Honda N-One launched, inspired by N360 of 1967

Here’s a cute new one, the Honda N-One that has just gone on sale in Japan. The N-One is a five-door hatchback kei-car and is the third member of the new N Series mini-vehicle family, following the N Box and N Box +.

Doesn’t take an expert to note that the N-One is inspired by the Honda N360 of 1967, the first mass-produced Honda mini passenger car. The N-One sees Honda go back to its M/M (man maximum, machine minimum) concept, the starting point of Honda automobile design. They’ve shown something like this before, check out the EV-N Concept from Tokyo 2009.

The N-One is powered by a 660 cc DOHC engine, which can be had in naturally aspirated or turbo forms. Honda says that the NA engine achieve fuel economy that is 20% higher than the 2015 fuel economy standard, while the turbo does 10% better. The headline FC figure is 27 km/l in the JC08 mode. This is achieved with a CVT gearbox – no manual transmission is available for the N-One.

As with most cars in Japan, buyers can choose from FWD or 4WD. Honda says that the turbo engine has performance equivalent to a 1.3 litre engine. No performance figures were given, though.

The N-One, which comfortably accommodates four adults according to Honda, is said to have “stable driving performance and excellent quietness” thanks to a lightweight and highly-rigid body plus exclusively-developed suspension. Safety wise, the N-One comes with Emergency Stop Signal (blinks hazard lamps during sudden braking), VSA, Hill Start Assist and side curtain airbags.

There are 11 colours and five two-tone combinations for the N-One. Cute, no? To view the original Honda N360 alongside its classic siblings, check out our gallery post from the Honda Collection Hall, Twin Ring Motegi.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• doohhh on Nov 05, 2012 at 12:40 pm

new proton savvy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • Abuya on Nov 05, 2012 at 1:19 pm

Of course bebeh. Now perutdua shall see their expensive (so-called budget)viva. Ugly on front meh? Lor…. dah namanya pun savvy. Savvy cantik ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • ionlaw on Nov 05, 2012 at 4:40 pm

hope proton will participate in the production of the logo only…

• agogo on Nov 05, 2012 at 6:48 pm

I think this jdm kei-car has more airbags compared to malaysian camry

hmmmmmmmm…..

• AH CAI on Nov 05, 2012 at 12:40 pm

660cc? seem like produa kelisa. the front fugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
  • Semut on Nov 05, 2012 at 12:41 pm

waah ! cute…… hopefully will be availabe here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
  • Aaron Isaac on Nov 05, 2012 at 12:41 pm

seems very sensible

• if its ever to sold in Malaysia i would bet it would prices around 60-70k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • wahhhhhhh…impressive fc & new segment car from Honda!!

• accordmania on Nov 05, 2012 at 12:44 pm

EVERY ALSO WANT TO HAVE ‘ONE’ IN THEIR MODEL RANGE…MINI ONE, HONDA ONE..AND ‘ONE MALAYSIA’

• kubang beruang on Nov 05, 2012 at 12:45 pm

headlamp made in Malaysia…did you believe it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • will become Proton M-One or Proton 1Msia?
    will consider it if its selling at 30k-40k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • Mini Honda on Nov 05, 2012 at 4:41 pm

30k to 40k?
      It’s good if it’s 25k to 35k. considering it’s smaller than ViVa.
      35k to 45k should be B-segmenet for a Proton.

• Black Dog on Nov 05, 2012 at 1:05 pm

In Japan, even a 17 year old can afford this from a few years savings of angpow money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • achmadhendra on Nov 05, 2012 at 1:06 pm

I want this!

• the driver on Nov 05, 2012 at 1:10 pm

Buy it in a flash but I wonder what the safety rating is like esp. in view of the crazy SUV/lorry drivers out there. Just make sure it achieves 110km/h without problems otherwise I pass.

• Zapruder on Nov 05, 2012 at 7:49 pm

I guess it will be like driving kancil converted to mira L5 turbo engine..
      Acceleration is good. Easily can reach 110. Even 140 until the engine cut off..

