MINI One is here – limited to 30 units, RM143,888

Last month, we reported that 30 units of the MINI One would be coming to our shores at the end of October, teased through the One Love online campaign and questionnaire. Now we have a price – a quick call to a BMW dealership revealed that the car will cost RM143,888 without insurance.

The price excludes the Tender Loving Care package (which covers inspection and wear and tear repairs for three years or 50,000 km, whichever comes first). You can pay a fee to add on the TLC package.

The entry-level MINI is powered by a detuned version of the Cooper’s 1.6 litre engine. Output numbers are 98 hp and 153 Nm, with the century sprint executed in 12.3 seconds. Top speed is a quoted 181 km/h. Buyers can have their One in either Chili Red or Pepper White.

Back in August 2011, MINI Malaysia brought in 31 units of the MINI One at RM139,888 – all of which sold out very quickly. More details can be found on MINI Malaysia’s website.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• accordmania on Nov 01, 2012 at 7:21 pm

Which of these two, Mini One or VW Beetle is a better buy? Both are German breed, 2doors and at almost same price tag. Can anyone tell me?

• sudonano on Nov 01, 2012 at 7:38 pm

Mini back seats are more usable, compared to VW’s cause of the shape. And Mini is more engaging to drive. But then VW has a more classic look that is sure to turn heads, more than a Mini as its more unique(not common on our roads)

• Alpha on Nov 01, 2012 at 8:41 pm

In my opinion both back seats doesn’t have much usage.Both are more suitable as second car or daily car for those aren’t married with kids yet.And I do agree with Sudonano.Mini is more fun to drive but the Beetle is rarer and looks more unique.

• Have you tried the rear seats of the 2013 Beetle yourself? I am 1.8m and I can sit comfortable inside it.

• I bought the beetle coz its bigger and much newer compared to the mini

• accordmania on Nov 02, 2012 at 12:02 am

If you had choosen this kind of car, size shuouldnt be a point of decision. Cuteness and sportiness is the main point

• Highrisr on Nov 02, 2012 at 12:48 am

Although size does not matter in this subject, but with this price range and for someone who is truly looking into just the iconic type hatchbacks, practicality is somewhat important as we do carry people and cargo. Unless you are strictly single with no-one ever travelling with you, the mini would be fine. Or the mini as your second, weekend car.

The beetle is larger because its golf based, and it is more practical compared to a mini, but ofcourse, the size does wear off the go-kart handling of a mini. Although none would find this a problem nowadays, unless youre driving up to genting regularly.

Now people have the choice of practical retro coupe/hatch beetle and the nippy retro hatch mini, they are still in the same category but we were given two choices to choose from.

But in terms of price, fit and comfort levels, you have to agree the beetle gets an applause. What VW is offering for their little 1.2 TSI with leather seats, touch screen, body coloured panels is quite good, compared to a slightly more expensive mini with black matt finishings and simple cloth seatings.

But like i said, its luxury comfort vs bare sporty.

• oko028 on Nov 06, 2012 at 4:08 pm

You’re so LAME..If you’re a guy to bought Beetle over Mini. Just like you prefer Hello Kitty over Baja Hitam…hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • Highrisr on Nov 10, 2012 at 11:33 pm

Oh so funny..-___- like how i laugh at people buying a forte instead of a forte koup? Or i laugh at people who buys a persona instead of a satria neo?

Atleast he works and used his own cash to buy a unique 2 door 4 seater vehicle instead of a pimped out van. What do you drive since u are sooo judgmental and sooo funny?

• At least i have a beetle for my weekend car. What’s your weekend car?

• Mr Bean on Nov 02, 2012 at 8:01 am

Both car people will laugh at you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • Car Enthusiast on Nov 02, 2012 at 1:59 pm

I sat on the back seat when i took my mom for the VW Bettle test drive.

It’s gonna fit two full size adults nicely. Trust me.

