BMW ActiveHybrid 3 and ActiveHybrid 5 sedans officially launched – RM538,800 and RM648,800

BMW Group Malaysia officially launched the BMW ActiveHybrid 3 and ActiveHybrid 5 sedans at Pavilion KL this morning. The company is having its BMW Innovations Showcase at the shopping mall, which also features the BMW Vision Connected Drive concept car. All the action is happening on Level 3, if you want to check it out.

On to the main news, the hybrid sedans. Regular readers of this site will know that BMW’s ActiveHybrids aren’t the biggest fuel misers around (they already have the ED models for that), but are instead high performance cars with big engines. We’ve driven the ActiveHybrid 3 and ActiveHybrid 7 before, click to read the reports.

In the case of the AH3 and AH5, they are powered by a 3.0 litre TwinPower Turbo six-cylinder engine, so the government tax exemption for hybrid cars isn’t applicable here, as the limit for that is 2.0 litres. It shows in the price – the ActiveHybrid 3 is priced at RM538,800 and the ActiveHybrid 5 will set you back RM648,800. Prices are on-the-road without insurance, with BMW Service + Repair Inclusive.

The N55B30 3.0 six-pot is the same engine used in the 335i and 535i, and it puts out 306 hp and 400 Nm of torque. That’s a lot of juice to squeeze, but the ActiveHybrid duo adds on a 40 kW (55 hp/210 Nm) motor to help both performance and efficiency. Combined output is 340 hp and 540 Nm of torque.

If you’re wondering how that feels like, 0-100 km/h is done in just 5.3 seconds in the AH3 and 5.9 seconds in the AH5, so no hot hatch will be able to trouble you at the traffic lights. Claimed combined fuel consumption stands at 5.9 litres per 100 km for the AH3 and 6.8 litres per 100 km for the bigger and heavier brother.

The battery is a lithium-ion unit that is recharged by brake energy regeneration. The pack is situated below the boot floor in the 3er and between the boot and rear seats in the 5er.

There’s an all electric mode that can be used up to 60 km/h. In this engineless mode, one has a total uninterrupted range of 4 km, so those short hops to 7-Eleven can be done without any tailpipe emissions. Besides that, battery power is used for the eBOOST system to make full throttle acceleration stronger, so it helps at both ends of the scale.

Like the ICE powered regular sedans, the AH3 and AH5 come with an eight-speed gearbox, Eco Pro and auto start/stop, but the latter works slightly differently here.

Not just during idle, the engine can be shut off even when approaching a stop, and start again either when you start to move, or when the car reaches 60 km/h. This means that the engine is turned off for longer periods compared to regular BMWs with auto start/stop.

Also, with Eco Pro on, the ActiveHybrid cars can “glide” along with the engine off at speeds of up to 160 km/h. It all depends on battery charge level and conditions, of course.

From the outside, the hybrid cars stand out with exclusive colours and special wheel designs. ActiveHybrid emblems are found on the boot, the base of the C pillars, side sills and forward of the gear lever in the cabin. AH3 buyers can choose from Sport, Luxury or Modern lines – the car pictured here is Modern line.

We were in Munich recently to drive the ActiveHybrid 3 – click here to read both the driving experience, and a full technical explaination of what goes on underneath. Prettier pics under the sun, too. Live gallery from the launch is after the jump.

BMW ActiveHybrid 3 Specifications Sheet
[scribd id=111096819 key=key-104m88mozfi703z88b16 mode=scroll]

BMW ActiveHybrid 5 Specifications Sheet
[scribd id=111096826 key=key-1sl3j44m7ze8bq016kla mode=scroll]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• interesting on Oct 25, 2012 at 2:29 pm

way too overprice….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
    • Cari fasal on Oct 25, 2012 at 10:59 pm

the price is ok and just nice to justify it as LUXURY and PREMIUM brand..
      its show’s one status :)

remember 1st is the price of the car..
      2nd one should remember is the price to maintain the car (parts after warranty over)..

thats the fun part; as not many malaysian will able to afford.

glad BMW segmentation its market well to differentiate class of people :)

• Actually it doesn’t justify why it costs half a mill. I can understand if the price bracket is between an M3 and the Luxury 3 Series, but not half a mill.

