Toyota Prius c TRD Sportivo: orders open, RM104k

UMW Toyota Motor announced today that order-taking has started for the 2013 Toyota Prius c TRD Sportivo. Individual private-reg prices are as follows: Peninsular Malaysia RM103,990, Sabah RM105,886.90, Sarawak RM105,936.90, Langkawi RM98,236.90 and Labuan RM99,203.

The bodykitted B-segment hybrid gets LED DRLs, rear combination lamp garnish, a sports stripe along the lower body and TRD Sportivo carpet mats. Four colours are available – Lime White Pearl CS (RM800 extra), Silver Metallic, Black Mica and Super Red V.

For further info, customers can call UMW Toyota Motor’s free phone line at 1-800-8-TOYOTA (869682).

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Wow congrats UMW. Such fat margin even without the full tax amount.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 7
    • Malaysian are not stupid on Nov 02, 2012 at 5:41 pm

Tax-free B-segment car selling at RM100K!!
      Only in Bolehland

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 7
      • I dun remember it being tax-free ,Lowe tax yes but tax-free?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 39
        • tiadaid on Nov 02, 2012 at 9:22 pm

Only sales tax is applicable so, basically it is tax free.

• Driver on Nov 03, 2012 at 10:45 am

Expensive weak car. Now put extra weight it becomes weaker.
            Noisy car with poor NVH. Fail handling. I rather buy Insight with the same money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
        • the greed toyolta on Nov 03, 2012 at 1:25 am

yes it is tax free and is still selling at 100k. only ignorant ppl like you love to buy this super duper overprice crap!
          you get ripped off when you are lazy to do some simple research!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
          • Driver on Nov 03, 2012 at 10:51 am

Some more claim full hybrid. But fc about the same 18-20km/l with Insight and Jazz.
            Toyota, enough with your pretty brochure and bluffing specs… now we know the reality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
          • Cant comment on the price here in bolehla land…. but long term u will save more.

if compare to jazz hybrid the performance is almost the same or slightly better as i test drive both.

As proud owner i got around 1liter=25km easily which hardly achievable with other hybrids. The trick is to drive it like normal car and not try to be gentled on the pedal. Trust me….

Recent consumer reports show this car the got highest score for reliability and low problems. Good job toyota.

Is made in Japan ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
          • @Khai

I believe buying a Viva will achieve the same result (compensate fuel cost by having a lower starting price). Viva is also designed in Japan. ;)

But forgive me for my sarcasm, UMW/Toyota really went overboard with the pricing. This car is only worth at most 80k, and I have been very lenient on placing the 80k price tag. Some say they couldn’t price it lower because of the Vios.

• rosdi on Nov 02, 2012 at 5:05 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 150
    • Preve is ugly too…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 142 Thumb down 32
      • I think the new Saga looks better than the Pre’ve anytime, anywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 10
      • Toyolta on Nov 03, 2012 at 7:54 pm

at least Preve premium version have turbo can smoke altis/dugong anywhere anytime any condition

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 19
        • Not a fan of Toyota but Toyota is better badge,better quality,better looking,good resale value and international brand.maybe premium version is faster than Altis…but Toyota premium brand Lexus LFA is quite fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • the joke of the day..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
    • gen y on Nov 03, 2012 at 12:47 am

Educating hardcore proton bashers and T fanatics is a tough job… they’ll hardly accept facts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
      • breyton on Nov 03, 2012 at 11:49 am

what fact? preve is ugly? lol it’s already head turners. only blind people cannot see its beauty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 47
        • their heads are turned to see the car with the “cough cough” sound. LOL

• breyton on Nov 04, 2012 at 11:35 pm

Why so butthurt? Just accept the truth. Oh and the head-turning scenes are also true by the way.

Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Jimmy on Nov 02, 2012 at 5:10 pm

Slowly increase the price progressively.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • silv3ster on Nov 02, 2012 at 5:14 pm

The bodykitted B-segment hybrid gets LED DRLs, rear combination lamp garnish, a sports stripe along the lower body and TRD Sportivo carpet mats. =RM6990???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 9
    • BabY3v0 on Nov 05, 2012 at 1:17 pm

I better buy the RM97K car and go out, as there is many custom bodykit outside more sportier there and also TRD bodykit, with purchase bodykit maybe RM2000 and respray back the paint maybe RM500 is much more lesser than buying a TRD sportivo spec with extra RM7K.

