Volkswagen Beetle 2.0 TSI launched – RM220k

Volkswagen Group Malaysia has announced the introduction of the Beetle 2.0 TSI in the country. The variant was showcased at the Volkswagen Das Auto Show 2012 back in September (it’s the one in yellow in the photos), which was when the 1.2 TSI version of the Bug made its Malaysian debut.

The vehicle’s 2.0 litre TSI mill, good for 200 PS, is paired to a six-speed DSG transmission, and performance figures include a 223 km/h top speed and a 0-100 km/h time of 7.5 seconds.

The car arrives in a “Sport Line” package trim, which contains unique specification highlights not found on other models – these include a four-link rear suspension, twin chromed exhaust pipes, red brake calipers and a body-coloured rear diffuser.

Other items on the list are ‘Twister’ 18-inch alloy wheels, bi-xenon headlights with LED daytime running lights, aluminium pedals and an XDS Extended Electronic Differential Lock.

This one also wears a panoramic sunroof, which can be tilted or opened and is 80% larger in terms of glass surface area compared to the one on the New Beetle. It’s transparent, but the insulating glass blocks 99% of UV radiation and 92% of heat energy, so the numbers go.

The car also is equipped with a RCD 510 touchscreen audio system with an integrated six-disc CD changer, a two-zone electronic climate control system, cruise control and gloss black door mirrors.

Six colours are available for the 2.0 TSI, and these are Tornado Red, Saturn Yellow, Reflex Silver, Deep Black, Reef Blue and Oryx White. As for pricing, it rolls in at RM219,888, which is a RM80k premium over the 1.2 TSI.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Johnny on Nov 07, 2012 at 6:38 pm

Overpriced? What do you think?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 2
    • Too expensive !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 2
      • Obama on Nov 08, 2012 at 7:28 am

Not an average joe’s car, but guess what an average joe in Malaysia is only destine to buy Proton in his hold life…sigh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
        • Mahathir Hamdan on Nov 08, 2012 at 3:28 pm

Would you dare to buy a car for RM220k when the DSG gearboxes have a bad reputation for high failure rate? What happens after the 5 year warranty? Who is going to give me RM50,000 to replace the DSG gearbox? I am one of many who keep my car more than five years, what to do then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
          • _xXx_ on Nov 08, 2012 at 4:46 pm

People’s car costs 220k 1 piece. So what do we call those who cannot afford?

• thai even worst beetle 1.2 tsi cost u THB1.99million(rm197k)

• sama sama on Nov 10, 2012 at 12:11 pm

There is nothing wrong wit the DSG gearbox. Do you own a VW? I you do and you have used it for more than 5 years, 10 years even, you wont encounter any serious problems with the DSG? All those DSG rumors are made up by mostly competitors that cannot match them in terms of reliability, power or fuel efficiency.

• Chin Choon Bing on Nov 09, 2012 at 10:29 am

I have no idea why whn you are at a traffic light with a VW Golf, the owner likes to rev and show off to you as if he is driving a Porsche. I have a 520d and somehow I have seen this so many times. I asked many friends and they confirm the same thing. VW owners have some sort of inferiority complex that they will try to race with you at the traffic lights just to show they own a “Porsche”. Aiyoo VW owners, your cars are not Porsche lah, its just a VW. In overseas, its just a normal and cheap car. VW means “Common Car”. Even the garbage collector in Europe also drive VW. And yet here, owners in Malaysia want to rev and race with people on the road just to prove a point that they are bigger and better than other cars. VW owners, our roads are not for racing, deal with your inferirity complex in some other way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 23
          • LanunFX on Nov 09, 2012 at 5:04 pm

Same goes to many Myvi & Saga owner…

• I know garbage collectors who drive BMW too. Your point being? As I know, in Europe they are paid highly because nobody wants to do it. Coming back to your comment, there are morons in any cars. It has nothing to do with the car. If these ah bengs switch from their Type-R and STi to VW because it’s happening, does it make the car bad? There was one period when loads of pimps switched to Beemers too. It comes and goes.

The fact that you can complain about such a small matter just shows how small minded you are… like most BMW owners I know. Which is why I will always take a Merc over a BMW any day. Just because of the type of people BMW attracts.

• Lesson in VW on Nov 08, 2012 at 10:40 am

Ha Ha spending RM200,000 on a VW. Is it really the Malaysian government or VW giving us that high price. Mind you, previously, people thought taxes was 300%, so they paid whatever commanded by the seller. But now, after PKR’s Turunkan Harga Kereta Campaign, we all know that maximum taxes and duties just amount to ONLY 130%. So, how come this car can be RM200,000 and Toureg is RM488,888?

