Nissan Almera officially launched: RM66.8k to 79.8k!

Nissan Almera

Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) has officially launched the Nissan Almera into our market at an event held at One World Hotel. With four variants competitively priced between RM64,887 and RM77,549 (OTR without insurance), we were more than pleasantly surprised as we’d expected the B-segment sedan to cost somewhat more.

The four variants of the Nissan Almera come in three grades: E (five-speed manual RM64,887, four-speed auto RM67,809), V (RM74,627) and the full-spec VL (RM77,549). All are powered by Nissan’s HR15DE 1.5 litre four-cylinder that pushes out 102 PS and 139 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm.

DRIVEN: Nissan Almera 1.5 CVTC Car Review

The Nissan Almera’s engine features Continuously Variable-valve Timing Control (CVTC), which helps the Almera claim fuel efficiency figures of 14.9 km per litre for the auto and 15.9 for the manual. The four-speed automatic is in fact a new unit – it’s 11% more compact, 15% lighter, has 32% lower friction and 12% fewer components than before.

Assembled at Tan Chong Motor Assemblies’ Serendah facility, the Nissan Almera is based on Nissan’s V platform, which also underpins the March hatchback, and as such has MacPherson struts and ventilated disc brakes up front and a torsion beam and drum brakes at the back. What is interesting is 50% of its components are locally-made. Standard tyres are 185/65 R15, while kerb weight is around the one-tonne mark.

How do the variants differ? The higher V and VL grades get front fog lamps, black door pillar garnish, variable intermittent wipers, twin airbags, seven-spoke alloys and remote boot release. The E grade gets steel wheels with wheel covers and a single airbag for the driver. Additional features on the top-spec car include Intelligent Key with push-start, automatic climate control and an illuminated Fine Vision Meter with multi information display.

A sea of optional accessories awaits the customer, ranging from door visors and leather seats to LED stainless steel kickplates and a six-inch screen multimedia navigation system with rear view camera display, DVD, iPod, USB and Bluetooth. These can be specified via three option packages – Luxury, Navi and Premium Navi.

The RM6,000 Premium Navi package comprises the accessories mentioned above as well as LED turn signal light wing mirrors, boot tray, sport pedals (auto only) and Solar Gard Armorcoat. An upgrade to V-Kool Elite is available for an extra RM1,200.

For those who want to stand out even further, there’s the Nissan Almera Impul package, available on all grades for an additional RM9,500. The complete package comprises a front grille, Impul Aerokit (including rear spoiler), exhaust muffler, sports suspension (which lowers ride height by 25 mm) and a choice of 16- or 17-inch alloys.

Standard features across the Nissan Almera range include electric power steering, ABS with EBD and Brake Assist, and ISOFIX seat mounting points. Cabin space is touted as the best in its class, with 636 mm of legroom at the back. Boot volume is a generous 490 litres.

Five colours are available for the Nissan Almera, namely Brilliant White, Tungsten Silver, Twilight Grey, Sapphire Black and Bronze Gold.

The Nissan Almera has been a strong seller particularly in the US, Thailand and China, and more than half a million have found homes worldwide. With the new car, ETCM hopes to revive its position as leader in the non-national affordable vehicle segment, and carry on the legacy shared by models such as the Sunny and Sentra.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Heskey on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:17 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 321
    • Vader on Oct 31, 2012 at 7:30 am

yaya.. u can go any TC show room to claim the Almera.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 8
    • RON97 on Oct 31, 2012 at 8:52 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 265
      • zidane on Oct 31, 2012 at 12:14 pm

so…

Syed Al bUkhary is BRIM applicant?

he drove Perdana…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 13
      • Potibala on Oct 31, 2012 at 1:58 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 152
        • "great_job" on Oct 31, 2012 at 5:56 pm

WAHHH…berlagak yer..xper..satu hari lu bangkrap baru lu sedar & bersyukur :-)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 7
        • Dimitri on May 10, 2015 at 8:58 pm

kau berlagak beli mahal2 pon hutang jugak! xpayah la berlagak!

• kingmongbang on Nov 05, 2012 at 12:29 pm

wow…belagak. I wish you well my friend.

• Anti_NAP on Dec 07, 2012 at 5:23 pm

Checkout the starting price (converted to RM) in :
        China – RM 40,562.0640
        Thailand – RM 42,697.1259
        US – RM 51,853.4800
        Philippines – RM 52,942.0730
        Australia – RM 54,326.8842
        Indonesia – RM 57,393.4710
        Into your face, idiot. Go buy for your whole family and let yourself being fooled. Losers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • scir2T on Oct 31, 2012 at 11:45 am

Why there is one White Vios with impul plate in the picture gallery?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 12
      • qwerty on Oct 31, 2012 at 12:59 pm

haha…nice one..it does look a little bit like vios doesnt it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • Ugly ! prefer Mazda 3 or Honda City…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 28
    • Potibala on Nov 01, 2012 at 9:03 am

Nice car and lady. If get free lady I buy 1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Potibala on Nov 01, 2012 at 9:09 am

It s still expensive for Brim recipients

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
  • Mini Honda on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:17 pm

BOOK 1!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!111

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 81
    • Vader on Oct 31, 2012 at 7:40 am

why the entry level only having 1 airbag?
      is that 2 airbags is the minimum requirement for the new launch cars?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 3
      • Vader, the question we should ask ourselves is who the *&^%# denied us the fundamental right to drive to work and back in one piece? What I am trying to say is with the fair market price we could have buy cars with ESP, ABS, multiple airbags etc safety features , and because of the %$#@ u know who, we have to make do with the under specs , not road worthy cars. Ask the #$%@ u know who to drive a tin can car to their $#%^ office everyday then they will stop saying exercise tax is a 7 billions income for the %$#@ you know who.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Ugly dashboard!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 6
    • answer is simple ETCM is not run by bumi, g will try all best to deter new models from coming in as much they can prevent to minimise competition to other glc.
      so model see in bolehland usually 2-3yrs later.
      u want to improve it, also simple -change g,everythg settle :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 146
      • zidane on Oct 31, 2012 at 12:17 pm

WTF of an answer…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 18
      • tungguuu on Oct 31, 2012 at 1:06 pm

hahaaha….excuses…give more excuses la…gooood…. their CEO earned 6 mil last year…but the company also made less than 200 mil…..

