Toyota plays catch-up in direct injection and downsizing, new turbocharged engine out in 2014

You can’t have it all, they say. So it’s not surprising that Toyota, the main proponent of hybrids and the leader in that sector, isn’t as advanced as some rivals in the advancement of the basic petrol engine. Better to focus on one thing you believe in than spread resources thin across the ground, no?

Downsizing, with the aid of direct-injection and forced induction, is commonplace today, led by the Europeans. The success is not surprising as both ends of the scale – performance and efficiency – benefit. Besides premium Germans Audi, BMW and Mercedes, VW, Ford and Peugeot offer such engines in Malaysia.

But better late than never, and Toyota’s latest engine plan overhaul will incorporate the same tricks – there will be a new direct-injection engine, followed by a downsized turbo powerplant for the mass market. The big-T will also push CVT gearboxes in smaller cars. It’s a game of catch-up all right, but it would be foolish to dismiss Toyota outright.

To be more specific, a 2.5 litre direct-injection, Atkinson cycle engine will be on board, to be deployed first in hybrids in 2013. Further down in 2014, there will be a 2.0 litre downsized turbo engine. And as the shift to CVTs happen for small and medium sized cars, there will be more six- and eight-speed automatic transmissions for larger cars.

Starting next year, Toyota will be piggybacking its D-4S direct-injection tech onto its AR family of four-cylinder petrol engines. The first recepient will be a 2.5 litre four-pot for the hybrid version of the JDM Toyota Crown.

“This is the beginning of gasoline direct injection for the four-cylinder engines. Smaller engines will be following this engine. As a trend, this is right. It will be standard,” said Takashi Shimura, GM for engine development.

The DI system is a newly refined version of the Denso-made D-4S injector, which made its debut this year in the new Lexus GS and Toyota 86. It gets better results than the previous injector by using a slit-shaped, instead of a multihole, injector opening, leading to a richer fuel mixture inside the cylinder.

“By 2015, through improvement in the engine and powertrain alone, we aim to achieve a fuel-efficiency improvement of 10-20% on the models adopting the improvements,” said Takeshi Uchiyamada, Toyota’s outgoing product development chief.

Autoweek reports insiders saying that president Akio Toyoda, who wanted to make his company’s cars zippier to drive without sacrificing fuel economy, urged his staff to embrace nonhybrid technologies. Toyoda, a car enthusiast that’s not alien to the race track, seems to be wielding a good kind of influence – the universally-loved 86 wouldn’t have been born without his support.

But don’t expect instant noodles, as Autoweek’s report adds that the rollout won’t happen overnight, and engineers are still debating how widely tech such as DI and turbo should be applied. It’s unlikely that basic models for emerging markets such as ASEAN and India would get the goodies due to cost. Malaysia’s Euro 2 fuel quality doesn’t help our cause either.

Anyway, this game of engine catch-up doesn’t mean that Toyota is abandoning its hybrid push – the plan to introduce 21 new or redesigned hybrid vehicles by the end of 2015 is still on track. The next-gen Prius could even get direct-injection, although cost remains a hurdle on that one – hybrids aren’t very cheap to build as they are.

Now, isn’t competition healthy?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sam Loo on Nov 14, 2012 at 10:24 am

Saving the best for last ….

Toyota was one of the last Jap companies that came up with front wheel drive small cars in the 80’s, but they can up with the best (Corolla LE)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 32
    • TurboMan on Nov 14, 2012 at 1:28 pm

Haha.

If korean is the last one, the u will have a field day shooting the koreans.

But if japs the last one, u said saving the best for last. U guys are a real joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
      • jens lehman on Nov 15, 2012 at 12:01 am

And uncle sam is the funniest joker ever! Hahaha… at least i’m laughing.

• Wisdom on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:17 am

I don’t think corolla LE were the best.
          It should be Nissan Sunny.

Now only a handful LE left on the road while there’s a plenty of sunny still serving the owner like a diligent workhorse..

• I personally don’t like the turbocharged and many speed gearbox yes it’s safe fuel and fast but so many problems…own a VW and i know it especially their 7 speed DSG mechatronic and 1.4 twin twincharger engine!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
      • i love toyota wah on Nov 14, 2012 at 10:52 pm

Dont lie…vw got probs? Saw you driving vios j spec with loud 17 inch wheels with GTI stickers pasted everywhr…some jap character stickers, you hv spiky gold hair that matches the interior or duhong so well.

Are you the salesman for toyotah as well and sell direct selling part time?

