Looking ahead: Proton’s future, at home and abroad

You are no doubt acquainted with last week’s buzz on the launch of the Proton Preve and Exora into the Australian market. Of course, any news on Proton is often the source of much talk, debate and speculation – but this could be among the most significant yet.

Not only does this mark the first export of Proton’s newest model, it is also a rebirth of sorts – after a dry spell Down Under that lasted several years in which no new models were introduced, new owner DRB-Hicom is aiming to change public perception in this market and turn things around for our national carmaker, particularly with regards to increasing – and maintaining – profitability.

The management team duly shared with us how it plans to go about this in a press conference held just after the launch ceremony last Wednesday.

Why Australia as the Preve’s first international destination? “We think that in Australia, the demand for mid-size sedan cars like this is very popular,” said Proton executive chairman Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil. He added that with the advanced features and technology employed in the Preve, the Malaysian mid-sizer will give similar offerings from Korean and Chinese carmakers “a run for their money” in the hotly-contested segment.

Proton operates in Australia through a network of 34 dealers. They started off on a good footing, but sales in recent years have been slow, owing somewhat to the global financial downturn, but mostly due to the fact that there hasn’t been new offerings in the Australian range for some time.

Several dealers have pulled out because of the unfulfilled promise regarding the arrival of new models. Currently, the S16 (the Saga FLX) makes up 70% of sales in the country.

Nevertheless, Mohd Khamil is confident that he and his team can revive the brand with the Preve and Exora, which have been designed to comply with Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP) safety standards, incorporating HPF (Hot Press Forming) and TWB (Tailor Welded Blank) processes in their body construction to this effect. Proton is in fact the first carmaker in the ASEAN region to use HPF.

In addition to that, the ‘five-star’ package comprising a five-year warranty, five-year roadside assistance and five-year free service attempts to build back confidence in dealers and consumers. Indeed, Proton is the only carmaker in Australia to provide such a package.

“In terms of projection we are looking at about 200 to 240 cars a month,” says Mohd Khamil Jamil, referring to the Australian market, adding that the company targets annual sales of 2,000 to 3,000 units for the first year, and 4,000 a year after that.

“Looking into the history of Proton, it’s going to be difficult to reach those targets,” he admits. However, he is keen to point out that the main priority lies in making a profit, not just outright sales. “It’s no point of us doing good numbers but losing money at the end of it. At the end of the day, it’s the top and bottom line that matters very much to the company.

“It’s not just about selling cars, it’s about maintaining your name and your brand. We’re going to focus our export programme through a more concerted plan.”

With regards to spec differences between the Aussie cars and ours, deputy CEO Datuk Lukman Ibrahim has an answer. “It’s a different selling point. When we look at different markets, we have to design to the highest requirement, which results in extra specs that will in return benefit developing markets (like Malaysia).”

Because of stringent safety standards in Australia, it is difficult to sell a car there without ESC, for instance. “With that offering (in Malaysia) you can start at a higher price point, and that can help Proton have a better margin, rather than exporting and end up losing.”

“In layman terms, it is cheaper for us to cost down than cost up,” Mohd Khamil chips in. “If we cost up (for developed markets), the small volume will not justify the high expense.” In the future, he says, we can expect Protons to be benchmarked to the highest export market requirements, and have more commonisation between markets.

As for the ‘five-star’ package, we were told that should be emulated in Malaysia, subject to study and review, that is. “It is in the plan, but we have to consider the logistics. The numbers here (in Australia) go into thousands, say 2,000, but the numbers in Malaysia run into over 100,000. If the figures are right, we would introduce (the package) to Malaysia.”

The executive chairman also pushed aside rumours of the halting of R&D during the acquisition of Proton early this year. “There has never been any practice, and I have never given any instruction, to stop development. That would retard the growth of the company.”

So what’s next? Well, the next immediate destination will be neighbouring New Zealand, and a revival in the same vein is expected to happen in the UK, Indonesia and Thailand in the future, with possibly China joining the list too.

Upcoming models are a hatchback version of the Preve within the next 10 months, a revival of the Satria Neo for the Aussie market (playing on its rallying success, especially in the Asia Pacific Rally Championship) and of course the electric and global small car expected in 2014.

With the new management steadfast in their beliefs and vision, it certainly seems that interesting times are ahead for Proton. We await with bated breath for further announcements regarding its plans later this year.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 22, 2012 at 10:28 pm

Before Tg Malim plant completion in around 1998, crony also have future plan to produce 1 Million car. Now in year 2012, the same crony still talk about future plan here-and-there! Better close shop for good and let Malaysian enjoy better quality car at lower price!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 264 Thumb down 92
    • Nanda Kumar on Oct 23, 2012 at 1:41 am

Yes bro I totally agree with your superb comment.
      But do you t hink under BN/UMNO PROTON will close shop?As long as mahathir and his lazy goons are still around and malaysians still support PROTON,its kinda hard.cheers bro…we need quality cars not “crappy angkasawan” & tipu ministers “apa nama?????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 71
    • Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 8:46 am

Yes better use the factory to produce Cucur Pisang, Keropok Lekor, Jerok Mangga…

Protong can make big profits in food business than make loss in car business hutang RM 1 Billion sinkhole…

Keropok Lekor Chap Protong…nyam nyam nyam…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 43
      • cunarra on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:30 am

pumpkins.. agree with u.. :D
        those cucur & keropok sure laku around the world…
        *typing while eating keropok ikan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 24
      • banana on Oct 26, 2012 at 9:54 pm

Yeah you are the best candidate to be its president because you failed in maths and engineering. Only know how to goreng pisang lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
    • salambangi on Oct 23, 2012 at 8:58 am

Damn you expatriate we don’t need you. Go back to your own country. You earn so much and yet wanting a cheaper car.You have no local standi here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 94
      • Black Dog on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:44 pm

Oh no, upcoming models will be the Preve hatchback and the Satria Neo (also hatchback). How many more hatchbacks does Protong want to produce? It’s always a case of competing against itself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 15
        • carneo on Nov 20, 2012 at 9:04 pm

DRB highcom good in produce hatch back, last time they was holding proton got lots of hatch back model almost all model with hatch back , and now they come with the same trick

• half-Blood Prince Perak on Nov 29, 2012 at 11:04 pm

Wonder when PROTON become PRO… Shinning when driving like Kedua…

• poor_malaysians on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:53 pm

How many times Proton change hands between Khazanah and DRB-Hicom already? Anyone know? cause the dude talk like DRB-Hicom is savior of Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
      • Anti CO2 on Oct 23, 2012 at 6:16 pm

Long time ago, when Protong was establish: We (Protong) wanna compete with Japanese car… After many yrs of complacency (with local demand) and lossing No.1: We are facing a challenging market where Korean are coming in for a share… Now, after DRB take over: Preve will give similar offerings from Korean and CHINESE carmakers “a run for their money”… Future: Our offering are better than Vietnam or Myanmar carmakers…???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 14
      • apajela on Oct 24, 2012 at 10:52 am

Dulu DRB-HICOM headed by org lain… diff management… even dulu tu pun, ada 2 diff mgmt gak.. arwah tan sri yahya… pastu saleh sulong.. skrg org lain.. diff management… so, x leh nak compare dulu dgn skrg.. – do you think you able to lead proton?? why not offer yourself to them to turn around it. everybody can talk.. – peace yo!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 15
        • Anti CO2 on Oct 24, 2012 at 1:34 pm

To answer your question, I don’t think I know how to lead Proton. Cos every decision is not purely base on biz. IMO, the best solution is to look for a good buyer for Proton. Why? Because I think we are just not good at producing car at this point of time. Or not commited I shall say. Just like sport, everybody wish to be at the olympic. But at one point of time, you need to ask yourself if you are better off being a coach or physio or etc. Then you will talk about the vendors, the eco system and what not. I think most of those vendors will survive, provided they can improve in term of quality. Cos car makers like Honda and Toyota are using local vendors for their local units and CKD too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
        • Sean William on Jan 22, 2013 at 10:13 pm

I would love to help Proton but I’m not a Bumiputra. Will they still want a Malaysian like me?

• Viet nam Quoc Dan Dang on Oct 23, 2012 at 1:40 pm

Expatriate VN go back to VIETNAM!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 27
      • Expatriate VN on Oct 23, 2012 at 3:28 pm

Why go back to Vietnam? I am already in VN enjoying my Banh Mi (op la, thit nuong, thit ga, thap cam, etc) and Ca Phe!

You want Bun Bo, Bun Ca, Pho Heo, Bun Gio, Banh Xeo, Ram Thit Nuong, Sinh To, Ep Nuoc, Kem Plan, etc. You name it I got it for you, but in this virtue world only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
        • These ppl will never know how is the life in VN bro…! Let it be….while we enjoy ourself here. LOL!

• matlimmutu on Oct 23, 2012 at 3:19 pm

all the best Proton. all the best DRB. work harder and faster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 16
    • armandd on Oct 23, 2012 at 7:44 pm

Politics out of here pls!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 11
  • just looking..nothing interesting here..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 9
    • Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 9:24 am

Look again…those booth background…tampal A4 paper only…cut cost kah…kesian Protong…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 12
      • Vince on Oct 23, 2012 at 2:27 pm

I think the booth is looking great tho, from a designer POV…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • RON97 on Oct 23, 2012 at 9:54 am

see…nobody seem interested w/ proton. look at photo 2. only around 30 bunch of boozons. but that include paid models, storekeeper, proton’s rep,. Joke of the day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
  • Taguchi, Masayuki on Oct 22, 2012 at 10:37 pm

all i want to say to proton is…F U!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 35
  • After 25 years, still trying desperately to conquer…the Australian market?? Still jaguh kampung, not even jaguh south east asia

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 21
    • Kamil Jamel on Oct 22, 2012 at 11:00 pm

How can they conquer the market when they are not even aware that Preve is considered as compact sedan in Australia, US and Europe, not a mid size sedan…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 11
      • Kalun on Oct 23, 2012 at 8:12 am

A mid size sedan : Toyota Camry, Toyota Prius, Kia Optima,
        A compact sedan: Proton Preve, Kia Forte

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
        • Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 8:50 am

But here Protong put Preve to compete with Vios, City…budak besar main dengan budak kecik…gila gila punya Protong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 14
        • zenx80 on Oct 25, 2012 at 1:09 pm

please refer http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Car_classification

• vader on Oct 23, 2012 at 7:39 am

nope.. now is 29 years old already..
      where a baby had been raised to be a father..
      a father to become a grandfather..

and our beloved potong still a spoonfeeding baby!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 8
      • Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:32 am

And yet the cucu pinjam RM 1 Billion, the bank cari Datuk kasi settle hutang…gila gila punya bank…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
      • A very good analogy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Sam Loo on Oct 23, 2012 at 8:28 pm

An we are all wondering where the billions of ringgit spent on R&D is for when the majority of the works are outsourced to Koreans

• blesph on Oct 26, 2012 at 10:04 pm

Name 5 auto companies that are “jaguh dunia” in 25 years. None?

