Honda Malaysia, MIROS collaborate for ASEAN NCAP

Honda Malaysia recently provided a new Honda City for the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) to run the ASEAN New Car Assessment Programme (ASEAN NCAP) crash test. The first crash test was carried out at the specially built NCAP crash lab in Malacca, where a series of crash tests for sedans and small cars will be undertaken under its Phase I testing.

The crash test speed was recorded at 63.6 km/h. Following this, another City will undergo an official ASEAN NCAP crash test in December, which will further add tenability to the results. The results will be made public on MIROS’ ASEAN NCAP website.

On hand to guide the MIROS team were Yoshiji Kadotani and Tadashi Mashita of Honda’s R&D. Crash test aspects included the placement of dummies, ideal in-car temperatures, mechanics to achieve the desired speed for accurate results and correct cable tension in pulling the cars. Kadotani, Mashita and their team have crash tested more than 20,000 cars.

The body structure of a Honda car is built with G-force Control Technology (G-CON) that helps disperse and absorb the impact of a crash. Passive safety technologies are dual front SRS airbags and three-point Emergency Locking Retractor (ELR) seat belts, while active safety technologies include Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA), ABS, EBD and Brake Assist (BA).

Honda says all its cars meet the UN Economic Commission of Europe (UNECE)’s R94 and R95 regulations for safety standards and crashworthiness.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Spike on Nov 07, 2012 at 4:11 pm

sure boh? then why lots of honda cars accident cannot see even the badge?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
    • jimmyphon on Nov 08, 2012 at 1:26 am

You’re probably old school. Put is simple:

Scenario 1 – Car absorb momentum and crumbles, the people inside are safe.

Scenario 2 – Car does not absorb momentum, transfer it to the people, people becomes superman and fly. Car is safe with logo, people in pieces.

Science. The old days of more steel = better cars are over.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
    • u old school thinking la u.. Nowadays where got people see the front part of car hard means safe 1 liao? people see ncap ratings 1 liao lo.. Just like Myvi, the head of the car is soft but the cabin is hard which earned the 4 out of 5 star safety rating.. Yet a lot of people said that the car is not safe cos the head of the car is damn soft…

• How come judge collaborate with candidate? there would be conflict of interest isn’t it? they should collaborate with EURONCAP or ANCAP instead.

• With dual front airbag only, side impact you can call good game, see you in your next life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • Yikes!! how Reckless are you in the road
      We have been buying cars with no airbags or 1-2 airbags for decades, and we feel so safe then . Now as the more airbags are introduced, you just want more .
      Just drive more safely on the roads, airbags does not gurentee your livelihood . Is better to avoid a disaster than to reduce the damage
      I think of you drive an Abrams tank you will still not be setisfied ……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
      • EH sorry la Bang.

If you kena side impact, most probably mean that ppl bang you! So, in the end, the one that’s innocent die because don’t have side airbags, the one that bang you survive because got front airbags.

Think carefully who is driving carefully and who is not.

For those HONDA FANBOYS, don’t be blind. Blindness kills.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
        • alldisc on Nov 08, 2012 at 8:09 am

everyone drive safely lah, then reduce risk of unwanted collision (of course, no one wants one)

• crash dummies on Nov 07, 2012 at 11:38 pm

no matter how safely your driving, accident do happen if you are bad luck at the wrong time wrong place.
        If other vehicle banged you but your car does not have these passive safety system then your chance of survival is ZERO.

• No la, any accidents (or on the road) that happens are due to two main ingredients. Unsafe Driving (you or others) and Unsafe Conditions. If you can Eliminate them 100% then no accident!Which is no possible.

• Eyesore on Nov 08, 2012 at 5:15 pm

Too many airbag, later ppl will not die due to the accidcent but die due to suffocated by the airbags all around them… lol…

hehehe.. just kidding ^.^

• Non sense on Nov 08, 2012 at 12:36 am

Yikes! 2 airbag is enough for you? Damn man!

Actually 6 airbag is not enough. The highest number of airbag in a car most recently in Ford 9 Airbag.

6 airbag. Most manufaturer only protectect the driver and the front passenger. 2 for the front, 2 fir the knee, 2 for the side. Opps, Tak cukup la!

• Good job Honda!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • sudonano on Nov 07, 2012 at 4:18 pm

Not bad.

• Garfield on Nov 07, 2012 at 4:33 pm

After this can get almost “brand new” kereta potong parts from MIROS!

• b sensible on Nov 07, 2012 at 4:37 pm

how many stars? any?

• koochai on Nov 07, 2012 at 4:45 pm

1 of many steps towards safer car in malaysia.
    i bet millions out there still lacking knowledge of basic safety feature of cars eg crumple zone etc etc.

• albag on Nov 07, 2012 at 5:05 pm

so safer proton cars in the future

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Micheal on Nov 07, 2012 at 5:17 pm

Proton : have you test your car like this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • MoFaz on Nov 08, 2012 at 12:28 am

lately, Proton did their own test in the lab, and they also send their cars to IDIADA in Spain, get 4 stars for Exora and 5 stars for Preve in Australia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • yes they do.. not all but their latest lineup.

