Proton and Honda ink collaboration agreement

It’s official – it was earlier reported that DRB-Hicom was set to announce a Japanese strategic partner for Proton today evening. That deal has now been finalised, and our guess as to which automaker of the four bandied about was correct.

There was no press statement regarding the matter, but in a company announcement to Bursa Malaysia, DRB-Hicom said that Proton Holdings has entered into a collaboration agreement with Honda Motor Co. The deal was signed earlier today in Japan.

Under the agreement, Proton and Honda will explore collaboration opportunities in the areas of technology enhancement, new product line up, platform and facilities’ sharing, the statement said.

It added that the agreement signifies the potential of a long-term strategic collaboration between the two parties, and DRB-Hicom stated that having Honda as the foreign strategic partner will provide Proton and the DRB-Hicom Group with the opportunity to grow as an original equipment manufacturer.

No details of the collaboration were announced, but expect more details to emerge when DRB-Hicom reveals its business plan for Proton next month.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• GreenFuel on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:04 pm

An hybrid Jazz with Proton badge coming?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 132
    • Also, does the collaboration/partnership goes beyond Proton-Honda i.e. Lotus? if it does, HELLLLO NSX!

An NSX with Lotus engineering, it’s going to be sweett!! an R-35 rival maybe? (just being hopeful here, but fingers crossed!)

New product line-up.. interesting.. hopefully it goes beyond savvy-brio and/or neo-crz and/or city-saga and/or civic-preve. (again, being hopeful)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 30
      • Kalun on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:12 pm

Nissan GTR is already tuned by Lotus (secretly of coarse). Honda might be doing the same as Lotus is expert in ride and handling consultation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 13
        • Wisdom on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:39 am

Now this is a good news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
        • Ambik kau on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:43 am

Don’t understand why they need DRB, why can’t Proton do their own collabration directly? Oh! I forget M’sian biz always need to greese the palms of the middleman.

Good luck proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 75
      • kimikira on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:57 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 215
        • yellowschoolbus on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:27 pm

…..

i don’t understand a word you’re saying man…if you wanna bash, could you at least make it understandable…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 201 Thumb down 6
        • MoFaz on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:37 am

oh my english!…
          or should it be “oh your english!”?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 5
        • basher on Oct 30, 2012 at 8:37 am

Hello uncle, go back to school to learn how to write proper English first before you ’embarrass’ yourself … Oh wait, you already did that …

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 2
        • Kevin on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:07 am

Sounds like Google-translated…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
        • adoyai. please paraphrase everything that you’ve said….in your native language. we always have somebody to translate it for us. or we can just google translate it

• I can see that you direct translate cantonese into english: eg “straight head” = “jik tao” …better get english classes, dude..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
        • DonkeyKong on Oct 30, 2012 at 3:39 pm

The product of sekolah jenis kebangsaan. What a great education system we have.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 31
          • may be Sekolah kebangsaan, whose know!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 31
          • I am a product of SJK. I can read, write and speak well in Chinese, English and Malay. Please, just cut SJK products a break, and don’t sink them all just because some of them sucks. Education is one, but attitude is also another factor to tell how learned a man is. Let’s get back to Honda!

• hey buddy i understand how much u dislike this collaboration thingy..but did u go to a wrong kindergarten?..guess Pua Chu Kang’s English way much easy to understand than ur’s …

• Pumpkins on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:07 am

Honda – The Power of Dreams…

Protong – The Power of Mimpi di siang hari…???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 97
        • alldisc on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:07 am

Proton – The Power of DRB

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
        • lincoln on Oct 30, 2012 at 6:39 pm

waaa…many people dont like ur comment….maybe u are the one like to mimpi di siang hari, u don’t have job to do other than bash proton…maybe this is your job..someone paid u? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • rempit on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:12 am

so we will see.. proton ex5…. much await since the ex5 dream has plummit the ex5 sales…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 30
    • uncle sam on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:38 pm

you see, proton is operated by a bunch of lazy fools. Lazy ppl does not want to susah pening thinking of new products, so hey if they have copied lancer before, why not copy civic. Honda is in for a surprise!

On paper is “collaboration”, end of the day honda do 99% of the r&d, design, etc and proton just….copy and slap proton batch.
      Proton, after 27 years where r u standing and where is the rest of the competitors ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 197 Thumb down 105
      • avcutie on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:17 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 239
        • Cloudye on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:42 am

Now, don’t be a dick.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 18
          • Not Wise on Oct 30, 2012 at 7:53 am

Truth Hurts..but really, after all these years, proton should stop “sucking milk” and face the competitors like a “man”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 22
          • Wisdom on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:18 am

I thought malay do all the works (as operators, technician, engineers) while non-bumi claim all the credits (as GM, MD, CEO etc)?
            Was it?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 31
        • taboogen on Oct 30, 2012 at 8:23 am

you may go back from where your ancestor came from.. no one is stoping you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 29
          • Pumpkins on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:27 pm

Except Orang Asli…they’re original owner of peninsular…the rest (including you) boleh balik jadi orang lanun again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 29
          • cinapek on Oct 30, 2012 at 4:24 pm

Even China dont want to accept them anymore.. For them those who migrate from China are considered as 3rd class chinese

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 12
        • Chinaman on Oct 30, 2012 at 4:21 pm

go back to CHINA!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 14
        • lincoln on Oct 30, 2012 at 6:43 pm

u must be super kiasu chauvinist and racist when u comment like that!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • theanswer on Oct 30, 2012 at 1:10 am

27yrs in auto industry is not that old(but not new either). hard to compare with others where those brand (kia/Hyundai) produced cars years before proton. plus they already penetrate US market in 80s. sharing tech is good. hyundai-kia, mazda-ford-volvo, pug-bmw. but not straight rebadge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
      • alldisc on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:09 am

uncle sam, isnt that what re-badge engineering is all about?? even 1% is already a lot!!

• bonhok on Oct 30, 2012 at 7:07 pm

lol compare young proton with old auto makers. very funny

• Rogaz on Jul 25, 2013 at 4:56 pm

Do you think you are so good? If so where is your own brand name if no just see don’t say like you can do better.

• Kalun on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:10 pm

No!
      But since Proton owned Lotus and many enthusiast really want a Honda K20A engine in their Lotus Elise/Exige. This could be a possibility Lotus will replace the old and rubbish Toyota engine with a supercharge Honda K20A engine.
      Woohoo!!

There was a history that Lotus requesting to use a Honda engine but Honda rejected it. So they went to Toyota. It’s rubbish!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
      • Ahmad on Oct 30, 2012 at 3:24 pm

so how is your engine looks like? super engine? better than toyota’s engine? or maybe campro’s standard engine?

• Congratulation on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:33 pm

Yes, come come, rebadge rebadge.
      I thought many people happy when see Lancer being rebadged and TCSS.
      Come on Proton, do it do it! You s of the itch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 28
    • Yay everyone can afford the Accordar,Oppa City style,Jazz and CRZneo already !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • Cari fasal on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:39 am

wah MALAYSIA now di JAJAH JEPUN AGAIN :)
      haha..
      funny people here keyboard warrior ask/type this want this that bla bla bla
      BUT now every one can have DREAM POWER but yet still no money to buy good car or product..
      anyway i guess thats the tagged line all about “POWER OF DREAM”..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 34
    • along on Oct 30, 2012 at 1:27 am

Don’t get too exited…. still exploration stage and nothing concrete…

“Under the agreement, Proton and Honda will explore collaboration opportunities in the areas of technology enhancement, new product line up, platform and facilities’ sharing, the statement said.”

But a lot of ‘yada yada yada’ already… Do what u got to do, I just want cheap decent car (max 3-5 yrs loan) for rakyat… Other than that, its merely lip service… business as usual, rakyat still need 9 year loan sigh…

When the buying stop, the killing can too…
      When we work together, we can win this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • ……earlier i heard all bashing gov for the high price of imported car, now Proton trying to make it low price also kene bash ka.?

• Pumpkins on Oct 30, 2012 at 3:04 pm

Low price rebadge? Tengok itu Langkawi price Inspirah RM82K…Lancer RM71K…

• _xXx_ on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:27 am

hey hey im booking a CR-Z soon. No potong parts inside my new car plz…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • JUNJUN on Oct 30, 2012 at 3:02 pm

i can’t wait a new hybrid model..PROTON EX5

• insperut on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:05 pm

Way to go DRB-Hicom!!

btw… haters gonna hate :D

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 39
    • Why need a partner? cars cannot sell?
      Oh sorry… Proton not only sell cars, they sell company too.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 102 Thumb down 158
      • partner on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:57 pm

i think i read so many in Paultan.org about other bigger car companies also have partners and colaboration with another car companies.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 4
      • MoFaz on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:27 pm

VW do partnership and share swap with Suzuki. GM do partnership with Peugeot-Citreon. Ford do partnership with Toyota. Chrysler, Mitsu and Hyundai co-develop Gema engine and now even BMW is reportedly in talks with Hyundai to help shoulder some of the roughly $1.3-2.6 billion cost of developing a new engine family.
        by your narrow mind definition; VW, Suzuki, Toyota, Hyundai, BMW, Ford, Peugeot all can’t sell their cars, so they have to find a partner.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 184 Thumb down 11
        • Well said…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
          • alldisc on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:16 am

collaboration is ok, rebadge is not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
          • Waste ur time explaining u guy think budak skool knows that..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • yellowschoolbus on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:33 pm

yeah…some people just don’t have any economic sense…”if you can’t develop everything by yourself, you’re a failure”…idiots…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
        • Abdul Hai Jr. on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:38 pm

it is not wrong to say that they can’t sell their cars…indirectly it’s one of the purpose of collaborating (to appear in every segment of the market)…
          so, for me it’s a contemporary scenario for almost any automakers around the globe…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • Cari fasal on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:44 am

wrong; VW dont swap share.
          BUT VW OWNS THEM!
          Also VW only OWNS big time player name it Porsh, Lambo, Audi, Ducatti, Bentley, Bugatti, Seat, Skoda, VW cars, MAN, Scania..

dont forget Suzuki (20% ownership) while rest VW owns greater >70% to 100% ownership

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 24
          • Rulered on Oct 30, 2012 at 7:05 am

Some of the cars you mentioned are niche market brand such as Bugatti, Bentley and Lamborghini, some are industrial base such as Man. I don’t really agree that they are ‘big players’, yes they are big names and expensive vehicles but you don’t see these cars everyday even in Europe, not even in races. Skoda was also a struggling company before VW took over. On a different note, I hope some of you guys refrain from giving racial comments, it’s not going anywhere.

• Proton also niche ma… sells only hundred plus thousand.