• oblong on Oct 22, 2012 at 10:40 pm

‘kera di hutan disusukan, anak sniri mati kelaparan’…very ‘smart’ answer frm tht Deputy CEO…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 10
  • wolfsburg on Oct 22, 2012 at 10:42 pm

It is a tough battle without a proper diesel engine in Australia. And Preve is not considered to be cheap as well. Japs and Koreans are only about $2,000 above Preve.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 5
    • Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:11 pm

Smart Australians wouldn’t mind that extra $2,000…worth every penny whether Altis, Civic, Focus, i40 Elantra, Cerato Forte…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
  • next facelift, change the rear design and dashboard. people will consider more.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 4
  • anti-vios on Oct 22, 2012 at 10:45 pm

Since DRB offer less for customer in their own turf.. I do not see why we should support this brand….

Already brought new Myvi over Preve…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 35
    • Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 8:52 am

To support Protong is to buy, drive Porsche…itu Tun Advisor cakap lah

You Sir bought a wrong car…go buy Cayanne V8 lah only RM880K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
    • Cosmo Artemis on Oct 23, 2012 at 9:37 am

Soooo stupid lah you. Myvi? Small trunk, milo-tin body. kalau benci proton sekalipun, please la don’t compromised on safety bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 17
      • Fredo on Oct 23, 2012 at 1:37 pm

haha..agree…no disrespect but many didnt realize that buying viva/myvi is actually compromising safety…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Ha! Ha! Ha! I would have bought a Preve. More value for money. MyVii is half a car at crazy prices. In terms of safety, the Preve has much better features. In a short while, you will surely regret your decision and can’t put anything in the trunk!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
    • matlimmutu on Oct 23, 2012 at 2:53 pm

what??? u bought the ugly tin milo myvi??? bad bad bad choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • Bat-a-Man on Nov 19, 2012 at 8:20 pm

LOL….i am so glad i got rid of that Myvi junk 2 years ago and bought and Inspira…so happy with my Inspira, almost 1.6 years now. No problems at all.

You choose Myvi over Preve….LOL…Malaysia is full of stupid people. I only bought Myvi at that time because there wasn’t any better options then….Now, with so many options…wanna buy overpriced milo tin junk which floats like butterfly. I am always amazed by Ah Beng and Rempits on highway drive Myvi like Ferrari….goes to shows their stunted mentality.

• The Preve is the most ugly and ungainly car i have ever seen, except those local papers which praised it as ” elegance and handsome”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 90
    • Fact or Fiction on Oct 23, 2012 at 10:24 am

Design is subjective, just imagine people buying fiat multipla to me that car is just another design failure but to other maybe its gem in their eyes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
      • Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 10:48 am

Tell me which ugly car in the world have highest sales record? Savvy? Pontiac Aztek? Mitsuoka cars? Ssangyong?

Ugly cars just not worth it lah dude

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
        • Fact or Fiction on Oct 23, 2012 at 2:40 pm

Maybe its not worth it to you, but for other guys it worth something. Dont just view from your stand point take other into consideration as well. Then again we cant make every body in the world happy with a single design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • frenzy on Oct 23, 2012 at 3:26 pm

Yup, Toyota Dugong (Vios).

• salambangi on Oct 23, 2012 at 2:42 pm

Hi Bob (Badan orang besar). Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder.Sometimes big is beautiful. Just like u. 22,000 thousand Preve buyers cannot be wrong. You are probably one of the congenital haters of proton.
      P.S Please watch your diet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • lincoln on Oct 25, 2012 at 12:06 am

a lot of prevoc / prevec members will get angry with your statements…most of them are very proud of their preve, and preve club is the most active club in Malaysia,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Jimmy on Oct 22, 2012 at 10:52 pm

If you are just a primary school teacher and you send mail to someone to ask for a 5-series as a gift and you berjaya, what is your purpose? Do you just want to show off to your friends/relatives/chics? If a girl ‘loves’ you because she is attracted by your gift(this 5-Series), and not paying attention to your behaviour/maturity in thinking/commitment/financial status etc, this is not a good girl.
    Similarly, what is your purpose of getting an Inspira with 9-year loan instead of a Saga with just 3-year loan? Showing off? Do you know that you are paying bunga at shark-loan rate?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 12
    • Jolly_idiot on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:24 am

Bro, i would pay more for the inspira rather than saga. At least i know inspira using mitsi engine and can stand for decade.

I can’t imagine what a macampro will be after few years.

You can say I’m still mind set on jappy better. But fact proves that jappy is really alot better than crappy proton. I guess you feel the same tho.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 45
      • dh 5 tahun gua guna Pesona 1.6 Campro 1st model 2007.gua jaga maintenance every 5k km as per in manual book.belum penah lg enjin gua buat perangai padahal dh semua negeri dalam semenanjung ni dh pusing.hujan,panas terik,ribut,banjir pun dh penah tempuh.klu lu tanya mekanik kereta dia akan cakap enjin yg paling lasak adalah Campro.klu x caya lu pegi sendiri bengkel pastu tanya….memalukan bila condemn buatan Malaysia.

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 8:55 am

Smart guys get it lah…You are smart and a guy…happy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Peter on Oct 23, 2012 at 9:49 am

Inspira is selling 10k more then top rank Preve. Both sold by Proton. What do U think Proton think their customer will buy Inspira if it dosen have its real value. Most lame reason given will say ppl buy Inspira b’cse it’s a Mitsubishi brand and can’t afford buy the orig one. If this’s real contributing factor, Proton can drive in more re-badge from VW, Renault to pop up its sales. Am I right? At least at Proton stand, they themselves already admit the Japanese design is 10k more expensive & yet ppl will still willing to pay even put under their badge for its VALUE. Anyway, the complain against Proton is never technology oriented, it’s the inconsistent QUALITY issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
      • proton epic FAIL, both on quality and technology. name me one technology they have come up with.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
      • cunarra on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:39 am

Ohh nooo.. pls don’t re-badge VW..
        I’m planning to get it next year..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • littlefire on Oct 22, 2012 at 10:55 pm

“In layman terms, it is cheaper for us to cost down than cost up,” Mohd Khamil chips in.

WTF is this answer? Are you telling us that our life is cheap?!? We all know that cost down sure price is cheaper, but WTF Australia market have 5-Star warranty & Better safety?!? With the price we paid for a lesser spec model?!?

Besides that, only with ESC + 6 air-bags u claim that it may receive 5-star ANCAP in Aus? This mean that this car never officially get 5-star ANCAP but when preve launch in Malaysia.. Wah! Safety very good loo.. 4 air-bag + ESC can get 5-star rating! WTF!?!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 13
    • anti-vios on Oct 22, 2012 at 11:14 pm

Proton, We wont be cheat again and again…

Say NO to Proton….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 29
      • Fact or Fiction on Oct 23, 2012 at 10:26 am

and you buy a perodua? same cheat different entity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
        • Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:48 am

And you too not buy Porsche kah?

Itu Tun Advisor cakap to support Protong is to buy, drive Porsche…apa macam lah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
          • Fact or Fiction on Oct 23, 2012 at 2:31 pm

if porsche is your only choice so be it… as for me go la for other marque… apa la… and you follow what he said?

• The Australian government sets their safety standards high, whereas our Malaysian government/ JPJ believes 2 airbags is sufficient, let alone ESC and what not. As a result, Japanese car makers who sell their cars here equip 2 airbags standard, whereas the exact same model in Australia has 6 airbags. Want proof ? The Toyota Corolla for example. In Australia, all models get 6 airbags standard. In Malaysia, all of them come with just 2 airbags, even the top- spec 2.0V. Can’t even add optional airbags some more. Proton did not do anything wrong here, this is our government’s ”Rakyat Didahulukan” policy at work. Please, learn the difference. Don’t embarrass yourselves people.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 10
      • So are you saying that the gov is preventing Proton from selling cars with 6 airbags with cheaper price like Aus?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
        • farghmee on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:11 pm

no he’s saying that toyota also do the same thing…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
          • As far as I am know, Toyota is giving more than 2 airbag in their own country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
          • farghmee on Oct 23, 2012 at 1:48 pm

@amoi

1. this is the argument:
            “The Australian government sets their safety standards high,..”

pls stay focus on Aero’s commentary.

2. i believe the Jap regulation body also sets higher std.

so the main point here is “REGULATION”.

3. so, it’s normal for a company to maximize profit.

if foreigner still buy the “lowered” spec compared to motherland, so why the company needs to “up-spec”?

toyota regards other peoples’ life lower to Japs? racists?

no. it’s all about regulation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
          • @farghmee : Thank you for your understanding and precise comprehension of the debate here. :]

• we got AES what.. hhehe

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:51 am

Ehh..itu Protong UK jual full spec harga murah…UK law tarak cakap pun mesti full spec tapi Protong kasi jugak…

You juga jangan kasi malu sendiri lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
        • ada betul ka UK tarak mintak full spec?

harga kereta kat luar negara memang lagi murah dari malaysia sebab tax structure negara lain x kenakan tax yg tinggi kat kereta.. diorang letak tax tinggi kat barang2 lain..

peace..

• spyshotX on Oct 23, 2012 at 5:27 pm

UK safety regulation are bounded to ECE regulation.. they are one of the most strictest in the world.. have a look at the link to understand better on safety regulation..

http://www.unece.org/trans/main/wp29/wp29regs1-20.html

• How many times do I have to explain the facts ? I don’t get paid for this you know. The European Union, has some of the STRICTEST SAFETY STANDARDS in the world, even higher than Australia’s. Proton can’t even sell their cars in the UK if they don’t equip the cars with the minimum safety requirements. Some European countries will not allow cars rated 2/5 stars and below in their market. Proton is following European government protocols by equipping their cars full- spec in terms of safety. In Malaysia, 2 airbag dah cukup. Proton is not FORCED to equip 6 airbags unlike in the UK. As I have mentioned earlier, even the top Japanese companies only give 2 airbags, because they aren’t forced to give 6. It might be heartless, but this is business. Profit is always number one.

