Renault Fluence ZE – arriving here first quarter 2013

Plans are afoot to bring the Renault Fluence Z.E. into Malaysia sometime in the first quarter of next year, with the EV set to join the likes of the Mitsubishi i-MiEV and Nissan Leaf in pilot programmes here.

The Turkish-built C-segment saloon is powered by a 160 kg synchronous electric motor with rotor coil, offering 70 kW at 3,000 rpm and a maximum torque of 226 Nm for numbers. It offers a range of 185 km on a NEDC cycle, and has a top speed of 135 km/h.

The 22 kW/h lithium-ion battery pack – weighing 280 kg – is located behind the rear seats, which explains the Z.E.’s largish rear; the electric Fluence is 4.75 metres long, which makes it 13 cm longer than a conventionally-powered Fluence.

Some sacrifice has to be made in terms of boot space due to the battery housing, but there’s still 317 litres on call, and access to it is easier thanks to a low sill and wide aperture. It takes between six and eight hours to juice up the unit completely in standard mode, but at fast charge – using a 32A 400V supply – the unit can be replenished in 30 minutes.

In terms of EV defining cues, the car is defined by a number of blue-tinted details, from the lights and fog light surrounds to the front and rear Renault logos as well as the Fluence badge. The car also features entirely redesigned rear lights – including a strip of blue-tinted diamond shapes – plus a specific, more open grille design.

Safety kit includes ABS and emergency brake assist, EBD, ESC, front airbags as well as front side airbags, and on the features list are cruise control and auto dual-zone air-conditioning.

An example was in town, on loan from Wearnes Singapore, for the recent IGEM exhibition at the KLCC. The car heads back to the republic today, but there was a chance to sample its workings very briefly yesterday at TC Euro Cars’ PJ showroom.

The drive was short, under two kilometres, so the impressions are really very brief; the car had been going at it since morning, and the juice was starting to fizzle dry – when I got in, there was only 15 km of available range left.

As far as driving experience goes, all the associated drive characteristics of an EV are here – there’s that silent linear surge when you floor things, and the drivetrain certainly has enough pep to haul the mass along, even with five occupants in the car.

Compared to something like the i-MiEV, the Fluence Z.E.’s workings are undoubtedly more refined, much of it to do with the car itself. The Renault is for all intents and purposes a full-fledged sedan, just with an electric propulsion system. The interior is comfortable, if a bit threadbare, but as far as plushness goes it’s ahead of the likes of the Leaf and i-MiEV.

Other than that, there’s little to tell you’re in an electric, save for the instrument meter cluster and its minor differences. An ‘energy gauge’ indicates the battery’s level of charge, in the same way as a conventional fuel gauge, and the on-board computer displays essential information such as instantaneous and average fuel consumption, range, battery charge and discharge.

A quick note about the range readout – whereas something like the i-MiEV displays the maximum approximate range you can get from it at all times, the Renault’s numerical readout shows an 80 km range even with the car fully charged, and it isn’t until the maximum range drops to 80 km according to the OBC that the readout starts readouts dynamically.

It isn’t really an issue, because that’s what the analogue gauge is there for, and 80 km is more than enough to get you to the nearest charge station, or home for that matter. The Renault’s tracking of remaining available range looks quite dynamic though.

Also noted, that unlike the i-MiEV, the air-conditioning has no effect on the OBC calculations – on the Mitsubishi, switching the AC on drops probable range on the readout by around 10 km in most cases, but doing so with the Fluence Z.E. changes nothing in terms of numbers.

Still, these are just quick bites – expect a more comprehensive take on the car when it arrives here next year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• yuhuu on Oct 16, 2012 at 1:24 pm

overall is quite OK.. but the rim design… errr…

• ben yap on Oct 16, 2012 at 1:36 pm

A thing that i don’t fancy about EV is that it has shorter range to drive compare to petrol and made worst with lack of charging stations. On an EV, one couldn’t make it from KL-Taiping on a single charge.

• even if one could make it, then how they want to go back, baterry liao. where to charge? haha

• Kalun on Oct 16, 2012 at 1:54 pm

When do chevrolet bring in their Chevy Volt to Malaysia?
    It’s a similar are but Volt doesn’t look appalling though

• gangully on Oct 16, 2012 at 2:57 pm

apalling or appealing?

• alldisc on Oct 17, 2012 at 9:36 am

i agree… volt is more interesting since the engine is only for charging the batteries while its drive train is purely electric. similar to what proton is doing with Saga and Exora REEV.

• FYI, this Fluence is compatible for battery swapping. The design allow the battery either to be swapped or to be charged. Other models only allow battery charging. :-)

• how to swap a 280kg battery?

• sean zx-10 on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:11 am

by mr asia or sazali or arnold perhaps? hahahaha

• Learn Ping on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:52 am

They swap with robot with simple movements in Denmark. Please refer to www.betterplace.com for the details.

