DRIVEN: Nissan Almera 1.5 CVTC, to Melaka and back

Nissan Almera

The big news in the local motoring scene last week was the launch of the Nissan Almera and its RM66,800 starting price. When that was announced at the event last Tuesday, a series of gasps were audible even within that big hall, followed by applause – it caught many of us off guard.

Not only, then, is this an important car for Nissan; the competitive pricing alone is enough to make the Nissan Almera a serious contender in the B-segment, already the domain of rivals Toyota Vios and Honda City.

The said segment is a significant one – according to Edaran Tan Chong Motor, it accounts for more than 38% of the Malaysian car market, with between 18,000 and 19,000 cars sold per month. If Nissan is to achieve its sales target of 10,000 units for the first three months, there is little room for error – the Nissan Almera is a car it has to get right.

With more than half a million already sold globally, it makes a pretty strong case for itself from the start. Still, there’s nothing like actually driving it to get some real-world answers, and this was fulfilled for a group of members of the media in a recent test drive to Melaka, where not only did we stretch the Nissan Almera’s legs, we stretched ours too at the back. There’s enough room for that, you bet.

The media drive fleet was made up of Nissan Almera V- and VL-spec cars – the highest and likely to be the better-selling two out of the four variants on offer, which made the test drive all the more relevant. I drove the V to Melaka and the VL on the return trip, and although they’re obviously no different to drive, there is considerable variation particularly in interior trim and equipment.

As standard, both have front fog lamps, black door pillar garnish, variable intermittent wipers, twin airbags, seven-spoke alloys and remote boot release differentiating them from the lower E grade. The range-topping VL adds on keyless entry (called Intelligent Key) and push start, automatic air-con and Fine Vision Meter with multi information display in its instrument panel. V starts from RM76,800; VL from RM79,800.

You can be the judge in terms of looks. I find the Nissan Almera’s styling understated, to say the least. Then again, there are people who prefer their cars this way. Personally, I like the look of the Impul bodykit, along with rear spoiler – it lends a certain degree of subtle aggression to an otherwise sedately styled sedan.

Step inside and you are greeted by a simple cockpit that’s arguably more function than form. Material quality is par for a car in this price range, but switches, knobs and controls in general do have a relative solidness in their operation, although obviously quite some way from premium in outright physical feel. No complaints as far as driver ergonomics are concerned – controls are where they should be and fall intuitively to hand.

The day began with an eco drive segment – we were to drive from ETCM’s Southgate showroom to Port Dickson as ‘normally’ as possible, with air-con on and without coasting or turning the engine off, while keeping between 80 and 110 km/h on the highway. This was managed without fuss, save for the occasional wait at traffic lights and the erratic morning traffic that threatened to worsen our consumption figures.

I drove the Nissan Almera in a relaxed manner during this stint, venturing beyond half throttle only once or twice. I found the electrically-assisted power steering perhaps a little too light for me at low speeds, but this is arguably a matter of individual preference. In any case, it isn’t devoid of feel – feedback from road surface undulations is well communicated to the driver, while directness and accuracy is above average.

The Nissan Almera does feel quite solid to drive and well put together, despite its affordability. Instrumental to that is a pliant, well-damped ride and sufficiently muted engine sound levels at low revs. The cabin also refused to emit any rattles, creaks or squeaks even when going through nasty ridges or potholes.

At the end of the 90 km eco drive, we brimmed the cars’ tanks and worked out our results. My car used 4.87 litres of petrol, which translates to an average of 18.5 km per litre, beating the quoted 14.9 for the automatic transmission variant by quite a margin.

Out of the thirteen Nissan Almeras in the media drive convoy (all of them automatic), the best achieved fuel consumption on that run was a staggering 24.8 km per litre, and the worst was 14.5, which is quite remarkable considering each car had three people on board, plus bags and other equipment in the boot. The average for all thirteen cars was taken to be 16.6 km per litre.

Sitting in the back of the Nissan Almera, I can report that the much-touted 636 mm of legroom is a real boon especially when travelling long distances, and the seat base is angled just so to provide good thigh support. Nissan claims best-in-class cabin space; most of it must be down to that legroom because head and elbow room are skimped on somewhat.

Now I’m not overly tall, but my head hits the tapered roofline if I lean back in my seat. Also, if two regular-sized adults were seated on the rear bench, the person in the middle would find it a real squeeze unless he or she were relatively small in stature. I also noted the absence of door and seat back pockets for the rear passengers.

Soon it was time to hit the open road. Free of eco constraints this time, we engaged the cars in a spirited drive down some scenic and winding rural roads. With 102 PS and 139 Nm of torque from the 1.5 litre HR15DE four-pot, acceleration from a standstill is just short of brisk, and one learns to carry more speed into the corners to save having to bury the throttle getting out of them. The engine note turns a little harsh beyond 3,000 rpm, but it isn’t excessively loud.

Kickdown on the four-speed automatic is quick enough for most overtaking situations, and thanks to an engine that spins pretty freely, the Nissan Almera reaches its 4,000 rpm power band fast. Gear changes are leisurely at best, but for the most part smooth and imperceptible. Steering feel weights up nicely with speed, too, and grip and body control levels are acceptable.

The brakes, although a seemingly outdated front-disc, rear-drum affair, provide more than enough stopping power for a one-tonne car such as this. There is no sudden bite; instead pedal action is predictable and progressively linear, making gradual application and release easier.

At the further end of the speedometer, the Nissan Almera is moderately refined. Wind noise is present, but the car does not fidget excessively and not a lot of steering effort is required to keep it on track. You wouldn’t want to do such speeds for a sustained time, though.

Both the V- and VL-spec Nissan Almeras I drove were equipped with the multimedia navigation system, a RM2,800 option. The in-house developed unit (by TC Auto Tooling) brings together a rear view camera display, DVD, iPod, USB and Bluetooth.

Legibility during the day is fairly good, although most would need to select the brightest setting. The six-inch screen is responsive to the touch, and system response is adequately quick. There’s also a split-screen feature that shows navigation on one side and radio on the other.

Has Nissan got the Nissan Almera right? To properly answer that question we would have to line it up side-by-side against its main rivals, but from the drive alone it is clear that the newest B-segmenter to hit town is attractively packaged. Its strong points are its simplicity, frugality, that rear leg space as well as an extensive catalogue of add-ons.

The basic RM66,800 Nissan Almera may be, well, basic, but it’s still good to know there’s an offering in this segment for that money, and at any rate, you can always spec it up with only what you need – a familiar business model that often makes sense. In these times of economic uncertainty, the Nissan Almera may be just what Nissan needs in our market.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• it is a good car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 77
    • almary on Nov 05, 2012 at 11:56 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 303
      • Wisdom on Nov 06, 2012 at 9:30 am

Styling a bit lost and too vioslike.

If only they have telescopic steering adjustment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 14
        • OMG…..how many people will actually use telescopic adjustment. It’s in all luxury cars but never see anyone using it and you find this a VERY important point in a car…duh….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
          • alldisc on Nov 23, 2012 at 10:59 am

all cars are using telescopic steering columns.

the actual term is rake adjustment.

and if it is an 8 way adjustable, it is called rake & reach.