• Lightning McQueen on Oct 25, 2012 at 8:18 am

UK they have tatcham which will make the insurance cost higher if the car is at lower at lower rating.. Cost of ownership for car in UK is somewhat between 50-60% installment and 50-40% insurance. Pumpkin do the homework first.

• Yalah, they’re so used to having 2 ‘airbags’ only, 4-6-8… haiyah, headache woo, LOL!

• Sumo_Boy_Berlin on Oct 24, 2012 at 10:38 am

I don’t see regulation is a good excuse for proton to provide minimal safety equipments. Since proton already have the status of national car, they should provide the same safety specs (like in australia) in all their production lines in this country. This is more like social responsibility to all Malaysians, and same goes to perodua.

• jolky on Oct 26, 2012 at 10:19 pm

Don’t forget they run business too, business runs for money. Even japs cannot beat koreans in term of cost cutting. proton only has small scale market thus economies of scale is valid here

• watchman on Nov 02, 2012 at 7:15 pm

i think you are missing a very important point, which is that the government safety consideration also take into account of whether PROTON can continue to survive and being priced competitively if they are compelled to comply with stricter safety regulations. Msian government has been very consistent in prioritising the interest of PROTON and its entire ecosystem over the interest of ordinary Malaysians eg car pricing, emission standards, safety. so the fact that PROTON exists are the reason those stricter safety standards are not being introduced and implemented. you are the one embarrassing yourself for failing to realise this. PROTON is root cause of all that ails the Malaysia’s automotive industry.

• Tokmoh on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:57 am

It’s a kind of answer from people who do not have the passion to make great cars. That’s it everyone, that’s all you need to know Proton is bound to be doomed. All their plans are just tok kok sing song, they’re planning to not lose instead of planning to win. Which is as good as planning to lose.

Brace yourselves taxpayers, Proton will be bailout in the next few years, whereas these faces will get away scot free

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 11
      • Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 8:57 am

Who’s turn next kasi derma to Protong? Petronas…Tabung Haji…EPF…Felda…Koperasi Nelayan…???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • b sensible on Oct 22, 2012 at 10:56 pm

“In layman terms, it is cheaper for us to cost down than cost up…” but msian not offering the best-in-class product like esc, extra airbags. i’m wondering why in the same product range, the features are not standard? since drb-hicom get 50% rebates on excise duties, does cost up really affect them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Kamil Jamel on Oct 22, 2012 at 10:56 pm

“Nevertheless, Mohd Khamil is confident that he and his team can revive the brand with the Preve and Exora”

Other than joining the launch ceremony, he and his team got nothing to do with the Exora & Preve which are DSZ’s baby. Even the hatchback version are not out yet after almost a year, most probably due to the:
    “There has never been any practice, and I have never given any instruction, to stop development. That would retard the growth of the company.”

I bet they do have “a plan which can’t be revealed yet”…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • MoFaz on Oct 22, 2012 at 11:36 pm

can’t simply stop development and start something new. have to consider ‘the cost to complete the development’ vs ‘the cost already spent’ if you want to cancel it. in this case, it would be stupid to halt Preve hatchback development as the cost is very minimal because most parts are shared with the sedan version.

• Fredo on Oct 23, 2012 at 8:27 am

agree….
        its gonna be interesting to see the upcoming Preve hatch… i heard theres a 6-MT option too..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 9:10 am

Yes just like how to minta RM 1 Billion again when the previous RM 1 Billion hutang not yet langsai…

OK lah write love letter to EPF…To My Dear EPF….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • Kamil Jamel on Oct 23, 2012 at 4:32 pm

If they haven’t messed with the development, we would see the Preve hatchback already. Like you said, it is sharing a lot of components with the Sedan so it shouldn’t take this long to roll it out.

• Jolly_idiot on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:33 am

I still like the way DSZ lead the company but sad that DRB bring proton back to the dark side instead of the bright side.

I’ll not buy anymore proton because DSZ no longer there.

I don’t believe DRB can make better proton without DSZ. maybe yes only without cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • Fredo on Oct 23, 2012 at 8:31 am

i bet to differ…. DRB has taken a good step by ‘cutting’ the ‘excess fat’ within Proton. that alone will definitely reduce overhead cost….working culture are being improved too..no more lay back and relax…no unnecessary OT… unnecessary spending, favourite vendor etc2…. the way i see, they are serious about making money

• chan kam nam on Oct 23, 2012 at 9:44 am

Cutting excess Fat in Proton. What makes you so sure that DRB is lean and fit. More like transferring the fat to DRB cronies.

• Fredo on Oct 23, 2012 at 1:42 pm

doesnt matter…. as long as it start to make profit…i bet u’ll the same if u r DRB..its business, nothing personal

• Kamil Jamel on Oct 23, 2012 at 4:39 pm

Stop the development and this will stop the related expenses as well. With no expenses for development, profit will certainly be high. It is not hard to make profit from Proton but to make it sustainable is another thing altogether.

I guess this is what it was meant by low hanging fruits, the products have been developed under the previous management, they come in and reap the benefits for a few years and by the time Proton starts struggling due to lack of new products, the government will take it back from their hands.

• Ah Beng on Oct 23, 2012 at 8:34 am

Cronies already started to get share of the new Global Small Car project. And orang lama from the old DRB days are smiling agai.

• New Zealand as their next new market ? Why ? The NZ market is tiny lah, not worth the investment. In my honest opinion, Proton should start with big, developing markets like India, China, the Philippines and even Brazil, Egypt and some Eastern European countries. If you look into the sales of cars here, many of the Top 30 best selling are cheap Chinese or Korean cars. Proton’s new models would look like BMWs and Mercs next to those things. Proton should start with weak, easy markets first, then progressively move on to high tier markets like Europe and America in the future. Just my 2 cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
    • I believe the reason is that those developing countries are still too competitive for even Proton. An Automotive secluded countries like New Zealand or Greenland or Fiji is perfect for Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
      • So you’re telling me that Greenland, which has 56,749 people and Fiji with 849,000 total are ”better markets” than China and India which have over a billion potential customers each ? Seems legit. Anyway, what is all this about ”competitiveness” ? Every market also got competitiveness lah, except maybe North Korea. LOL. Did you know that the Chinese can sell fake Mercedes Benz (Geely CK) in Eastern Europe and still become number one ? Google ”Geely CK Ukraine ” if you don’t believe me. If the Chinese can do it with their horrible cars, I’m damn sure Proton can too. And MUCH better if I might add.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
        • The lack of direct competition at Proton models’ price points (in Malaysia) has also allowed Proton, for many years, to continue selling very outdated designs, generally with scant regards to providing basic safety equipment such as airbags and anti-lock braking in domestic models. Additionally, J.D. Power survey results have consistently shown that Protons have poorer rankings in initial quality than the available competition….
          …..wikipedia on Proton
          you can’t sell Proton in competitive market. They are not doing well in the UK either, the only competitive market they ever sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
          • Competitiveness exists in any and all markets with variables. So long as there are AT LEAST two different forces involved, competition exists. The only difference is the DEGREE of competition. To be fair, it is true, the degree of competition in Malaysia is low due to the taxing on foreign cars. However, Proton can still compete fairly in some overseas markets. You say they’re not doing well overseas ? It’s because they’re not trying hard enough. Simple as that.

• Jolly_idiot on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:36 am

Agreed. Its a heaven for losers as no competitor to compete.

Look down on proton for being so imcompetent. Or should i use the word impotent?

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 9:15 am

Dude you forget other secluded markets like Zimbabwe…Gambia…Benin…Swaziland…Togo…Congo…appoint Samuel E’too as Protong product promoter too…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
        • So, you’re saying that Proton should try selling their cars in countries where the majority of the population live in shacks, don’t wear proper clothes and are half- starving to death thanks to famine, civil wars and corruption ? These are poor markets. I’m talking about DEVELOPING markets. Poor markets are poor, and remain poor. Developing markets are poor, but they are getting richer by the day. There’s a big difference.

• how to compete with tata nano??? if they competing for the lower market the likes of tata will kill them. if they wanna compete with the jap and korean also die. there is no place for proton outside of malaysia. thats the fact

• The Tata Nano may be popular, but it only had a 2.6% market share last month. In comparison, the similar, but more expensive Hyundai i10 had 3.8% and it’s bigger brother, the Hyundai i20 had 3.6% market share. But how come ? It’s because India has a middle class of over 400 million. Even if Proton is able to capture 1% of market share on a monthly basis, their profits would quadruple indefinitely.

• MoFaz on Oct 22, 2012 at 11:56 pm

they do not have ‘national cars’ or most of the cars sold there are imported ones. hence, the smaller the market, the easier for you to penetrate.
      china and US has their own set of regulations, for example china require you to JV with local chinese partner and many other things.
      The number of foreign cars sold in the U.S. is often set by import quotas, depending on trade agreement with particular countries… Korean and Japs has to build factories in US and give jobs to americans in order to sell their cars there.
      another problem is you have to manufacture different parts for left-hand-drive vehicles to sell in China and US, which is why it is easier for proton to penetrate Australia, NZ, and other right-hand-drive countries. nevertheless, proton already has LHD Preve in testing:
      http://paultan.org/2012/05/09/left-hand-drive-proton-preve-caught-testing-in-shah-alam/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 8:44 am

Hyundai Kia proved themselves it’s all can be done in every corner of the world rather than waiting, give excuses, mintak Tongkat this Tongkat that from govt like Protong.

What LeftHand or RightHand drive markets? Look at UK market RHD which Protong entered so many donkey years ago and still Protong joke itself in UK.

