DRB-Hicom to reveal Proton business plan in Nov

DRB-Hicom to reveal Proton business plan in NovDRB-Hicom is due to reveal a new business plan for Proton in November, according to a report by Bernama. No details have yet been intimated as to what it will be like.

“Everybody is waiting to see what DRB-Hicom plans to do with Proton. We are working on a plan now and hope to come up with it by next month,” DRB-Hicom COO Datuk Seri Che Khalib Mohamad Noh told reporters at an event earlier today.

The report adds that Che Khalib said as the automotive market was competitive, there is the need to produce a car that is wanted by it and at a competitive price, and “that is what we are working at now.”

During the group’s annual general meeting, managing director Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil had mentioned that DRB-Hicom plans to introduce a foreign partner to Proton.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• All wayang. If they are really that good, they should have done long time ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 57
    • Karim on Oct 17, 2012 at 9:09 am

see first then comment. typical basher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 33
    • Respect Women Please on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:51 am

Is the government still giving grants to Proton amounting to hundreds of million to develop a Hybrid? How come they are giving grants to a company now owned by DRB Hicom and not by the government? Should the governemnt be giving Honda, Tota and all other companies grants to develop hybrids in order to be fair to all car manufacturers?

http://paultan.org/2012/09/28/proton-electric-car-coming-in-2014-parliament-told/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
      • MoFaz on Oct 17, 2012 at 1:44 pm

Honda & Tata do their R&D in Malaysia ka? kind of stupid if Gov give R&D grant to those foreign companies which didn’t contribute to our technology development. and if foreign companies setup factory here, they get tax exemptions, not grants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
        • Black Dog on Oct 17, 2012 at 5:12 pm

Biasa lah. Another 5 year plan that cost Billions…

• Expatriate VN on Oct 17, 2012 at 5:54 pm

Jaguh Kampung No. 2 do their R&D in Malaysia ka? Why re-badge Inspira if so so R&D grant!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • The NAP is waiting proton business plan reveal, than after this they will study to protect crony DRB Hicom from loss. Rakyat will impose to buy P1 rather than reduce exice duty on all CKD model.

• Janji da 3rd Parti on Oct 17, 2012 at 9:41 pm

Dear DRB,

YOUR IMMEDIATE PLANS SHOULD FIRST BE ….

REMOVE DR M FROM YOUR DECISION MAKING. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Proton please say you are closing down and selling all assets.

Malaysians deserve better cars. Malaysians deserve better choices.
    Malaysians deserve better safety

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 74
    • Just to remind you, there is still P2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 9
    • Peyno on Oct 16, 2012 at 11:27 pm

Perodua salesman butthurt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
      • All P1 staff learnt the word butthurt. I go meeting at COE also the people there using the word. Must have taught by their boss.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
        • Peyno on Oct 19, 2012 at 5:48 am

P2 salesman butthurt.. Jilat buntut jepun but jepun will be leaving maresia n move to indonesia for their hub compact car…

• Peyno_mom on Oct 17, 2012 at 7:43 pm

hahahahahahahahahaha.

mana JDM? kat port klang??

oberC rubbish

• Doc Brown on Oct 18, 2012 at 9:20 am

They will close down the Shah Alam factory, move everybody to Tanjung Malim and build a shopping mall/offices/condo’s on Shah Alam site. DRB want to make money not cars, they will then sell Proton back to gov!!

• Meanmachine on Oct 16, 2012 at 8:51 pm

The business plan for Proton should be:
    – No longer a national car
    – No more protectionism

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 34
  • Meanmachine on Oct 16, 2012 at 9:00 pm

The business plan for Proton is to sell the company and rebrand it under different name…people are sicked of Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 45
  • ah chong on Oct 16, 2012 at 9:00 pm

good luck proton, we hope for the better product to shut up the mothefucker haters..=D

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 48
  • Meanmachine on Oct 16, 2012 at 9:37 pm

Can’t believe there are still Proton idiotic supporters…ha..ha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 76
  • Ah Beng on Oct 16, 2012 at 9:45 pm

Foreign partner means…DRB will sell part of Proton lor. Asset stripping had just begun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 8
  • Expatriate VN on Oct 16, 2012 at 9:52 pm

“Everybody is waiting to see what DRB-Hicom plans to do with Proton. We are working on a plan now and hope to come up with it by next month,”

– Yes, that including me waiting to see this Jaguh Kampung No. 2 sell to me at RM 1.00. Also, the Lotus sell to me at GBP 1.00! This is the best business plan Jaguh Kampung No. 2 can come out!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 35
    • ramun on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:18 am

no problem selling Lotus to you for GBP1. Including in the package debt amounting to GBP700mil+. Convert sendiri lah to RM bil. Talk kok betul!

