying that people should not buy the Korean cars because car thieves will not steal them but buy Toyotas because car thieves will steal Toyotas?! LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 43
  • Do you notice there is a gap at the passenger side dashboard where you need to open the door to see it. It’s at the black plastic thingy. Seems like all the new Camry that I check have that gap!! Another imperfection add on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 29
  • i seriously don’t understand why Toyota would approve that fugly bodykit. Seriously Toyota, it looks like a badly done braces on a kid.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 22
    • rukawa on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:25 am

the new camry design itself already looks fugly without the ridiculous bodykit. but now with the kits, it looks like a joke. 180k better spend it elsewhere. lots of choices now, so UMW better buckle up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 26
      • Mario Gomez on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:02 am

With 180k,i rather get a Passat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 33
        • alldisc on Oct 15, 2012 at 12:58 pm

this camry just launched but i see more of it than the new passat. i travel 100km daily to and fro of work, and the probability should be high.

but it doesnt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 25
          • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 1:46 am

think better fork up $$ for 1.8 A4.
            pleasure driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 41
          • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:18 am

Thats because you have only been seeing guided by what you want to see nd what you are looking to see…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 41
          • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 7:06 pm

The “sam loo” that has been talking about Audi’s is my immitator

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • The Enthusiast on Oct 15, 2012 at 12:25 pm

If we are to compare this “new” Camry with the facelifted Mark X, we all will wonder what went wrong. And yet, more people are buying Camry over Mark X.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Good car becoz it’s 2.5!! Try 2.0 then. Overall it’s a lousy car for it’s low spec, high price & so on. It’s a car for Toyota blind loyalist.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 21
    • rukawa on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:26 am

u said it well.
      i still hear old uncles who still think TOYOTA makes good cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 17
      • Toyota make good car but UMW screw it all.
        Check US version, or even Thai version(no need go so far) is still better.
        You know why? G need $ mah.
        Come on, it is damn bloody obvious, any lubang can Dig $ without effort, you see their footprint!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 23
        • kadajawi on Oct 28, 2012 at 3:46 pm

Not the government. If it were them, what about Passat? Better value for money. Mondeo? Better value for money. Every single other car has better value for money. The Camry is only so overpriced because it means Toyota/UMW can earn more money, and there are enough fools willing to pay for it.

• Kalam on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:37 pm

Do u ever see the Toyota Ambulance breakdown on the side of the road?

Do u see an old Toyota taxi still on road to compete with the Proton?

Maybe u will have some clue now……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
        • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:21 am

A Ferrari is more unreliable compared to a Honda. But have you ever met anybody who would rather drive a Honda than a Ferrari? Why? The desirabiltiy and worth of a car is not all about reliability and not breaking down. Try to learn something from other people here instrad of being a Toyita fanatic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 43
        • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 12:10 pm

Well said. The common problem with driving a Toyota that is so reliable is that the owners tend to take things for granted and doe not bother to check the tyre pressure on a regular basis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
    • ioker on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:51 pm

can i like x 1000…

• deemer on Oct 15, 2012 at 1:17 am

one word : boring

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 21
  • AlexLHThis, there is no such thing as Korean Lovers. It’s people money & to buy what they want. These people has taste, knowing what they want & at least they are not blind like some T & H loyalist. I drive conti but I’m not hating Koreans. It’s actually the T & H lovers who can’t accept the fact that the Kimchi is rising. get a life.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 21
    • AlexLHThis on Oct 15, 2012 at 2:05 am

It was supposed to be a joke……it’s not that I hate Korean cars, The only thing I don’t get is why are there so many supporters of Koreans, and haters of Japaneses(In the comments at least) and yet there are more new Japanese cars being registered each month than Korean cars, what are these people actually driving?
      PS: You can actually reply on my comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 37
      • Cybermaster98 on Oct 15, 2012 at 8:24 am

There are more supporters because many of those who frequent online content and automotive blogs are also those who understand cars better. They also have more tools and resources at their disposal to compare between different makes and know whats out there. Yes Toyota enjoys good sales because of brand loyalty and resale value. Toyota’s are also known for their reliability. Its this loyalty which is keeping the numbers going. For instance, ask any lay person which is better HP laptops or Lenovo and the answer would be HP. But how many of those who choose HP actually know that HP was detroned by Lenovo from the global No 1 spot? Again, knowledge. 5 years ago, how many ppl actually supported Korean? Why is there a sudden rise? Simple because the Koreans are offering better designs, top class specs, good engines and a more affordable pricing. Yes they still lack in refinement and overall comfort but do keep in mind that Kia for instance produced its first car in 1974 while Toyota launched their first in 1936. That’s almost a 40 year headstart for Toyota. But today in 2012 can anybody say that the Koreans are 40 years behind Toyota?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 12
        • Frankly, I think Alex made a valid point. Japanese cars still sell better coz those who buy them don’t give 2 hoots about how nice the Conti or Korean looks. All they care about is reliability and resale value. Cyber dwellers over here who support designs and little of others are probably in the “saving to buy my beautiful ride” category, in other words, the young below 30s.

There are some Toyota that I like but Camry or Altis is not in that list. I’m more a Honda person for mainstream cars but now, I’m on conti and will stick to it.

BTW, HP is better than Lenovo (IBM Thinkpad)??? Puhleez… Thinkpads were so well constructed and built to last, hence their high costs. Pretty much one of the best made laptops. Lenovo might have diluted the IBM brand a bit but they still maintain the built quality. HP is pretty crappy in comparison, even against Dell. Wrong comparison dude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
          • Cybermaster98 on Oct 15, 2012 at 4:16 pm

I think you need to read my post again. I didnt say Lenovo was better than HP did i? All i asked was how many ppl actually know that Lenovo dethroned HP this year. I was refering to actual product knowledge as compared to blind brand loyalty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
        • Dont play play with korean stuffs.
          Very soon they will overtake apple.
          They are beating sony, panasonic, sharp flat in TV industrial.
          Gangnam style raise global tsunami, japanese were no where seen.
          Fundamental issue is jap is very much at comfort zone, korean is not.
          My fellow medical colleagues in korea waked up@5am, finished work to home past mid-night at most working day, what do you expect the outcome of the product under such tremendous work determinant?
          They will ultimately lead/dominate in most arena they venture in, no doubt about it.
          Look back our lovely M, I feel so sore….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 18
          • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 12:03 am

When the RV of Korean Cars can be retained at 75% within a year, that is when hogs will fly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 19
          • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:24 am

This comment is for Sam Loo – better book your ticket with Hog Airline, because they aare already taking off!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 41
          • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:32 am

And the RV of DSG failure prone Passats is worse than Pugs nowadays

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
          • VW DSG failure but Camry exterior failure :(

• Sam Loo on Oct 24, 2012 at 12:45 am

VW kwai tai and sui kwan some more wor

• AlexLHThis on Oct 15, 2012 at 2:46 pm

In the world of consumer ,the defining factors is what the consumer wants. The Japanese will loose their grip soon, I like your analysis Cybermaster98 ,don’t know much about Comp, and you gave so much info that is hard to go against your thesis. Sadly Toyota is a manufacturer that strife for the top spot in sales number(along with VW), so basically they sell cars for what the majority wants, and the car above is what the majority wants. Yes, Its a boring world, but until the uncle generation is replaced by the gangnam-style generation, only than can we see Toyota s rise in design, like in the 90s. have you all forgotten Supras and AE86, even the 90s Camry at their time they were exciting design. Let me make this clear, I do not dislike Korean cars, I like them actually, especially KIAs (not a fan of fluidic design).I hope this is Toyotas problem, bcuz if you say that all Japanese cars are boring, ill happily Disagree
          Anyway, if we are all malaysian, let us not forget the real crap in the automotive industry, Proton started a decade after Kia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
        • tokmoh on Oct 15, 2012 at 5:52 pm

It’s not about the years, it’s about managing talents.

Proton Waja to me is anytime better than Kia Spectra or Hyundai whatever being sold back then. Today, Koreans not only leapfrogged Proton, but also the Japanese. They hired Peter Schreyer and many other talents and voila, they’re making the Japanese look like dinosaur.

In F1 also same thing. Red Bull Racing is just a seven-year-old energy drink team with no heritage like Ferrari and McLaren who’ve raced for decades, but look who’s doing 1-2 pwnage in yesterday’s Korean GP? It’s because of the genius Adrian Newey, whom the Ferrari and McLaren can never buy with money, at least for now.

Today we talk about Koreans’ rising, but the next 3,4 years, we could be talking about Chinese rising. Top Gear covered about it very nicely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
          • AlexLHThis on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:42 pm

As much as I dislike that fact it, I completely agree with you, in 10 years time, it will a prestige to own something that dose’t say “made in china” at the back……or “made in Malaysia by cronies”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
          • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 10:22 pm

Dream on. In 10 years time, TaTa & Geely will catch and outsell the kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
      • nobody is a Japanese hater. we hate money milking company like toyota and honda that doesnt give us the full value of our money. I love Mazda’s car, they look great and have all the goodies inside. comparing a CRV and a CX-5. CX-5 anytime anyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 11
        • You dont know about cars on Oct 15, 2012 at 12:57 pm

Its not Toyota or Honda to be Blamed.. It’s UMW if it’s Toyota…. Do u know the Camry comes standard with 10 air bags throughout the variants in US , Australia , China and HK and Taiwan, etc:. ONLY in Malaysia and Thailand the company who brings Toyota in, they are te one responsible for stripping the safety features and great specs Toyota originally offers in the Camry… Don’t blame Toyota . Blame UMW..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 13
        • @mp_drucker: UMW Holdings is a Govt-Linked Co. (GLC). It is not owned by Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • Kalam on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:44 pm

Kimchi is lucky with the help of the low Won currency. The “H” engine is from Mitsubishi, yes the partner from Proton Inspira! It come with sunroof which hardly use in M’sia climate, perhaps it generate more heat to the cabin. Create potential water leaking to the cabin thru the sunroof rubber seal after few years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 9:52 pm

I AGREE that the devaluation rate for kimchi trade isn has been on the rise

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
      • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:25 am

You and Kalam must be two out of work Toyiota salesmen…time to quit and hjoin VW to sell their cars!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 44
      • Sam Loo on Oct 18, 2012 at 7:43 pm

You must be a Hyundai/Kia Desperate Salesman then?

Actually, I am only interested to buy pre-owned kimchis ~1 year old 15,000kms or so. Knowing that it would have depreciated at least 50%, I just want to make it go lower at an accelerated rate. Judging from the no. of people getting rid of their rotten cabbage within a year, I fell that I have overachieved my KPI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
  • Benny on Oct 15, 2012 at 1:28 am

car looks horrible. I totally agree on the write up, shows how sad they have gone, from bad to worst!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 35
  • Even the VW Jetta is cheaper and much better spec-ed and more importantly; drives better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 37
    • smile on Oct 15, 2012 at 2:03 am

Mr. Kong. Have you sat inside the Jetta before? Have you.. touched the material in the Jetta before and have you driven it before? Pls do not make a comparison between the Jetta and the Camry. In my opinion, the only thing that is good about the Jetta is the Engine and the gearbox.

The Passat or the Teana on the other hand can be a fairly good comparison.

I do agree the Camry is no cheap car. But you really really got to sit inside the Camry, drive it on a highway..high speed or low speed or even bumpy roads. even with its specs being stripped down so much by UMW. It is the most comfortable and silent ride among its class. the interior cabin space is a wow. Being 180cm tall. I can stretch my legs infront and still have space for a grown up behind.

You guys should really see it to believe it. Im not saying whose better and what not. Keep an open mind. Try out all the cars so that we may comment fairly here.

btw.. Teana should be the closest rival to Camry. The Japanese are still the more reliable bunch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 100
      • Cybermaster98 on Oct 15, 2012 at 8:33 am

Simple. The Camry was designed for comfort while VW’s are designed for handling. You can’t compare interior space of a Camry with the Jetta as both are in different classes. Have you sat in a Sonata or Optima yourself? The Camry has got a total internal legroom of 80.5 inches while the Optima and Sonata are a close 2nd at 80.1 inches. But yes, the Jetta is much better spec’d and has much better driving dynamics than the Camry for sure. Heck, even the Koreans have much better spec and driving dynamics although they lack in comfort and power train refinement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 31
        • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 12:02 am

VW DSG well known to die in the middle of the hiway.

Would you let your wife or daughter be caught in this situation?