That’s what many Toyota Vios user go out and modify much more cheaper than buying the original ones…waste money…

• vee-oh on Nov 02, 2012 at 5:17 pm

really,UMW???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • kerelbort on Nov 02, 2012 at 5:43 pm

UMW trying to fight the cheese half with half-hybrid honda by increasing the price of its overpriced tax exempted prius C… naise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • mp_drucker on Nov 02, 2012 at 5:50 pm

Honda Jazz Hybrid is way way much better buy than this. UMW Toyota is milking on die hard Toyota fans. Continue to be ignorant at your own peril!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 11
    • kennykiddz on Nov 02, 2012 at 7:01 pm

same to me too. Compare with its reliability

• Jazz hybrid is better looking….. Not good looking but better looking than this
      Although under spec ,wait until its CKD version early next year, should be cheaper ,fingers cross

• alldisc on Nov 03, 2012 at 10:20 am

jazz is better looking, i agree… and feels really spacious with bright interior compare to prius C @ aqua black/dark grey cabin.

performance is world apart between the two though, but both can travel at more or less the same distance; jazz fuel tank is bigger though.

• Please be more specific in ur comment…. better in what??

1) Fuel Consumption lose
      2) Sales lose
      3) Technology lose
      4) Airbags numbers lose
      5) Aesthetics maybe but its more personal taste
      6) Price win by 2k saving

….. List what else jazz better than prius c??

• 1) Both selling at over 90k+.
        2) We all lose.

• mp_drucker on Nov 04, 2012 at 8:06 pm

When people said a better buy, someone still doesn’t get it. They want to be specific. Yes, be more specific. Go and squad down at the back of Prius C and look at the bumper at the back. Squad down and tell me how good looking is your Prius C.
        Having said that, i defend your rights to continue to be ignorant and i second that Toyota awarded Tunship to you.

• mp_drucker on Nov 04, 2012 at 8:15 pm

Toyota fans always use Sales figure to argue that Toyota cars are better. Watch your back, stupid fool, you are telling people that Perodua Myvi is much better car than your Toyota Vios and in 90s, Proton Saga, Wira are much much better car than your Toyota collora. It is your right to continue your ignorant. please carry on.

• Yes, wira is so good! My wira only 11 years, 1st hand, mileage 130k km and I never speed, never kena saman.

Wira is so good that other than the Mitsubishi engine and steering wheel, I have changed everything, like brake pump, water pump, radiator, exhausted pipe, throttle body, compressor etc, you name it, due to its god like quality. And I only change it at proton service centre.

I can’t stop laugh with your comment. You make my day!

• Sales figure prove it!!! Like selling food, if people buy more from toyota it must taste good, so if people buy less from honda it must taste ok, if people dun want to buy such korean car they must be bad taste.

Please dun complicated thing, there are reasons why toyota achieve this figures….and become best selling hybrid. You are ignorant……

Honda jazz hybrid can’t even access american market due safety issues.

• Mp_drucker on Nov 05, 2012 at 10:24 pm

Tun khai,
            Please make a statement that proton saga is better car than Toyota Vios because proton saga sales figure is more than Toyota Vios. Please also make a statement that Lexus IS 250 is a poorer car than Hyundai sonata because Lexus’s sales figure is not as much as sonata. Your failure to make such statements means that you are suffering from dissociative identity disorder

• MycarMylife on Nov 02, 2012 at 6:05 pm

And they think that our Rm grows on trees, UMW ‘s money thuggery at its best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • Han!h on Nov 02, 2012 at 6:17 pm

Too much light lah on the nose…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Way overpriced for its size, along with the VW polo . if I’am going for hybrid , I’ll starve for another month for a CR-Z

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Megane on Nov 02, 2012 at 8:30 pm

This car is really ugly with tumour -like surface jutting out for no reason …100k ? No thanks …TRD carpet mats haha wow seriously UMW think we can fall for the carpet mats hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Small tiny car cost more than 100k? Better buy a mpv.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • woody on Nov 02, 2012 at 8:53 pm

I rather buy a TATA 10-tonnes lorry with wooden bodykit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • feels like what produa has been doing with them Myvis. no performace improvement but just add a newbody kit and call it Special edition. wait a minute toyota owns produa. No more toyota for me then.

