Ford Fiesta Sedan facelift pops up in Brazil

Ford unveiled its facelifted Fiesta – the one with the Aston Martin-style grille – last month in three- and five-door hatchback forms. No sign of the sedan version then, but the facelifted Fiesta sedan has popped up at the Sao Paulo motor show in Brazil. These pics were lifted from the Ford Brasil Facebook page.

Up front, it’s as per the hatchback, Aston nose and all. But the Fiesta sedan’s narrow and tall proportions means it will never look like the handsome Fusion/Mondeo. The original rear end was the least pleasing part of the sedan, but things have been improved here with new tail lamps and a new bumper. Looks slightly wider now, which was surely the design goal.

The Brazilian car gets seven airbags, traction control, Hill Launch Assist and Ford’s SYNC multimedia system. Under the hood is a 1.6 litre flex fuel engine. Click here for full details and pics of the facelifted Fiesta hatchback.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• helang on Oct 24, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Even with aston martinish front grill but hey it’s yuck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 30
  • Sam Loo on Oct 24, 2012 at 6:46 pm

Another useless junk with no RV.

Sell this after a year and you will lose 75 percent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 83
    • artworks on Oct 24, 2012 at 7:05 pm

this car is safer and better ride quality than city and vios. want care about resale value, den just ride a true junk from honda n toyota

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 14
      • test drive in 2011…. handle well…bit floating…but i still dont buy. previos design was yuckssss.. this fl improved

• Davinnci on Oct 24, 2012 at 7:10 pm

The king of RV shows up lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
    • cyclopz on Oct 24, 2012 at 7:32 pm

Yea right…go buy vios with old gajet, noESP,no EBD, no bluetooth, 4.speed..bla bla…you must be so poor to consider RV as main point to consider…cheapskate!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
    • U are only concern about RV and so kiasi, i think viva suit u the most as u can use it for life and the most u loss is the whole car price about 3xk only. Is this a perfect suggestion to u?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • H-C and T-V high RV is because of people like you, only recognize the H letter and T letter, despite them being kosong car..

but why do i care? you probably just trolling..xD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
    • 4g63tdsm on Oct 24, 2012 at 9:17 pm

Tell me where I can find a one year old fiesta for 75% off and I’ll gladly buy it off your hands.

I’m assuming that you are a sales rep for such cars with high RV so I’m sure you can help me find some.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • If you care about RV so much there is always the Vios. But you are going to wake up in the morning, look at the car, and it all goes downhill from there.
      BTW why is the Honda City criticized too ,I kinda like the city.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • artworks on Oct 25, 2012 at 12:04 am

city no power, unstable on high speed, road noisy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
        • Test drive it, Paddle shift means enough power to overtake, and done pretty high speed and its quite stable. Can’t argue with road noise.
          Hack my daily drive is an old Saga now so almost any car haz more power.(the power of perception)
          …..Also sat in a Fiesta before

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Hmmm… wow…your so call “junk” won so many awards. I wonder what the equivalent models from T&H won???
      Fiesta Awards:
      – Named ‘Car of the Year’ and ‘Best Supermini’ in Auto Express magazine’s New Car Awards 2009
      – Fiesta ECOnetic named ‘Least boring green car’of 2009 by Top Gear’s James May
      – First minicar to achieve Top Safety Pick by the U.S. Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) based on front-, side- and rear-impact crash testing and roof-strength.
      – Winner of the 2011 AJAC Car of the year award for Best Small Car under $21,000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • EUROPE
        2011 Britain’s Best Supermini, Auto Express
        AUSTRALIA
        2009 Best Small Car under $20,000, Drive Car of the Year Awards
        EUROPE
        2009 Green Car of the Year, Top Gear
        EUROPE
        2011 Green Car of the Year, Top Gear
        EUROPE
        2009 Manufacturing Excellence Award, Technische University at Berlin
        ASIA
        2008 Best Car of 2008 (Top 10) – Business Week
        ASIA
        2011 Five-star safety rating, China Automotive Technology and Research Center
        EUROPE
        2009 “Red Dot” Design Award, Zentrum Nordrhein Westfalen
        EUROPE
        2008 2008 Best Supermini – What Car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • They don’t sell Vios or City in the UK(City is not sold in the US)
        And their Fiesta are better kitted