• poor_malaysians on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:37 am

Don’t talk non sense lar.
          Fact about Proton’s record: Whether it partner or not partner with any company, it is still suck, and still sucking our bloody money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
        • All these companies have their own unique strength. What Proton got to offer to Honda besides the under utilise factory?

• MoFaz on Oct 30, 2012 at 3:56 pm

not so long time ago, nobody would look at Hyundai. but now, even BMW talk with Hyundai to co-develop new engine family.
            u won’t see one’s strength if you keep looking with your dumb and narrow mind. Honda, or any other company won’t be talking to Proton if they couldn’t gain anything. it might be just a small collaboration, but if they could save tens of millions dollar, it’s still a good partnership.

• Not long ago, nobody look at Proton. Now also nobody look at them. Get the difference?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
      • whoaaaahoho there..

Read up histories of Audi, Mercedez Benz, BMW. All those are what we in Malaysia considered as top marques were born from collaboration and partnership.

There’s nothing wrong with collaboration. Maybe Honda peeps can inject some of the Japanese working culture and innovation into our slow evolving Proton. It gets the company moving forward.

Remember Toyota and BMW collaboration news a few months back? Both marques are selling millions of cars all over the world, yet they still collaborate with the goal of MOVING FORWARD.

• Both companies selling million is good. But if one company selling millions and the other one sells only one hundred thousand plus BMW wannabe…. tak payah leh ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
      • you dont know anything about business so shut the **** up

• "great_job" on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:03 pm

as usual bro..:-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
  • 4G63T DSM on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:10 pm

hmmm…so honda gets to recycle its old tooling.

wonder what Proton gets out of it.Looks like the campro would be orphaned?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 33
  • tiadaid on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:11 pm

What the F is all I can say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 44
  • Kent Lim on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:12 pm

All the best, Proton, hope you guys are serious in “learning” from Honda, and not screw them like how you did to Mitsubishi?! Cheers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 25
    • i’ve heard rumours about proton screwing mitsu but can’t find any details about it. can you please story2 here can ah? thanks in advance bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 13
    • Curious man on Oct 30, 2012 at 6:55 am

Kent Lim – I heard about this also but have not seen any proof or credible article discussing it. Can you provide links or tell us briefly what happened? I am sure you know and not saying it for the sake of saying it. :)

• rosdi on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:12 pm

Damn!… I was expecting Subaru… :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 15
    • Aiya, Honda ke, Subaru ke. If the company is lousy, give them Lockheed Martin also no use ler.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 60
    • slowpoke on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:30 pm

wanted a boxer engine proton? XD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • skiborne on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:17 pm

proton wants to collaborate for a boxer engine? dream on, their current engines are not even proven to be reliable on top with the current management team, it will just only a dream… they just have to do it right with others first

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 15
        • Wisdom on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:37 am

I thought campro engine proven to be reliable. Never saw Gen2 or Waja from 2005 emitting white smoke.
          Unless the owner been creative, lowered the car till the oilsump hit speedbumps, change exhaust, change intake and override the ecu etc till the engine running overrev and kill its crankshaft.
          Other than that, campro has been a reliable engine…. (with proper maintenance of course)

• The reason you don’t see it is because those engine do not even have the chance to reach that time. It just failed to move anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
          • There are so many Campro’s on the road…u blind?? kesian…kah kah kah

• Xefron on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:12 pm

honda city with saga price can ? LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 5
  • I thought the turboed range of models was the turning point of Proton. They have already DESIGN their own models. Why need a partner?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 58
    • cheapppl on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:22 pm

with your narrow mind you think partnering = rebadge?summore need to capitalizing the word ‘DESIGN’…
      they can do so many things such as designing engine tgt…sharing platform…sharing the manufacturing plant….supporting the sales and service for both parties…sharing internal car parts…venturing into new market tgt….so many they can do…..

get a life and read more la duhhh….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 18
      • Yaya … talk so much, if you Proton are so great, why beg people for partnership? This is the only company that talks about partnership year in year out instead of making a reliable car. Who is looking to share who’s platform? When the new Saga was announced and the sales picks up, they straight away call off the talk with VW.
        This is a company with no integrity and we do not have sympathy with them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 108
        • MoFaz on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:30 pm

Proton is the only company? go read more global news instead of just Proton & Perodua news!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 11
        • yellowschoolbus on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:39 pm

i’m not a proton supporter…but when I see an idiot like this, ‘amoi’….hahaha…i just HAVE to poke for fun…oh btw ‘amoi’…just SHUT UP will ya? you’re just making yourself look like a super dumbass…do us all a favor…just SHUT UP and go away, you will not be missed… >=D

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 9
          • You are not proton supporter but yea … because you work for proton… just how many people you hired at 1st floor COE?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 41
          • Wisdom on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:47 am

Conclusion: No one can shut the dumb up..
            ;p

• kekuda on Nov 21, 2012 at 5:07 pm

I think he/she was an agent that will get a huge commission if PROTON is sold to the VW.

• Hmmmm on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:42 pm

Lets think about what benefit proton can have for this tied up? Then think again what benefit for Honda in this collaboration. Again think why a so successful and world reputable brand need to collaborate with only a domestic car brand with less international recognition brand? Think before you comment..

• crank on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:35 pm

In terms of quality and reliability and engine efficiency, Proton really needs help.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
      • Proton DESPERATELY needs help in LEARNING how to RUN a car manufacturing business PROPERLY. Proton may not have been in the business of making cars long enough but having started in the early 90’s doesn’t exactly make it a newbie either. All these years and Proton has very little to show. All these years and Proton continues to drop the spanner. While the Waja’s embarrassing powered window and door handle problems appear over today, there WEREN’T necessary then, were they! Today I have friends who own the Persona and they have been embarrassed by its build quality AND mechanical reliability. More often than not, I have also heard people who own a Proton and who would say that, that’s the last time they’ll own one.
        So going with Honda is what they need to do. Shamed as they should be with years of non-progress, this is time for it to learn EARNESTLY and HUMBLY from the masters and improve. If Proton picks up a few gears from these master lessons it receives from none other than Honda, they would have succeeded extremely well.
        As for Honda, gaining local grounds with Proton is a strategic move, although one that surprised me (I’d thought it would be Nissan but I was wrong obviously). But I can see the logic of Honda’s move. They do need some form of collaboration to extend their coverage. Honda’s big need would be to go locally and to go deep – Proton’s service centre outlets being far far more would be an important one for Honda. Honda has ZERO INTEREST in any “technology transfer” with someone like Proton – for them, what Proton offers is ‘extended market coverage’ and ‘opportunistic leveraging,’ meaning a smarter way to do business in Malaysia.
        In the end, it’s hopefully a win-win situation for everyone.

• billie on Nov 16, 2012 at 9:52 am

experienced-wise i’m not fond of proton cars, but still i really hope they can improve through this partnership.

• Severe Tyre Damage on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:16 pm

This is great news! Are we expecting cheaper Hondas in the future? Current Honda cars will depreciate just like what the Inspira did to Lancer 2.0GT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 13
    • townhall on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:33 pm

honda cars & others are cheaper compared with local product.
      i meant b4 tax

• junaidi on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:18 am

you’re funny bro. Tell me how much is a Honda Civic before tax?

• Congratulation on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:37 pm

Oh yeah baby, waiting for this moment a long time. Let the Honda supporters feel the pain also, haha, buttt hurtt lo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Severe Tyre Damage on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:13 pm

I think the Honda built by Protons will be low safety specs with less airbags, no traction control etc. Let’s hope not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • I tot u guy dont care much…well…kan u guy want to vote PR…ur car confirm depreciate anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • RejimKejamGanas on Nov 02, 2012 at 11:58 pm

Maybe you were born yesterday, but car value have always been depreciating like crazy in this country.

• Inspira is a rebadged Lancer Ex…gets your facts right

• There goes Honda sales
    what am I gonna do with the relatively new City on the driveway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
  • Terry on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:18 pm

hope for the best.

• i wonder how mitsubishi’s CEO thinks now….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • Hmmmm on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:52 pm

Mitsubishi stared of as a trading company, top 3 in japan. Car sector for them is just peanut. Thats why they dont mind traded their model to proton while can earn a small piece of market share since their sales in Malaysia so so. So I think The CEO may just think, shit my water fish just gone!

• Hmmmm on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:53 pm

Mitsubishi started of as a trading company, top 3 in japan. Car sector for them is just peanut. Thats why they dont mind traded their model to proton while can earn a small piece of market share since their sales in Malaysia so so. So I think The CEO may just think, shit my water fish just gone!

• Mitsubishi CEO is laughing at Honda now

• I hope now that proton gets a proper partner, the current cronies like Fraser Nash and other so called partners get kicked out of proton. They should do this fast before they suck more blood out of proton money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • superman on Oct 30, 2012 at 8:04 am

I cant believe the two dislikes here… you mean there are actually people who want the cronies to be around? these two dislikes must be the cronies themselves!!!

• what to say? there are always people around who just support these sort of blood sucking.

• Awesome. Im expecting lotus tuned type-r and a proton with upmarket interior design and awesome engines

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
  • mystvearn on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:25 pm

Bravo to DRB. I was not expecting Honda. Hopefully it will be beneficial for both sides

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
  • crank on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:30 pm

Hopefully something good comes out of this. Platform sharing sounds pretty good. :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • newdawn on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:31 pm

OMG there goes Honda. Expecting a sales dip. Korean cars will take the leap from here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 46
    • There is still Toyota. not that Korean cars are bad or anything, but Toyota still outsell their Korean counterpart(here at least) 5 to 1. with the majority of the market being tasteless, nothing will stop Toyota dominance for now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
  • protonsucks on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:32 pm

i hope honda make this partnership so they can excise duty on honda cars in malaysia… in return they juz give any crap to proton they oso happy…

• saw this coming… no surprise… hicom is honda malaysia partner for the longest of time… with honda quality improving in newly designed vehicle unlike the new gen civic… hopefully thing can look good…

• alldisc on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:44 am

DRB being franchise holder with Honda made things a lot easier to approach.

