Audi Q5 facelift launched – 2.0 TFSI, RM328k

Euromobil has announced the introduction of the facelifted Audi Q5 in Malaysia. Only one engine variant will be available here for the refreshed Typ 8R, which is the 2.0 TFSI that offers 225 hp at 4,500 to 6,250 rpm and 350 Nm from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm.

In terms of power output, there’s a 14 hp increase, or about 6.6%, over its predecessor, which was unveiled in 2008 and began selling in Malaysia in 2009. Improvements abound in terms of fuel efficiency too, despite the increased performance – consumption is quoted as 7.9 litres per 100 km, 7% more efficient than the outgoing Q5. Performance figures include a 0-100 km/h time of 7.1 seconds and a 222 km/h top speed.

The mill is mated to an eight-speed Tiptronic torque converter auto, a change from the seven-speed S-Tronic DSG wet-clutch gearbox found on the current model. The company says that the eight-speeder is more efficient compared to the seven-speed unit, and the move is in line with the core topic of efficiency the company is focusing on. In Europe, the DSG is still on the likes of the 3.0 TDI and 2.0 TDI variants.

Cosmetic enhancements include revised headlamps, a new rear diffuser and new tapered front grille. The Q5 now wears the new single-frame grille with beveled upper edges, while the front bumpers integrate air inlets with high-gloss black inserts and fog lights with chrome rings.

Elsewhere, the headlamps feature LED daytime running lights now shaped as curved bands that surround the headlights. At the back, the tail lights also incorporate a visually uniform LED light strip, and aside from the new diffuser insert, there are also fresh tailpipes.

New to the reworked SUV is the inclusion of a start-stop system, which the outgoing model didn’t incorporate, an updated electro-mechanical steering and revisions to the suspension.

The steering system – which adjusts its power assist to vehicle speed – gives the driver a better feel for the road with direct gearing, the company states, and as for the suspension, the five-link front and trapezoidal-link rear set-up features changes to the spring, shock absorber and anti-roll bar settings.

As for the interior, more of the controls are now trimmed in chrome, and modifications have been made to the steering column control stalks, the ignition key and the instruments. The centre console panels are now finished in high-gloss black, and the steering wheel wears a Q-specific design.

Ergonomics are also up – refinements have been made to the Audi drive select system, and the MMI navigation plus now has fewer buttons, with its volume dial having an additional skip function.

Order books are open for the 2.0 TFSI, which is priced at RM328,000 on-the-road, with first deliveries starting from end of this month. There’s the option of a S line exterior package, which combining exterior and interior styling bits – these include front and rear bumpers, side radiator grilles and diffuser insert in a striking and sporty design. Plonking it on adds RM36,000 to the final price.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Lean pei erh on Oct 18, 2012 at 12:33 am

No more dsg? Sucks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • syntax on Oct 18, 2012 at 1:06 am

Very glad to see the Tiptronic torque converter auto in the new Q5. The 7-speed DL501 DSG on the previous Q5 was terrible – it was very jerky at gears 1 and 2, and there’s always a disorienting delay in engaging gear after releasing brake pedal. No problems when cruising, but really awful in stop-and-go traffic and navigating during parking. As great as the technology is in theory, I think the entire VW group needs to work on improving the 7-speed DSG, especially the notorious DQ200 variant. The older DQ250 6-speed however was great.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
    • Ah Chan on Oct 18, 2012 at 8:56 am

Oh much agreed… a torque converter would suit this car a lot better especially in town. Always a little nervous during start stops.

and fuel consumption was surprisingly high in traffic but a dream on the cruise…

• I drive a pre-facelift Q5 TFSI with 7 speed S-tronic on every weekends and had not had any issues with its DSG jerks, just remind yourself, if you want performance, you have to compromise a little on the comfort. You can’t replicate the “fun factor” of DSG with conventional torque converter auto

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • syntax on Oct 18, 2012 at 1:01 pm

I’m really ok with less performance, but more comfort. And not forgetting better reliability too. I think people frequently overstate the performance and benefits of dual-clutch transmissions to be technologically superior to torque converters. Nothing could be further from the truth.

• keluangman on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:35 pm

I’ll take the stick shift any day over DSG….

• Vodka on Oct 18, 2012 at 10:39 am

It also depends on the market demographics. In the US the A4 2.0T comes with the 8spd tiptronic (2011 models onwards, pre 2011 was 6 spd auto) rather than 7 spd DSG, while in Europe and MY we still get the DSG. The Q5 being an SUV is more suited with the slushbox which offers 80- 90% of the driving excitement of the DSG. Based on reviews the DSG equipped Audi is still the more exciting car to drive vs. the 8 spd tiptronic, with the downsides of being more jerky and costly to maintain in the long term. Only Audi/VW gives twin clutch tranny option for their base models and you’ll need to buy an M car from BMW or a high AMG Merc to get their DCT and MCT twin clutch trannies. Their twin clutch tranny is reserve for higher end performance oriented cars.

• Jilbaber on Oct 18, 2012 at 6:52 am

I love the exterior but the interior is very dull and look so outdated much like car in the 90’s.