Hello Malaysian, pakai lah otak. The car is so cheap overseas. Infact VW is a normal car overseas. Its like Proton in Malaysia. It is so ridiculously cheap overseas. But somehow, VW owners like to siouk (syok) sendiri thinking they are driving an equivalent to a Bentley. Let me reiterate, VW, though maybe very good in quality (with the exception of countless of faulty DSG), is NOT a luxury and only a fool would pay luxury prices for a VW in Malaysia. Infact, the whole range of VW are so way overpriced. People in Malaysia need to break away from this thinking that the car is at par with Audi, Mec and BMW. Its NOT.

You would spend RM20,000 on a Rolex, but would you spend RM10,000 on a Citizen or a Seiko? Most stupid Malaysians might just do that if Citizen and Seiko market their watches in Malaysia associated with prestige and class. But we all know better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 24
        • anonymous on Nov 08, 2012 at 3:33 pm

Obvoiusly you cannot own one…that’s why you bithching…it’s one’s prerogative to buy or not to buy…so shut up and dont call people a fool! Actually, you are the biggest fool! So immature…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 32
          • Chin Choon Bing on Nov 09, 2012 at 10:17 am

Only a fool would encourage the government to put car prices high. Intelligent people argue for lower prices so that ALL may benefit from safer cars, not just the elite few who are rich. Why can’t a poor man also enjoy the safety of a German car too like in Germany?
            One must be very foolish, immature and even arrogant to encourage high prices on basic necessities like a car. This is the arrogance of the rich wanting to control the poor and the masses. Soon, they will ask the government to raise the prices of rice and food, so that ALL cannot enjoy. Grow up lah, how immature one can be to want high prices. Selfish behaviour. It is better for ALL rich and poor to enjoy safe cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • Hello friend…why you need to marah marah? If people have money and they want to spend, let them spend la..if you don’t want to, just shut it la..hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
        • the highest tax is 145% not 300%…
          www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm

• PLease la, VW IS NOT LIKE PROTON!!! There are no other cars LIKE PROTON!!! VW is not Government funded. VW is NOT the cheapest car in Europe. They cost more than Opel, Fiat, Renault, Toyota, Honda and are priced just below Audi, BMW and Merc. Please DON’T COMPARE WITH PROTON!!! They are common in Europe because most Germans can afford them!

• Coming back to your statement that VW is SO cheap overseas, let me show you what are listed on www.carbuyer.co.uk.

BMW 114i Sport Doors: 3 Engine: 1.4 Fuel: unleaded Economy: 50 mpg Gears: Manual 0-62mph: 11.2s £19,230

Golf GT 1.4 TSI ACT 140 PS Doors: 3 Engine: 1.4 Fuel: unleaded Economy: 53 mpg Gears: Manual 0-62mph: 8.4s £22,050

Wait a minute… how can a Golf be more expensive than a BMW and still sell more cars??? Not convinced? Let me pull another number for you.

Audi A1 1.4 TFSI S line 122PS S tronic Doors: 5 Engine: 1.4 Fuel: unleaded Economy: 53 mpg Gears: Manual 0-62mph: 8.9s £18,885

OH WOW!!! VW Golf is more expensive than an Audi???? How can? It’s supposed to be a Proton… and since we’re on the subject of this particular Beetle…

Beetle 2.0 TSI Turbo Black 6 speed auto DSG Doors: 3 Engine: 2.0 Fuel: premium unleaded Economy: 37 mpg Gears: Manual
          0-62mph: 7.5s £24,505

Maybe VW is not so cheap now???

• Lesson in VW on Nov 08, 2012 at 10:49 am

VW prices in the US (after US duties and taxes are fully paid to the US government). Isn’t it time for all Malaysains to WAKE up?

Jetta US$16,675
        Passt Us$20,845 (RM180,000)
        Golf US$17,995
        Beetle $19,795 (RM200,000)
        Toureg $43,425 (RM480,000)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
        • vroom vroom on Nov 08, 2012 at 1:07 pm

if i’m not wrong, income tax in the US is 50%. you will be happy with the car prices but then you’d complain on the income tax

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
          • Mahathir Hamdan on Nov 08, 2012 at 3:24 pm

Income tax in the US is not 50% lah. Check your facts before giving people false information. That is what our government tells the Kampung people to justify the super exorbitant high prices. And as usual, the kampung people just believe anything told to them. Infact income tax in the Us is the same as Malaysia if you look at it carefully. So, why are we paying 3 times the prices of cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
          • Queen on Nov 08, 2012 at 11:33 pm

MITT ROMNEY THE PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATE PAID 11% TAXES…..50% MY FOOT!

• Mahathir Hamdan on Nov 08, 2012 at 3:37 pm

About US prices, besides the Beetle and Passat in the US is less than US$20,000, it also comes with a 2.5 engine with 5 cyclinders and pure 100% German Made CBU.

Malaysians kena tipu triple whammy.

1) smaller engine and lower spec
          2) CKD with more than 50% Malaysian Made parts
          3) 3 times the price of world prices.