• Johnny on Nov 03, 2012 at 2:10 pm

Dude, probably cuz your mom was small and had the driver’s seat way infront. You either fit 2 full sized adults in front or at the back.

• Rennie on Nov 01, 2012 at 7:43 pm

Neither ond is worth to buy. We are paying too much in excise duty making laymsn cars in the west becoming premium cars really not deserving the price they are sold at

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 22
    • Alpha on Nov 01, 2012 at 8:38 pm

Why everytime there’s news about new cars in Malaysia there’ll be someone like this??
      I’m not a supporter of the opposition or the government.Both sucks.

Yes,cars are expensive.We know!
      Yes,taxes are high.We know!
      Yes,the excise duty is outrageous.We know!

Everyone in this site knows it!

Now,can we please discuss car stuffs??Like what the first guy asked. Comparing this car with its rivals of the same class. Comparing specs, engine power, maintenance, fuel consumption and etcetera.

Cheers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 16
      • Expatriate VN on Nov 01, 2012 at 11:05 pm

Everyone know, but not everybody agreed! There still plenty of blind supporter out there sing a song about our crap-triotic jaguh kampung!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
        • Yeah, you always right.. I know… Tqvm… U dun like the taxes, u dun like the prices, u dun like the laws n the government, we know that,, ohh maybe u r saving ur money to buy an island and making ur own country,, thats whylah u dun like taxes and wanted all to be free so u can saving money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • ya… every post there will be a guy… talking about excise duty… juz hate it…. try to be happy with what we are gettin… don complain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • KsAngelFire on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:08 am

many talks about the 1.2tsi engine. but 0-100 time n top speed its quite similar with the mini one detuned n16 engine. considering tsi engine has a turbo+supercharger+dsg? hmm, dangerous after the 5years warranty programme

• no, neither are sold as a layman car in the west. it just in the same class with other layman car which is cheaper than both cars

• rally_fan on Nov 05, 2012 at 10:30 am

overseas, both cars are still generally sold at a slight premium over japanese and korean makes.

• Rennie on Nov 01, 2012 at 7:43 pm

Neither one is worth to buy. We are paying too much in excise duty making laymsn cars in the west becoming premium cars really not deserving the price they are sold at

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
  • Maserati on Nov 01, 2012 at 9:01 pm

You are kidding right? The new beetle is damn spacious at the back. Besides this mini is rubbish. Underpowered engine.. for people who die die want mini but cant afford the cooper s

• KsAngelFire on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:10 am

beetle spacious? i think u never sat in a R56 before. underpowered engine? have u tried the 0-100 time n top speed of both the cars? if u haven. try it before u make claims as if u tried both cars.

• Highrisr on Nov 01, 2012 at 10:04 pm

Although i knew this is coming out, i went for the beetle as it is more practical compared to a mini, who knows, there are times when you wish your car was more practical (a day out to ikea perhaps?). Yes, they are still expensive, and these cars were not made to carry many passengers and cargo, but once your in the price range and looking for a unique retro-type vehicle, the beetle should be the car to go!

• confused on Nov 01, 2012 at 10:44 pm

Polo GTI anyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
  • accordmania on Nov 01, 2012 at 11:33 pm

In fact I had tested both cars today, Mini looks more sporty and macho while beetle looks more modern and Girlie and interior lay out is boring but pack with lots of spec that mini one doesnt have. Both scored 7/10 with it’s individual pros and cons

• beetle is more funky than mini no doubt about that. 1.2 turbocharged tsi is just awesome. yes there are issues with the 7speed dry clutch dsg but hey…with 5 yrs warranty as opposed to 50k with the mini, one can b pretty comfortably assured driving the das auto, at least for the next 5 yrs..

• KsAngelFire on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:11 am

wonder how u test the mini one as last year n this year autobavaria/ingress(2012) never registered any mini ones for test drive?