Get a real car that is known for reliability and durability

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 16
          • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:27 am

Only “known” to you…the problems have been mainlyironed out and are exaggerated given the millions of DSGs made so far by VW – the 7 speed DSG makes the auto in the toyota feel like you are driving a second rate vehicle…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 41
      • Smile, I drive a VW Jetta. I test drove Camry before. No doubt it is a car with a huge living room. Other than that… out-dated look and old technology. Yawning while typing about your beloved Camry. Sorrie…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 30
        • Smile on Oct 15, 2012 at 1:10 pm

if you can afford a car similar to Camry range you would have gone for the passat. You gotta admit other than the engine the jetta is just plain cheap plastics interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 35
        • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:53 pm

You try comparing the trade in value of the Camry and Jetta now.

Do you need extra tissue?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
      • “drive it on a highway..high speed or low speed or even bumpy roads..”

Not until you really need Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) to avoid possible accident.

This car no doubt may have very good comfort at high speed.. At high speed cruising, VSC is vital, how can you put safety behind?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 20
        • Damn UMW, my dad’s Toyota Altis(1.8) bought@2005 was well equipped with VSC, BUT NOT the current model of Camry 2.5V@2012, WTF!!!(give them 3times)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 22
        • Sam Loo Sucks on Oct 15, 2012 at 3:25 pm

the fugly camry already handles like a boat / sampan, which means it desperately needs VSC the most compared the its competitors which ALL of them have at this price range.

Poor Handling + No VSC = Good Luck…if you survive in this fugly overpriced junk when you crash!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 43
        • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 12:00 am

Sour Grape Syndrome detected here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 14
          • torque on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:56 pm

Same thing can be said to you on your unfairly and blind sided comments on both VW together with the Koreans…are you sure you don’t holdIng a grudge on VW b’coz they turn you job application down? :)

P/S: Name me one car manufacturer in the world that doesn’t have issues or shortcomings?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 31
        • Turboman on Oct 16, 2012 at 1:52 am

I have to agree with u 100 percent.

But for some ppl, resale value is more important than the lives of them and their family.

Talking about misplaced priority.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 35
      • 1 Malaysia on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:21 am

If u want passion and driving go for Conti…
        If u want reliability go for Japanese…

Just drive all and test it..
        Buy the one which your heart most desire..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 31
        • Sam Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:34 pm

If you want to lose 1/2 of your car value in a year, go for Korean

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 18
          • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:29 am

If you are so fickle to want to sell your new car 1 year after you got it, then you probably deserve to take a bath…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 41
      • Kalun on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:06 am

If you still want toyota. Shut up and buy a Lexus rich man!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 16
      • rukawa on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:28 am

ride it on highway? the camry? u should try continentals. and japanese cars are not “more reliable”, its just that their spare parts are cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 38
      • Mozilla Chrome on Oct 15, 2012 at 2:24 pm

Toyota salesman spotted!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 37
      • sonyman on Oct 15, 2012 at 4:54 pm

i dont think i can, toyota sales man wont let me. because they very lansi.

anyway nice car, nice brand, spoiled by the arrogance of the management team.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 32
    • Kalam on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:45 pm

Reliability?????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 12:24 am

But kwai tai and sui kwan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 9
  • mystvearn on Oct 15, 2012 at 1:55 am

Now I wonder who is recipient of the first paragraph:P

Toyota/Honda can afford to skimp on equipment because they are leading the market-hence taking everyone for a ride. The Kia K5 has most amount of accessories for the money. I think the next version of the K5/Optima will be either on par or slightly below the T/H brands but with better equipment. Then we will see how desperate T/H will be and will increase the equipment list.

BTW, I know Honda did increase equipment list for the Accord in 2000 3 years after the Asian economic crisis. That 2.0 Accord came with parking pole, bodylex massager, wood trim, fog lights, auto rear blinds. 2 years after economic is slightly better, same car no equipment but cost the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 13
  • David D on Oct 15, 2012 at 2:05 am

Great engine, great gearbox, but, spoiled by staid looks, lacklusture driving dynamics compared to, say a Mazda 6, and nowhere near as comfy as a Citroen C5.

And don’t get me started on the interior and exterior. When i saw and felt it, suddenly the previous XV40 Camry felt leagues ahead of the new one.

And 180k for what’s essentially a car with a new gearbox, and drives and rides worse than the old one, and worst of all, lacking in kit and stability control? You know better. This Camry, in my personal opinion, has gone from the top of the list, right down to the bottom heap of the list as the worst family sedan on sale right now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 19
    • I’ve never test driven the C5, but no experienced car buyer in their right mind would buy a Citroen regardless if its comfortable and well equipped. It’s definitely one of the most unreliable in our local Market and the resale value of this car … gosh… at least 50% depreciation once the car rolls out of the collection bay and in to the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 44
      • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:55 pm

That is why Citroen is also known as Sit Tou Loong in Canto

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 11
    • Johnny on Oct 15, 2012 at 4:12 am

I do Agree with you, the ride comfort really sucks – damn bumpy, the previous one was much more comfortable. I got the 2.5v, the current version really sucks, I’m very regret to have bought this, the built quality really sucks – the leather seats are not done properly with wrinkle all over the place, i claim for warranty, but no reply from Toyota. For those who can afford a little extra, may consider a conti car like the passat cc, or the bmw 320, a4 or C200.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 21
      • That is exactly how i felt after i got the 2.5V after listening to my neighbour brag about his camry.

But to my surprise, the car suffers from poor ride and handling. Reduced sound insulation resulting in very loud windnoise during highway speeds of 110kmh and above. Poor quality plastic dashboard materials and so so comfort from the average quaility leather seats. The previous version was sooooooooo much better!!!

I am selling mine off after 2 months+ for 148k probably at a loss of around RM35k. Mileage only 7500km. Used car dealers are slashing 50k off my new car price….offered RM130k only. I guess my resale value hailat already. But no choice can’t stand driving in this car anymore!

I am planning to get the vw passat after this!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 31
      • Cybermaster98 on Oct 15, 2012 at 4:21 pm

What other quality issues are you facing with the 2.5V Camry?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 19
        • the wind noise is unacceptable at highway speeds. at 1st i thought it was the door rubber seals. so i complained to SC and they changed it for me.
          still no difference after that…either its a design flaw or simply poor QC… or cheap soundproofing.
          I travel outstation every weekend and cannot bear the noise. its no difference than driving a saga/myvi on the highway.
          the camry is really overrated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
      • Sam Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:34 pm

Get the previous version ACV40 then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 9
        • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:31 am

Haha, nothing to say to samy’s real problems unlike your imaginary fanboy comments supporting this new Camry?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 40
    • I feel pity for the T sales person, look back again, they already have their good time>10YRS, is high time for others.it is called fair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 33
  • Regardless of how boring the design may be, at the end of the day, it is still the most comfortable D-Segmant car… Accord may be more dynamic, but it is still bumpy going through rough roads. Lets not even compare the Camry’s comfort level with the Optima or Sonata.. It’s almost abcent in these two cars. I agree the styling of both Optima and Sonata’s interior is more modern, but have you touched and fiddled with the buttons and the handles in those cars? It seems very toy-ish and flimsy.. It doesn’t feel very premium compared to the boring Camry’s interior but with tight and tough fitted buttons and handles.

The exterior is very subjective. I happen to feel the Camry has a very executive presence. The sonata, accord and teana all has the executive presence too. But the Optima, regardless of it being the best looking in its class, it doesn’t carry the “status” that the rest has. An uncle who’s a business man, would most probably not want to be seen driving an Optima.

Again, I agree that UMW is shit when it comes to fitting the new Camry with good specs and features. The safety level is also tuned down drastically thanks to damn UMW. We can’t blame Toyota, but we should throw the negative comments at UMW because it is them, who cuts cost and charges premium price.

Now the Passat. Yes, it is a better buy compared to the Camry 2.5V simply because of its specs the Passat offers. But then again, the Passat isn’t as big and spacious as the Camry and the Passat tend to seem more like a young executive car, rather than a matured executive car. Style wise of the Passat, I honestly prefer the Camry’s exterior. There’s just more luxurious-ness and presence. But the interior dashboard of the Passat is of course, young looking and sleek. The Camry’s dashboard is indeed sleek, just missing the edge that the Passat has.

In conclusion, I believe that the Camry will continue to dominate the D-Segmant market both in Malaysia and internationally. Regardless of it being over priced and under spec-ed. (only in Malaysia). Again, it’s still the most well fitted(tight fittings and firm comfortable materials) and the most comfortable and spacious in its class.

I have a couple of American friends who rant about their Camry looking too childish (exterior wise)to be an executive sedan. They complaint that it looked more like a sporty car than an executive sedan.(though it performs like an executive sedan). But over here, most Paul Tan readers claim that our Camry is too boring and uncle like and prefers the US version Camry. So I conclude that as humans, we want what we don’t have. Hahaha..

I’m in my mid 20’s. and I’m one of few youngsters who prefer comfort drives than sporty drive. So if I had to choose based on ranking, this is my ranking.

1. Camry (because of utter silence in cabin and comfort drive though interior design may be too matured for me but a strong exterior presence. Not forgetting its ultra reliability that Camry’s has always held)
    2. Passat (because of sporty tuning and good specs and safety features but I don’t like the exterior and its lack of reliability due to turbo engines)
    3. Sonata (because of exterior styling and comfortable seats and powerful pick up. But I don’t like the flimsy buttons and bumpy ride.)
    4. Optima (because of exterior styling and an almost full luxury cars’ specs fitted and of course it’s safety features. But I hate the road noise and bumpy ride! Seriously, it’s the worst in class when it comes to road noise)
    5. Accord ( I actually won’t want this at all but I gotta put it at #5 for the sake of it)
    6. Teanna ( though I like the specs and comfort this car offers, the exterior and interior is just toooooooooo matured. I won’t wanna be seen in a Teanna as people may assume that I borrowed my grand father’s car out)

Hahaha.. Well, these are just my opinion. Don’t be too serious lah… We need to put ourselves in a car buyers’ point of view and not just comment and bash based on pictures and other people’s negative comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 97
    • AGREE on Oct 15, 2012 at 2:50 am

I would choose Teana over Sonata and Optima simply because Nissan is second best in comfort, reliability and luxurious interior. (I do hope they would choose a better interior color tone). Talking about the looks of a car. It is all too simple for a car manufacturer to come up with world class, award winning design but the reliability, engine and comfort ride takes years and years of research.

They may not be the best design to all. The after sales of Toyota is world class. I have been in a Camry and I have seen what they are capable of in the service center.

Would you rather drive a car for 6 to 7 years without major problems or 3 to 4 years with major problems.

Even our German “favourite” VW is known for their world renowned DSG but still many complaints from drivers and Audi with their turbocharger issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 38
      • Cybermaster98 on Oct 15, 2012 at 8:44 am

How do you know there will be major problems after 3-4 years? Its pointless using previous generations to benchmark the current Koreans. Yes the Koreans arent known for their reliablity and they have themselves to blame. But would it be fair to brand the current Korean models as ‘unreliable’ simply based on past history? Ive had a Korean in my home since 2006 and its still running smooth till this day without any major problems. Ive also owned a Toyota for 9 years and fully serviced it at Toyota so im in a very good position to compare. And trust me, Toyota’s after sales service although better and with a bigger network but still has its own horror stories. And dont get me started on the warranty claims. Toyota is almost unrelenting when it comes to this and yes ive had to endure mechanical issues on my Toyota which is why im very aquainted with this. Its much easier to get a part changed under warranty with Kia for instance. They do it without a hassle. And their current class leading 5 year full manufacturer warranty with unlimited mileage does go a long way in improving its brand image. Lets give them a chance shall we?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 21
        • Kalam on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:55 pm

You are lucky one. If you have friend from Cameron Highlands (CH), ask them which car is the most reliable up there, as CH renowned with the harsh driving condition. Strange, hard see and Korean car there. Koreans van cease operation there…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 11
      • _xXx_ on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:49 am

DSG renowned for what? Reliability?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 7
        • check on google, it will scare the hell of you that DSG create global havoc-that’s why american dont trust VW for this-famous/imfamous DSG!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 16
        • Sam Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:23 pm

Yeap, famous for kwai tai in the middle of the hiway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 11
      • Sam Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:25 pm

As an ex-Kimchi owner, I must repeat over and over again, please avoid buying it even if the sales rep gives RM20k discount

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 26
        • Turboman on Oct 16, 2012 at 1:54 am

I wonder have u had your heart broken before in the past by a gal.