• They dont sell Vios and City there bcos those models cant even meet the safety standard requirements set by the Euro market.
          Their Fiesta same with us with exception of soft touch dash board and telescopic steering. All the major parts and safety features are same like ABS, EBD, TCS, Airbags, Chasis, Dual Clutch transmission, engine etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • kadajawi on Oct 28, 2012 at 3:56 pm

There is pretty much no safety standard in Germany. DRLs are a must on newly launched cars, and probably seatbelts are required, but more than that, not really from what I know. The Lada Niva is perfectly legal in Germany, and that car comes with a few seatbelts. That is _all_. However people wouldn’t buy a car with only 4 airbags, unless there is a really good reason to do so (like being much, much, much cheaper than cars that are properly equipped, or in the case of the Niva being a brilliant offroader for a very low price).

• kadajawi on Oct 28, 2012 at 3:53 pm

The Vios is sold as the Yaris in Europe (though their Yaris is already in the 3rd generation, the Vios here is based on the 2nd gen Yaris), the City is I believe based on the Jazz/Fit, thus also sold in Europe. However the cars that are sold here are massively downgraded from what they sell over there, while the Fiesta here is similar in specs as it is in Europe.

• WOW you can read the brochure!

• JeremyNg on Oct 26, 2012 at 1:52 pm

seriously, now i can start to imagine how boring your life will be !!! RV ?? If you care about how the car drive, you wont car about RV …. wan high RV ?? Don get a car

• Turboman on Oct 26, 2012 at 5:10 pm

Sam.

By being a parrot repeating the same mantra on every post in pt.com, you are actually not contributing to the collective wisdom of this “forum”.

In short, u are not adding any value to this group by bringing in new information and discussing things from new angles.

• Davinnci on Oct 24, 2012 at 6:56 pm

This is just like small version of ford fusion~

• errrrrrrr

• mystvearn on Oct 24, 2012 at 7:35 pm

current fiesta looks better. This is why one design language cannot be placed on all cars. It works for some, does not mean it will work for all.

• The Japs on Oct 24, 2012 at 7:36 pm

Copycat,and it should called Aston Martin Fiesta.
    Useless junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 25
  • Mozilla Chrome on Oct 24, 2012 at 7:59 pm

The front design of the old one doesn’t catch my eyes. And this facelift is worse.

• Chrisg on Oct 24, 2012 at 8:32 pm

Some strange tasteless, not well informed Malaysians. Still prefer vios or city. Fiesta has seven airbags.

Use your mother’s handbag as airbag if u drive vios or city or jazz..

This has 6 speed. Tech and handling wise good. T&H ?

So some are talking nuts abt RV. You marry a beauty although abit t high maintance but syok.those who blindly follow the crowd buying any sub par product from h&t is like choosing a wife tats a well known cook but look like dugong yet terrible to ‘handle’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
    • Talk all you want on the Dugong style Vios and Mecha style City(facelift ver is kinda sporty looking). But why you have to bring the poor little Jazz into the scene when thee Hybrid version comes with 6 Airbags , CVT and is “OK” looking. Lack of style(compared to the Koreans and Ford) I know, but I’am not going to look at it all day
      Personally, RV dose’t concern me when I’am buying a car. is the spare parts, or more specifically ,the price and availability. Ford ones are kinda high and report suggest that they are also scarce here.And what do you mean sub-par product, Reviews and consumer reports don’t suggest that.
      PS: If you are going merry a high maintenance but pretty lady, are you going to live a nice life with her? just curious

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • 4g63tdsm on Oct 24, 2012 at 9:14 pm

The sedan and its Mazda 2 stablemate has never been a looker….. No amount of facelift will help as its the arse that’s all wrong. I’ll stick to the hatch.

And to the guy that only cares about RV…. Go ahead and drive your overpriced and under equipped Toyota. You already paid the depreciation by getting less.

In terms of depreciation of much better and safer cars…I just view it as additional insurance premiums. After all its worth jack shit after you owned the car for 10-15years. And given the constant push from the equally stupid MAA to scrap cars…your logic of RV goes down the drain.

• Actually just depend on individuals la…
    Like Sam Loo, he will probably choose T & H cars as he put RV at high position and these brands have built prestige image over the years which also explain why so many people (especially X-generation) like them despite the specs are poorer in comparative..
    For those more emphasize on other aspects like value for money, then Korean cars or perhaps ford will come at the 1st place..