Though I like the function of:
        “..with Eco Pro on, the ActiveHybrid cars can “glide” along with the engine off at speeds of up to 160 km/h.”

Which thus far has not been seen yet in Prius(es/Pri), Insights, CRZs, Civic-Hybrid (though i might be wrong). Also it does make the 3.0 seems pointless now that i think about it.

• The Didi Butter on Oct 27, 2012 at 12:48 pm

Your statement is true, but it’s motherhood. Every country has its own upper class to buy BMW. But the upper class in M’sia has to pay more than what middle class in other nations are paying.
        That hefty price also does not justify why our upper class need a hybrid if they can afford the maintenance cost.

• Jolly_idiot on Oct 25, 2012 at 2:39 pm

I don’t need a 3.0 engine. Gimme the 2.0 diesel or petrol to pair with the hybrid motor is good enough.

It’ll help me to save the tax to BN.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 2
    • Toyota'sReliable on Oct 25, 2012 at 2:48 pm

bring it 1.8L with hybrid! expect price at RM180k like the lexus ct200h!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • I wonder if the thumb ups are mainly for saving tax to BN.. hehe!

Joking aside, I wonder what the road tax for this car would be? Though AHs are not exempted from premium tax break, the gov (current or future) should give at least some incentive for this 3.0 being a Hybrid.

Time has change, imported and/or road car taxes should be based on the carbon emission produced and not solely based on CC. That is an old policy which should be revised by MITI.

• Cari fasal on Oct 25, 2012 at 11:01 pm

this is a premium + luxury + prestige + PERFORMANCE hybrid.
        hence of coz it needs 3L to show its absolute power + performance on the road.

so if people here complain no money to buy ; simple go buy toyota or honda which offer cheap hybrid toy around RM100K.

only people with passion, money, class will buy this BMW.
        :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
        • Jolly_idiot on Oct 27, 2012 at 12:03 am

Why you need a 3.0 when a 2.0 can perform so close? You won’t benefit much from the extra 1.0 but BN will thank you so much for your extra contribution.

You’re stupid enough to pay extra despite being a 2.0 is still a damn luxury german hybrid car with outstanding performance.

• 1 Malaysia on Oct 27, 2012 at 10:51 am

displacement higher 3L or higher brings true performance then the crappy 2L or under…

• Turboman on Oct 28, 2012 at 9:46 pm

3.0 inline 6 is a much more charismatic engine than a 2.0. That sound and the way it revs, something paper spec will never quantify.

• kerelbort on Oct 25, 2012 at 2:51 pm

wow.. why not bring in 2.0 and get the tax incentive? BMW afraid too many malaysian driving around in BMW thus making them less value as it is cheaply available?

if 2.0 is here.. could be a much better alternative than the lexus 200h hybrid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • kerelbort on Oct 25, 2012 at 3:07 pm

i take back above comment.. just read on the bit about the AH test drive in german… so no 2.0… what s shame.. and it seems like no tax break incentive given to this bimmer.. bummer!

• seancorr on Oct 25, 2012 at 2:59 pm

Overpriced indeed and what about the warranty for these cars? Should be at least 5 years since it has very complicated tech in it.

Looking at the spec sheet…the 3 series does not have adaptive xenon and both the 3 and 5 do not have driver assists like blind spot warning or lane change warning..sigh

• one have to wonder why would anyone buy these cars, to save fuel? to get back money one have to drive more than 10 million kilometers to get back money. environment? since most of our electricity comes from nonrenewable souces, alot more energy will be used to convert fossil fuel to electricity and then kinteic energy instead of fossil fuel directly to kinetic energy in combustion engines ( im no engineer so correct me if im wrong) hence more pollution and lets not forget the batteries. the only reason i could think of is the current in thing or “trend” of using electric cars.

• shawal on Oct 25, 2012 at 5:08 pm

takde duit ,ahahahahahhaa

• Cari fasal on Oct 25, 2012 at 11:02 pm

apa susah toyota and honda ada hybrid ciplak murah. go buy and enjoy.
      or best of all keep dreaming :)

x yah fikir sparepart/warranty etc

• skiborne on Oct 25, 2012 at 5:24 pm

so you have to pay way way more to save earth

• Jimmy on Oct 25, 2012 at 5:49 pm

Attention to the marketing team: if you want people to buy your Hybrid models, you need to tell everybody that it is for performance purpose, not for fuel economy. Fuel miser: sounds shameful.