• MoFaz on Oct 17, 2012 at 1:47 pm

he think he’s great to be able to pay GBP1.00 but owe GBP700mil in return.

• as usual, all comments are negative, surely coming from keyboard heroes… xD

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 15
    • alldisc on Oct 17, 2012 at 10:09 am

DRB is currently cutting down Proton’s workforce of 10,000 ppl between 10-20%, including R&D dept.

no more in-house developed cars until they have economies of scale. it is likely all new models in near future will be either a rebadge or re-engineered previous chassis (waja/savvy/persona/exora).

news from an insider.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
      • koochai on Oct 17, 2012 at 10:24 am

low volume domestic seller like p1 should be doing that all the way…

now pls bring back the NEOs…..

• Ah Beng on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:08 am

They are going to give to the JVs of OSI and PHN to do the R&D. These JV partners who are majority shareholders are all based in China or India. Supplies also come from overseas.So much for developing local automotive industry. Proton will be controlled by foreigners in time to come.

• Chow1 on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:21 pm

Sorry. Time’s up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • magpie on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:27 pm

There will be a Tiara R3. Be very afraid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 15
  • Im sure 25 years from now, they would be saying the same thing, another business plan…just hire the best people and best supplier, so simple pla, even 5 year old can understand…but no, they have to perform wayang kulit by giving impressive sounding speeches and words, the whole system of cronies and incompetent people remained the same

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 29
    • it’s been almost 30 years, and although proton is still surviving on govt assistance, there are still quite a number of ppl loyally supporting proton. If 25 years from now, proton still needs govt assistance to stay alive, are these ppl still going to support proton? I cant say for others, but for me, it’s a NO.

• I hope proton quit making car……no passion at all……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 35
    • Pumpkins on Oct 17, 2012 at 12:01 pm

What a wonderful day it would be…I will get drunk, party 1 whole week just for that…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • please support proton otherwise we will lose title of a country that produce national car…i think drb must do something…proton today is a symbol of Malaysian identity…like Toyota..its shows Japanese identity…so don’t say too much about proton..or u are telling the truth of your identity and say bad things about yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 43
    • Expatriate VN on Oct 17, 2012 at 9:02 am

You stupid blind supporter is as good as support the cronies and AP King that line their garage with Mers, BMW, Ferrari, Porsche, RR, etc with 4 beautiful wives, and let you use the so call craptriotic piece of junk saddle with 9 year car loan!!!!!!! Enough said ……..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 36
  • DArkerMarker on Oct 16, 2012 at 11:12 pm

–yawn–

I think i better use my time playing angry bird than reading what BS proton has to say…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 20
    • MoFaz on Oct 17, 2012 at 1:58 pm

you’re just a kid. you won’t understand what the adults are talking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • sepul on Oct 16, 2012 at 11:15 pm

well, at least they are not related to the gov anymore

we never like what we build ourselves but salute the same thing built by foreign people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 12
    • Pumpkins on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:21 am

Exactly…tell rakyat to buy Protong but sendiri drive Porsche…wtf!

• ryuki on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:38 am

DRB is an extension of the government loo…. its still the same .
      DRB cannot survive in the world of real competition, they don’t know how to compete. Their business are all monopoly business.
      Proton was dead the moment it was handed to DRB. Under DSZ, it had a fighting chance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • jimmyphon on Oct 16, 2012 at 11:21 pm

Unless they are willing to sell 51% and give up controlling stake in Proton, they will be no technological transfer and know-how.

Why would anyone pass their hard earn technology to Proton and have no say in what proton can do with the technology?

Common sense.

Those who support Proton are either racist, narrowminded or cronies. Not patriotic, coz I bet the founders and suppliers of Proton do not drive Proton, not even their children or grandchildren. Coz it is not safe enough for their family.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 44
    • Voiddance on Oct 16, 2012 at 11:40 pm

If you want safety, pray that you and people around you drive safely on the road. Because there is no amount of airbags, abs, srs and other black magic can protect you on the road with the way people drive nowadays.

And please stop calling me racist, narrowminded or crony just because I owned a Proton and proud about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 23
      • jimmyphon on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:47 am

buying doesn’t mean you support. Most of friends own a proton but doesn’t support proton.

Support = support government impose higher tax on foreign cars and give more money for proton to throw at Lotus and Lotus will throw it at British people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 23
        • sepul on Oct 17, 2012 at 9:26 am

like i said, proton is no longer a gov company, whatever their plan or doing is drb’s decision, the gov have no say in them

if you do not like the current gov, do your part in the coming election

if you do not like proton and everything related to them, do not bother comment here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
          • Ah Beng on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:40 am

It is just same wine in different bottle. P1 will still be supported by the Gaovernment but indirectly through DRB. LPPL.

