Hitz FM’s Ean is 10,000th Honda hybrid owner

Hitz FM radio announcer Tengku Mohd Ean Nasrun, better known as Ean, recently became the owner of the 10,000th Honda hybrid in Malaysia – a CR-Z. He was rewarded with a two-day, one-night getaway package as a token of appreciation from Honda.

The 33-year old said he liked the combination of “sporty looks” and “eco-friendliness” found in the CR-Z, adding that the test drive sealed the deal for him. “(The car’s) easy to handle and has heaps of cool features which makes it really fun for everyday driving.”

From 2007 to September this year, Honda reports Malaysian sales of 6,339 Insights, 2,109 CR-Zs, 1,786 Jazz Hybrids and 1,238 Civic Hybrids.

Coinciding with this local milestone is the achievement of one million Honda hybrid owners globally, since the introduction of the first-gen Insight in Japan 13 years ago.

Congratulating Ean, Honda Malaysia CEO Yoichiro Ueno said: “Being the pioneer of hybrid technology in Malaysia with the launch of the Civic Hybrid in 2007, we are very pleased to see that hybrid vehicles have received positive response.

“With the launch of the Insight at the end of 2010, Honda has successfully captured 54.4% of the hybrid market share in 2011 and it has increased to 66% as at August 2012.”

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• James May on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:45 pm

It should have been ME !!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
  • afoka on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:53 pm

Then come along Proton CRZ….cps-tec Yo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • huiyoo on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:53 pm

seems like honda is scheming in this reward.

• rukawa on Oct 31, 2012 at 3:13 pm

its blatantly obvious.
      for all we know, the car is a gift to the DJ for promotional purposes.

• comrade on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:57 pm

still savings some money for CRZ.. previous saving already goes to an MPV….family first..

• paulinetan on Oct 30, 2012 at 3:07 pm

Meh, just a crappy faux-sporty-hatchback. what an insult to the CRX. yeah, sporty “looks”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 23
  • scir2T on Oct 30, 2012 at 3:09 pm

Some angles of the crz r terrible looking, good for the owners as they sit inside the car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
  • Pro-San on Oct 30, 2012 at 3:13 pm

LJ la. publicity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • My kind of car
    Sporty looking, two door and a third foot paddle with a stick!!!!
    Sad about power tough but imma not gonna race anyone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • benny on Oct 30, 2012 at 3:27 pm

Indeed I love my CR-Z BUT Not Honda Malaysia!

Modern cars do not need servicing every 3 months or 5,000 km even if you are using HONDA best synthetic engine oil!

I have been using cars that need servicing every year or 15,000 km.
    My current mileage is only 1,450km & I need to service it as it is coming to 3 months now else no more 3 years warranty!!
    Now I truly regretted buying a Honda.
    HM sucks money from their customer through unnecessary frequent servicing. Supposed to be “green” but all those oil change is a waste of time & money!
    “More used engine oil = more damage to our environment”

Worst of all Not all Honda cars are the same and HM practice double-standard, some of their cars gives 3 years and some 5 years warranty.. WHY???

Have queried HM but they never give a clear & facture answer & they even blocked me from their Facebook a/c !! @#$%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
    • tungguuu on Oct 31, 2012 at 4:50 pm

hahahaha….enjoy..how treatment of Honda to u is like Proton if not worse?? :DDD

• dkhead on Oct 31, 2012 at 8:50 pm

totally agreed with you, honda cars are ok, but not HM.
      the fellow sitting in front of the counter suppose to deal with all the complains from customer, but what he/she did was to irritate the car owner. anyone just try walk into HM one day when your dealer refuse to replace your spoiled battery/electric motor/gearbox or engine, while it is still in the warranty period. if HM promise to replace for you, i will chop my head. go read the review of HM, so many bad comments, if not why need Ian to promote honda?

• Santosh Rajkumar on Oct 30, 2012 at 3:30 pm

Real jobs give you happiness, whether you like it or not. Awesome brother!