Beetle US Spec…

Every Beetle starts off on the right path. Bluetooth® and 17″ alloy wheels come standard. With iPod® hookups for all.
          2.5L, 5 cylinder engine, 170 hp
          17″ Heritage alloy wheels
          Bluetooth® with audio streaming
          Media Device Interface (MDI) with iPod® cable
          V-Tex leatherette seating surfaces with heated front seats
          3-color, 4-position ambient lighting
          Multi-function trip computer
          Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
          Power-operated, heated side mirrors with integrated turn signals

• u want car made in bolehland or not..if 50% cannot tolerate..how bout 90% or 100%

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 07, 2012 at 7:10 pm

Yes, expected it to be 180-190k. The gap is too huge between 1.2 and 2.0. Usually car dealer will only offer slightly higher price for better specs/engine to lure buyers to buy highest spec. But this one, I dont know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
    • Jimmy on Nov 08, 2012 at 12:00 am

Yes, but I have never complained that S-class/X6/Ferrari are overpriced, neither have I heard anybody complaining that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
    • Kalun on Nov 08, 2012 at 12:25 am

But cheaper than Porsche of coarse.

Beetle is like a poor man Porsche. (I don like beetle)
      Toyota ft86 is like a poor man Lexus LFA.

But no worries. I admire this car evethough this is just a *sarcasm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 37
  • Kent Lim on Nov 07, 2012 at 6:38 pm

Man, this is very expensive, even more expensive than the Golf GTI. And I don’t expect those driving the beetle to be zooming like the GTIs, so will be interesting to see how many units can be sold. Maybe can wait for the pre-reg units! VW (M) has not quite live up to VW’s tagline of being the People’s Car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 1
    • gen y on Nov 07, 2012 at 6:45 pm

Johnny & Lim, what do u expect from VW. There’ll always be people whom r willing to spend..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
    • it used to be people’s car, now only cater for premium market thus the price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
      • Rulered on Nov 07, 2012 at 11:20 pm

I believe VW should have their own spectrum of cars which ranges from affordable ones to go with their tag as people’s car to premium models for upscale market, similar to Toyota’s Innova vs Alphard. Yes, I do agree that even their entry level models ( eventhough rather better speced than Japanese cars) is expensive for Malaysian commoner. Having said that, any brand of car with 2.0 litre turbo engine with 6 speeds is not likely to be aimed for the mass.

• only in malaysia..

• wrong..actually like the rest of the world minus europe, north american, some australalia country, rich arab country, japan, brunei n maybe china

• gen y on Nov 07, 2012 at 6:41 pm

Nice… but the 2 litre engine seems a bit over power. Hope the DSG is reliable enough.

• winston on Nov 07, 2012 at 7:32 pm

my bimmer is 2.0L too but has 245hp.. guess mine is reliable.

Turbo engine now can go a lot more further~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • Retep on Nov 07, 2012 at 6:42 pm

Better off buying the GTI – more practical.

Unless you’re into the whole retro image thing lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • Bujang Lapuk on Nov 08, 2012 at 7:37 am

The Golf is retro enough for me, considering it was born in the 70s :P

• better off with a vw scirocco!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
  • Davinnci on Nov 07, 2012 at 6:44 pm

Thanks to our G, the price raise like sky high

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 10
    • some hyundai/kia oso car oso have 2.0cc but much less than that…honda/toyota/etc oso have 2.0 well below 200k..

• ok computer on Nov 09, 2012 at 5:36 pm

Don’t compared with those brands. So now you know VW is not same level as H/K/T/. Most of luxury cars are under VW umbrella not those japan or korean brands.

• gracke on Nov 07, 2012 at 6:47 pm

Beetle GTI! Iconic become sport performance car…pricy a bit but is iconic but…but..hard to say!!

• DArkerMarker on Nov 07, 2012 at 6:48 pm

overpriced for kereta katak….even its a new car.

There are many choices, many brands, better performances and better looking cars out there….

VW oso have learnt from Toyota and Tan Chong to squeeze money from Malaysian??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
    • I think is the G that is squeezing money from Toyota and VW who have no choose but to squeeze money from us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
  • Megat on Nov 07, 2012 at 6:49 pm

Hm…I wonder why Volkswagen Malaysia is delaying bringing in the 1.4TSI model instead. That seems to be more economical and somewhat more affordable. With the current price tag, it’s better to buy the Golf GTi. More spacious and it make more ringgit sense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Maserati on Nov 07, 2012 at 7:04 pm

This is an awesome iconic car.Only for those you can afford.For those who cant afford,of course you have your Preve to satisfy your needs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 46
    • for those who cannot afford, i think better go for viva

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
      • MyVI not MkVI, Don't confuse. on Nov 08, 2012 at 9:36 am

that is why i stick to my myvi eventhough i have desire on other options.