Or have ex-gfs. Cause your advice will be, please avoid having gfs and stick to men.

Grow up Sam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 43
        • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 9:53 pm

Do not make the same mistake that I did by the impulsive kimchi buy. Regret for life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 14
    • kiddo on Oct 15, 2012 at 8:53 am

Perhaps what UMW can do is to introduce more variants to its Camry line-up, like the US.

Should UMW want to take up the lion share of the market, it should do the following:
      1. Put in a little bit more good stuff for the Camry. Make VSC and TRC a standard across the range.

2. Intoduce a Sport Edition, just like the US. And bring in the hybrid one. It’s the hybrid era now, so introducing a hybrid Camry will help boast the sales.

3. Provide slightly better warranty offer? Say 3-years unlimited mileage?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 19
    • Kalun on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:57 am

Ehh Uncle, you forgot Ford Mondeo.
      The winner for most of D-Segment Award in 2011 and 2012 in Europe.
      Sporty handling, large boot and interior, fun to drive, comfort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 12
      • rukawa on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:30 am

the Mondeo is very good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 29
      • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 8:47 pm

if mondeo is so good, why do I have very seldom luck sighting them ? They are even more cold door than kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
        • gerald on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:52 pm

because msians don’t know about good cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 33
          • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 12:44 pm

Ford is not a good brand.
            Want good go Merc, BMW or Audi.

Or easy Toyota.

But i settled for Audi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 30
    • rukawa on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:06 am

disagree with the executive appearance. camry looks like it has lost its identity. its a car for the mature/older audience, but yet toyota seems to be trying too hard to make it sporty. ends up with a mixed bag that is neither here nor there. if a businessman uncle wants status and looks, he would not be driving these cars anyway, he would be going at continentals, which looks way better, drives better, rides better (albeit a heftier pricetag)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • Penang playboy on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:22 am

hello…if you think Teana is too mature for a mid 20s guy like you, then the same goes for Camry. I will assume you are borrowing your great grandfather’s car. No offence here, but I think your comparison is mostly based on what people review and not from your own driving experience. I have driven Optima before, I don’t have any issue with road noise and the bumpy rides, in fact, my 2 year old kid were snoozing his way back to Ipoh from penang. I have test drive the Camry as well and I do agree it is not bad but not as great as what you claim and in term of its design, it is really an uncle design. I wonder if Toyota asked a 70 years old retired designer to become their chief designer or consultant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
    • Davinnci on Oct 15, 2012 at 2:09 pm

You miss Mazda 6, which is going to dominate the D segment car, totally

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
    • Sam Loo Sucks on Oct 15, 2012 at 4:23 pm

Hi Ron,

If you think the Teana looks like your grandfathers car then the fugly camry must be your great great great great great great grandfathers car. You are easily fooled by the cheapo bodykit installed in Brothers.

Ppl say looks are subjective but not when things are this obvious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 40
  • I forgot to mention about mazda 6! Haha.. I think it’s the best of both worlds. Good looking exterior and interior with well fitted specs and safety features. The ride however is too firm for me.. Though its very sporty to drive. Mazda has always been good with its interior quality. But too bad Bermaz just had to ruin my experience of owning the Mazda 3. My boy friend drives a Mazda 3 but the after sales and service by Bermaz is horrible!… I believe that could actually decide the sale of a Mazda car if a buyer would go for great after sales and service. Because seriously, Bermaz is doing a bad job with after sales and service…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
  • pedobear88 on Oct 15, 2012 at 7:29 am

180k+ for an uncle car. ROFL
    nowadays 180k you can select alot of car. unlike 10 years ago.

how camry lost the market share is not just the overprice but also alot of choices out there. Last time ain’t much choices at 170k.

Pug 508, Passat has join in. Korean car already in but better equip and nicer.

In malaysia, engine above 2.0 not really sell well in 2nd market value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 25
    • Sam Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:36 pm

Pugs, Passats and kimchi all sui kwan and hailat when you sell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 22
      • Iniesta Leong on Oct 21, 2012 at 10:32 pm

Your statement made the readers think that you are not a reasonable human being

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • Saab 93 - Hirsch Tuned on Oct 15, 2012 at 7:29 am

good for taxi use

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 40
  • disappointed on Oct 15, 2012 at 7:41 am

The Camry certainly is a car meant for passengers and not for drivers. It’s definitely the most comfortable D segment car as well. But is better comfort worth more than your life? Terrible safety features for the asking price. Even if I were to buy this car as a company limousine, I’d have to think about adding more airbags and aftermarket safety equipment or live with ferrying my clients around in this unsafe vehicle.

Buyers who needs to ferry their family around often should really consider which is more important to them? A car with a strong brand image and resale value but poor levels of safety or a car with very good levels of safety built in but so-so everything else. Again, at the asking price, there are much safer options available.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 18
  • GreenGeek on Oct 15, 2012 at 7:50 am

I first saw this model in Thailand during the Bangkok Motor Show earlier this year.  My first impression on the interior dashboard and console (in terms of quality n design) was that the buyers are being shortchanged, IMHO.  Its 2.0 specs is even a bigger joke, unless we still live in primitive age.  Haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
  • turbojin76 on Oct 15, 2012 at 8:27 am

Each cars has their own characteristics..just an honestly opinion, Toyota quite loss a little when comes to new idea of designs. I have test drove the camry, the noise insulation is superb..especially during rough surfaces, i own a sonata which has suspension softer ride, Volkswagen passat/jetta i don’t have one, but fren owns one, firmer ride than sonata and camry perhaps accord too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
  • confused on Oct 15, 2012 at 8:41 am

Rules in this comment section:

Say good things about the Koreans car – you’ll get thumbs up
    Say good things about the Japanese car – you’ll get thumbs down

Bloody keyboard warriors..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 29
    • I know right?? I thought I was the only one who realised that…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 25
      • Sam Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:38 pm

In reality, you have to kesian them, coz they will lose 1/2 the value in a year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 16
        • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:38 am

Go ahead and buy the new camry…then you will suffer what samy has already suffered…and in 8 years time, it is the VW which will be more popular and have a higher resale value…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 44
    • Sam Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:37 pm

I suspect that most of the Korean car warriors are just trying their luck to up the repo of their rotten cabbage in hope that it will fetch a better RV.

Too bad, uncle Sam is in town

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 21
    • Turboman on Oct 16, 2012 at 12:24 am

You wanna know why?

Its not because we have issues with jap cars or a big fan of korean cars. I personally is a big fan of Mazda 6.

The problem is due to the likes of Maserati, Sam Loo and Kiasu no kiasi. Whenever there is a post on korean car, expect imbeciles comments from them over and over again, even though that exact same point has been discussed over and over again in many previous posts. Some even call korean car lovers retards ( maserati anyone? ). Not to forget Sam’s antics about RV in not only on posts about korean cars, but every posts on PT.com.

So its not like we have a problem with jap cars. Its their fanboys that we have an issue with.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 38
    • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:36 am

No, the rules here is that you should talk sense. Nobody is abusing Japanese cars in general – just pointing out what a bad deal and how ugly the new Camry is, and how overpriced it is compared to the passat which is a far better car for a lower price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 42
  • kiddo on Oct 15, 2012 at 8:42 am

I’m not sure about the so-called “youngsters” out there but for a 22-year-old white collar, I’d choose the Camry over its rivals in the market.

Despite the slightly higher price(a lil surpirising, given that the specs did not improve much), and the much-disappointing disappearance of the VSC, I find the Camry fits into my likings more than the rest, especially the Koreans. Not trying to attack them in purpose though.

Here’s why.
    1. The Sonata and Optima are just too much of a looker! They’re too eye-catching that it’s hard to remain subtle and low-profile. :P

2. Maintenance matters a lot for me. Be it the cost or the availability of the service centres, Toyota still has the edge over its rivals I believe.

3. Despite the never-ending compliments of the Korean’s improvement in reliability, I’m still a bit doubtful(kia si mentality) and would still opt for Toyota as it has long been known to make cars that even a bomb can’t kill (Top Gear anyone?).

So, as an uncle, or an uncle-minded youngster, my money will still go to the Camry if, I said “if”, I’m buying a midsize sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 36
    • Disappointed on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:14 am

If you are kiasi then you wouldn’t want to pick this car either. There are much safer options out there and the Camry isn’t one of them. Uncle minded youngster or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 18
    • Kiddo, I think we are both on the same page. Literally. We are one of few people in our 20’s who would rather go for reliability and comfort than stunning exterior looks. I want a car that gives me peace at mind. Not a car that worries me on when its gonna break down..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 25
      • Cybermaster98 on Oct 15, 2012 at 4:48 pm

So where is safety on that list of priorities?

The Koreans arent all about looks. In fact, looks are subjective. So kinda pointless talking bout looks.

So since you brought up the issue of criteria, do allow me to share some plus points of the Optima K5 for instance:

1) More modern design
        2) Equally roomy interior including ample rear legroom. Did you know that a full sized adult in the front passenger seat can actually stretch out his right leg fully without pushing his seat back much?
        3) Top class specs
        4) Excellent array of safety features
        5) Higher safety ratings by the American NHTSA compared to the even the US version Camry and BMW 5 Series. (check frontal & rollover impact)
        6) 5 years unlimited mileage manufacturer warranty (not extended warranty)
        7) More horsepower & torque output (2.0L)
        8) Much improved interior & build quality with less cheapo plastics
        9) Better ride and handling although lacking in comfort no thanks to the 18 inch rims
        10) Much improved after sales service and warranty claims (based on actual experience)
        11) Quite economical. 780km actual mileage on 80L of fuel (80% highway at 160-170kmph).
        12) More affordable pricing (14K cheaper than Camry 2.0G and 38K cheaper than 2.5V)

But as with all cars, it has its own drawbacks:

1) Engine & gearbox is a step lower in refinement compared to the Camry 2.5V
        2) Decreased comfort partially due to the 18 inch rims and sports suspension
        3) Increased tyre noise thanks to the crappy Nexen tyres
        4) Service network needs to be expanded more
        5) Future resale value might not be as good as Toyota although much improved compared to earlier versions

So lets not just focus on design when there are many other factors to look at. So considering both the strengths and weaknesses, the Optima seems a reasonable buy for the price you’re paying. But it isnt the best out there for sure. But based on the improvements shown by the Koreans in recent years, im quite sure well be seeing some very interesting vehicles from them in the not too distant future.

Cheers and enjoy your ride!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 21
        • alldisc on Oct 16, 2012 at 3:47 pm

this comment is a more sensible one & honest rather than biased and bash for nothing from many keyboard heroes here (especially those who think they know everything based on looks and on paper specifications alone).

thumbs up for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
    • Sam Loo Sucks on Oct 15, 2012 at 5:50 pm

actually u r confused kiddo, cos if u are kiasi ( afraid to die ) you wont pay 181k for this low safety car and endanger yourself and your family.

makes more sense if you say u are kiasu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 43
    • kambinganas on Oct 15, 2012 at 6:21 pm

At your age I’d rather think of saving for a house than what uncle car I would buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
      • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 9:55 pm

Obviously, many young people out there are much smarter than you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 5:44 pm

You are a smart gentleman indeed. No regrets at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
    • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:40 am

You made a serious mistake only considering Toyota vs korean cars. The choices today are far wider. VW would hve given you a far better choice vs the camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 39
  • No Traction Control or No Stability control…is automatically out from my list. I already experience the need of this stability control during raining. It is a must. You really appreciate it. And it should be make compulsary by government especially big car like camry and accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 25
  • redliner on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:11 am

“The uncle never had it this good”..
    love this last statement from Danny.. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 20
  • hondaloyal on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:19 am

IMO, realibility, total cost of ownership of the car, service, spare parts are very important beside the looks and specification of the car.

For the high price of the care like conti, you will not want to go to service center once a month or frequently visit service center. I have used it before and TOTALLY REGRET for conti.

You have spent so much for a car, you will want to have a peace of mind and spend the rest of money and time with your beloved family and not just use the other $ to repair the unrealibility car and spend so much time to service center.

Owning a car is like owning a house, just that car will reduce in value. You want to stay in a house with reliability and comfort, no water linkage, no electricity off, no roof top dropping, etc. as compare to a house full of fancy and high tech things but always need to call technician or contractor to repair.