• OMG…The ‘BEST’ CAR ever for Nissan family car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 52
    • SMK SAS on Nov 06, 2012 at 8:04 pm

ETCM, pls introduced another auto variant priced below 60k as there are those who couldn’t afford the 69K to 79K range. Could be done by using more local components but do not skimp on quality as well as safety. This will benefit those average income earner and of course increase sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 13
    • No full picture of dashboard because it’s UGLY!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 20
  • RVP20 on Nov 05, 2012 at 11:33 pm

dear Paul,
    what is the RPM if you drove about 80kmh-120kmh? what is the RM fuel that you filled in go and forth from Melaka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Jonathan James Tan (Member) on Nov 05, 2012 at 11:48 pm

Hi RVP20, the rpm between 80 and 120 km/h varies depending on gear and throttle position, but at a constant 110 km/h in overdrive the engine spins at about 2,750 rpm. We didn’t fill up coming back from Melaka – we only filled up 4.87 litres after the first 90 km to work out the average fuel consumption.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 3
      • alldisc on Nov 23, 2012 at 11:05 am

see, even 4 speed gearbox also can achieve excellent fuel consumption. the secret does not lies only the number of gears but as long as a car is light, with moderate engine capacity and skinny tyres it will do the job well.

even a 4 speeder is fine as long it has an overdrive ratio, which should be below 1.000

now, if the almera can easily gets 20km/L, whats the point of having a prius C if the difference is not much (the range for prius C is 22.5-24km/L)??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • Ezuan Ruzi on Nov 24, 2012 at 3:43 pm

i agreed with u…whats the point to have a very expensive hybrid car..like prius c..with cheap interior..n u need to stndby rplacing the btry fr 4-5 years worth 7K… when u can have Almera with fc quite similar

• Aaron on Apr 29, 2014 at 6:50 pm

Well, I am driving a Vios and Prius C.

Yes, depending on the way they drive eco mode, actually I can get 18.5 km/l on my Vios too if using the same way they drive. That’s the normal FC of a 1.5 l car in highway speed without jam.

However, in town, things get a little different. Fuel consumption in town is merely 11 km/l. The nissan almera should be around there too maybe slightly better.

However, the Prius C get 23 km/l on highway eco mode, and 27 km/l in town.

Furthermore, people buy it for the 7 airbags and VSC.

• kimi's fan on Jan 01, 2013 at 9:47 pm

Hi,

How is Almera air cond ?

• Suzuki on Jan 28, 2013 at 10:11 pm

Bloody cold, suitable in Malaysia. I turn on 21 celcius and one level of fan speed also can feel the iceberg feel even though outside is hot like an oven.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • kimi's fan on Feb 02, 2013 at 12:59 pm

is it ? i drove latio and grand livina with tinted windows. these 2 models’ air cond quite lousy for me at 1st fan speed with lowest temperature.

• kimi's fan on Feb 02, 2013 at 1:06 pm

*Due to previous post’s characters problem*

Hi Jonathan and readers,

Compare between almera and ford fiesta, which 1 is more worth overall ?

I’m just collecting opinion !

Thanks !

• Chow1 on Nov 05, 2012 at 11:39 pm

I will choose this over Preve.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 201 Thumb down 137
    • quest on Nov 05, 2012 at 11:59 pm

preve wins hands down,
      it can do 100km/h at 2,000rpm, more or less like sylphy and in different league already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 86
      • Preve drinks petrol like an alcoholic during Oktoberfest .
        …… And personally do not fancy a cvt gearbox, if only there was preve cfe with six speed manual ……if only

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 171 Thumb down 59
        • don’t compare tiny 1.5 engine with turbocharged 1.6 engine, lol. power wise it cannot go against preve’s 205nm lol.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 20
          • What is the use of 205nm with a broken lower arm?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 99
          • amoi lets try crash ur car and see how ur lower arm broke like a piece.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
        • KWarisan on Mar 25, 2014 at 6:31 pm

Why aaa.. Malaysian always syok to compare between epal and pear not epal to epal?…
          huhuhu…

• Littlebear on Nov 06, 2012 at 8:34 am

One shouldn’t always compare the specs. Most of the time it boils down to the feel of driving the car. How refine the car is, how smooth and also how reliable the car is. Putting all these criteria into the picture, I would say the Almera win hands down.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 44
        • Penang playboy on Nov 06, 2012 at 10:39 am

I dun wan to buy proton products anymore…it stink of a non-working 30 years old man who still want to ask the parents for pocket money

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 48
        • Penang playboy on Nov 06, 2012 at 10:40 am

I dun wan to buy proton products anymore…it stink of a jobless 30 years old man who still stick with the parents at home and ask for pocket money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 42
        • Chow1 on Nov 06, 2012 at 11:47 am

Thanks for the rational comment; I think you are right. Like driving a Myvi is quite an enjoyable thing compare to a more powerful Proton, however, I find it more comfortable as a passenger in a Proton car than Myvi. So the spec is just for reference sometime.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 7
          • Yea and thousands find it more comfortable in Myvi than a Proton. The sales figure tells it all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 113
          • Amoi, if sales figure can tell you how comfortable a Myvi is to a Proton. Then Mercedes, BMW, Audi can all close shop d. Same advice to those who use Toyota’s sales figure to compare some ridiculous stuff.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 9
      • danny on Nov 06, 2012 at 12:11 pm

Ha ha… you proton people just don’t get it. It is not the spec. Just drive your Preve (Prayer) for 3 years and try to sell it after. Problems aside, you will lose more and nobody will call you to buy your POS. I hope you know why Smart people drives Toyota, Honda and Nissan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 128
        • Smart ppl don’t invest in car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 301 Thumb down 7
          • azmi boi on Nov 06, 2012 at 10:51 pm

ya ya…car is nothing…poor investment

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 7
          • Or maybe you’re saying that Smart guys get Inspira?

3 years is the normal period which a car is in its most reliable state. Most people will go for a new one after that.

If you are driving a Preve, are you going to stay driving it for a whole 9 years loan period?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
          • MatLimMutu on Nov 13, 2012 at 11:43 am

ya, so true!!

• Dominic on Apr 24, 2013 at 8:25 am

Smart ppl drive Proto Saga FLX with lots of Property…:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
        • Turboman on Nov 06, 2012 at 10:54 pm

Ya. Smart. Smart enough to pay RM180k for a car without ESC and very few airbags.

Smart enough to be so selfish that he is willing to sacrifice the safety of his family, wife, kids, parents for the sake of RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
      • ae101 on Nov 06, 2012 at 12:46 pm

what littlebear said is correct. i tested the car already last weekend. even though preve is C segment, but driving feel is no where compare to this almera. proton is still a proton. hopefully they can learn something from honda.and fyi, this car price already increased 5k because the promotion is overed as per SA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 19
      • this car actually looks better than preve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 74
      • Even with that figure Preve is still high on fuel consumption….what can people say about Proton.

