Kia Rio hatchback teased ahead of Malaysian launch

The Kia Rio hatchback was teased by Kia Malaysia at an exhibition hall next to Asia Klasika 2012 last weekend. Dressed in psychedelic colours which pretty much hid a lot of the car’s lines, it took the centre stage of their floor space beside the rest of the current line-up.

We hear that the Rio hatchback is set to be launched in the first half of 2013, probably with a 1.4 litre engine and an automatic transmission. We’ve seen the Kia Rio hatchback being tested with a trade plate back in March this year.

Here are more pics of the Kia Rio hatchback, and its sedan sibling, without distracting colours.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• The launch is overdue. Expected from Kia ,the design, for me at least, is better than anything the T,H and the leaning H can offer.
    Won’t say anything until the spec and pricing is confirm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 28
    • For K and leaning H. Design sells, problems settle later. Malaysian mindset. Watch out for the coming T designs.. jaw dropping.. in my case that is. Only my opinion. Dont go hating ppl. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 75
      • T design should be awesome in a couple of years as the brand president is trying to make the brand more ‘exciting’ but plans have been delayed due to external prob: earthquake, tsunami, politic, economies, recall , etc…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 45
      • T design SHOULD be awesome in a couple of years as the brand president is trying to make the brand more ‘exciting’ hence the GT86 (rumor has it that he wants a new Supra by 2015) but plans have been delayed due to external prob: earthquake, tsunami, politic, economies, recall , etc…..
        But from what I see from the new Auris(UK) and mark X, T is finally ,though very late, ready for the kimchis onslaught.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 37
    • Sam Loo on Nov 14, 2012 at 10:20 am

Yeah, used car yard fella will show you a Hilux, to tell you politely that your trade in value is Hailat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 19
      • Turboman on Nov 14, 2012 at 8:13 pm

Haaa. How come u r gone from the post on Toyota engines and appear here preaching your RV point again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
      • sam loo anak syaitan on Nov 23, 2012 at 12:02 am

sam loo, you so pity…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22
  • If u live at miri, u can see tis Rio everywhere, all are brunei plate.. the back of tis car really nice. and very large rim..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 21
    • Josh Ling on Nov 14, 2012 at 8:55 am

Brunei people seems to like Kia a lot. Been to Miri just last few weeks, and saw a lot of Sportage and Optima K5. Many were wearing Miri’s plate numbers too, so i think Kia should be doing rather well in Miri too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
      • U know why Brunei like KIAs? U look carefully at the details at the back of those KIA….all have a same letter “CRDI”….Brunei are at euro4 diesels, and KIAs diesels are damn powerful & frugals. Bruneian love those Korean diesels, my cousin had a CRDI Rondo, very powerful torquey engine at more than 300nm and FC averaging 16-18km/l. Can drive to & back Miri with lots of extra fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 9
      • Rio Master on Nov 17, 2012 at 4:43 pm

Bruneian they used to buy a car for 5 years, after 5 years they’re going to lease it and buy a new car. So they did not encountered any major problem like us

• Kalun on Nov 14, 2012 at 9:17 am

Brunei’s Kia Optima K5 are a little bit different than Malaysian version. Look like a B/M line model. But with a huge custom rim on it looks awesome!

Sorry Malaysians, Mirians and KK’s always updated with cars. All thanks to Bruneians.

Hyundai Accent looks awkward though. Hyundai Elantra looks better.
      Just waiting for the new Kia Forte so I can take a peak and tell you guys how was it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 18
      • hello on Nov 14, 2012 at 1:46 pm

no point if u can’t buy them. I don’t need to be in miri to get updated about cars, I just use the internet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • Hyundai De La Junk on Nov 14, 2012 at 4:37 am

Ford Fiesta any time over this Rio Lollipop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 45
    • Turboman on Nov 14, 2012 at 8:15 pm

Eh. Ford fiesta ah? I tot u r a big supporter of T and H?

Finally woke up from your slumber alreaDY that T and H are basically ripping off its customers with every new model launched?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
    • Sam Loo on Nov 25, 2012 at 10:13 am

I suppose the only car manufacturer that I consider worse than Hyundai/Kia is TaTa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • NISSpengAN on Nov 14, 2012 at 6:14 am

Nissan design still the best…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 72
    • _xXx_ on Nov 14, 2012 at 9:43 am

you mean this?

http://www.nissan.com.my/vehicles/sentra_sport/Default.aspx?referral=AllVehicles

ppl already started to scrap this junk 2-3 years ago but TCM still selling it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
  • its like mini sportage. i like the back side

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
  • Is there an error in the write-up?