PERODUA: have u test your car like this? If they test the lagi best, i bet the most butthurt person was a commentor named “amoi”. Ouch!! Do test the Vios as well :)

• Perodua leave all their tests to Daihatsu and Toyota la.. But i wonder why Daihatsu Cuore scored better than Kelisa in crash test since it’s based on the same car??!!

• Eyesore on Nov 08, 2012 at 5:20 pm

FYI… since you kinda left behind unlike other ppl… All proton model was subjected to more than 20 crash tests during development stages… most of them done at IDIADA Spain according to EuroNCAP requirements…. Futhermore airbags tuning and several other interior safety tests was conducted at PROTON RND in Shah Alam… so to answer your question.. YES Proton has and still testing their cars like this… since LOOOONG time ago…

• Jimmy on Nov 07, 2012 at 5:35 pm

Will it be conducted in Malaysia, like Sirim? Good luck.

• alldisc on Nov 08, 2012 at 8:50 am

this one in malaysia la, conducted by MIROS. later on MIROS will have some involvement in ASEAN NCAP.

• Yea, do some side impact crash tests, then try to sell us the idea that having just 2 front airbags are enough to protect everyone on board.

• Yoshida on Nov 07, 2012 at 5:46 pm

Keep it on honda

• seancorr on Nov 07, 2012 at 7:08 pm

The Honda City you see in the pictures above does not have VSA! It’s the pre-facelift version lol

• alldisc on Nov 08, 2012 at 8:54 am

what the heck can VSA do in collision assessment like this? this is a study lah, to give rating on the results after an impact.

• Actually for EURONCAP,VSA or electronice stability programns are a criteria in collision assessment.maybe for ASEAN NCAP it is not required yet

• Although stability control (ESP, VSA, ESC etc) are the requirement for EURO NCAP, it doesn’t involved in crash test. Tests for stability control are conducted separately, known as “sine-with-dwell” test and are based on an actual double lane change maneuver.

http://www.euroncap.com/Content-Web-Page/bf07c592-4f87-404e-bb06-56f77faee5a2/esc.aspx

• Kent Lim on Nov 07, 2012 at 8:57 pm

Good move, next pls send the Viva for testing, and see what happens to the dummies….

• kadajawi on Dec 27, 2012 at 8:33 pm

Dummies are too expensive for that. Better use display dummies.

• Expatriate VN on Nov 07, 2012 at 9:00 pm

MIROS ha, ha, ha … talk about ASEAN ANCAP, or jaguh kampung CRAP!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
    • Sam from The Loo on Nov 08, 2012 at 9:43 am

At least they are doing something to improve, unlike u bitching all the time.

• What ever G-CON, Active or Passive Safety features, they are excellent but that should be our Last Line of Defense. It should not bulidup our confidence into reckless driving. Defensive Driving should be our First line of defence. But Defensive Driving courses can be quite costly.

• Are they well trained enough to fully assess what is effective and what is not? Or are they just vocational school trainees? It might just be good money thrown down the drain.

• start-a-fight on Nov 08, 2012 at 9:00 am

please do not undermine MIROS if you did not know who they are, with your SPM credential

• carpathia on Nov 08, 2012 at 12:01 am

Serious question : what exactly is the point of MIROS when there are already more established Euro NCAP and others ?

• Bcos MIROS hv no job… so they create jon for them self whereas they should study how to improve road condition, commonise traffic light and signage to help driver.

• helpus on Nov 08, 2012 at 8:32 am

no need to send to europe la. manufacturer can save cost. the standard is still the same not to worry

• start-a-fight on Nov 08, 2012 at 9:09 am

is the same point why we have NTHSA(US), NCAP(Europe), ANCAP(Oz &NZ), C-NCAP(china)… the type of accident happen in each country is different and they will test the scenario of accident prone to happen in each region.

• Expatriate VN on Nov 08, 2012 at 11:12 am

Under Euro NCAP, China NCAP or other type of NCAP, gov can’t monopoly, and subsequent outsourcing this to cronies kind of arrangement like AES!!!!!

• nazri on Nov 08, 2012 at 3:17 pm

because ASEAN’s assemble cars are not same with europe’s cars in terms of safety standard

• kadajawi on Dec 27, 2012 at 8:35 pm

EuroNCAP tests in Europe, for cars sold in Europe, with specs that are common in Europe.

ANCAP does the same for Australia.

IIHS and NHTSA do it for the US.

C-NCAP for China.

There is a Latin American one, and for ASEAN countries it is ASEAN NCAP, done by MIROS. Makes sense.

• saga_ngv on Nov 08, 2012 at 8:44 am

lab miros ni banyak dah test kereta, cuma tak publish je lagi. model tempatan pun ada dah test. Paling “selamat” v***, second “selamat” A***…fikir2kan lah..bukan sembang.. tapi kalo korang rajin cari info @ ade kenalan keja miros ni..pi la tanya… x boleh publish sbb non official info..naya plak kt kawan2 yg keja sana..

• Kenapa tak publish … takut org tak beli kereta tu? Di M’sia mostly beli kereta tgk harga, sparepart ect, org tak kisah pasal NCAP ect even our insurance pun tak take note pasal safety items …semua sama ikut CC dan local made or imported.

• zhuyou on Nov 08, 2012 at 10:37 am

At least Honda got the gut and initiative to submit their car for the MIROS ASEAN NCAP test. This
    demonstrates that they have confidence in their products.