• Quest2 on Aug 10, 2016 at 1:48 pm

Jetta 1.4tsi go for 160km/h at 3000rpm.
        Top speed 260kmp/h at 1 minute

• Peter on Nov 06, 2012 at 12:37 pm

Well, overall I don said Almera is better then Preve or what, but so far I never encounter any owner, from friends or from the web that say their Preve is problem free after a month owning the car, this include minor issue that require to be fixed at the service center during your 1k or 5k service. Yes. NONE (aft a month owning the car). If you don believe, go to ask your friend, or check yourself at any forum etc. Remember, especially minor issues. On the other hand, performance wise it’s on par, handling even better than same range of car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 16
      • Penang playboy on Nov 07, 2012 at 8:36 am

Peter, have you actually test drive both car? If not keep your mouth shut. You are just like a regular keyboard warrior who act like an expert after hearing a thing or two from his friends, auntie and uncle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 109
        • Peter on Nov 07, 2012 at 6:06 pm

Yes. Did test drive one. And many friends share a lot too. Thanks for calling me uncle. At least older & more realistic than you. You don have to be so vulgar in forum. Base on my comment, anyone with the right sense won treat me as expert, at most a dissatisfied user. But you, nobody even bother to know who you are.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 8
          • So true Peter… Better trust you than PENANG PLAYBOY…. who would trust Penang Playboy anyway??? HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!! SUCKS big time le you playboy… are you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
          • Long Yun on Nov 25, 2012 at 11:27 am

Good one Peter.
            Almera ke Vios ke City ke Preve ke asal mampu je la. As long as tak kena tarik. For pasar malam guy like me, i only mampu drive proton saga 1982 and never lose to any of this beautiful C segment cars

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 4
  • Allen on Nov 05, 2012 at 11:46 pm

Just wonder, there isn’t any feedback on handling?

Comparison to Vios,City and Fiesta Sedan of the same segments, and also Preve/Forte in the similar price range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
    • Turboman on Nov 06, 2012 at 10:51 pm

Handling of the Almera, Vios, City and Fiesta Sedan is quite soft. Body roll is quite pronounced as those are all comfort biased sedans. Great for long distance travel. Haven’t tested the Vios TRD though.

Fiesta Hatch, Preve and Forte have sportier handling ( harder suspension, corners flatter ). Not so comfortable i would say, but if u like to attack curvy roads, those are the cars for u. But also bear in mind Preve and FOrte are C segment vehicles compared to the rest which are B segment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • Allen on Nov 07, 2012 at 9:35 pm

I have tried the Fiesta Sedan before, I do think the handling is the best among the B segment sedan. Yet to try 207 somehow, have to reserve my comment this car.

Forte? Dun know but I dun like the handling it at all, perhaps I was spoiled with the handling of Preve. It does really unrival in the C segment, agreed by Paultan’s review too. Perhaps the New Civic will be a good fight in this segment.

Elantra? To me more like a lady car, the suspension is too soft….
        Suitable to fetch kids from/to school, go to work, certainly not for spiritual driving.

• Ahmad ariff on Nov 05, 2012 at 11:50 pm

What no plate is that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
    • Davinnci on Nov 06, 2012 at 7:38 am

Toto number

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • Trade Plate or Temporary license plate.

• alldisc on Nov 23, 2012 at 11:11 am

that is actually trade plate numbers, instead of hanging them JPJ allows the plate number to be displayed like that while the real one is kept inside along with its license.

hence the reason for blue background – similar to trade plates as well.

• ckman on Nov 05, 2012 at 11:53 pm

nissan is roaring again !.. still remember the 80`s when sunny its a hit among many Malaysian … will it rule again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 15
    • I guess it’d nice if TC opted Sunny name instead of Almera.

Sunny enjoyed a very good reputation in Malaysia.

“Awas Absorber Bumper!”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 2
      • Head hunter on Nov 10, 2012 at 11:00 am

Awas! Absorber Bumper! That’s a good one, i missed the writings on the bumper that you don’t quite see it anymore. Hehehe..

• alldisc on Nov 23, 2012 at 11:24 am

all over the world Sunny is also known as Pulsar, Sentra, Almera and Tiida (and also Apria and Platina for south america).

Every Nissan dealers in every country has the right to choose the name they like for that particular model. Nissan Almera was used in UK as long as in the 1990s.

Nissan is not alone in doing this, some other manufacturers including our own Malaysians do use alternative names for different type of markets.

example like
        Honda Civic = Ballade
        Proton Waja = Impian
        Proton Wira = Persona
        Proton Satria = Compact
        Proton Putra = Coupe
        Daihatsu Sirion = Boon
        Hyundai Lantra = Elantra
        Hyundai Atos = Atoz (A to Z)
        Kia Sephia = Shuma = Spectra = Forte
        Mazda Capella = 626 = Atenza
        Mitsubishi Chariot = Grandis = Space Wagon
        Toyota Picnic = Ipsum
        Toyota Lancruiser Prado = Colorado
        Toyota Previa = Estima = Tarago (Australia)
        Perodua Kancil = Nippa (UK)

• seganguy on Nov 05, 2012 at 11:55 pm

Too bad Tan Chong is not offering CVT and traction control as options on the Nissan Almera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 6
  • Mozilla Chrome on Nov 06, 2012 at 12:37 am

I tested this car and I feel that the smoothness of the engine and suspension is superb. The car suitable for city drive and to people who opt for comfort. But for heavy footer, this is not a car for you because this car the car is too ‘soft’. The rear leg room is also big (surprisingly) but the width quite small to sit 3 adult people. It just the basic model looks too ugly and if you mind the look, you might need to install the bodykit.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 4
  • dear tan..
    i already book one..but when i do a test drive..i fell it little “heavy” to move (at the traffic light)(tak de pickup)..so im wondering how it performence when i want to overtaking a car at the normal road without using overdrive funtion…really net ur opinion coz i already have bad experieance on this matter with my old car..it is car got enough power to to do clear overtaking…waiting 4 ur respon..tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • not a car enthusiast on Nov 06, 2012 at 8:00 am

You don’t use the overdrive function to improve pickup! Overdrive is to save fuel, not to increase pickup. Overdrive increases the trasmission ratio – thus the engine can operate at lower rpm.

Use overdrive when cruising in highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 60
      • OD = GB will only shift up at higher RPM range = use more fuel!

But your nick name does say it all. I don’t blame you :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
      • not sure trolling or dumb

• sepucps on Nov 06, 2012 at 9:44 pm

Yup..the correct term shud be Overdrive Off function, not Overdrive function..any gear ratio 1.0 and above will be called overdrive, normally 4th ratio of 4AT is overdrive, thus by off the overdrive, the gearbox downshift to 3rd for better pick-up..

• Nissan Owner on Nov 06, 2012 at 9:17 am

I’m a Nissan owner with 4AT trasmission. My car has an “Overdrive OFF” button. The car manual says that it is suitable when driving up the hill. When in OD Off mode, it will stay maximum at 3rd gear. I always use this mode (press the OD Off button) when hill driving (up and down) and overtaking. The OD Off indicator will light up in the display near tachometer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • tengok dari belakang macam vios..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 103
  • seancorr on Nov 06, 2012 at 6:54 am

One has to applaud Nissan for offering it at an attractive price (Auto A/C and push start FTW!) and with a good optional kit list. Options like reverse camera and GPS are not even offered on cars like the BMW 3 Series or the Mercedes C Class!

