BMW X1 facelift introduced in Malaysia, turbocharged X1 sDrive20i variant debuts at RM238,800

BMW Malaysia has introduced the facelifted X1 here – the Sports Activity Vehicle (SAV) is offered in sDrive20i guise as a CKD model, replacing the pre-facelift sDrive18i in our market.

The new sDrive20i is priced at RM238,800 (OTR without insurance, with BMW Service and Repair Inclusive), and will be available to buy at dealerships nationwide from November 10. The facelifted xDrive20d will only be available next year.

184 hp and 270 Nm of torque come from a 2.0 litre TwinPower Turbo petrol unit featuring twin-scroll turbocharging. The mill is enhanced by Valvetronic, start-stop and direct injection technologies. BMW’s eight-speeder helps the rear-wheel drive SAV get from 0-100 km/h in 7.7 seconds. Fuel consumption and CO2 emissions are a claimed 6.7 litres per 100 km and 157 grams per km respectively.

An interesting standard feature is ECO PRO mode, which governs efficiency by managing fuel consumption and energy used by the air conditioning system, amongst others. The driver will be able to see how much additional mileage is gained from ECO PRO through a Bonus Range Display in the on-board computer.

The interior is refreshed by items such as a reworked centre console and a new look sports steering wheel. The back seats split 40/20/40 – BMW says it is the only vehicle in its segment to have this as standard. Each part can be folded down jointly or individually and each backrest element also has ten settings from which passengers can adjust seating support angles.

Luggage capacity is 420 litres with the back seats up and 1,350 litres with all of them folded down. Exterior colour choices are Alpine White, Black Sapphire, Midnight Blue, Mineral Grey, Sparkling Bronze and Valencia Orange, while the interior leather can be had in either Nevada Beige or Nevada Black.

According to BMW Malaysia CEO Dr Gerhard Pils, over a thousand units of the X1 have found Malaysian homes since its 2010 local introduction. The facelifted X1 was first revealed half a year ago – more in-depth details on the rest of the range can be had in our earlier report.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• panadoll on Nov 02, 2012 at 2:24 pm

which price is the right one? RM238,800 or RM28,3800?

• Dhanaraj Gopal on Nov 02, 2012 at 4:26 pm

The CBU 100% German Made X1 sDrive 28i with a more powerful engine is sold in the US$ for $30,650. Here, we get a detuned engine for 3X the price of a X1 sDrive28i in the US. Somemore, ours is CKD ie half Made In Malaysia.

Malaysians are always cheated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
      • Jimmy on Nov 02, 2012 at 5:22 pm

Because 99% of us Malaysians like to cheat people, especially the Chinese businessmen.
        BTW, the price is very cheap.
        Why didn’t we say something about Toyota Malaysia?
        Comparatively those vehicles are most expensive to most rakyats, standing by them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 51
        • Chinese are good in doing business. Pls don’t twist the fact. Shame on you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
      • That mean if 100% made in bolehland……no good la…

• Jonathan James Tan (Member) on Nov 02, 2012 at 2:43 pm

It’s RM238,800 – thanks for pointing that out!

• macroman on Nov 02, 2012 at 2:46 pm

oh my word, what a vulgar price. mmm mm mmmmmmm

• ah seng on Nov 02, 2012 at 2:52 pm

isn’t that an x3?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • Pumpkins on Nov 02, 2012 at 3:41 pm

Which one this RM238K X1 would do easily?

1. Ramming through Endau Rompin jungle timber tracks, or
    2. Jump over the road curbs during jam or flooding

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Black Dog on Nov 02, 2012 at 5:02 pm

I still don’t like the front

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • the front looks like an ugly pig. it is so wrong…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • A Tan on Nov 02, 2012 at 5:42 pm

I am an expat and I heard that Malaysia assemble BMW X1 or 320i give lots of problems including simple issues like oil leak etc. I am thinking of getting a BMW here, Is this true or false? Please advice, as I have no idea about the quality of BMW assemble in Malaysia.My BMW in oversea don’t have any problem at all.
    Thanks
    AT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
    • Paul Tan on Nov 02, 2012 at 6:03 pm

I have had no problems with my CKD BMWs… I’ve had an old CKD E39 520i and recently a CKD F10 520d.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
      • Wow … now driving F10, looks like your biz venture Paultan is doing very well with the big team and all the paid adverts and write up. Congrats …

• I do have a CKD E90 325i Bought 2 years back.
      – Front seats Water leakage after 2 months since the car was bought.
      – Rear Seats Water leakage 2 months after fixing the front.
      – Steering Noise 5 months after bought.