• Niadruob Ynohtna on Oct 25, 2012 at 5:51 pm

Gosh! RM188K car selling at RM648,800. Absurd!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • _xXx_ on Oct 25, 2012 at 6:08 pm

malaysians have made lotsa $ lately….so many cars are sold at the multiple of 100k. I believe many can’t even save 100k in their entire life.

• Speachless on Oct 25, 2012 at 6:56 pm

I did not know I can buy a Porsche Cayenne hybrid with that kind of money.

• HONpenDA on Oct 25, 2012 at 7:58 pm

wan cheaper car!just vote pakatan in this coming PRU13,go to hell the cock sucker bn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • Davinnci on Oct 25, 2012 at 11:08 pm

This car can’t fly, so it doesn’t cost that much

• Gavin on Oct 25, 2012 at 11:13 pm

Diesel can do the same job

• Geezz…man! is it worth to buy in Malaysia? AES all over the road. Drive 60kmph or 80kmph?

• Jolly_idiot on Oct 25, 2012 at 11:58 pm

We must be rich to go green. Look at the hybrid cars in town. Many poor people like me can’t afford it.

We’re forced to stuck with P1 or P2 with lousy/ no tech and cheapo quality.

Low income people in malaysia consider not human or cheap life with no safety features in car and milo tin build material.

Thanks to BN for treating us so good.

Forgot to say, anyone have ever seen a BN guy not owning a german ride? I bet none of them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • mirror mirror on Oct 26, 2012 at 12:03 am

If they bring in 2.0 then what is going to happen to 328i, 320i and 320d? Surely the hybrid 2.0 will be quite alot cheaper since they are free from taxes. Then how are they going to tune the power? Between 180hp to 240hp? I doubt it will be more powerful than the 328i or else no one will buy the 328i.

• Bmw doesn’t even make the 2.0 with a hybrid system, the reason is because the 4 pot is already quite efficient in stop and go traffic that there is little benefit if any in installing a hybrid system. The number 1 reason why manufacturers produce hybrid is because it is more efficient in the city (stop go traffic) because max power comes instantly after u press the pedal (which is why in electric cars such as tesla,it only has one gear) while in combustion engine max power comes in at certain RPM so u will be wasting fuel trying to build up the revs, stopping and revving again.

• Only Datuk or Millionare can afford to buy this kind of car. Do you think Manager can afford?

• sotong on Oct 26, 2012 at 9:49 am

what happen? Hybrid car is tax free. why still so expensive. BMW earn $$$ or our love BM use $$ to fund politics?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Paul Tan on Oct 26, 2012 at 4:06 pm

These cars do not quality for tax free status because their engine is larger than 2.0L.

• come on… the Rims on both cars are horrible looking..especially the one on AH5!!

• Whats the purpose of a hybrid car in the first place? To save money on petrol most people might think. If one could spend more than half million to buy just a car, then one should not care spending money on fuel anymore. So, wats the point that BMW imports such cars into malaysia?

• BMW BEST on Oct 27, 2012 at 11:38 am

Because this two car did what Prius,Civic hybrid or CT200H cannot reached.

• behn meyer on Oct 27, 2012 at 8:24 pm

of all the premium brand, i m shock to see the bmw suspension is so stiff, too stiff…keras mcm lori je, not to mention all the prone electronic problem, all over..

• Micheal on Oct 28, 2012 at 12:52 pm

Buy la Buy la!!! no need to think…

• Threetwentydee on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:38 pm

Since I am already driving a BMW 320D, an active hybrid that costs more than half a mill seems pointless….the 2 liter diesel is already so frugal…but if BMW strapped an electric motor onto a diesel that enables it to cruise at 120km/h with the Diesel engine shutdown it would frickin’ awesome really!! Really the main issue with diesels are the clatter and the vibration…one running eerily silent at 120+ Km/h would be super!