• jimmyphon on Oct 18, 2012 at 2:56 am

same same

if you do not like my comment, then do not bother comment.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 17, 2012 at 8:54 am

So kereta lembu with no airbags, abs, srs and other black magic will make you drive slowly and safely! Discard your jaguh kampung no. 2 tissue box on the use, and use kereta kebal lembu from now onward!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • Is there anything to expect?

• They will totally move from Shah Alam to Tandjung Malim…then, Proton will involve in property business on their former Shah Alam plant..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • Ah Beng on Oct 17, 2012 at 8:18 am

Totally agreed. Move to the undercapacity plant in Tanjung malim, then the Property arm take over the Shah Alam land. Big $$$$. Definitely good ROI.

• ryuki on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:46 am

You got that right.
        1)Move to tanjung malim.
        2)Use shah Alam property to build premium bungalows at 2-5M per lot.
        3) run proton for 5 yrs based on buss. Plan
        4) after 5yrs cry to govermnt to buy back proton from DRB
        5) Govermnt panic, buy back using EPF money.
        6) DRB make money from sale of point (2) and (5)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Pumpkins on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:18 pm

If still a failure then Proton pindah pergi Tanjung Rambutan lah?

• Pumpkins on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:10 am

Selain daripada menyusahkan rakyat, apa lah best nya Proton tu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
  • H supporter on Oct 17, 2012 at 1:10 am

I can feel that drb is different, mayb proton will turn around, this is the flip over point, hopefully u wil make us proud

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
    • Pumpkins on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:19 am

Yes maybe another “Mimpi Di Siang Hari” crap again lah he he he

• alldisc on Oct 17, 2012 at 5:33 pm

dont forget, this is the second time DRB owning proton. the first time in 1990s under the great late Tan Sri Yahaya Ahmad. if not mistaken 96-2000 when after that Petronas rescue Proton and created Proton Edar (re-named USPD) and made EON to play second fiddle

want banana fruit two times??

• zenx80 on Oct 17, 2012 at 1:38 am

Those criticised proton are not malaysian, they are foreigner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 52
    • watchman on Oct 17, 2012 at 9:23 am

what’s the reason for continue support for Proton, despite it ripping you off again and again. even if it is your own child, if he or she keep on burning you and betraying your trust for decades, you would have disowned him or her. patriotism is good but not when it is chronic and blind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
      • ryuki on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:49 am

The reason?
        It used as an instrument to transfer money from one hand to another in a legal manner. Go and check how the British/US did it.

• zenx80 on Oct 18, 2012 at 12:25 am

Support is not necessarily to buy, can give advice how to improve the quality of national automotive. Children bad, is certainly parents fault, because you did not lead an example. Continued bashing, doesn’t help.

• jimmyphon on Oct 18, 2012 at 2:58 am

as if they don’t know the problem?

People have been shouting, are they listening? Market sales is shouting too, what are they producing? junks… nothing but junks.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 17, 2012 at 9:33 am

Those support Jaguh Kampung No. 2 are blind supporter of cronies and AP King, they are not rakyat Malaysia at heart!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
    • Pumpkins on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:06 am

Those tell rakyat keep buy proton but drive Porsche are not malaysian, they are foreigner.

• Plan to screw the rakyat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Rakyat -Not from P2 on Oct 17, 2012 at 5:36 am

whoever/ designer that approve savvy/preve/neo must be sacked immediately..no mercy to the syoiok sendiri lost maker..bad exterior. better to find real talent who have taste than clownies who know nothing except making “fun car’.

Lotus design sawwy…bad name to Lotus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Pumpkins on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:12 am

Savvy…My first Lotus

LOL loot at Top Gear Clarkson face :(

• Doc Brown on Oct 18, 2012 at 9:27 am

That was Tengku Mahaleel abusing the Lotus brand. It does drive well though :)

• DewaSemut on Oct 17, 2012 at 6:09 am

Is it a sin to support Proton? You guys are ridiculous laaa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 17
    • Expatriate VN on Oct 17, 2012 at 8:59 am

It is not sin, but very stupid to support Jaguh Kampung No. 2 because you support cronies and AP King, in return they can maintain their super luxury lifestyle with Mers, BMW, RR, Ferrari, etc on their garage with 4 beautiful wives!

You stupid blind supporter saddle with 9 year old car loan for this piece of junk, and perhaps can afford to kahwin janda only!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 13
      • Cosmo Artemis on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:43 am

Soooooooo jealous lah you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • ah chong on Oct 17, 2012 at 1:39 pm

hei, watch your comment, what r you mean when said that..4 wife?, who can afford that..in islam is not easy to married in 4 at 1 time..i guess you just jealous because don’t have any girlfren and you father are hate you because you r the one that came out from the broken condom when making with your mom in night club.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
        • Expatriate VN on Oct 17, 2012 at 5:58 pm

WTF, you have no other better to say the son of bitch, you get personal, I have no qualm to do the same on you!!!!