• ryuki on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:37 pm

Honda will be disappointed to find out that DRB Hicom only give lip service to get the collaboration signed off. After this you will see that DRB will drag its feet to agree on the terms which directly killing Proton.
    The clash of ideology/culture/decision making style is quite apparent

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 20
  • ryuki on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:42 pm

And for those who want to buy Honda shud wait…
    Accord will be Perdana
    Civic will be the inspira equivalent
    City will …. you get the picture
    Mitsubishi… will be laughing and a sigh of relief and have the avenue to break away from DRB

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 32
    • why all of you are so narrow-minded to think that JV only means re-badge cars.
      I know that there is a possibility but ,cant you read the comments above that everyone is hoping.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
      • Congratulation on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:44 pm

Narrow minded? Who are you to say so?
        This is Oppa Proton Style, baby, eh Civic Civic, woohoo. It’s coming baby.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
        • -off topic-
          I’am lost for words with the OGD person above. I love Gangnam style,my top 5 song/MV ever.
          OGD= Obsessive Gangnam disorder

• Wisdom on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:56 am

Stupid person will saw Mitsubishi lost their lancer market when Inspira came out. They pity Mitsu. While actually Mitsu making more money with every unit Inspira on the road compare to profit per each Lancer.
            Feeding your narrowminded view, let say Proton rebadge Civic, Malaysian will get cheaper civic, Honda will make more money, while their original Civic will be seen as an even more premium model.
            Still dont get it?

• ryuki on Oct 30, 2012 at 6:03 am

@ AVH, unless you know the very ppl in DRB and Proton of how they work,think and decide then do share your insight. This way it can improve our views. Hoping don’t count because we hv been hoping for 27 years. During DSZ time there was a glimmer of hope. Now, its going back to the dark ages

• Well, avh what else is proton known for other than rebadging? They have next to no engineering ability to speak of, no gearbox design, crappy engines and cars that are panned abroad. Koreans were once panned because they really were crap but look at them now. Proton has just been sitting on their hands because they are stil protected by this government under the thumb of the Porsche driving tun. We are well past hope!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 13
  • Xefron on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:43 pm

Honda is so close to Malaysian since the post WWII. The Boon Siew Honda, :p

• Proton with VTEC Engines coming soon? lol Honda rides being rebadged? Soon to see people getting butthurt just like what happened to Lancer lulz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • "great_job" on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:07 pm

how about honda with CFE?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
      • CFE is not that good in reliability… my CFE got kong kong sound everytime I step a bit on fuel… and fyi, I lose to my fren’s Civic FD 2.0 on high way… start from 0-190km/j.. lose all the way..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 10
        • no job on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:45 am

la..lu yg tak reti bawak kete kot..aku bawak CFE tinggai civic ok je..bkn 1.8, but 2.o jo..apa hal?
          ha ha ha ha
          cfe rocks!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
        • Kong Kong sound everytime you step a bit on fuel?

I had the same problem, it was neighbours kuching hiding under my hood.

• cannot differentiate between kucing and Kuching kah??

• taboogen on Oct 30, 2012 at 8:31 am

why dont you list down all the mod that your friend has done to the car first lah… btw malaysian people always good in making up stories…. i also can say my motor cup cai can overtake lambo…

• Pumpkins on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:34 pm

The power of Ubat Batuk Cap Kelapa Laut Afrika…

Put that ubat batuk to your CFE sure no more batuk-batuk again…Uhuk Uhuk Uhuk!

• lincoln on Oct 30, 2012 at 6:32 pm

please, there is no batuk2 in CFE..u like to make fake stories!

• randt on Oct 30, 2012 at 7:23 pm

The power of ubat batuk peppermint

Put that ubat batuk to your modified i-vtec sure no more batuk-batuk again…Uhuk Uhuk Uhuk!

-fixed-

• Nope, we’ll see Honda Saga with Campro engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Congratulation on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:47 pm

Love this so much, butthurtt, OH YES!
      Scream for Civic, say it louder, then you will get it! Come on Proton Civic!
      If you name it Inspicivic, Incivisi, Inspihonda also nice. Do it, baby.

• adam rayyan on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:51 pm

pehh after this proton CRZ neo only 50k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Congratulation on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:48 pm

OMG, you are good bro. Can’t wait to see this happen also!

• My prediction was correct. The amount of investment made by Honda is tremendous and consistent. Honda too in line with Proton’s intention in EV and the like. So, Honda Accord 2.0 Plug-in Hybrid can be a default choice to unseat Camry position not only in Malaysia but ASEAN.

Kudos DRB! Having said that, we do not expecting the Honda Accord will be keep in production like Saga, Perdana, Sentra, Sunny for over 7 years like old business model.

To be fair for the Honda existing buyers, do not make another Inspira-Lancer business model. So far, Honda has very good resale value especially the Civic. Toyota generally enjoy better residual worth.

The alliance will be good if Honda can share a brand new 1.6-liter i-DTEC turbodiesel, the first engine to be of Honda’s Earth Dreams Technology series with 120 PS of power at 4,000 rpm and 300 Nm of torque from 2,000 rpm. The powerplant that help the Civic return 3.6 l/100km combined (78 mpg UK)yet emit mere 94 g/km of CO2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
    • Lazybass on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:24 pm

the assemblies line will be at Melaka, installing the engine and other parts for hybrid car..total invest around 1b, they will be start stage by stage for production line.

• arcana on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:21 pm

the only hope we have for proton is for them to get honda’s hybrid or earth dreams technology.
      while the new 1.6 TDI which likely to require euro 5/6 diesel will remain a dream with our rubbish fuel.

• alldisc on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:11 am

who says Honda has good resale value?

civic 2.0 130K new in 2009, now struggle to sell at 100K. that is 10K depreciation every year (source mudah.my where mostly are used car dealers)

that to me is simply average, not good. of course lah better than kimchis

• albag on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:52 pm

yay i can own Accord Proton now… thanks proton for making my dreams come true!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Congratulation on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:52 pm

This is the Power of Dream.
      Civicpira, Neo CRZ, Saga City, Banana Accord, etc… Dream also can laugh, wahaha.

• plasma on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:53 pm

prepare for the “new proton satria neo replacement based on honda s2000 platform” or the “new honda s2000 replacement based on satria neo platform”!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • adam rayyan on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:55 pm

proton civic belimbing only 70k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Congratulation on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:55 pm

Bro, that one 69k only…
      70k is with 17 inch sport rims :)
      Can’t wait to see this happen.

• -off topic-

How I wish Proton can change their emblem into something simpler, symmetrical and more sophisticated cause I find this ‘harimau’ thingy a lil bit disturbed. Thank God they have changed the colour into black and silver and it looks slightly better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Pumpkins on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:38 pm

Look carefully again…that Harimau logo is screaming crying for Help lah…hutang RM 1 Billion mana tidak kuat nangis

• A rebadge of Brio in the making? That could be a possibility.

• DxY2Gab on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:00 pm

Honda was well-knowned its VTEC thingy. What if Proton try to use VTEC technology? PTEC? LOL!
    “P” can be anything. You name it….LOL~!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • policeman on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:00 pm

No expectations, no disappointments.

That’s the best way to go when it comes to Proton.

• Great! Hopefully, Proton will get to further improve with their nice CFE engine. Get a better development on the interior. And learn to improve their after sales from Honda – atleast, there are some positive part of it.

Praying for the best for Proton!

• no more CFE.. jz throw in K20A TypeR into Preve special edition.. priced at 100k.. will be selling like hot cakes and put a full stop to civic 1.8…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Proton is trying to get petronas engine patent…

• VTECRacing on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:02 pm

So are there any VTEC in a Proton car? H22 engine :D

• skiborne on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:08 pm

collaborate here collaborate there. rolling stone gathers no moss Mr Proton.

• What is the business agenda that Honda agreed to collo with Proton. Is it old stuff sales clearance to Proton? Honda do not require any Tech from Proton or even Lotus. Proton problem not only Technical but attitude of Salesman, Service Center and workmanship quality.

One thing (you can check SAGA) very ugly quality of proton is the gap between door and the body on the top side. You can insert thumb finger. How bad the Proton die tool design. You cant see in Kancil or Kelisa.

We thaught Preve and SAGA will be the kick-off for Proton Indipendent!

Waiting first daughter from the Proton Honda married!.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Maybe the lotus handling ?

• Congratulation on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:00 pm

Perempuan miang is like that la. Play play got pregnant then Inshitla came out. Now play with others, don’t what will come out.
      Can’t wait to see, oh yeah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • “The Power Of Dreams” really happen for most Malaysian, can drive Honda already..

• Congratulation on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:01 pm

Not exactly Honda. It’s Purotong Hondala.
      The power of dream, oh yes.

• Chris on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:14 pm

Goodbye Cam Tak Pro, Hello Vtec engine…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • No need to buy honda as it will come out suck as protong…

• polo saga on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:17 pm

oh no…. honda…. no…. honda will get polluted….

• Xefron on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:22 pm

D/L engine in Saga,Persona
    R engine in Preve,Exora,Waja
    K engine in Perdana Replacement,Neo,Inspira

ahhh gooding yo….one can only dream…

• Great news! I’m expecting proton will improve a lot interms of the quality of car’s interior.. for the Honda’s lovers a.k.a proton bashers(not all).. it looks like the manufacturer are loving proton more than you are

• HONpenDA on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:23 pm

just bring it the “EARTHDREAM” technology.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:25 pm

“It added that the agreement signifies the potential of a long-term strategic collaboration between the two parties, and DRB-Hicom stated that having Honda as the foreign strategic partner will provide Proton and the DRB-Hicom Group with the opportunity to grow as an original equipment manufacturer”.

– The best scenario for this so call collaboration between jaguh kampung and Honda are either as OEM, or contract assembler for Honda car!

• Moshi moshi on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:25 pm

Tahniah Proton!!! i hope that they become a great car company just like Honda. Expecting the coming Proton cars to have better quality. Exora Bold is a great improvement from Proton. i hope that they can continue making greater cars and with the collaboration with Honda….World Class maybe ? :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • LINKY on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:25 pm

Really Hope that PROTON can learn with HONDA and deliver better vehicle to Malaysian.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:27 pm

No details of the collaboration were announced, but expect more details to emerge when DRB-Hicom reveals its business plan for Proton next month.

– Biz plan, this is another goreng saham session! Now buy, buy, buy, buy, ………..

– Later, when Japs tak layan …… Sale, Sale, Sale, Sale ……. saham.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • CBR rider on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:28 pm

proton + honda = poodah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • shawal on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:30 pm

With the current weather trends, I’m sure Honda wishes to move its production in Asean a tweeny bit further south of where it used to be , Tg Malim maybe …
    neway, all the best to both parties, hopefully its a win-win for the manufacturer and consumers, and we don’t get caught in the crossfire

• Proton CRZ coming soon!

• Less likely . Proton’s main focus is on the Sedan and hatchbacks. CR-Z is more like a fun car or weekend car. Not practical for a daily car. Probably some rebadge of City or Civic.

• I guess the status quo remind a la Daihatsu-Toyota on Perodua. No Inspira model BUT Lotus’ credentials in Honda sedan?