Toyota UMW on the other hand earned 900mil…but the CEO only paid less than 3 mil….

so i think u r just giving excuses..cut the CEO pay…wait cannot..because its family business..typical chinaman style…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 9
      • napster on Oct 31, 2012 at 3:37 pm

What a FANTASTICally idiotic answer! Of course, Honda is run by bumis. As is Toyota. So that’s why they can introduce their City and Vios. Nak kata bodoh tapi pandai pulak go surfing on the net…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
  • Anton Forker on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:18 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 113
    • Vader on Oct 31, 2012 at 7:34 am

there are many search machine..
      if lazy to search it, then take a look at this link..
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Car_classification

Very obvious, this car is B-Segment..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • nazri on Nov 01, 2012 at 4:02 pm

it slot in B segment laa…

• David on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:19 pm

The sales figure of Proton Preve is in trouble!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 83
    • What kind of a statement is that ? No facts, no rationale, just empty, pointless words. In any case, even if the new Almera sells well, we’ll never know for sure because our gov. no longer shares monthly sales data as it ” violates the Malaysian Competition Act. ” …. Anyway, last time I checked (May 2012), the Proton Preve has a 5% market share, in comparison, the MyVi had 14%, the Saga had 10% and the Vios had 6%. You may want to google the stats if you are finding them hard to believe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 30
  • BMW BEST on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:20 pm

Love that Impul version…very sporty!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 37
    • salgoodguy on Oct 31, 2012 at 1:04 am

aduh..im not even noticed this is a car..but maybe ok
      after saveral years..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
    • OMG…Kia Forte worth to buy than this ugly yet pretend to be sporty…just a few thousand $ extra, u can get Kia forte as C-segment car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 30
      • MackyMac on Oct 31, 2012 at 3:33 pm

Bring on the forte people, thought you guys went extinct for a while. *yawn*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
  • As cheap as it is, it still looks funny

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 17
    • Kent Loh on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:31 pm

Brio sedan looks even funny

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 10
      • jayjay on Oct 31, 2012 at 12:31 am

For me, the brio sedan, mazda 2 sedan and fiesta sedan looks more weird than this car. At least its a real sedan, not hatchback trying to be a sedan. But seriously, saga’s interior looks better than this. Need a lot of courage to look at the dashboard

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 10
  • haha better than vios 79 k get auto ac keyless push start.vios 92 k apa ada?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 200 Thumb down 9
  • Anton Forker on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:21 pm

oppss. sory u r right its a b segment car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
  • wanluqman on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:25 pm

the impul version – i tot i saw a white vios.
    btw, design is plain jane and not emotionally provocating

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 15
    • for the target market it is aimed at, it is not supposed to be emotionally provocative. It needs to appeal to a broad spectrum of the market instead of those who only want a sporty looking car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • slimershine on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:27 pm

interior sucks.. but i want the girl. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 27
  • Daniel on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:27 pm

The front look with the Impul kit reminds me of Perodua..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
  • I hate that INTERIOR!!!! UGLY!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 20
  • mystvearn on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:33 pm

Its a bit pointless placing those impul upgrades where you don’t get any extra power. Rear drum brakes…

The only reason I see people buying this if they really have no confidence in Preve/Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 22
    • Agreed, Nissan should include 2 airbags and disc brake throughout their range. Not too much from a manufacturer point of view.

On the confidence part, I’ve owned 1 Perodua and 3 Proton before going for Japanese and Continental. I like those Protons that allow me to enjoy track days at a minimum spending, and I forgot why I bought Perodua. But the moment I drove one Japanese made (a used unit), I start to regret why have I supported local brands while they’ve not improve fast enough for global demand or at least to the ever demanding Malaysian.

It’s not wrong to have handling-capable car and cheap to maintain, but over the time, they should concern more areas such as comfort (noise) and packaging (fitting). Try go to Proton showroom today and see if you can find a properly fitted ‘showroom car’. Check the panels alignment, gaps, paint condition throughout, unwanted edges. You should not be surprised to find none. and the popular Perodua Alza, anyone likes those wind noise from a side mirrors’ design flaws? Perodua not going to fix this? And the Myvi and Viva, what about the ‘water-boiling’ engine note throughout the range, Perodua not going to fix this?

And I felt disgusted to see our local brands giving 0% ownership, 0% interest, free maintenance and super extended warranty at a lower price abroad as compare to the amount paid by my fellow Malaysian with a 9-year loan with inclusive of protecting the brand’s survival with keyboards day in and out.

So there you go, my personal view on local makes beneath their unrealistic price tag made only locally to Malaysian.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 4
      • You are correct. Worse still, our national car seems cheeper at overseas as well as the quality. See the Preve which was just launched in Australia recently. A bunch of sucker.

• zzt231 on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:35 pm

wow…that is one looooonnnnnnnggggggg sedan…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 3
  • voiddance on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:39 pm

Wait, i thought from 2012 onwards every new car must be equipped with minimum 2 airbags?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 2
  • Asembly services sdn bhd on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:41 pm

Giler buruk dashboard..muntah hari2 nak ngadap..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 23
  • sambalbabi on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:44 pm

the silver color with impul kits almost resemble the TRD vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
  • Expatriate VN on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:49 pm

Now there are 3 horses race – City, Vios and now ALmera!