Kalau hendak seribu dalih…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
        • MoFaz on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:51 am

i’m not giving excuse for proton here. like i always said, study more and compare. hyundai/kia gave 10 years warranty in the US previously, which never exist in Korea. and cars sold in US is cheaper than Korean domestic market, some people import hyundai/kia cars from US to Korea and it’s still cheaper. and look at how many cars they sold in the ‘closed’ market of Korea? about double Malaysian car market size. roughly, proton only sold 15% of what hyundai/kia sold in korea. definitely, hyundai/kia has much bigger spending power to invest and build factories around the world. their marketing budget alone is around US$500mil anually. hyundai/kia also have their own steel factories, which helps to bring the cost down.
          now, how can proton compete? climb 1 step at a time. they now do what hyundai/kia did in the past, trying to emulate them like how Samsung emulate Apple’s formula for success… for me, being under DRB probably the right thing compared to being controlled and dictated by gov agency (khazanah).
          bashers always think that proton should aim to be no 1 in the world but that’s not necessarily the case. what’s more important for now, proton should build their reputation first and gain more exports before trying to conquer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
          • Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:35 pm

That’s why learn from Korea…why blame Hyundai Kia for having own steel factories low-cost advantage? Nothing wrong for that

But it’s wrong to screw up steel factory for fun big joke eg.Perwaja Steel

Everything in Bolehland gone to bonkers lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
          • Fredo on Oct 23, 2012 at 2:01 pm

haha yeah…its pity that many didnt understand this…or simply dont wanna see things from this perspective….obviously Proton is no better than Hyundai/Kia..thats why they are positioned lower in term of price

• matlimmutu on Oct 23, 2012 at 3:04 pm

good info mr.mofaz.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 24, 2012 at 9:32 am

Another selective comments, why you don’t mentioned Korean sell 30% of their car in domestic market, while 70% is for export!!!!!

How about Proton? They sell more than 90% locally at high price, in order to subsidize less than 10% export market!!!! Prove me wrong!!!!!!

• MoFaz on Oct 24, 2012 at 10:39 am

yo expat, did i not said that “proton should build their reputation first and gain more exports”…?
            local price is high because of tax. without tax, waja/persona/preve is only around RM40k-50k, and saga would be just RM24k.

• Hi MoFaz, thanks for the keen insight. I overlooked those aspects you’ve mentioned such as the fact that the U.S and China both impose limitations on foreign cars in the interests of their own.

• looking at your comments, you are worthy of taking over Proton, Aero. personally I believe Protons business is more political than practical.And there is no guarantee Proton success in those markets. both Chinese, Korean and Japanese are churning out newer and fresher cars in those market faster than ever. For now, I believe lack of experience prevents Proton into those market (except maybe for those middle eastern and eastern european countries, but there are political things going on there now). For now Proton needs experience and a boost in their R&D. I suggest selling in to Canada, Vietnam or nothern Europe. If things go well, It’s neighboring countries (USA, China and western european respectively) will get used to the sight of a Proton and moving into those market will be easier from a PR point of view

• I love proton, I hope proton doing well with DRB Hicom. Some of us easy to bash proton because the number of years. Ermmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 89
    • anti-vios on Oct 22, 2012 at 11:20 pm

…and they will cheat on you again and again… congrats…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 17
      • Fact or Fiction on Oct 23, 2012 at 10:31 am

and you buy a perodua? whats the difference?

• cannot say that larrr, proton is owned by who? If the share holder don’t want to invest money, what can proton do? pikir la sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • magpie on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:09 am

I love proton, and I love u too, Juan. I love AES and I love 6 airbag..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
    • Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 8:37 am

Yes we all love Protong too…

To support Protong is to drive Porsche (according to Toon Advisor lah)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • shawal on Oct 22, 2012 at 11:02 pm

Thats how proton do business
    their r&d is basicly the consumers,
    we’re part of their long term tests unknowingly ,
    when sales are slow, they’ll start introducing SE models and giveaway freebies
    for them profit comes first, which is natural for any company to survive..
    but for the rakyat, its unfair for us, because the majority don’t have access to safer cars either since they’re too expensive, and proton do not wish to provide us either and public transport has yet to see any improvement

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • Ismail saad on Oct 22, 2012 at 11:06 pm

Damn u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • anti-vios on Oct 22, 2012 at 11:10 pm

For our people,proton just give 4 airbag instead of 6…And the worst part we pay more than them!!!

say NO to Proton!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 21
    • MoFaz on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:10 am

u don’t even know why it’s cheaper in Australia compared to Malaysia?..
      camry is 6 airbags standard in Australia too, but Malaysia only get 4 airbags for the 2.5V, and if you buy 2.0G, you’ll get only 2 airbags even though the price is much more expensive than Preve.. vios, city & civic also fitted with only 2 airbags. do you say no to Toyota & Honda?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 10
      • Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 9:28 am

Drive it to believe it? Apa punya slogan lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
        • MoFaz on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:04 pm

that’s the reason why everybody do a test drive before buying any car. but for some people like you, just look at the logo and buy it straightway.

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 1:08 pm

Drive it to repair it?

Itu lagi sakit bro…global car ini macam kah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
          • unfdr on Oct 27, 2012 at 12:04 am

Drive it to repair it – only applicable for prof serba tau pumpkins lol

• Peter on Oct 23, 2012 at 10:01 am

Yes. We’d say no to Toyota & Honda for this ‘special offer’. In fact Paul already complain this in the latest Camry Review. Nissan also like that. The only way to stop them is consumer. Why this HAPPEN? Have you ever ask yourself? It’s b’cse our government don force them but gorn in Aus do. I don want to drag the discussion into politics but this’s an obvious fact. Why Fiesta in M’sia can offer six airbags but Toyota don’t! Damn Toyota also damn WE consumer who still support the unfair trade! THIS DOSEN’T SPARE PROTON from his similar idiotic selfish behavior.

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:36 am

Rolls Royce Ghost price tag RM2.6 million how many airbags? No customer complain too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • Peter on Oct 23, 2012 at 3:58 pm

Did you know that Rolls Royce is fully built to order? You can even order one with a fridge inside. Then why no airbags? Either the customer don want or they don set it as a pre-fixed configuration. Pls list out which existing customer whose Rolls Royce don have airbags. If you don know, pl sgo find out 1st.

• Fact or Fiction on Oct 23, 2012 at 10:33 am

and you buy a perodua? whats the difference bro?

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:13 am

Why not buy Porsche too?

Did you know that to buy, drive Porsche is to support Protong? Bukan saya cakap itu Tun Advisor lah…cakap serupa bikin ok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • Fact or Fiction on Oct 23, 2012 at 2:58 pm

Dude, I was referring to anti-vios comment of proton cheating people like us and yet that dude bought Myvi (refer to his/her ealier posting of buying Myvi). Why differentiate p1 & p2, arent they not the national car makers? arent the not based they models on rebadged japs car(p2 on their earlier models and inspira) arent they not priced their cars so that we will not have other options to buy them? arent they not basically receiving govt protection?

• This is a very good investment, as their products are praised for being well design, reliable and affordable. It is predicted that their sales is going to overtake it’s nearest rival manufacturer in just 2 YEARS , and the product is so well received, there is a petition to bring them to the U.S, Germany and Japan!!!! Not to mention they are so well built and design, some Rally and GT racing teams are ditching their current sponsor’s car for a Proton and Pro……………..
    ……….. Sorry I was thinking of something else ,Proton is an unloved piece of_________

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
  • Xefron on Oct 22, 2012 at 11:13 pm

I tell u,DRB have no effing idea what to do with PROTON.Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil need to find someone/company that can help PROTON moving fwd.This company have potential despite after 25 years without any achievement that can be proud of.

• AES should catch Proton, not the rakyat!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • Jolly_idiot on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:41 am

I guess mostly snapped are proton cars. Good job aes for snapping more rakyat money.

Should we rakyat do something to this aes at night?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Fact or Fiction on Oct 23, 2012 at 10:34 am

and being a vigilante & vandals? good thinking, we are moving towards caveman mentality by the minute.

• Chow 1 on Oct 22, 2012 at 11:19 pm

Seems like they are not doing business and making profit, but trying hard for existence only. If cannot compete just close lah, Malaysians don’t feel proud anymore for local cars if it’s not well received in overseas. It’s facebook era, no more brainwashing by the government, we can see more clearly now. Malaysians deserve better cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 9:06 am

Told ya Protong better use the factory to produce Keropok Lekor, Jerok Mannga, Cucur Pisang…

Food business sure big profits than making big loss hutang RM 1 Billion sinkhole…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • ” cost up and cost down” ?? Omg, what kinda of English was that, i have never heard any CEO or Deputy CEO saying these words…

• Megane on Oct 23, 2012 at 2:57 am

He said cost up THAN cost down , not cost up AND cost down . Anyway cost up is fine but cost down is wrong English-wise , shouid ‘ve been reduce cost or cut down the cost . No offence .TQ

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 9:19 am

Bikin banyak rugi, Bikin sikit lagi rugi…

Ini macam kah bikin bisnes?

• polo saga on Oct 22, 2012 at 11:34 pm

give us (RAKYAT) back our money!!!
    u know what i mean, Be-eNded.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
  • “Proton is in fact the first carmaker in the ASEAN region to use HPF”

Well DUH, Malaysia is the only ASEAN country to produce their own cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 7
    • Wrong. Thailand, Indonesia, Vietnam and the Philippines make cars too, under license. They just don’t make national cars unlike our unique Malaysia. Both Thailand and Indonesia made more cars in 2011 than Malaysia did in the past 3 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
      • good point, but is possible that he meant ASEAN car company instead of japanese and german car companies who produce the cars at indo and thai. Coz i doubt that the japs and german would be behind in technology compared to proton.

• MoFaz on Oct 23, 2012 at 1:40 am

maybe what he meant is, those japs and western companies have yet to use HPF in the cars they produce in thai and indonesia…?

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 9:03 am

Yes proclaim the HPF as the 9th Wonder of the World…

To prove how strong the HPF drop Preve to Antarctica…World book of records…Don’t forget to ask Red Bull to sponsor it OK!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • Works on Oct 22, 2012 at 11:46 pm

too many cocktalk and drama in proton management. too many empty promises. proton survived because it’s one of government cash cow and political tool. as long it’s fate tied to government, there’s nothing more we can do with proton..

• Jayasena James on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:02 am

To Proton Management Team,
    Please Don’t try to cheat the Rakyat by double standard the car for overseas market & the poorer spec for our Rakyat.

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 1:11 pm

To Protong,
      Please follow Hyundai Kia sell cheaper price Full Specs to local Koreans…

Korea Boleh…Bolehland takkan tak boleh…

• Severe Tyre Damage on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:29 am

Am I the only one who is boycotting Proton? Like if you do too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
  • Dun like proton on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:44 am

Y can’t Malaysian can’t get high spec proton in their own country, Malaysia. Where else other country got better spec and same price??

“Rakyat Didahulukan”
    Rakyat pay for RnD price so can export for a cheaper price… Sad.

Malaysian dun mind to pay the current price “IF” the spec is better than those export proton. But now seem like opposite, v need to pay more for a junks and tats y I dun buy proton.