Im not insulting you. Buy dont lie and make stories here. Go google abt dsg and see the forum.

I did that before buying one. I even test drove altis, camry n civic before opting for tsi.

Jap cars, mazda worth a look.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
        • Espresso! Quick! on Nov 15, 2012 at 10:03 am

actually, the DSG mechatronic problem is well known and well documented. try googling it. it does not happen to every car but enough for people to notice.

• Amriji on Nov 15, 2012 at 10:55 am

What “i” said is true. VW has its problems. My colleagues at work they were excited in purchasing their new Golfs and Polos.

After a year they complained of the Turbocharger problems which they had to replace frequently (luckily it is still under 5 years warranty). But it was such a hassle that he just bought a second hand Odyssey as his long distance vehicle.

From their experiences, I scrapped my decision to own one. Maybe the problems is due to high humidity here or maybe its about their parts (for this market region) is made in South Africa. Whatever it is, VW Malaysia cars’ reliability is a suspect.

• I quite like the VW cars,safety,looks great and fun to drive but they should improve their after sales service and solve the DSG and tsi engine issues !

• Sam Loo on Nov 17, 2012 at 11:52 pm

What gives you the perception that VW’s are safe?

• I want VW on Nov 19, 2012 at 5:26 pm

How can you know him. Just just jealous of his ability to buy a VW and you have the picture on the wall…

• Espresso! Quick! on Nov 15, 2012 at 10:01 am

yup, i agree. japanese in general take a longer time to intro new tech but they make it reliable when they finally do introduce it.

• The only thing that made you said so is because of the resale value. :P

• sama sama on Nov 20, 2012 at 9:37 pm

The Toyota LE was one of the worst Corolla’s ever made. I had one, sold it 2 years after i bought it. Looked ugly, performed even worse, with so many technical problems. Only the later introduced Levin’s were good. I bought a Nissan Bluebird after the LE and kept it for 7 years. That was a truly good car!

• LEONG on Nov 14, 2012 at 11:02 am

1)Now only doing direct injection?what happen?
    2)World no 1 fail to see the trend or fail trying to set the trend?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • alldisc on Nov 14, 2012 at 5:36 pm

toyota is not new to direct injection. they are always one of the pioneers in japan market.

like push start button.. as early as 1999 in Crown Athlete.

direct injection made appearance as early as year 2001, known as D4 (D4-D for direct injection diesel).

downsizing is not new to toyota also, the first hybrid produced in 1997 adds a motor to a small capacity engine to give power like a bigger capacity engine but with reduced CO2.

toyota were leaders in terms of environment awareness… where were the europeans during 1997? VW or peugoet… more than a decade after, right? Honda was the nearest competitor with its first Insight 2 door hybrid.

in 1998 toyota also made available corolla 6 speed, even in the UK. the same corolla that clinched WRC in 1999.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
      • alldisc on Nov 14, 2012 at 5:56 pm

forgot to note – one of the earliest D4 Toyotas to reach Malaysia was Toyota Nadia (grey CBU) in yr 01/02. then some Camry D4… and some Wish D4.

many suffered from high sulphur content (becoz Malaysia’s euro 1 petrol), clogging the injectors causing very very poor demand from recond car buyers as well as importers

• Then your “pioneers” built their first direct injection engine only 46 years after Mercedes-Benz (300SL from 1954)… ;)

• Porsche made the first hybrid almost 100 years ago… no one followed until Toyota in the 90s.
          and even tough is true the 300Sl was the first production car with DI but Toyota had the tech back in 1998
          -in 1998, Toyota’s D4 direct injection system first appeared on various Japanese market vehicles equipped with the SZ and NZ engines.[21][22][23] Toyota later introduced its D4 system to European markets with the 1AZ-FSE engine found in the 2001 Avensis.[24] and US markets in 2005 with the 3GR-FSE engine found in the Lexus GS 300. Toyota’s 2GR-FSE V6 uses a more advanced direct injection system, which combines both direct and indirect injection using two fuel injectors per cylinder, a traditional port fuel injector (low pressure) and a direct fuel injector (high-pressure) in a system known as D4-S-
          Wikipedia.org

• alldisc on Nov 15, 2012 at 3:46 pm

it is a little unfortunate that paultan.org blog did not mention Toyota has already put direct injection technology into its cars for 14 years now. this created the thinking to many ppl not knowing but rather find this a good way to bash. hardly surpising since many of the readers here are mere keyboard warriors.

