SEMA 2012: Mazda CX-5 Urban concept – very stealthy

This is the Mazda CX-5 Urban concept Mazda brought to SEMA 2012. Just a car shrouded in matte finish? No, says Mazda, who tells us that it’s inspired by styles found in fashion and architecture.

The custom paint process features multi-dimensional shadows with each triangular-like design shaped to reflect each bend and twist of the vehicle’s sheet metal. Utilising the KODO “Soul of Motion” design language of the standard car, the Mazda Design team translated this initial blueprint into seemingly flat, black surfaces that evoke depth at just the slight hint of light.

For “added refinement” without deviating from the stealth-like appearance, Ore facets appear as thin pinstripes on matte paint surfaces, as an accent outlining the matte black wheels, as a precision feature in the headlamps and as a change of shade to the five-point front grille.

Body aside, the CX-5 Urban sports customised wheel flare extensions, 22-inch Ace Alloy Scorpio matte black wheels and a Racing Beat dual exhaust. The Mazda CX-5 will be locally assembled in Malaysia next year – click here to read more.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kemio on Nov 09, 2012 at 10:41 am

cool!!.. like the work line..
    got any interior image?

• Mazda Malaysia on Nov 09, 2012 at 11:09 am

We build CKD Mazda, what do you drive!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Mazda 3, and waiting anxiously for the new Mazda 6 next year. Hoping for ckd here, cheaper..

• WTF still waiting for car after 6 months when it should have been here in 3. Bermaz sleeping or what? Salesman keeps saying that vehicles are stuck at port. If this is the kind service at this stage, I wonder how it will be post sale? Mazda owners comments please.

• Mazda going to produce CX6 in Malaysia, maybe Bermaz is waiting for CKD version at cheaper price…more profit.

• Mine book in May. Got it in mid-Oct. You should bring this up to their customer svc exec in Glenmarie. I had the same story, but they should educate customers that it is the AP processing process that takes awhile or so I am told.

• I like to service my Mazda 6 at Jln Ampang bcoz not many cars. Unlike Glenmarie or Federal Highway.

• koochai on Nov 09, 2012 at 2:09 pm

been to westport recently…can’t see any cx5/7/9

• nice..wonder how much mazda cx5 once CKD-ed

• The rim makes a lot of difference to the car… Most of the time the real shoe on the actual car that we see in the showroom here has already been replaced with something less aggressive..

• mugen.. on Nov 09, 2012 at 8:37 pm

wow 2.0 only,, 22inch boleh bawak ka,, gearbox boleh tahan mehh?

• RedBeanBun on Nov 09, 2012 at 10:51 pm

that is a WOW!

• ZoomZoom curious on Nov 09, 2012 at 11:40 pm

Hi guys,

Since we’re talking about this car, I really need your advice. I absolutely love this car! Test drove it the other day and it’s superb. And yes we all know the CKD is coming soon. The sales rep told me it will be cheaper but there will be a few things taken off (i.e sun roof, potentially leather seats and bose speakers). Everyone says CBU’s performance is much better than a CKD? Is that really true? Also how much difference in price do you all think it will be? Apparently the Mazda 3 CBU and CKD version is about RM12k difference. It’s a dilemma because once the CKD is out, there won’t be anymore CBU. But at the same time I’m not sure if the CBU has much higher standard compared to a CKD.

Thanks all.(and sorry for the long post)

• Oh i was waiting a couple more months to order it. confirm once ckd is out means no more cbu coming in? damnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

• I am one of Mazda3 CBU owner and so far am happy with its quality.. recently i had conversation wt a service personnel and he said there are complaints and unhappy CKD owner on the finishes i.e. gap of internal plastics, etc – some minor issues but not on the engines or other major complaints..
      So my opinion is that CKD will not give you much headache and the difference you paid compared to CBU would be worth it..

• tunggguuu on Nov 12, 2012 at 9:29 am

bro drives a m3 2.0 CKD..and yeas…happy with it..i have driven it couple of time…no squeaks and rattles…fast n FC is quite good too…

much more worth to buy then a civic….thats for sure…