• just imagine how sporty the next generation vios if the front look similar to this…i will want one…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
  • tiadaid on Nov 02, 2012 at 9:26 pm

Why do you need a TRD body kit on a hybrid?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Lim Ping Shern on Nov 02, 2012 at 11:35 pm

stupid Toyota!

• ben yap on Nov 03, 2012 at 12:49 am

Old trick from toyota again? they better change their marketing team coz keep using the same old gimmick to squeeze customers. I wonder who are the fools to fall for it.

• the greed toyolta on Nov 03, 2012 at 1:40 am

UMW is very successful in marketing gimmicks. there are lots of fools around. i see lots of these prius c running around everyday while the driver has a arrogant and proud look like he/she got the best deal in town. one of them is probably Mr.Sam .

this junk is only priced at $19k in USA including taxes and profit for dealers. After conversion is RM60k. Add in 10% sales tax is RM66k. UMW super fat profit is RM38k. more than 50% of the car!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
      • chris on Nov 03, 2012 at 2:21 am

Actually I agreee with you..I think I am the only malaysian agreeing with you on tis..toyotaa drivers have tis cocky or stoopid face 90% of em. Honda drivers 70% of em.

Hey think they r smart and when they drive seldom do they use indicators. Because all of them are suicidal anyway- terrible ride and handling yet they dare to drive fast..this boy racers in dugongs or citeh

I admire ppl who buy differently, intelligently. Going for better tech rides and quality. It shows where they come from and their intellectual capabilities.

Driving a Preve is classier than driving a dugong or tis in my opiion.
        Guess the reasons..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 13
        • the greed toyolta on Nov 03, 2012 at 3:22 pm

well said bro. your comment just made my day!

• Toyolta on Nov 03, 2012 at 8:02 pm

They only care about resale value..

• BabY3v0 on Nov 05, 2012 at 1:21 pm

How do they care of the resell value… if another owner comes and buy the hybrid from you, they will be needed to change the battery that will cost maybe RM25K…..not worth…

• _xXx_ on Nov 03, 2012 at 4:53 pm

u really think AP is RM2 1 piece

• paparadzi on Nov 04, 2012 at 12:40 am

You forgot the cost of AP.

• silver on Nov 04, 2012 at 4:24 am

u forgot to add in AP… it has only free excise duty..

• jens lehman on Nov 06, 2012 at 12:56 am

Fools are born everyday. Can’t do anything about it. Damn UMW ! Hope these T fanatics will see the light.

• gen y on Nov 03, 2012 at 12:53 am

As a Toyota owner for the last 5 years, I am really disappointed. RM100k for a dugong design? Come on la UMW… r u even listening to ur customer. Look at Honda la… please…. sigh!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Toyolta on Nov 03, 2012 at 8:04 pm

Their customer are always listen to them…They will buy any car with T badge.. even without airbags… resale value maa..

• dugong on Nov 20, 2012 at 3:19 pm

resale value good only for toyolta fanatics. Does not concern the rest of the ppl. No intelligent person will pay for such overpriced junk or even worse a 2nd hand overpriced junk costing almost a brand new decently priced car.

• Davinnci on Nov 03, 2012 at 2:33 am

This Bolehland policy is sucking people money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • Toyolta on Nov 03, 2012 at 8:06 pm

Really? no excise/import duty, only 10% sales tax but still 100k?

• khir toyo on Nov 06, 2012 at 1:07 am

No lah… UMW is the real sucker… do ur homeworkla, please…

• People buy hybrid to save money on fuels and eventually save the planet. Govt give incentive for that purpose.
    Only for UMW and Toyota to kill this people by selling those hybrid at a damn expensive price.

• albag on Nov 03, 2012 at 9:10 am

no matter how expensive or costly it is… there will still be certain amount of stupid toyota fags purchase this shit… their stupidity has waaaaaayyyyyy exceeded our expectation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • bling bling

• Head hunter on Nov 03, 2012 at 9:29 am

What’s the point of a TRD package for a eco saving car? I don’t get it. If it means better suspension, for greater handling, or lightweight wheels and lighter bodykits and carbon fibre interior parts then I call that sustainable. The purpose of a prius? To save fuel and minimize carbon footprint. Additional nonsense bodykits? Additional weight, higher consumption= useless.

• Don;t think putting the DRL at the front lip is a good idea.