IMHO, the best handling of Japanese car is Subaru and Mazda and rear-wheel drive Toyota. Honda driving dynamic not better than Proton Waja or Preve. Lotus-technology can make Civic and Accord more towards Subaru, Lexus and Mazda cars.

Brio? The hatch maybe but still ugly. Focus on electric car and diesel. Opps…what UMW Toyota response to this development? They’re GLCs while DRB is not.

Introduction of Civic 1.6 advance diesel best to adapt with AES world in 2013. Preve with 1.6 diesel is the best Proton offering to Europe, China, Australia, India and Brazil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • They don’t need to jv with proton to get lotus handling, just need to engage lotus engineering to do the ride and handling development. That is the only part of lotus making profit.

• taboogen on Oct 30, 2012 at 8:40 am

any decision will come from PROTON lah dude… if your daughter getting married.. must get approval from you right.. unless you are a useless father.. isnt it

• not father more like pimp, so money talks!
          i qoute from their website “We have a client base that spans the globe from Europe, America, Japan and Asia, and have the proven ability, knowledge and expertise to make your projects succeed.”
          proton see money sure say OK like any pimp.

• pirlo on Oct 30, 2012 at 5:42 pm

haha! dont know how the business run. fyi, lotus is owned by proton.

• Mackaroni on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:33 pm

owhhh..there will be proton cars with honda tech…perhaps a new car with vtec tech within it? sharing of platform?

• West end boys on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:34 pm

Hope this collaboration will improve proton’s quality and get rid of minor problem such as power windows,lock,alarm,cfe and etc

• wheel on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:34 pm

Better sell off your Honda Insight/Jazz Hybrid/CRZ now. Proton may rebadge these hybrid Honda as it doesn’t hav any proven hybrid tech yet. If it does, price/value of such cars will drop. Remember the Proton nspira thingy (eventhough its not hybrid cars) causing havoc to 2nd hand value of Mit Lancers.

• Vincent Ang on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:32 pm

You are right. The collaboration would be more for the hybrid car segment as evidenced by Honda’s investment in their Pegoh plant to assemble such cars. Proton has absolutely no expertise in making hybrid cars. Slapping a few batteries together to drive a motor in an Exora is NOT hybrid technology. Proton will however only get the Honda IMA technology which the latter is going to phase out in favour of a hybrid system similar to that of Toyota. This is not to say the IMA of Honda is not good. However, NO ONE is going to give you their latest technology.

• taboogen on Oct 30, 2012 at 8:44 am

Exora is not a hybrid lah…. know your facts right.. its reev.. range extended EV.. its a fully EV car that can charge it self by using small engine… all the japs are more to hybrid battery and engine powered vehicles.. even nissan leaf have limited milage..
        GET YOUR FACTS RIGHT THEN COMMENT. it wont make you sound silly nor stupid in the future

• Vincent Ang on Oct 31, 2012 at 12:22 pm

A hybrid vehicle is a vehicle that uses an on-board rechargeable energy storage system (RESS) and a fuel based power source for vehicle propulsion. These vehicles use much less fuel than their counterparts and produce less emissions. Hybrid vehicles recharge their batteries by capturing kinetic energy through regenerative braking. Some hybrids use the combustion engine to generate electricity by spinning a generator to either recharge the battery or directly feed power to an electric motor that drives the vehicle. This takes place when cruising or in other situations where just light thrust is needed. You really need to drop your’ Ketuanan’ Proton shit to learn more of the world. Like I said slapping a few batteries together does NOT a hybrid car make. The Proton REEV is nothing but a joke. Same reason the Chevrolet Volt which is an REEV needed deep discounts to get sales moving.

• Proton are one of several company hv reev tech

• adam rayyan on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:34 pm

welcome exora absolute

• incognito on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:38 pm

Well hopefully the collaboration is a positive one and not to mention a long lasting one. On top of that, hopefully this will increase Proton’s quality, workmanship and supply chain as well thanks to Honda’s experience, expertise and technology. I’m sure Proton wouldn’t want to upset Honda if a shitstorm happens on their side.

What would be really interesting to see is the production lineup that will come out from this collaboration.

Assuming the top management tak buat perangai, it would be really interesting to see if either both parties will contribute equally, or contribute to a specific area than the other.

• Honda CEO: Cannot partner with BMW, partner with Proton pun boleh lah. Asia’s BMW ma.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
    • peYno on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:44 pm

cant afford Real Japanese JDM car… buy perodua and put japanese wording sticker… make me feel sooo JDM

prrrtfhhh

• Congratulation on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:07 pm

Yala, the service center can’t fix that time they always say, ” BMW pun macam tu punya”.

• Proton Civica in the making, LOL

• adam rayyan on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:42 pm

honda brand used car will going down huuuuu coz coming new protong vtec will cheap lol

• taboogen on Oct 30, 2012 at 8:47 am

lucky u are not an owner of a company.. if yes then pity your worker will go bankrupt soon

• adam rayyan on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:48 pm

honda owner pls sell yr car before the price will extremely going down…..

• Car value will depreciate anyway even if no colabo…kan nex year PR gov..lol

• Pumpkins on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:54 pm

The worst afftected are Protongs…close to junk price…Smart guys better dump it now

• VIN No on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:51 pm

Its been more than 25 years and Proton still hasnt got an identity to call its own. Jumping from partner to another. They shld make up their mind and direction for the long haul. If not may just end up like some old British marques that have ceased to exist.

• adam rayyan on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:54 pm

proton accord perdana coming soon

• Well wjile everyone is with high anticipation…

Can they do something to the Honda Bikes where due-technology/models are not introduced here…

• danedz on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:00 pm

Proton CRV please…..

• 666devil on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:03 pm

Poor Honda and Toyota. Remember what happened to Mitsubishi cars here?

• nabill on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:05 pm

this is a TWO WAY deal and not a deal jus to benefit proton ONLY…
    kinda lame thinking we wil get exora obsolute,preve civic and all that…i think its gonna be same platform , diferent body panels…this is how VW having success worldwide with their multibrands….
    hope honda integrate protons designs and ride and handling to honda cars…honda get protons vast dealer network…government tax incentives which means cheaper cost…integrate supplier network to improve economies of scale and so much more…i jus hope politics wont ruin this deal…it might take few yrs to see a product that both proton and honda work on bt if done right it might benefits both of them

• alldisc on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:33 am

even all proton radiator grille design copy Honda’s floating sword from Civic FD, evidence in first batch Persona, inspira and FL Saga.

• AngAngAng on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:10 pm

OMG…I need to quickly get rid of my two Hondas before they start to loose car value when Proton drags down Honda’s reputation! Seriously very confused…who rebadge who! Also, Proton don’t dream of Honda’s technology transfer. Honda’s quality requirement s extremely high & place high expectation to it’s vendor. Of course Honda can do that as the price of vehicle fetch high value. Imaging if were to implement them on Proton cars…with so poor quality & consistency

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
    • 4g63tdsm on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:56 pm

High quality Honda?

I’m quite sure you don’t own a Honda out of its Melaka plant.

• taboogen on Oct 30, 2012 at 8:50 am

pity you… dont get it why malaysian have that attitude.. why not sell off yourself if your officemate is better then you.. stupid

• Pumpkins on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:51 pm

Inspirah with Mitsu logo…what that’s mean…you’re stupid fool too

• Theophilus Chin, can you geve an illustration how Proton Accord look like? (dreaming on….)

• anthony, what do you think the possible kind of chemistry will happen from this collaboration? curious to hear from expert like u :)

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:37 pm

I’m curious as to the potential development myself – the MoU by itself is no indicator as to how it will all progress, and how far along it will all go. There are plenty of ramifications, synergistically speaking, as there are complexities, but until things are firmed up beyond the indicative agreement, your guess is as good as mine as to what’s in store.

• lotustuned on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:46 pm

MOU? I tot it says “enter into agreement”? if it really is MOU then memang is P1 tradition lo, quite sometime it hasn’t sign any MOU(-and-forget) already, about time.

• mat yie on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:14 pm

postpone dulu la mau beli itu exora bold.. tunggu proton odysey kuar tahun depan.

• Fuzikawa on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:17 pm

How many partners proton had n it didnt last long..i’m just hoping this is the real one. One thing fir sure, this will push proton share price. The rest, i’d wait for the detail. Proton, prove me wrong!

• taboogen on Oct 30, 2012 at 8:54 am

over 20 years proton partnering with mitsu.. if you didnt know it lah untill they learn to build their own cars..prev tranny are from mit… please dont forget your lancer aka wira dashboard are design by proton engineers.. the japs just copy the design and make it theirs

• Pumpkins on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:21 pm

The power of telor sebiji riuh sekampung lah?

• Dashboard? masih dengan cerita dashboard? after more than 25 years, the dashboard is the only success story you can brag? Proton copy the whole mitsu car, we don’t hear Mitsu brag about it. Dashboard? hahaha…

• Yes, same like lancer.. Everything is mitsubishi.. Just change front, side and rear bumper back to lancer.. Save rm 45,000.00 for taxes. Msia is the best!!

For those ori lancer owners suckers out there… Get smart…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • fauzi on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:31 pm

same old same old….

• Time to sell all your ‘H’onda before it become ‘P’ronda……lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • piss off on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:31 pm

Honda is digging it’s own grave IF allowing a collaboration of rebadging. Honda fans will be piss off. Buyers perspective will definately be negative,divorce it, and seek for other brands. Toyota will be a clear winner here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Congratulation on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:13 pm

Hey Vios, go embrace ur lousy toy, don’t bising bising here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Ash Menon on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:35 pm

The potential for power struggles here is immense. But let’s hope they play nice and come up with something awesome.

• Honda targets 1.6L CFE engine for F1 2014 return…

• Potibala on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:44 pm

How about afte r this we do a rebadge insight at rm 58k

• 666devil on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:45 pm

yeahh… ppl cant wait to sell off their ori lancer. poor ppl…
    That is what happened to mitsubishi supporter. after collaboration, see what happens?

• ae101 on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:27 pm

first mitsu. after got their lancer and conquered market, now layan honda. same trick to get rebadge one of their car. then conquer market also. then toyota, nissan, suzuki and so on…really sick see this kind of news.

• peYno on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:49 pm

Ah beng and 3rd world mentality
    Collaboration = Rebadge

prrrtfhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
    • Well i guess you’re one as well.. Do u know alza is a rebadged of daihatsu.. Ah beng.. Same as myvi a rebadged of toyota.. Everywhere in the world is doing this kind of sharing tehcnology.. I think really have the origins of the 3rd world country

• sad but true

• Congratulation on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:15 pm

Why not? This is Malaysia.
      Low IQ people always think they are smart and up in the world…

• poor_malaysians on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:40 am

Welcome to 3rd world con manufacturer – Proton and Perodua

• Not until the project revealed.