I also think moving into 8 speed auto is good choice. Heard a lot of issues with the DSG in VW forum

• sambalbabi on Oct 18, 2012 at 7:43 am

simply nice, but could be better if there’s a TDi variant. my heart still goes to Mazda’s CX-5 though, lol XD

• vee-oh on Oct 18, 2012 at 8:40 am

boring design..all look the same across entire variant..even Lexus can do better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
    • MrCounterstrike on Oct 18, 2012 at 6:53 pm

This Audi Q5 looks way better as well as better performance, comfort and handling than the Lexus RX models. I will take the Q5 anyday over the RX.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • BMW BEST on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:41 am

But Lexus sport cars does look better than any Audi sport cars out there.

• Pls introduce hybrid version ASAP…. Est tax free price should be +/-200k.

• alex chan on Oct 18, 2012 at 9:13 am

toyota fortuner is a better buy lah..confirm!..this one u buy..after 3 years..no one will buy..got no resale value…also very ugly compare to highly refine design of fortuner…sorry only people with no brain buy this..problem here..there..a typical europe car..weak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 89
    • k_man on Oct 18, 2012 at 10:12 am

Please la mr alex…you r just making a fool of urself by comparing a fortuner with Q5…why sound so desperate? fortuner not selling well eh? btw…a pajero sport is much better than a fortuner in every way if u wanna make comparison.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
    • MrCounterstrike on Oct 18, 2012 at 6:56 pm

Toyota Fortuner is not a good vehicle. Terrible fuel consumption, underpowered and not a good offroader. Better use the money to buy other premium SUVs.

• U should recall & check your message. Just like how Toyata is now recalling its Fortuner

• Recalling toyota cars was a smart choice, preventing is better than cure! Highly respect from all toyota fans!

• Bee bo bee bo, SA from T detected….

• alex chan on Oct 18, 2012 at 10:43 am

now let see, in a day how many Q5/audi/VW combine u see on road from johor to perlis?
    and how many toyota (only vios) combine u see on road? ..hahaha..see majaority malaysian choose toyota as it superior reliability and prestige brand anyday over crap europe car = korean…
    we chinese always choose value!..can u spot the different?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 69
    • Audi/VW supporter on Oct 18, 2012 at 12:32 pm

WE REFUSE TO BELIEVE ON WHAT YOU SAY !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • ramun on Oct 18, 2012 at 1:23 pm

Taiko. if u can’t afford don’t talk about value for money la, FC la, ergonomic la, all those father & mother stories. U just wasted Paultan readers’ bandwith.
      Let me ask u a question. what is the ratio between Audi/ VW sold in MY compared to Fortuner/ Hilux/ Jap brands.

If the ratio is 1:10, pls expect to see 10 jap brands before 1 audi/ VW appers.

P.S.: tak belajar probability theory ka? Pandai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo Sucks on Oct 18, 2012 at 2:43 pm

that only shows the ratio of the rich to the poor.
      for every 100 poor fools that bought a dugong vios there is 1 rich guy that buys a audi/vw etc.

i can also see 100 kapchais for every vios on the road. so that means kapcai has superior quality/ reliability and more prestige than a vios?

stupid comment. no wonder you are poor and gullible!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Michael Angelow on Oct 18, 2012 at 3:35 pm

Chinese, especially the masses from Billions Globally, would of course choose value. There are of course the affluent Chinese, a minute percentage from Billions Globally, would still prefer comfort, status and engineering. Audi Q5 is still a better bet, if there is no Range Rover brands around.

• Medic on Oct 18, 2012 at 4:10 pm

From Johor to Perlis,i see more proton saga then vios.So does this mean Vios is crap?hmm or Vios re-sale value sucks more?You’re trully retarded &desperate T SA.Sales for fortuner really bad huh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • i remember there was a time when uncles hated and feared the japanese lol

• Turboman on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:33 pm

Your logic is out of this world.

Im a chinese and im ashamed with your silly statement.

Again, i blame the education system.

• Alex, get out of here. U are making fool of urself. Few years ago u may oni seen one Audi vs 10toyota. But no more nowadays, ppl getting rich fast and i mean legally. Ppl dont bash price but embrace n motivated to get one of the prestige car brand. In KL alone, there are getting more n more Audi especially by the younger adult. Sometimes, i wonder m i in Germany as so many Conti cars around d road. Ppl like u who always be judgmental and keep a narrow mind about cant afford exp cars realli no chance of driving one. Work hard SA from T. Sell more this last quarter. Lol. Peace

• Comparing JDM W CONTI is a joke…
    Btw, the article stated 328k OTR? i doubt…typo isnt it…

• helmi on Oct 18, 2012 at 11:16 am

Ugly, expensive, unreliable,..and after 3 years you will hate to drive this.. thats why no 2nd hand value. Wonder why there are still people who buy this, maybe just to show off taht they are rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
    • mr_em on Oct 18, 2012 at 1:14 pm

Hmmm… I hope you are making this comment based from your own ownership experience?