• Totally agree with you dude, if they price is affordable for everyone, sure it will be like produa, proton and kia on the road. No premium feel already since so many on the road. LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • seancorr on Nov 07, 2012 at 7:07 pm

With this kind of price, the Golf GTI is a better buy….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Biscuit on Nov 07, 2012 at 7:18 pm

Flower peoples and cult car is getting very expensive…Driving a new three star C class for the same price make more sense and cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • But the feel is different. Only uncle and rich wannabe will drive C class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • Jimmy on Nov 07, 2012 at 11:26 pm

Girls will look at you as a more mature man, mature in thinking.
      Well, if we just like the shape and look of a Beetle of old time, then we can just get a new one at RM140K. No need to look hard for a 2nd-hand to rework on it. No need to spend RM220K, afterall it is just a toy to keep. We are not going to drive it to our office, neither are we going to drive it as a sportcar.

• freddie on Nov 07, 2012 at 7:20 pm

It’s not “people’s car” anymore!

• Expatriate VN on Nov 07, 2012 at 9:04 pm

It is “people car” in Germany, once come to this Bolehland, pass through the gate of NAP, then it become “cronies” car …….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • I’ll get a GT86 or a Ficus ST at that price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • I’ll get a GT86 or a Focus ST at that price

• I would rather buy an unreg preowned Porsche Cayman. Brand new cars in Malaysia r really overpriced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • kereta buruk on Nov 07, 2012 at 8:02 pm

mahal nak mampos.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Mini Honda on Nov 07, 2012 at 8:08 pm

VW Beetle have a image of RM140k. If i buy this RM220k baby, ppl will think it just cost RM140k.

VW Scirocco is known for RM200k+
    I buy Scirocco will give me better perception of status from public.

And due to the RM140k VW Beetle, the 2nd hand value of 2.0tsi RM220k will drop very fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
    • Only those people who don’t know about car will think like you. If you’re looking for status better get a Porsche or Ferrari. Only if you can afford lor.

• Paul Tan on Nov 07, 2012 at 11:02 pm

According to your logic, Golf GTI owners will have people think their cars are normal Golfs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • I agreed! There are already many Beetles on the road, wearing RM139,888 price tag. The RM220k turbo beetle doesn’t going to make the car looks more prestige, and people don’t buy Beetle for racing.

A RM140k Beetle is reasonably priced, and is good enough. No need to waste RM220k for a Beetle. If you have RM220k, get a more prestige car that nobody can buy at RM140k. Eg. Peugeot RCZ. :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • tongi on Nov 08, 2012 at 12:35 am

Good Point,But in the end Still Compliment your RCZ ,Enjoy

• RCZ suck on Nov 08, 2012 at 11:10 am

But Peugeot RCZ looks so ugly. Something not right somewhere.. LOL

• Ugly or beauty is subjective.

Something not right, you are absolutely right! The roof is NOT right, you don’t see any other road driving car with such bubble design roof! :)

• RCZ is way too slow to compare to a GTI, whether a Golf or Polo. Century sprint 8.4s for auto version can’t even keep up with a Golf TSI! Leave prestige claims aside for now, not going to bother with that.

Real car people appreciate the amount of engineering and technology that has gone into the Golf GTI and as much as people complain about the price, IMHO it is a lot of car for the money. The DSG and XDS are amazing leaps in motoring technology, with great execution to boot on VW’s part.

Say what you want about your RCZ, it may win you looks but from a serious driver’s standpoint many would disagree. With a long line of rave reviews, the Golf GTI is still the car to beat.

Honestly geting quite sick of these comments that really aren’t constructive:

Complaints about government (Register to vote, get as many people to do so, and do what you think is right. Your comments here will never be taken seriously by anyone.)

Debates on brand prestige (A car is just a car, you pay for what you get in terms of design, engineering or features. Chasing prestige shows that you gain happiness from making others envious. Dedicating your life to pursuing prestige alone makes it certain that your life mission is to instil envy)

Generalization of drivers of a certain brand/model (This is akin to racism, in a very crude sense. Keep it to yourself as no one needs to know. It reflects very badly on you, and on us Malaysians when foreigners read here.)

Complaints about expensive prices, especially when compared to overseas markets (In most cases, when people quote prices of similar models in other countries, it is always the BASE price. VW Golfs come in a multitude of engines globally, starting from the cheapest 1.2l NA engine with less than 90hp. Auto transmission, power windows, metallic paint and even floor mats are optional kit. Do keep this in mind when comparing and ALWAYS check your facts before you relay them, don’t spread inaccurate data)

There is a stark and glaring difference between the motoring community that comments here and those that are from other countries. They provide constructive comments, based on facts and not emotion. They use proper grammar and spelling, which is telling of a rich-knowledge community. They also keep politics and racism out of the discussion.

My first comment, this is. Apologies for the negative tone but I’ve had a bit too much to drink. LOL. Sincere kudos to Paul Tan and his team for the blog, you guys are doing a great job.

• You are right about the auto version, that’s why I chose the manual 200hp version.