Another question , y proton in Malaysia is like milo can? N proton in australia like steel? V should have same spec or lower model as export not the opposite around. Weird. Senario

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:41 am

But Hyundai Kia sell full spec cheaper price to local Koreans buyers…weird scenario too…why Protong cannot do it here…????

• X proton on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:46 am

How Proton survive till now?

Thx to our 4th to Intoduce AP. all import car Price increase n also proton follow the price increase.

I m wondering how proton going to survive if AP removed?

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:39 am

Kilang bikin burger, Keropok Lekor, Jerok Mangga, Mee Jawa…good business lah brader…sure can survive lah…

Mee Jawa Chap Protong…takkan tak mau try dulu brader

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • along on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:55 am

When the buying stop… the killing can too…
    If we work together… we can win this…

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 10:52 am

Yes let’s buy, drive Porsche to support Protong…follow what Tun Advisor said lah

• magpie on Oct 23, 2012 at 1:15 am

“With that offering (in Malaysia) you can start at a higher price point, and that can help Proton have a better margin, rather than exporting and end up losing. In layman terms, it is cheaper for us to cost down than cost up.”

In a more layman terms, they need the profit from our market to cater for the export market.
    More layman terms, we are subsidizing the export market.
    So Preve owners, you know where your xtra airbag gone to.
    PS: I really hate these business language. What next? Cut cost?

• If proton sell bicycles, bright future.
    If proton sell cars, no future.

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 10:54 am

Wrong business Basikal mana ada untung lah brader

Bagus jual goreng pisang…Cucur Pisang Chap Protong…pasti laku untung banyak…mana ada hutang RM 1 Billion lagi…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Sabahman on Oct 23, 2012 at 2:20 am

Anyone can talk about big plans. Tell me how many cars Proton sold in Australia last month.

• Last month? In September Proton sold 70 cars in Australia. Skoda sold 407 cars, Mini 194, Dodge 185, Opel 174, Porsche 132,…
      http://www.caradvice.com.au/194539/new-car-sales-figures-september-2012/

So it should be possible to sell 200 to 240 cars there?

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 8:59 am

Very very low sales just like the past 10 years ago…

Very embarrassing lah dude…it’ll make your horse cry too

• Malaysian have to subsidies every car Australian buy. Please don’t sell so many.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Expatriate VN on Oct 23, 2012 at 9:11 am

For sure they can’t sell many since Aus nothing to do with National Car and local product sentiments!

• Truth on Oct 23, 2012 at 3:53 am

Do check out the prices n specification for models selling in Australia then only you know Malaysian has really been paying so much expensive to low spec car compare to Aussie even though car is manufactured here not there

• skiborne on Oct 23, 2012 at 4:29 am

if you cant make a car, dont make a car

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:18 am

Correct Correct Correct! Better bikin Keropok Lekor Chap Protong…sure laku untung banyak…hutang RM 1 Billion pun tarak lagi lah

• KK_99 on Oct 23, 2012 at 6:30 am

free 5 years service
    http://www.caradvice.com.au/196897/proton-launches-five-years-free-servicing-preve/

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 10:55 am

But no more 1 Million KM warranty like Waja???

Tarak confident lagi kah Protong?

• Every year talk about profitability,and declare loss every year.Then Gov pump money into the company,who’s money is that?All tax payers money.What is worse is that Proton sells us back cheap quality and expensive vehicle.But for Aussie can offer 5+5+5.Wtf they are taking us for a ride.Once solution for Proton,please read this well whoever important in DRB/Proton:SHUT THE F*&% DOWN.U R A BLOOD SUCKING LEECH PROTON

• We cant even know the number of Proton cars sold in the local market now, the new MYCC anti monoploy body think it is illegal to publish monthly sales figures, just incredible

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:29 am

Bet there are some goons still buying Savvy too…just incredible

• pak jabit on Oct 23, 2012 at 8:08 am

my CFE aircond dial ‘rosak’ yesterday…aircond can’t turn on…bought 4 month ago but aircond panel malfunction already…took more than 3 hours for technician to diagnose…don’t know how to face my 9 years more with this proton

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 9:17 am

Drive it to repair it? Drive it to believe it?

• pak jabit on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:54 am

repair to believe…5 years warranty will be nightmare for me as it means i had to visit SC numerously excluding service

sape x kena boleh la ckp byk…yg x bernasib baik mcm aku dpt la keta yg problem sigh~~~

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:48 pm

Takpe lepas nie beli Porsche…gerenti kualiti world class…beli Porsche itu tanda support Protong…hari tu kan Tun Advisor dah cakap dah…HE HE HE

• gen y on Nov 07, 2012 at 7:06 pm

Org lain pakai preve lg lama dari kau takde apa rosak pun. Kau putar dial aircond kau pakai tgn ke pkai kaki? Samdol…

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 8:35 am

“When we look at different markets, we have to design to the highest requirement, which results in extra specs that will in return benefit developing markets (like Malaysia).”

-Really? Protong UK models always better specs last 25 years at cheaper price but until now still the local buyers get less. How the benefits being transfered here?

“Because of stringent safety standards in Australia, it is difficult to sell a car there without ESC, for instance. “With that offering (in Malaysia) you can start at a higher price point, and that can help Proton have a better margin, rather than exporting and end up losing.”

-That’s very funny and shoot own feet lah. Most Protong’s export market don’t have strict safety rules yet Protong give full-specs there and at far cheaper price. Eg. UK, Pak Arab Protongs.

“In layman terms, it is cheaper for us to cost down than cost up…“If we cost up (for developed markets), the small volume will not justify the high expense.”

-Don’t give cheap crap excuses lah. Hyundai Kia proved it can be solved. Hyundai Kia also no less crappy 10-15 years ago but dare to jump into USA, Euro markets big volume as big joke Asian cars but from there improving, gain volume scale economics, hire Peter Schreyer world class designer and become what it is today now even knocking Audi, BMW doors right in their German backyard to compete.

Otherwise if still failure big loss again, Protong better stop car business and instead use the factory to produce Cucur Pisang.

Heard that Cucur Pisang Adabi don’t have serious competitor now so why not Cucur Pisang Chap Protong.

Cucur Pisang is good food business guaranteed profits, better than losing money hutang RM 1 Billion sinkhole.

Cucur Pisang Chap Protong…goreng pun sodap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • Ah Beng on Oct 23, 2012 at 8:48 am

Proton don’t have a choice but to try to go overseas to get the numbers. They make money in Malaysia cos of protection but overseas, it is the real competition. It is totally different ball game. They have to fight not only on pricing, branding, quality and reliability. It is a project for DRB Hicom to look long term over 10 years.

DRB try to short cut the R & D at Proton by having JVs with foreign companies, hoping they would help to develop and show the new technological improvements. The local engineers would be sitting around waiting for these new foreigners to show the way, but these foreigners are not stupid. They had been bitten in China before. Everything they do will be in house and they will do the Japanese way. They keep the supply and tech to themselves. They only sell the end product at a high price.

The cronies will once again use their connections to say that they have the right product with their “so called foreign partners” and offer to Proton. History repeats itself…..

• farghmee on Oct 23, 2012 at 1:29 pm

agree..

“we keep the core tech to ourselves.”

so buying other car helps the nation? think again.

• Ah Beng on Oct 23, 2012 at 8:17 pm

Develop the tech ourselves. DSZ did the right thing. Send the engineers to overseas to auto shows like Hannover and Frankfurt to learn and see. China is very famous in study tours in all these exhibitions.

• Aidan on Oct 23, 2012 at 8:49 am

You guys should just migrate since everything is better on the other side. I drive a Proton Saga SE and I am proud it! I can afford any other cars and I know for a fact that other car makers are out there. But the pride is priceless and I am supporting Proton because I want them to improve and do better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 32
    • Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 10:58 am

Ya Betol! Let’s support Protong with buy, drive Porsche! Follow Tun Advisor said lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • lincoln on Oct 25, 2012 at 12:14 am

tun is ex-prime minister, so what if he want to drive Porsche, he work hard for this country, he is using his own money to buy Porsche, if u don’t have money, don’t jealous with other people’s Porsche, maybe if u smart like him, u can buy one, and u will not jealous with tun, and for ur info, he has many proton cars in his garage….

• Keep your pride to yourself,most of us are fed up with Proton after 20 over years of spoon feeding

• You can afford any other cars. Then you dont represent the average rakyat. We have been choked dry for so 20+ years. Yes, the pride is indeed priceless… for you. You can afford and know about other cars out there, but you stuck to your choice. Good for you. But we don’t think it’s good for the next generation.

• Fredo on Oct 23, 2012 at 2:08 pm

nice advice! i think people should consider this option too…migrating.hahahahaa

• The Godfather on Oct 28, 2012 at 4:03 pm

Yes, migrate before I kill you and dump you in the lake, you want?

• Expatriate VN on Oct 23, 2012 at 9:09 am

“In layman terms, it is cheaper for us to cost down than cost up,” Mohd Khamil chips in. “If we cost up (for developed markets), the small volume will not justify the high expense.”

Finally the verdict come from the horse mouth is out there! The layman interpretations of Proton biz model are:

1) Local market – crony monopoly biz model – COST DOWN (i.e. crap low quality) but selling at higher price (i.e. crap NAP taxes) to make more monies for cronies.

No wonder local have to buy Jaguh Kampung No. 2 at high price, low quality but saddle with up to 9 year car loan!!!! So cronies line their Lambo, RR, Mers, Posche, Ferrari, BMW at their bungalow with 4 beautiful wives!

2) Overseas market – read open market biz model – COST UP (i.e. best quality ANCAP 5 star rating with 6 airbags) but selling at lower (i.e. read subsidize) price (i.e. non-tax market) to please foreign market (but they never response in that manner) or for syiok sendiri!

Sooooo take care of oversea market that they are pampers with the most safe ANCAP 5 Star rating and high quality car with the lowest price!!!! Good job by Jaguh Kampung No. 2 at oversea market!!!!

Any blind supporter(s) stick out your neck to disagree with the above!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:21 am

3) For poor car buyers to support Protong is to keep buying Perodua Toyota

4) For rich car buyers to support Protong is to keep buying Porsche…ikut cakap Tun Advisor lah

• Expatriate VN on Oct 23, 2012 at 9:13 am

Future plan, looking ahead, best solution is close shop!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:05 am

Jangan itu macam lah brader…

Kilang besar bagus bikin Cucur Pisang, Jerok Mangga, Keropok Lekor…

Keropok Lekor Chap Protong…memang sedap mintak lagi…

• Why you all hate PROTON????
    I love PROTON

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 27
    • Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:07 am

We all love Protong…!!!