I guess this is ETCM’s answer to the rakyat’s call for cheaper foreign brand cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 17
    • Cosmo Artemis on Nov 06, 2012 at 12:51 pm

This car is not so cheap la bro…RM66,800 for basic spec is not cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 12
      • VeeYos on Nov 07, 2012 at 11:16 pm

What about Toyota Vios J (MT) RM72,404? I think a lot better than this Almera and more affordable for rakyatsss. =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 39
  • NISSpengAN on Nov 06, 2012 at 7:52 am

Hope almera will beat vios n city sales flat.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 9
    • Sabahman on Nov 07, 2012 at 1:31 am

Almera makes Honda/Toyota look a bit expensive. Especially the City. And who wants to buy a Proton when you can get a Japanese car for the same?

Nice work, Nissan. Competition is good for us consumers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 6
  • sleepwalkerz on Nov 06, 2012 at 7:53 am

Did it come standard together with that Eagle F1 tyre?

• oblong on Nov 07, 2012 at 8:46 am

Test car & standard showroom car fitted with 15″ Continental CC1 (so outdated) but got optional to upgrade to Eagle F1 D5 16″@RM300/piece or 17″@RM350/piece(so cheap!). Any Nissan SA WTS 16″ F1 D5 to me for my current ride hehehe…

• It ACTUALLY looks better than a Preve!! Much better!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 96
    • hajihalef on Nov 06, 2012 at 10:54 am

Really? Are your serious? I thought malaysian fail to design good looking car, so this probably the reason. The people also have a bad taste.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
  • Ronald on Nov 06, 2012 at 8:15 am

Really loves this car…
    I prefer AT than CVT as the CVT fails very soon…
    Especially with those heavy foot driver…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 41
  • the high spec is having better interior design, becoz the 3 buttons temperature control in d low spec look really ugly. this car is meant for comfort drive, not for golden right leg people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Kaypeeam on Nov 06, 2012 at 8:27 am

I saw 2 different dashboard here, One with round controller together with LED display another with 3 controller withou LED display

• the round controller one is fully auto air-conditioning..another one is manual adjustment air-conditioning..but both of it is ugly look..hahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
  • putra_rider on Nov 06, 2012 at 9:09 am

I thought i could get more info.
    U can take pictures with any passenger for eyes comparison. Its hard to imagine for a blank seat.
    And maybe can take the boot space with some luggage.
    Need more overall review for that 2 hour journey.

• Has Nissan got the Almera right? To properly answer that question we would have to line it up side-by-side against its main rivals, but from the drive alone it is clear that the newest B-segmenter to hit town is attractively packaged.

it would be great if can have the comparison for B-segment….

• Is this car designed by Tony Stark?

it has the similar design language ^.^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • this car looks like it was designed as a hatchback. the rear boot make it look ugly.

when will hatchback come?

• spyshotX on Nov 06, 2012 at 12:03 pm

actually the design started off as a hatchback.. it was based on nissan march platform.. just like vios born from yaris platform..

• ben yap on Nov 06, 2012 at 9:35 am

when i read that almera only has 102PS, it is really a big turn off. looking at it as a newer model compare to our existing city and vios, it shoould be more advance and develop about 125PS and 148Nm of torque and 6 speed automatic with paddle shift.

this car is really behind time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
    • Josh Ling on Nov 06, 2012 at 3:12 pm

i think you can only judge if this car is underpower or not, and how well it moves by actually driving it. i have learnt this when driving many other cars. on paper, they all look like “really?? you gotta be joking!”, but after driving them all, i found myself rather impressed.

it’s not about number of power and torque, and how many gears you for the automatic transmission, especially when you are talking about a no-frills, economy-to-run family car like Almera. i think the combination is fine enough for normal family.

• tungguuu on Nov 06, 2012 at 9:42 am

this car is not meant for enthuthiast like most of us here who reads paultan.org. for what it is as a simple daily use “big car” with exceptional Fuel economy it will sell loads. plus reliable. this is what markets wants. not Lotus Ride and Handling. not many are bothered bout it. thats how the malaysian market works. it competes directly with the vios and the city. Preve is in a diff category….the CFE has power similar to 2.0…the FC cant compare with this almera…and also basically when u hit a corner fast, u would like to be in a preve.

but then how many are driving fast these days?
    so back to my first point. simple, reliable and economical n big…almera will sell LOADS!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 2
  • Fredo on Nov 06, 2012 at 10:25 am

this car should be able to bite some of the typical vios and city market share….perhaps myvi and saga too…good job Nissan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • Full spec Almera vs Forte 1.6, both between 80-90k, which is more value for money?

• Turboman on Nov 06, 2012 at 10:42 pm

Almera is B segment.
      Forte is C segment.

Tested the Almera. The handling is comfort based. Body roll is quite pronounced in higher speed cornering.
      Forte’s handling is quite sporty ( Ie: 17 in rims, slightly harder suspension, corners relatively flat ). However for a C segment car, 1.6 is not really enough hence some ppl complain forte 1.6 is underpowered. Almera is not very powerful also so i would say they are quite similar in performance. But u don’t buy these cars for performance do ya?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Johnny on Nov 06, 2012 at 10:48 am

The interior design of this car is….ridiculous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
  • azhar on Nov 06, 2012 at 10:58 am

3k for the Impul bodykit..isnt it a lil overpriced compare with toyota TRD for vios??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Currrent IMPUL kit price is at RM1500 during special promo launch. If u dont wanna spend that much on kit, there’s always accessories shop but i guess u gotta wait awhile before they are available on market.

Personally I think Almera is only presentable with the kit-on. Without the kit, the look is just too weird.

• ayamxxx on Nov 06, 2012 at 5:03 pm

u wail like another 3 months, there will be a seller sell the Impuls bodykit online

• It’s pretty cheap compared to the Honda Modulos *facepalm*

• ernie on Nov 06, 2012 at 11:18 am

beautiful car with the bodykit.

• The interior is too drab, lacks design cohesion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • CKDenthusiast on Nov 06, 2012 at 11:22 am

The perfect Malaysian car.
    First the price.
    Then the B-Segment classification.
    And then the brand.
    We will see as many of these cars, as we used to see the Nissan Sunny in its hey days…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • vee-oh on Nov 06, 2012 at 11:46 am

ugly inside out, this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 21
  • fendy on Nov 06, 2012 at 12:10 pm

i had book one and on the way for bank loan. i had test it and its good for me. At least we can get the car that globally sold at our country at reasonable price. Great job TC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
  • Sharu on Nov 06, 2012 at 12:23 pm

FYI;
    A friend of mine working in TCM factory mentioned the propose price was around MYR43K for E ( approx 35% from the currently selling price) but the price was rejected by govt as it will jeopardize other car maker. Or the only car maker PROTON

Nissan are proven for economical cars even my first car was Nissan Sunny 1.5 Extra II (second hand). My personal option the price tag is very high and ppl should consider Kia forte or The new Proton Inspira 2.0 for the same price tag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 32
    • slimershine on Nov 06, 2012 at 2:41 pm

but my friend that working in gov says……

also friend of mine working in proton says…..

people says….