It can change the battery within 5 minutes. Just like driving into an automatic car wash.

• Of course using special equipment lah.. At the moment, only few countries are using swapping method and it is operated by a company called Better Place. Majority of the countries adopt charging method instead of swapping method.

But this car design allow the battery to be swapped ie. taken out from the car. This is because Renault marketing strategy is selling Fluence without the battery. The battery is belong to Renault and being lease out to car owner. That’s why the swapping idea came into picture.. :-)

• this is really interesting. less than rm100k is surely tempting.

• seancorr on Oct 16, 2012 at 2:40 pm

It only makes sense to sell EVs in Klang Valley as the population is dense and there are a lot of locations to charge the car but not out in the country side and remember…our country is only developed in Selangor and KL!

Even in the Klang Valley…it can only be installed in shopping complexes. I doubt one will want to pump electric in a gas station…what more when the storm comes and u need to wait for hours!

• Anti CO2 on Oct 16, 2012 at 3:34 pm

Dude! You piss a lot of friends from Penang… Developed? In terms of what? Infratructure? Driving mentality? Road condition? Doubt so man…

• Anti CO2 on Oct 16, 2012 at 3:34 pm

Dude! You piss a lot of friends from Penang… Developed? In terms of what? Infrastructure? Driving mentality? Road condition? Doubt so man…

• chris on Oct 16, 2012 at 2:48 pm

In as much i do support green technology, the current EV just not practical enough. I mean come on…6-8 hours for a full recharge for a range +/- 100km.
    For me, i feel that improving the effiency of a diesel engine would be far more potential than EV. If only our government can get their ass moving expedite the Euro 4 diesel standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • RedBeanBun on Oct 16, 2012 at 9:39 pm

since when u think G wanted to lower down the petrol consumption of using Diesel car? Petronas revenue will be dropped, and less tax given to G to spend!

• ThePolygon on Oct 16, 2012 at 3:09 pm

Come on guys, we really need at least a 450 km range EV for the balik kampung trips and recharge stations too. Nice design though…

• sean zx-10 on Oct 16, 2012 at 5:10 pm

u guys goes back kampung everyday ke? why so stupid comments? your income mostly sucked by what? petrol right? and that large chunk of petrol purchased is for your average less than 30km journey from and to house-office right? No wonder malaysia cannot improve. A lot of low educated bunch.

My house to office in USJ is about 20km 1 trip. using around Rm400 / month on petrol alone using cars. with stupid town planning..everything must be cramped in PJ..LDP is like a road fit for snails. even heavy traffic on saturday because all of you numbskulls have no better things to do..every week shopping at OU, IKEA, TESCO, IKANO, Curve, PAradigm…EV is the best to help you all in saving hundreds on petrol consumption. EV will costs u a third of that. Do your math…komen jer pandai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
      • Chris on Oct 16, 2012 at 6:05 pm

One word for you. PRACTICAL. The reason people buy a car is that it can go ANYWHERE, without the worries of wondering when the batteries will run out. Normal cars, if low on juice go to the nearest petrol station. I for one can only afford only one car and i want my car able to go short or long distance when needed. Sure as hell i’m not going to to choose a car limited to 100 km only. In real world not everything will go as you planned. In emergency i would want my car to start and go.
        As for the savings, me thinks all the savings will go for the battery replacement which is somewhere 5-10 years. Will there be any second hand value? I dunno.
        As for environment wise, think about it. What will happen to all those batteries already kaput. Recycle? or become a toxic waste throw everywhere also can.
        FYI, i’m driving a P2 Kancil with RM 38 i can cover 330 km on a weekly basis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • sean zx-10 on Oct 16, 2012 at 7:33 pm

1 word for u. PROGRESS..u think OEMs all no brain not to put practicality as one of the main ingredients in designs? Read about history of ford..how he popularized vehicle. Ford at that time was very slow even an asthmatic horse can outrun it. I dont think petrol pump stations were eveywhere also..
          He improved the car..he targeted wealthy individuals as to be rich is what most people desire. He set the bar..rich people have cars…miskin people like we all have horses. And the most extreme he did was..i love him for this..he bought over the railway company and killed the railway train to give way to cars.hahahhaa…itu macam la visionary.
          Give time to EVs to be as practical as u wnt it to be..come on bro..i think u jarang membaca la..Tesla S can cover 300miles per single caj. Miles ok bukan kilometer. Tapi mahal. Once people NOT like you supports EV..PRaCTiCAL n cheap lor in future.

• a.k.a. on Oct 16, 2012 at 9:17 pm

hmm..question for u chris..u prefer burning petrol and contribute to CO2 instead of using simpler and greener electricity? Hell yeah “PRACTICAL” if u need to change engine oil every 5000km, need to change oil filter, need to pay so much every 3 months for maintenance..well cant u see electric motors are easier to maintain..talking about recycling..of coz there will be waste management to control all those stuff otherwise u’ll be pouring the oil to the sea..