Good luck to Nissan for offering the most attractive price!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 11
    • Kent Loh on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:34 pm

And don’t forget Polo sedan and Fiesta sedan,if people wants an affordable conti sedans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
      • mazda2 sedan also…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Expatriate VN on Oct 31, 2012 at 3:55 pm

OK, there are half dozen or more horses race! Happy and satisfy ………

• Sam Loo on Nov 01, 2012 at 8:46 am

Mazda 2, Fiesta, Swift are the same 2nd tier category.

The kimchis would be tier 3, cold door category

• imo the best is fiesta sedan

• Expatriate VN on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:51 pm

Perhaps this car give a good offering compare to Vios and City. Those who like non-national over Jaguh Kampung No. 2, of course this is a sensible choice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
  • shawal on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:56 pm

Save yourself the trouble and save up to buy a proper car
    or delve into the 2nd hand car market, with a lil bit of research , patience and luck , you’d find a gem you won’t regret

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • kogul on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:14 pm

NISSAN, WHY U NO DESIGN NICE LOOKING CAR??..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 8
    • jayjay on Oct 31, 2012 at 12:35 am

They already got gtr and fairlady for look and performance. This is a boring and play safe car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • mister potato on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:15 pm

what is the price in langkawi/labuan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • NICE ……………………………………………………………..Ladies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • nice legs… .. erk i mean car!

• the car look good in impul but the internal dashboard not

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • vincent lim on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:17 pm

Y no built in GPS?

• as bulky as T-dugong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • fishermn10 on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:27 pm

Love the classic absorber bumper car pic there!

• Steven on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:28 pm

Ugly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
  • Kent Loh on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:29 pm

At least better than Brio sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
  • ah seng on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:31 pm

sat inside the car and was surprised with the very generous legroom. easily match D-segment levels of cars like accord and sonata. however, the width is a joke. no way u can fit 3 person at the back unless they are skinny children. the width space is between a saga and a viva.
    this car is so long and skinny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
  • ah beng on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:38 pm

vios is better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 75
  • still 4 speed auto?…duhhh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • mamamia on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:40 pm

impul version ugly…like latest myvi grill design…dashboard lmfao!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
  • chrisg on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:40 pm

Boy racers willing to pay rm9k for the impul pakage..its crazy. Can afford that better go buy polo or ford with better tech n power. If want race polo is good enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
  • I like the pricing. I like it’s positioning as a good decent size family car. It’s just too damn bad it only has 2 airbags at the top spec, and no VSC. Even if the price of a super duper “premium” spec adds an extra 5K for 4 airbags and VSC, I’ll place a booking right now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • tansri on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:45 pm

I never find Jap interior designs nice. Except Lexus’. It looks like uncles home furnishing or too gharish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • ben yap on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:52 pm

the impul version got 16″ or 17″ rims. means the customer can choose either one?

• wanws on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:08 pm

Nissan Almera – Is the Nissan’s best-selling global sedan !!!! My frens and i have booked already just now !! From Vios to ALMERA !! Hurray!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 19
    • same to me..my fiance n i have book this sweet car..very excited <3

• Rodney Thilliampalam on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:10 pm

In the US it sold as the Versa. It is sold with a 1.6l engine and CVT transmission. The interior is also a little different. The previous Gen Versa was sold as the Latio in Malaysia.

• carlover on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:14 pm

Mazda 2 might get affected first before T/H…hmmm

• vee-oh on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:16 pm

finally a car that makes vios and city look better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 11
  • vee-oh on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:20 pm

and god please help me with the dashboard design…bless me with enough strength to look at it for the last time

• Mini Honda on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:21 pm

Whoa! Price reduction!
    Maybe Mitsubishie Mirage at RM59k for full specs?
    RM52k or Manual, RM56k for Auto..

gOOD! like that no more MYVI!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • fazron80 on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:33 pm

price is very competitive Honda and toyota will have to counter with something of their own.

• mokkf on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:35 pm

Hey, I want that old Sunny there! More on safety especialy on that hard bumper!

• azhar on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:37 pm

saw it yesterday at PLUS h’way..what i can tell is, its an ugly car..i suggest go for the black color if still want to buy it..at least the view its not that bad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
  • price-specs wise, i anytime will choose this ugly one rather than vios and city…..

look wise? i have only rm80k to spend…. what look can i expect?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • You got RM80K, got a lot of options. Do your research and you will find something looking better that thi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • No where near the Koreans..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • Another Style over substance
      not sure how good is the recent improved Korean reliability.
      But all Nissan car are known for their bland looks and feel, but unmatched engine reliability that can survive a nuclear Armageddon ,look at those 120Ys running around with those rusty body.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • If u see it in front of ur eyes the looks is actually not bad compared to vios n city. Especially white colour.. but i cant deny that the dashboard are quite ugly..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Gianny on Oct 31, 2012 at 12:08 am

66k for this basic car seems quite reasonable. However, the manual gear stick seems no so firm. also,no disc break at the rear wheel. I wonder 1.5 L for this big car is sufficient, overloading ? Think the new Syphyle 1.6 L n 1.8 L will be launched 2013. about the same size. Perhaps that is better buy with front n rear disc breaks.

• Toyboata on Oct 31, 2012 at 12:34 am

While a “yes” answer would certainly be great for increasing Town Hall traffic, the truth is that today’s disc/drum setups are completely adequate for the majority of new cars. Remember that both disc and drum brake design has been vastly improved in the last 20 years. In fact, the current rear drum brake systems on today’s cars would provide better stopping performance then the front disc setups of the ’70s. And today’s front disc brakes are truly exceptional in terms of stopping power. Combined with the fact that between 60 and 90 percent of a vehicle’s stopping power comes from the front wheels, it’s clear that a well-designed, modern drum brake is all that’s required for most rear wheel brake duty.