:p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
      • no tax please on Nov 07, 2012 at 11:49 pm

Almera is a CKD below 1,800 ccc. As such, the excise duty and sales tax are 75% and 10% respectively. Not including the tax on parts yet. Refer here http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm. As such, I deduce that Almera selling price is only RM40K excluding tax. Adding the said excise duty and sales tax, it would be another RM35k. Plus another RM5k for insurance and we will arrive at the OTR selling price of RM80k.

In fact, the US equivalent Almera known as Versa starts at only $12k (about RM36k). I believe that Almera can sell for as low as RM40k if there is no tax imposed by government at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
        • Sharu on Nov 08, 2012 at 9:27 pm

Come on….this is Malaysia
          Whoever@ smart ppl has deep pockets, they can splash the money out and buy cheap car with high price …. No point in blaming the govt… The ppl them-self spoiling the M’sia automotive industry and buying power…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
    • Expatriate VN on Nov 06, 2012 at 6:29 pm

Make judgement based on hearsay ……..

• Rambo Ramsey on Nov 06, 2012 at 11:25 pm

Rubbish! 43K most probably the BOM cost obviously, not including the assembly charge and excise duty! And the only person that probably know the proposed price of the car will be from Purchasing. And knowing how family business works, its really a rubbish hearsay.

And knowing the Malaysian business model, definitely Nissan/ETCM doesn’t want their car to be cheaper than 1.3 MyVi AT at 46K!

• 43k without excise duty eh? :p

• Leonardo on Nov 06, 2012 at 12:53 pm

@Fredo – you are comparing this car with the Saga and Myvi? Is it that bad? I think it should be compared to the Vios, City, Mazda 2, and others within the segment and price range.

• Fredo on Nov 06, 2012 at 2:27 pm

nope, im not comparing them…but rather saying that those whore r considering buying saga or myvi might be considering this model too as the base model price is not tht far different

• Mini Honda on Nov 06, 2012 at 1:22 pm

The fc here is real gimmick.. average of 16.6km/l means for highway fc..
    What about 100%urban style driving? just within klang valley.
    14km/l will be it.

• Anand on Nov 06, 2012 at 1:38 pm

The antenna was too long..looks additional horrible for tht car..and the body shape from side view look weird..overall nothing impressive except the fuel consumption..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Mini Honda on Nov 06, 2012 at 9:30 pm

the FC is good. because this car is even lighter than toyota vios tough a lot bigger than a Vios..

• BadBET on Nov 06, 2012 at 2:31 pm

paultan.org ,

please come out with head to head comparison for all cars within the same price range (vios, city, preve etc).

how about the servis interval for almera? some insight about running cost will be all welcome.

good job on the report. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • slimershine on Nov 06, 2012 at 2:36 pm

a boring car, yes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
  • well..express my opinion: first time see it> holy xx design-.-…for the second time i hardly accept it..and for the third wow with kits looks adorable than without kits ^^..now see it again..hmm..considerable because vios and city price too high yet almera for me personally seems much better than those two :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Remember what they did to the Teana? Cheap price when first launched, then the Chinamans of Tan Chong decided that “wow, this car is selling great, let’s raise the car price to reap in HUGE profits”.

So, not surprised they launch with low price. For all you know, they’ll quietly raise the price of the car in a few weeks’ time.

They have a history already. ’nuff said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • ah seng on Nov 06, 2012 at 4:35 pm

the fuel consumption is base on ron 97 or 95? as we know ron 97 gives better mileages…

• ah seng on Nov 06, 2012 at 4:41 pm

to be honest, people buying vios/city/almera their priority should be value for money instead of performance… after all, this is just 1.5 liter car… how fast can you go right?

this type of car is suitable for family man, wanting good FC and spacious interior.

i think the performance is not important.. if performance is important, one should look at 2000cc or 3000cc car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
  • good car but air-con 3 round knob very ugly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Fahmi on Nov 06, 2012 at 5:14 pm

Nissan cars offer a fine balance of driveability and comfort..See paul tan’s accord vs camry vs teana review…

• Maserati on Nov 06, 2012 at 5:31 pm

This has got to be the deal of the year.Test drove it already.Much better than Forte in almost everything.

For this kinda money,the engine is way better than the Forte 1.6.Of course the Almera’s engine is abit on the noisy side but it does have the oomph!

Interior space is fantastic! It is seriously huge inside and the seats are so comfy.

Boot is humonguous! Only thing is that the dashboard design is abit weird with alot of round looking things.

Ride is so much better than Forte! Of course The Honda City is so much more sportier and drives better too but then its much more expensive.

So for the money your paying,its worth every sen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 18
    • Turboman on Nov 06, 2012 at 10:36 pm

Here we go again. Bashing korean makes again using subjective and mostly points that are plucked from the air.

PLus u r comparing a B segment with a 1.5 engine and C segment with a 1.6 liter engine. I see that u don have much knowledge about the auto industry eh to make such a comparison.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
    • Sam Loo on Nov 11, 2012 at 1:06 pm

And fundamentally, why do people bash kimchis?

Its simple, they are low quality, dangerous, unreliable, not durable which leads to low resale value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • lenchi on Feb 07, 2013 at 10:16 am

Hi,

Would like to ask u, yesterday went to test drive Almera E Auto (plan for VL), mine also feel that suspension quite hard, my wife sat behind also feel really like lorry/bus during bump and potholes, make her feel to cancel for almera and take vi*s or same segment and budget.

Is it like that or maybe the test car problem with it suspension. The SA cannot say more coz he also feel like that :D….read many review said Almera quite comfort almost same like Slypy…so pls…already sent the docs for loan, plan to test another car maybe VL spec.

• Drebar on Nov 06, 2012 at 6:15 pm

For long-term fuel cost, Almera is much better buy than Preve. It’s pure logic and common sense choice rather than turbo rosak semput pretend become mat salleh design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
  • I wonder why ETCM states that VL only has Fine Vision meter while the V shown in the pics has it..

• matdogel on Nov 06, 2012 at 7:25 pm

dont arguelah just bought kia forte 1.6 ,6speed nicer look and better pick up so you all solve the problem , beutiful and nice to drive ok lo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
    • Mini Honda on Nov 06, 2012 at 9:28 pm

better buy Preve..
      0-100 at 9.6seconds
      Traction Control
      4 air bag
      Super TOUGH body, lanngar lori pun hidup.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 39
      • Hang tuah on Nov 07, 2012 at 1:07 am

Siapa drove preve then langgar lorry still alive with speed 80km/h?
        Prove us….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
      • don’t compare with preve, it’s c segment, cfe has 4 airbags, stiffer and heavier body.

this almera is not meant for spirited driving but soft and fuel saving

• ae101 on Nov 07, 2012 at 11:30 am

4 airbag? langgar lori? hahah i worry the airbag malfuntion bro. i dont trust proton. not because the product, but their qc tidak apa attitude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
      • Nanti engine bocor baru tahu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • litle fun car on Nov 06, 2012 at 7:29 pm

ETCM, UMW, HM and etc only offer better cars if our local “big brother P1 and P2” can come out the real world standard cars. If not, the one you see in US, Euro or Japan markets are different from the one we get. Worse still Japanese “waste” re-cond car still can command a handsome price here.