Just sharing…
    T&H still the best in car in MY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 32
    • Cybermaster98 on Oct 15, 2012 at 4:51 pm

Would you live in a house without steel bars on your windows and proper locks on your doors as well even though you may not have leaks?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
    • Sam Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:23 pm

Well said my friend. Having owned a Carens2 and 318i, I must say that toyota gives the owner peace of mind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 13
  • Defiantely NOT worth the money, regardless if its a toyota brand. those who think toyota brand is a reliable and better brand against other brands are living in past dreaming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 21
  • _xXx_ on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:30 am

alamak, look at the mismatch lip and skirts, mcm 70 YO ah pek wearing baseball cap with a yo-yo in hand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
    • rukawa on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:33 am

i shared this with a fren and we laughed as hell coz we know u really summed it up well with that sentence! good one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
      • _xXx_ on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:52 am

really? thx.
        wonder why no vertex generator on top and some canards in front…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • good to be a company car or kereta sewa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
  • You are reaching there in mind and soul..Uncle Danny. As you rightly put it, in your 1st 3 sentence. Rather go for Honda, Kia, Hyundai, Ford, or Mazda of same segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
    • Sam Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:14 pm

Honda & Mazda yes, kimchis? stay away with a 10 meter pole

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 13
  • jjchew on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:38 am

I agree that exterior-wise, it looks rather forceful as compared to the previous model. I like the previous model’s exterior designs much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • tungguuu on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:47 am

hmm..would have the peugeot 508…5 year unlimited mileage warranty to boot…much better in specs and driving feel n comfort..n best of all imported..1.6 turbo cheaper tax/insurance too..

this one is made in malaysia yet more expensive then the previous imported thailand made… buying local for imported price…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 19
    • Sam Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:13 pm

508? OMG, obviously you have not heard the horror stories with the Nasim made pugs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 8
  • CarExpert on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:48 am

I am not sure why suddenly some people are now saying there are reliability issues with turbo chargers. I have owned turbo cars from most of my driving life from both German and Japanese makes with no issues at all with the engine well taken care of. On the contrary I had many issues with my NA engined Toyota Celica after a few years. Engine downsizing and turbo charging goes hand in hand now for most manufacturers and we will see more turbo cars in the future.

I am sure the Camry is a nice comfy ride and is designed to cater to a specific audience, but that shouldn’t be am excuse for bad design. A car can be executive looking and handsome at the same time. Both are not mutually exclusive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 19
    • General public’s car usage are very different from an enthusiast. To these group of drivers, they won’t know how a turbo works and why you need to let it cool down. I heard that some new 308 Turbo owner blew the turbo within 2 weeks of ownership, by switching off the engine immediately after some hard drivings. I know that the Golf GTi have an additional oil pump to circulate the oil around the turbine for a few minutes after switching the engine off to cool it down but how many cars have such a feature? Non-performance turbo cars are tuned for low boost so temperature is never too hot.

I added an engine oil intercooler and turbo timer in my last car to ensure that my turbo stays cooler or can cool down without me waiting in the car. I can’t do that to my new car without voiding the warranty so I trained myself to cruise for the last few minutes before reaching my destination. Will the general car owners do that? Doubt it.

Car designs are subjective. What is bad design to some can be OK or even good to others. The uncles love it so would you say they have bad taste? Or is that because Toyota know that they will love and made them specially for the targeted uncles???

Anyway, I might be in the category that Toyota is targeting but I’m very much a performance car enthusiast. Driving around in a Living Room is just so wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • Kalun on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:48 am

Eventhough it’s comfortable. It’s still not preferable among the young buyer and the enthuisist. Same story for Korean Cars.
    If you want a decent car with the best comfort and handling, go for conti.
    Ford Mondeo is still favoured among europeans and it’s the same price as this Camry or VW Passat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
  • rukawa on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:57 am

toyota has been getting it wrong with their corolla series and now this “sucky” design reached the camry line too. looks kinda bad, frankly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
  • Threetwentydee on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:00 am

Not sure how Toyota’s Industrial Design team could produce such an ugly car when they are capable of beauts like the FT86….would never touch a car like this given the looks….me thinks Toyota’s good residuals will not be valid for this car as can just see the masses giving this car the pass in 3 or 4 years time…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
    • rukawa on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:09 am

they have different design teams. and also dont forget the Ft86 was co-designed between subaru (sexy car maker) and toyota (thank god)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Mr Hukaka on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:08 am

last year i can see mostly each street in my housing area got few camry when i cycle pass by.
    but now almost all of them are upgrade to the Germany passat with more reasonable price and a much better safety feature car,that i can say even most preferable company car also change to passat beside of camry.
    if toyota keep on insist to fool the bright eyes buyer they will overcome by Volkswagen and i believe this are happening now.muahahahahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
  • CK200H on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:16 am

Hei, with this price range, get a Lexus man. I have so many Japanese or European guest, they gaps when steps into my car. “This is my first time sitting in a Lexus, it feel great”, claimed. In Malaysia, we might feel that Lexus is nothing, but not Japanese or a free trade country. They feel Lexus is the art of all cars.. Just sharing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
    • In the US and Europe, Lexus is rated the most luxurious car. Only in Malaysia people over rate Mercs and Bmw’s.. Not that they aren’t good, but Lexus has more luxury features in fact, just under rated by most Malaysians. I would definitely go for a Lexus when I can. It’s also a fact that its rated the worlds most Reliable Luxury car maker. Infiniti comes after Lexus in terms of reliability and then Acura. Top 3 are Japanese.. I remember (if not recalled wrongly) that Jaguar was rated the worst in reliability. But at top 10, BMW and Merc was around 7-10.. Audi was also rated one of the worst :( ( I like Audi though).. Too bad..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
      • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 9:57 pm

And only in Malaysia sorhais think that Passat and 508 is better than Camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 11
        • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:43 am

No, only in Malaysia are there people like you, sam, who arfe so deceived by Toyota that you must have Oh what a feeling tattoed to yuour forehead…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 39
        • Toyota Camry 2009 owner on Nov 04, 2012 at 11:55 pm

Sam, I am truly embarrassed by your barrage of insensitive answer and You Give Toyota Saleman a bad name.

If you are one, you sound like you are hard selling.

• overated camry as usual. looks ghastly outside and even worst inside. i can’t live with this kind of car. if i’m looking for a large sedan, i will look elsewhere. camry is for die hard toyota fan. looks outdated with outdated technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
  • sepul on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:31 am

we can put it this way; japanese cars = practicality and reliability without the soul and excitement (sans mazda and suzuki which always excite drivers)

conti cars = enthusiasm and soul with some practicality and peace of mind (though conti cars are very delicate, owners must care more or face great depression on parts)

korean cars = a good balance between the above

japs car are reliable because their cars is not technically complicated and maintenance is very much straight forward plus excellent resale value, many of us like this.. looks are either too bland or too provocative

conti cars are much more clinical in tech and thus, must require more care in maintenance and usage.. well maintained conti cars can be very painless to own.. not many malaysians can afford such delicate care for our rides.. looks are well balanced; exciting yet calm and inoffensive

korean cars are somewhere in the middle, reliable enough to maintain yet still requires some extra care for certain parts.. but they are improving very rapidly over the years.. appeal to both japs and conti car buyers.. designers’ choice for looks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 22
    • teelim on Oct 15, 2012 at 12:10 pm

The price of Japanese cars have gone up quite significantly and Conti cars are not that much more expensive than the Japanese (if you are looking at the right ones)

Compare the Camry 2.0 with the Pug 508 Turbo S

Compare the Camry 2.5 with the VW Passat

Compare the Civic 2.0 with the Pug 308T or 408T

Also, good resale value does not justify its high price and relatively poor spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
    • StillLearning on Oct 15, 2012 at 6:05 pm

Can you explain what what is conti cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Sam Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:16 pm

Korean cars are not a good balance at all. You will cry when you sell, plus all the nightmares that you will encounter at the service centres

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 20
      • GangnamStyle! on Oct 16, 2012 at 12:21 pm

Hello from Seoul,korean car very good no chat bad the korean cars here. many korean very like our cars here with no problem. I dont no why Malaysia many problem with our cars maybe you never srvice! Korean cars now very very good not last time no very good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 39
        • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 7:53 pm

I used to have a Korean Cars that breaks down perfectly like clockwork after the 60,000kms warranty mark

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 12
          • Turboman on Oct 17, 2012 at 10:20 pm

Im sure some1 has a jap car with lots of probs.

So you are imposing your one case and assume all cases are like that?

The world is bigger than you Sam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 37
      • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 5:47 pm

Please continue to live in your kimchi laced dream

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 16
        • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:44 am

Please stay within your Toyota fantasy world and stay there…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 43
        • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 8:24 am

Try trading in your Passat today and I would love to see the look on your face when the used car fella points you to a Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 14
          • Turboman on Oct 17, 2012 at 10:22 pm

Try crashing this Camry in the rain when there is no Stability control to save your arse.

I would love to see that look in your face right before u hit the wall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 39
  • black on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:38 am

new camry design is very ugly..i’m still love my camry 2.4 year 2007 design..simple n sporty with 19′ rims

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 35
    • Sam Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:17 pm

19″ rims on a Camry would make it look rather Ah Beng wor

• Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:44 am

No need – the new Camry is the very epitome of an Ah Beng car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 39
  • taboogen on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:08 am

with that money.. better buy dugong. .and the extra money try to make that dugong less horrible then the dugong’s uncle….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
  • With that price I would rather go for p508 gt diesel. Its spacious, modern, more executive looking, better handling ,more quiet and better looking car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
  • Paul Tan on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:46 am

I can’t get over the fact that they removed VSC from this car.

http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stability-control-is-a-must-malaysian-motorists-deserve-better-active-safety-in-their-cars/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 17
    • teelim on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:59 am

Maybe UMW Toyota felt that the people who are interested in the Camry would not “need” such a feature?

UMW Toyota is really taking a step backwards…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
    • rukawa on Oct 15, 2012 at 12:15 pm

a clear sign that they could care less about the junk they churn out into the market as long as it sells. and yet there are fanboys who continue to buy all these marketing crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
    • car makers usually maintain or increase specs with each new or facelift models…UMW’s decision does not make sense.

well only thing that comes to mind is in Boleh Land, car specs and pricing does not make sense. so, either the MY consumers band together and refrain from buying crappy models until the principals learn from their weird pricing/specs decisions or the MY consumers continue to be at the mercy of car principals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • mystvearn on Oct 15, 2012 at 7:57 pm

I think Toyota Malaysia knows and cementing the fact that everyone who buys this is Uncle. Uncles drive the car slow and steady. Not need VSC :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • newGuy on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:09 pm

5th gear TV show mentioned ESC mandatory on all new car in UK by 2014

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • Sam toilet on Oct 16, 2012 at 3:11 pm

Uncles not many years to live already. No need VSC, waste of investment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 42
  • teelim on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:57 am

Not the car that I would get if I was looking for something at this price range.

But I think the worst spec to price ratio car is the Camry 2.0 @ RM150k… Compared to that, this looks like a good bargain (but of course, if you look elsewhere, everything else seems like a bargain too XD )

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • The 508 is definitely not quieter than the Camry. Not sure about insulation from the interior la. but outside the car, the engine and compressor is like the 80’s famous Mercedes scream! It’s very loud…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • When a car gets to this size, the shape is ‘berhad’ ie limited, for the practicality of carring more people in comfort?

You cannot get away from the boxy type shape.

But then parking becomes a problem…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • Now Korean cars (Hyundai, Kia), European cars (Volkswagen,Peugeot), Honda also with 5 years warranty. Even our Proton also 5 years. Unfortunately New Camry still 3 years..Maybe this car will broke off when it reach 4 years…or recall within 3 years…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 19
    • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 8:11 pm

No point for SD and Naza to provide 5 year warranty when almost every darn thing that broke is not covered in the so called warranty.

Also, if the car is so good, why need 5 years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
    • T or H both are the same on Dec 04, 2012 at 12:44 pm

a lifetime warranty for power window, even for a preve! UMW are you sleeping?!