Porsche’s hybrid was a disaster – 1,800kg batteries from a car producing less than 10kW??

no wonder even Porsche itself declined to develop it further (more than 80 years, are they nuts). agree or not, Toyota’s the one perfected hybrid technology by combining Series and Parallel system in 1 car. (Honda Insight is a series hybrid only, while chevy Volt is a parallel hybrid)

• Wikipedia: “The first passenger car to be powered by direct injection was the 1986 Fiat Croma 2.0 TD i.d. (Turbo Diesel iniezione diretta pump was developed by Bosch in accordance to the Fiat’s engineers specifications). The first Volkswagen Group TDI engine was the Audi-developed 2.5 litre R5 TDI – an inline five-cylinder engine (R5), introduced in the Audi 100 in 1989”
            So Toyota “invented” the D4 roughly 15 years after the Europeans… ;)

• alldisc on Nov 15, 2012 at 3:38 pm

read my sentence again – they are always one of the pioneers in japan market.

not the world. meaning, Toyota often leads when it comes to technologies amongst the Japanese carmakers.

others like Honda was the first produce variable valve timing in late 80s, but Toyota’s VVT in 1991 was cam phasing unlike VTEC. only i-VTEC has cam phasing like VVT, DVVT, CVTC and even CPS.

• In Europe (including Russia), Toyota leads nothing. They have a market share of 4.5% there, not more. Even the diesel engines in their european line-up are sourced from Peugeot, as Toyota is not able to offer a sophisticated EURO6 diesel engines.

• LEONG on Nov 16, 2012 at 12:08 am

You are right! your own statement shows Toyota fail to set the trend as they wanted,bro chinese invented football…how many world cup have they won?being a Pioneer is one thing ,setting the trend is another….

• alldisc on Nov 16, 2012 at 11:51 am

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on what i have written above.

i am not denying any of it, true Toyota was not first in direct injection nor first in hybrid.

but to face the fact about Toyota and direct injection diesel – they are not new to it. and they do not need BOSCH to help them develop the system. Honda’s first diesel was only in mid 2000 with the N22A, so many years behind Toyota.

i am not toyota hardcore, just an automotive fan but do not understand why ppl really like to bash toyota cars. and why is it UMW nor Toyota motor corp does not bother with all comments here.

i admire toyota as a corporate and as an automotive giant which capable to conquer sales as well as motorsports (participated in touring cars like Japan GT and BTCC in 90s, multiple world champion in WRC with celica and corolla and be a part F1, Le Mans and Group C racing among others)

if you all really hate Toyota cars, go burn UMW showroom laa.. dont let them sell anymore. ha ha ha

• sama sama on Nov 21, 2012 at 10:33 pm

Alldisc: I believe your statements are actually vindicating Toyota’ failure to move with the times. You say, “in 1986,Toyota also made available the 6 speed Corolla ..”,

However move forward to 2012 and you still have a Toyota Camry 2.0 that is premium priced but with only 4-speed auto. That is the lowest technology tech among the Japanese and Korean competitors. For instance, Nissan Teana has a 6-speed ratio CVT, Honda Accord is also in that category, even the Koreans have more than 4-speed.

Are you saying that the Toyota Camry is competing with Proton and China made cars? Because they are the only 4-speed auto tech today. So how can you say Toyota is ahead of technology? Please explain for simple minded people like me. Thank you.

• Finally, lets hug for peace.

• Love Camry on Nov 14, 2012 at 11:43 am

No….
    I should wait till next year …
    Feel stupid to get this current Camry with only 4speed n old engine …
    Cry hard…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Lol.. You will still get 4speed n old engine until 2015 unless you get recon imported. :)

• mp_drucker on Nov 14, 2012 at 12:15 pm

Haha! From now onwards, Toyota fans cannot shoot turbo charged engine anymore. Shoot your own foot.
    Ok ok, whatever Toyota do, they are the best. Whatever toyota not do, they are lousy stuff but the moment toyota started to do it, it will be praised like can only be found in the heaven

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Yea, they used to always say what Hybrid better than downsized turbo blah blah blah blah.. They can eat their own words now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • I want VW on Nov 19, 2012 at 5:29 pm

What about downsized turbo AND and hybrid? isn’t that something?

• sama sama on Nov 21, 2012 at 10:49 pm

Actually Hybrid only doing well in Malaysia because the tax exemptions make the cars cheap. Lets see what those who bought hybrids today have to say about hybrid cars in 5 years time when they need to change battery and parts. Then they would pray that the government improve Malaysian diesel quality like what is done in Europe, so that they can buy ‘simple’ cars with extremely good fuel efficiency, yet “actually” clean for the environment.

