Volkswagen Golf Mk7 high resolution mega gallery

The Volkswagen Golf Mk7 is here, based on the new MQB platform, and our man Anthony Lim will be heading to Europe soon to bring us back a first person view on what’s new with the latest iteration of Volkswagen’s popular C-segment hatchback. While we wait for the story, here’s a mega high resolution gallery that Volkswagen have provided to supplement the first batch of photos released when the car was first announced. There’s many wallpaper-worthy shots – enjoy them all!

UPDATE: The Volkswagen Golf Mk7 has been officially revealed in Malaysia. Read more details and browse our high res live gallery from the launch, or read our test drive review:

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Nice interior. Exterior shares the same cue from previous gens but still good-looking.

• Golf and A class…i choose A class if Golf GTI and A class,then i’ll choose the GTI !

• disagree on the ‘good-looking’ part..

it is becoming more feminine!

• Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 9:06 pm

I like the gal in red

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Jimmy on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:27 pm

Going to be similarly priced as a new A-class. VGM think they are the same as Mercedes while the real German do not.
    In addition, the new A-class is much more cantiq than this new generation squarish Golf.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
    • looking-Good on Oct 17, 2012 at 12:28 am

true, golf or volkswagen design is going too square now~~

the new A class is a real beauty!

• Always loved the Golf .. When can we expect this in Malaysia?
    Anyway, I still think VW are rather overpriced in Malaysia. Dammit!

• hway de Cruz on Oct 17, 2012 at 8:52 am

think 1800cc and below, gomen tax excise duties 75%, inflate the car price out of reach for most ppl here so everyone buy p1/p2… feed cronies lah, i scratch ur back u sratch mine lah…. shiok sendiri lah, afterall… a great european car is not within reach for the mass market. great piece of engineering car denied for the ppl

• gracke on Oct 17, 2012 at 12:39 am

Much more bigger and nicer in and out, BMW daytime running light and steering too!!!

I heard that new Mercedes A-Class will be priced at RM180k around from sales consultant and arrive 2013 first quarter. Most of them will go for Mercedes A-Class….:-(

• unforgiven on Oct 17, 2012 at 8:37 am

Golf will definitely be much cheaper than the A class. Nov is coming soon, so there’s still hope for a lower price.

Don’t make yourself drive P1/P2 forever while the rest are being escorted by police in their sport super cars.

• Royal Customs on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:27 am

Who said it will be cheaper?
        If you hv been following Msian import tax way of calculation, this Golf will be priced close to 3 series CKD price.
        Cannot afford? don’t buy. Custom only take money from the rich, we don’t take money from the poor… capeech?

• don’t think new golf will be priced around Merc A class… they have Audi for that

would expect it to be cheaper than MK6… historically MK6 was built at cheaper cost than the MK5… hopefully it’s the same case for MK7 despite the upgrade look/features

• Alicia on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:28 am

Beautiful interior… love it. Would be great to drive this to play golf I guess, hehe :)

• Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 8:42 am

Yeah, I have always wanted to play the 19th hole on a 18 hole golf course

• KL fella on Oct 17, 2012 at 9:04 am

yes nice interior! much better than the current gen. by the way guys, do you know that VW passenger cars’ names are actually German derivation of wind names?

jet stream: jetta
      gulf stream: golf
      scirocco&passat: middle eastern winds

so for those who relate VW golf to the sports of golfing, it’s totally irrelevant!

• vroom vroom on Oct 17, 2012 at 12:54 pm

is that you Alicia? can i have your number?

• Better than preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • maggimee on Oct 17, 2012 at 8:28 am

get a Golf, score a tall chic.Das Auto.

• ABTguy on Oct 17, 2012 at 9:05 am

Both the new A class and new Golf will hold well in second hand value after 3/5 years.

There is a good reason why BMW dare not launch their ugly 1-series here !

• There you go again, VW fanboy start to compare their cheap car to BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • ABTguy on Oct 17, 2012 at 5:09 pm

I know you BMW die-heart does not like to see, but it’s the fact bro !

Hatch wise, I think 1-series is the ugliest of all. Change that ugly headlight can help uplift the image of the car a lot. I do work for German company, but dunno why BMW introduce a car with that look.

But sedan wise, new 3 bit everyone else !

• The Volkswagen Golf is a classless, snobbery-transcending car, pls read this http://www.autocar.co.uk/car-review/volkswagen/golf

• Cheap??? Sorry to blow your bubble dude. In UK specifically around London, Golf cost MORE than 1 series AND Mini Cooper! Don’t trust me. Go online and check yourself! Don’t just make claims without proof!!!

• BTW, you will need to compare it against the previous version E81 as they have increased the F20’s price considerably, more than 2000 pounds.

• slightly wider, longer and lighter than previous model.

• matlimmutu on Oct 17, 2012 at 9:26 am

exterior design still boring n ugly.

• can’t wait for GTI and R

• Jasmine on Oct 17, 2012 at 10:43 am

Thanks for sharing these high resolution photos. After this, I think need to head to my driving range to hit some golf!

• KL Stray Cat on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:24 am

So, which stuff will VW Malaysia be throwing out from the MK7 ?

• Interior looks more classy and Audi-like. Although exterior is more squarish and sharp, looks an improved mk6. Sadly no more twincharged TSI. Gotta see it in flesh, difficult to judge by pics. :)

• Guess since the Mk7 will only be wt a lower powered non twin charged TSI wt 120-130hp (albeit wt the focus on frugal bluemotion piston deactivating tech)…anyway, logically the price should be lower than the current 160hp TSI which is actually the GT specced Golf Mk6?

• alldisc on Oct 17, 2012 at 5:31 pm

its hard to imagine how they can improve that car. it already boast so many features from all angles.

• HELLO??? AUDI, VW, BMW & MERCEDES!!?? Drive slowly 60KMPH ok? AES!!!!

• I recommend all buy Proton better! AES! AES!

• Should be priced the same as proton.

• unforgiven on Oct 18, 2012 at 9:42 am

Benz A class is a better choice, unless the price speaks for it.

• unforgiven on Oct 18, 2012 at 9:46 am

By the way, ckd Jetta and Polo is not out yet, what’s the reason behind? Damn, all new model is out soon, don’t be so slow please.

• Didier Langone on Oct 20, 2012 at 11:26 am

This is he first time ever that a car has received 5 sta ratings from ‘What Car’, ‘Autocar UK’, Auto Express UK, Top Gear UK and Autoworld UK, amongst others.

Some even used the words, ‘the perfect car’ to describe the Mark 7. I would think its about time people stop making uncalled for comments about this car without testing it, and read what the magazine testers had to say about this car.

In the meantime, do let it come over to Malaysia, test drive it and the then you can give constructiive criticism or comments, positive or otherwise.

• Agreed, this is better than all the kia or hyundai on the road.