• Where got side bumper, mr wong

• I meant side skirting.. Sorry my iphone digitizer spoilt.. My idiot fren tried to pry open it to change the home
      Screen button

• adam rayyan on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:05 pm

fuyoo i like preve vtec turbo (cfe)

• Clobration means either Honda will supply engines, or rebadging, or only the hot selling joining the collab like brio. Lot of question tinggling, and what about the contract with punch cvt, the Turbo unit,
    Another wait from proton after a long awaiting for the cfe. Y family is another story.

But we hope at least chassis and handling is something that cannot be seperated from proton brand.

• ah_fai on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:12 pm

if there is no taxes on foreign cars, can P-R-O-T-O-N sell their cars? no.
    vios or city or mazda3 or other similar price range compact car should be in S-A-G-A price range but much much more reliable.
    collaboration agreement??? just another marketing strategy to sell their expensive CR@P5 to those f00led people

• LionelStep on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:12 pm

Read the context, and it is mentioned Proton will be an OEM, it means, maybe Proton will be making use of the very large capacity at Tanjung Malim plant to manufacture Honda cars?

• kennykiddz on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:15 pm

hopefully they come out with a better product and lower the price, making their sales higher, so that the other brands will not have more exempted tax. At the end, we won’t be the “sacrificer”.

• Do not day dreaming about MItsubishi Lancer-Saga Mk1, Citroen AX-Tiara, Lancer-Inspira equation BUT decision to prevail existing convention.

I don’t think DRB so silly to destroy the Japanese brand by rebadged engineering.

• nonamem on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:28 pm

new brand proton

http://i299.photobucket.com/albums/mm305/wanaziz/mugen_fd_new_civic_type_r_2copy.jpg

• Eugene on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:29 pm

Hoorayyyy! Soon we will have Honda Accord as Perdana replacement model… hahaha!

• Congratulation on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:30 pm

Rebadge Civic, Civic, Civic, just like you have done to Lancer. More Buttt hurttt, yay yay, karma, wahaha.

What should be it called then? Can’t wait to see this happen.

Congratulation.

• Dato Jack on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:35 pm

open ur eyes son.. people get married its call a partnership.. proton its good, but honda its better.. to be better we need to learn from a greater.. honda produce jet, we still produce car.. nothing to shame son.. 25years old is a like a youngster grad frm university.. thier’re more 100 years in this industry.. think positive..not for us, but for future…peace yoo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Carl Wong on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:36 pm

20 Years late I think but still better than never…………………..

• Dr. M on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:41 pm

VTEC and MIVEC….Proton can do a MITEC! Sounds MyTec…

• hahaha, this is the good news from DRB for Proton. I really like this agreement

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • mark clattenburg on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:50 pm

“The report adds that as part of the deal, the Japanese automaker will help Proton build its own engine, and there will also be platform sharing arrangements, with efforts to fill up the production capacity void at Proton’s under-utilised Tanjung Malim plant. The source adds that it will take about six months to get the ball rolling, but that the effects will be positive for DRB-Hicom’s bottom line.”

new engine.
    platform sharing.
    honda rolling out from tanjung malim’s plant.

• Jonathan Lee on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:55 pm

Wow, wasn’t expecting that at all, although its collaboration with DRB-Hicom meant it sorta made sense. Good guess, Anthony.

And it’s great news; Honda invests heavily in R&D and Proton will definitely gain from years of Honda producing reliable, efficient and sporty cars. I do have a few questions, though.

Firstly, what’s gonna happen to the Mitsubishi joint venture? Weren’t Proton and Mitsubishi going to work on a small car together? And what’s going to happen to the Inspira?

Secondly, doesn’t Honda already have a strong foothold on the market? The City already competes almost head-on with some Proton models, and Honda has an extensive dealer and service network here. History dictates that when a manufacturer collaborates with Proton it is usually forced out of the market. Is that going to happen to Honda too? If so, that would be a shame.

Thirdly, didn’t Honda just add a second line at their Pagoh plant? Out of their lineup, the only cars not produced here are the petrol-powered Jazz (the Jazz Hybrid is slated to be produced on the new line), the Insight and the CR-Z. How is Honda going to use up the capacity at Tanjung Malim? Or are they banking on demand increasing for improved products resulting from their joint venture?

And last, but not least, does this mean Lotus will stop using Toyota engines and start using Honda’s? And perhaps more importantly, does this present an opportunity for Honda to return to Formula One?

• Jonathan Lee on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:20 pm

Also, if you’re expecting rebadged Hondas, do be wary: the last time Hondas were rebadged as a result of a joint venture (does anyone remember the Rover 200, 400, 600 and 800?), it didn’t go terribly well…

• hmm it’s probably time to sell my city incase they come out with inspira-alike project that screw up the 2nd hand value

• fel33 on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:04 pm

Yahoo…. I support the collaboration….can’t wait to change my myvi to Proton Civic or even Proton CRV.

Hello Proton, may we when can this be realize?

• No free lunch bro... on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:00 am

Please be constructive minded….. Proton crv…. Hahaha!

• Proton+honda= no more proton…proton sold off to honda.so honda no need to build new manufacturing plant..for asean market.
    Drb only eat commission for the sales…easy money…
    Dreams on proton with vtec…kihkih

• 4g63tdsm on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:06 pm

So fast talking of getting new engine.

The cfe is still quite new and unless there are inherently things wrong with it, why is proton looking to Honda for new engines…? I find it hard to believe that the engine was developed with such a shortsighted view.

Small turbo charged engines are the way to go and the cfe is probably protons best move. I doubt Honda is going to help much as they themselves are quite slow on force fed engines.

• Jonathan Lee on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:21 am

Incremental changes are made to engines all the time. Honda are renowned for their engines, either for their performance(i-VTEC), efficiency (i-DSI) or refinement (i-DTEC diesel). I’m sure that experience will help Proton improve their own engines further, even if Honda does not have much to give in terms of forced induction.

They do turbocharge their diesel engines, though. Actually, that could be the gold mine in this deal: if Proton wants to be taken seriously in Europe it desperately needs a diesel engine. Honda can help either by assisting Proton in engineering their own or simply handing them their i-DTECs.

• whitefox on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:16 pm

May be the thailand flood hurt the thai plant so badly that honda no dare to invest the hybrid model to install there and using Proton tanjung malim plant as hybrid assemble point is safer choice for them if there plane to expand more hybrid model in future.

BTW i see honda my interest with REEV hybrid which lotus have available engine already which there can save some cost design new one :P

• b sensible on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:22 pm

ok then, will the partnership introduce cng version of city to msia?

• Faster sell honda car. If not, then wait landed as mitsubishi inspira or proton lancer gt.

• alberttee on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:45 pm

just hope honda car sell here will not drop the quality just like the proton. Honda is not longer the ori honda. “the power of dream”?? the accord just like camry ,civic just like altis. Miss you Mr.Soichiro Honda and your philosophy.

• plasma on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:47 pm

with this honda can shut down their thailand plant and start manufacturing in malaysia. remember last year thailand flood that caused big loss to honda?

• Jonathan Lee on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:24 am

Actually their Thai plant is already back up and running; that’s why we now have the facelifted City and the new Civic. The City’s introduction here was delayed because the floods, remember?

• plasma on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:52 pm

yeah. better for them to consider malaysia plant as their main plant and thailand’s as their backup plant

• Hantu on Oct 30, 2012 at 7:32 am

I sure hope Honda will move their ops from Thailand to Malaysia. Good for us … but I hope that DRB will now screw up

• Should I be surprised to see Saga City, Persona Civic, Preve Accord, Exora Stream and NEO Jazz?

• The dream is turning into a nightmare, for Honda owners..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Mini Honda on Oct 30, 2012 at 1:44 am

Drb once mentioned: Proton will never rebadge again.
      probably like this: Honda shell with whole new Proton design. so Honda and proton looks totally different!
      Honda will remain honda, Proton will remain as honda to fight in the international market as low to midrange car.
      DRb wont so stupid downgrade proton back like years before.

• Smart people get old tools and cast from old models, perhaps 1999 model Honda Accord and let Potong syok sindili rebadge…Smart people like Japs wont let Potong rebadge current or last generation models

• udeng on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:01 am

Pronda in the making

• watcher on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:10 am

Damn. So now I am driving a Honda Sivik. I was thinking of buying Honda Accord next. Maybe I wait for Proton Ikut. Why in the world the Proton brand can withstand 30 years of embarrassment? I believe Proton is more to just being a so called car manufacturer. I believe it is being used to transport and exchange many important things for the people with stake in it. How can a carmaker not making money? I wonder where all the profits gone to. And they might as well declare to the whole world that it is a cheap company and any brands wanna come and touch, pinch, stay for a while, pls come cos it is cheap. Collaboration my behind. Damn malu!! As a national brand. Pls la no shame to shut it down than continue to let it bleed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Jonathan Lee on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:25 am

Um, have you had a look at carmakers in Europe recently?

• magpie on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:13 am

Finally some good news from drb. Personally, I don’t think P1 would rebadge Honda cars. But if they at least, plant those hybrids engines in saga/persona/preve..

Oh, please reduce the cost of those hybrid batteries as well.

And 6 airbags… And those type r thingy.. (I’m not asking too much, am I?)

• Megane on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:32 am

Damn u proton , i thought you wanna copulate ops collaborate with Rolls Royce so that we can put kayu jati meranti or kayu getah inserts at the dashboard and play dam haji or mahjung inside our new Proton Putar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • 2013 – Saga FLX with 1.5 VTec
    2014 – Proton Civic 1.6 CFE
    2015 – Proton Preve 1.8/2.0 Vtec

• Mini Honda on Oct 30, 2012 at 1:47 am

Now i know why DRB pour in so much money at Proton City @ Tanjung Malim!.

1. To assemble VW car!
    2. To assemble Honda car!
    3. and some other brand which DRB hicom has been handling..
    soon, it’s fully utilised!

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Oct 30, 2012 at 1:53 am

Again, we must read this announcement with a pinch of salt. When Honda sends the quotation to Proton to copy their technologies, DRB will pengsan and nothing will come out of this…there are no free lunches yo…

• mohd rafidee on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:12 am

Don’t count the chix b4 it is hatched.
    Hold on your horses guys, cos Honda and Proton form this JV to explore collaboration opportunities. Honda never allow Proton to use their engines outright. They will only offer technical assistance to develope P1’s new engine.
    Doubt about technology tranfer cos P1 doesn’t add value to Honda. DRB and Honda is more
    interested in utilising and jump starting the Tg Malim white elephant. So wait for the official “turnaround plan” for Proton b4 u even “Dare To Dream”.