• Chris on Nov 07, 2012 at 8:15 pm

Wow… too expensive. I wonder who got greedy 1st. The gov or VW?

• Expatriate VN on Nov 07, 2012 at 9:01 pm

Beetle VW 2.0 at RM 220K, go to die NAP ……

• helos on Nov 07, 2012 at 9:05 pm

VW is creating a gap for the 1.4 which will look like a ‘value’ buy at 150-160k. no?

• like the polo gti..it is abit overpriced

• the price is…nonsense! i think vw need to re-consider their status… i mean, really its only volkswagen, not bmw or merc

• VW will be premium brand soon…good ‘people car brand’ is gone! i miss old VW,affordable and less issues…

• soon? never… VW is a lil bit above ford, same level as peugeot, but always below bmw, audi and merc.

• Peugeot is cheaper than VW if compared to VW Phaeton or VW Touareg…even tot is still below than bmw or whatever but some of their cars are much more expensive than them !

• whats on Nov 07, 2012 at 9:32 pm

Easy easy blame the G…go work harder la…then u can buy expensive car…if not go buy 1st generation saga..2, 3 ribu can get..cash

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 41
    • another easy2 stupid minded rempit thinking with rempit comments..baru kuar dari gua ka bang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
      • what? on Nov 08, 2012 at 7:56 am

i got a motorbike for rempiting, a new toyota wish for balik kampung, a extreme 1.5 myvi for market, a viva for my daughter jalan-jalan…and of course i’m a mat rempit…but i work hard for money & fun…u go complain here and there la bro..dont forget to take the RM500 G want to give u…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • I like your positive thinking. People, If you want to drive nice car in this country where you know everything is expensive for you… so work harder and make more money instead of blaming other people or G. You is what is you’re driving!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • In USA, camry just a normal car, in Malaysia, rich people only afford downgraded camry.
      In USA, GT86 cost about RM90000, here, bloody RM250000.
      Who can we blame? No matter how hard we work, we still driving shit.. so tell me what can I do? Sue the G?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
      • Jimmy on Nov 07, 2012 at 11:55 pm

3rd biggest joke of the week: rich people only afford downgraded Camry.
        Biggest joke: AES.
        2nd: Ayam and its logic/statements.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • rich ppl can afford downgraded camry? lol.. dude, there are alot of rich ppl in Malaysia and even richer than Americans. and the rich dont have time to drop by comment. they will only receive called from dealer to check out the cars and pay deposit to buy it.

• DArkerMarker on Nov 07, 2012 at 11:40 pm

You must be a natural sucker, and dont mind paying for overpriced car. Maybe your car is being paid by your parents too…and know nuts about global pricng of cars.

Its not about expensive car or affordability. What is being discussed here is the inflated price tag, in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • lollipop on Nov 08, 2012 at 2:54 am

repeat by smart Guy
      Car is liability ,Smart Guy Don’t invest Car

• looking-Good on Nov 07, 2012 at 9:42 pm

Beetle and Mini, both are iconic cars, as they have their past well-known historic records. They were affordable during that time.. Mini was welcome during that high oil price & stressful economy time, ppl need economic car..

Today, both cars have become luxury, not a people car anymore

I’m wondering which car is actually the people car as of today??

any comment??

• MyVI not MkVI, Don't confuse. on Nov 08, 2012 at 9:47 am

well in malaysia, myvi would be the best answer.

• Expatriate VN on Nov 08, 2012 at 10:03 am

That is jaguh kampung mentality, we deserve better!

Vote BN out come GE 13 (or you still underage), scrap the cronies get quick rich NAP scheme altogether. Then you can enjoy a lot of choice for people car (i.e. of course under Rafizi Ramli).

• MyVI not MkVI, Don't confuse. on Nov 08, 2012 at 12:03 pm

yeah dude, i was being sarcastic. come on.. we all know myvi has 3 euro NCAP and less airbag..i will upgrade soon! definitely not local brand or tofu cars. just the matter of time, after the next GE maybe?

• its getting nonsense & nonsense with price of cars in Malaysia. election very near who gives the best options will get my vote

• Kingston on Nov 07, 2012 at 10:55 pm

RM80k for a extra 0.8cc?!Rm10k per cc..YOU MAD VWM?? It’s not like each displacement is made out of panda,or is it??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • BB King on Nov 08, 2012 at 10:28 am

800 c.c not 0.8 c.c bro!

• well the extra cc makes a big difference on the tsi engines. i’ve got the 1.8 audi a4 and ive tried the 2.0… there’s a major difference.

anyways not to be totally off topic, this car really is overpriced. especially since the beetle wouldnt be a person’s first choice primary car. More likely a toy/fun car. e.g if you had 200-250k to spend on a car which will be your everyday car, the odds are that you’ll be looking at the bmws, audis, mercs and even the lexus which would be alot more value for money in terms of practicality and image(if youre that sort of person)

Also porsche, audi, vw and skoda(if im not mistaken) are all under the same group. And they market the brands luxury accordingly. Porsche being highest and skoda lowest.