• toyota owner on Nov 03, 2012 at 9:54 am

I have own a myvi, city, vios and in search for an upgrade to C-segment cars. Went through altis, new civic, & elantra. After much deliberation, test drives, promotion offered, almost put my money onto altis. Then comes, the All New Focus. at rm130k, puts the rest to shame. though will not make any heads turn (like elantra), not so posh service centres (T&H), I drove my focus with self satisfaction. if the same amount of tech were to put into any of these cars, will cost a bomb the way these cars are being priced. Not to mention road handling (now i realise what conti-car handling meant). Can’t put in words.
    oh yeah, i forgot to meantion, won’t gain much in selling my focus later……………but………who says i’m selling ? ;-)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc on Nov 03, 2012 at 10:29 am

3 issues you will face later

1. when car breaks down – where is the nearest service centre?

2. when come to selling off, youre in for a big surprise as basically demand is so low. but u r not selling, right?

3. because demand is super low, resale value will be super low as well. but again, u r not selling right so i gues that is ok with u.

i must admire with you for choosing an alternative makes rather than go with the mainstream models. but 5 things that malaysians consider include

1. looks (car design)
      2. image (the brand)
      3. equipment list, value for money factor
      4. reliability, after sales service network
      5. resale value as many ppl dont keep cars for 10 years. sometime in between sure sell one. lose 30% is acceptable, but to lose 65% is a lot.

focus is a brilliant car though, especially the first gen and the 3rd on now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 25
      • tokmoh on Nov 03, 2012 at 6:04 pm

1. Looks? Dugong n Myvi look nice meh?

It’s all about the brand. See new Camry no VSC become more expensive, but selling like hot cake.

I think if umw reintro corolla seg for rm70k also ppl will still buy. Toyota maa

• alldisc on Nov 04, 2012 at 5:22 pm

tok moh, thats why if no.1 answer is no, they will look at Q no.2. if no also, then malaysians wont buy.

but if Q1 is no (e.g. vios) but q2 is yes, then q3 is yes as well… and same goes to q4 – this is the only reason why vios is best selling non-national segment for so many years. coz ppl who bought them use brain. i am not biased to any party here, lets be adults and use some common sense.

btw, i ride kawasaki kips only. he he he

• dugong on Nov 20, 2012 at 3:23 pm

Use your brain la…no wonder u are still riding a bike only.

• Leong on Nov 03, 2012 at 11:30 pm

One buy a Toyota because they are only interested in resale value,right?
        Does hybrid has any resale value in Malaysia?
        Ask many salesman,all of them skirt the answer!
        Anyone here would like to buy a hybrid second hand?So why limit our self to Toyota if you are ready for a no resale value car?

I prefer car with no resale value.why?
        1.I dont have to worry about being car jacked.
        2.I worry less about my car being stolen.
        3.They usually comes with good deal that cover warranty and maintenance that makes my motoring care free.
        4.Their service centre are not crowded.
        5.I am different on the road (camry and accord are so school uniform).
        6.The car are loaded in safety features and gadget(Yea you may want to argue you not need them and etc etc,just that I don’t like to regret my whole life just because of dollar and cent,certain things like family and kids has no price tags,or maybe one don’t have to regret at all since the sole bread winner is not around anymore).Bro,SHITS HAPPEN,You are warned.
        Would I do all above and lose 20k more?
        YES!

• Leong on Nov 03, 2012 at 11:32 pm

One buy a Toyota because they are only interested in resale value,right?
        Does hybrid has any resale value in Malaysia?
        Ask many salesman,all of them skirt the answer!
        Anyone here would like to buy a hybrid second hand?So why limit our self to Toyota if you are ready for a no resale value car?

I prefer car with no resale value.why?
        1.I dont have to worry about being car jacked.
        2.I worry less about my car being stolen.
        3.They usually comes with good deal that cover warranty and maintenance that makes my motoring care free.
        4.Their service centre are not crowded.
        5.I am different on the road (camry and accord are so school uniform).
        6.Bro,SHITS HAPPEN.Buy the best protection for your self and family,because you are the bread winner,the pillar of the family and family is the best thing in the life of a husband and father.Nothing else matters.
        Would I do all above and lose 20k more?
        YES!

• Rulered on Nov 03, 2012 at 11:52 pm

Just curious to know, how’s the resale value for hybrid cars. If these cars are free from excise duty, wouldn’t it be better to get a brand new one? And I agree with majority, what’s a TRD version doing on a family hybrid car.