• Sharu on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:24 am

Wow…what a predictable surprise. This collaboration does not or will not be beneficial to Proton instead to Honda n DRB Hicom. Honda could assemble and sell it cheap as the automotive industry is not so stable at the moment especially the % of buying cars varies of maker reduce globally. If DRB Hicom plays their card properly, Proton will soon drag them self into the slum. The first step to eliminate existing branding is to bring in foreign partnership.
    Anyway I’m not a kipas of proton or fancy their current models

• dass G on Oct 30, 2012 at 5:43 am

WAHHH, so lucky as for the lazy Proton workers!
    They’d get a VTec engine for their ugly cars while lying on their easy chair having teh tarik and nasi lemak!
    Hmm…wish I could work for Potong also.
    I can make money selling ice cream to their engineers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • smiley on Oct 30, 2012 at 4:22 pm

How do you know they are lazy? Just curious.. You’re Proton’s worker too, aren’t you?

• Honda Tsubasa is cute on Oct 30, 2012 at 6:06 am

kerajaan negeri Melaka sekarang pakai Honda Accord 2.4L tahun 2012…

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-qAoJ2up9GRE/T_Q4WYbb8cI/AAAAAAAAAO0/MFrpXP6L2PM/s1600/Honda+1.JPG

Honda Jepun tengah melobi kerajaan Malaysia untuk bawa masuk Honda Accord 2.4L sebagai pengganti Proton Perdana 2013 sebagai kegunaan rasmi kerajaan Malaysia
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T-XBqmwmyKg

agreement baru sign separuh je rasanya.. ada lagi susulan lepas ni.

• Curious man on Oct 30, 2012 at 7:03 am

Seriously, some people here talk as if they were involved in the deal. Do you think Honda or Proton are stupid enough to enter an agreement that is bias to one party? I know there is risk in any business but come on, I am sure they have done their analysis. Give it time. But I guess, basher gonna bash. Oh, I drive a Honda by the way if that means anything to the argument. :)

• if they come out with a “Pronda civic” based on the previous generation Honda civic at discounted price and Proton build quality, would u buy?

• vtecampro on Oct 30, 2012 at 7:27 am

what to anger. This is a business. honda long proton peer collaborations. protons were looking for a partner. honda is great motoring industry members. everything is money. $ $ $ If you are the owner of a brand new still motoring you must do the same thing. Hahahaha all about profit.

• Shawnwjh on Oct 30, 2012 at 7:28 am

It is somehow a good news after all for Malaysians, when Proton is too much monopolized by Barisan National using extremely high taxation for imported car,and Proton is earning billions of money from the low income Malaysians. But Im not expecting the price of the products will be decreased much from Proton, the best choice for cheaper car is only to vote for PRK for the coming election.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • fuel cell phone on Oct 30, 2012 at 7:38 am

hmm, 1st collaboration plan would be rebadging honda brio, no?

honestly, i really hope proton could improve their manufacturing qaqc from this new collaboration with honda

• terra on Oct 30, 2012 at 7:49 am

Proton need a Perdana replacement model for govt official use, they tried with Nissan Fuga but failed …. now we gonna have rebadged Accord as Perdana. Look on the bright side, new Accord at Perdana price ????

• Abuya on Oct 30, 2012 at 7:59 am

Lihatlah dengan hati yang terbuka. First, eat toyota market is disregarded. Sebab ia PROTON. Honda market might drop but look at this, Honda Malaysia own by DRB which also own proton. Laymen said, dulu duit masuk ikut poket kanan. Now poket kiri. Still same right?
    2nd, proton will use honda parts which also same to honda. When widely use, there are many grade available at spare part shop, from original, oem, local or even replica. Laymen said, kalau tak cukup duit nak repair kereta, ada option lain untuk dapatkan parts harga murah. Sama macam kapcai EX5. Pergi ceruk kampung mana pun, mekanik tahu repair dan ada spare part.
    3rd, it might cater certain buyer. So goes to Inspira. Again, if Proton City E is 62k and Honda city E 88k, which 1 you gonna buy where alza only 55k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Campro Vtec coming soon. haha

• Campro Vtec /i-Vtec coming soon. Vroooommmmmmmmmm ROAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Perutdua will DIE very soon..

why people buy perutdua? because of Daihardsu and Toyoita engine..

So, later all rebadge model from Honda.. nobody want to buy OVERPRICE Perutdua anymore

• Fredo on Oct 30, 2012 at 8:37 am

errmm…perhaps we might see a 160hp honda b16a in a Neo..and yet its legal…

• Pumpkins on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:01 am

Hmmm…let’s see inside my magic bowl…those cannot see are anak haram Protong goons…

Oh no…Honda will suffer eventually…

Almost entire Honda buyers dumped their car to buy Toyota…even new buyers are avoiding Honda…

Looks like a bad vibe is infectious like a STD disease…this time Honda caught it from Protong…Anything got to do with Protong surely bad luck move…

Bad news for Honda lah sorry to say…why make a fool of itself kahwin janda Protong…just because she got a big house in Tanjung Malim but her anak hutang RM 1 billion pun tarak guna juga kahwin koboi…

Yes the big winners are Perodua, Toyota and Porsche…car buyers show their support to Protong by buying those brands instead HA HA HA

Sorry Honda…you should learn from your pal Mitsubishi…Smart guys get it lah HA HA HA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
  • encik nur on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:06 am

Proton Stream or Honda Exora?

• Expatriate VN on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:13 am

After 3 weeks, this news will be quite, then start another announcement for collaboration, strategic partnership, smart OEM, etc.

Aiyaaaa, not goreng pisang, but goreng saham only!

• Bongcs on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:14 am

Oh, 1Malaysia comment… thats why i loved about my country… early morning sitting in front of the office desk.. going through all comments, made me felt that we as the citizen of Malaysia are very warmly…cute…and sensible…

• rebadged honda soon?
    so inspira phasing out soon…

• jjchew on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:24 am

actually i don’t mind seeing rebadged versions of Honda models at a cheaper price… i see many also don’t mind with Inspira…. its the performance and the quality of the car that counts…

at the end of the day, if not enough ‘gaya’ carrying the proton logo on the car bonnet… we can always buy some Honda logos and ask our mechanic to replace the Proton badges… :P

• gtmaniac on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:43 am

Good. Hope with colaboration will result in new line of engines to replace the seriously-underpowered Campros, first and foremost. But i read somewhere Petronas engine also will replace the Campro too.

And, judging from comments above, Proton seriously need more exciting cars/suv/mpv in their line-up. Advantage points from both Proton (design, handling, mantainence etc) and Honda (quality, engineering, technology) hopefully we could achive this.

• KillBox1Alpha on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:48 am

Hahahaha….get ready all current Honda owners…rebadged Accord, CRV, Civic and City coming soon…and it will be cheaper…..

• Oregano on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:49 am

Many years ago Honda (Japan) JV with Rover(UK). When Rover was put up for sale, it was sold to BMW much to the disgust of Honda. After BMW taken all the Land Rover tech to make X1, it dumps Rover. A marriage of convience has its risks.

• apa nama….. awaiting for our Dr M commentlah

• hahaha… just enjoy reading all your comments..still early to judge how far and deep their collaboration

• I dont see any problem proton collaborating with Honda. It was a shockingnews but i hope Proton not only learn their tech but also Japs working attitude. Change ur typical malay tidak apa attitude in order to be competitive. So that proton will not be protected anymore and majority can at least own a better car rather than just proton and perodua while stupid mamak drives porsche and bugatti.

• I think honda wants because of:
    i. Lotus
    ii. Proton Facilities

Later everything would be re-badge.eg Proton Siti,

• tok-kok on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:03 am

Proton Year 2013 model as below :-
    Proton Jass
    Proton Sivic & Proton Eccord.

“Name by Proton, License by Honda & Tuned by Lotus”

• Better you all start selling all those HONDAs of yours before it start to depreciate when the cheaper version came out. Learn from Lancer vs Inspira case.

• Chow1 on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:07 am

It’s the end of Honda Malaysia. Period.

• Ah Beng on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:14 am

Honda / Proton…and where does this leave Volkswagen? Are they out of the picture?

• honda preve

• Hukaka on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:33 am

Wow just like Mitsubishi please give us a out dated technology,
    We need a old VTEC,haha.the new tech as proton are still cannot handle well.haha.

• tokmoh on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:42 am

Sign MoU only mah. Take this news with a pinch of salt la everyone, how many times in the past Proton sign MoU, end up what happened? Sign with PSA la, Nissan la, Mitsu la, blablabla, just search paultan “proton sign mou”.

End up, out of all those MoUs, the only one visible outcome I see is the rebadge of Inspira. Lain2 semua takat umpan nak pancing higher share price. Keyword in this news: “Bursa Malaysia”

Although, Proton Sivik Hibrid would’ve been nice to have, but… yaoming.jpg

• MatLimMutu on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:53 am

All the best to Proton & Honda. I just want a decent car with reasonable price.

• Maserati on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:03 pm

Dont know why Honda wants to collaborate with a rubbish automaker like Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • hang tuah on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:19 pm

Why our Gov still no plan to reduce the tax? Proton jadi hebat now. Proton is time to release ‘Tongkat’, Proton able to independence, survive in global market. If Gov still insist high tax on vehicles, then we should consider to change Gov.

• terra on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:32 pm

Why are you fellas so excited(187) and angry (152)about this collaboration with Honda. Go to Honda official world website, nothing on the collaboration. Looks like one sided love affair.

• Norman on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:37 pm

I sense Honda only assist in technical terms for engine development and in return Honda can fully utilise Lotus engineering system for their cars too.Its like win-win situation for both parties.Do you think Honda is so noob to let Proton use their engine wholefully?

• ProtonDanlain-lain on Oct 30, 2012 at 1:10 pm

Proton will just use Honda engines and their green tech for Proton cars thats all…dont think Honda really need Proton, Honda already have factories in Thailand,Indonesia and Malaysia why bother with more headache with company like Proton ? I am sure govt. will give Honda many sweets deals for the trouble. Rakyat will benefits from it i am sure but dont expect cheaper cars that for sure !

• beatnik on Oct 30, 2012 at 4:20 pm

and how would rakyat benefit from this deal if no reduction in car prices?

a proton with a honda engine? more reliable yes, but im sure cost will be higher. not to mention the problem with proton cars are not only the engine but the whole she-bang.

don’t get too excited with “proton-power-by-vtec-handling-by-lotus” yet..

this deal somehow upsets many honda supporters.