To support Protong either buy Perodua, Toyota or Porsche…support jangan tak support nanti Tun Advisor merajuk lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • chan kam nam on Oct 23, 2012 at 9:39 am

Proton is the undisputed King in the Malaysian and International Automotive industry.

The King of making excuses.
    The King that loves to screw his own citizens and reward foreigners
    The King that is naked in the street but believes that he is wearing ‘New Clothes’ that only smart people can see.

Agree??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:10 am

Disagree…

Protong is the King of Protected Car Species…

Hidup Protong! Hidup Porsche!

Eh Porsche…??? Ya betol…to support Protong is to buy, drive Porsche…tak caya tengok itu Tun Advisor lah

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 9:46 am

“As for the ‘five-star’ package, we were told that should be emulated in Malaysia…It is in the plan, but we have to consider the logistics…but the numbers in Malaysia run into over 100,000…”

Wow it’ll be a good business for local tow-truck companies…kuat banyak mau tarik lah hantar balik Protong workshop…

• Proton proton… We gave u a chance for launching Preve to proof urself one more time. But it has also failed. Proton, good luck with ur jaguh kampung car. Malaysian are very very dissapointed with you. Drb hicom dunno shit about cars. N our govt gives us shitty cars but high quality to overseas. This is our Rakyat Didahulukan govt. n they are saying we are islamic state rather secular states. How funny…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Abdullah on Oct 23, 2012 at 10:15 am

Proton is a black hole created by Dr M. The rakyat has been throwing
    money into it since it started.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:00 am

For Tun Advisor, to support Protong is to drive Porsche…

For rakyat biasa, to support Protong is to buy Perodua, Toyota saja…

• Countryman on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:52 am

Oi Pumpkin, you’re so full of sheit… So much hatred in you towards Proton, Government & Malaysia. Wonder why you’re still living in this country. As you said “kalau hendak seribu dalih…..” so please put an effort and get lost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • skiborne on Oct 24, 2012 at 7:44 pm

its not wrong to establish proton because most developed countries had theirs. just that, do it right and be serious about it.

• mister potato on Oct 23, 2012 at 10:18 am

You know, the computer needs to be rebooted. There’s a box next to the one that they need us to tick in order for them to keep enjoying their mercedes and ferraris, while selling us substandard low-spec cars. The computer actually needs to be reformatted.

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:28 am

You know Tun Advisor keep telling us to support Protong is to drive Porsche…that old PC is hanged too…

• Eddie on Oct 23, 2012 at 10:33 am

Preve cost $18,900 here? lol

Ill try my best to spot one here XD

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:03 am

Yo Eddie, please spot the same Protong slogan used or not “Drive it to believe it”…

Last time it was “Asia’s Answer to BMW 3-Series”…then suddenly changed to “Running With The Tiger”…

Jom Jogging Bersama Harimau…eh betol kah ini translate..???

• Expatriate VN on Oct 23, 2012 at 10:48 am

Gov are good at squeeze rakyat by imposing crappy NAP taxes to benefits cronies, but dare not to do the same to P1 just like Aus gov imposed ANCAP 5 Star rating for safety! What a hypocrite!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:25 am

How do you spell hypocrite in BM? That’s right it’s still spelled as ‘Hipokrit’!

Just like Tun Advisor lah…To support Protong is to drive Porsche!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Felix Chong on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:37 am

Proton never care about Malaysian driver safety, how come the nation car selling more expensive & less safety function in Malaysia? Why Malaysian can’t have 4 airbag with the same price selling at Australia? Truly disappointment with the government policy!

• Countryman on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:47 pm

No, you’re wrong. Most/some Malaysian’s do not care about their own safety. One must first improve his/her driving attitude before demanding so much from the manufacturer. No point of having 10 airbags or even a moving airbag if people are driving very recklessly. Clearly proven on Malaysian roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • Fact or Fiction on Oct 23, 2012 at 4:29 pm

Spot on country man, but I must say that it is also car manufacturers responsibility to ensure that the car manufactured is safe to the users.

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:51 pm

How come Hyundai Kia can sell price cheaper with Full Specs to local Koreans… Truly disappointed that Protong cannot do it here…

• Fredo on Oct 23, 2012 at 2:13 pm

Perodua is worst in that sense…read newpapers n u should know many got killed in kancil/viva…..they should not create those cars in the first place…its a murder machine

• BanyakMasyukWang on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:00 pm

He says “we think…” instead of “we find out…”. Oh ok, hope that his thought is better than all our thoughts here.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:31 pm

“In layman terms, it is cheaper for us to cost down than cost up,” Mohd Khamil chips in.

I don’t know about you guys, but isn’t that stating the very, very obvious? If you cost down a car, you remove features and reduce specs, so of course the overall cost goes down. DUH!

• MoFaz on Oct 23, 2012 at 2:50 pm

no, what he meant is, Preve was designed to be fully equipped first, then reduce parts and specs for cheaper variants. if you design the lower spec first, you will need to amend the design or engine bay arrangement to fit the additional parts. hence, it’s easier to reduce parts rather than adding parts.

• chan kam nam on Oct 23, 2012 at 5:02 pm

Good explanation. That’s why some cars with DRL are better designed than others.

Some only put in the DRL after the whole headlamp has been designed, hence looks so odd.

• Pumpkins on Oct 24, 2012 at 9:24 am

Or easier to pretend jadi Mat Salleh design first then slowly become Mat Boleh….

Or harder to begin as Mat Boleh to become Mat Salleh later…

Cakap saja duit tarak sudah pokai nanti lah pinjam sama Pakcik EPF RM 1 Billion…Jangan banyak songeh

• fadlee on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:33 pm

stupidest CEO ever.. i think the previous proton CEO was 10x smarter than this stupid old hag.. can he even think before saying something insignificant?

• kerelbort on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:33 pm

after working with DRB hicom grp of companies. i believe they could cut cost down very fast but getting a quality service after the cost cutting, i believe they suxs at it.

good luck proton, u just too late… the hype from the preve has subsided from the net too long ago.. you should just launch it earlier this year and launch the hatchback by now… next year should be the green REV car…

the wheel has been developed.. and yet again, Drb hicom manage to try to reinvent the wheel but soon when it is too late, they will realized, the wheel would only be the same shape.. no matter how many CONsultant they bring in…

good luck with your lawsuits too… 100k+ people life depending on you

• Prevebus A390 on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:53 pm

Proton should close shop in producing cars and instead start producing airplanes….camproo jet engines & the new prevebus A390 airplanes and best part they can include air bags for all overseas planes and sell local planes with only 2 air bags for the captain and co-caption …… that would be fun to see ….might add another 10 billion sink hole into the government pocket but who cares rite !!!!
    Proton Prevebus A390 or Proting 797 with campro jet engine coming soon …. Watch out Boeing and Airbus !!

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 1:54 pm

I agree. At least Protong Airplane don’t have power window problem…all windows are fixed cannot wind down…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Toyota the ‘best quality’ brand also did recalls, defect was more dangerous than power window problem. Recently got power window recall afer many may years on roads. Shame.

• Henry on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:59 pm

I have a National refridgerator ~ “National” by Panasonic.

• leong on Oct 23, 2012 at 2:10 pm

Yeah,Proton please migrate to Australia,since you treat them better than malaysian people who via their Kerajaan rakyat malaysia provided you with hundred of million of grant,let us save on subsidy so the Kerajaan can lower the tax on car!Please ask the Aussie to pay you money to develop car…Kacang lupa kulit punye company!

• Bukan Melayu aaaa on Oct 23, 2012 at 2:22 pm

Proton can go to hell.

• I just read the news at Berita Harian today, Proton(DRB) plans to buy over PETRONAS E01 engine including the blueprints and copyright of the engine. Wowww……finally dreams come true??….if the news totally true, thats a good move for DRB. More in the news, they plan to installed the engine for next Preve hatchback and future models. Lets see……

• MoFaz on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:47 pm

that’s super old engine already… roughly the same age if not older than campro. now proton already has CFE which could easily match 2.0 power output… i wonder, for what? to reduce dependency on foreign turbo parts?…

“Proton Holdings Bhd akan menggunakan enjin E01 yang dimajukan PETRONAS untuk model baru serta model gantian keluarannya bermula tahun depan. Sumber industri berkata, anak syarikat milik penuh DRB-Hicom Bhd itu kini sedang berunding dengan PETRONAS bagi pembelian enjin berkenaan berserta dengan hak inteleknya. Katanya, sebagai permulaan, Proton Holdings bercadang menggunakan enjin PETRONAS E01 yang memiliki teknologi dan kemampuan setara dengan enjin kereta terbaik dunia lain itu pada model Preve hatchback, Exora Facelift, model gantian Perdana serta model baru yang bakal diperkenalkan secara berperingkat.”

• yeah, its really old skool tech…but i dont think DRB will just plug n play the E01. CFE was a good engine, compare with CamTakpro. At least we know proton has 3 engine lineup, cfe,camtakpro and e01. if drb intend to use the e01, some modifications need to be done on it. at least they acquire the engine’s blueprints. thats the important thing. so, its up to drb now whether to uprated or derated the engine power to suits current engine trends. for me, its not a wise move to digging more on Camtakpro. how long the the engine has been entered the market? still they take ages to fixed it and still not meet the expectations. keen to see what drb next plan on the E01….

• faisal on Oct 23, 2012 at 4:03 pm

Keluar je bab proton meriah comment kat sini.Komen biarlah berlapik dan berpandukan fakta.Jaga sensitiviti semua orang. Jangan main ikut nafsu je. nanti siapa yang susah. Kita jugak.(fikirlah sendiri)

• Pumpkins on Oct 24, 2012 at 9:15 am

Ya betol…jaga sensitiviti dompet rakyat yang kena rompak lebih 25 tahun beli kereta haprak harga cekik…

Siapa yang untung rugi….Siapa yang suruh beli Protong tapi sendiri cilok Porsche…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • faisal on Oct 25, 2012 at 10:36 am

zaman sekarang beli kereta mana boleh buat untung. Zmn 90an boleh la. Beli kereta jual balik mahal. Kereta zmn dah jadi liabiliti. Model semakin banyak pasaran semakin tepu. Kalau kereta Proton teruk. Beli model lain. Apa susah. Proton sesuai untuk org baru nak pakai kereta or baru nak hidup.Zaman sekarang mada ada kereta yang tahan lasak macam Nissan sunny, Proton orient, Datsun buah kana atau toyota KE20 yang boleh pakai smpi 30 thn. Kalau ada tlg beritahu modelnya.

