Chevrolet Sonic spotted in Ampang, to be launched in Nov – Orlando and Trailblazer also on the cards

It promises to be a big November for Chevrolet in Malaysia – the brand is set to introduce a trio of vehicles to end 2012 with a bang. On the cards are the Trailblazer SUV and the Orlando MPV, but the one set to be the new spearhead here for the marque is undoubtedly the Sonic, the brand’s new B-segment contender.

We’d reported that the Sonic was coming, and it is – the car is set to be launched here in both five-door hatch and four-door sedan forms. Based on a tip that the trio was to be found at Chevrolet Ampang, I popped in earlier today to see if there were indeed there. Turns out they were, two of them at least.

They were tucked away under wraps at the back of the facility – working on the adage that if you ask nicely, you’d usually get somewhere, I did, and was allowed to view the Sonic sedan, removing the cover to snap some photos of the exterior (the car was locked). Didn’t get to take the cover off the Trailblazer though, and the Orlando wasn’t at the facility.

The friendly sales executive, Ahmad, told me that the cars would be launched sometime next month. No word on the trim levels available, but in Thailand, where the Rayong-built car is sold, the Sonic is available as a basic LS (sedan only), LT and top-spec LTZ.

A 1.4 litre Ecotec four-cylinder offering 100 hp and 130 Nm at 4,000 rpm is the single mill on call, mated to either a five-speed manual or six-speed automatic gearbox, though in all probability we’ll only see the auto.

Meanwhile, the Trailblazer, which is also built at the GM plant in Rayong, is the SUV version of the Colorado. It’s available in two- and four-wheel-drive configurations, and will feature the Duramax 2.5 and 2.8 litre VGT four-cylinder turbodiesel mills as found on the Colorado.

As for the Orlando, that one is well due in – in February last year, we’d reported that the seven-seater MPV was supposed to be launched in Malaysia in the second half of 2011, and it’s already getting close to 2013!

Built upon the Cruze’s chassis with a stretched 2,760 mm wheelbase, the Orlando features three engine choices globally, a 141 PS 1.8 litre petrol engine similar to the one found in the Cruze, a 2.0 litre turbodiesel engines in two different output tunes (130 PS or 163 PS) and a 2.4 litre petrol mill for North America. Chances are we’ll be seeing the 1.8 litre petrol when the time comes.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• hafizrahim on Oct 22, 2012 at 5:34 pm

lancer clone?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
    • Don’t like the plastic cover of the front lights !

• Mozilla Chrome on Oct 23, 2012 at 10:51 pm

I don’t know but for me I kinda like the headlamps bcause they are different from most of other cars out there. Plus,when the headlamps become yellowish or cloudy I think it’s easier and cheaper for u to change the headlamps because they are individually built in and you dont need to change the whole headlamp. (Just having a thought)

• Your eyes on butt?

• y look like mitsubishi lancer gt ><'''

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
  • theanswer on Oct 22, 2012 at 5:37 pm

not a bad sedan considering got hatchback version. hopefully the price is good.

• awg1031 on Oct 22, 2012 at 5:46 pm

the front looks mean..whereas the rear………

• janjidicapati on Oct 22, 2012 at 5:49 pm

omg the headlamps fugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
  • Donny on Oct 22, 2012 at 5:57 pm

Nice looking car but i’m still worry with the spare parts pricing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • anaqi on Oct 22, 2012 at 6:00 pm

wa tak yakin je jenama ni…..boleh caya ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 31
    • ahmadfaris93 on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:39 pm

I’m using 2005 Chevrolet Aveo for about 2 years now. I’d like to say, even if people give me a BRAND NEW Saga/Viva, I’ll still happily drive my Aveo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Colorado on Oct 23, 2012 at 4:07 pm

Much 10000000000000x better than Protong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • JUNJUN on Oct 24, 2012 at 2:09 pm

MAMPU KA LU MAU PAKAI INI JENAMA ?
      MENYEMBANG SAJA..

• _xXx_ on Oct 22, 2012 at 6:01 pm

wonder there will be good response…

• Kalun on Oct 22, 2012 at 6:54 pm

Chevrolet sonic. Aoo Is that Sonic that I just saw in FB. The one with a very soft a flimsy plastic bumper.
    But the rest is awesome.
    Can’t wait for Trailblazer.

• CooShyRee on Oct 22, 2012 at 7:03 pm

Ive been really lookin 4ward bout this launchin here, as ive always thought that its a promisin lookin small car, n the hatch version especially, looks amazing!! Ive watched n read reviews on this all over the internet, n i quite like it. Im hoping that theyll launch the 1.4L turbo here, though thats gonna be very highly unlikely. anyways, if it were my money, i wouldnt buy one. Got very bad experience wit the aveo which this sonic replaces, n i dont think i wanna make that gamble despite the gud reviews ive been hearing bout this car.

• petrolLeg on Oct 22, 2012 at 7:03 pm

Will be like Nokia trying to survive in the mass market. No proper definition of whom their target market is, good luck.

• any picture for the interior? :)

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 22, 2012 at 8:07 pm

rey, the car was locked, and the glare off the windows meant severe reflections, so no shots of the interior, unfortunately. Was using my phone’s camera for the shots at that.

• DArkerMarker on Oct 22, 2012 at 7:21 pm

hihiihii, the wheels are soooooooo cute…
    Big car, such a small wheels…

• demand for hatchback RS with turbo edition.

