Honda Spacy and PCX bikes launched by Boon Siew

Boon Siew Honda recently launched two new motorcycles, the Spacy and PCX. Both are global automatic transmission models already sold in Europe, America and Asia. The Spacy is a basic 110 cc model while the PCX is a bigger and better equipped bike.

The Spacy is powered by a fan-cooled, four-stroke, 110 cc single-cylinder OHC engine powered by Honda’s V-Matic Technology. Boon Siew highlights the bike’s fuel economy, which stands at 41.5 km per litre based on the ECE40 mode test.

The spacy is spacious. An 18-litre XL-sized U-Box can swallow a full-face helmet and the fuel tank is relatively big at 5.2 litres. The floor panel has been made larger, the seat wider, and the front inner box can fit a 500 ml water bottle and other small items.

Other notable features include a brake lock lever function, tubeless tyres and a “Side Stand Switch” feature which auto shuts the engine when the side stand is down.

Available in Magellanic Black, Euphoria Red Metallic and Pearl Metalloid White, the Spacy is priced at RM4,999 OTR with a one-year comprehensive single rider insurance and a warranty period of two years or 20,000 km. Another colour, Luminous Orange, will be available in March 2013.

Meanwhile, the PCX is described as a “luxurious and feature-laden” bike, and it looks the part. For the first time, Honda’s Programmed Fuel Injection (PGM-FI) system is made available in an automatic transmission bike. The 153 cc single-cylinder, four stroke, liquid-cooled SOHC engine does 50.2 km per litre, bettering its smaller brother.

Helping fuel efficiency is a new Idling Stop System, which automatically stops the engine when it is idle after three seconds. The system has an ACG starter, which permits smooth starting, eliminating typical noise from the starter gear engagement or meshing. The engine restarts automatically when the throttle grip is twisted.

Combined Brake System (CBS) operates between the front disc, three-piston caliper and rear drum, equalising the braking forces for smoother and more effective braking. Side Stand Switch is also available here.

Other features include 14-inch aluminium wheels with tubeless tyres, dual “grand headlight” with position lamp, console box for personal items, a 25-litre U-Box and a pop-up opening fuel tank.

The PCX is comes in two variants. The RM10,888 Deluxe comes in Pearl Metalloid White while the RM10,688 Standard variant can be had in Pearl Magellanic Black or Radiate Grey Metallic.

A large hi-res gallery of the two bikes is after the jump, including detail shots of all the features.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Megane on Nov 01, 2012 at 7:33 pm

PCX 150cc only selling at 10k …too costly . 150cc should be bread and butter scooter < 7k enough la

• kucing on Nov 01, 2012 at 8:00 pm

because is “HONDA. POWER OF DREAMS”

• Its profit margin from prestigious brand in malaysia. can’t doubt it.

• agreed… modenas elegan 170cc with front/rear discbrake only 8.5k..this pcx must be use vtec engine i guess..thats y so expensive..
      like this better buy sym evo250i la…

• _xXx_ on Nov 02, 2012 at 7:18 pm

why pay 10 over k for a small bike when u have 17 pages of used car for u to choose from! visit oto.my

• Agreed with megane. Honda is making fun of us. Why 150 for some more money. They should give us at least 200cc for that price. Annoying capitalist!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • Well, Other than Thai d origin country <8K, all other countries are around 10K actually..
    I just wonder how much is the tax for it ?

Will get one soon…but color for PCX 125 is more elegance….moreover limited color available for our market oso

• Expatriate VN on Nov 01, 2012 at 10:51 pm

Pearl Magellanic Black or Radiate Grey Metallic – limited colour choice! It is true, why offer 2 colour only?

In Vietnam, colour available are Den (black), Trang (White), Vang (Gold) & Do (Red)!!!!

What happen to Boon Siew?????

• 30% excise tax for 150 above, 0% import Tax within ASEAN made, 10% sales tax

• Wonder how Honda Boon Siew too greedy with PCX since Spacy price they managed to price it very close to Thai’s.

Look at this:

Honda PCX

Honda PCX 125i Front disc brake, spoked wheels, 125cc, PGM-FI (fuel injection)
    Price 69,800 Baht
    Honda PCX 125i Front disc brake, spoked wheels, 125cc, PGM-FI (fuel injection)
    Honda PCX 125i Front disc brake, alloy wheels, 125cc, PGM-FI (fuel injection)
    Honda PCX 150i Front disc brake, spoked wheels, 150cc, PGM-FI (fuel injection)
    Price 69,800 Baht
    Honda PCX 150i Front disc brake, alloy wheels, 150cc, PGM-FI (fuel injection)
    …..
    Honda Spacy

Honda Spacy-i 110 Front disc brake, spoked wheels, 110cc, air-cooled, PGM-FI (fuel injection)
    Price 41,500 Baht

• Alahai on Nov 01, 2012 at 8:43 pm

In US, the PCX 150 cost about $3499. Convert it to ringgit.