‘To be launched in the first half of 2012’ – Shouldn’t that be 2013? We’re already in the final quarter of 2012! :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
  • Kent Lim on Nov 14, 2012 at 10:08 am

Paul – “We hear that the Rio hatchback is set to be launched in the first half of 2012″….2013 eh? I know, the staggered holidays is distracting the productive minds :) Cheers

• Mini Honda on Nov 14, 2012 at 10:22 am

who is the photographer? All wrong angle! pusing pusing my kepala to observe the car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • Korean car-design is pretty,sometime look like overdesign..but when come to performance and engine technology,still cannot beat T & H..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
    • LEONG on Nov 14, 2012 at 11:15 am

I think engine is vw,Toyo is hybrid sysytem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • alldisc on Nov 14, 2012 at 6:09 pm

unfortunately, its not the koreans who design Kia cars…

but they did design some Malaysian cars like Saga BLM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • woody on Nov 14, 2012 at 10:41 am

At the moment there are only 3 affordable hatchback u need to consider,i.e. the mps3, the focus st, and gti, the rest r just a refrigerator on wheels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
  • Hmmmmmmmm..still preve is better, overall. Those buy this only to look diff frm the crowd.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
  • frontlook on Nov 14, 2012 at 11:59 am

umm dont you guys think the front headlight looks like lagi best?can say the overall front look similar….

• _xXx_ on Nov 14, 2012 at 2:37 pm

at least Rio doesn’t have the ugly big emboss behind each door handle seen on lagi best

• Black Dog on Nov 14, 2012 at 12:19 pm

Let me guess the price: Rm68,888.88?

• kenny_lim on Nov 14, 2012 at 12:59 pm

cars distributed by naza, just forget it. service and warranty is the worst you can get. in the end, better settle for others like T and H……bought their P and K……P a lot of worksmanship problem, fix also till tulan. K, claim warranty also take years, problem also dunno how to fix…..still dare to buy? no more cars from naza for me….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 18
    • Everyone has bad experience with service center for almost all manufacturer…… Maybe except Rolls-Royce
      But I for one says that the worst I ever experience is by p2, terrible terrible terrible service

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • Pelar on Nov 15, 2012 at 7:19 am

I have no problem with Honda 4S @ section 13 and Toyota @ 217. Excellent service. My Previous generation of civic was excellent except for its steering rack. My current 86 is a dream to drive. I can donut endlessly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • Sam Loo on Nov 18, 2012 at 6:02 pm

Ditto Toyota.

My horror with Naza and Kia and its associated RV really tells me that I TAI SEI when I bought the kimchi junk instictively

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Turboman on Nov 14, 2012 at 8:20 pm

No wor. I have a Kia. My sister in law also has one.

Service at Kia Glenmarie. No problem at all. Good service. Problem solved quickly. Big store for parts.

U think Honda or BMW is better? Try AB and Honda glenmarie. Then u will realise how high your blood pressure can go before u pass out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 23
      • Honda near Kota Damansara is almost perfect. good wifi too.
        It mostly depends where you are(or how close you are to the employee[being a good customer])….and no I dun think Honda or BMW is better. I did’t say it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
        • David D on Nov 15, 2012 at 6:30 pm

Regarding Honda, the one near Jalan 222 is pretty good. Efficient service, attentive people. The same goes for Naza Kia in Kinara, as well as Toyota in Section 19 PJ. Had good service from all three, and the repair costs were pretty reasonable for what it is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
  • carlies on Nov 14, 2012 at 1:18 pm

Why like nobody at this motor show?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Pumpkins on Nov 14, 2012 at 1:49 pm

Now MITI surely pressure Naza above RM72K…must…protect…Protong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • _xXx_ on Nov 14, 2012 at 6:18 pm

for this showcar, if registered, what color should appear on the log card?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • i think u overlooked kia and hyundai’s safety ratings. Kia is the only brand here in Malaysia that has cars with 6 airbags and ESP(stability control) for a reasonable price.

Dont forget. Thanks to Kia and Hyundai’s 5 years warranty, other car companies is now giving at least 5 years warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
    • Sam Loo on Nov 18, 2012 at 6:05 pm

They can have 11 airbags like Beemers, but with the crap quality, whats the point?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
  • Alahai on Nov 15, 2012 at 6:52 am

Where can i buy the sticker?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • give me k3 pls. the rio is now outdated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • nighttrain on Nov 16, 2012 at 9:46 pm

I thought that Fiesta 1.4 has 7 airbags at RM70k..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Dona Wyble on Nov 21, 2012 at 6:20 pm

This design is amazingly beautiful, love it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • Recki on Nov 26, 2012 at 6:42 pm

Good car, but 70k for a small korean car is kinda overpriced.

• Loo 007 on Dec 27, 2012 at 11:01 pm

Just Check with Naza, only 4 speed auto available launching late January 2013. What a disapointment !