• Rulered on Nov 02, 2012 at 3:42 am

Is the Mini Cooper using Prince engine? If it does, then you might want to find out the problems associated with it while the Beetle DSG 7 speed also have some people talking about it. If you’re passionate about cars then either one is a good choice, however I would also consider the aftersales service as part of my decision making.

• Rulered pique on Nov 16, 2012 at 1:57 am

Rulered—What about the prince engine on the mini and the dsg 7 on the vw? Pray tell me coz i have been through 2 years with both cars and I know Exactly whats wrong and right about them both….As of print today..Both the nagging problems have been addresed…..

• Let’s the girls decide for u.

• ayzprella on Nov 02, 2012 at 8:12 am

Mini One is supposed to be the most affordable mini.. ere, its premium… BS

• If our PM know this in advanced, sure he will brand it as Mini Satu Malaysia

• ThePolygon on Nov 02, 2012 at 9:19 am

Comes with malaysia flag on it’s hood, 10% goes to charity of your choice, it might just work… for those with money, need a new car, patriotic and don’t mind donating.

• Highrisr on Nov 10, 2012 at 11:40 pm

Haha, they should. A choice of Malaysian flag or any state flag on the roof and side mirrors, Satu Malaysia badge instead of ‘one’, assembled in Malaysia, an AES detector and a price tag of under RM130k.

Comes in red, blue, yellow and white. oh and najibs ‘1 Malaysia’ speech as you start the engine.

• KillBox1Alpha on Nov 02, 2012 at 9:02 am

How many more versions can they milk out of the same boring design? Yet they still have buyers….the mini is one of the more boring looking cars on the road…..i’d rather be seen in a tuk tuk

• when they first brought it in at 139888, all sold out fast. They bring in the next batch..and sell it for 143888. This is what i dont like about BMW Malaysia. Always trying to milk the situation. I bet if all sold out again, they will raise the price.

• KsAngelFire on Nov 16, 2012 at 9:57 am

it costs 3k more cause it now has sport rims which 2011 model only came with steel rims. do ur research dude =]

• Highrisr on Nov 03, 2012 at 2:23 pm

When will they ever introduce the mini one as a full product? Ive heard that they may not sell their more expensive models if they do sell the one as a full batch. But for the past couple of years, the mini has a big market. Even the cooper S has outsold the cheaper cooper, but there are plenty of middle classes that are buying used coopers and people who are dreaming of owning a mini. I believe if they do sell the one, the market would expand considerably. The market for the cooper/cooper S would stay the same, but now they have an additional consumer group to feed!

They should also sell it at a price just below 140k to compete with the beetle, and since it would be the cheapest new ‘BMW’, if they do stick with the cloth seatings and simple alloys, it wont be that big of a problem.

• The Enthusiast on Nov 07, 2012 at 11:46 am

Mini is more premium, a safer bet compared to the Beetle. And surprisingly more practical too. Mini is also a fun car to drive. I think that alone is a good enough reason to buy Mini.

• Highrisr on Nov 10, 2012 at 11:51 pm

I cannot say if mini is more ‘premium’ especially compared with the ONE and 1.2 TSI Beetle as the base beetle 1.2 is way more premium in specs compared to the bare essential mini. But as for badge, yes, BMW is more premium compared to a Volkswagen under malaysian eyes.

As for practicality, have you ever seen a beetle and its interior space at back?? Im 6ft and i sit well with a finger gap of leg room compared to me in slouching position and my knees dig into the sear infront of a mini. And boot space! MINI = 180L…. BEETLE = 310L with rear seats UP.

Practicality: Beetle
      Sportiness: MINI
      Specs: Beetle
      Value for money: Beetle
      Safety: On Par.

• I really dont like the design of Mini.It is not comfort with me.Other things are ok

• I will not buy any car before the price has lower down.

• montero on Nov 16, 2012 at 11:50 am

Wat a pity bodehpeople here get such a basic car with such high price

• Yeah…you can continue to be the “smart” group and ride BUS.