Huanghai Plutus pick-up truck – 2.8L M/T from RM62k

UPDATE: More pics of the Malaysian-spec Plutus added

If you were at Matrade yesterday to witness the Asia Klasika 2012 and drop by our oto.my booth, you might have seen this strange pick-up truck, which my eye caught as I was about to leave the place. Looking very much like the previous-gen Chevrolet Colorado that wasn’t sold here, say hello to the Huanghai Plutus.

The Huanghai brand belongs to Liaoning Shuguang Automotive Group, which is based in the northeast Chinese city of Dandong, Liaoning Province. The Plutus is brought in by China Auto Manufacturers (CAM), a member of the Sendok Group from Klang.

The double-cab Plutus is available in 4X4 and 4X2 forms, and is powered by an Isuzu-derived 4JB1T 2,771 cc diesel engine. This eight-valve turbo engine makes 100 hp and 230 Nm of torque at 2,200 rpm. No auto option, so the sole transmission choice is a five-speed manual.

Standard kit includes ABS, EBD, driver’s airbag, MP3/CD player, fog lamps, power windows, electric wing mirrors and reverse sensor. The Plutus is priced at RM61,923.60 for the 4X2 and RM70,923.60 for the 4X4, OTR without insurance. The warranty is quite underwhelming though, at just two years or 60,000 km.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• A 2.8 putting out these type of meager power and torque is a joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
  • Henry on Nov 12, 2012 at 4:48 pm

A cheap workhorse for construction sites and plantations. If I am in those businesses I will seriously look into buying this truck. Plenty of savings too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 19
    • Savings ? You’re joking. It may be cheap to buy, but perhaps not cheap to run. I’d expect this Plutus would fall to pieces within the first few weeks, if not days. I have never heard of a ”reliable Chinese car” before. Seriously, get a 1980s or 90s Hilux. Cheaper, and miles better. If you’ve ever heard of Top Gear, you would know why it’s the world’s best selling truck, period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
      • pieman on Jun 05, 2013 at 9:43 pm

I have. own one. go to china and do your homework before putting your prejudiced views out here for everyone to read.

• Alpha on Nov 12, 2012 at 6:08 pm

I think a 2nd hand pickup truck of any other brand than this would be a better deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • add up 12k and u can get Dmax 2.5 4X2..

• bvc100 on Nov 16, 2012 at 12:37 pm

100hp for a 2.5tonne truck and use for construction site and plantations?
      You driving the car alone would most probably stress the car’s engine, let alone carrying everyone and/or some business stuff.

• bvc100 on Nov 16, 2012 at 12:39 pm

My bad, kerb weight roughly 1.8tonnes and not 2.5.
        Still heavy and not matched with the power output though…

• sutheshkumar on Nov 12, 2012 at 4:55 pm

Lol, check out the steering design! Proton airbag version circa late 90s. :D

• Retep on Nov 12, 2012 at 5:28 pm

It actually makes Proton + Perodua cars look good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
  • Jimmy on Nov 12, 2012 at 5:36 pm

Today no interesting news yet.

• DewaSemut on Nov 12, 2012 at 5:36 pm

This is so sad man… weird name oso… Plutus, menyembur air liur menyebutnyer… :P

• vee-oh on Nov 12, 2012 at 5:41 pm

for this price i’ll go for Triton lite turbo

• ben yap on Nov 12, 2012 at 5:45 pm

only 102hp? LOL…. that’s a ridiculous low power output. Isuzu must have sold them a 20 yr old engine for a profit.

• Wow, just when I was starting to build some respect for Chinese cars… this rubbish comes along. China still hasn’t changed, it seems. This truck is a carbon copy of the American Chevrolet Colorado, which isn’t exactly great either. Whoever buys this in Malaysia must be mentally challenged, as there are other, better options available. Even a second-hand 1980s Hilux is WAYYY better than this junk.

• 00s Chevrolet truck copy(ugly),makes-proton-interesting spec….. And sorry I don’t want to be asked twice what car I drive…..
    ….what car you drive?….
    Huanghai Plutus…..
    ….what platypus ?
    Plutus…..
    ….what?…… [conversation goes on for hours]
    If I absolutely need a Chinese cheap pickup truck ,GWM wingle…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • peter_pj on Nov 12, 2012 at 5:54 pm

I’d buy one….if my life didn’t depend on it.

• zidane on Nov 12, 2012 at 6:01 pm

Umang hai…

• CarGuy on Nov 12, 2012 at 6:53 pm

Pfft, looks like a Chevrolet Silverado. Another crap from china.

• Sgt Scoop on Nov 12, 2012 at 11:11 pm

Are they going to open dealerships and service centres for this truck? Who do they think is going to buy it? Seriously, why would anyone buy this vehicle?

• Shaekey on Nov 13, 2012 at 7:20 am

“The warranty is quite underwhelming though, at just two years or 60,000 km.” …that says it all about the reliability of this truck.

• Rulered on Nov 13, 2012 at 8:56 am

Looks like one of those paper trucks that got burned at the cemetery.

• This is a very good deal!
    2 year/100000KM warranty sounds pretty descend for the small amount of money you’re forking out.

It will definitely sell in Msia!

• DArkerMarker on Nov 13, 2012 at 2:12 pm

1st generation is “Plutus”

2nd generation is “Kloyak”

3rd generation is “Plecah”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • pearjai on Nov 13, 2012 at 2:14 pm

for that price ! i rather buy hilux 3 old triton 4wd than buy these spartancuscus !

• james wong on Nov 13, 2012 at 3:06 pm

4th generation is berkecai..

• Christopher Wong on Nov 14, 2012 at 2:54 am

I really liked how their Brochure/ Spec Sheet said “Gear” …I makes it sound like other cars come in no gear and they had to advertise as a Key Feature :D

• Enter your name...julius said on Nov 14, 2012 at 3:21 pm

only 100hp ….???????

• SyiokSendili on Nov 14, 2012 at 5:26 pm

The name is gonna be stuff for jokes

• dragin on May 25, 2013 at 9:31 pm

This is an up country axle maker that buys a basic body from a down country specialty house (Foday) and embellishes it with a nose that looks like Chev.
    It’s a seller in the DPRK.

• For its price it is not the best finish. After 133000kms fresh as a whistle. With regards to power ,I’m content! Certainly not a Veyron. 14kms/litre. Longest load bin in its class!

• Zachary Jones on Feb 20, 2019 at 5:24 am

I want it in the US