• mondy on Nov 03, 2012 at 11:56 am

i still use old ford sometimes but i have to admit that proton/lotus rnd is better and love it

• Wow so expensive not including upgrade alloy rim , as usual UMW ripping us Malaysian off , but then again for fully imported car, it’s the unfortunately the cheapest considering compared with other local assemblies of City, Vios, Focus. Simple Malaysia tax , if same government still stays in power next term, price will always goes up same with hybrid when the tax examption expires.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • wtf?!?@!? prius more worth than prius c! i saw it otr..just like kancil feeling and yet selling at such high price go die

• bedexx on Nov 03, 2012 at 1:33 pm

Toyota,”So you want to save on fuel consumption on your myvi? Give me RM30k and I put battery and motor to your car so you can save money on fuel.”

• Anand on Nov 03, 2012 at 2:59 pm

The front of this car looks very normal but the rear really look sucks and horrible.The rear look like got bang by a truck.whatever all comments being highlighted mainly on HIGH PRICE for this small junk,u still can see many cars on the road later drive by ah bengs and ah mois cause it is a TOYOTA brand.

• Hello all car lovers out there, does it worth to pay 104k for a car with plastic feel inside???

• i hate the front led day light, same problem happen to camry!

• Jonathan on Nov 03, 2012 at 5:20 pm

Toyota getting greedy and greedy…
    Come on la…

• joomla on Nov 03, 2012 at 5:23 pm

anyone see the thumbs up and down numbers? it’s kinda artificial to me

• Yup, the numbers are no longer valid for readers representative purpose anymore.

• Lexus Lansi on Nov 03, 2012 at 6:12 pm

Toyota Prius C TRD Sportivo
    such a long name……………..

• Alex Chan on Nov 03, 2012 at 6:14 pm

this is what u call a very nice design hot hatch!..way to go toyota!..a lot of people say bad things becos they cannot afford a toyota..work hard guys!..u can do it..love my vios trd..so hot looking and the best handling in its segment..see..we chinese choose value…u want a cheap car?..come come vote PR!! why hate toyota when u clearly see the statistic every year – non national car maker BEST SELLER is VIOS?..see..majority malaysia choose toyota (that majority is chinese..becos we choose value..u can make the difference too)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 31
    • Jonathan Lee on Nov 04, 2012 at 5:27 am

Firstly, this isn’t a hot hatch, it’s a run-of-the-mill hatchback that just happens to come with hybrid power. A car with a combined output of 101 bhp does not deserve a bodykit of any sort, let alone one as ugly as that one.

Secondly, if I wanted to spend my RM100,000 on a car I’d walk past the Toyota showroom and spend it instead on the Jazz Hybrid or, better still, the Fiesta. The Prius C is just too ugly, too cramped, too flimsy on the inside and not practical enough.

Thirdly, and I admit this is personal, the Vios TRD is one of ugliest cars I’ve ever seen. I have no idea why anyone buys these TRD Sportivo models. They cost upwards of RM3k more than the standard model (this Prius C’s near as makes no difference SEVEN GRAND more) and all you get in return is a car weighed down by half its own weight in hideous plastic add-ons. It doesn’t help that the base car isn’t exactly a looker in the first place.

Admittedly the Vios TRD has sports suspension as well, but if handling was all I was interested in I would’ve just bought a Prevé.

And lastly (and I’m completely bypassing the outlandishly racist remarks you made) I would like to point out that people buy the Vios because they don’t know better. They buy it because it has a Toyota badge and don’t bother even looking at the competition. So they don’t know that there are cars that are more spacious (City), faster (City, Fiesta), better to drive (Fiesta, Mazda 2), more fuel efficient (Fiesta, City) or, indeed, better looking (pretty much any of the others).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • alldisc on Nov 04, 2012 at 5:37 pm

check figures :

both vios AT and city AT do 0-100kmh in exact same time (manufacturer’s figures).

honda city horsepower advantage is handicapped by its weight. 10% more power but the car is also 10% heavier than vios. heavier means worse FC as well.