• not sure what car to buy on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:01 pm

yes..can happily get married to super gorgeous money sucking Marion counter..

• watchman on Oct 17, 2012 at 9:33 am

yes. because your continued support prolonged the existence of PROTON. PROTON is like a cancer except this one has a cure, as long as Msian stop feeding it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • Pumpkins on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:05 am

It is stupid to keep on supporting ever-crappy car lah you fool!

• Hahaha…sad to see die hard supporters, for them, even critisizing proton is deemed unpatriotic…so if a parent scolded their child, that meant they dont love them?? What mentality…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • macam-pro on Oct 17, 2012 at 8:01 am

sell 51% share to VW..and start to built people car…

• DRB must get rid of useless suppiers and consultants that are ripping proton off now. companies who are in proton not for kinow how but know who. their hybrid business need a new partner not the current uk based companies they have Lotus, Frazer Nash all must go. new purchasing team and new styling. then they can start new.

• matlimmutu on Oct 17, 2012 at 8:21 am

DRB is a good bapak for Proton. All the best!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Pumpkins on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:15 am

Itu hari bukan cakap Grandfather kah?

Cucu pinjam wang, bank pergi cari datuk kasi settle…gila gila punya Protong

• Ah Beng on Oct 17, 2012 at 8:23 am

DRB is going to form JV with foreign partners to supply to Proton. But the JV are controlled by foreigners. The parts would come form overseas plant just to be assembled to Proton. All the local vendors would kaput. Then these local companies would go to Perkasa and Ah Jib to protest. Then DRB forced to give local companies to continue to supply. Proton back to square 1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • fandango on Oct 17, 2012 at 8:39 am

he latest batch of proton is actually quite good. I just feel they need to improve on ergonomics and also drivetrain technology…ie old dun use cvt when it can only handle 2oo nm!!!

• Paul, Anthony, your blog is the best there is in Malaysia but it is marred by uncivilised mentality of your follower whom I think are actually mostly P1 and P2 drivers who are frustrated and wanted these companies to produce fully loaded car at minimum price because they can’t afford to pay more for other car make. I am sure those who drives conties are never even bothered to comment about proton far from using abusive words like what are written here. My word, what has happened to these people?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
    • Expatriate VN on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:34 am

You cronies and AP King supporter talk like civilized konon????? Treat anything and everything crystal as berlian, including kaca! What happen to your mentality! Better stop punching keyboard and send comments to PT Blog. you better go to see doctor!!!

For a right thinking Malaysian, against crony-ism and AP King-ism is a right mentality. We need to get rid of these Jaguah Kampung No. 2, including No. 1 for good. We deserve better quality car at lower price!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • magpie on Oct 18, 2012 at 12:24 am

Take a look at the parliament session and witness how uncivilised we all can be.

• khairul on Oct 17, 2012 at 8:59 am

even proton is not a people cars but it is the people choice for 1st car to own.

• wrong…it is people’s NO choice but to own a cheapest car which they can afford because the govt limited the choice of cars by inflating the prices of all other brand-name cars since 1983.

• watchman on Oct 17, 2012 at 9:32 am

Proton long-term plan should be to expand its market base in foreign markets and reduce significantly his dependence on Msian markets. Msian markets are too small for them achieve economy of scale and they don’t produce diverse enough cars to cater to ALL segments. this has been known since DAY ONE of Proton’s existence. BUT what exactly has it done about it ? practically nothing. take a look at its offer, PREVE. How long has it been launched already ? what’s the response in the foreign markets ? US automobile markets are the biggest in the world but why PROTON has no presence there at all. seriously, how do they expect PREVE to compete against KIA FORTE and HYUNDAI ACCENT in US? New models are coming and beside Koreans, there are offerings in the form of CHEVROLET CRUZE, DODGE DART… just take a look at yourself in the mirror, PROTON. are you making enough effort to succeed ? if you are not, do you think you still have a reason to exist ? if you are not, just disappear and stop being a burden to Msians already.

• jimmyphon on Oct 17, 2012 at 12:56 pm

correction. China has the biggest automobile market.

• watchman on Oct 17, 2012 at 1:45 pm

they will be soon. but not yet. they have biggest population in the world but majority of them still cannot afford to buy. they will get there in the future but they are not there.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:31 pm

What talking nonsense, China sold the most car in term of volume! Full stop.

• MoFaz on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:06 pm

don’t think that we could simply go into any market as we please. in China, they require you to do a JV with local chinese company in order to sell your product there, and majority of shares will be owned by chinese companies, and must have factory there too. they can also come up with whatever law they like, for example you must transfer your tech and patent rights to the chinese companies.
      in US they might require you to produce most of the cars in US, by building factories and give job opportunities to US citizen, as what Toyota, Honda, Kia and Hyundai did.