High performance cars like the Viper, 911 and Corvette can justify a four-wheel disc brake system, especially if their owners participate in some form of sanctioned racing activity on the weekends. The rest of us get more of a benefit from the lower cost of drum brakes. Expecting every vehicle built today to come with four-wheel disc brakes would require an across-the-board increase in purchase price, and that could stop new car buyers much quicker than any brake system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • paparadzi on Oct 31, 2012 at 5:18 pm

If for nothing else, the rear disc brakes makes a car looks good and “proper”. That is why some cars, such as the Vios, have rear discs for the higher variants while the lower ones comes with drum rear brakes. I’d rather have a plain car with rear discs rather than a skirted and spoilered ones with drums.

• Nismo on Oct 31, 2012 at 2:22 am

Even modern bikes have standard disc brakes, why can’t a 60k car? Don’t tell me it’s sufficient, we are not living in the 70s. Safety requirements are different now. Btw, drum brakes have more parts and are more complex. Don’t know why they bother with drum brakes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Is another dugong.. Low specs- drum brake, 4 speed gear box, cheap interior, poor engine output(lowest among brand T and H). And thousand of optional accessories to choose from. is cheap on surface… Em.. Be a smart consumer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 25
  • No wonder Honda partner with Proton, so will be better able to compete with Nissan & Toyota (which also holds a % of Perodua thru Diahatsu.

• Davinnci on Oct 31, 2012 at 12:33 am

With this price, proton preve lost one whole street

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 26
  • jayjay on Oct 31, 2012 at 12:39 am

I know there is a lot of car enthusiast who visits paultan.org. but general malaysian want Big,Cheap and Good. So this is Big,Cheap and Good….haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
  • the greed toyolta on Oct 31, 2012 at 12:40 am

67k for this is good value for money and it exposes how freaking overpriced is the 63k 1.5L lagi mahai myvi. learn to be smarter ppl!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
  • thumbs up if you mistakenly oversee the Almera IMPUL as Vios :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
  • Well, at least it is cheap and is a Nissan (reliability) although I wish for a manual Impul version, I dun like CVTs, And rear disc brakes.
    Better alternative over the Preve even tough Preve have more power

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • I take that back, actually is CVTC ( Continuously Variable-valve Timing Control ) not CVT Transmission, my mistake

• Josh Ling on Oct 31, 2012 at 12:59 am

is it me or the impul version really looks like Vios with bodykit?

• Dogong’s cousin spotted!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Skyfall on Oct 31, 2012 at 1:11 am

This car is obscene, why no censorship?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • This car is designed to look like dugong to copy it’s sales. If same design as vios, better buy the original. Buy original, drive original.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 32
  • Rakyat on Oct 31, 2012 at 1:30 am

Give me for free also don’t want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 34
  • sycnum99 on Oct 31, 2012 at 1:51 am

the interior reminds me of a submarine interior…

• Necromancer on Oct 31, 2012 at 2:05 am

Those who have been commenting about drum brakes, please learn the facts first. Drums are basically much more grippier than disk brakes nuff said. Only disadvantages that drums has is it has no rooms to disperse the heat hence brakes would lose it grip once it reaches it tolerant level.

However for City use and occasional downhill driving, drums are more than enough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
    • Idaho on Oct 31, 2012 at 11:19 am

I beg to differ…thru experience i find most rear drum brake fitted cars has uns-ufficient stopping power even for city drive.

If drum brake are much more grippier than disk brake than manufacturers would have long fitted them in front and work to overcome the heat problem.

The only reason why drum brake still exists is cost..to manufacturer and car owner (notice that you can still get away by not having to change the brake shoe of your myvi rear drum brake for more than 5 years, try doing that with the front brake pad…)

• fridzmax on Oct 31, 2012 at 3:35 pm

Then why the F1 car, WRC car or even the Ferrari not using the drum brakes?

• Heat. Simple as that, when your brakes are overheated, it is no longer effective. Disk brakes disperse heat better than drums.

However, what Necromancer mentioned is true, drums do in fact offer more than adequate braking force for the usual city/daily drive. Plus, it cost less, lighter, cheaper maintenance and no black dust(rims won’t so dirty)!

• Drove this car in Dubai for my UAE license 2 months ago. Spent long enuf time to give my 2 cents ….. avoid this car man. My mom’s Proton Saga CVT is far better drive than this Nissan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 40
    • Ridz1 on Oct 31, 2012 at 7:24 am

care to share in detail on the drawbacks my good sir?

• Car Enthusiast on Nov 01, 2012 at 9:28 am

Nothing can get any worse than a Saga. You must be day dreaming

• Golf is better than Almari.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
  • seancorr on Oct 31, 2012 at 6:40 am

Have to give credit to Nissan for giving a good price…though drum brakes at the rear sucks though.

Plus their car has options for rear view camera and navigation in which cars like the Honda City or even the new F30 BMW 320i doesn’t even have those!

• says says on Oct 31, 2012 at 7:06 am

MyVi 1.5 Extreme SE EE LE will be in trouble!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • breyton on Oct 31, 2012 at 7:43 am

the power output is so low in this car.
    109ps and 139nm of torque….

• Is that ori Nissan Japan Impul Design or Tan Chong Malaysia Impul Design?

• some how i think the rear overhang is longer then other model… looks funny

• aiyo, why my tongue always want to pronounce nissan ALMARI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • vios is no longer lonely, almera manage to join vios as the UGLY twins. What happen to japanese designer? Look at vios, brio and now almera, do they have to be so ugly and weird to look at?? And come on lar….it’s 2012 going to 2013, please start making ESP a standard feature including ABS and at least 6 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • Suzuki on Jan 28, 2013 at 10:04 pm

Why you keep complaining they are ugly ? I know you are rich enough to afford European and brainwashing Korean cars but can you just stop bashing Japanese car ?

