Suzuki Alto 800 – upgraded model debuts in India

Maruti Suzuki has introduced its revised Alto 800 in India – the new car replaces the current model in the lineup, and is available in both petrol and CNG versions.

Powered by an F8D 800 cc three-cylinder mill offering 48 PS at 6,000 rpm and 69 Nm at 3,500 rpm, the company says that the new Alto 800 – which enters the lineup alongside the K10 1.0 litre version – is 15% more fuel efficient than its predecessor.

There are four variants on call, these being Standard, LX, LXi and LXi with Airbag, with prices starting from 244,000 rupees (RM14,100), which is for the baseline model.

Exterior changes include a new petal-shaped headlamps, grille and bumper, as well as a revised tailgate and rear combination lamps, all part of what the company tags a Wavefront design.

Inside, items include new utility spaces on the dash, with a new centre console offering more space for items. The Alto 800 runs on 145/80 series rubbers and 12-inch wheels.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• magpie on Oct 17, 2012 at 12:17 pm

not bad. interior sooo bollywood.

• Beatrice on Oct 17, 2012 at 12:17 pm

that was a total peti sejuk car…

• mohsin on Oct 17, 2012 at 12:39 pm

kena modi dulu baru sweet!
    macam haram je

• Pumpkins on Oct 17, 2012 at 12:45 pm

Aiyo yo ini apa kereta?? Muka depan serupa lembu…belakang taruk wau Savvy kah??? Aiyo yo apa ini Suzuki!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Mozilla Chrome on Oct 17, 2012 at 12:47 pm

If this car is introduced here with the same price, I think it will help a lot of low-income family. They don’t need hi-spec myvi priced at 50k++. This will be enough to take them from point A to point B. Unfortunately, gov just cares bout the revenue from car sales tax. Sad..

• malaysiamah on Oct 17, 2012 at 1:21 pm

sure or not?what i can conclude here from many paultan reader is that ppl want cheapest price with highest spec….they wont favor this car my friend….they want lamb at this car price…

• Mozilla Chrome on Oct 17, 2012 at 5:00 pm

Of course everybody wants highest spec with cheapest price. I believe most of Paultan readers want comfortable and high quality car. But I was talking about “low-income family”. I’m sure most of them don’t mind driving low spec car as long as they can drive it. Heck, even student like me won’t mind driving this to class as it’s save fuel and cheap to maintain (I guess).

• Santosh Rajkumar on Oct 17, 2012 at 12:51 pm

I’m waiting to drive it. I own an 2003 Maruti Suzuki Alto (not your Alto or the A-Star as it is called here in India, but the fifth-gen HA12 Suzuki Alto ), which donated the platform to this car, and which this Alto 800 replaces. Word is the new car is stiffer and slightly better to drive. It has even racked up 10,000 pre-bookings. For car owners at the lower end of the spectrum, it’s quite exciting to have a new option.

• ramun on Oct 17, 2012 at 1:09 pm

Looking at the car, I am blessed living in MY which have more co called aesthetic art car design.

Looking at the price, I am ………

Dulu aku beli kancil 850EX(M)pun RM29k. 2 times more expensive.

• cruzer on Oct 17, 2012 at 1:18 pm

hahaha – what to copy hyundai design also cannot copy properly!

• wow that car is so tall for such a small car

• kereta lembu on Oct 17, 2012 at 1:35 pm

I’m confused. Do cheap cars really have to look crappy? Does it cost a lot more to design pleasant looking cars? I mean, they also consists of 4 doors, 4 tyres, 2 rear light, 2 front lights & etc like any other car. I would understand if the build quality and equipment is bad if its cheap but you still have to pay somebody to design the car, why can’t they draw something nicer?

• timber8115 on Oct 17, 2012 at 1:45 pm

hyundai i10 design cues… am I seeing it double? lols

• Pumpkins on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:32 pm

No reason why Savvy can’t sell big numbers there…if ugliness not a factor in Indian car market…

• RM14K for a 0.8 cc new car is like amazing. Every year can change new car.

• Why the car factory just cant build a nicer car for indian market? why always too simple design car for indian market? before is Honda, now is Suzuki. Want to make money also cannot be like that, must respect, pergilah….AES.

• The Enthusiast on Oct 17, 2012 at 3:17 pm

What a sad looking thing…

• confused on Oct 17, 2012 at 3:41 pm

No such thing as cheap and cheerful..

• Leonardo on Oct 17, 2012 at 4:24 pm

For small cars such as this, the fuel consumption and running costs are the selling points, rather than styling. Suzuki should bring this in to Malaysia so that First Car Buyers have another option, rather than let Viva monopolise the segment. Of course it has to make some improvements, to suit our taste like alloy rims, lower suspensions, different seat trims, ICE, etc. The Alto is way too expensive.

• vee-oh on Oct 17, 2012 at 4:55 pm

ok this is ugly car

• Ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!!!!!!!!!