• SuchHypocrites on Oct 17, 2012 at 9:38 am

i lol at all of the haters.
    such hypocrites.

condemning Proton, but still using Proton or Perodua car OR theyre using some cheapo old/second hand japang cars and complaining why the service and spareparts expensive. typical malaysians. always complaining.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
  • Pumpkins on Oct 17, 2012 at 9:43 am

HE HE HE…Another new Fairy-Tale book Buku Dongeng again…

This book title is “Gali Lubang, Tutup Lubang – The Story of Protong’s Never Ending Failures”…

With this Fairy Tale again, why should the Banks loan more money? Huh very easy mintak pinjam wang kah

Can’t believe if EPF would consider buying Protong shares back as “good opportunity”, “great long-term investment’ etc…

Gali Lubang, Tutup Lubang…itulah kerja Protong…hutang lama belum langsai masih lagi mimpi di siang hari…

“…there is the need to produce a car that is wanted by it and at a competitive price…”
    – Mau tunggu berapa lama dah…30 years again…itu Hyundai Kia sudah bikin kereta terbang lah tahun 2042…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • ckd master on Oct 17, 2012 at 9:45 am

another plan for our junkyard car collection and well planned scheme to waste more taxpayer money

• cunarra on Oct 17, 2012 at 9:50 am

I guess people bashing proton because they were hurt badly due to proton poor quality that they’ve encountered.
    As for me I’ve been supporting proton almost 15 years where I’ve owned 3 proton cars, iswara kotak, wira sedan & wira hatchback.. all of it giving me troubles and the poor service just like added oil in bonfire..
    Now I’ve owned a MyVi & Vios and have a very peace of mind… I’m not condemning the brand of a car but purely a bad quality of the product..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • Pumpkins on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:26 pm

There’s only one song to describe your happiness of escaping from Protong hell – Merdeka song from Sudirman

• Peyno on Oct 19, 2012 at 2:16 pm

This ah beng sooo patriotic… Love local cronies pnb, umw,sime darby do much… My case i bought my car from overseas.. Tak main laa local company umw , tan chonng all these.. Prrftttttthh

• Peyno on Oct 19, 2012 at 2:02 pm

What?? Myvi?? Vios?? See i told u guys many times rite.. Normally yg over react ni only those kind of ppl je.. Jdm n conti car owner wudnt act like this.. Somemore comparing newer model with wira, iswAra old model.. Haha baka…

• The plan is to get more grants from govt, raise taxes on competitors and extend loan period to 15 years..oh ya, continue with current models till 2050.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Driver on Oct 17, 2012 at 10:37 am

I’ll like to hear the plan to gain (not try) GLOBAL market, Malaysia market is too small to support a car maker. R&D alone is expansive, get the grant from government is increasing the country’s debt.

• Abdullah on Oct 17, 2012 at 10:41 am

Dr M ego is too big to admit Proton is a
    fail project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • tokmoh on Oct 17, 2012 at 10:41 am

Plan what? Bring back saga keter kebal and rename it Kereta Rakyat 1Malaysia? Sell for RM25k?

• Pumpkins on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:22 pm

It’s done already lah bro it’s called Savvy itu Godjilah tikam pun masih OK boleh jalan

• WRONG !!! People have NO choice because most wanted to own a car which they can afford but the government impose high taxes on imported cars which can sell at same or lower price then P1 to protect the so-called “National Car “. Now it is privately owned…so go fly kite, P1.

• Peyno on Oct 19, 2012 at 5:19 pm

Yes .. U r rite.. Ppl want imported compact car like swift, jazz, freed with cheaper price.. But coz gomen want to protect our national vompact car perodua.. They increase the import tax

• Pumpkins on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:03 am

Don’t worry lah kita happy happy…Let us sing this dangdut song for Proton…

Gali Lubang Tutup Lubang
    Lagu oleh: Rhoma Irama

Gali-Gali-Gali-Gali-Gali lobang

Lobang digali menggali lobang
    Untuk menutup lobang
    Tertutup sudah lobang yang lama
    Lobang baru terbuka

Gali lobang tutup lobang
    Pinjam uang bayar hutang
    Gali lobang tutup lobang
    Pinjam uang bayar hutang

Gali-Gali-Gali-Gali-Gali

Walau makan sederhana, makan nasi sambal lalap
    Walau baju sederhana, asal menutup aurat
    Walau makan sederhana, walau baju sederhana
    Walau serba sederhana, asal sihat jiwa raga
    Dan juga hutang tak punya, itulah orang yang kaya hi-hu

Walau gajinya pas-pasan, enggak lebih engga kurang
    Walau hidupnya pas-pasan, asal cukup kebutuhan
    Walaupun gajinya pas-pasan, walau hidupnya pas-pasan
    Walaupun serba pas-pasan, hidup ‘kan merasa terang
    Asal tak dikejar hutang, nak tidur enak makan hi-hu