• DArkerMarker on Nov 06, 2012 at 9:48 pm

the car design will surely attract apek and auntie customers……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
  • DArkerMarker on Nov 06, 2012 at 9:50 pm

hate the 3-dials at the dash. looks worst that toilet flushing mechanism.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • netcat on Nov 06, 2012 at 10:53 pm

Oh my… my frens will laugh at me if they see me stepping down from this car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 42
    • dumbfeline on Nov 07, 2012 at 10:36 am

why dun u buy ferrari or lambo? no one will laugh at u…that is if u can afford it la…..so wat makes ppl stepping out of p1 or p2 car?? laugh n spit at them as well??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 8
  • polo saga on Nov 07, 2012 at 9:47 am

value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
  • ah beng on Nov 07, 2012 at 5:14 pm

haiyooo…i saw this in PD Avillion Admiral Cove..i was there when u guys stop there…very simple car but with very very boring head light..why arr all nissan head light very boring look one..i hear price below rm70k? true arr?? still expensive..this is basic car…if below rm50k ok lorr…can buy 1 for wife, 1 for gf also…haissh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 37
  • Kebin on Nov 07, 2012 at 9:17 pm

Nice car to drive…with the promo impul kit…makes it look much nicer. The kick down was smooth…..nice engine sound at high revs….tyres are wide enough for most cornering….only had 1 passenger with me so can’t comment if it feels spirited if there was another 3 adults with travelling gear..overall…7.7/10

• I already enough using satria, saga & persona before this so everytime want to trade in have to dig out money to top up more for trade-in…
    although my wife city already 7 years with higher maintenance cost than myvi & nissan but still untung more than 10k when trade-in…(still wondering to take almera OR vios)
    even my current altis (7-gear & dual vvti)maintenance is cheaper than city, can beat Nissan & same with myvi…
    so I believe almera can win some market share by taken some from vios & city in the near future.
    Lastly its all about minimizing your car loans so that you can buy another house in klang valley…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
  • 13 test cars, TC dont even bother to have ONE just O..N..E with a stick. HAIZ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Still a dugong. No value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 31
  • I rather buy a boring car like VW than an Almari.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 34
    • Sam Loo on Nov 10, 2012 at 3:29 pm

Whne the VW DSG kwai tai, be sure that your plastic has enough credit to pay for the repair bills

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • Smart Guys Get It, Sam Loo Does Not on Nov 10, 2012 at 10:20 pm

If life is only about driving from A to B, then Almera is for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
        • iniesta leong on Nov 11, 2012 at 12:00 am

Bro, Sam Loo ride a horse from point A to point B, cause horse got higher resell value, So he don’t need this Almera

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • Only for people with bad taste. The number of people booking this reflects the design preference of Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 36
  • Rakyat on Nov 09, 2012 at 2:51 am

Give me for free also don’t want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 49
  • Rakyat on Nov 09, 2012 at 3:00 am

Rather get a VW as “People’s Car”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
  • Gary Ho on Nov 09, 2012 at 10:51 am

OMG THIS IS NOT SUCH A BAD CAR AFTER ALL!

I was surprised how well it does things without rattles or loud engine noises like the Preve or City !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • I think I’ll wait for Proton+Honda new line of car models

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • Rakyat on Nov 10, 2012 at 12:30 am

If anak pemimpin drives this, then i buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • Guys, we proposed to your Gov for selling at RM43K but the price was rejected by the Gov as it will jeopardize other car maker(You know who). Please don’t buy the car as the price is a rip off to support cronies that wouldn’t even touch this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
    • MrDDR on Nov 15, 2012 at 4:22 pm

Even Tax free Langkawi also 45k++. Selling 43k with tax? Very good business indeed

• Chris Bangle on Nov 10, 2012 at 1:11 am

Worst design since slice bread.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
  • Bill Gates on Nov 10, 2012 at 3:05 am

“If you can’t make something good, at least make it look good”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
  • Sam Loo on Nov 10, 2012 at 3:28 pm

This is a kimchi killer.

Many will buy this car over the Forte and Elantra, even if its a smaller B segment.

And the reasons are beyond obvious, Korean cars are low quality, unreliable and has low RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
    • what korean car are low quality???! u must not even test drive them isnt it? hahah pls la compared the interior and overall qualite. even Forte interior quality beat the new civic interior quality that feels like penutup botol plastic haha..
      Btw Sam Loo. Smart people doesnt invest in car. dont be an idiot k. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
      • Suzuki on Jan 28, 2013 at 10:29 pm

If you are doing marketing, you will hear a lot of stories about Korean car. One of the customer she driving a Hyundai Sonata, crashed and died because airbag not deployed even she fasten her seatbelt ( also blame her driving altitude ) and another customer of Hyundai also complains that “worst quality than Proton Waja”.

See the differences ? Email me if you want to listen more stories !

• Rakyat on Nov 11, 2012 at 2:00 am

Does anyone notice that there is someone riding a horse the picture?

• suky yaki on Nov 11, 2012 at 7:14 am

Considering this car as firstly, it us still NEW in the market opposed to vios n city which is almost 3 to 4 years in the market. My personal opinion, Nissan hardly upgrade their model I.e. Nissan Sentra, has been there for years…Secondly, given that price range, what other cars can u get if one priority is for fc, city driving, spacious interior, reliability etc. The car is suitable for young family and when kids come into the picture, a spacious boot is essential. I still think it is a reasonable buy despite all the negative comments on its interior n exterior design, it boils down to personal preference though. Just my 2 cents ^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo Cina Bodoh on Nov 11, 2012 at 9:29 am

Vios n city already in the market for 10 years la u moron… Dont know about want to speak about car.. Dumbass stupid moron

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 61
      • suki yaki on Nov 12, 2012 at 6:20 pm

Please watch your words! People who normally call others morons are the biggest morons themselves!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
      • …probably referring to latest model……city..harlo…since 96, asian version…but that is an entirely different car

• Sam Loo on Nov 12, 2012 at 9:23 pm

Some people are just kurang ajar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • zulhaimi on Nov 11, 2012 at 11:43 pm

It’s a good handling, responsive and easy to drive car. I just tested today and choosing – plus minus all the full specs + impul sports rims and body kit close to 94k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • AlmeraTaxi on Nov 12, 2012 at 11:39 am

cant wait for the first almera taxi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
  • temakol on Nov 13, 2012 at 12:57 pm

aiya…Im here to seek information based on forumers experience test drive the Almeera…some pretend to be automotive hero here saying this and that good….just share your experience here….else…keep your fingers off the keyboard…. *feels annoyed….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • buyer's husband on Nov 16, 2012 at 2:50 pm