Mind sharing what else is bad about this car?
      How long have you owned this car for etc… ;)

Would love to hear what makes this car ugly(subjective), expensive (obviously), unreliable (how frequent is the breakdown?)… is it the recond versions or the Euromobil official imports?

• Buying any vehicles is depreciation thus y worry bat 2nd hand value?
      If owning an Audi is showing off..Ferrari or Bentley owners must b freaky superstar.

• Black Dog on Oct 18, 2012 at 12:55 pm

Waiting list 1 year?

• You’d be crazy to buy this over a RR Evoque at this price range

• syntax on Oct 18, 2012 at 1:13 pm

By the way Anthony, the 7-speed S-Tronic on the Q5 – every Q5 that has it regardless of facelift or not – is wet-clutch, not dry-clutch. The dry-cluth is limited to engines not exceeding 250Nm of torque, hence its use in smaller capacity cars like the 1.4TSI models. The Q5 pushes out 350Nm.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 18, 2012 at 2:19 pm

My bad, especially that it has been ingrained in me since having met the BorgWarner people in 2007! Just hacking away last night without putting thought to matter. It has been corrected – thanks for the spot!!

• KillBox1Alpha on Oct 18, 2012 at 1:19 pm

Those who have never driven an Audi let alone the Q5 should refrain from making retarded comments like the ones above…unless they are actually retarded.

• Jimmy on Oct 18, 2012 at 1:39 pm

This Q5 price is very reasonable, being an Audi. So Toureg is a lot better than this Q5, and lebih cantiq than Evoque, ya?
    I think there is someone who is qualified to be arrogant to make one of the statement above, because he has: a stylish bungalow of 6000 square feet with 35 points of land, that he has the ability to buy every new generations of brand new S-class and X6 and that his financial status will 100% not be affected by any global economical crises, be it European or American or Asian.

• CarExpert on Oct 18, 2012 at 3:02 pm

I have driven this car before. Its nice and chuckable into corners. I understand though why they went with a torque convertor. Most buyers of this car prefer a more sedated driving with a slush box. DSG can be a tad nervous in stop and go traffic. But once the drivers adapts the driving style to the DSG, it doesn’t come as a bother at all.

• GangnamStyle! on Oct 18, 2012 at 4:20 pm

This is a nice car for the rich, middle class ppl choose santa fe, Kia sportage, Ford escape or CRV. If i can afford it i dont mind buying it, ppl buy car based on what they can afford and what they want in a car so no point talking down on what car ppl buy in the end is their money and not yours. So ppl relax..la why so emotional unless u are a green eyes monster who can stand what ppl can buy and you cant ! Peace!

• VWman on Oct 18, 2012 at 10:38 pm

Why buy this piece of crap when you can get more stuff and cheaper price with the VW tiguan? They are basically the samething! Just different badges. Orang bodoh baru buy this overprice crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
    • ///Mdriver on Oct 20, 2012 at 12:19 am

VWman, do some ressearch before you make stupid comments. The Audi Q5 is based on the Audi MLP platform while the Tiguan is based on the Golf platform. They are two very different cars. Since you are a ‘VW Man’ you should already know this. Get in a Tiguan & Q5 and you will see why there is a difference in price. You are a perfect example of the typical green eyed VW driving idiot.

• VWman on Oct 20, 2012 at 2:38 pm

Yea right. I previously owned a Q5, hated it so I sold it and bought a tiguan. So much better in ride quality and better value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • VWman on Oct 20, 2012 at 2:40 pm

Also, Audi is just overpriced VW. It’s a fact. I can smoke any audis on the road with my tiguan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
        • MrCounterstrike on Oct 20, 2012 at 9:28 pm

Your VW may smoke only the 2.0L models, but not the Audi 3.0L quattros.

• bugger on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:39 am

Q5 is a pleasent car to drive.
    I am a recon car salesman and I drove this unit to deliver to my customer. I can say it handles like a normal car (doesn’t feel like a SUV at all), fuel consumption is great for it’s size, power is great and the gear box is smooth..

The only setback is I cant afford it :)

• Thaya60 on Feb 21, 2013 at 1:27 pm

hahah…..VW vs AUDI makes such no difference…same ancestors, same platform but different quality…..if i were to say AUDI is expensive but quality is there….VW is also expensive for a car that does not perform as well this days due to the DSG….but VW has is own quality its comfortable, the sport look, the nice adaptive electronics, better drive than the 2.0litres of AUDI….but when it comes to quattros AUDI always win….they were more to quattros that days …always Audi’s AWD will take over any AWD’s due to their experience in creating AWD…….even the X6 doesnt near the AUDI’s AWD……

• popcorn on Jan 13, 2015 at 3:25 pm

hello all tai ko out there.. im planning to buy a Q5.
    there are some Question in my mind. hope taiko out there can help me..

1.) what different 7 speed and 8 speed?(which 1 better. i know 1 is double clutch and 1 is triptronik. Which 1 Better?)
    2.) why i see all ads some is 18 inch rim ,19 and 20?
    3.)some come with S-line but no camera?if not camera how much cost for the side camera?

Hope my silly question can solve asap..

thanks