120,000 vios owners (’02-’12)will disagree with you. number of city sold since 1997?? about half than that.

city more spacious? check that rear passenger floor and compare to vios flat floor which better accomodate 3rd passenger for better comfort.

in terms of looks it is all subjective.

many keyboard warriors in paultan.org hates toyota cars but this turns out to be very little percentage of total community. when umw launched latest camry, it was bashed like nobody business. but yet i see more of it compare to mazda 6, more new camry against kia k5 optima on the road, against nissan teana, and against hyundai sonata (dont use low supply issue as reasons… please!)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • Jonathan Lee on Nov 05, 2012 at 2:35 am

1. Neither Toyota or Honda quote acceleration figures for the Vios or the City. As for weight, I’m not sure 80 kg (1,130 kg versus 1,050 kg, that’s not exactly 10%, is it?) makes a difference as much as 11 hp would. In any case, the City certainly would benefit from having a five-speed auto compared to the Vios’ archaic four speeds, which would help either in terms of acceleration or fuel consumption.

2. I didn’t say the Vios isn’t the most popular non-national car. I’m saying most people buy it because they don’t know better. They don’t care that there are better cars out there, they just care about the badge. They think that buying a Toyota means less headaches, especially when it comes to maintaining and, eventually, selling it. And that may be true, but it’s not like you see Cities and Fiestas breaking down everywhere or sent to the scrapheap because they are near worthless in the secondhand market, do you?

3. I’d rather have better rear legroom for the other two passengers. How often do you actually fit five people in a car, anyway?

4. I told you it was a personal opinion.

5. I don’t actually have a downer on Toyota. I liked the previous Camry (the new one’s complete sh*te though) and I want that 86 SO badly, but that aside, the current range of Toyotas sold here is in desperate need of a revamp. We need a new Vios, since there already is a new Yaris. And we need, NEED a new Corolla. The new Civic is slightly disappointing, and if Toyota can channel some of the new Auris’ aesthetic to the new Corolla I think Honda will have a real fight on its hands.

• alldisc on Nov 05, 2012 at 12:02 pm

80kg is still a lot my friend. its like u drive alone in city or u drive with 2 girls weighing 40kg each in vios at all time. or with an 80kg person at all time. that will surely affect FC especially in start stop traffic as i am sure no honda city drivers at all time do 0-100kph every time, every day.

but anyway, haters gonna hate. nothing much i can do about it.

• Jonathan Lee on Nov 05, 2012 at 2:21 pm

But you can also feel an extra 10 hp, especially on a car that isn’t very powerful.

As for fuel consumption, no one can say for sure since neither of them post fuel consumption figures, so we can only estimate. Yes, the City weighs 80 kg more, but it probably manages its power more efficiently as it has more ratios in its transmission.

Fine, I’ll concede, in terms of performance and fuel efficiency the two are probably equal (I wish the City came with an i-DSI variant with a CVT, like the last one).

That aside, though, I still wouldn’t buy a Vios. Forgive me for being shallow but I just can’t get past the styling.

• OilChange on Nov 04, 2012 at 7:52 pm

vios is for moron.

simple as that.

• jens lehman on Nov 06, 2012 at 1:28 am

Finally, someone with good comment. Hope Vios fans have an open mind on this.

• jens lehman on Nov 06, 2012 at 1:22 am

I’m so sorry to hear so many chinese only care for brand rather than technical aspects. Thought chinese are smart…

• dugong on Nov 20, 2012 at 3:42 pm

he meant the uneducated shallow minded / kampung mindset chinese eg. – your neighbourhood vcd seller, pasar malam trader, hawker etc. These guys got some money but are not educated. So naturally they buy dugong or other “overpriused” junks sold by UMW. They don’t do any research at all but just depend on hearsay or what their parents told them about toyota cars.( which were actually good value for money in the 80s and 90s but not valid anymore today.its the worst choice you can make today)
        I am chinese but i wont want to be seen in a dugong or drive a dugong even if you give me for free unless you point a gun in my face.
        So this alex chan talks nothing but full of shit

• DArkerMarker on Nov 03, 2012 at 9:38 pm

i have heard many pruis onwers not happy with the Toyota service center’s technicians.

The technician dont know nuts about servicing Priuses..

• bonbon on Nov 04, 2012 at 7:55 am

yeah,,i heard other service center good too….what else haa i heard?

• Potibala on Nov 03, 2012 at 10:22 pm

Toyota and Nissan will last for the next 20 years. Honda will lose the value becoz they are becoming proton rebadge next year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Peyno_mom on Nov 03, 2012 at 11:17 pm

preve is the best, you will spend less on fuel, but spend time on workshop, lmao!!!!!

• Preve sigh…. this car made in Japan and got highest reliability score by Consumer Reports….