• Abuya on Nov 01, 2012 at 9:01 pm

Why the model on spacy wear baju kampung, not leather jacket? Mat rempet meh? Mat rempit will not ride scooter. The amoi look hot, again chinese gal will not ride kapcai. Get the fact!

• slimershine on Nov 02, 2012 at 1:17 am

the ‘amoi’ have a marvelous ass, confirm malay.. again, chinese girl don’t even have an ass.

haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • ah seng on Nov 01, 2012 at 9:24 pm

idling and stop and then twist throttle to start again, it must be strange to ride something with this mechanism..

• Nice design and features. Initially interested but once saw the price tag, I will stay with my first option, SYM200, with higher capacity, lower price and proven reliability.

• Expatriate VN on Nov 01, 2012 at 10:28 pm

SYM 200 including all other models by SYM is suck, Made by Taiwan, low quality, lack of power in its class, expensive spare parts,etc.

It is Taiwan’s equivalent for our jaguh kampung!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • You know that SYM built Honda motorcycles and even cars for the Taiwanese market from 1962 to 2002? ;)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SYM_Motors

• Expatriate VN on Nov 02, 2012 at 9:18 am

Do you know the power of branding?

If let Tg Malim plant used by VW to manufacture Golf, Passat, Jetta, etc then the quality is tip top at lowest price.

If let our Jaguh Kampung No. 2 used VW, Mers or BMW plants in Germany, the car come out still sucks low quality metal junks only fit to sell at Kampung!! That also a lot of complaints from innocent Kampung folks!!!!

• kenkay on Nov 02, 2012 at 9:25 am

Sym, Kymco and TGB are the main brands of scooters and mopeds in AU. They sell very well with little ir no complaints from customers. Just because it’s not a Honda or Yamaha doesn’t mean it’s not good.

• Hahahaha on Nov 02, 2012 at 10:50 am

Got experience first hand thats why changed back to naked bike, tot of having sym is a bliss but it goes otherwise

• Expatriate VN on Nov 01, 2012 at 10:18 pm

The Spacy and PCX scooter selling price is reflected international market price. In almost tax free motorbike market for Vietnam, Spacy is price around VND 30.8 Million (or RM 4,700) and PCX 150 is price at VND 59 Million (or RM 9K).

Someone ask for less than RM 7K for PCX, must be “crazy horse”!

• I dont know about viet tax structure for bike….the only thing i know for the viet, car price like hell. I have a viet officemate, only able to ride honda wave 100 for 7 years career in his home country even he was working with oil n gas company as instruments engineer. Then, he got a chance cross country assignment in miri, bought an ages toyota corolla seg. Happy and excited like motherfucker win a brand new nissan gtr from “gores dan menang” contest. Share his enjoyment! For the viet, driving a car by their own salary is like dreams come true in heaven. They will never get a chance to owned a car in their home country. Thats why the bike/cupchai is cheapper. Thats their main transportation.

• Expatriate VN on Nov 02, 2012 at 4:16 pm

The following are major constraint for owning a car in VN: –

– Low income – The average income is still low, with Engineer salary in the range of USD 400 to US 600 per month for 3 to 10 year experience (in construction sector). Those U graduate girls work as Secretary, Officer, Account, salary in the range of USD 250 to USD 400 per month.

– High car price – Toyota Camry 2.4/2.5 around USD 72K, Civic around USD 50K.

– Lack of Parking space – most of city center and shopping centers, hotel, office building are truly lack of parking. Most of building here were not build for future – i.e. provide sufficient parking for car. For normal housing area, not well plan, typical road 4 M wide only (for pedestrian, cyclist and motorbike only). No parking space for most of the traditional house.

Motorbike become preferred mode of transport due to can’t afford car as well as lack of parking space.

– Motorbike still prefer due to cost effective as well as convenient, safe to drive since most of speed limit here is 40 km/h (city drive). For Quoc Lo (National highway) at most as good as Malaysia’s Federal routes.

• Same like bolehland rite

• James on Apr 06, 2013 at 1:08 pm

Due to constraints, the bike is the best option for Vietnam. I think in Malaysia, especially in the Klang Valley and city center, bikes too are the most practical because it gets you there faster. Less time wasted, more productivity. However, car is a status symbol. Till we can get away from it, guess we will always have congestion and waste hours of our lives in traffic not to mention the cost to burn fuel in traffic. If there is less tax on scooters, perhaps we will see larger cc scooters. The PCX with fuel injection is a good step forward

• Expatriate VN on Nov 01, 2012 at 10:25 pm

Waite for Honda to introduce SH 150 and SH 125 scooter!

Vietnam assemble now retail at VND 80 Million (RM 11,500) for 150 and VND 66 Million (RM 9,500)respectively. Very nice design scooter and look elegance superior – he, he, he can easily attract girls over here! I will buy this one by next year!

PCX design is suck …….

• I like the new bikes from honda, but the price tag is too pricey.At the moment my two bikes namely Yamaha 135 LC and SYM 110 joyride are a pride to own. Speed at 140kph and 120kph a cinch.