• Josh Ling on Nov 07, 2012 at 11:20 pm

i think the logic is that VW Malaysia figured it won’t sell the New Beetle in a much greater number if it priced it lower than RM220k, and they may have some other variants of Beetle to bring in too, that will be bridge the gap between 1.2 and 2.0, hence the price. This is definitely a risk, whether or not it will pay off depend very much on how people perceive the whole New Beetle thing. i think it’s overpriced, but heck, so is Mini, and i don’t think Mini is doing very poorly in Malaysia.

• inieta leong on Nov 07, 2012 at 11:26 pm

While many of you tried to blame the NAP, Govt and blame VW on overpricing, why don’t just focus on the image, spec,performace etc like Mr Whats said, if cant afford just don’t buy la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
    • Expatriate VN on Nov 08, 2012 at 10:07 am

Why put the burden on consumers “if can’t afford don’t buy”???? Ask G, NAP focus on what you said – image, spec, performance, etc not protecting jaguh kampung no.2 – then majority of consumers can afford these attributes!!!!!!

• Expatriate VN on Nov 08, 2012 at 10:14 am

Put it another way, if I can’t afford and/or don’t like jaguh kampung No. 2 crappy junk metal, then you ask P1 to close shop, and let T, H, N, VW, etc offer best quality car at lowest price so that I can afford and like it so much!!!!!!

• Expatriate VN on Nov 08, 2012 at 10:48 am

Ask majority of jaguh kampung No. 2 car owner. What P1 do have with regard to image, spec and performance, etc:-

1) Local market – no image, low spec & quality at high price.

2) Oversea market – also no image, high spec & quality at lowest price.

If gov abolish NAP, P1 give local like oversea market, consumers have no problem, actually have plenty of choices on the image, high spec and high performance cars.

Drink too much, then talk too much full of sh*t ……..

• Dr. Mahathira on Nov 08, 2012 at 7:57 pm

Those vios and purotong will not understand onw…

• Angela on Nov 07, 2012 at 11:30 pm

That really is too expensive considering its a bug and no one would pay that much to have one. If your paying that much for a car you might as well get something better.

• 80k difference is alot of dough. I stick to my 1.2L beetle thank you. As mention, its a toy car. Should not be spending so much

• Bettet dd some more money and go for passat cc rather than this beetle

• Simon Templer@ Seman Tempe on Nov 08, 2012 at 12:17 am

My take of the profile of a typical driver of VW Beetle :
    @ for the old Beetle model : a secondary school teacher ( at least at my old school in the 60’s); middle level G servants,managers )
    @ for the new retro Beetle : young chicks generously maintained by some sugar-daddy,young male ” softies” with dyed brown hair , probably spotting a diamond earing on the left ear / some gay group members.Don’t expect a contractor to drive this car ( but as a sugar daddy he doesn’t mind buying one for his doll whom he wld lovingly call Darling Bettina .. Beetle for my Bettina ).
    So , start tracking the movement of this new Beetle and check whether my theory is right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • Micheal on Nov 08, 2012 at 6:28 am

I support BN!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • Joe Radzif on Nov 08, 2012 at 8:10 am

Kereta Rakyat…

already 220k
    how about the Kereta Pemimpin…

should be 2.2M

• Official on Nov 08, 2012 at 8:37 am

I’ll choose this rather than the Toyota 86 which sucks RM243K!

• If we really interested (and can afford for it), we will go for it, at what ever price.

• Expatriate VN on Nov 08, 2012 at 10:10 am

Perhaps salivating too much shits under cronies cepat kaya NAP scheme, just accept whatever crumb throw to him by gov.

• Musalmah Endut on Nov 08, 2012 at 10:24 am

if sell cheap then many people can buy and road full of beetle. nothing to wow wee about.. like looking other myvi. Exclusiveness of the car!

• ae101 on Nov 08, 2012 at 1:02 pm

you are so wrong my fren. u go shanghai, taiwan, singapore and see what is the majority cars there. you will be damn surprise. fyi beetle and mini are not exclusive car. only those like pagani, enzo, mclaren and other supercar are.

• VW is targeting those who were in the era of of “Hippies” and “Flower-Power” who dreamt to own one but can’t afford and are now in their 60s and 70s with plenty of money to throw away. Maybe even to re-live their youth by buying one for daughter or mistress.

• blurryd on Nov 08, 2012 at 11:13 am

Window shopping and test drive does not cost anything, dont condemn the price. If you like a girl you will do anything for her. It is the same principle for the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Dr. Mahathira on Nov 08, 2012 at 7:53 pm

There are whole bunch of vios and purotong owners here, they are from other world, don’t expect them to understand. Save you energy.