• Most PC criticizer here don’t even drove a PC for more than 5km. Of course they don’t know buying a PC, the driver get:
    1. The most reliable car 2012 in US (MY PC and US PC come from same manufacturing plant) – check out consumerreports.org.
    2. 7 air bags
    3. Vehicle Stability Control (not even Camry has it, only Accord highest spec, less than RM100k only Preve highest spec and other hybrid models have it)
    4. 30% import tax and 75% excise duty exempted – you save 105% tax from MY government.
    5. 1 tank RM60 for at least 700km.
    6. Top safety rating in IIHS (Insurance of Institute of Highway Safety)

They mostly concern about power, plastic feel and outlook, so surface.

I do agree PC TRD is too expensive for RM103k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Yes and you know what. It should have been sold in the Vios price range. They place it at above 90k because they did not want to undercut their best seller -> Vios! So much for conspiracy. :)

• Of course they won’t make it same price as Vios to affect the Vios market. But think further, what make a Vios so expensive in first place? UMW or the bloody government tax?
        ALL car models in Malaysia are not sold at the price they should be. We as a buyer, can only buy those which are closer to the price it worth. And Prius C is one of the best.
        Prius C for RM92k or Inspira for RM92k, which one more worthy? You tell me.

• Jonathan Lee on Nov 04, 2012 at 4:36 am

My word, that’s hideous. Is UMW’s answer to keeping their cars interesting just adding a horrible bodykit onto everything? I’d shudder to think what they’ll do to the 86…

• DArkerMarker on Nov 04, 2012 at 3:51 pm

Why slap on bodykits???

Ppl buy this car because they are aware of fuel economy and being green. The sportivo defeats the purpose.

Its like you work-out to have a good body, but then you eat junk food…

• Potibala on Nov 04, 2012 at 4:30 pm

I driving a Prius c and I am getting about 680 to 700 every rm60. I only fill rm 40 which last me for two weeks

• can not be??? I been told by my friend prius c can drive up to 800 easily. Prius can make it to 800 to 850, or maybe you are speeding all the time LOLZ

• OilChange on Nov 04, 2012 at 7:50 pm

TRD stands for toyota racing develpmnt?

what is racing to do with this piece of crap?

metrosexsual, gays and blonde type gals drive this kind of car.

people with brains don’t.

• FireAce on Nov 04, 2012 at 10:25 pm

I do agree extra 6+K is really too much. But still really don’t understand why people slam on the body kit so much. If you don’t like it, get the original Prius c. But then, complaint the original Prius C rear bumper is ugly.

Btw, just for everyone information, this TRD kit is not new, news about it has been circulating since December-2011, Google for it. Not sure where it was offered before but we are finally getting this “Option”.

• azrai on Nov 05, 2012 at 7:37 am

Oh..so this is what Ah beng will do to his mother car afterall. Prius C Ah beng’s Edition. So what’s the point of hybrid? Save petrol or add more weight to the car?

• Jonathan you forgot to include with navigation, backup camera display. But to me is still over price. Toyota SA said rebate 6k.

• Modesto.hann on Nov 05, 2012 at 9:53 am

When u r popular,If you have 1 million people who like you, you will have 1 million people who hate you. This happens to toyota.

• For that price, go a get Fiesta

• interesting on Nov 05, 2012 at 1:02 pm

looks like Toyota like to put the DRL on the skirting….

• critic_A on Nov 05, 2012 at 2:07 pm

choose inspira any time at this price range

• chrisg on Nov 05, 2012 at 2:22 pm

Hi guys I have never driven a proton but I must buying a proton is really for those who wants value for their money.

vios and this are just under spec and pricing wise,too high.

Proton may not be on par quality wise but its just asmart buying decision. Quality you can’t control but choosing the car to buy youhave plenty of choice.

So instead buying for the sake of resale value, do look at the other points.

Being a t and h fanatic does not make you smarter. It shows you have cowherd mentality and you only think of rsv.

Well of course resale value is better. The price for t and h is higher than a comparable of not better car from competitor. And because the are more stupid ppl buying t or h..economics of scale tells you that it will be in higher rsv bracket..parts more etc.

But you get shortchanged the moment you decide on this car. Proton offers you more, korean makes offer you more, form out a little more for german or french than you get more plus satisfaction.

You put your life on risk drving dugong bcos you think if you survive if that a crash, you get paid handsomely in rsv.