Gali lobang tutup lobang, menggali buat menutup
    Gali lobang tutup lobang, sana rata sini lobang
    Gali lobang tutup lobang, tetap saja ada lobang
    Gali lobang tutup lobang, lobangnya tak pernah hilang

Gali lobang tutup lobang, pinjam uang bayar hutang
    Gali lobang tutup lobang, sana lunas sini hutang
    Gali lobang tutup lobang, tetap saja ada hutang
    Gali lobang tutup lobang, hutangnya tak pernah hilang

Gali lobang tutup lobang, pinjam uang bayar hutang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
  • Ah Beng on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:29 am

Proton has many problems. It need the volume to stay in profits but local volume is too small.
    It want to go for exports but cannot as it do not have the technologies yet. Eg. Euro 6 standards. So it work with foreign partners. But foreign partners would want to design and supply at a high premium price. It is just like those days, Japanese charges high premium for tech transfers.
    Then it want to go private labelling with other OEMs. Just stick the label on it and sell. Then again very low margins. Not enough to pay for the fat salaries. Locals don’t like that idea. Look at pathetic Inspira and Savvy sales.
    If I were DRB, I would just stick to what I have first…don’t touch the manufacturing cash cow. Cut the external expenses like Lotus and outsourced engineering costs. Look at the assets and see how to consolidate to share expenses and strip the fats. There are too many fat vendors especially those on a trading basis. Be hard on the dealers. You take delivery of the car, you pay for it…no sympathy allowed.

• Pumpkins on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:42 am

The fairytale plan would be:

– mintak sedekah funds from EPF
    – mintak amal jariah funds from Tabung Haji
    – mintak wang ehsan funds from Petronas
    – mintak emergency funds from Khazanah again
    – repeat above all over again…

Gali gali gali lubang tutup lubang….Pinjam uang bayar hutang…

• Daniel on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:46 am

My personal humble opinion as a proton user. Proton has to change the following:
    1. Its badge/ logo. Must be simplified.
    2. Material used. Too plastic and often not made to last long.
    3. Better manufacturing process to keep the consistency on the quality.
    4. More efficient and quieter engine.
    5. Stronger chassis and tougher structure.
    6. Don’t build it just for Malaysians. Build it for the international market.

It’s the simple things that matters to drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Pumpkins on Oct 17, 2012 at 1:00 pm

7. If Proton Australia can give 1 Million km warranty for Waja why not here too
      8. If Proton Australia kasi free 1 unit scooter for every Arena Jumbuck kasi sini juga lah
      9. If Power window can get LifeTime warranty how about whole car too…no more kepala pening
      10. Lagi bagus give LifeTime free service maintenance…gerenti kick out Perodua top sales he he he

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • thedarkside on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:57 pm

that is up to their local dealer lah kawan

• Peyno on Oct 19, 2012 at 5:24 pm

If perodua can sell cheaper price in indinesia, uk, mauritius.. Why not here?? Coz maresian simply conned by soo called bau jepun?? U know laa ah beng maresia love jepun.. Dreaming jdm car… But cant afford buy perodua n bash proton make them feel sooo jdm

Jdm owner laughing at u ah beng jepun wannabe
        Prffthhh

• protondontgiveup on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:48 am

i suggest proton to move their r&d center to US and Europe to catch up with the international pace…while in the same time,setting up another factory in other country when necessary to cut cost….vendors should not be just malaysian company…pick those who can deliver better quality parts with cheaper price….for now i know that proton came up with certain criteria in parts supplied but the vendors couldn’t or don’t want to supply the parts with the price asked…they want to earn extra by milking proton with 2nd or 3rd standard parts while telling proton it’s the best….to those vendors out there….ask yourself….if japanese,european or even korean and china manufacturers can produce great quality parts at cheaper price why can’t you?you aren’t from 1st world where you’ll need to pay high salary….are you useless or what?pls do business with basic business ethics….and DRB group….stop the rebadging and reviving the old chassis story….they aren’t great…even the latest preve/exora chassis needs improvement….I know you know nothing about making cars but you’ve already stepping in….so do it tand learn it the proffesional way pls….

• ae101 on Oct 17, 2012 at 12:13 pm

i still remember back 80s a lot of malaysian actually happy to buy proton and really support them. but their management did not manage well over the yrs and produced more and more low quality car and sell expensive to make more profit. R&D needless to say burn a lot of money. since their car 99% sell in malaysia, imagine if sell cheap, how are they going to cover back their cost? get adviced from gomen, so the best plan is came out with the tax system where rakyat complain also no use but to follow.

• Mackers on Oct 17, 2012 at 12:36 pm

i doubt drb can do anything positive for P1

• Jack Leong on Oct 17, 2012 at 12:45 pm

oh. they got a business plan? impressive. i thought their plan is simple, keep ripping off malaysians.