• StillLearning on Oct 15, 2012 at 12:36 pm

I have a question for mr otai here. What is CONTINENTAL car means? Anybody can explain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
    • ionlaw on Oct 15, 2012 at 1:37 pm

I guess mainland car, cannot stand the sea water…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
    • Sam from The Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 4:23 pm

CONTINENTAL means the cars are using Continental Tyres :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 41
    • yes sam, i totally agreed with u…continental car means the car use continental tyre…so many on the road today….:)…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
      • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 5:49 pm

And there are so many Made In Malaysia and China Continental Tyres in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • Mp_drucker on Oct 16, 2012 at 11:25 pm

Poor boy, nobody seems to bother to response to you.
      When people say Continental cars, they refer to cars of European origin.
      VW, BMW, Mercedes, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, Citroen,……..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
      • StillLearning on Oct 17, 2012 at 8:26 am

Thanks for your reply. Was it means that Ford and Chevrolet aren’t considered as continental car?

Many people commenting conti this conti that but its kind of mixed up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
        • mp_drucker on Oct 17, 2012 at 9:40 pm

i am not an expert in this field but my understanding is that Continental cars refer to cars of European origin.
          Ford and Chevrolet are American based and i think it shouldn’t be considered Continental. But sometimes it is hard to draw the line now for example, Nissan, is it still a Japanese car? i am not sure how much influence the Renault has on Nissan but look at Teana, i think it has got a good blend of Japanese and French.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
          • Anon_1986 on Nov 01, 2012 at 9:01 pm

The “conti” name was probably coined by English car journalists. Obviously, it doesn’t make sense from an Asian or American perspective, as Asia and North America are both continents as well.

• Katak on Oct 15, 2012 at 1:12 pm

Despite the bad review, why I’m still seeing lots of this new Camry on the road? Oh I see, most folks that commented here are not really afford to buy a car in this range. Come on, give me thumb down. :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 35
    • rukawa on Oct 15, 2012 at 3:17 pm

Katak, i got a friend in sales whose dad is rich n forced him to use a camry (bought for him as present) because his dad is old school and thinks Toyota is the best car manufacturer in the world. he now only drives the camry to work, but when out for drinks, drives his wife’s car. its quite funny as he doesnt wanna be called “Uncle”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • BeemerFreak on Oct 15, 2012 at 4:41 pm

I gave you a thumbs up! You mad now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
    • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 3:02 pm

Most of these sorhais are just keyboard warriors that drives either a Vios or City, but choose to pretend to own a Passat or 508.

Boh lui ai tua sia mar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 10
  • Extrimist on Oct 15, 2012 at 1:31 pm

Let see what Japanese get fot their market. FC is determined from Japanese JC08 test. Data taken from respective official japanese website.

Toyota Camry Hybrid (2.5L inline 4)
    Max Torque [Nm/rpm]: 213 /4,500 engine, 270 Nm motor
    FC: 23.4 km/l
    Price: 3.04 million yen (RM118k)

Nissan Teana (2.5L V6)
    Max Torque [Nm/rpm]: 232 /4,400
    FC: 11.4 km/l
    Price: 2.98 million yen (RM112k)

Toyota New Mark X (2.5L V6)
    Max Torque [Nm/rpm]: 243 /4,800
    FC: 11.8 km/l
    Price: 2.44 million yen (RM95k)

Volkswagen Passat TSI Comfortline (1.4L inline 4, turbo)
    Max Torque [Nm/rpm]: 200 /1,500?4,000
    FC: 17.6 km/l
    Price: 3.24 million yen (RM126k)

*** The Japanese JC08 test represents driving in congested city traffic, including idling periods and frequently alternating acceleration and deceleration. Measurement is made twice, with a cold start and with a warm start.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 13
  • ionlaw on Oct 15, 2012 at 1:35 pm

very soon, Toyota will stop Paultan.org from test drive their cars…HAHAHAHA…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 40
    • Just like Top Gear….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 35
    • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 8:13 pm

The kimchi supporters in paultan are just keyboard warriors.

In real life, they drive a Toyota or Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 11
  • albag on Oct 15, 2012 at 1:46 pm

Let us think of another angle, i believe UMW themselves do think the current Camry looks like shit (only they dont say). UMW is currently acting ignorant now… so that to give a chance for Malaysian consumers to choose other brand with better looking cars like Honda or Korean marques or European marques. If the consumers still perceive Camry as a God car of all cars and keep buying the car, then the flashpoint of the problem actually lies within the Malaysian consumers itself. By the time, UMW can proudly say, even if we produce shit looking cars, Malaysian consumers will still buy our cars and support us (due to their stupidity)!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 14
    • tungguuu on Oct 15, 2012 at 2:37 pm

yup..so true…check out the avanza…malaysians buy it in tonnes..even though its a third world country car….is it even safe? :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
    • Sam Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:20 pm

UMWT cannot do anything about the new car shape, but they certainly can do something about the built quality and the specs.

Locally assembled Camry’s are already showing quality issues, especially with the poor suspension setup on the 2.0.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
  • Lonelydriver on Oct 15, 2012 at 2:35 pm

Kudos to Danny’s and Paul’s honest opinions about the missing VSC in this generation of Camry. UMW should really not be stingy on such important safety electronic aid, especially with our road conditions, rainy weather and sometimes rather reckless drivers all around.

I think even without consumers feedback, UMW should do the right thing and not compromise on safety. The absence of VSC just goes to show they care more about profits and their customers’ safety.

Spread the word — tell your friends, family and relatives not to buy another Toyota IF they value their lives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • Lonelydriver on Oct 15, 2012 at 2:37 pm

…. profits ‘than’ their customers’ safety. (correction)

• To me if any company removing the safety features for whatever reason-it is crime!
      You dont deal with criminal man, that simple.
      I got new mondeo, my wife new mitsu.
      prior to that my whole family use only one brand-Toyota.
      Now i f them from head to toe.
      definitely loosing 400k business from me, what more to it will be, i’ll influence all my friend to change brand-sometg analogy to coming election.
      got wrong car(G?) YOU WILL BE SORRY FOR NEXT FEW YEARS!

• paparadzi on Oct 15, 2012 at 3:47 pm

A car brand will have good resale value not because of the current model, but due to previous models. Toyota has been good previously, hence the high resale value. The current Malaysian Camry lacks a lot of the points to be excellent, so in the future the resale value of a Toyota may not be as good as before, thanks to the current generation. Even if the next generation Camry is very beautiful, very reliable and amazingly specced, the damage has been done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • Mario Gomez on Oct 15, 2012 at 4:15 pm

My K5 is way better than this junk!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 40
    • Sam Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 8:55 pm

Your 2012 Camry will be worth less than a 2005 ACV30 Camry in a years time.

Now see who is the sucker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 12
      • Turboman on Oct 16, 2012 at 12:06 am

The sucker is Sam.

Cause that is who UMW thinks he is. Paying RM180k for a car without VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 30
    • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 12:23 pm

Try asking for a price of your K5 today. The look of your face will be able to make it to the cover page of National Geographic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 8
  • Pumpkins on Oct 15, 2012 at 4:37 pm

OK fine, but how many Cute Chicks the uncle can get from driving Camry???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 35
  • Camry Lover on Oct 15, 2012 at 4:51 pm

VSC was one of the main reason i spent additional RM20k for the 2.4V model (previous gen). It saved me a few times both on cornering and on wet conditions. Removing it in this top end model is really a mistake. Really shame Toyota to do cost cutting on our lives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 8:52 pm

Yes, the ACV40 2.4V is the best Camry ever produced

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
      • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 1:47 am

After A4 spin earlier today now thinking of A4.

• Turboman on Oct 17, 2012 at 10:36 pm

Sam

You are so rich. Can buy so many cars.

Just make sure u don’t gear too much. 2 years loan is good enough. Cause A4 you know la, no resale value. Later when u sell, u get that look on your face when the dealer points to a hilux, how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 37
      • Sam Loo on Oct 18, 2012 at 7:22 pm

For Camry, Corolla and Vios, dealer will even have to bribe you to sell your car.

This is one Luxury Sui Kwan Euro and Kwai Tai Kimchis will never ever have

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 8
    • sudonano on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:40 am

Agree. VSC was one of the best things of the last gen model. To silly to remove it. Now, i’d go with the mondeo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
  • Vincent on Oct 15, 2012 at 5:39 pm

When I look at New Camry inside and out, I feel really pathetic for Toyota, how could a Global manufacturer come out with this kind of car? Looks like they really lack of resources to create a better car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • kambinganas on Oct 15, 2012 at 6:00 pm

For an extra RM6,000 you can get the top of the line Camry Hybrid 2.5 HV Navigator in Thailand. So no, only in Malaysia you get supercrap specs at super high prices. So jangan main cakap Thai specs equally crap as ours.

Tak percaya, see here:
    http://www.toyota.co.th/en/product-detail.php?model=camry&opt=features

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Buy Proton Inspira 2.0 better!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
  • Jube-Jubes on Oct 15, 2012 at 6:37 pm

VSC? eats into profits. More Airbags? eat’s into profits. People buying a camry are a dying generation. Sorry but VW is going to continue to erode Toyota sales…so long as Toyota keeps conning people with omitting certain safety features and coming up with ridiculous designs.

Seriously you can Dislike this comment for all you want…doesn’t change the fact that this things looks terrible :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
  • Alicia on Oct 15, 2012 at 6:58 pm

Camry looks pretty good to me, although the pricing is definitely out of my reach, haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 15
  • NISSpengAN on Oct 15, 2012 at 7:05 pm

i better wait till to buy either 2013 honda accord or 2013 mazda 6 rather than buy this ‘cock sucka’ camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
    • RedBeanBun on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:28 pm

Mazda6 may change the landscape..the cx5 proven success…and mazda3 is not bad either (pricy abit)..but the Hybrid of Civic/Prius will be the future…Mazda need to react b4 too late also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • Sam Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:57 pm

Problem is not with Mazda. It’s with Berjaya, being a hit and run company with no long term vested interest to develop a brand and investing in after sales service

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • what ever people say, i will stick on toyota and my toyota…no reason but still love toyota…only those owned toyota can understand what i mean..most readers here ride kancil…then on paper comparison will always make toyota left behind…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
    • CamCamTey on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:37 pm

I have been observing that Vios owner always think their car is the best in the world. Vios is nothing but another cheapo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
  • what ever people say, i will stick on toyota and my toyota…no reason but still love toyota…only those owned toyota can understand what i mean..most readers here ride based on spec sheet….then on paper comparison will always make toyota left behind…compare to vw n others

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 21
    • Jube-Jubes on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:22 pm

comparison on paper? dude you seriously need to drive a VW, BMW or even a Mondeon hell a Mazda 6 for that matter…these cars handle way much better than a toyota…and yes you’re right on paper it does beat the Camry!

Look I am not against Toyota… I am just saying to cut on safety equipment but still ask the buyer for more money is ridiculous!

plus look at the design….oh don’t even get me started on that!

Why do you people allow yourself to be conned so easily?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
      • Hey Jube, how much you know about Toyota and its business model? People buying Camry is non of your business….is their choise, who you are to ask such a question? You buy whic one is best for you rite. Stop doing that and would be good if you could share with us about your lovely car :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
        • Jube-Jubes on Oct 16, 2012 at 4:35 pm

Hey TYT, I can tell you for sure my car is not a Camry!

I place importance on safety, if you buy that car which is less safe that is your own prerogative but please don’t put your kids in it! People have the responsibility to make the safe choice!

You could say I am concerned citizen and it also pains me to see someone else spend good hard earned money on a piece of junk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • JembePower on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:23 pm

comparison on paper? dude you seriously need to drive a VW, BMW or even a Mondeon hell a Mazda 6 for that matter…these cars handle way much better than a toyota…and yes you’re right on paper it does beat the Camry!

Look I am not against Toyota… I am just saying to cut on safety equipment but still ask the buyer for more money is ridiculous!

plus look at the design….oh don’t even get me started on that!

Why do you people allow yourself to be conned so easily?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
      • Sam Loo on Oct 18, 2012 at 7:23 pm

But the fundamental question is, why there is no demand for pre-owned Mazda6 & Mondeo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:56 pm

And Vios is probably one of the cars with the highest RV on the road nowadays

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 18
      • Davinnci on Oct 16, 2012 at 12:53 pm

Die hard supporter of japanese car

• Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 8:17 pm

Better be a die hard jap supported rather than the hailat kimchi owner losing 50% value in a year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 14
      • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:51 am

Resale value again – you must be a used car salesman…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 39
      • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 8:26 am

Cacat Passat again, you must have gotten a quote on your VW and now try to improve its RV by selling in a Camry Forum?

Just admit that you have made the grave mistake, like kimchi owners

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 8
    • teelim on Oct 16, 2012 at 2:21 am

I have driven a Vios and a City, and I must say, the Vios is a rip off.