My wife booked one (E A/T version + navi pack + tint) to replace her old Vios E 2004 (so I will compare only with Vios and not my own C-segment car). Test drove it in Penang, town area only. Handling better than Vios, a bit firmer and doesn’t roll around so much. Steering is accurate and very light at low speeds (maybe too light for me but ladies will love it). Acceleration OK for city use, but response seems to be slightly slower than the Vios’. Brakes are very good even though it has only drums on the rear wheels. Engine is very quiet and smooth at 80 km/h and below (sorry, couldn’t drive any faster in Georgetown traffic) and its transmission’s performance seems the same as the Vios’. It has comfortable seats and a spacious cabin (I am 5′ 7″ and can fully stretch my legs on floor when seated at the back without touching the front seat with my toes). Front passenger seat legroom is also better than that of the older Vios. The front seats seem a bit small but will fit an average size person adequately. Boot looks like C-segment size; beats Vios hands-down. At first didn’t like the external look, but it kinda grows on you after a while; looks conti to me now, LOL. IMHO – value for money in the non-national B-segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
      • junky on Nov 20, 2012 at 5:10 am

conti?
        in what way it’s conti looks?
        if you say almera has conti looks then vios has too

funny

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
  • uncertain buyer on Nov 14, 2012 at 10:22 am

when nissan priced this car between 67k-80k…I’m starting to think that vios and city are overpriced car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • ipswich on Nov 15, 2012 at 9:02 am

when nissan priced this car between 67k-80k…I’m starting to think that it’s overpriced car coz proton offer c segment car around this price despite similar tax applied. that’s 2 times better, no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • every car in malaysia are overpriced

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • apa lah korangs semua on Nov 14, 2012 at 10:59 pm

ada duit beli maaaa.

tak da duit jangan manyak mising…

itu keleta cantik dan power macam mana pun, bukan lu punya

Banak punya maaa,,,kalau dah abih bayar baru lah boleh manayk komen..

hu hu hhu

Bingai punya komen kpmen negatif lu olang…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • KtKKt on Nov 15, 2012 at 4:19 pm

Bahaya kereta ini. Ini test drive kereta sudah terkeluar tayar belakang..hahrahrhahra

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
  • Dah tengok dekat2..BODY cun dari Vios, enjin kemas gak..luas dari Vios, minyak sama je kot..tapi satu je aku tak berkenan tang DASHBOARD dia mcm TUA cikit design dia dan agak hodoh dari vios..dashboard Vios cun..smart..tapi Vios model lama..

• japan used cars on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:22 am

What I like about Nissan is that they have a clean styling and its engine is quite reliable. Well, I’ m just think if there’s a japan used cars with the same model?

• alldisc on Nov 23, 2012 at 11:31 am

dont forget, Nissan almost went bankrupt and salvaged by Renault as its new owner.

• Suzuki on Jan 28, 2013 at 10:40 pm

Japan just released this on 2012, in Japan they are known as Nissan Latio.

• pandab on Nov 21, 2012 at 11:39 am

Front is looks like Saga size, but the rear looks like Persona. Not gonna win the beauty contest but good idea. compact front, huge leg room and boot. a winner, maybe ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • tengkorak on Nov 21, 2012 at 2:50 pm

hitam itu menawan!

• kamenrider14 on Nov 21, 2012 at 4:15 pm

average 16.6km/l… that’s what i like.my saga auto 1.6 struggle enough to get 14km/l. i think to compare proton price with other car isn’t fair as proton is our own product. it should be cheaper in any way.

• alldisc on Nov 23, 2012 at 11:30 am

in real time traffic crawling the figures should be lower, as to what most buyers will face in their day-to-day drive.

• PitMie on Nov 28, 2012 at 2:19 am

I’m not sure if it’s just me or what, but I think this Almera looks better in pictures & adds than the real one.. I’m a Nissan owner too, looking for a new car as a replacement since my Sentra is 7 years already, so did have a look at an Almera.. Seriously I guess the looks are not appealing enough to me especially the cheapest variant…plus its interior looks ugly, IMO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • shafik on Dec 01, 2012 at 11:12 pm

Malaysian cars still lack of solidness and for sure its own philosophy

• vincelou on Dec 10, 2012 at 4:30 am

Been driving this car for nearly 3 weeks, and im glad I bought this over vios, cabin is extremly quiet, fc is good! Im travelling daily 66k each day. bout the design, hmmm its a bit subjective, u get what u paid for I guess. But for new buyer, this is a good buy. Btw sure lots of people gonna gun me down based on this statement but im just an average joe with average salary, so this is some of the models I can afford. So pls dont bash me.. thanks

• hi all
      This is my first nissan …i ve been driving the almera vl spec for 2 weeks..bought the leather seats add on sahaja …leather upholstery is nice not too slippery or too hard…cabin is well insulated from engine and wind noise when driven up to 120km/h..interior to me is ok since the components are assembled nicely..no rattles or big gaps notice..the dashboard knobs (ultraman life indicator) to me is quite practical..the buttons are arranged in a practical order although the design is a bit pelik to some…steering is a bit light at lower speeds but becomes a bit heavier as the speed increases..on highway drive it does have sufficient power to overtake or cruise at 110-120km/h with ease.. car a bit slow to move from idle at traffic light..handling wise ok i.e better than my previous ride alza..body roll a bit pronounce at higher speeds…fc to me is ok since full tank let me go from kajang-usj-kajang-ipoh+ipoh town ronda2-tapah (refuel with quarter left in the tank) ..so far we are satisfied with the car quality and performance vs the price we paid..

p/s: please dun bash me also k.. i bukan TC salesman or TC propaganda machine

• vincelou on Dec 10, 2012 at 4:31 am

Sorry, its 66km each day :)

• Malaysia&NAP on Dec 21, 2012 at 9:21 am

Checkout the starting price (converted to RM) in :
    China – RM 40,562.0640
    Thailand – RM 42,697.1259
    US – RM 51,853.4800
    Philippines – RM 52,942.0730
    Australia – RM 54,326.8842
    Indonesia – RM 57,393.4710
    Into your face, idiot. Go buy for your whole family and let yourself being fooled. Losers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • Common Sense on Dec 30, 2012 at 6:22 am

go to china then.. its cheaper there.. if u got no money… dont talk la.. go buy second hand kancil.. very cheap.. then install all the turbos (kepish2* sound effect lol) and drive it like ur drivin a lambo.. u own peoples money eh? its their own money.. so let them decide to buy what they want… i think ur brain cheap alrdy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • To mr common sense on Jan 09, 2013 at 10:44 am

Dear Nissan salesman, I think what he is trying to convey is that the Government (or rather Mahathir Mohamed) is killing the majority of people with NAP policies. Millions of people in Malaysia agrees with this fact, on the other hand you’re on the minority side (are you Mahathir cronies?). The way he use is like ‘reverse psychology’. And the solution is ‘go to china’? I think he loves Malaysia than you do. By the way, not all kancil owner didn’t have money. Please don’t make your brain look cheap. It’s obvious you that are shallow minded.

• john foo on Dec 30, 2012 at 10:54 am

I am so glad I chose my Almera over Preve even though I think Preve is a better looking car.
    Just look at the growing complaints of Preve in many other forums.
    So far I am happy and I cannot find anything wrong. I taken it up to Butterworth and back to KL and was a very pleasant journey. For the price, I am very impressed.

• edfly on Dec 30, 2012 at 3:50 pm

Growing? It’s reducing, most of the problems are rectified already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • almera VL keyless got weakest once engine started then you bring the key go far away 15m,the engine wont stop automatic,only alarm and sign blink in meter

• Suzuki on Jan 28, 2013 at 10:56 pm

No it won’t activate the immobilizer if you don’t try to drive the car, even though the engine is on and the intelligence key is out of range. It will sound buzzer and blink intelligence key lamp if the intelligence key is out of driver range.