• Lim Ping Shern on Oct 17, 2012 at 12:45 pm

Guys, you still need to pay more for this garbage.
    Welcome to Malaysia! Malaysia BOLEH!!!

• Pumpkins on Oct 17, 2012 at 1:30 pm

Fail to plan is planning to fail???

• a.k.a. on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:15 pm

Dont blame the people who work for or with Proton.
    Blame those who manage Proton. They are responsible for the downfall! Business plan means nothing..coz those in DRB are not engineers. They are businessman who only know how to sell and trade. But to make it work, reliable, and successful, they need engineers!

• Ah Beng on Oct 17, 2012 at 4:04 pm

Absolutely correct. They need engineers who can go out and see for themselves what is happening out there.Proton do not need smart accountants who try to stinge everything. Everytime vendor propose something, it must be cheap, otherwise no talk. Of course la…you pay peanuts, you get monkeys. Then DRB say local vendors are not good. They want foreign technology. Proton only know how to make assemble cars, it is the vendors who knows much more than Proton themselves.. But when they see the figures, they get greedy. That’s where the fat cats come in. Proton is a big company, so DRB also want to come in and be part of the business. Excuse me…car manufacturing is engineering, not trading, not non participating JVs and definitely not for those who do not understand the business.

• Pumpkins on Oct 17, 2012 at 4:15 pm

Dude you forget to blame the Kronies vendors too…how could you miss that huh!

• Ah Beng on Oct 17, 2012 at 9:46 pm

Ahhh..forgot. Yes do we need those kornies…like Ingress who announced they got the new proton model supply in 2014 already? Invest RM250k can get supply RM3.16 million. Go figure how much extra profit margins….

• Peyno on Oct 19, 2012 at 7:11 am

Talking about cronies, nap but the same the sokong umw toyota n perodua.. Maybe he tot those company nothing to do with gomen… Haha.. Pnb, sime darby, drb sll gomen cronies must be kaughing at u ah beng jsps wanna but cant afford jdm.. End up woth 3rd class asean made jepun. Celup car
        Prffthhh

• Proton Spageti on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:33 pm

My prediction:

1. To equip existing Saga with ESC, same as Australian market.
    2. To equip existing Exora with ESC, same as Australian market.

• Pumpkins on Oct 17, 2012 at 3:39 pm

Boleh mimpi lah:
      1. To price existing Saga at RM20K, same as Saudi Arabia market
      1. To price existing Exora at RM40K, same as Saudi Arabia market

• Expatriate VN on Oct 17, 2012 at 4:34 pm

My best dream:
      1. Jaguh Kampung No. 2 selling to me at RM 1.00.
      2. Lotus selling to me at GBP 1.00.

• Caruser on Oct 17, 2012 at 4:27 pm

Guys, I know a lot of you are angry towards Proton but there is no reason for you to bash or write expletives on other forumers. For goodness sake this is a car forum and lets keep it civilised.
    On a more relevant note, I think Proton should get a foreign partner to help it to make better quality cars. Proton’s technology and car design are outdated. Something tells me that with the current model line-up Proton is not focussed or unsure of its future direction. If Proton cannot be competitive, the high taxes on cars will remain.

• a.k.a. on Oct 17, 2012 at 5:59 pm

I dont think Proton needs foreign partner. I have friends working in Proton. They are engineers and they are very good. Seriously i mean damn smart & good! Unfortunately all the ideas presented will be chopped off by the management. Why? Simple..cut cost and sell low quality cheap & hideous car! As I said, the Management are businessman who only know how to sell and trade. Make profits, but they are useless coz they know shit about designs.

Some more, look at the Saga EV & Exora Reev. I think Proton has started to work on it years ago with foreign company (Frazer Nash or something). But what are the outcomes? Until now the car is still prototype, while Nissan has come out with Leaf and Mitsubishi has come out with iMiev. Not only Proton has chosen the wrong foreign partner, but also does not have confidence to its own people.

Local brains tak boleh pakai ke? Then, why study so high and get 4.0 for nothing?! Give opportunity, let them show their talents and ideas lah..support local products. Must support local brains too. Dok agungkan penjajah buat ape? Don’t be surprised if Volkswagen takes over Proton one day. malu je..

• Ah Beng on Oct 17, 2012 at 6:12 pm

Yes, the engineering ppl there is good but the management says “designs must be cheap”. How many times I heard of this word.

Proton do not need foreign partners. They need vendors who are good but again they want cheap parts. Even with foreign partners, the parts they supply won’t be cheap. Then again, foreign parts are better, so justify the cost.

In the end, Malaysians all stands to lose out.
        We would lose the brand through foreign partner, we lose the technology to others as we are shut out, we lose our skilled workforce. Worst of all, we lose our pride.

