Mitsubishi Mirage now in showrooms nationwide

It was opened for booking on October 1, now the new Mitsubishi Mirage is available for viewing at all Mitsubishi showrooms nationwide. The compact car will be officially launched on November 19.

The Mirage will available in three variants – base 1.2 manual, 1.2 CVT, high spec 1.2 CVT GS – and estimated prices start from RM56,000 to RM64,000 on-the-road without insurance. The 1.2L engine is a three-cylinder MIVEC unit with 78 PS and 100 Nm. It majors on fuel economy, with the lightweight 850 kg Mirage achieving a claimed 21 km/l based on the New European Driving Cycle (NEDC).

“The Mirage is equipped with creature comforts and features that are not common even in cars from the class above. Bright View instrument cluster, Smart Key with Push Start button, digital automatic air con, a leather wrapped steering wheel and a 2-DIN audio system with USB and AUX jack are features that set it apart,” said Tetsuya Oda, CEO of MMM.

“It is imported from Thailand, which is the global manufacturing hub for this model. Exports to Japan and ASEAN have commenced, and the Thai-built Mirage will also be heading to Australia and Europe, among other markets. Mitsubishi Motors Corporation (MMC) Japan, assured customers that the Mirage will remain solely as a Mitsubishi-badged vehicle in the Malaysian market,” he added.

We take the last line to mean that there will be no Proton version of the Mirage, as in the case of the Inspira/Lancer. Our first impressions of the Mirage can be read here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jackson on Oct 22, 2012 at 4:17 pm

Nice write up! Guess there will be no rebadged Mirage as a Savvy replacement? haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • cunarra on Oct 22, 2012 at 4:27 pm

1.2 CVT / CVT GS with range RM56K ~ RM64K..
    hmmm having second thought…

• yaHAha on Oct 23, 2012 at 7:48 pm

56k-64k.. i can hv 2 option, either myvi or bigger alza. LOL. But mirage wif mivec engine sound cool.

• seancorr on Oct 22, 2012 at 4:46 pm

While it might have some features which are a welcome addition to the car, some basic features like steering audio controls and electronic mirrors are missing and with the price we’re paying, Mitsubishi Malaysia should have added it into the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • 65k for an Imported CBU, u got ABS, CVT, Electric-power steering, Keyless operations, Push start button, auto aircond, I-Pod interface, MIVEC engine with Timing chain! And u question why no Steering audio controls n wing mirrors???? Hmmmmmmmm

• vee-oh on Oct 22, 2012 at 5:16 pm

so many Myvi on the road this car looks refreshing..both not good looking though

• b sensible on Oct 22, 2012 at 5:20 pm

ha…ha…ha…it will give myvi a run for its money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Daniel on Oct 22, 2012 at 5:22 pm

Kid getting a 1st car: Dad/Mum go have a look at the new Mitsubishi Mirage!

Typical Parents/Uncles/Aunties: Aiya, Mitsubishi no second hand value.. Myvi better and higher second hand value.. Toyota engine u know!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
    • David D on Oct 22, 2012 at 8:07 pm

Spot on. It’s no Polo, but, hey, this car is geared for really good fuel efficiency. Oh, and for sure, it would definitely hammer the Myvi in terms of build quality, drive, as well as comfort.

Drawbacks? Well, it’s rather plain, staid looking, and just a lil’ bit more of safety kit, like ESP, could be added on to make the car even safer. Oh, and the usual crowing of resale value of the Myvi being better.

Overall, it’s a car that’s welcome to eat a share of the pie dominated by the Myvi, and could potentially eat a share of Myvi 1.5 sales, which, let’s be honest, is more flash than go.

• ramun on Oct 22, 2012 at 6:00 pm

I have 2 thoughts: From what Danny’s writing I am welcome the features e.g. push start button, aux jack, stereo unit, DIGITAL AIRCOND! that is very useful
    Looking at the pricing… it looks ok but this segment flooded with too many models. The pricing will kill this car.

Lastly I missed previous version mirage (Satria). Such an awesome car back in 90’s

• Hameed Koyakuti on Oct 22, 2012 at 7:38 pm

Mini ASX…..had viewed and test drove this car. Not worth it to buy since it is a pussy’s car. No longer the mirage msian used to adore in the 90s. Save money and buy a CRZ instead.