The Vios handles like, well, what I assume a dungong would handle (huge body roll and not very confident around corners). Also the 4speed autobox feels really prehistoric.

I would recommend the City over the Vios anytime.

Vios good? Really? I don’t think so… seriously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 30
    • Sam Loo on Oct 20, 2012 at 2:57 pm

Been there done that. Beemers have a nice brand name behind them but when the repair bills start to come in, regret would be too late

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Guys, I personally think that the Japs are starting to fall behind in the car industry. My dad owns a 08 accord and sure it last quite a long time but look at it now, it just doesnt quite cut it in this date and time. I own a forfi and i think its much better than what the japs have achived nowadays. If my dad decides to change his accord for a next gen accord i would surely recommend him to a nicer and better choice. Camry, nah. Passat, give it a tought, M6, too young for him, next gen Mondeo, not bad. Better yet, get a lower class car for much better value for money. ForFo ftw.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
  • Leong on Oct 15, 2012 at 8:53 pm

If you are going to spend RM 180K,I really wonder why you ever visit Toyota,waste of time…..better off in a VW or BMW or volvo or Ford or mazda showroom,more bang for your buck.to my knowledge any car more than 2.0 litre regardless of brand has very little command on resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 27
    • Sam Loo on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:55 pm

Simple Answer. VW, BMW, Volvo, Ford NO RV.

Mazda a little better.

Cars here are so expensive, so RV and reliability is a big determinant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 23
      • Turboman on Oct 16, 2012 at 2:00 am

So the safety of your family members is not important?

Your kids, your wife? All not important? Only RV important.

I wish your kids and wife would know the kind of person u really are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 45
        • mr_em on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:26 am

turboman,

some people here put NO VALUE on their family….

so i guess its their loss to have such a view… if that’s the case, just let them be proud of their cars with high RV etc…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 41
          • Turboman on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:44 pm

They justify that by assuming it will not work so they can sleep at night.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 43
      • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 5:51 pm

Whats the point of having 6 airbags in a Sonata that does not work? Might as well have none

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 13
        • Turboman on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:35 pm

What proof u have that it does not work or u r doing what u do best, which is plucking random items from the air?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 43
        • Turboman on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:37 pm

What proof u have that it does not work?

Most Pt.com readers are from the middle to middle upper class educated netizens. And being educated, we rely on proofs, not hearsay and certainly not random points u pluck from the air.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 44
  • RedBeanBun on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:11 pm

why review a 2.5 in the first place? how many unit of 2.5 is sold even for the last model?

since T knows 2.0L will be not welcome..2.5 for RM 180K? HA HA HA…thats crazy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
  • RedBeanBun on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:21 pm

Paul, its good that you point out the VSC, however:

1) UMW is a GLCs! and contrary to everyone thought it benefits the Jap, it benefit the UMW more! and..

2) Having accident Gov 100% said is driver’s fault of driving too fast. The term “accident” is never into consideration, so no air-bag, lousy crash result, is also no regulation. We took how many years to make a safe belt mandatory?

In short, you drive at your own risk. No governance, policy will benefit drivers from the pocket to the safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
  • DArkerMarker on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:14 pm

this car is very beautiful…….in the eyes of apek, unker and aunties…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
  • CamCamTey on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:35 pm

No Stability Control?! Are you kidding me?!
    I think it is easy to earn uncle’s money.
    They know nothing but Totota, no wonder Totota accident death rate is so high…
    http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2012/7/12/nation/20120712135444&sec=nation

Uncle, when you buy a Totota, think again, you already lived long enough? Choice’s yours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • sulaiman hamzah on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:39 pm

I think the reviewer did an excellent, non partial review of the car, Now, I hope we have more of this in all future articles from Paultan.org and not some brown nosing for the manufacturers.

Excellent review…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
  • Susan Whitaker on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:11 pm

This new Camry has not the best looking amongst its generations. The interior is so, like you locals called Uncle and Ah Pek, the wood trim shade color is a no-no and really spoilt the look. I personally love the Passat, the strong torgue blend with its HP and gear shift its marvelous. Handling is magnificient. I did test drive Camry and was not impressed at all, the steering response was a lowdown, does not feel like a 2.5 at all, maybe on paper yes. In contrast, the Passat is excellent in every department, braking, handling, accelerating, comfort and the sporty luxurious interior. I was suprise on paper its 160PS where I feel its almost 200 +-. The look of this new Camry look disoriented and out of proportion, small wheel arch and flat rear cutting which makes it like a hastily designed car. No offense to any owners here but this is not a good buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 29
    • b sensible on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:23 am

might be the gov need to intervene on the pricing of the car e.g. enforcing safety features like vsc, rear camera, auto wiper, running lcd lighting, navigation system. wait announcement on the national automative policy.
      the other thing is drivers need not worry about buying their dream car, b’cos the market will determine the fate of the car makers. if unable to achieve sales target, car makers will incorporate more features e.g. vsc or even lower the price to attract buyers.
      stay tuned!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
  • autodriver on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:20 pm

180k Camry but not a 5 star safety car, what a shame when car below 100k like Fiesta, Preve and Forte has ESP (or VSC).

Those who may not know this new Camry is not 5 star safety rated. Because ESP is a mandatory to seek 5 star rating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
  • VSCman on Oct 15, 2012 at 11:32 pm

.. why uncles don’t need VSC? bcoz they drive slow? Wait until they drive at KL-Karak highway during rainfall, descending from Genting Sempah….

Toyota should think more intelligentlly, globally..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
  • skyjuice on Oct 16, 2012 at 1:26 am

in general..bad looks…bad value for money..bad for safety…and bad bad bad in everything

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
  • Jasmine on Oct 16, 2012 at 1:51 am

Camry is that bad huh… based on the negative comments here. If that’s the case, I wonder why it is still being sold at such a high price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
    • teelim on Oct 16, 2012 at 2:23 am

Because the diehard Toyota/Camry supporters will still buy it regardless the price, specs or looks, and UMW Toyota knows this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
      • Jasmine on Oct 16, 2012 at 9:26 am

Oh, I guess there is some truth in this. But, why can Toyota/Camry garner such diehard supporters, if they do not have what it takes? :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
        • Davinnci on Oct 17, 2012 at 1:20 am

No matter what, remove the VSC is a rip off to the vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
        • RedBeanBun on Oct 17, 2012 at 4:41 pm

The toyota ride on its brand, the UMW take benefit of its brand and strip off and feed off the consumer. Most car is sale by GLCs and the competition is not that fierce. However, the challenges from Mazda and others will give Toyota a lesson. THis camry can be the worst selling camry as compare the previous model.

• teelim on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:33 pm

The thing is, Toyota and Honda they used to be cheap and reliable.

While they may still be reliable (aside from the recall issues now and then), they are no where near cheap and their cars available here are generally specced poorly compared to the Contis and Koreans, while priced higher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • b sensible on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:01 am

in my opinion, high price b’cos umwt know the car is saleable, just a matter of time whether sales target is achievable.
      another thing camry aka “uncle’s car”. so the market is high income earners…as “uncle” earn more than ordinary wage earners.
      last but not least, brand loyalty. when seeing “toyota,” they see the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
  • This car is good for Malaysia, AES on the road must drive very slow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
  • it’s quite sad that Toyota is a superb car brand but UMW has let it down in Malaysia. At first, i was expecting a new Toyota Camry with all those technology that others have like VSC. UMW also knows that their competitors have a lot of features but they still don’t want to compete on that. I don’t understand at all. I even went to Toyota showroom before raya, the salesman said that, “tak berbaloi beli toyota camry 2.0, badan je baru, enjin, transmission semua lama, just go for Camry 2.5”

Maybe UMW wants to maintain their 4-6 months bonus for their staffs by throwing away all the good features inside the camry and make more profit out of it. Sad….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • Alex259 on Oct 16, 2012 at 11:44 am

Whatever your statement is, it’s not only applicable in M’sia. The same powertrain applied worldwide,so its not UMW’s problem, but TOYOTA’s problem!! pls be clear of that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
  • uncertain buyer on Oct 16, 2012 at 8:48 am

“If you really want a Camry, perhaps you can look for a low mileage last generation model with VSC and some warranty left. You can look for used Toyota Camry XV40 on oto.my.”

or maybe just buy 2.0V dual VVT-i altis with VSC and TCS installed!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
  • Norman on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:15 am

Seriously i dun wanna spend on this car even though they sell me RM150K,Why its the most ultra boring no soul and seriously Ahpek car.To hell with reputation and after sales service.Those who are really car enthusiast will surely Understand me.For RM180k i dun mind to have a go at Continental 1.6/2.0 or even Subarus.Even Hyundai and Kias are way much better than this Camry shit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
  • clement s on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:18 am

I am in my early 40’s (not an uncle nor young man).I seriouly tested all the D-segment cars (RM150k to RM190k++) before paying my hard-earned money the car dealer 4 and half months back. I just would like to share my own finding from a layman point of view.
    The first 3 cars opt out from my list was [Camry 2.4 ACV40]. The outlook is average (too common anyway), cabin is absolutely quite. The suspension was too soft to maintain the speed beyond 120km/h whenever cruising along uneven road. Steering is totally numb and disconnected to the road condition.
    [Accord2.4]. No particular comment on the exterior and interior. The driver seat is somehow can’t be adjusted to my like due to the excessive lumbar support??!!Engine response sluggishly during low rev but sounds sweet above 3500rpm,it is not practical though. Noise intrudes heavily from the bottom, noise insolation at chassis is not on par with the rest.
    [Sonata2.0]. Its’ handsomeness starts to fade rapidly. Unsettled rear wheels pins my nerve whenever a sudden lane change at speed above 80km/h. 2.0 Engine is obviously underpowered to push the car. Engine refinement is still lagged behind. Surprisingly, Optima K5’s road holding is much better than Sonata
    Next 3 cars out from the list were…
    [Mazda 6 2.5]Overall design is not as appealing as 6 yrs back, engine noise truly annoys me at all speed range. Yet, the handling is still above average(The new “Kodo” design Mazda 6 of course is a different story).
    [Teana2.5]The car is too uncle-ish too me inside out. It keeps reminding me that I am driving a huge car even though the 2.5engine is powerful enough to push the car in anytime. The V6 engine is very silent during the high speed cruising and the suspension setup is much better than Camry & Accord. However, the overall “Feel” is not there, needless to mention about the driving spirit.
    [Passat1.8]Passat’s outlook is very subjective to individual. To me, I feel it is too dull(VW CC is marvelous) however, I think this kind of setup can really last b’cos its’ simplisity. Honestly speaking, I absolutely like the way DSG gearbox performs, it is smart and actively understand the command from the right foot. But, not much excitement delivered, the rear wheels seems a bit of retarded. Major set back is the back seat, it is the narrowest among all.
    The 2 finalist (to me I would say)
    [Pug508]The car’s sleekness inside out has shown how stringent the way French making a car. Although the interior/dashboard material is not the best in class, but the safety features provided and the silent cabin enviroment has made me the driving experience to be a pleasant one. Suspension is firm but slightly too hard to me but body roll is well controlled. Handling is superb..I heard 508 2.2GT diesel powered setup is even much better…well I hv not tested it b’cos…
    My hard earned money RM193k has eventually given to Ford Mondeo.
    4 and half months down the road, i enjoy in every moment i spend time with the car. To me, Powershift gearbox is smart and fast enough to engage to the right gear ratio in what ever circumstances don’t even need to bother toggling nob. Ecoboost with max 237hp always standby to deliver the more than enough power to push the car effortlessly. Car handling is the best in the class I would say, body roll is almost non existence. I used to travel from JB to Termeloh thru east coast main trunk. Seriouly, I am not a speed enthusiast however when all the bends and curvy road in front of me can be confidently conquered it makes me smile, now I truly appriciate what is so called euro style of handling and ride quality….all these are not able be compensated by the car resale value or the strong service team or whatsoever b’cos during the moment that is what a Good car should be….the enjoyment/excitment, the confidence, the safety features given…BTW, the wife and sons sleep every well along the way…b’cos the cabin is so confortable and quiet (as good as Camry if not better)…Suspension is nicely setup firm but not harsh, interior material is decent and soft touch all round….
    I am going to used the car at least 7 to 8 yrs…by the time all cars have no much residual..to me it make no difference…
    Sadly said, Mondeo is an unknown for most of the people, if Sime Darby can do a better job, it should or ought to be well accepted due to its relatively good setup and nature…haizzzz..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 22
    • tokmoh on Oct 16, 2012 at 12:00 pm

Mondeo’s a hard sell because it’s priced way above other cars you’ve listed, but it’s also a much, much more complete car than all others.