• hondas bikes are always reliable. and you get start stop tech here. no more wasting fuel idling at traffic light.

• Nowadays all Honda ‘Made in Thai’ bike got quality issues..
      This year i saw 2-3 CBR250 abadoned in Sg Besi PLUS Highway..

• vee-oh on Nov 02, 2012 at 9:39 am

PCX design very nice..i want one

• I Love VN on Nov 02, 2012 at 1:37 pm

@Expatriate VN SH 150 and SH 125 scooter is a girls magnet, agreed!
    But to a certain extent, the Vespa LX’s are the ones that oozes certain flair of character and also attract a fair share of the Em Gai’s attention.

• No daytime led white riding lights and HID headlights..still the conventional bulb lightings very outdated for a modern stylish bike. No go. Wait for facelift

• SYM Sucks on Nov 02, 2012 at 5:02 pm

SYM VTS sucks.. use and sell it less then a year.. within 1 year, 1 time rectifier kong, 3 times starter coil kong, not to mention the fuel gauge issue.. fill up the tank until full, you ride for 5-10km, the fuel indicator shows 3/5.. sometimes ride again up to 40km, goes down again to 2/5, but later shows 4/5.. some even experienced have to tow this lousy scooter since fuel already finished up, but meter shows still left 2/5.. my ass la Europe quality.. the factory just behind my parent’s house in Cerok To’kun, Bukit Mertajam.. overpriced spare parts by MFXXCE leecher.. regular maintenance cost around rm60-70 (engine oil change, auto gear oil change, service charge at factory).. now come back to my old bike FZ150i, regular maintenance cost les than rm40.. SYM VS Honda?? I’ll take Honday any day, any time..

• Heng Lee on Nov 02, 2012 at 10:19 pm

You compare a FZ150i with a VTS? You prefer Honda, but Honda doesn’t sell a scooter with the same specs as the VTS?

Why not compare a MAN 19.440 with a Kancil? Kancil much better as oil change doesn’t cost that much?

• TestRider on Nov 03, 2012 at 9:08 pm

Someone please buy PCX..let test ride together everybody here..oso SYM gang bring along your ride..have a fair compete..gadoh2 gets nothing..LOL

• supersona on Nov 08, 2012 at 10:13 am

Boon Siew sucks! Stop ‘dreaming’ and wake up.. Try to keep up with Hong Leong’s Yamaha or else dying like Lion’s Suzuki.. Nowadays, lots of Taiwan & China-brand are in the market.. Raise your game plan, Boon Siew!

• totti on Nov 08, 2012 at 4:29 pm

A good safe bike with top speed at 120km/h but pricing made it non reachable for average malaysian.

11K for 150CC scooter and without Disk brake and 2 valve technology.

They should price it below 9K. (SYM vts at 9.5K)

Price will kill this machine. Better get the Yahama 135cc Nouvo at 6.5K OTR.

• zaffar on Dec 08, 2012 at 12:02 am

the problem with honda motorcycle in malaysia is the franchise holder BOON SIEW. people at boon siew syok sendiri type. look at hong leong yamaha, AP honda thailand, even suzuki malaysia. they keep churning new models, new technology to the masses, even modenas did better. and honda still producing EX 5!! just let honda japan handle it directly or appoint another franchisee then only things get better…

• D.W. Ling on Jan 02, 2013 at 5:11 pm

I am riding a white PCX150. Fun scooter to ride. Bought it for RM10888. Close the sale price in USA. I also own and ride Yamaha Nouvo 135LC. Powerful and quiet. Paid RM 6300. Value for money. The only trouble is difficulty to start the engine if not ridden for a few days due to low battery. I own other Yamaha scooters, e.g. Ego 125LC and another Nouvo. Same battery problem. I hope Yamaha would use better OEM parts.

• Why so expensive this motorcycle?. put 200cc or 250 then only sell 10k. Honda is getting worse and left out on motorcycle production compared to others. Not all honda product is good.

• Wall E on Feb 21, 2013 at 1:33 am

ride the PCX first, then u all talk.. no PCX owner is complaining here. too expensive?? thats why honda still produces EX5, for your broke asses!

• BikerBrat on Aug 29, 2013 at 10:42 am

Hi Everyone……..
    I would like some inputs on HONDA PCX or SYM VTS 200. One of the main reasons I Like the SYM design is the comfort of the seat due to the back rest.

But on the other hand I understand that Honda has a better engine with a new technology.

Any suggestions? Also, if there a place where I could test ride both the bikes? Some how havent found any place that lets you test drive…and that sucks!!

• al kassim on Feb 28, 2014 at 11:07 pm

About Honda PCX is a bit expansive than Yamaha Majesty 5 but we can’t get in Malaysia yet, In other country like Indonesia faster model than our country like in India ( Yamaha India motor ltd. ) is growing faster export model than they mother country Japan.Also the prize more equal than a capacity power and good Voom sound compare to our Malaysia country.