• DArkerMarker on Nov 08, 2012 at 9:48 pm

depends….if you think with your heart, or with your brain…..

• Kevin on Nov 08, 2012 at 11:15 am

So expensive for a VW Beetle. The market in Malaysia is getting crazy these days. Normal everyday iconic cars are being resurrected at sky high prices. Take the 86 and the Mini for example! Used to be working class car and look what it has become! Crazy!

• Price like a GTI / Scirocco but without DCC Adaptive Chassis Control… kekeke… Choices & preferences…

• wow! malaysians are so rich can buy new Beetle at this price!

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Nov 08, 2012 at 12:37 pm

Only for those who need to flaunt and feel different, same reason why you buy an LV bag .If you got the money, no one can tell you how to spend it, but if you have to put yourself in serious debt to own this car, you are not that smart.

• Lauyiachia on Nov 08, 2012 at 2:30 pm

Seriously, would you trade in your Fiesta for this overpriced turtle ?

• ok computer on Nov 08, 2012 at 4:54 pm

What Fiesta? out of the league. Not even the same range.

• Wow malaysians are so stupid can buy new Beetle at this price!

We ought to come up with an awareness portal to help consumers, ie. ourselves, fight for our rights, boycot the products if the prices are ridiculously high, compare products and have a voting system – which products are value for money. Oh and dont forget, which have the highest resale value (this is to cater for T&H loyalists). With awareness, we wont let these greedy bastards take us for fools and rob us on broad daylight.

• ppl please dont whine about car price. i dont agree with high car price but we also should not compare dollar to dollar with other country. i rmb when 6 series Gran Coupe just launched, ppl were whining about how expensive. but i’ve seen a few on the road already. lol..

• those who thumb down mayb just average joe. when u r average joe. drive a normal car 1st and work hard to earn a better car.

• v-power on Nov 08, 2012 at 3:28 pm

I quite like the Beetle 2.0 TSI…but not RM220K like! Handing over my hard-earned ringgit into the grubby paws of the cronies & AP kings, even when I could eventually afford one…feels like a crime is being committed against me…

Only in Malaysia is the People’s Car beyond the people’s reach…unless, maybe, if we vote wisely…and say enough is enough

• There are still plenty of choices out there for the car that you can afford. Myvi, Kancil, Saga, …etc. Don’t complaint and dream on luxury car when you can’t afford it.

Change the government? I think easier if you change your job or work harder.

• Looking at your line of comments, you are the epitome of the backward Malaysian citizen! I would stop right here if I were you, and start thinking about your children’s and great grand children’s future once your RCZ has depreciated to pittens.

• It doesn’t matter if my rcz is worth just a cent, by that time I have already earned and saved enough for a Porsche 911.

• Ralph on Nov 08, 2012 at 4:08 pm

Can any VW owner share your experience regarding the engine oil consumption. My VW’s engine oil level will run down about driving 2000km. I believe this Beetle will have same issue.

• Dr. Mahathira on Nov 08, 2012 at 7:50 pm

It is normal. I use about 1L/3000km.
      A lot of European cars consume more engine oil than Japs.

There are bunch of Toyota sales man here bashing VW and Vios owner TCSS, better go other places.

• Dr. Mahathira on Nov 08, 2012 at 8:04 pm

The People’s car was just a slogan or just another well knowned name today.

People will improve and make progress. What is wrong that VW gets more expensive? Monkeys here really don’t understand…

• Expatriate VN on Nov 09, 2012 at 10:08 am

You are the big monkey that do not understand more expensive due to NAP crappy taxes vis-a-vis high price due to genuine economic effects like inflation, rising cost, depreciation of currency, etc.

Katak like you should forever stay below tempurung and become blind supporter!

• Sape2 je on Nov 08, 2012 at 9:58 pm

Aiya… Kalau da VW nak jual rm60k- 70 k.. Proton cmne lak… Apa daaa…,

• PauKaya on Nov 08, 2012 at 11:42 pm

the normal beetle was surprisingly weak i am seriously not convinced its going to be improved by a bigger engine

• Whiners are wieners.

• Superfast on Nov 09, 2012 at 4:05 am

This is ridiculous pricing. Where does the govt & VW come up with these figures??? A lot of you may say if can’t afford then go buy something else..but this crazy random pricing of mediocre cars will only damage the market in the long run.

Imagine the beemers, mercs, audis jacking up their prices now because they see that a non-luxury brand is pushing the RM200k mark. Already the GT86 is selling for 200k++, this is a worrying ripple effect that will only crush the aspirations of the hardwoking Malaysian.

How can a freaking beetle be as expensive as hot hatches like the Rocco 2.0, gti, megane RS, MPS, etc..the sad part is that we will be seeing a lot of these 2.0 beetles on the road because poor little rich boys and girls will get their daddies to buy for them. Because nobody in thei right mind will pay with their own money for a beetle that cost 200k+…..