SD should consider bringing in the 1.6 ecoboost instead, should be able to price it more competitively with the others, and with the right marketing and after sales support, it’s a win.

Congrats on your purchase, feels good to have made the right choice most others missed out, eh? :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 29
    • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 5:53 pm

Mondeo’s windscreen needs 6 weeks shipping time. Good Luck for this cold door car owners

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 17
  • Norman on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:18 am

What do you expect when almost Asian nation regard Toyotas and Hondas are reliable and practical even though it got no soul and characteristic?I’m a car/bike enthusiast and i dun go for after sales etc kinda crap.Even now Toyota parts are 70% made in China,Vios is like a milo tin also they say Goooodd

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 33
  • shawal on Oct 16, 2012 at 11:47 am

Toyota is not the problem
    UMW is ,
    checkout Toyota australia website
    this model is known as the aurion there
    specced up to the brim

Kia malaysia shud introduce the Optima 2.0 turbo limited, with satnav , electronic parking brake & black & white leather interior, i want one in red

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 10
    • Disappointed on Oct 16, 2012 at 3:37 pm

Go check the rest of the Toyota Website in the Asean region. The non hybrid Camry 2.0G and 2.5V are all similarly badly specced. The fault lies with Toyota Asia while UMW is the guilty party in profiteering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 32
  • Happy on Oct 16, 2012 at 12:31 pm

Opinions,choices and looks are in the eye of the beholder. There are no right or wrong so long the person is happy with what they had paid for. Face the fact, Toyota and Honda brandship has already been a long living icon in many asian mindset. No matter how the design goes the “brand” still runs in the people’s mind. It is quite hard to make an older folk like my parents especially to switch brand while the two brands in particular has been living around them for decades. No doubt I would love to own either a Toyota Camry or Honda Civic 2 litre in the mean time I love my KIA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 38
    • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:59 am

What is objective and not open for discussion is the elimination of VSC from the camry and yet the price is higher than the previous camry. That alone condemns the new camry as a compromised car and unacceptable for anyone who cares about the passengers he is driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 52
  • Any body can give a comments of Sonata vs. Camry?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 49
    • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 9:02 pm

You can only compare hyundai/kia Sonata/K5 with Geely, great wall, TaTa, mahindra, dong feng, etc as they are in the same league.

Compare Camry with accord, mazda6, teana/cefiro.

No point comparing with Sui kwan and Kwai tai euro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 14
      • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:29 pm

Definitely can compare Passat, 508, Sonata, K5 together as well, coz they are in the cold door category

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 10
  • warlock on Oct 16, 2012 at 1:09 pm

forget camry…go for bmw! hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 53
    • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 5:53 pm

Beemer sui kwan wor

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 7
      • Mario Gomez on Oct 16, 2012 at 7:38 pm

Audi??

• Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:01 pm

Sui Kwan, lower reliability rating than Benz

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 8
      • Manyproblem on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:42 pm

Sam so many cars also u know inside out I wonder what kind of supercar u might be driving mind to share with us ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 54
        • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 12:50 pm

Just bought Audi A4 1.8T.

I also has the 2.4L Camry and Cayman S.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 67
          • I like the name Sam Loo Sucks on Oct 18, 2012 at 6:47 pm

Sam loo, sorry dude, i started to hate your lack of maturity comments/posting.

Some maths:
            Camel plus Lorry = Camry.. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 54
        • Sam Loo Sucks on Oct 17, 2012 at 3:40 pm

sam drive a super dugong with TRD bodykit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 62
        • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 7:13 pm

This fake fella only talks about Audi.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 8
  • Josh Ling on Oct 16, 2012 at 5:59 pm

i just don’t like the new camry, spec is too low, bodykit sucks, and too much “cost-saving” mechanisms, and feels cheap some more in some areas…..come on, toyota, you don’t have to be that stingy, are you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 45
    • riyadh on Oct 16, 2012 at 9:18 pm

Don’t like don’t like lah. Nobody force you to buy, go and get your UNCLE PASSAT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 46
      • Josh Ling on Oct 16, 2012 at 11:55 pm

don’t like your UNCLE PASSAT, don’t like lah, no one force you to buy oso…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 50
    • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:01 pm

Actually, the Passat really looks cacat, so boxy, reminds me of Volvo 240

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 16
      • Growler on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:57 am

Better go to the eye doctor, if you think the Camry actually looks better than the passat…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 67
      • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 8:28 am

Passat CC looks great, but Passat boxy looks reminds me of a coffin

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 15
      • Sam Loo on Oct 18, 2012 at 8:12 pm

Better get rid of those Korean Make Specs. Your view is really distorted now.

No matter how many airbags your car has also cannot save you lidat

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 7
    • Hey Josh Ling,try to behave more professional here. No body in farcing you to own the camry. Go for your lovely car and stop bad-mounting others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 50
      • Josh Ling on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:15 pm

and i was being unprofessional here? seriously? i thought this is a place for people to comment. and by comment, i believe there are some good ones and bad ones. who is (or are) being really unprofessional here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 46
  • suffer on Oct 16, 2012 at 9:44 pm

I read most of the write up here and some of the critics were childishly written as I also presume many simply don’t come close to owning one yet. I am curious, for a car price range of say RM150,000 to 190,000, how many young people of the age group of 25 to 40 years old could afford? I am already in my mid 40s and my household combine income of RM13,000 plus per month also find it hard to execute such a car price eventhough my commitment level are not great besides housing loan. I simply do not wish to struggle with high repayments every month and the max year consideration for me would be a 5 year loan as i still want to enjoy many overseas trip with my wife and three kids. I guess those who can afford it must be rich, correct me if im wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 15
    • Davinnci on Oct 17, 2012 at 1:25 am

What to do, say Hi to the G…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 52
    • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 8:47 am

Some people just like to have a high financial gearing ratio.

But the problem is, if they buy a car with poor resale value, at the end of say a year loan tenure, they will lose minimally 75%-85% of the car value. This is where remorse starts to kick in

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 21
      • Turboman on Oct 17, 2012 at 10:15 pm

80 percent in a year?

Sam, plucking figures from the air again to confuse Pt.com readers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 66
      • Sam Loo on Oct 18, 2012 at 8:13 pm

End of the loan tenure lar.

Pls change your specs to Jap made. This is oledi proof that Korean products are defective…. or perhaps your brains cell count is low

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 13
        • Turboman on Oct 20, 2012 at 7:11 am

“at the end of say a year loan tenure, they will lose minimally 75%-85% of the car value”

Go get your eyes checked. U said a year loan tenure, and u are known for plucking random big numbers from the air in a desperate attempt to make your point.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 61
  • small_T on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:38 am

wahh.. beautiful car on the outside and inside… my dream camry.. perfect looking.. love the way the bumper is macthing with the front lip…

this is how we design car.. building quality sure its better than honda accord or even k5… all those other korea car poser look but cheap plastic.. this camry is looking very prestigious and luxury…i believe good fight will give it to even or passat, audi a6 or even bmw 5 serie..

i know sure handling like all other toyota… very comfort and sporty (toyota f1 dna inside) too.. and best part power enough too…

i will buy this car soon… well done toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 62
  • tiadaid on Oct 17, 2012 at 12:02 pm

If Malaysia’s full of people like Sam Loo, I’d say “Screw it, keep the car prices high!”

It’s mainly not the government that’s stopping us from getting good cars. It’s buggers like Sam Loo who keep buying crap cars from Toyota in the name of resale value (not that it’s any good – frequent Paultan readers knows my trials & tribulations owning a Honda City, which after 7 years I sold for RM 26K: Proton Waja money.)

Their stupid act deprives us of getting good cars, no matter what the price!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 49
  • ChinaMan on Oct 17, 2012 at 3:43 pm

This Camry at such a price still give plastic wood panel to customers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 53
  • I’ve owned the XV40 2.4G and currently drive the Lexus-spec Harrier 240G (same engine as XV40). The reason I kept going for the Toyota shows its desirability to family men like me, whom wanted a reliable, fuss-free and bullet-proof engine, executive D-segment ride. I am in my thirties and used to have more exciting marques like Alfa Romeo and Fiat sports car. These days, give me a good Jack-of-all-trades like Camry and I’ll be pleased as punch! Next on my horizon, I like to be able to upgrade to the Lexus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 7:16 pm

Bro, I am with you. Using a Camry 2.4V now, planning to upgrade to the GS300 (2008). The GS350 too heavy on road tax

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 16
      • Anti LOO on Oct 18, 2012 at 9:47 am

WHAT second hand? Cannot afford road tax? Talk cock la this guy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 80
  • anytime i choose K5!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 72
    • Sam Loo on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:39 am

Sure, cry like a man when you sell

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 11
      • Pity if you have to cry when upgrading car. If you can’t afford the new car, keep the old one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 67
  • MrCounterstrike on Oct 18, 2012 at 2:57 am

With the Camry’s price, I rather spend the money buying a Volkswaegen Passat or Used Mercedes Benz/BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 71
  • Should wait until Camry add on all the Safety features before thinking of buying this car. Please boycott this version until UMW rectify this NEW Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 65
  • sazali on Oct 18, 2012 at 7:20 pm

Passat is neither here or there. No style no character, not prestige. Just another VW. Camry is more elegant. Drive a GTi you have to keep on telling people is a Gti. Try selling a VW, French, Ford, Czech and Koreans after 5 years. Used car market will simply throw you a price. Want to sell come, think too low, you can keep it. Toyota and Honda, all will came running.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 66
  • There is non K5 2.0 in US. No Passat 1.8 in US. If you don’t like Camry, consider other cars. That mean Camry is still automatic 1st choice. Will never be a bad one too. Have you ever heard someone regretted buying a Toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 58
    • Sam Loo on Oct 18, 2012 at 8:15 pm

Spot on Bro. They can label this car uncle all they want, but I’d rather be a happy uncle when I trade in my Toyota for a Lexus rather than having to scream Hailat if I owned a Sui Kwan Euro or a Kwai Tai Kimchi

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 10
  • Sam,
    It is pretty funny u keep emphasizing the supremacy resale value of certain marque after a year or two. By logical thinking, if someone is owning a relatively good quality car then why should he change the car within 2 yrs?! Unless he feels the car he owns is not up to his expectation. So what’s the point here? We should target on well balanced car or good RV car (for the first 2yrs)? Well, if u say what if 6 yrs then? Just look at 2005 Camry, what is the residual value now? U should know better than me, 60-65% gone easily! Does that make a very significant edge over Conti car by maybe 70% gone? Does that make sense!
    S,
    10yrs back, what u said may probably right. But, over time thing has changed, others have made tremendous improvement, namely Vw(TSI),Pug(prince eng.), Ford(ecoboost), Mazda(Skyactive)……. Camry2.0 ACV50 still is the same engine as the 10yrs back model.
    To me, this is the matter of mentality, what the most people have doesn’t mean it is for sure always the best. If today u r seeing the majority r driving Ford Mondeo, Citreon C5, Suzuki Kizashi, I believe u would not say again Toyota will be always no. 1. Let’s be more opened to other brands…Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 78
    • Turboman on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:26 am

Thanks for joining the good fight against lunacy and just plain hard headedness in this forum.

However be warned that its a useless battle, as those fellas are hard wired to believe what they want to believe that facts and figures won change their mind anymore.

U can quote all the facts u want, but come next post, mr sam will post the same thing over and over again, just like a broken cassette player.

I was like you one year back, quoting facts and figures thinking most Malaysians are reasonable but at the end, i just gave up, turning to sarcasm instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 77
      • Medic on Oct 19, 2012 at 3:24 pm

Sam Loo is just a lunatic,desperate T SA.Best is to just ignore him,as attention just feeds him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 75
    • Sam Loo on Oct 19, 2012 at 10:55 pm

The very same logic that a tech savvy person would want to change your phone every year or so.