• kalau kau ada duit kau pun beli gak,
        kalau takde duit langsung tu yang jadi meroyan macam ni, ambik upah taip komen bangang kah kah kah

• hafiz on Oct 23, 2012 at 4:03 pm

Orang malaysia beli barangan buatan malaysia dengan harga tinggi supaya orang bukan malaysia boleh beli dengan harga rendah…

Rakyat didahulukan….. ;(

• I can not believe so much hate towards proton here not even one positive writing. what is the matter with you all? ahve you all been driving protons and got into trouble? the problem in proton is the mismanagement and know who rather than know how. if they hire a professional CEO from overseas who is specilized in cars then the things will move but with cronies and current “Con”sultants around who can influence the management he will also get into trouble. if proton wants to do well, they need to stop politics and must get rid of the nosey consultants and start hiring professionals for styling, R&D and management and let them do their job professionaly without forcing them to do what the top guys want. all companies do this, look at Kia, after new designer got in, it flew up so fats because it looks great now. hope they do this.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 23, 2012 at 5:19 pm

Mr. Pumpkins, you really “Pump” up PT Blog with endless comments. I like most if not all of your comments – hit directly to bull-eye!

• rogue on Oct 26, 2012 at 10:52 pm

Unfortunately the comments are mostly rubbish. No proof, full of empty excuses, childish and list goes on, endlessly. Please give constructive comments with facts and figures, don’t just talk nonsense. Even standard one student can do better than that.

• Ezrey on Oct 23, 2012 at 5:29 pm

Proton is a Malay company, means umno company…..if u buy proton means u support lazy Malay company….better buy Honda and toyota…better and reliable…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29
  • bangang negri on Oct 23, 2012 at 5:46 pm

what those guy in proton can do,only can talk big enough as if this brand can go globaly. They only think of their own pocket from proton sales in this country for their family living.No money can be subsidiez by government same as what had happen to our loved big company RENONG gone within their good ideas.

• Lincoln on Oct 23, 2012 at 6:00 pm

I’m proud as a Malaysian when I saw gen-2 at London……even their police using our waja and persona….u can find it on the Internet….why we as Malaysian so negative about it…….thousands of job being created…..we learn how to make a car with proton,,,,,I know certain Malaysian only concern about money…money and money….everyday talking about money…in their heart full of hatred……read blogs and posts on facebook that spread hatred about proton…everyday they wasting time talking hatred, complaining…..but don’t use that time to improve their life…I know a lot of this kind of people…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 24
    • Chow1 on Oct 23, 2012 at 10:37 pm

Then go read how uk car reviewer says about proton and see how proud you feel.

• RedBeanBun on Oct 24, 2012 at 12:16 am

millions of rakyat for that thousands of jobs? if not cronies, all car buyers pay 1K to the thousand workers and they are rich man, and we still pay only 1K above original market price instead of 3000000% now..

• lincoln on Oct 24, 2012 at 11:16 am

how can i company provide jobs to millions of rakyat, be realistic man…

• stay in school and learn something!
          and learn english, coz if you don’t you will end up working at proton!

• Pumpkins on Oct 24, 2012 at 9:07 am

Proton in UK best remembered in:

1) Mr Bean scene the Proton Iswara ekzoz kena sumbat pisang

2) All those Top Gear jokes

It’s all in Youtube. To laugh or to cry your choice lah dude

• Also best remembered in UK eco car challenge, won some medals.

Those tv series are just for laugh, very suitable for you.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 24, 2012 at 9:18 am

Why related “I’m proud as Malaysian …… when you saw jaguh kampung at London”!!!!!!

So by same extension, if you saw Jaguh Kampung Advisor drive Porsche Cayenne at Tg Malim, or the same cronies line their bungalow garage with Mers, BMW, RR, Ferrari, Lambo, etc, are you curse him until the cow come home ……..

Also, by the same extension, are you insinuated that all Malaysian have to be proud of owning crappy quality Jaguh Kampung No. 2 car with high price come with perhaps up to 9 year car loans?????????

• lincoln on Oct 24, 2012 at 10:22 am

i bet until u die u will not drive porsche, ferrari, lambo, bmw…..because in ur heart full of hatred, u are using ur time to fulfill ur hatred, u dont have time to improve your life, u like to blame others when u are a loser…people with this mentality will not go further in life…trust me..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
        • self deluded people like you who are willingly led by the nose by the porsche driving tun are just serfs and certainly will not amount to much either.
          what are you going to bet when all you have are the delusions that tun gave you.

• nissales on Oct 26, 2012 at 10:49 pm

I’m rich and driving a lambo, anything wrong with that?

• DArkerMarker on Oct 23, 2012 at 9:11 pm

proton can stop making real cars….please….

proton can make toy cars, like hotwheels. gareentee no power window problem anymore…

• Pumpkins on Oct 24, 2012 at 9:11 am

Protong hotwheels toy cars? Sure tidak laku lah…any kids play with it will become lazy, retarded and cacat cannot walk properly need tongkat…

• sushi and kimchi also give tongkat to their auto industries, the difference they are far bigger in economies of scale

• mivec101 on Oct 23, 2012 at 9:29 pm

same old bulls**t from Proton, always give more safety features to overseas markets than local home market. PROTON is the only car company in the world that do that!!! They always give a stupid excuse that the Malaysian safety regulation is not as high as overseas market, therefore 6 airbags and ESP are not made standard. If given a choice, would the Malaysian proton buyers prefer to buy a strip down version of preve / exora; or the overseas versions that are installed with full safety features??????

• potong on Oct 23, 2012 at 10:39 pm

v dun care if izzit the regulation or what make protong 7 airbag in australia n 2 airbag in mys.
    what we care is the price,
    same price or different slightly
    aussie proton = 7 airbag abs ebd esc bla bla
    mys protong = 2 airbag….

shame….

• danny on Oct 26, 2012 at 10:44 pm

learn the power of currency exchange and you understand you just cannot convert dollar to dollar and you also justify it exactly after conversion

• Haha I like the statement “different market have different selling point”. Proton has to offer “high spec” because that is the minimum spec that proton has to comply in order to penetrated Australian market and to be competitive proton has to offer lower price and as usual Malaysian buyers subsidized the overseas buyers. Proton, you make money at the expense of rakyat (we pay more for less spec). SO NOW, WE RAKYAT, HAVE TO SHOW OUR POWER, STOP BUYING PROTON CAR.. LET DO IT TOGETHER FOR FIVE YEARS.. then proton will beg on us.. at that time we just give 2 option to proton.. (a)reduce price with the current spec.. or.. (b)Increase spec with the current price.. WE HAVE TO TEACH PROTON the meaning of THE VOICE OF THE CUSTOMERS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • MoFaz on Oct 24, 2012 at 10:47 am

you should SHOW YOUR POWER and stop buying Toyota and Honda too. Camry is 6 airbags standard in Australia but here only 4 maximum for 2.5 and they only give 2 airbags for 2.0. and guess what, price of Camry is also cheaper in Australia compared to Malaysia too!.. so, do you say Malaysians has been subsidizing Toyota to sell their cars cheaper in other market than Malaysia?
      get your facts right or otherwise you’ll sounds like a stupid basher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • Tok Janggut on Nov 06, 2012 at 10:33 am

Finally, somebody that make sense. Well done AJ

• do the new tauke…… DRB know how to do business??
    come on proton, find someone that can deal in business, dont just talk empty………..grrrrrrr

• Proton just lack PASSION!

• skiborne on Oct 24, 2012 at 7:37 pm

actually its not wrong to establish proton, because everyone else is doing it. just do it right and be serious about it.

• I Love VN on Oct 27, 2012 at 8:54 am

With NAFTA still in place, we will not be able to enjoy better cars at competitive prices.

• Kevin on Oct 27, 2012 at 5:38 pm

I’d really love to support our own local car, national car, whatever you call it, Proton. But after reading and knowing that this company is offering a 5 star package to outsiders but not for own people, I think it is just fair that I will not purchase a Proton car until we are at least offered the same package treatment outsiders are getting.

What a total nonsense come to think of it. In fact, it should be the other way around, the locals should get 5 stars package and then foreigners either get 5 stars or less…

hmmmmmppppppphhhhhhhh…. disappointed with Proton…. :(

• Absolute Rider on Oct 27, 2012 at 7:32 pm

Proton, please use the head lamp of Tuah Concept as Preve Hatchback (P3-22A).

• makeitmine on Oct 27, 2012 at 8:01 pm

Malaysians must first wake up to the idea that there is no such thing as cheap and good quality cars.

From experience, any cheap car is the laughing stock of TOp Gear!

Even Korean cars are not that cheap to maintain in the long run. In Japan, cars are kept for 5 years average because the wear and tear.

Proton must build into a sales program that give customers 5 years of maintenance free headaches and warranty in order to be in the automotive market. Else just close shop and do something else like R&D and design/manufacture of automotive parts for OEMs.

• Please to be remember that toyota or Honda are all jap car makes. They are not belong to our malaysia. As long as you want to buy their car with their limited safety features it is up to you to decide. Back to protong which claim be be our national car, if they just follow what what the jap or given or given us the minimum spec, no point declare as national car. Want us to support the damn protong but giving us low spec and supplier other country with high spec… WTF mean of national car. Better protong not exist in malaysia is more better. With protong all car price went high as to maintain the existing of this stupid and ego company. I really getting sick and fed up each time protong saying selling the car to other country with better spec and lower price than malaysia. It really feel like an idiot to be treated like this in our home country by this bastard company.

• cland on Oct 28, 2012 at 11:51 pm

at least proton does its best, better 4 airbags is better than 2 or 0, no?

• For other jap car which we claim they overprice and low spec given, but for me I rather take them even low spec than the junk protong as I know they are not our national car and main point is to make profit out of our Malaysian. My last car for protong is iswara 1.3 dated 1998. This is totally suck as all the body already rusted from the inside especially the roof. How come this poor quality thing happen and the protong it self know it but never been any recall to rectified this problem but promote this problem happen for few years more. Toyota had recall for the faulty power window recently but for me it is a good job done by them as they admit their fault and willing to repair back the faulty part but how ahoy protong….any action taken apart for the power window which happen for almost a long time until now said lifetime warranty ( with term and condition). Protong cannot be classified as notional but cab be said as vampire sucking our blood for purchase a relatively low quality car with our own hard money.