So far i didn’t try turn-on the engine, leave the intelligence key out-of-range and drive. =)

• Nissan should make a hatchback version of this. That would make the Honda jazz/fit feel insecure

• Hoyhoysum on Feb 06, 2013 at 6:19 pm

I hope that TC don’t use those nasty adhesive/glue that corrodes metal like what happen to sentra and serena roof top. I find it hard to recommend Nissan cars as my own serena experience roof rust. Sad to say it only happens to our country only leh! Wanna skimp also dont skimp on build quality also mah! Have i already mentioned about the “Autah bonnet stand”??

• xoomie on Feb 13, 2013 at 10:10 am

Renault’s version of Almera
    http://renault.co.in/cars/Scala/home.html

• hi all. i bought a almera before chinese new year. im the 1 where unlucky to get a problem car. (1st) my car get 3 dot of skratch and touch up by paint.(2nd)my 1 is button start, so once in a while my alarm will trigger when you open the door. (3rd)very bad petrol comsumption (rm0.25 perkm) or full tank only go 260km. even the engineer from nissan test the car and said it is ok(the way he test is=ask me to fuel full petrol and drive 50km,then fuel up again. the petrol that i just fuel to divide 50km.)do u think this can test my car?please give me more advise. thank you

• Problem nissan Almera VL Push button start, once in a while my alarm will trigger when you open the door…

• YCTAN on Apr 30, 2013 at 4:36 am

Can Nissan be sued for giving false information on fuel consumption. They claim fuel consumtion can be as low as 42 mpg but I am getting 30 mpg at best for my Nissan Almera 1.5. Also there is a lot of strain on the engine when the car is going uphill especially for a 1.5 litre engine.

• Joseph Tan on May 18, 2013 at 9:27 pm

hi all. can i know the original part number of the alternator and starter motor for nissan almera? thanks

• edemin ramirez on Jun 15, 2013 at 1:21 am

hello, i have a lil bit of problem here i got almera and just yesterday i drove a lil bit on the right and got scratch on the paint any advice where to bring im from penang by the way. or nissan technician will be able to fix this who installed the aero kit?

• i planning to buy nissan almera…guys please give ur option …

• Got my almera VL for 3 weeks dy..and glad to say i’m very satisfied with almera…good performance..good fc..n worth for your money..recommend to all ppl who looking for.. non national b-segment car

• Khairul Zamri on Jan 05, 2014 at 12:30 pm

Hope can buy one soon :)

• Eason Chan on Oct 13, 2014 at 1:52 am

For all Preve fan boys, have a look at link below, to quote the unbiased australian review of preve: “Overpriced; below-average performance and economy; poor refinement and build quality; too-firm urban ride quality; no cruise control; compromised driving position; detail design flaws”
    Read more at http://www.caradvice.com.au/231533/proton-preve-review/

• Nissan Almera Owner on Oct 15, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Hi, I’m Nissan Almera owner. last Hari Raya Haji my car had problem on A/C Fan. Send to Service center to check and they told me the spare parts need wait until end of Oct’14 (more than 3 weeks) or maybe more.
    I’m feel upset why is happen on my less than one year car. Now my wife is driving this car every day to work. She every day feel unsafety due to any time the A/C Fan is not working……
    Every time I’m look at the car will feel angry and loss confident on Nissan. I’m don’t know until when I can hold and decide to let go the car

• mars ming on Dec 26, 2014 at 9:07 am

in case what we refer is all the best.
    fuel consumption is 14.9km/L.
    BUT why my wife new car is 8.8km/L??? somemore the service central guy told it is normal….?
    HOW???

• Rizzman on Jan 18, 2015 at 1:04 pm

Hi, I’m Nissan Almera 1.5E AT owner, the 1st day drive the new car Almera on January 3, 2015 when the afternoon about an hour 2.00pm,air cond very hot and just wind feels. Air Cond already open to the maximum. on 17 Jan 2015 I go to Service Centre TCM Cheng Melaka then the Technician said everything is ok and no problem with the Almera Air Cond.

• Zarith Zameri on Feb 26, 2015 at 4:47 pm

Sometimes, you guys are kind of funny when i read all the quarrel comments. But educating too.. okay back to cars.. i currently own a 2011 Saga FL Manual with stage 1 simple mods…cam pulleys, crank pulley, fuel reg, fuel rail and ect..just basic stuff..so performance wise..i guess i am all good and satisfied with a 1.3 DOHC Campro IAFM. Its not the fastest car in malaysia but it does capable to leave dust at a stock Preve cfe as i floor it from 80kmh 3rd gear all the way to 200kmh 5th gear.But fuel consumption…with a small engine and a short gear ratio ( 5th gear 200kmh 7000rpm) is like hell..but fun though. Bought that bucket of fun for only rm38k and still runs like a champ even after rolled it at bentong caused by oil spill. My mom own a 2007 Honda City IVTEC CVT (honda tikus)..bought it for RM85K 1.5… Trust me…CVT SUCKS HELL…just 2 years of owning the engine coil burned which cost us about rm 2k for replacement. Now the gearbox for almost 4 years..already 3 times dropped down the gearbox to fix the jerking problem and still the same.. which cost us a bomb around rm4k now…planning to sell it off soon so HONDA is blacklisted on my list. Toyota seems very good on every model..but..again like i said.. RM95K for a medium size 1.5L car….not worth it for me.. better off with a 1.6 K3 by KIA.. Testd both the 1.6 and 2.0..it was good especially the 2.0 has tonns of power at your disposal..but then heard by a few foreman that KIA K3 has electrical issues which can disable the whole car as the whole car is basically controlled and dominated by electronics gizmos. Then i stumbled with a close friend who recently bought an Almera with free bodykit option (not the nismo kit). Interior was plain..but damn that this is quiet and comfortable.. yes..much..much..much quiet and smooth then the City. Drove the car from KL – Tggnu – KL… body roll was less since he was running on sport spring with 15′ vossen cv5 rims. Pickup was good.. and maintained 160kmh-180kmh (2-3am) along the straight LPT road and was running 100kmh along the bentong twisty bends.. That was a good car.. I am into performance..but this Almera is a good comfortable car and i am planning to get 1 by end of this year especially the Nismo pack which really transforms the boring (UNCLE & AUNTY )look of the Almera into a mean Racing Pedigree Breed of Nissan. and…ITS A NISSAN… for under RM80K…yes..this will be my choice… and guys..1 question, any serious problem so far for the A/T model Almera..?? (PS : FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO DONT LIKE MY COMMENT PLEASE DONT BOTHER TO SAY ANYTHING CAUSE IM NOT INTRESTED. FOR THOSE BLOKES OUT THERE WHO HAS REAL INFO REGARDING CARS THAT THEY WANT TO SHARE WITH ME..PLEASE..DO SO..I WOULD LOVE TO HAVE A GOOD EDUCATIONAL,INFORMATIVE & PROFESSIONAL CONVERSATION/DEBATE. TQ )

• Anonymous on Nov 30, 2017 at 4:57 pm

I just come back from melaka to k.l. drove almera facelift.. At 110-140km/h the car is not stable at all.. Steering feel so light when you overtake.. I think saga blm better on this.. Yes i know it is standard.. But this is not a(highway car).. Even on uneven road the car going left and right.. I will not drive or own almera.. Period..