However, with that price, it will bring some refreshing look rather than tired ol MYVI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
  • Rm60k for a 1.2 liter car.all becoz of the gomen ridiculous tax and to protect P1P2..wonder who will buy this car

• Avinesh on Oct 23, 2012 at 12:32 am

I have seen and been inside the Mirage when is was on display at Midvalley and honestly, the upholstery and interior is much better than the Myvi. Everything feels more solid. Sadly due to the taxes the top end model is pretty pricey for a 1.2 straight 3 engine :/
    Nevertheless I’m looking forward to seeing something else other than the Myvi on the road.

• Josh Ling on Oct 23, 2012 at 1:11 am

will wait til the real car comes, then judge. but from the first impression based on the catalogue and photos online, it doesn’t seem impressive enough.

• Pumpkins on Oct 23, 2012 at 1:48 pm

Look how Thailand govt promote their auto sector:

1. Thailand First-Car Buyer Scheme:
    – Tax rebates of up to 100,000 Baht (RM10K) to first-time car buyers from September 16 to December 31, 2012
    – Thai Excise Department will begin issuing the rebates of up to 100,000 Baht for each first-car owner after car owner has owned the car for one year
    – The tax rebate will be a one-off payment made in a lump sum by cheque from the department
    – Eligible vehicles are cars below 1500cc and pickup trucks unlimited engine capacity below 1 million Baht price (below RM100K)
    – The vehicles must be locally assembled – excluding those that are assembled from used imported parts
    – Minimum age for buyers is 21
    – To prevent profiteering, the vehicle has to remain in the possession of the first buyer for 5 years
    – The tax rebate is expected to cost Thai government about 150 billion Baht (RM15 Billion), assuming that 500,000 Thais will buy first cars
    – It will also benefit Thai rubber farmers, since at least 2.5 million tires will be needed for estimated 500,000 cars sold

2. Thailand Eco Car Policy:
    – Follow-up from policy of “Detroit of Asia” in 2002 giving incentives to OEMs, especially Japanese OEMs such as Toyota, to relocate production of pickups to Japan
    – Eco cars defined as need to pass stringent environmental and fuel economy regulations such as running fuel on 20km/L
    – Eco car applicable on A-B segment of engine displacement less than 1,400 cc for diesel and 1,300 cc for gasoline
    – Eco cars can enjoy special incentives by reducing the excise tax from 30% to 17%
    – Mitsubishi Mirage is one such example of cars produced under Eco Car rules

Here? Habok pun tarak.

MITI hantam expensive price for fuel-efficient cars while shouting around promoting Eco Green car crap…sick joke lah

MMC better pray hard as they underestimate how desperate Protong wanna rebadge Mirage soon lah…wanna bet?

• Cool info, thanks Pumpkins! Be rest assured that it’ll be NO REBADGE from Proton for this baby…

• garuKlentiks... on Oct 23, 2012 at 6:32 pm

i’m intend to buy this model but better hold for that because in 1 or 2 years to come sure the special edition will launch….
    and to proton…please..please dont rebadge this model …and if u do..i’m not interested AT ALL…..NOT exclusive anymore…..!!

• Manuel on Oct 23, 2012 at 7:11 pm

Mitsubishi have sold out its customers before, hence the need to issue a “NO REBADGE” assurance. Pathetic.

• Pontiac on Oct 23, 2012 at 9:15 pm

I just hope proton will rebadge this car! Love it!

• Kindly do let me know the showroom wher can view Mitsubishi Mirage if book in Dec when can I collect the car?

• Hi Anna,

My name is Jay. You can come over to my showroom at Puchong next to IOI mall. We have a display car as well as the test drive :)

• Hmmmm on Oct 26, 2012 at 11:04 pm

Just check out the car from showroom. Doesn’t looks like imported car at all. Quality really so so.. I don’t think myvi market share will be threaten by this car. Only the mivec engine fuel efficiency on the booklet impress. But this price can get myvi 1.5 high spec… Mivec will be nothing but just 1.2. Cc engine. Price should lower.

• waiting 2 test drive….ok or not?

• cardreamer on Nov 08, 2012 at 2:03 pm

Just test driven the car..my verdict is..NO!

If you are looking for a car of this size and at this price range, you certainly have better options than this Mirage..even Proton Saga drives and feels better than this..

Suzuki Swift is now going for the same price..and it drives far better, more solid and lot more refined than this one..

Things i don’t like about this mirage..

1. feels very light, steering very light too
    2. engine sound very bad..sounds not sweet at all
    3. material quality very cheap
    4. Interior design too simple and out of taste..
    5. Driver position very bad..
    6. not fun to drive at all..plain and dull..

and you compare all these once you drive a suzuki swift..and you’ll know..