Shell Malaysia Lego Ferrari: 6 choices, RM12.90 each

Yes, Shell is offering Malaysian motorists the chance to own Ferraris, again! Only this time, they are not the usual realistic looking scale models but Lego versions. Malaysia is one of the first countries in the world to see the introduction of a limited edition, buildable range of Ferrari models made from LEGO bricks.

Featuring the smallest pull-back motor ever produced by Lego, the unique range represents the first time in the Danish toy company’s history that any vehicle of this size will have powered wheels. The cars are capable of performing a minimum of 300 pulls, propelling a 30g vehicle a minimum of two metres.

The six models included in the promotion are the Scuderia Ferrari Truck, Ferrari F40, Ferrari F150° Italia, Ferrari 458 Italia, Ferrari FXX and Ferrari 250 GT Berlinetta.

The unique Lego Ferrari models and Lego minifigures can be bought at Shell stations nationwide with a minimum RM40 purchase and a BonusLink swipe. The little cars are RM12.90 each and they will be available from today till 3 February 2013.

“This campaign perfectly represents the joint passion for performance and innovation that Shell and Ferrari stand for whilst incorporating the fun and imaginative nature of LEGO products. Whether they are fans of Ferrari, motorsport, or Lego bricks, we think these toys will prove an exciting reward for our customers,” says Azman Ismail, MD of Shell Malaysia Trading and Shell Timur.

For more information on this promotion, visit www.shell.com.my/LEGO

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mahathir Hamdan on Nov 08, 2012 at 3:47 pm

Shell is so rich and they are giving/selling these kind of “gifts” kah?

Isn’t better to run a contest and give back to the people (CSR) some fuel vouchers, LED TVs, mobile phones etc?

Or even better, instead of giving the rakyat toy cars, why don’t Shell Malaysia, one of the richest companies in Malaysia and even in the world, give back to the rakyat some car prizes. Put up some BMWs and Mercedes cars as prizes.

Come on Shell, what kind of CSR is this? Toy cars for adults (most drivers are adults)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 81
    • kemio on Nov 08, 2012 at 3:55 pm

ohh gosh.. I need to scarifies my cikedeess for this..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • koochai on Nov 08, 2012 at 4:00 pm

i remember few years ago the G is toying (pun intended) with ideas of prohibiting petroleum companies from having “expensive” contest because the cost will eventually be passed to customers. hence the toy car…

• George Qoros on Nov 08, 2012 at 7:08 pm

dude…what are you so uptight about?

• Legoland on Nov 08, 2012 at 9:42 pm

Why don’t you run your own oil co and give BMW or Ferrari for each of your customer. Cakap pandai, sendiri tak buat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • Mou Mou Ren on Nov 09, 2012 at 9:12 am

CONTEST?? U think everyone can WON the price????

• so after 300 pulls, they are at risks of not functioning anymore?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • James T on Nov 08, 2012 at 4:05 pm

Is there any Collector’s Garage this round?

• get some lego and garage plans from lego.com and build your own lo! haha

• woody on Nov 08, 2012 at 4:38 pm

can the lego car vibrates as well?

• ccomot on Nov 08, 2012 at 4:45 pm

must collect…

• just now saw only valid with vpower. true or not?

• abelard on Nov 09, 2012 at 11:10 am

not true, at first i thought it is just for vpower, it is also valid for normal

• leongsoon on Nov 12, 2012 at 11:51 am

Not true, as long as you fill up RM40 worth of fuel, you’re good. Even diesel!

• Julian Lee on Nov 08, 2012 at 6:15 pm

BMW better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • ben yap on Nov 08, 2012 at 6:27 pm

i’m not very interested in Lego toys. i still prefer metal diecast (not those hotwheels 1:64 types).

• Kent Lim on Nov 08, 2012 at 8:47 pm

Danny, $12.90 price tag is for $40 worth of Ron95 Fuel purchased, but it drops to $10.90 if $40 worth of Ron97 fuel is purchased.

• Told ya F2012’s stepped nose is inpired by lego.

• DArkerMarker on Nov 08, 2012 at 9:42 pm

Gimmick again…..

• Must have Bonuslink??

• Shell fuels finished very fast compared to Petronas and BHP, i have heard this from many people, and i myself could confirm this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • Ben Yap on Nov 09, 2012 at 10:42 am

can you confirm it with facts and figures rather than using your lips or hearsay?

• i second that opinion, shell full tank in a myvi, just over 300. primax can last up to 380 before the fuel gauge starts to blink.