• ThePolygon on Oct 16, 2012 at 9:40 pm

Well I am just trying to encourage them to increase their range to match current cars. I am all into EV if they can do that and with fast recharge. Bro I travel around 90++ km per day to and back office. I don’t have the luxury of staying near my office.

• Jilbaber on Oct 17, 2012 at 9:46 am

Then EV is obviously not for you. It only suited people who can afford it as their second car…better go for long haul diesel type vehicles.

• I believe as technology progress, the range will be definitely improves.. Just like how our handphone progress..

• RedBeanBun on Oct 16, 2012 at 9:42 pm

A better public transport to just join all the shopping complex will lower the traffic, people will park in any complex and travel within.
        We build public transport in rural area for people staying there only…u think they want to reduce Proton revenue? think about that la.

• a.k.a. on Oct 16, 2012 at 6:00 pm

Oh..i totally agree with u sean zx-10. Now that u mentioned about heavy traffic, i would like to add on about parking.
    just imagine, im working at klcc and had to pay about rm20 to rm30 per day..for my car doing NOTHING! What?? Paying so much for a car to be parked? Tanah ni dari emas ke?
    Considering im having an EV, it will be great if gov provide incentive for EV user, and no charge (or discount) for EV cars who park at the provided space to charge the car. Save time, save money. Killing 2 birds with 1 stone!

• Jimmy on Oct 16, 2012 at 6:04 pm

One of the top 3 most cantiq C-segment car.

• Visitor on Oct 16, 2012 at 7:07 pm

This type of car is suitable for small to medium, compact cities where home-to-work distance is merely within 20 km (to and from). It is not fully practical (or unsuitable?) for sprawling cities that depend a lot on roads at highway speeds for travel from A to B.

• sean zx-10 on Oct 16, 2012 at 7:38 pm

Hahah…tanah itu tempat lahirnya emas when u gali la..hahaha.quite true in that context. LOL.
    I agree..better help the tauke more of the lazy cars we have..but cannot blame that lazy car..the owner somewhat so lazy. Bos lazy pekerja lagi lazy. Hehe
    Support je EV..so no more stinking exhaust fumes on roads. I ride.motorbike. So handsome to meeting but smelly.

• Bell&Ross on Oct 16, 2012 at 8:46 pm

hope tan chong doesnt overcharge

• GreenGreek on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:30 pm

At this stage or in function of time now, I believe that the priority markets the OEMs are targeting EVs for city driving and 2nd car for the family (usually for the spouse or senior citizens). You should continue to use your family primary (petrol sucking or ‘practical’) car for longer journey when the charging infra is not ubiquitous or overcome your range anxiety. So if you have only one car in your family, I’d personally advise you to keep to your ‘practical’ petrol car when you occasionally may need to travel longer distance (>100km) PER trip, before you feel that you can find the next charging station or home to top-up or recharge overnight!
    But anyhow, we should stop thinking that EV is a total replacement of ICE cars (at least not in next 5 years or so), instead I believe both of them have their respective market place in terms of benefit and cost in the next few years at least.

• Totally agreed with you. Introduction of EV was never-never as a replacement or to over take ICE car. This is because the technology need times to settled down perfectly to our need. Nevertheless, as the technolgy progress, i believe when range-anxiety and charging time improves, then this will be car for the future.. :-)

• RM10 can charge for how long?

• sean zx-10 on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:38 am

i did some calculations before sleep. =)). commercial tariff is 39.3cent/kWh. depends on battery capacity. Let say Nissan Leaf with 24kWh batt capacity. It would costs u RM9.43 per single charge. That full batt of nissan leaf can drive 175km (NEDC). that would costs u 18.56km per ringgit. let say we take myvi auto since nissan leaf is auto..

myvi is 7.59km/ringgit. thus nissan leaf is 2.5 times longer distance per ringgit of our MYR. so let say pays RM50 for petrol x 2.5 = RM125 on petrol to cover the cost of the same mileage with nissan leaf.

to add salt to the wound.. myvi petrol = RM50/week x 4 weeks x 12 months = RM2,400 . divide that by 2.5 = RM 960 for leaf per year. hahahaha… RM1440 savings can pay for our primary car roadtax..the mighty mercedes.

of course the fuel consumption is terrible for myvi in heavy traffic but NOT with EV.

supports EV. supports local technology !!

• GreenGeek on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:47 pm

In Malaysia, I believe the road tax for current parallel hybrid models (e.g. Prius n Insight) is probably only RM50 per year. For plug-in hybrid or full EV, the road tax should be totally exempted since it’s ZERO emission (full EV). This is one type of the support n incentives the gomen should give lar!

• sean zx-10 on Oct 18, 2012 at 9:28 am

roadtax for EV in malaysia is currently RM20