• Kalun on Nov 14, 2012 at 5:56 pm

Wait a minute. You are not shooting toward Toyota fans but “AMERICAN” in direct.
      They are the one who Hates small downsize engine, turbo charged and diesel.
      Mostly they praised Hybrid the most.

Don’t get me wrong, Dr.Google are always there to assist you. That’s the truth man. I read a lot of Americans auto blog especially the comment section.

They don’t like diesel because they say it produce black smoke, noisy. They like big CC engine 5 litres 6 cylinderto 8 cylinder are common.
      They like NA/Supercharge engine than an eco friendly turbo. They use hybrid to show off the world how eco they are.

Very idiotic to me.

• Wow.. Then I bet those fans that praised about 4 speed box and NA engine and mock the Turbo and Dual Clutch here must be all American.

Wow, just wow!

• Jolly_idiot on Nov 14, 2012 at 12:18 pm

Never too late for a jappy to go turbo charging and downsizing. The germans are doing well in this. Let see how T will lead other jappy on this.

• Kalun on Nov 14, 2012 at 12:48 pm

This engine overhaul is only for Global market.
    Sorry Malaysians, we can’t get those kind of tech here in Malaysia due to our “Euro 2” standards.

We already seen alot of car company doing that. That’s sucks!

If you think that those car company is out dated? You are thinking wrongly. Our country is even more outdated eventhough “sudah maju”.

• competition make us dizzy..e.g. direct injection,turbo,supercharging,hybrid,electric car,fuel consumption,resale value,interior,exterior,brand..can i have a decent car comfort to drive..

• Jimmy on Nov 14, 2012 at 1:21 pm

Toyota fanpersons please. I still can recall your previous comments.

• TurboLiao on Nov 14, 2012 at 1:30 pm

Old turbo engine Glup oil like free flow
    Toyota turbo charged engine Sip oil like a lady
    SO toyota please come out with the All new Supra !!

• Hidup Saga on Nov 14, 2012 at 1:47 pm

i’m very sad living in malaysia..
    we have euro 2 standards..
    but the najib is charging us it at international price.

i pay so much for so little. T.T
    i pay so much just to get a saga.. but it gives me only 10km/l in city… at forces me to pay lousy international priced oil.

najib why? why? cant u do something..? immediate effect?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Pumpkins on Nov 14, 2012 at 1:51 pm

So far never heard any Toyota turbo units with batuk-batuk sounds…Uhuk! Uhuk! Uhuk! cfe Uhuk! Uhuk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • conti on Nov 14, 2012 at 4:05 pm

Hahaha it shows how dumb you jap fanboys are..now big deal t n h going for smaller cc with higher output.

Conti cars were doing and jap car lovers say stupod reasons like strain on the engine, whr got power one, high maintanance etc etc

Right anythg the t n h do is engineering marvel. 4 speed camry is so the car wont strain, everlasting. Looks like sh*t so its aerodynamic.

If more ppl are educated, then more will start buying koreans being now on par with the japs (wat happened to sony? R u buying samsung?) Or if can afford, conti. Then surely the rsv of other makes will also increase.

But bcos of rsv then you stupidly buy and jap makes, you are really dumb.even buying proton makes more sense. Dugong vs preve..look at the specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
    • dugong on Nov 14, 2012 at 5:19 pm

well said!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Turboman on Nov 14, 2012 at 8:05 pm

waaaahhhh!

U the man!!!

• Grammar Nazi on Nov 14, 2012 at 8:39 pm

You have difficulties writing English I think.

• Let me layman translation:
        Stupid Malaysian buy under-spec Toyota at premium price and they feel proud about it.

Oh and by the way, your grammar is very “POWDERFUL” too.

• I said before there are two kind of fanboys, the Kimchi and the Sushi. Both are brainless and supported by what fierce loyalty towards their respective brand.
      In your case if people are more educated, people will buy more K cars. Sales of J outnumber K in a factor of 6:1 or more,and not only locally but internationally and you are calling a large majority uneducated? seems legit.
      Yes in the I.T sec the K stomp the J at their feet, and their cars have been improve extremely significantly(thats a word?) in 5 years.
      Anyway all those comment may seem legit, but compare Preve and Dugong. Yes yore going to get the better looker when you buy a P1, but I heard Preve is suffering from mechanical failure and fuel consump woes and what about after sales services. And seriously spec to spec with a car 7 years in the market and with a fresh new car!?
      Anyway from experience I know there are serious Japanese-bashing ppl here so go ahead, the ‘dislike’ button is down there, I don’t give a damn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • conti on Nov 15, 2012 at 5:13 pm

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on what i have written above.