• http://paultan.org/2012/10/30/nissan-almera-officially-launched-rm66-8k-to-79-8k/dsc_5310/

Selena Gomez lookalike =D

Anyway, pricing is certainly attractive. It’s going to be very competitive despite the fact that it lacked of disc brake at the rear. Overall it’s good. Will test drive once it’s available here.

• Iskandar Hidayat on Oct 31, 2012 at 9:32 am

The exterior was `not bad’ especially the Impul version. The interior, hmmm.. cheap looking especially on the dasboard.. If you want a better looking interior, go for Preve or Forte. But, you can’t argue too much for the cheap looking dashboard with that awesome price tag rite..

• Jeff Lim on Oct 31, 2012 at 9:32 am

Sunny “Absorber bumper” old skool. Missed this car, my uncle used to have one from 1982 to 1998. I looking for the wagon version. Sunny California, more stylish and practical.

• x-vios on Oct 31, 2012 at 10:24 am

personally, it looks way better than Vios…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • brian on Oct 31, 2012 at 10:51 am

since our government said that our cost ownership is lowest among our region, y not introduce d nissan micra d eco-car?

• paisa on Oct 31, 2012 at 10:53 am

ori japan…smart price for majority people of malaysia…

• nissan slogan : drive me crazy ~~~
    seems like nissan succeeded huh :D

• Chow1 on Oct 31, 2012 at 11:17 am

It takes a genius to design such ugly dashboard. Not easy, trust me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • gen y on Oct 31, 2012 at 11:21 am

Yet another under spec, ugly interior – dugong looking car by japanese. Don’t know what is going on with Jap design….

• Whyimme on Oct 31, 2012 at 11:59 am

The price is good. exterior looks good with impul.but interior is terrible ugly. 79800+9300 = i rather get others car with nicer interior. at least i feel worth paying for better interior.

• Whyimme on Oct 31, 2012 at 11:59 am

The price is good. exterior looks good with impul.but interior is terrible ugly. 79800+9300 = i rather get others car with nicer interior. at least i feel worth paying for better interior.

• Better get one fast while the prices are at these range. I bet now DRB and PROTON are holding talks with MAA and Government as to force TCM to review their prices and increase a little bit like what VW had gone through with POLO. Then you can gain profit by selling the car later on…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Nissan on Oct 31, 2012 at 1:16 pm

thumb up to 1st pic for the sexy model

• smokey on Oct 31, 2012 at 1:23 pm

exterior is acceptable…but the interior is @_@||…
    btw, the car looks rather thin and tall if viewed from front/back…

• Potibala on Oct 31, 2012 at 2:13 pm

Yeah very ugly. But this car can tahan more than 20 years. Look at sentra, sunny 120y. Still on the road more than 10 years. My sentra 13 years already. Have not been to the bank for almost 8 years to pay installment. got so much money to spent now. Can pay prostitute to play every week.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
    • johnny on Oct 31, 2012 at 5:29 pm

yeah dont forget the medical check up after that hehehe.. but funny none the less..
      true it is one ghastly looking car…

• vee-oh on Oct 31, 2012 at 2:36 pm

Eventhough i dont really like proton, i must say that design wise,in and out, preve much much much better..engine reliability dont know lor, ofcoz power wise preve much much much better

• Expatriate VN on Oct 31, 2012 at 4:58 pm

This blind supporter, still ranting about Jaguh Kampung is better despite it is well known they are offering better specs at overseas market at lower price like Australia!!!!!

WTF, what happen to your brain? Or no brain at all!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • randt on Nov 01, 2012 at 6:38 am

of course cheaper, tax is different and the currency there much better

• farghmee on Nov 01, 2012 at 10:25 am

focus la “Expat VN”.
        we’re here talking about Almera’s specs,
        & choices we have for that amount of $ here.

i admit that Preve is sold with better spec in Oz, yet Almera also sold here with lower spec at given price compared to Preve.

Oz Almera spec ST
        http://www.nissan.com.au/webpages/models/Almera_model.html#/specification
        driveaway price AU$19698
        http://www.nissan.com.au/webpages/models/Almera_model.html#/pricing

brain or no-brain?

• Car Enthusiast on Nov 01, 2012 at 9:32 am

Proton engines always the same symptom.
      Hit the paddle sound first power later…

• vee-oh on Oct 31, 2012 at 2:39 pm

the dashboard design really really fail la

• john f kennedy on Oct 31, 2012 at 2:43 pm

Nice girls bebeh :)

• kereta lembu on Oct 31, 2012 at 2:58 pm

I think the center dash took inspiration from a pineapple ring :P

• Johnny on Oct 31, 2012 at 3:13 pm

Next News Headlines: Toyota sues Nissan for US$1bil for copying design of Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Johnny on Oct 31, 2012 at 3:18 pm

Don’t let the exterior designs fool you, the interior is what matters most and what you will be seeing 99.9% of the time when driving. To me, the interior of the car is much more important than the exterior. For the Almera, the interior is a plastic piece of s**t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Rakyat on Oct 31, 2012 at 3:33 pm

The girl and the car is like beauty and the beast. You get what i mean. I prefer kereta lembu better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Ah Beng on Oct 31, 2012 at 3:57 pm

My dream car. The ultimate beng machine.

• ah beng on Nov 02, 2012 at 6:41 pm

def prefer vios TRD than this copycat almari!! stop copying my nick!!!

• oko028 on Oct 31, 2012 at 3:58 pm

if they can improve the interior design, i am sure this will win more buyer hearts!