• cland on Oct 28, 2012 at 11:56 pm

datsun also rolled back when climbed hill
      toyota did recall after many many years already, why not since year 1? or if they are very good why the massive recall happened?

• parkwijaya on Dec 02, 2012 at 2:02 pm

there are responsible unlike Proton…PRoton is potong our money

• Expatriate VN on Oct 28, 2012 at 5:39 pm

My wishful think are:
    For jaguh kampung future – local and abroad! Final verdict are:

If this jaguh kampung sold to me at RM 1.00. First thing and same thing to do is in JV with VW, introduce Polo Saga, Jetta Preve, Passat Perdana, Golf Satria, etc. Just do it the best like Inspira! Tell the gov no longer need NAP, and stop R&D grant which help them to reflect their P&L in black!

For Lotus, ha, ha, if sold to me at GBP 1.00, then sell it to any one interested at 10 Penny, closed case!

Let all the die-hard blind supporters, apart form enjoy Lotus handling, also enjoy VW good quality car at lowest price!!!! Let them experience the reality of the world automotive landscape! Quality car at affordable price – no more stupendous crap-tiotic, national car or local products!!!!

• Phil K on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:16 am

I am from the UK and drive an Impian(waja). I am slightly confused as to why there are so many negative comments about Proton? Are your cars inferior to ours? I have had my share of other cars – Kias and even Hondas and none offer the same value as Proton. Also they are so reliable, mine has covered nearly 100,000 miles(160,000km) without a single issue other than routine servicing. My sister has a Savvy and again no issues. I can’t wait for the new models to come here! At least you have a mainstream National car-maker because we don’t in the UK and have to pay silly money for cars which are inferior to Protons.

• Bello on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:50 am

The spec in Malaysia is difference from UK spec. For example, local model don’t even come with standard air bag and proton claimed that it is still unsafe even having an air bag. Perhaps local car are equipped with lower class materials.

• watchman on Nov 02, 2012 at 6:57 pm

why do you comment without bother to read all the previous comments ? if you have read them and you read the story itself carefully, you would have deduced yourself that PROTON are deliberately selling stripped-down version of their cars to Msians in order to sustain its existence and its pricing strategy overseas. they could not make cars good and cheap enough to compete against other models and have to resort to squeezing profits from Msians to subsidise its operation overseas. Proton cars in Malaysia have routine quality issues, some of them materialising such as faulty power windows, within one month of purchase.

• parkwijaya on Dec 02, 2012 at 1:58 pm

Mr Phil K, the company did very good to assemble for the UK market. If you have the time please come to Malaysia for a look, your jaws will go apart if you see the car assembled for the local market. Although we should be proud of our National car but the company doesn’t appreciate the local market much….its just like buying a reinforced aluminium can…sad…

• As far as concern , to become our national car the priority is given to our homeland and not foreign country as to gain fame but being on here always been bashing by the local people around. It is malaysia shall be proud of owning the protong? Or foreign country fame is more important even though the sales volume sucks. It like digging our homeland money to support losses in foreign country.

• Norman on Nov 05, 2012 at 1:16 pm

Neverending stories,I salute the Koreans support their products,Chinese support theirs although its suck big time…We?Sigh why dun we’ll put pressure to Govt to bring down the Proton price instead instead of ranting here?

• Sam Loo on Nov 09, 2012 at 7:07 am

I would get a Proton over a Kimchi, thats a no brainer

• Sam Loo on Nov 10, 2012 at 1:05 pm

Was in Sydney for the past 2 weeks.

Saw only 2 Protons, a Satria and a Wira Aeroback. Both the car owners have removed the Proton Signages from the cars. The dead givaway was the mudflaps

China Made Cherry, Geely & Great Wall selling for less than the cheapest Protons. How to compete?

• Hazrin on Nov 13, 2012 at 10:05 am

Kenapa korea boleh jual national car dia murah?
    Sebab rakyat dia ramai…rakyat Seoul pun dah nak sama mcm satu Malaya.

Kenapa national car kita tak boleh jual murah?
    Rakyat kita berapa orang saja, Malaysia ni kecik saja.

Adakah rakyat Malaysia sudah jadi mangsa business Proton?
    Siapakah yang patut dipersalahkan?
    Adakah comment2 di Paul Tan di ambil peduli selama ini?
    Jika tiada siapa yang ambil peduli, apa yang patut kita lakukan?
    Jawapannya saya rasa ada pada keputusan PRU13 nanti….

• Norman on Aug 03, 2013 at 3:45 am

Sebab apa Korea Dan Jepun boleh patriotik?Sebab 99.9% sama bangsa manakala Malaysia rakyat berbilang kaum,Lain fikiran Dan ajaran,Simple!Cuba kalau Malaysia ini 90% Melayu then cerita dah jadi lain.Tu China Ada 2.1 billion org apsal setengah rakyat dia beli Mercedes Benz-Daxing?Sebab local assemble Ada badge China.Yg elite tak mu ckp dorang langsung tak pandang.Chery tu tak bagus mana tapi Kat Latin America laku cam goreng pisang Sebab?Harga.Sebuah SUV 2.0 dah sama Harga cam 1.5 kete Jepun..Tapi Pakai dia punya rosak Dan ketahanan dorang sahaja Tahu.Nak complain apa?Brg dah murah Dan cantik tapi safety tadak Dan brg2 cepat rosak Dari Proton.

• Reality on Nov 14, 2012 at 9:06 am

DRB make lots of noises and no auto vision, not showing the truth about Proton position (in ranks) in global market. If you a really sincere about achieving a global market set your a target to reach for that global position (eg. top 5 position a global market in 2020). If you don’t reach this target consider yourself you have fail and do yourself a honourable depature (do not exercise japanese ‘Seppuku’ with a kris knife) just close Proton chapter (I’ know you are thinking of going back to square one, sell it back to whoever. DONT! we had enough of 25years of moron people around). You doing the nation a great favor, and aleast you know that what it takes (finacially,management,marketing,global politics,corruptions.climate,.etc) to be in their shoes of top 5 global automakers. TQ

• Proton’s going to launch a new satria neo this month? Is it true?

• Tau ceti on Nov 18, 2012 at 11:12 pm

DRB-HICOM choose models of vw to market in malaysia also fail, what more aWant to run the entire proton and lotus group!!!

• Abrahman on Nov 24, 2012 at 12:50 pm

THE NATIONAL CAR TAG SHOULD BE DROPPED. PROTON IS NOW OWNED BY AN ARAB.FOR THIRTY YEARS MALAYSIAN MOTORISTS HAVE BEEN BURDEN TO SHOULDER THIS DEAD HORSE .AFTER 30 YEARS IT HAS FAILED TO COMPETE AND SUCCEED EVEN IN THE THIRD WORLD MARKET.IT IS UNLIKELY TO SUCCEED IN THE FUTURE.THIS IS A PRODUCT OF MAHATHIR’S EGO AND STUPIDITY. THE BEST THING IS TO CLOSE SHOP.

• parkwijaya on Dec 02, 2012 at 1:46 pm

proton and the government are bullying the people…low standard breakable car sold to us while good quality cars with affordable price being given to the Australian or oversea market….come on…stop protecting Proton…always being babysit then when can Proton grow up like Hyundai???????

• parkwijaya on Dec 02, 2012 at 1:50 pm

Whats good about the R3? beside the engine capacity what about the interior and exterior design…fooling the ppl again? Chinese idiom say..the soup taste different but the remedies are the same….come on la…i thought something new…go any car bengkel oso can do it my self!!!!!

• Young Padawan on Jan 15, 2013 at 11:00 am

Everyone hates proton….dont hate the company…hate the people responsible for policies…god..you people like blaming nyamuk, kelambu dibakar.

• Adrian on Feb 11, 2013 at 4:03 pm

Dear Paul,

Much appreciate your car reviews and your excellent humor!
    Particularly enjoyed your Polo 1.2 TSI review. (the “14k per litre requiring the dexterity of an eye surgeon” or something similar !

Regards,
    Adrian Kessler

• Kieron Chow on Mar 20, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Proton started the same as Hyundai .. just look at Hyundai cars compared to those from Proton.. Kia is younger than Proton just look at their cars with Proton… Cherry is the latest kid on the block just compare their SUV with Exora… what do you see.. sorry Proton can’t compete with them.. too complacent with government backing and protection for too long… So going to Australia is to finance richer Australians as the Protons will be sold at rock bottom prices by us the poorer Malaysians…

• At first i have to say that i am proud of Malaysian people who make a dream real.You created a global car brand in 30 years…it is not easy,really.In my country(Turkey) we don’t have any domestic car brand,we manufacture some models of Fiat,Renault,Ford,Honda,hyundai,Toyota..etc but as you know none of them belongs to us..As i told we don’t have any domestic brand and most of us want to see a turkish car,but according to me it is really hard to create a new brand,it is not enough to produce for only domestic market,İf you produce a car you have to sell it all around the world..and it needs a global marketing and service network..etc..and our automotive market is not small (700k-800k cars in a year) also and it is captured by the european,japan and korean brands..The important question is coming: WHERE IS THE PROTON IN TURKISH MARKET? Only 587 proton cars was sold in 2011 and 700 cars in 2012..it is really comic.Most of us don’t know anything about proton brand in Turkey , there is not any advertisement on tv,on radio or at newspapers…etc..your distributor is so lazy,be sure.. You have to change your distributor to a hardworking,dynamic one instead of lazy one..your cars are good and easily can be sold in Turkey and be sure my people prefers an Islamic country’s pruducts just need ADVERTİSEMENT …

• Norman on Aug 03, 2013 at 3:34 am

Seriously since their partnership with Honda why not buy their pre 2008-2011 engines suchs as the I-vtec 1.3 that power the jazz and can be fitted into new Saga,The 1.5 that power the city and can be use for Saga FLX ,The 1.6 that power up the Civic and can be use for Preve base/Neo/Persona?Exora can use the 1.8 that power the Stream.2.0/2.4 that power the accord can be use for new Perdana and new SUV?

• taco catering on Feb 15, 2015 at 10:00 pm

You are so interesting! I do not believe I’ve truly read through something like this before. So great to find someone with some unique thoughts on this subject matter. Seriously.. thanks for starting this up. This site is one thing that is needed on the internet, someone with a little originality!