Peugeot, official car of the Asean Banking Conference

Peugeot will be the official car sponsor for the 19th Asean Banking Conference and 42nd Asean Banking Council Meeting, which will be held from November 7 to 9 in KL.

The Asean Banking Conference is a biennial forum which allows for the formulation of ideas and strategies to attain the objectives of the Asean Bankers Association. The Conference and Council Meeting this year is hosted by the Association of Banks in Malaysia. Bank Negara Malaysia will be officiating this year’s conference and will be presenting the keynote address.

Among the speakers are Datuk Seri Abdul Wahid Omar, chairman of the Association of Banks in Malaysia and president/CEO of Maybank, Datuk Seri Nazir Razak, group CEO of CIMB Bank, Tan Sri Dr Mohd Munir Abdul Majid, chairman of Bank Muamalat and Mohamed Faiz Azmi, executive chairman of Pricewaterhouse Coopers.

As the official car partner, Nasim will provide 10 units of the 508 for the conference and council meeting. Both will be held at Sasana Kijang, Bank Negara Malaysia. The cars will be used to transport the respective heads of delegation of the Asean countries throughout the duration of the event.

“The 508 range encompasses everything Peugeot is famous for – class, character and panache – and is the perfect vehicle to transport the region’s top bankers during the 19th Asean Banking Conference,” said Datuk Samson Anand George, COO of Nasim.

Back in June, Nasim relaunched the 508 range, which now has five variants including Peugeot’s HDi diesel engine and an SW wagon variant. Click here to read our report.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Karl von Jitry on Nov 02, 2012 at 6:08 pm

After the conference could be they sell the Pug 508 substantially cheaper? IF Pug 508 basic retailed at RM155,000 can be less expensive by 15% could be NICE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • advertising on Nov 02, 2012 at 6:12 pm

Zero to fame in a second.

• Robert Loo on Nov 02, 2012 at 6:20 pm

Woooh! Can’t wait to see how much the resale value for this batch of car after the event …

• Sgt Scoop on Nov 02, 2012 at 6:36 pm

I was thinking the same thing. I guess these cars will be sold off after the conference. They’d probably have less than 1,000km on the clock. There might be a bargain there for any Pug fans.

• Danny the conference is held at Sasana Kijang.. not Sasanana

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 02, 2012 at 8:50 pm

Corrected, thanks for the spot! Left my brain in BKK :)

• lobservateur on Nov 03, 2012 at 12:41 am

i can’t imagine these bankers being chauffeured around in anything less than European cars – they probably demanded for it! :)

anyway, it’s a pretty shrewd advertising by Peugeot and possibly a better deal for potential second hand car buyers after the conference.

• calvin t on Nov 03, 2012 at 8:32 am

even with 10% off, u might need to consider that 2013 is just around the corner.
    there will be good bargain for new car when come yr end. just my 2 cents.

• pontiac on Nov 03, 2012 at 10:22 am

Whats the purpose of having this car to the delegates where the onboard GPS is not functioning in malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Herman Low on Nov 03, 2012 at 11:21 am

I think should be 20% discount as 2013 is a whisker away after the conference and car already used.

• mokkf on Nov 03, 2012 at 5:37 pm

Don’t dream. This car will later sold to those cronies out there. U will not even here these cars on sale after the conference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Sam Loo on Nov 03, 2012 at 5:42 pm

Wow, the delegates will be surprised when the cars kwai tai and sui kwan by the road side

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 30
  • Alex Chan on Nov 03, 2012 at 6:01 pm

hah!..i bet after it all over the value is only 50K..confirm..see..europe car have no resale value here..camry 10x better and more prestigious lor..thats why we chinese always choose value..feel sorry for those who make mistake by purchasing crap europe car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 55
    • Hadi75 on Nov 04, 2012 at 9:28 am

Camry salesman in the house…..
      Camry maybe prestigous ( to you la ) but the Pug has more safety features than your beloved camry la….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • David D on Nov 04, 2012 at 12:29 pm

Yes, and we, the buyers of these zero-value cars will thank the side airbags of the 508 that will ensure we escape unharmed in a side collision, whereas you will be languishing in ICU or certain death, no thanks to the lack of vital safety features in the Camry.

Safety against resale value? Safety anyday. I don’t want to risk the safety of my family as well as friends as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Mienzz92 on Nov 04, 2012 at 1:45 pm

Camry 10x better and more prestigious even without VSC ??….lol

Don’t just choose the car by its value only..think also the safety features offered by the manufacturer too….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • boyolta on Nov 05, 2012 at 6:28 am

if the camry is really ’10 times better’ and ‘more prestigious’ then the 508, then T should sponsor some for the conference lor…wonder why T didn’t do that? no confidence izzit?

nice work alex chan, you just helped a lot of people to consider the all-new and safer 508 to be a better option than the not-too-safe, endless facelifts and resale-value-deception called camry.

• Oh no, then many of them will sangkut and have to get towed!