• Mr.Logic on Oct 31, 2012 at 4:01 pm

its about PRICE & LOGIC peoples!..Almera 1.5 Auto is only RM69,800 ..RM7,000 cheap than vios auto and RM16,000 cheap than City auto. Almera got spacious cabin than others.dont talk/buy cheaper car if u want Merc quality..so its about price and logic isn’t it??? i just book Almera..la la la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • Expatriate VN on Nov 01, 2012 at 9:15 am

Sensible decision, keep the sales up, be part of statistic for Almera owners!

• Dugong on Oct 31, 2012 at 4:14 pm

So be it dugong with ugly dashboard ,so what. But the owners of this best selling car around the world can’t go wrong when came to value for money and reliability especially for the developed market. So what if the engine output is not so high as if our road are free limit speed like the auto bahn, fret not ,AES is waiting for you. This is a, day to day car which is better off than the local made which I previously own and tired off, frequently puts dent on my wallet and poor parts and after sales. In long run it will help me to save money on parts and services. What is the point of boosting Preve & Forte for it looks when the resale value is low, ridiculously priced spare parts. How often do you find Nissan breakdown by the roadside?Do u expect this basic car to perform like Juke R,by all means save money and buy one R.
    It has 10K interval service ( confirmed this with TC) which other make within the same segment can’t offer. Compared to the acc which N is offering, even T & H unable to match the price or the trim level.. As long as I can drive from A to B in rain or shine, its serves its purpose perfectly. Well let the full test drive from Paultan justify the overall performance of this car, till then keep writing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9
    • Potibala on Oct 31, 2012 at 6:22 pm

My 13 year old sentra undergo 10000km service interval. Without failure this brand is well known for reliability even at 240000km

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Romney on Oct 31, 2012 at 7:39 pm

As long as you like it, who cares? The personality of the owner is reflected by the car he owns. If you like dugong, then…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • I own a 11 yrs old 1.5 Sentra and I must say it is VERY reliable. This car is obviously designed with a goal to make those cannot afford a more expensive car look bad driving it. But for me I will rather drive this and risk being a laughing stock than driving a better looking cars with lousy reliability record.

• A cabinet has better looks than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • Expatriate VN on Nov 01, 2012 at 9:13 am

This compare furniture with car, really idiot, go to IKEA, don’t come to PT Blog if you want to talk about cabinet!

• You don’t know the car is called Almari meh? What? You don’t know ah? Need your school teacher to teach you Malay? Who is the idiot now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • gen y on Nov 03, 2012 at 1:20 am

Aiyo! Relax man. He’s only joking. I’m laughing what! Hehehe

• vee-oh on Oct 31, 2012 at 4:25 pm

A 10 years old sofa looks better than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
  • Extrimist on Oct 31, 2012 at 4:27 pm

These are the optional item price for Japan’s version Almera, known there as Latio. The infos were taken from Nissan website.

1. VDC (stability control): 63000 Yen (RM2400)
    2. SRS Curtain Airbag: 47250 Yen (RM1800)
    3. VDC + SRS Curtain Airbag: 110250 Yen: (RM4200)

I don’t see price is the main reason for not offering the VDC. Instead of RM9500 for the Impul kit and RM6000 for Premium Navi Package, why don’t they offer the VDC too for say, RM4000?

Definetely they don’t bother. That’s why the cheapest VDC is only being offered for 2.4L Teana at RM170K ++. BTW, Honda City, Honda Accord and Toyota Altis got stability control. But Sylphy?

• "great_job" on Oct 31, 2012 at 6:14 pm

interm of safety, i rather buy preve cfe although made by proton.

• Car Enthusiast on Nov 01, 2012 at 9:34 am

Good luck trying to get it to work during emergency..

• "great_job" on Nov 14, 2012 at 1:48 pm

at least preve cfe safer compare to this junk..
          test drive unit patah tayar belakang!

• gen y on Nov 03, 2012 at 1:27 am

Hope ETCM will note this.

• bonbon on Oct 31, 2012 at 4:35 pm

this car look really ugly …but the most ugly part was, i want to buy it, really, i really mean it. coz the price is reasonable , it also sales good in other big market…so me more confident , (even i admit it was ugly, ever)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Anand on Oct 31, 2012 at 4:55 pm

my waja 100% better in terms of interior and exterior…bought it in 2007 for 59K full spec…dark brown leather seat,dual airbags,foglamps,spoiler,4 disk brakes,stering fitted controls,six speakers,alloy rims…etc..all this cannot get in the basic almera which cost 69K more than 10K…..my waja alredy reach 100,000 Km until nw no complaints…what i dont understand why japenese cars still looks sucks in designs.waja introduced in 2000 and this almera maybe in 2011 and you can see the gap…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 25
    • breighton on Nov 01, 2012 at 6:40 am

tau takpe

• Expatriate VN on Nov 01, 2012 at 9:12 am

Waja is BMW of Asia …… he, he, he, …. no problems, betulkah? Power window failed have to open door pay toll!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Car Enthusiast on Nov 01, 2012 at 9:36 am

Rattling sound here in dashboard, seats, doors…
      Squeaking sound here and there…
      Power window struggling to go up and down…
      Suspension like driving a 10 yrs old car…

You call that “better”?
      I seriously doubt you ever driven anything non-local.

• Expatriate VN on Nov 01, 2012 at 3:12 pm

Some more door handle easily broken, gap not consistent, absorber damage within few month, too much “mouse-noise” sound all over body.

I am owner of Waja for 5 year, and eventually I dump this metal junk for good!!!! Never touch it again even with 10 ft pole!

• says says on Oct 31, 2012 at 5:46 pm

Anand- Have u ever heard of brand power? Then, why is this car is Nissan’s best selling car in the world?Where do Waja stands even in Proton line up?..It’s about brand power n quality! Go figures!