• Honda Civic was first introduced as the Japanese first compact, fuel efficient, and cheapest car in the market back in the 70s powered by 1 liter engine. Was popular due to increase in oil price and weak global economy. Is the lauch of this new car an indication of what’s coming our way ?

• Extrimist on Nov 05, 2012 at 1:33 pm

Spec and price in Japan:

N-One G: 660 cc, CVT, FF, FC 27.0 km/l, 1.15 million Yen (RM43.8k)
    N-One Premium: 660 cc, CVT, FF, FC 27.0 km/l, 1.36 million Yen (RM51.8k)
    N-One Tourer: 660 Turbo, CVT, FF, FC 23.2 km/l, 1.23 million Yen (RM46.8k)

• naruto san on Mar 14, 2015 at 4:00 am

But, buying a car in japan, u must also include parking cost. As my per my case, i got a cheap parking 2000yen per month since i live in small town.

• awg1031 on Nov 05, 2012 at 1:36 pm

interior looks nice esp the dashboard..cool..

• Chris on Nov 05, 2012 at 2:00 pm

660cc engine with turbo? Yes please. I would like to have one.

• front look like mickey mouse :)

• alytheman on Nov 05, 2012 at 2:29 pm

If Honda Malaysia decide to bring N-One to Malaysia using Honda Batch!! forget it, it will be price 60k-70k range..

If this is the intro model for Proton – Honda JV, Under Proton Batch, it will be cheaper.. 30k-40k Max.. hopefully!!

• Leonardo on Nov 05, 2012 at 2:52 pm

The Honda N360 was influenced by the Mini. While the Mini have ‘grown’, Japan still have the Kei segment as it is suitable for their “space challenge” country. It is also a suitable entry level car or student car.
    However, if by any chance it makes it to our shores, it could suddenly become a ‘premium’ Kei car, like the overpriced Honda Freed. My guess is some top brass of Honda Malaysia must have read about the Blue Ocean strategy and decided to try it on the Freed, and failed miserably. They were banking on the Honda badge to pushed sales, but it does not happen all the time.

• Cantona on Nov 05, 2012 at 2:56 pm

OMG!! hahahaha
    This design got approved?!
    Poor Honda. Still banking on the brand name?
    LMFAO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • criticizing this cars design is like bullying a stay puppy in the side street. Not only it looks adorable to most eyes, it was design for small japs street.

• napster on Nov 05, 2012 at 3:29 pm

Despite the panda-ish “eyes”, I loike it! Good for second car, to do the grocery runs on weekends. Come on PROTON!

• vee-oh on Nov 05, 2012 at 3:40 pm

so cute..good one Honda!

• I know some people dislike the look ,I understand them .but as a guy ,I have to say …..
    …this thing is effing cute!!!!

• Joe Radzif on Nov 05, 2012 at 5:01 pm

macam kelisa jer…

• What’s the drag coefficient? so boxy

• Observer on Nov 05, 2012 at 5:41 pm

picture 59, what is that?

• Proton Tiara 2013!! And when it arrives, we will have heaps of 660 turbo halfcuts in our local halfcut shops. Looking forward for it

• dozy888 on Nov 05, 2012 at 8:43 pm

Will surely consider it provided it’s between RM18-RM28K.. might even buy a few to give away!

• powershot on Nov 05, 2012 at 9:25 pm

looks cute & nimble.kinda agree that it does look a little like kelisa.

• danedz on Nov 05, 2012 at 11:12 pm

Reminds me of Honda City Turbo back in 80’s…

• Honda should bring this in to compete with Mirage instead of Brio

• Calvin on Nov 06, 2012 at 11:03 am

Warning, infested with Kancil virus.

• dozy888 on Nov 06, 2012 at 3:34 pm

Gone are the days where we used to have cheap and reliable cars!

• wow! 660 turbo.. Delicious.. Reminds me of my tiny kancil 850 turbo. Sob.. Sob.. Sold it for myvi..

Looking forward to this Honda model. Nak bwk selit menyelit pun senang and parking pun senang.. Best!