• He will facepalm very hard when the new CRZ comes out…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
  • benchot on Oct 30, 2012 at 3:54 pm

lompat jangan tak lompat…tinggi tu dia lompat..boleh tahan la gua nak kutuk tapi hybrid ni ada mantap gak doh..hijau beb..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Expatriate VN on Oct 30, 2012 at 5:51 pm

So happy with Honda CRZ, that will be Protonize very soon!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • _xXx_ on Oct 30, 2012 at 6:19 pm

now we have Pinsight, Pazz, Pivic and PR-Z. Oh, my PTEC just kicked in….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • zidane on Oct 30, 2012 at 7:02 pm

i tot Ean is his nickname…

• tokmoh on Oct 31, 2012 at 4:12 pm

You’ll be surprised nowadays Ian, Ryan, Kristina, are malay names. True story.

• muhammadbinmeor on Oct 31, 2012 at 5:48 pm

yup..malays now like to give christian names to their children..its a trend..haha..kononnya cool habisla..bila anak mcm lahanat salahkn org lain..hahahah..nama tu doa beb

• I seriously doubt that Ean was actually the 10,000th Hybrid Owner. It’s probably Honda wanted to gain more publicity. Let’s say he was the 9999 customer, they would still say it as 10,000th

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
    • keluangman on Oct 30, 2012 at 7:39 pm

yeah I’d agree with that. Cheapo publicity stunt of a car they can’t sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • Hikaru on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:13 pm

It could be the case that Honda was giving him the car if he agreed to run the 10,000th car owner campaign.

• Modesto.hann on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:16 pm

I don’t think he was even close. Honda knows he is a radio station dj, then created this title for him.he got publicity value.or maybe they have a win win deal?

• thoryota on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:53 pm

actually i think he buy because ean’s brother ezan is working in honda malaysia. and they are tengku djan’s brother.

• Maserati on Oct 30, 2012 at 8:59 pm

Hahahaha,cant sell? Its selling like hot cakes! And i can tell you its one of the best drivers car i have ever driven! Power might be superb,but it has such a beautiful interior,superb handling and a freaking good engine!

Not even ur crappy kia forte koup can compete with this!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
  • sambalbabi on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:52 pm

wow a CRZ….i thought those celebrities can afford more than this….oh well.

• james on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:56 pm

If you are a celeb, anything is possible, not for the normal rakyat…

• Seriously on Oct 31, 2012 at 12:29 am

what a set-up pfft.

• Carl Wong on Oct 31, 2012 at 2:20 am

I will also join the Hybrid Club, hopefully soon, hehehehe :)………….

• Highrisr on Oct 31, 2012 at 2:47 am

The chance for a celebrity like ean to be the 10000th honda hybrid owner seems like a scheme. I think honda malaysia is trying to get under the spotlight once again by using local celebrities as advertising advantage.
    The local rakyat would not cause a stir when being 10000th owner but a celebrity would make headline news like this on paultan.org

I like hondas, but this is just sad. Rather than giving a celebrity a getaway, why not to us rakyat? I expect the next 10000 owner gets a free vacation too.

• rukawa on Oct 31, 2012 at 4:20 pm

ya, why not give to a true honda customer, and not a created publicity stunt? major demerits to honda malaysia

• publicity stunt. where got so ngam

• entered my name on Oct 31, 2012 at 6:25 pm

He will cry when the battery dies…just found out Honda battery don’t last..

• Prove it please.

• dkhead on Oct 31, 2012 at 8:56 pm

go read online, there was one lady journalist bought her insight for few months and the battery dies, HM refuse to replace. i don’t believe that not until i had the similar problem, please wake up, don’t blindly support cars from a lousy car dealer.

• HM is useless golddigger….i have 2 Honda at home and nothing so great to shout about…quality so so only for 100k plus car…my civic has zero sound prove…ppl talk outside also can hear inside!!! And their service sucks big time…come warranty claim like asking them to drink poison!! Complain anything they will say uts nornal with a smile!! Idiots!!

• mu_77 on Nov 01, 2012 at 1:17 pm

So obvious its a publicity move. Regarding cr-z… ‘sporty’ looks?? Hmm..

Honda, where is the 1.6 litre turbocharged mill la? European cars are more exciting nowadays.