• fadlee on Oct 31, 2012 at 6:13 pm

okay apart from that funny looking car.. i was wondering who is the chick in the first picture? so pretty!

http://s1.paultan.org/image/DSC_5345-950×776.jpg

• mr anand …. your waja is a good chassic from volvo s40 the part from malaysia except (year 2005 below is mitsubishi engine .. year 2006 campro engine ) waja problem power windows,fuel pump, door handle every 2 year spoilt .. compro engine ???

• ionlaw on Oct 31, 2012 at 6:52 pm

thought of buying one, but the H-P alliance holds me back. PLEASE LA, DON’T LIKE OR DISLIKE MY COMMENT, IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH YOOU…:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • that honda – proton MOU is not worth the paper it is printed on. even then it will take years before efforts bear fruit even then you might like it, if you live in klang valley, the MRT will be ready by then so you might even need a car!
      but no harm in praying for a civic rebadge as a proton.LOL! just kidding!

• Walter de Silva on Oct 31, 2012 at 7:00 pm

Interior: Dashboard design fail, who is the genius who designed it?
    Exterior: Dugong inspired, what you think?

• forrestcat on Oct 31, 2012 at 8:37 pm

the design of the interior is not contempory.

But ppl will buy this to be different.

• teh tarik on Oct 31, 2012 at 7:42 pm

the gal look promising than the dugong mutant look almera.

• carslover on Oct 31, 2012 at 8:01 pm

I already wake up… Bought a kia forte sx 2months ago and having fun in evryday driving!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • Car Enthusiast on Nov 01, 2012 at 9:38 am

Were you crying everytime you visit the petrol station oh so often?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Omg…!!! The dashboard and interior are Unsightly… :(

• DArkerMarker on Oct 31, 2012 at 8:55 pm

the only person that will love sitting in the interior of this car is a BLIND person…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Hello 2 airbags? on Oct 31, 2012 at 8:56 pm

Where are the minimum 2 airbags as regulated by JPJ starting this year? It is a brand bnew model, there is no excuse in why it can’t be implemented.

• I tink sell at Rm50k oso nobody wants, so bloody ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Davinnci on Oct 31, 2012 at 10:11 pm

This car is cheaper, because they save cost of design.. Lol

• Zabidi on Oct 31, 2012 at 10:33 pm

Udah mcm paus sentot! Nissan please bring in the 2013 sentra soonest!

• It makes the Latio looked like a beauty!! And do u notice that most Nissan models eg Latio, Sylphy cant maintain their sales after some time

• ugly..but not as ugly as vios.

• Chris Bangle on Oct 31, 2012 at 11:11 pm

Epic design fail

• prebet on Oct 31, 2012 at 11:12 pm

one word ugly!
    naza please bring kia k3 asap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • Suzuki on Jan 28, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Go brainwash with your Korean car and stop bashing Almera ugly you Korean !!

• SUV lover on Oct 31, 2012 at 11:12 pm

for 63k…i think the car can still sell even the interior or whatsoever looks like shit bcuz most of malaysians are practical…they will look into the pricing bfore the looks

• Iniesta Leong on Oct 31, 2012 at 11:18 pm

For the price they offer with the spec, this is really attractive only if you want to buy this car as day to day use family car, look is subjective though it is not looking good for me either, but this is chacrater of the Nissan, look plain but give you good fuel consumption comfort and reliability. I knew this cause previously I am a Nissan car owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • With this pricing, soon we would see a lot of wannabes with Almera going around streets with Nismo stickers or badges around the car.

• Anand on Nov 01, 2012 at 12:02 am

helo mr. says says…im comparing almera selling expensive in m’sia in this century with only 1 airbag,no foglamps,cap rims,and with so many less specs even in safety items comparing to other countries which is ridiculous frm tan chong nissan m’sia.compare to proton is the other way around..even preve wins in so many things..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • S.Roma on Nov 01, 2012 at 12:53 am

Prefer buy preve or persona elegance rather than this…

more value for money…

because :

1. more spacious
    2. body 1.6 (more heavy and comfort)
    3. more power (engine 1.6)
    4. FC is better (for preve 1.6 CVT, claimed at 5.6L for 100km)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
    • Car Enthusiast on Nov 01, 2012 at 9:41 am

4. FC is better (for preve 1.6 CVT, claimed at 5.6L for 100km)

Joke of the day.
      Clearly you are not owning a Previah.
      It would be a miracle if this car can go below 10L/100km for City, 8L/100km for Highway.

Still believing shyts from Potong’s spec sheet after all these years…*facepalm*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • My ‘Previah’ has consistently clocked below 8L/100km on highway with speed around 110 km/h.
        For town/city driving, you are right, it consumes more than 10L/100km.

• Xefron on Nov 01, 2012 at 5:14 pm

5.6L for 100KM….only noobs believe that specs.no worry I own one Persona,consider lucky to get 7-7.5L/100Km for 100% city drive for a well maintain car.

• In the brochure, 5.8L/100km @ 90 km/h. For everyday driving in town/city, it is almost impossible to maintain the speed. Not even a Vios or City could achieve the figure. Perhaps Prius C could.

• S.Roma on Nov 01, 2012 at 12:55 am

1 more thing, dislike the dashboard and steering wheel !

F UGLY !

• Will consider as family car if price <50k…dream on.

• I rather buy a second hand GTR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • …or a Beemer.

http://paultan.org/2012/10/30/bmw-c600-sport-c650-gt-maxi-scooters-launched

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo on Nov 01, 2012 at 8:50 am

This car will at put a dent in kimchi sales in Q4. Suppose if Mazda and Mitsubishi comes in with models of this nature, Hyundai & Kia Korean execs will pack their bags and head back to Seoul

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Limbang on Nov 01, 2012 at 8:51 am

saw it for quite a time over here in Limbang Bruneian car lah.. lot more weird car too not lauch in Malaysia yet..

• Boring exterior aside, this is one of the ugliest dashboard I’ve ever seen!