If T&H, you have choice to change every 2-3 years without losing much. If kimchi and euro, you also have the choice, but will lose an arm and possibly 2 legs on RV

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 13
      • Correct, that’s why Nokia was totally tumbled down in her comfort zone by the vastly changed Apple and Samsung…
        The same story will apply to Toyota too one day due to their over-confidence and unawareness…
        I really can read your logical thinking, b’cos u are comparing a RM2k handy item to a RM200k car.
        But, my way of logical thinking is, a person will only choose to change car every 2-3 yrs is either he is very rich or his car is lousy…
        Well, Sam, time is due to change your ACV40 to ACV50, enjoy your time with all these similar ACV30/40/50.
        p/s However, during rainy day try not to stay too close to Passat/Mondeo/RCZ in any circumstances b’cos we are driving real fast, ACV50 has no VSC, it will skid…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 78
    • Sam Loo on Oct 20, 2012 at 9:16 am

Fight? Looks like Turboman is a child that, unable to differenciate between difference of opinion and argument.

Pls put on your diapers again

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 12
  • Toyota cars in general do get good value 2nd hand. However, this ugly uncle design Camry, will be very hard to get buyer once a new model launched. So, anyone who bought…will be really sorry.

I paid RM220k for my RCZ. Less than a year, I saw 2nd hand already selling at RM180k. Have I lost RM40k already? No, but I have enjoyed a great ride and still enjoying all the stares and smiles whenever and wherever I drove it to. If worried so much about 2nd hand value, go get a Kenari. The most you lost is RM40k, so you don’t have to heart pain so much. :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 78
  • whoknow on Oct 20, 2012 at 2:44 pm

my jetta is better equipped than this washing machine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 74
    • Sam Loo on Oct 20, 2012 at 6:41 pm

Just put the Auto Assist Phone No. thats on the sticker on your Jetta windscreen as speed dial no. 1, coz you will need to call this number very frequently.

Welcome to the world of sui kwan and kwai tai euro cars

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 13
      • Iniesta Leong on Oct 21, 2012 at 10:52 pm

Sam loo, after reading your comments , It is hard to refrain from reply to you. Please go back to kindergarten and learn Respect to the others

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 69
      • Medic on Oct 22, 2012 at 8:34 am

Sam so free ar?No sales is it?Harping on past glory…hmm competition stiffling you ar.Don’t be desperate,join KIA lar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 68
    • Sam Loo on Oct 22, 2012 at 6:45 pm

Actually, I am not a UMW salesman, juts starting a new business buying Hyundai/Kia/VW/Pugs at rock bottom prices and selling them at minimally 30% profit.

From the volume of cold door car supporters here, my biz is gonna go public listed soon

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 13
  • Mp_drucker on Oct 22, 2012 at 9:44 pm

Sam Loo, if you can make 30% profit, it indicates that those car that you mentioned must be in good demand. You do not know what you are talking about. Don’t simply shoot without bullet!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 66
    • Sam Loo on Oct 23, 2012 at 8:00 pm

30% profit means that the trade in value of kimchis must be less than 40% of selling price within the 1st year.

At the moment, its around 50%. So I need to work harder to make that 10% lower happen

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 11
      • Mp_drucker on Oct 23, 2012 at 10:19 pm

Sam Loo, the more you talk the more it reveal your weaknesses. You do not know what you are talking. Are are just bluffing your way. If you are not intended to bluff, i think you will fail business course miserably. If you make 30% profit, it means that your selling price is 30% higher than your buying price. Pure and simple, don’t try to bluff your way out. If you can sell and make 30% profit that means someone is willing to buy at that price. This indicate that the car worth that value in the eye of the buyer. How can you buy so cheap and on the other hand sell so high? You will fail miserably in economic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 72
  • ComeToThinkAboutIt on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:56 pm

Someday Sam Loo will be Chairman of Toyota Motor Corp ha ha ha ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 74
  • Iniesta Leong on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:19 pm

No Sam loo need to be go back to kindergarten, and as a student. He can’t be a chairman of Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 73
    • Sam Loo on Oct 24, 2012 at 12:59 am

Looks like you have fallen into the infinite well of low RV.

I suppose your only way out is to trade in your kimchi to me, coz I give to 10% extra from your the highest offer from the used car yard.

50% value drop within a year is now the norm for kimchis, its the market price

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 13
      • When everytime Paultan post about korean car news, there is a guy so call (Sam Loo) will come out to based the korean car in the title of (Resale Value)…Bla Bla Bla…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 71
    • Turboman on Dec 27, 2012 at 9:35 am

Again, as per my post below, on 26th Dec, there are 65likes on sam’s post, and exactly 65 dislikes on LL’s post.

Also there are just about 65 days between Oct 24, the day the messages are posted, and Dec 26th, the day this message is posted.

Sam, looks like you have been pwned!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Sunny Loo on Oct 25, 2012 at 5:00 pm

I have a Passat. I love it. But I found out the spare parts are even higher than BMW.
    For example, I needed shock absorbers and springs and 2 sensors, it was ridiculously expensive!!!
    For those wanting to buy VW, do call the service centre for some common spare parts pricing and believe! I plan to go back to either BMW or Mercedes or Japanese after sorting out what to do with my car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 7
  • jonathan on Oct 27, 2012 at 3:13 am

previous version camry looks nicer than new camry

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 4
  • what an ugly car….yucks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 73
  • wayne on Oct 31, 2012 at 10:51 am

just get a mazda 6 for god sake

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 67
  • wayne on Oct 31, 2012 at 10:52 am

just get a new mazda 6 for god sake

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 68
  • What impressed me are refinement of interior finishing and roomy design. But sorry on the exterior design, especially rear lights (look odd!). Any ideas when is the new facelift coming out? New honda Accord will be here only by 2014!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 61
  • micheal lim on Nov 12, 2012 at 5:39 pm

honda accord is much better and therefor my choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 48
    • Your choice Michelle. Nothing is perfect in this world. Can you justify which features/ functions that Honda Accord has and Toyota doesn’t have. I wonder why Toyota Camry is still the first choice for Malaysian ( Young and old) and still the best selling car especially in Malaysia. There must be a reason right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 44
  • Sam Loo on Nov 18, 2012 at 4:17 am

Those of ppl who deciding which car to buy is so easy, choose camry. Congrate to those choose camry. My father 2.4 camry i driving for 2 years is so reliable. Next time i earn more money i buy back latest camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Loo is a psychotic Toyota SA.
      Look at his comments, so many like. I am seeing a pattern here. i think sam loo clicked the like button himself. You just can admire his hardwork, log in and out repeatedly jusk to click the like button.
      With Sam Loo type of comments, i think the toyota chairman himself will be ashamed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 50
      • Turbo man on Dec 27, 2012 at 9:06 am

I think so too.

As of today, there are 40 likes on his comment and guess what, exactly 40 dislikes on your comment. Snapshot taken. And today is 27 decexhaust about 40 days from your comment dated nov 18.

Sam, u have been caught pwned…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
      • Sam Loo on Jan 07, 2013 at 7:07 pm

What has the date gotta to with the no of likes and dislikes?

• Sam Loo on Jan 06, 2013 at 11:37 am

Just look at the no. of dislikes on dol’s comments and you will see who is right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • Rambo007 on Dec 26, 2012 at 11:29 pm

Having so much of problem since I bought the Camry in 2010 I wont recommend anymore to anybody,
    Within 2 years Toyota changed
    1 x Steering shaft
    2 x absorbers
    4 x brake disk and pad
    Within this short 2 years period so much of problem and found out there are many more Camry users having the same problem.
    Talking to SA they claim this a common problem with Toyota Camry ,I just think Toyota should recall 2010 models and above for safety reason,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Loo on Jan 06, 2013 at 11:38 am

You must have bought a Camry that has went for a swim before or you are a compulsive liar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Raden on Jan 17, 2013 at 11:00 am

accord better

• I used to be a Camry fan using a 2002 model. Was looking forward to the release of the 2012 model. I am still ok with the look. However, what make me changed my mind about buying the camry is the removal of the stability control (VSC) that is available even on the 2002 model. Trust, me you dont want to use this, but when the need arise, you wish you had one, especially on an unfamiliar road which curves more than you’d expect on a rainy day.
    I went thru the equipment list, and was immediately put off by this missing safely equipment, and with only 4 air bags???? Even the Indonesian camry 2.0 which Silverbird used has 6 air bags! The salesman even proudly said that people buy camry for its prestige, comfort and resale value. alo???
    I decided to change to another european marque which is slightly cheaper, with many more features.
    The verdict after driving for more than 6 months? Never regretted my decision, the ride is much firmer, and when they said after driving an European car, it is tough to going back driving a Jap, I now know exactly what it mean. toyota has lost me forever. I will switch my wife’s car from Toyota too in the next 1-2 year. This is a lesson for them. Listen to the customer. Dont just think of making profit at the expense of safely features which is so crucial in this region.

• just me on Mar 11, 2013 at 2:48 pm

i had just learnt my lesson, blaming myself for being so stupid that i have got a camry 2.5V and experincing these problems: (1) CD player spinning noise,(2) when the car engine is off, try to stay in the car for half a minute and will hear “tuck” noise at the left corner of dashboard, followed by “krog-krog” noise from the meter display part, (3) the windscreen is blur during raining drive, (4) noise when engine pick up from 1000 rpm to 2000 rpm. Hi, any owners of camry 2.5V, please check your camry’s player, & try to stay in the car for half a minute and see if you can hear annoying noise from dashboard?

• CHRISTINE CHAN on Mar 11, 2013 at 3:05 pm

accord better

• just me on Mar 11, 2013 at 3:17 pm

I’m having many problems now with camry 2.5V. Hello any owners of camry 2.5V? please check if you have these problems:
    (1) CD player spinning noise, you can hear it even when listening to songs
    (2) After car engine is off, stay in the car for half a minute and you will hear “tuck” noise from the left corner of the dashboard, then followed by “krog-krog” noise from the meter display part
    (3) Blurred windscreen during rainy drive
    (4) Loud engine pick up noise from 1000 rpm to 2000 rpm

• Allan Jensen on Mar 12, 2013 at 11:49 pm

Go testdrive a Peugeot 508. Read all the articles you can find about it. Then buy it. You don’t have to compromise.

• Sakthi on Mar 24, 2013 at 1:58 pm

Tiz camry become like the 06 generation again…………for me 07 is not nice in driving wise but…..06 n the latest is the best

• Sakthi on Mar 24, 2013 at 1:59 pm

Tiz camry become like the 06 generation again…………for me 07 is not nice in driving wise but…..06 n the latest is the best it….

• what function is the right button in picture DSC_0196b?

• Actually, the look is not that bad. I had test drive for 2.5v. Smooth driving and yes, it’s comfort and spacious. Camry is Camry. Don’t expect that it would be BMW or Audi. I also heard from SA that Camry with VSC is coming but the date is not confirmed. That’s good news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • Tsu siah heong on May 03, 2013 at 11:54 am

Been looking at it for months still can t get over the horrible design.its a joke when there is no vsc. Which is rated as the second most important safety equipment by NCAP of europe after the safety belts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • めるょぇ on Jun 21, 2013 at 11:03 pm

My partner and I stumbled over here by a different web address and thought I might as well check thi

• Wheeler on Jun 29, 2013 at 9:48 pm

After a ray of hope in the improvements of the previous generation’s body styling,
    now this. :-(
    Seems like one step forward, two steps back.
    But Asian folks were spared the super funky taillights of the US version.

• Now camry 2.0g is included of smart entry, push start ,TRC and VSC just additional RM1k start from Jun2013 , dont take the c segment car compare to this d segment car, if you really go to try this new camry u will know what is comfortable, silent and luxury car in this d segment car market.

• Edmund on Mar 08, 2014 at 9:27 pm

Anybody has idea of when this new toyota camry will be facelifted? Any informations from you fellow readers will be appreciated. Thanks !

• Thaddeus on May 21, 2014 at 5:23 pm

The vibrant red and blue colored dials call for attention. The watch comes with a stainless steel case and body. The company now offers a wide range of temporal accessories on their website.

• Terrance on May 21, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Whatever variety you choose, always go for quality and do not compromise for money. If you do not wear your Rolex regularly, make sure to wind it at least once a week. Techno – Marine Watches for men are Swiss made watches made from high quality materials and with are made with precision.

• excamry lover on Aug 04, 2014 at 1:30 am

Jap cars are no more cheap as before compared to european cars. Reason check out all those hidden safety features. which most people will not care about it or undrstand it. Jap concept on car is make money first product second, european car prodt first and profit will follows. European cars all are going turbo tech but why Jap not moving there yet? I have no regret to switch from Jap to Eur brand even i have minor problem.