Drivers of other makes think differently. They think I buy this car bcos its better, technologically etc. Good for the bucks, I will earn more few years down the road..all cars depreciate. Good service intervals, my familiys life is more important, etc etc

So I’m not bashing, just advising you t fanatics out the based on very valid points.

I’m driving a golf andfiesta btw. I still admire preve for its efforts. I check out altis before purchasing golf tsi and altis is way overpriced in my opinion then. Fugly interior etc.

Proton will be the one day..don’t bash em bcos the price range is different altogether. Does not mean that if you drive proton you can’t afford a better car, you just want value and buying the promise of proton.

• Cantona on Nov 05, 2012 at 3:06 pm

PriusC with AhBeng bodykit. For 104k?!
    LMFAO.
    I hope d fanboys will buy, so I can laugh hard.
    Its a very good car, guys..after all its made by Toyota, it will never breakdown, it has worldclass tech and the resale value is unmatched by its rivals. Only Honda comes close.
    (hahahaha)

• Hybrid1 on Nov 06, 2012 at 5:48 am

Wow.. so many people hoo har about UMW & Toyota cars. I really wonder those who keep complain, to they own a car? What car they driving & the problem they encounter? It will be stupid keep complaining without a single point. If Toyota & Honda so bad, mind to share which one better then them? Bolehland’s cars?
    Anyway, 7k for the bodykits is just overprice. Even though the normal Prius C which cost 97k still expensive, but I think is whether you are affordable. Same reason as you own a BMW/Merz/Ferrari & etc.

• BabY3v0 on Nov 06, 2012 at 12:21 pm

Guys, you need to think how can this Hybrid can have a resell value? Toyota warranty the chargeable battery for 5 years, and when you buy the 2nd hand car, you need to change the battery right? and i heard the battery cost a BOM… about RM20K to RM30k to change a new ones….

But of course when you look at the long run, the hybrid car is better because the Fuel price will shoot up high sky…

So think wisely……

• blaxpepp on Nov 06, 2012 at 3:06 pm

Hybrid battery cost you RM20K?… YES!.. That was years ago… But latest update on the price. it only cost you rm6200… YES AGAIN… RM6200.. wait for another 3-5 year, you bet how much will the battery might only cost you… :)

• Hybrid1 on Nov 06, 2012 at 10:15 pm

10 years ago, Laptop battery may cost RM500-700. But now it only cost RM200-300. That time, we always carry a spare battery for our cell phone & battery will unusable after 1-2 yrs. Technology stuff getting cheaper & better over the time.
        Toyota Hybrid battery can last for 10 yrs. I guess normal car will also overhaul after 10 years. It’s just part of maintenance cost.

• Watch3r on Nov 16, 2012 at 9:36 am

This car is selling at RM97K now, OTR price.

Waiting for the price to go down down down …

• Thangjx on Nov 19, 2012 at 8:21 am

I’ve thought of getting a prius c but i don’t know is it worth the money, but i like the simple cosy feeling of its interior, next in my list is hyundai elantra 1.6A, surely this car’s performance is better. Both car price are around the same, can viewers give some good advices?

• alldisc on Nov 19, 2012 at 10:27 am

you want space, go for elantra.

prius is all about taking care of the environment. preserving whats left for our children, and their children’s children.

should test driven the prius, with its electric motor giving fat torque at 0rpm, one can be sure of instant response when the accelerator is pressed.

the 1.8 engine + motor is claimed to have the output of a 2.4 litre engine (up to a certain rpm). however, one will not feel it because of the stepless CVT transmission – the car feels slower that it actually is.

anyway, toyota is giving good year end discounts amounting to RM6,000 for prius 1.8 and RM5,000 for prius C 1.5.

• Cool Guy on Nov 20, 2012 at 1:48 pm

Toyota Hybrid is best in the world. Please stop comparing with crapy Proton. Prius C is reasonably priced in Malaysia as compared with loser Honda Hybrid.

• imran on Jan 23, 2013 at 1:32 pm

proton is a primitive and orthodox car . No new technology can be found in it until today .Their after sales record is very poor not like Toyota.Toyota still better in every category.This is my honest opinion…(self comment)

• imran on Jan 25, 2013 at 1:49 pm

i do believe the original prius will be better than prius c to upgrade with trd. Prius c is light weight hybrid car not like his brother the original heavyweight prius!!!!!!!