• Sushimonster on Oct 30, 2012 at 1:26 pm

I happen to think the Inspira looks nicer than the Lancer, and it’s the best looking rebadge job so far by proton. I don’t think Mitsubishi was ever in the losing end but instead they earn a lot of royalties. If you owned Mitsubishi and you stand to lose money by signing a deal with Proton… would you sign it?

• Aiyoyo…so predictable. DRB-Hicom owns 100% of Hicom Honda which owns 48% of Honda Malaysia i.e. Syed fella is controlling.Proton owns 42.7% controlling stake in Proton. What is sooooo suprising. Sugar prices gone up (Tradewinds)because of this fella, so expect same from car industry lah. Gomen announces no reduction on Excise Duty is a very clear signal to us. Probably, they will install all the obsolete IMA into all the Saga, Preve, and Exora models while Honday globally embark in full hybrid and elecrtic cars.

• lets get one thing straight, as a Malaysian we all love proton but we hate the cronies that uses proton to rip us off. if proton would to have a proper tendering process for their vendors and suppliers that would not over charge, then imagine how cheap can the saga be. without those bloodsucking cronies a saga might be sold at 20-30K with tax. that’s a min of 2 years loan and max of 5 years to pay that off. its possible but not with the government and environment that Malaysia is in right now. there is just too many free loader in Malaysia.

• spyshotX on Oct 30, 2012 at 3:08 pm

“Under the agreement, Proton and Honda will explore collaboration opportunities in the areas of technology enhancement, new product line up, PLATFORM and facilities’ SHARING, the statement said.”

platform sharing & rebadging are totally two different things..

platform sharing –> hyundai elantra md = kia forte k3

rebadging –> perodua myvi = daihatsu boon = toyota passo

• I can see that Honda need Proton-Lotus handling; Gen-2/Persona easly eat City… Preve event better; also Neo; Geen tech (EV), remeber, Proton is winner at London… And Honday want Lotus for back to F1… i think Proton might need to give more to gain something…

• persona b18cr / k20a will be nice…

• Honda Tsubasa is very cute on Oct 30, 2012 at 3:34 pm

apsal ntah komen kat sini semuanya hahaha je aku baca

komen tokmoh ni dari dulu asyik nak tergelak je aku baca…

tokmoh, sekarang aku citer apa yang aku nampak.. aku rasa dia punya mastermind ni, Dr Mahathir ni.. sebab tetiba je nama Honda ni naik.. ada kaitan dengan projek PETRONAS dengan HONDA dulu ni.

untuk sokong kenyataan aku, aku kepilkan sekali rujukan aku (kalau tak bubuh rujukan memang mampus kena bakar beratus kali kat dalam internet ni, troll banyak yang amat).. disebabkan agak panjang jadi aku letak sekali nombor, supaya senang tokmoh nak komen

tarikh paultan tempek berita ni “Proton and Honda ink collaboration agreement” ialah pada 29 October 2012 7:00 pm… dan dia tulis “No details of the collaboration were announced, but expect more details to emerge when DRB-Hicom reveals its business plan for Proton next month.”

untuk tahu apa dia kerjasama susulan kerjasama PROTON-HONDA ni, kita cuba flashback tarikh artikel paultan ni kebelakang sikit bagi nampak gambaran masa depan kerjasama PROTON-HONDA ni.

1) kerjasama pembikinan enjin baru bersama PROTON-HONDA (yang aku rasa macam ada harapan besar)

kerjasama Malaysia-Jepun ni bukan suatu benda baru lagi-lagi apabila ada nama Honda ni tetiba je timbul, dulu masa PETRONAS MALAYSIA nak mengorak langkah ke arah perniagaan antarabangsa, tak nak bergantung 100% kepada reserve minyak dalam Malaysia je.. idea Dr Mahathir juga la ni.. PETRONAS MALAYSIA guna platform F1 sebagai strategi penjenamaan antarabangsa… masa tu memang Dr Mahathir nasihatkan ambil jurutera utama projek F1 Honda iaitu Osamu Goto, dia ni juga yang reka kereta juara F1 kepada lagenda F1 Ayrton Senna, juga ketua jurutera Honda untuk projek Honda NSX.. sekarang tahun 2012, dia dah balik semula ke Honda untuk jadi jurutera utama projek enjin motosikal MotoGP Honda yang dah menang kejuaraan MotoGP 2012.. projek F1 Honda pula, sampai sekarang top speed dia tiada siapa boleh lawan lagi.

Masa Malaysia dibawah syarikat Petronas buat kerjasama dengan jurutera utama F1 Honda iaitu Osamu Goto, dia diberi tugasan untuk jadi ketua jurutera Sauber Petronas Engineering AG (yang fokus utama dia ialah buat enjin F1 sendiri), masa tu buat kerjasama dengan Red Bull.. sebab tu pasukan dia nama Red Bull Sauber Petronas F1 Team, share syarikat tu, 60% Red Bull pegang, 40% pula Sauber Petronas Engineering AG pegang.. Malaysia hantar paling kurang 50 orang jurutera tempatan (kalau tak silap aku) untuk timba ilmu pembikinan enjin dari jurutera utama projek F1 Honda, Osamu Goto tu.

antara jurutera Malaysia yang terlibat dalam pembikinan enjin F1 sendiri bersama jurutera utama F1 Honda, Osamu Goto, ada dalam video iklan rasmi rasmi Petronas yang ditayang di TV Malaysia masa tu

ini video dia..
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s25DfFvJoS4

mula-mula dulu Dr Mahathir dan pengurusan Petronas cuba bincang dengan Jepun untuk dapatkan patent enjin YAMAHA V10 untuk projek enjin F1 pertama Malaysia iaitu dalam projek Red Bull Sauber Petronas.. tapi tetiba masa tu, tahun 1998,seluruh Asia dilanda krisis ekonomi.. jadi hasrat nak bina enjin F1 sendiri guna patent YAMAHA V10 tu terpaksa dibatalkan sebab nak buat pembangunan dia ambil banyak masa dan mesti banyak duit, terus tukar strategi ambil enjin Ferrari tahun sebelum dia, buat balik re-engineering bersama ketua jurutera Honda, Osamu Goto tu pastu namakan enjin dia Petronas 05A 3.0 V10.. benda ajaib yang berlaku masa ni ialah Kimi Raikkonen yang masa tu banyak orang ragui kebolehan dia sebab terlalu muda dapat catat masa #1 terpantas di litar Australia guna enjin petronas yang dibina bersama jurutera utama projek F1 Honda sebelum tu, Osamu Goto.

dari projek F1 enjin tu, buat lagi projek motosikal berkuasa besar PETRONAS FP1 yang pada asalnya dirancang untuk bertanding dalam MotoGP, semuanya bersama jurutera utama F1 Honda sebelum tu bernama Osamu Goto.

bila baca artikel dari btimes bertarikh Tuesday, October 30, 2012, 01.46 PM
    “As part of the agreement, the Japanese company will help Proton build its own engine.” ~
    http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIMES/articles/20121028233224/Article/index_html#ixzz2AlRgmX9Z

dan artikel dari Berita Harian bertarikh 2012/10/23 – 08:22:08 AM

“Proton Holdings Bhd akan menggunakan enjin E01 yang dimajukan PETRONAS untuk model baru serta model gantian keluarannya bermula tahun depan. (tahun 2013)”
    http://www.bharian.com.my/bharian/articles/PROTONgunaenjinPETRONAS/m/mArticle

maka memang itu la tujuan utama DRB-Hicom dan PROTON buat kerjasama dengan HONDA ni, majukan semula projek enjin berasaskan teknologi F1 yang sebelum ni dibina bersama jurutera utama F1 Honda, Osamu Gotu.

tapi di bursa saham Malaysia tulis, bertarikh 29 October 2012,
    “The Collaboration Agreement shall continue to be in force until the execution of the final agreements to establish the Proposed Collaboration unless the parties mutually agreed not to proceed with the Collaboration Agreement.” ~ http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed-companies/company-announcements/1102929

maknanya benda ni semua masih di tahap MoU baru, belum final lagi.. ada susulan lagi lepas ni.. tapi memang sah la aku ingat memang PROTON akan bina enjin bersama HONDA lepas ni.

2) Model gantian PROTON PERDANA untuk kerajaan ada kebarangkalian besar adalah berasaskan Honda Accord 2.4 Liter.

Honda Accord 2013
    www.youtube.com/watch?v=T-XBqmwmyKg

citer ni dah lama, berita dia sejak dari tahun 2010 lagi, ikut laporan akhbar berita harian bertarikh 2010/07/19 – 05:29:53 AM

“Proton dijangka naik taraf model premium guna enjin 2.4 liter” – http://www.bharian.com.my/bharian/articles/ProgramgantiPerdanadilaksanaawal2011/Article

tengok-tengok tahun 2012, kerajaan negeri Melaka sekarang dah pakai 17 buah kereta Honda Accord 2.4 Liter, rasanya Honda Malaysia dan DRB-Hicom yang sponsor tu sempena Honda nak buat kilang terbesar dia di Melaka dan juga nak semua orang kerajaan pakai kereta Honda Accord nanti, bawah nama PROTON PERDANA.

itu pasal la aku ingat kat dalam artikel bursa saham Malaysia, dia sebut

“This Agreement signifies the potential of a long-term strategic collaboration with HONDA MOTOR. Having a strong and renowned global automotive player like HONDA MOTOR as the foreign strategic partner to PROTON will provide PROTON and the DRB-HICOM Group with the opportunity to grow as an Original Equipment Manufacturer (“OEM”), as the opportunities are endless. This collaboration will provide positive impact to PROTON and the DRB-HICOM Group in the long run.” ~ http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed-companies/company-announcements/1102929

maknanya.. yang betul jadi lepas ni, yang Honda setuju sangat ialah penggantian semua kereta PROTON PERDANA 2013 adalah semuanya nak bagi pakai berasaskan Honda Accord, tu pasal DRB-Hicom kata ada peluang besar jadi Original Equipment Manufacturer (“OEM”) untuk jangka masa panjang.. maknanya benda tu memang diaorang dah setuju lama dah.. akan ada susulan lagi lepas ni terutamanya untuk pembikinan enjin bersama PROTON-HONDA lepas ni, diaorang nak revive balik projek enjin petronas berasaskan teknologi F1 yang dibina bersama jurutera utama F1 Honda dulu.

itu la yang aku nampak sekarang ni tokmoh.. apapun kena tunggu susulan perjanjian dia, yang mungkin akan ada pengumuman rasmi dia di Malaysia pula.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 7
    • magpie on Oct 30, 2012 at 4:55 pm

Kajian yg bagus! Respek. So Accord is the most likely car to undergo the first rebadging?