• Ryan.C on Oct 22, 2012 at 7:26 pm

Lancer bro is coming to town!!

• mamat on Oct 22, 2012 at 7:26 pm

is it real american product or korean? curious about the design, don look macho enough

• brader_sunee on Oct 22, 2012 at 10:01 pm

“Thailand, where the Rayong-built car is sold”
      sorry to say its 100% build by Tum Yum land

• its look more macho than ugly dugong

• design a bit better than dugong .hope the spec & price is good.

• I thought it was missing its headlamp covers…but no…

• Beautiful front, disappointing rear.

• Kalun on Oct 22, 2012 at 9:13 pm

Anthony Lim, seem like the covered car next to Sonic is Trailblazer.
    I can differentiate it through it’s tail light.
    Correct me if I’m wrong.

• Dato Jack on Oct 22, 2012 at 9:24 pm

i was plan to get the colorado last year.. but after waiting for so fakap long, than the superb preve born.. bye2 for
    any new car at least for next 3 years.. after that maybe can consider new livina since my preve is halfly paid whereby trade in will make win-win situation..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Judging by previuos Aveo resale value and unchecked discounts, hardly see any Chevy cars on the road nowadays, especially the new Cruze

• ben yap on Oct 22, 2012 at 9:38 pm

this car will be a highly depreciated car. the moment sign the papers, the car is down by 30%. macam buang duit dalam longkang.

• Toyota'sReliable on Oct 22, 2012 at 9:47 pm

Ugly Head Lamp, but nice shark shaped.
    Ugly Tail, but very generously BIG.
    It’s RM60k range, may people buy it?
    Notes: FC = 11km/l on City or 15km/l on highway.

Vios/City = 14km/l for city up to 18km/l on highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • seancorr on Oct 22, 2012 at 9:49 pm

Hmm I dunno about the rest of you but somehow their design language doesn’t grow onto me. Its the same for the interior or exterior

• Norrafi on Oct 22, 2012 at 9:50 pm

En Ahmad, ini barang berapa harga?

• sepul on Oct 22, 2012 at 9:51 pm

the design is said to be inspired by motorcycles.. hence the headlamp design lacks “normal” cover, but the light itself is covered individually, same goes to the rear lamps

and the interior is very nice.. better than vios, design wise.. build quality should be around the same.. thai built

also wishing the 1.4 turbo, or the 1.3 diesel would make it here, with bigger wheels

• sEnGz on Oct 22, 2012 at 10:15 pm

Thought they will come with the 1.4 Ecotec Turbo. 100 hp is just not satisfying enough. =(

• lancer look.

• I like it anyway.. but if only they cover the headlamps by plastic.. it would be much better. but still it better than the dugong. atleast 4 me heheh..

• kenny_lim on Oct 22, 2012 at 11:49 pm

good car, rubbish distributor

• PetrolLeg on Oct 23, 2012 at 7:42 am

Lancer fans can have something to migrate to, then again the service and the back support is highly questionable.

• Saw actual car in GM Korea plant earlier this year, looks pretty decent. But Malaysian buyers will think many times about the value depreciation, as usual. Even the Cruze is a decent car, but it’s not making the market penetration due to 2nd hand value mindset, expensive service & spare parts, etc.

• mr jem on Oct 23, 2012 at 9:39 am

awesome!!! bye bye vios!!! myvi too… could be the top selling for those who is eyeing for their 1st car!!!!!!!

• I think Malaysian will still stick with T&H.. Maybe Almera might lose to Sonic.. since Nissan is not strong enough in Malaysia..

• doohhh on Oct 23, 2012 at 10:01 am

Y U NO bring hatchback!!!

• Anand on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:41 am

Front look awesome and musculine like lancer GT but rear very dissapointing and look very ah beng like vios dugong…

• ahmadfaris93 on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:45 pm

The Sonic sedan certainly looks better than the Pug 207,Mazda2 sedan,Fiesta sedan and the Almera. I really hope they bring in the hatchback version because it looks better than this one(the rear design of the sedan which looks horribly awkward as it is a short car).Maybe can compete with the Mirage/cheaper Suzuki Swift. Plus, youngsters prefer to have a hatchback as their first car.

• Design not to my taste. Will wait to see the car on the road, if nice, than only go to showroom to have a closer look.

• Colorado on Oct 23, 2012 at 4:12 pm

Chevy car body look so tough and thick… not like tin milo Japanese car..

• Any indication on pricing?

• saw this actual car last year during holiday in italy.. very nice.. hope they bring the turbo engine to here

• Karl von Jitry on Oct 24, 2012 at 5:10 am

UNLESS GM dare enough to bet with their diesel engine, this Sonic is good for most of buyers to apart with their money IF the price is around RM65k-70K.

GM must consider price factor. Close enough to Vios-City a big no no. Having said that, we can see more Cruze here in East Coast.

Unless GM-NAZA can change their service perception on par with T, H and aggressive Mazda,buying a car is about after sale service too.

• Maserati on Oct 24, 2012 at 7:23 am

Ugly, crazy resale value..i cant see this car selling well here..

Uncle had a optra last time.. Bought 95k+, sold at rm21k a few years later..ridicolous resale value!

Dont know why they waste their time bringing chevy cars here. One of the worst cars ever..its the same range with those crappy korean cars .