• Frazer nash must be one of the cronie vendors apointed to take money our only and force proton to use their crap products. there are many examples around like this in proton. I also agree that engineers in proton are smart. they are too smart and that is why bosses dont like them. they rather pay millions to overseas companies than invest in their own people. pity this.

• works on Oct 17, 2012 at 4:55 pm

Proton management, please don’t sell car la. Can sell drama with all your mambo jumbo story to all malaysia tv…chittt

• Ya proton. Better prepare to compete with Kia, Hyundai, Toyota, Honda when the price for those brands are cheaper!

• DArkerMarker on Oct 17, 2012 at 9:31 pm

Proton is an overgrown, spoilt, ever-whining retarded baby….wasting money feeding “it”.

• BUY PROTON! PROTON! PROTON! TO PREVENT AES AES!!!

• if Proton Sell New Generation of Proton Saga in future cost RM200.000 I sure buy!

• danedz on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:32 pm

DSZ is coming back…heh!heh!heh!

• Proton, please sell bicycle instead of car to reduce traffic jam.

• zenx80 on Oct 18, 2012 at 12:11 am

if you capable just go ahead buy other brand, no need waste your time write a comment here. if you want to see proton have higher quality, please join proton to lead the team and teach them how to produce a outstanding car (because you are talent).

• Pumpkins on Oct 18, 2012 at 1:02 pm

The car buyers already teaching Protong how to make good car…by keep on buying Perodua and Toyota…

Yes to help Proton is to buy Toyota, Perodua…HA HA HA HA HA

• Peyno on Oct 19, 2012 at 5:52 am

See i told u rite.. Preve hater no a jdm or conti car owner.. They r normally just toyota umw n perodua fag je… By praising them n bash preve maje them feel soooo jdm
        Prffthhh

• Carlos Ghosn on Oct 18, 2012 at 9:49 am

Fellow commentators have you imagine a life without Proton being born. I bet it will be way better. Just think deep. No protection of industry required, no high prices of cars which is a necessity in modern time, no huge amount of taxpayer money used to materialize and keep afloat the company, we can become Detroit of Asia due to our location, land mass and population mass and capable workforce and relative cheap labor. Imagine all car manufacture opening here instead of Thailand,Indonesia or India or China Ford, Renault Nissan, Chevy, VW, PSA Peugeot Citreon, Honda, Mitsubishi, BMW, Merc etc. Easily our auto industry will create more jobs than a single manufacturer and the FDI might be in the hundred of billion us dollar. To own a decent car with the choice at your own will without any thing forcing you down your throat is a really a satisfaction like no other.

• civicEK on Oct 18, 2012 at 10:25 am

if gomen dont put high tax on cars in malaysia of course every single of us wont buy proton la..

their new ‘global car’ also got many problem haih..

• matlimmutu on Oct 18, 2012 at 10:40 am

what problem?

• Pumpkins on Oct 18, 2012 at 1:05 pm

Global car with Global problem??? eg.Power window problem also kena Toyota…so it’s ok lah for Protong too He He He!

• Pumpkins on Oct 18, 2012 at 12:59 pm

Protong – Hello, here’s our new business plan

Bank – Yeah, huh?

Protong – It is a newly revised long-term strategic global vision covering 2013-2018…

Bank – Just cut the crap lah. Mau pinjam lagi kah?

Protong – Errr, another RM 1 billion or two…tarak kasi kah bang?

Bank – BWA HA HA HA HA HA HU HU HU HOH HO HOH HI HIH HI HI HE HE HE HU HU HU HO HO HO HA HA HA

• obese on Oct 18, 2012 at 1:56 pm

Its been very quiet for PROTON since take over.
    I feel that PROTON will never improve because it changes hands to often. This company, that party, this guy and now DRB..
    I think automaker should be owned by individuals who are passionate in building cars..eg Toyota..
    Pity..

• oko028 on Oct 18, 2012 at 4:20 pm

Hey Hicom, We have no interest to know your business plan for Proton. what we like to hear is – you are old enough to survey by your own and not anymore relying to govt and rakyat M’sia…

Please do that for Malaysian

• Wanna Know what kinda problems Proton Preve has.. Cheack out this link http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2499762/+140 Just read what are being commented bu the poor buyers of Proton Preve!!!

• Meanmachine on Oct 20, 2012 at 7:38 pm

No matter what we the victimised Malaysian citizens say, Proton is here to stay. So we are wasting our time airing our views forever and ever. The Government won’t listen, they don’t care about our plight. Our future generations will live with it!

• My Beloved Malaysia, when only will you be free from suffering when you are blessed with everything a Country can look for.. Oh My Beloved Malaysia.. How nice if we can turn back the clock so that the you won’t be suffering what you are suffering now……