• Arrrrr! I went to the counter they insisted must have bonus link so unfair is so near yet so farrrrrr to get 1 LEGO

• melvin Ipoh on Nov 09, 2012 at 6:04 pm

i juz buy tat red colour F1 ferrAri…. u should have bonus link to buy it… anyways, me on the spot apply the card as FREE… so no problem… for those Lego collector ‘like me crazy 1’ sure wanna collect it all.. for those ppl duno wat is Lego sure they will say many thing… pls la, far away from politic topic as well… lu talak sure lu sendiri buka jual petrol then u can offer wat u wan!

• rm2co rm2co on Nov 18, 2012 at 1:00 pm

Could not purchase the Lego Ferrari sets today (18th Nov) 2012 with a purchase of RM48 of the Shell RON 95 fuel. Apparently, since yesterday, the sales of the Lego sets were restricted to purchases of at least RM40 V-Power RON 97 fuels only. This is contrary to Shell’s printed terms and conditions. In fact, I purchased the Lego sets last week by buying RON 95 fuels only. Some mighty SNAFU, Shell!

• yes.. rasa tertipu… sama sama boycott dia orang for 1 or 2 months, switch to exxon or bhp..

• Adult female lego collector on Nov 19, 2012 at 9:05 pm

Haha..well lucky me…actually depends on the shell staff also.i just fill rm40 for ron95 and bought all 3 lego cars…no need bonuslink or smiles card.shell station at my place not many want the toy,so they have many stocks.

• lego maniac on Dec 06, 2012 at 5:38 pm

who had any idea that in which part of penang islands shell station still have the 1st 3 cars?thx

• cengitu on Nov 20, 2012 at 5:42 pm

Being cheated with the ads or what? Bought Shell engine oil ( normal 10-30 ) for RM60 plus and I can’t get those lego for RM12.90..They stated purchase minimum RM40…The staff at the counter told me only engine oil semi or fully only can get ….

• 2 days ago when i was at Shell Bayan Lepas, Jalan Bayan Lepas, Penang to fill Ron 95 fuels and plan to purchase Ferrari Model LEGO Collection, the cashier lady /worker told me that i need to fill in with Shell V-Power Fuels only can purchase LEGO Collection and said is a new RULES… @#$%^&
    Is this a requirement?

WTH belos is:- !@#$%^&*())(*&^%$#@!
    The unique LEGO Ferrari models and LEGO minifigures can be bought at Shell stations nationwide with a minimum RM40 purchase and a BonusLink swipe. The little cars are RM12.90 each and they will be available from today till 3 February 2013.

• lego ferarri on Nov 23, 2012 at 11:03 pm

now you all do want to buy her toy car beacause he want you buy v-power oil only can buy this toy car,when you are rich you can buy v-power oil.i just buy fuelsave oil only,now i can not buy arealdy.

• mohdfaizalrasid on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:07 pm

lucky me can buy all at once without have to fill any fuel with price rm12.90 each at my kampung at taman yayasan segamat. perhaps people there not interested so the pump station just let anybody to buy them… daripada x laku. and also the minifuigures with price rm12.90. they also sell the garage at price rm60 but may be buy it later.

• ianckv on Nov 30, 2012 at 11:24 am

I just got the lego truck last night, but its not functioning….. what should i do ?/ who can help please

• Chuang K T on Dec 02, 2012 at 1:23 pm

I’m a loyal costumer of Shell petrol. I feel very frustrated and disappointed vith the way Shell conduct this promo. Top management should seriously look into this. All petrol station having different way of selling the lego car.Will stop patronize Shell petrol. Substandard promo conduct by multinational company.

• Chuang K T on Dec 02, 2012 at 10:14 pm

I’m a loyal customer of Shell petrol. Feel very very frustrated & disappointed with the way this Lego car promo is conducted. All the Shell petro station having different way of selling this promo. Top management should seriously look into this. Will stop patronize Shell petrol station.

• Danny Ng on Dec 27, 2012 at 12:19 am

I’m a loyal customer of Shell petrol. Feel very very frustrated & disappointed where until today after traveling to all Shell Petrol Station in Perak, Selangor, Wilayah Persekutuan, Penang, Kedah, Seremban, Johor and Melaka, I still unable to buy the Lego car display box (where I need 3 units for my own and my son’s. All the Shell petrol station said that out of stock, Top management should seriously look into this matter. Will give us ~ loyal customer of Shell petrol to have it to complete our collection’s. Thanks

• Azlan on Feb 15, 2013 at 11:06 am

Agreed with danny.Till today I,m still not able to buy the display casing set. Even had seek to get Shell hotline assistance but in vain.They promise to check and call me back but todate there’s no news. Shell what happen?? ……and you’re still selling the Lego set.Pls come back to me with some good news.