VW Amarok 2.0 BiTDI BlueMotion: now 180 PS 420Nm

The Volkswagen Amarok has received a power upgrade – the 163 PS 2.0 litre BiTDI model’s engine now outputs 180 PS, and now drives the wheels through an 8-speed automatic transmission.

The new 8-speed automatic transmission allows the Amarok to easily grab the honours of the highest number of gear ratios in its class, ensuring the engine is always in the sweet spot of power and efficiency. Torque is now 420Nm at 1,750rpm instead of 400Nm.

It’s probably why even though power is up to 180 PS which is an over 10% bump, the new Volkswagen Amarok BlueMotion is about 3.9% more economical than the 163 PS model. Emissions has dropped by 10g/km to 199g/km.

The automatic model uses permanent 4MOTION all wheel drive, while the 6-speed manual version has selectable 4MOTION. There’s also a 122 PS 2.0 litreTDI engine available, which has one less turbocharger than the twin-turbo 2.0 litre BiTDI engine.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Sgt Scoop on Nov 06, 2012 at 11:36 pm

Come on Paul, spill the beans. When is it coming?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Nov 06, 2012 at 11:54 pm

Sarge, there’s nothing concrete yet, still mulling on whether it does. That’s what I’ve been told, anyway.

• maybe they have to go back to the drawing board because of the new Ranger? Anyway if it comes it will have to be more expensive since it is not assembled in Thailand. But if it comes with basic safety features that other pick-ups here don’t have like more airbags, 3rd rear 3-point seatbelt and headrest, isofix, and passenger airbag deactivation, it’ll be worth the asking price.

• I guess in near future, cuz for something under VW’s umbrella, they’ve just introduce diesel Cayenne here in bolehland. Therefore,other range should be coming soon, although pending ‘result’ from that first real world test here.

• woody on Nov 07, 2012 at 12:32 am

why need such a fast truck to deliver jagung kampung? pls enlighten me anyone?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 39
    • yeah continue bashing. that’s all what u people do. engine upgrade oso wanna complain. might as well u drive kereta lembu angkat jagung. if people have money and want to buy sumthing they admire then let them b laa. better options, more power n style. it’s not your money they r using anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
      • Netsoft on Nov 07, 2012 at 9:42 am

This is a pick-up truck, not a Sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
        • since when pick up has to be slow? Im sure you’re driving Sedan and you’re pissed off everytime a pick up overtake u… simple as that! haha

• i know la it’s a pickup truck n not sedan hallooo. then why people bother creating hummer and others. think laa. different people have different tastes. not like u. “UNI taste” or shall i say “UNI IQ”

• Netsoft on Nov 07, 2012 at 10:06 pm

Hummers and others are categorized as SUV, not a PICK-UP. The main purpose of PICK-UP is to fetch GOODS. That is why they are equipped with leaf spring at the back. Ever drive one at 160km/h? Pls la, you don’t care your life also please give some consideration to the public, especially those married man with family.

• pearjai on Nov 07, 2012 at 3:00 am

a fast ”truck” a more safety interm collission with ”woody” passenger car ! sure all person in the ”woody” super duper fast car dead(like ex= hilux ”meet” myvi=all 4 person myvi dead in such.xxxxxxx.. at terengganu !..student lagi tu !….and the person who drive ”fast” truck…feel soo lucky …just enggine dead only!…. i feel safety in the road when driving pickup althought i have another 7 ”petrol” pasengger car including toyota altis…
    these amarok sure cannot feed with our super sulfur diesel…hehehe…for dieselhead they a waiting compatible/practicle truck that suit our nature ! maybe for dmax biturbo ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • pearjai on Nov 07, 2012 at 3:26 am

and somemore ! a fast fruck is a free ”excise” tax…just add 10% for sale take only because they a rate for ”commercial”….actually this ammorok will have resonable price here if they sold here…maybe for 110k-120k…dit u all know that that hilux 2.5g actual price are almost same price with our camry 2.4 before they are taxed ?

• lonelyobserve on Nov 07, 2012 at 12:00 pm

But there is a problem. Amarok is assembled outside ASEAN countries, so there is 30% import duty inmposed to Amarok if it is to be brought in to Boleh Land.

• Leseid Obrut on Nov 07, 2012 at 8:27 am

o.O
    the output is nothing less than impressive, considering it’s a 2.0 diesel mill…german engineering at its best perhaps?

• ionlaw on Nov 07, 2012 at 8:33 am

If this is targeted for working truck market, it has to be priced below at least cheapest polo. Then this will be many peoples first VW…Then may not put it to full use.

• these are vehicles that have no tax and VW doesnt bring them in. talk about poor strategy.

• neutral on Nov 07, 2012 at 5:33 pm

no tax? enlighten me…no tax only applies for hybrid cars below 2000cc

• ok..not to say literally no tax. because its commercial vehicle…the tax is extremely low. imagine the wildtrak is retailed at GBP28K and its RM115k here. To i think the only tax is sales tax.

• Danial Hanz on Nov 07, 2012 at 10:30 am

When its come? how much? nowdays people used pick up truck as family car maa…

• 4 words… we need that here…~ because german engineering…

• Consumer on Nov 07, 2012 at 11:53 am

We need to petition VW to bring the Amarok to Malaysia. 0% excise duty for trucks. This should be a no brainer move by VW.

• Sgt Scoop on Nov 07, 2012 at 12:18 pm

It’s made in Argentina. Are the rules different for non-ASEAN countries?

• momeng on Nov 07, 2012 at 11:55 am

I am wondering when the hxxl will they bring in the amarok? I have emailed VW two yearts ago and they told me that they are studying it ….. sampai bila!!!!

• Sgt Scoop on Nov 07, 2012 at 12:22 pm

VW recently flew a load of Malaysian journalists half way around the world to test drive the Amarok so I think it’s pretty certain that they’ll be bringing it in soon. The fact that Paul Tan is writing about an upgraded engine on a vehicle which isn’t for sale in Malaysia all but confirms it.

• still not sure why VW is still considering whether to bring in the Amarok or not. Just go out to our roads and it is pretty obvious that pickups sell like hot cakes here due to their sub-100k price and huge utility. If they brought this in the first place many years ago during its launch, it might just outsell the popular hilux.

• Very simple: They don’t have enough Amarok’s to sell.

The Amarok is selling well in Australia, South Arica and South America.

The ones for Africa are even manufactured in Hannover/Germany, as there’s no production capacity left in Argentinia.

• Semut on Nov 07, 2012 at 5:26 pm

Masuk Langkawi….no duty wooohooo !!!!

• Hadi75 on Nov 07, 2012 at 5:27 pm

Biturbo diesel…..niicceeeee
    DIESEL POWER!!!

• vote for obama on Nov 07, 2012 at 5:57 pm

Seems that Malaysian is good at giving car’s reviews, and political debates. A lot of Wakil YB here.

• Drebar on Nov 07, 2012 at 6:44 pm

Beware of Proton they may rebadge it as Proton Kemaruk or desperado in meaning.

• A lot of you guys need to change your mindset, nowadays, pickup trucks are more a lifestyle vehicle than work horse, so add-ons & extra horsepowers are welcome. Having said that, being a VW, am I right to presumed that it will cost <150k if Das Auto did bring them in to Bolehland?

• james on Nov 25, 2012 at 11:56 am

when will arrived malaysia? Would like to buy manual for my job use.