• Looks kinna .. out of place??

The design looks “too grown up” for a B-segment car..
    B-segment cars should be funky, chicky, fun looking that suits young adults.. Not the serious looking grille..

like other B-segment cars which are more youthful looks..

• hello on Oct 24, 2012 at 10:52 pm

this is what I call the Poor Man’s Aston Martin. Soon there will be a lot of DB9, DBS etc badges selling in accessories shop in Malaysia and also Mudah.my.

I guess some will opt for missile and machine gun side pods. The one who wanted to feel like bond.

• Ford owns a part of Aston Martin.

• hello on Oct 25, 2012 at 1:40 am

so this mean that we’ll be getting aston badges and fake missile and machine guns pods from auto conexxion then?

• No, just FYI only.

• hello on Oct 25, 2012 at 8:38 pm

I see… if not aston badges and fake missile and machine gun side pods… ford giving bond girl instead?

• used to, Aston is now owned by an Arab Company
        I think it was Kuwait

• critic_A on Oct 24, 2012 at 11:04 pm

dun talk like u all going to buy this car la diu~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • chrisg on Oct 25, 2012 at 12:55 am

Look like aston also alot of ppl dont like haih…as if jap cars look so stunnigly unique, the accord n camry (new) looks like constipated whale hybrid between an elephant and whale. Good design ought to be copied so nothing is wrong.

Look at the beautiful peugeots and audis…who are copying their designs now?.

And the new prius looks like myvi…but myvi looks sexier. Although of course both are distant cousins.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • hello on Oct 25, 2012 at 1:42 am

i don’t know if it’s is your eyes or your eyes which has problems.

• cheapppl on Oct 25, 2012 at 7:07 pm

because he just wanna bash…nobody mention japanese car here and he purposely bash it to bring up this car….

• presna on Oct 25, 2012 at 2:14 am

okay i know i’m gonna get flamed for this, but how come Ford doesn’t put their damn ecoboost engines into these (nvr heard of the flex fuel engine)…. plus malaysia could really use ecoboost on a mainstream car like the fiesta (okay i know some of you guys gonna mention mondeo…. heard it before….. but it AINT mainstream unless they’re selling it by the truckload…..)

seriously…. i know its gonna be a huuuge wait be4 the new fiesta hits our shore…. but couldn’t someone at Ford just for once use their damn head and roll out a fiesta with eco-boost…..

then you can see how well the fiesta’s competitors will sell (heads up vios, city and the boring bunch…)

p.s. damn the front grille looks sweet…. a good ride for us poor malaysian Bond wannabees?

• presna on Oct 25, 2012 at 2:17 am

okay just to correct myself be4 anyone else has the chance….. googled the flex engine, and yes now i know what it is….. and that it will nvr arrive in malaysia….. unless palm oil blend fuel really takes off here…… unlikely i know…

• ahmadfaris93 on Oct 25, 2012 at 5:49 am

I still think the rear design of this car committed suicide. The ass is so high up and it doesnt work on a small sedan.

• Ong chin aun on Oct 25, 2012 at 10:22 am

Hai, Nobody has tested the car, new face-lifted Fiesta. It just appeared in Brazil Motor Show, already so much assumption and arguement. Practical views are welcomed, not for the sake of argue. No point. If you drove the cars, possibly then can give your opinions,in term of technical, road holding,max. speed etc. TQ.

• polo saga on Oct 25, 2012 at 10:39 am

for those who r still consider much about resale value, should this article in Malaysia Insider. The point has been made quite clear:

A car is NOT an investment.

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/drive/article/buying-for-resale

• a car is something that will drag you from investing and will affect your cash flow in malaysia…
      ofcoz it’s not an investment and no one say it is….only those who has no economy sense will link it to economy….
      get a life…it’s ppl choice for choosing higher RV….if ford has high RV someday i bet you will use the same term to promote the car….such hypocrite…..

• DewaSemut on Oct 25, 2012 at 11:23 am

I must say this Fiesta sedan looks much better & more well proportioned as compared to the current ones… I must say Ford done it better (hatchback and sedan offerings per model) with current Focus. Both Sports and Titanium are good looking cars… and oh man… the engine is superb for a N/A, to put a small tap on the gas pedal and reach 100km/h in no time, handles well too.

• The face will win many hearts..