• not interesting terutama bahagian interior…bagi aku not value for MONEY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • says says on Nov 01, 2012 at 12:33 pm

Hello Mr Anand – I am replying to ur earlier message about WAJA better than ALMERA…now you answer differently…haiyya..manyak pusing pusing cakap! It’s about brand power, otherwise ugly dugong and MyVi will not laku mah! Go figures!

• chicks on Nov 01, 2012 at 12:53 pm

heyyyyyy sexy ladyyy….

• Kevin on Nov 01, 2012 at 2:26 pm

Great alternative to T & H….nice price….Nissan known to be sturdy and lasting

• Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on Nov 01, 2012 at 3:00 pm

This car not that bad in IMPUL package,i dun like it bcoz without electric foldable mirror, no rear disc break and no center armrest. But at least it have push start button, reverse camera, larger boot space, and larger rear seat.

• What for u need an armrest when the car size is small? What for u need a fordable side mirrors when the car is small again? What for u need a rear discussion brake when the drum brake is good enough for the stopping power? I believe your quote is for an appearance enhancemeet features only.

• Expatriate VN on Nov 01, 2012 at 3:17 pm

Let the statistic for sales speak volume, say whatever about ugly dashboard. For sure this car is the favorite for simplicity and reliability!

• I rather test drive the girl than the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • hey yall on Nov 01, 2012 at 7:32 pm

This car costs RM 80k (highest spec). If we removed the excise duty (300%), we divide that price by 3. That will give us around RM 27k. Let’s round it up to RM 30k. You know what, to give it fair, let’s put the Almera actual selling price (without the ridiculous tax) as RM 40k.

Is there any national (P1 or P2) cars that belongs to that price range, that is comparable to the Almera? Or Vios & City? In terms of specs, looks, comfort and safety?

My guess is none. P1 & P2 have it easy with the government protecting them. They got lazy with their cars.

Suggestion is that we should reduce the tax on foreign cars, so they can compete with our national cars. The fiercer the competition, the more effort P1 & P2 will put in their cars. (assuming they don’t go bankrupt)

If that’s the case, P1 & P2 can catch up to the big names in car manufacturing. Do you want P1 & P2 to be just above Tata and Hyundai? Or stand alongside BMW & Mercedes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • tiadaid on Nov 01, 2012 at 11:28 pm

If you care to read the MAA Duty Structure page here – http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm you’ll see that at most the Almera’s tax, since it’s I believe a CKD, is 85% of the car’s value.

• tungguuu on Nov 03, 2012 at 4:58 pm

mangkuk…300%??? even years ago that was cars for 2.4 liters and above….

by the way u think Nis Toyo or Hon will sell car cheaper if tax is lower? when demand is there..price will never go down… simple

• kelvin on Nov 01, 2012 at 10:48 pm

one word, HIDEOUS

• Real man drives Aston Martins, Almera is for Ah Bengs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • KeyboardWorryler on Nov 02, 2012 at 9:53 am

why are you guys always mention about the ‘ugly dashboard’? may i know a few cars with nice interior (dashboard)? Aiya…plz dont aspect much la dgn range harga mcm tu bro…hahahahahaha

• Anand on Nov 02, 2012 at 2:51 pm

mr.Say Say…sorry la boss…mayb i got it wrong…gud comment frm u…thanks..

• sanjay on Nov 03, 2012 at 1:58 am

f__king ugly car..preve better..

• For those who wants Impul and manual Almera not bad, only 66.8k plus 9.5k only 76.3k as compared to Vios J spec.

• almera sicko on Nov 05, 2012 at 1:03 pm

Pack 5 medium size adults into this car and the fifth person will have to sit inside the boot. The width of this car is INCREDIBLY NARROW, like the viva. It’s a car for skinny people, I mean really very skinny people..

• umnokakipitnah on Nov 15, 2012 at 2:55 pm

u want bigger car that can sit 5 adult comfortably?..buy a teana!..and plz dont forget to add up another 60k

• Suzuki on Jan 28, 2013 at 10:14 pm

Negative, the rear can suitable fits 3 adults. I owned it, and was carrying 5 person include me, exactly no problem.

• almera sicko on Nov 05, 2012 at 1:22 pm

And before I forget, that dashboard or whatever you call it look more like the covers of 2 garbage bins added together.

• Awesome Nissan on Nov 05, 2012 at 4:22 pm

Awesome Digimon Car!!!

The round thing in the middle is so DIGIMON!!!

LOL!

• Very attractive price for b-segment car, too simple dashboard which serve the purpose..the impul wannabe stuff can forget bout it, overall nothing to fuss about….and manual spec being offer which is good, hope those potential second hand vios buyer ..( u know la..those ppl who plan for paying 40k for a 7-8 year ) can look at this car seriously….btw.. Stop compare Forte with almera , vios and city….totally different segment and feel the moment u close the door and drive on road..and when u feel the sunshade with both forte and vios……..

• Geese on Nov 16, 2012 at 9:01 pm

Majority of the comments here reflects the immaturity of thoughts – the appearance of the car is far more superior than anything else. Only a bunch of mindful and mature fellows will compare on its specs with other cars- bravo to them !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Enter your name... on Nov 26, 2012 at 10:10 pm

Hi Paul, if compare Vios with Almera, which is more worth and cost saving?

• ikhlas kata on Jan 12, 2013 at 12:56 am

terus terang ckap….mcm gampang keta ni…terus terang cakap..mcm gampang keta ni…pandangan jujur komen ni…macam apaapantah keta ni…lagi cvt…abes,,,,suruh dia melingkup..gearbox baru rm8000,,,recond rm4000…masa tu korang tau la ..

• xoomie on Feb 13, 2013 at 10:08 am

Renault’s version of Almera..
    To me it’s better looking.

http://renault.co.in/cars/Scala/gallery.html