After these incidents, I’m dissapointed with BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • 8 speed or still 6 speed gearbox?

• seancorr on Nov 02, 2012 at 7:08 pm

the price is okay but there is a lot of features missing on the list. for starters, the x1 does not have memory seats for front passenger and the xenon lights ain’t adaptive and there is no navigation option for the x1. in addition to that the exterior lighting at door handles are also missing from the list. what were have here is an empty spec x1 from bmw malaysia. at least the new 3 series had an idrive (no navigation for 320i and 320d) and lcd screen to go with it. i would have thought bmw malaysia would have added some new kit for the facelift but there isn’t any apart from the new engine and transmission.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • CO Chan on Nov 02, 2012 at 7:26 pm

No mention of iDrive availability on the brochure so does that mean this is excluded ? Also how does the 5 speaker sound system being setup ?

• this is basic 2 wheel drive sDrive. Full specs include i drive. will be xDrive 4 wheel drive.

• seancorr on Nov 03, 2012 at 7:24 pm

that shouldn’t b the case as sdrive does not mean basic spec car. both sdrive and xdrive can be had with the same kit list and that should be the way and not forcing people to buy the xdrive as the 4 wheel system is not on everyone’s priority list.

and looking at bmw’s track record, they will definitely sell the xdrive with a diesel engine so effectively they just don’t care about customers who wanted petrol engines instead. that ain’t good business practice to me.

• Severe Tyre Damage on Nov 02, 2012 at 9:10 pm

No iDrive?

• Danial on Nov 03, 2012 at 12:42 am

The CKD here tend to have slower quality of assembly and this certainly applies to electronic where technicians tend to jam in the electronics and the air is dirty as compared to those in germany where much care is given when assembling the electronics portion. If you don’t know, then better go a see the CKD assembly line in Malaysia and check out the internet on the assembly line in Germany. Big difference. This is why CKD models tend to have lower quality of assembly because of lack of proper QC. Still the car is too expensive when for a US expart. He said he can be 3 of these cars in the US.

• Head hunter on Nov 03, 2012 at 9:45 am

I find this vehicle very appealing to the small family with an active lifestyle. Not sure if the father would agree being caught in this car. The car itself is very attractive, the front end should be at least, deserve the X3 badge. The back end looks good enough. “Sports Activity Vehicle?” If by sports you mean bringing the children to sports practice and home means it does serve its purpose. If it’s a “Utility” vehicle then you should be going off-road. Sadly, we don’t have a diesel here because for my wife it should be a good choice. Overall a nice package, sorry about the price, slightly too high..

• Gangully on Nov 03, 2012 at 11:53 am

Dude…who says there is no diesel? Go bmw website and check… They have an x1 xdrive20d

• sudonano on Nov 03, 2012 at 2:12 pm

But I do remember how cramped it is. Found the F30 better in terms of space. Even E90 (although dated) has more rear seat space. But it is a unique car still.

• DArkerMarker on Nov 03, 2012 at 10:05 pm

yawn….

• Talk so much about d price. In d end, there are still many on malaysian road. Just shut up and enjoy on d road. Doesnt matter looking or driving.

• Not worth the money. Only looks good, may impress some gullible. From the reviews, x1 steering is unusable for city/town driving.

• CKD OR DKD doesn’t matter

I drive f30 328i since Nov2012 & let it go in July2013.
    As B pillar, dash board & steering wheel have noice.

Not to mention twice electronic issue to the car

Disappointed

• Ive owned xi 18Isdrive. very good car and powerfull and have good fuel comsumption. Yes there was some minor problem but since its under warranty it was done.Throught my experience all new car have a problem.I got 6 new cars (bought new). BMW, Toyota, suzuki, proton, perodua even inokom..and my suzuki swift is the best. No problem until now 6th year.

• zainie on Mar 03, 2014 at 4:18 pm

I just bought X1 sDrive20i..Smooth driving and so comfortable. With the reasonable price and 5 years warranty, what else you expected? :)