• There is a Beetle 1.2TSI at RM139,888 only. If you want more power, don’t complaint having to pay more. Else just choose the 1.2TSI version.

• Superfast on Nov 09, 2012 at 6:09 pm

My friend RCZ,

You have totally missed the point of my comment haven’t you? Let me address your offhand reply:

We must stop this mentality that if you can’t afford then buy something cheaper. This is because we should try to be smarter consumers as it is our hard earned money that we are departing with.

I am not stating any facts that proof our govt AP system is corrupt but just using this 2.0 beetle as an example we can clearly see some sort of flexible pricing. Just compare the brand value of VW and the and that of BMW. A F30 320i is starting at RM230k, that’s 30k more then a beetle…

So don’t shut up and buy something cheaper. We all deserved to drive good cars. Safe cars. Cars that you will fall in love with and not something you have to settle for. I mean that’s why u visit paultan right? Cause you love cars. No company should be allowed to place a premium on their product if it is unjustifiable.

And if you are going to reply to my comment, please use ur big head and not the small one down there. Tks

• Wow…better go buy BMW f30 now because price is going up tomorrow! Thank you superfast!

Oh…our road is going to be full of beetle 2.0tsi soon…thanks for the news!

• George V on Nov 09, 2012 at 6:11 am

Want to buy…

• Expatriate VN on Nov 09, 2012 at 10:20 am

My wishful dream is I want Rafizi Ramli to become MITI Minister after GE 13, then afterward, he can do the following: –

1) Revamp the NAP if not totally abolish it, therefore lower the prices of cars according to market for all makes, be it Beemers, Mers, RR, Ferrari, Mesarati, T, H, Hyundai, Nissan, Kia, VW including our much maligned Jaguh Kampung No. 1/2.

2) Thus, all consumers have freedom of choices for many model of cars according to their taste, image, specs and performance, but pay at lowest market prices.

3) No more crappy junk metal, AP Kings, cronies, crap-triotic, “Lotus handling” thingy, etc.

4) I for once, if this Beetle selling at market price for around RM 60 to 70K, I can line my house with one unit of this, apart from Estima MPV, or perhaps MyVi for go to market!

Thank you Rafizi in advance if you make my wish come true. I don’t mind to pay petrol price at market rate at around RM 3.50 per liter for non oil producing countries. For MY is OPEC member, it is a blessing if Petrol sold at RM 1.10 per liter!!!!!!!

• I think you better continue dreaming…and drive your Myvi…or stop wasting time online and work harder.

• VWPASSAT owner on Nov 09, 2012 at 4:24 pm

I really love reading the comments here …..really make my day esp when i dont have anything to do at the office. Seriously, whatever the reasons since have the purchasing power, just buy what u can afford and forget those cars which u think are beyond your budget or within your budget but u dont feel like buying. The price maybe high for this car but if there is no demand for very few demands for sure the price will drop eventually. Talk about supply and demand. Dont waste time complaining for things u cannot change. That is what a loser always does.

• ok computer on Nov 09, 2012 at 5:47 pm

I can see that everyone who comments here really want this car. They think they can own one but after see the price everyone get ??frustrated including myself. I wish i was born rich. LOL

• WTF with this world nowadays. Everyone want to speak about politic. Everything got ppl say will be politic.

Go here say gov sucks- pakatan good

Go there ppl say pakatan sucks- gov good.

But 1 thing i knw is both are the same.
    Both got their own agenda.
    Both are filling their pocket with our money.

If any1 read this, please, i beg you.
    STOP BARKING HERE ABOUT POLITIC.
    This is automotif forum should discuss about car related. I want knowledge about car related, not your stupid pakatan/BN world.

Please la my Malaysian brothers. Discuss your politic believe in your politic forum.
    Thank you.

• election coming soon ma! and our car policy is dictated by the silly bn regime and not by market forces.
      that is why, you get silly asking price for decent cars like vw and shit cars like protons being “forced” on the people by the actions of 1 porsche driving TUn.
      and dont talk about working harder for that dream car, cars are necessary tools for transport to work in a socalled soon to be developed country with no reliable public transport. how much harder you work also, you will only get by lah, unless you are crony, or children of ministers who can roll around in Hummer (not his) or buy condos with cow money from the bn regime. not forgetting the lambo driving fella whose ikan bakar shops have all lingkup!

• Kristen Watters on Nov 12, 2012 at 11:18 am

Oh my god!! I love this car! this is beautiful but expensive! :) I always love VW beetle cars. My dad used to own the very first VW beetle car and I really love this new VM Beetle!

• too expensive, overall not worth the price.

• half-Blood Prince Perak on Nov 29, 2012 at 11:41 pm

The Beetle in White look nice.

• kentji on Feb 08, 2013 at 3:26 pm

imo better looking than countryman

• chinoy on Oct 08, 2013 at 9:00 pm

no money no talk here