• pirlo on Oct 30, 2012 at 5:57 pm

komen seperti ini yang reader mahukan! bagi facts and figures juga bukti attachment yang lain.

basher yang lain, sembang meletup. bercakap macam dia yang jadi decision maker. view sume bodoh-bodoh belaka dan tak membina langsung.

bagaimana mahukan orang luar respect malaysians kalau semua bersembang tanpa berfikir?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • kerja on Oct 30, 2012 at 6:16 pm

best giler bro, macam tesis master..

• farghmee on Oct 31, 2012 at 8:59 am

nice pieces of puzzle put together :)

• Well Written.. A+

• The AnonymousSSS on Oct 30, 2012 at 3:37 pm

Congrats to Proton…waiting for their upcoming project…Proton + Honda = ???….

• Julian Lee on Oct 30, 2012 at 4:45 pm

Proton Insight

• vee-oh on Oct 30, 2012 at 4:57 pm

learn Proton, dont waste it..u guys basically have nothing now compared to Honda

• You think these prople will learn? Once they get a little bit of advantage, they will kick Honda out, just like how they kick Mitsu after launching the Gen2.

• tengkorak on Oct 30, 2012 at 5:30 pm

whatever it is, please make sure we get the better quality car from proton. please learn from Honda how to sell and survive. and please don’t just rebadge their car only…

• pergh on Oct 30, 2012 at 6:57 pm

as long they can sell cheap, then maybe its worth to collaborate. after all, theres no such thing as ‘national car’. others (perodua,naza) also just rebadge.

• niceone on Oct 30, 2012 at 8:43 pm

Honda – The Power of Dreams
    Proton – Keep Dreaming

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • Sandy on Oct 31, 2012 at 9:04 pm

I found this offensive. but, it’s quite funny though.

Proton – Committed to be better
      Honda – Committed to suicide

• Having a strong and renowned global automotive player like HONDA MOTOR as the foreign strategic partner to PROTON will provide PROTON and the DRB-HICOM Group with the opportunity to grow as an Original Equipment Manufacturer (“OEM”), as the opportunities are endless
    What if the upcoming Preve hatchback use Civic like speedometer? Awesome right? (People always complaint Preve’s interior not futuristic ma…)

• abe ja on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:26 pm

my wish is that under drb, proton can stand up on its own strength as a business entity, so that the protection scheme can be abolished.thus,lower taxes for imported cars, and more competitive market pricing.

• AnCua on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:42 pm

New vehicle from proton is going to be named potong steam derive from Honda Stream. AHHAHAHAHA

• Yusuf on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:43 pm

I hope no foreigners are reading these comments… Embarassing

• benzema on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:28 pm

to those who intended giving out unintelligent comments, please use our local language.

• Just Another Malaysian on Oct 31, 2012 at 10:48 am

benzema, tapi sekarang sudah ada Google Translate.. orang putih pun boleh salin dan lekat dan klik ‘translate’ .. lolz.. :P

• terra on Oct 31, 2012 at 7:55 am

So now we have 4 rebadging(national) car companies in Malaysia. Proton (from mitsu to citreon to renault to mitsu to honda) have gone backward to rebadging, Perodua(Toyota/Daihatsu) rebadghing from day one till now, Inokom(from Renault to Hyundai)and last but not least Naza (Kia). Maybe more than 4, you guys can help me on this.

• alldisc on Oct 31, 2012 at 1:26 pm

proton never rebadge renault cars, other than using its engine and transmissions…. 1.8 for waja, 1.2 for Savvy with AMT sourced from Renault Clio 1992 model.

it is not a 1.2 actually, as its actual displacement is 1149cc. it should be known as 1.1. or 1.15 (like how Ford used to call its Fiesta 1.25 some 10 yrs back)

• proton have own engine campro,but perodua not,all car made by toyota

• hippo on Oct 31, 2012 at 9:05 am

Oh dear, here goes all your Honda second hand value. Remember last time when Proton rebadge the Mitsubishi Lancer to Inspira, the price diff was from RM120k to RM90k, those who buy the Lancer was so piss off. Same thing will happen here with Honda. The Perdana replacement model most probably will be the Accord and for sure the price will be much much cheaper than the original Accord. Initially my father wanted to trade in his Accord for the new one, but now he decided to go for Passat. Btw, will proton service center be servicing new honda car?

• alldisc on Oct 31, 2012 at 1:09 pm

honda might give us a different Accord to be Perdana. remember Honda has many versions of Accord including Ascot, Vigor, Inspire, Rafaga and the smaller Accord Euro.

currently malaysia gets Accord Inspire – simple reason why the car is so huge in terms of dimensions compare to other competitors. else, the standard Accord is more or less similar in size with Camry. (Camry cannot go any bigger because there is Mark X above, as well as Aristo while Accord only has Legend to worry, which is direct rival to Celsior)

• ezracopters on Oct 31, 2012 at 10:59 am

my lord,

Honda Tsubasa is very cute on Oct 30, 2012 at 3:34 pm, you are super genius..

speachless, i was about to bash for no reason hehehe, and then i read yoour comment. i’m suprise to see there r still reasonable guy in this blog..

dont get me wrong Paultan, your writing are good as always been, but ur commenter .. hahaha super duper childish. including me.. i think whenever someone make a scene here, the rest of us just follow thru for no reason. hehe infectious maybe.

again, Honda Tsubasa is very cute on Oct 30, 2012 at 3:34 pm..thank you for that kind of info. now it make sense.

• Just Another Malaysian on Oct 31, 2012 at 11:06 am

Reading the comments above tickles me. My very first car was a Proton. And it will stay that way in the past tense until Proton delivers quality in production and parts.

All things come into play. Cheap cars equals cheap parts. Driving the cost down of your OEM suppliers won’t help you achieve better quality products/parts. Instead you will be promoting production more worst off parts.

I hope Proton realize they need to first master the art of Lean Manufacturing. Trim all those ‘fats’ around their stocks and productions. Then goto the vendors and trim their ‘fats’ away too. Produce quality parts at reasonable price by practicing Lean Manufacturing processes.

But of course, the government will also need to play a part in this. By protecting Proton, you are destroying Proton. Let the fair competition rolls in. Cut those excise duties. By giving competition to Proton, they will need to realize they have to be ‘big boys’ now and no longer can they depend on their ‘mommy’ aka government for protection or funding. This might sound cruel but its the only way forward. A good example why SIA (Singapore Airlines) become World Renown is because Singapore government gave them a single lumpsum of capital and let them loose out there to fight. Either they succeed as a National Brand or they don’t. Simple as that.

Honda + Proton collaboration should be viewed as an opportunity for Proton to learn. Of course, transfer technology is merely and mostly lip-service. Do not expect much of that sense but I would definitely prefer Proton to take the opportunity to learn how to trim ‘fats’ and be sharp as like a samurai blade in their manufacturing process, quality control, vendor selections process, enhancing further their knowledge of employee training programs, people and resource managements and stuffs like that. Having the best machinery and the best material and the best design will still not make Proton successful if the management and employees is not at their best.

Here I toast and hope Proton will finally climb out from darkness after more than 20 years sitting in it. Time for Proton to come out and shine.. and for god sakes.. make me a Malaysian I can truly be proud of cuz its sickening to read that we still have many Racist and World-Greatest Dumbass politicians in our beautiful country.

• KISEKI on Oct 31, 2012 at 1:47 pm

rumors say, PROTON WANNA REBADGE HONDA BRIO…

• Engineer_at_JLR on Oct 31, 2012 at 2:11 pm

I admire Proton’s survival instincts… just like a leech, sucking blood from one manufacturer, and then moving on to another.
    My commiserations to Honda Motor Co. though

• Just Another Malaysian Too on Nov 01, 2012 at 3:48 pm

What is with all those ‘lean manufacturing bla..’ crap’, why you are trying to tell everybody you are engineer kah? Don’t give a damn la. Who are you trying to tell DRB how to do their job. DRB is perhaps the most successfull conglomerate in this business in Malaysia and without doubt they are the best people to transform Proton. If you are not truly proud of being Malaysian, seek some other country to leave in. The ‘proudness’ of being Malaysian does not rest on Proton but on being positive and supportive on the initiative to turn our country so ‘berdiri sama tinggi’ in every aspect. Not only know how to blame, weep and cry…

• jonker on Nov 01, 2012 at 5:00 pm

Honda stream = Ponda Stim

• Honda Tsubasa is cute memang komprehensif ngan tampiran mu. Ngan kata pendek, “DEJAVUE” tu. Mula ngan Jepun Mitsubishi Lancer (engine dia jugak) dan lekat logo Proton semenjak tahun 1983 (20 tahun tu !!!). Lepas tu bikin Injin Campro (konon-nya ngan Lotus) pakai RM450 juta untuk R&D aje dan jual kereta sama tapi tampal injin lanchau ini untuk 8 tahun. Sekarang nak buat balik ngan Honda obsolete dan tampal ngan logo Proton pulak. Hai…lebih teruk dari cetak rompak ni.

• Proton’s existance is the sole reason we all have to pay sky high price for imported cars. Proton u go close shop la.

• HAhaha, I think at best, Honda will allow proton to use its steering wheel!

• drug dealer . com on Nov 18, 2012 at 12:00 am

if im not mistaken , they do collaboration to learn more how to reduce the production cost isnt it ?
    about future design of proton after together2 with honda i just cant imagine ! hahaa .. proton just need more strong engine , nice cabin , excellent safety rates , reasonable price , light weight , excellent handling (notlikeperodua) , cool features and easy + sharpest services !

• kekuda on Nov 21, 2012 at 5:10 pm

I hope PROTON’s next partnership is BOENG! In future we need cars that can fly.

• kekuda on Nov 21, 2012 at 5:10 pm

I hope PROTON’s next partnership is BOENG or AIRBUS! In future we need cars that can fly.

• proton on Dec 20, 2012 at 10:42 pm

Proton no money(Modal) to buy the honda’s share – Tan sri syed mokhtar buy the DRB hicom’s share – Now proton can inject the modal. :))

• Someone on Feb 10, 2013 at 2:10 pm

i feel… May be one day… Civic onwer also butt hurt like Lancer guy lol

• neoLOVA on Feb 16, 2013 at 10:23 am

proton will launch perdana replacement soon if not this year based on honda accord chasis. (insider info) ;)

• Yes, after launch of new Accord in August. Spanco is already in the picture for Govt fleet replacement.

Finally after several missed re-badge attempts with VW Passat & Skoda Superb.