I admit, i was bit insulting in my comments above.
        I shouldnt hv used the word ‘uneducated’ but exposure, and being a ‘smart consumer’.

I think you just shot yourself, saying my comparision of preve vs dugoong is not valid because preve is new, dugong is 7 yrs old now.

So let me ask you, of course preve costs lower, has better specs and tech but dugong because its toyo, had some cosmetic changes and costs more even the barren J series- so ppl buying dugong made the best choice? I am just saying arent T selling an inferior product then? Ppl buy bcos they only thi k of reputation and rsv.

Dont bash proton, at least they try to put on the best available features now into their cars. Quality is still so so but they have to improve.

For toyo, they make quality engines those days meaning they have the right to offer sub standard, overpriced basic cars now?

You see it is because of ppl like you buying blindly that t and h keep offering Malaysians shitty products.

Koreans have to prove themselves, therefore they give the best now. If you do not ride on their offerings now, wait for another 10 years. They will be like t and h when globally their makes sell better to the Japs by say 2:1.

• conti on Nov 15, 2012 at 5:29 pm

…im not anti Jap makes. My father used to drive an old datsun wagon. Milo tin but yes, but the engine and simplicity of engineering then makes it run and run.

Mazda 323 Hatch was also as good back then. Mazda actually make good cars. But you t and h fan boys buy for the sake of brand. Have you ever though of comparing mazda too before buying dugong or city? Or bcos your under the tree mechanic told you horror stories abt rsv and availability of parts of other makes?

Im not driving a kimchi. I drive a conti with low rsv so yes i am dumb. But it has 7 speed with 6 airbags and comes with a service interval of 15k. And i admire what the Koreans are doing giving the Japs a good fight. I dont mind buying a korean one day if the handling is good.

But one day when more ppl are buying koreans and once they beat the japs in auto sales, their cars wont be as attractively priced.

Go buy intelligently. Give proton and koreans the chance. T and h is now way overated.

• Btw , sorry I dun hav any more replies, I said it before to Turboman that imma car guy and universally love all cars including cars from the PRC. I dun criticize all cars, ill try to shuffle the good and the bad. What pissed me off is that a majority if ppl just hate t & h just bcuz of their success or their name . I know they have their faults and as for t that fault is just overwhelming. During my comment towards the Kia rio when I tried to explain T may hav a good future ahead, It’s immediately got hidden due to the negative comment. I didt say that T and h is superior over thou rest , I’m no Sam loo . And after seeing those DLCW comments, I dun really care what these ppl say anymore.
            PS: btw I still drive around in what I consider the best proton ever, the first gen facelift saga.

• I want VW on Nov 19, 2012 at 5:35 pm

Since we are talking about brand, I bet everyone here has an IPhone or a Samsung..
            If you dun care about the brand, anyone want to buy a Huayi handphone for RM100? Anyone? Guess not, so aren’t you buying brands as well (esp the one your gf lovessss…?? Like if you have Iphone/Samsung, and dislike if have other brands (Nokia perhaps)….

• Well your reply makes it sounds better. I’m sure you are very optimistic on both proton and k cars development and sales no. . Imma not so sure of K, design and quality wise they are very European influence. Proton to me shows little sign of progress. If I hated the k cars for one thing is that they always make me feel how backwards our So called ‘proud’ car industry is. Koreans car may break the once strong Japanese domination. I’m no market analyse so imma not as optimistic as you guys. I once asked my mom ,dad, uncle or anyone at the age of 40 above why didt they tought of k cars. Most will say that the design is a bit too extreme for their eyes and want something more subtle. I agree that the T is downright boring, that’s why I went H( design not as boring as T and better drive than K cars and actually is more of a dads car). But as long as the real buying power is that age group , locally T will have its dominance. Typing warrior like you and me will not influence the market much…,.yet. As fore i hav given the p1 their chance, and they blew it with the preve. K cars will always get their chance ,could even be my future ride if they beefed up that handling of theirs.
          But let me ask you this, why dun u giv T their chance to recover their blue period instead of continuous bashing.

• Mp_drucker on Nov 15, 2012 at 7:39 pm

Korean cars have given Toyota and Honda a good run for their money in USA. In other parts of the world, especially Asia, the Japanese still the dominant players. In Malaysia, the Japanese also benefited from the look east policy that gave the Japanese a huge advantage.
            I have driven 3 national cars, a continental car and a Japanese in the above sequence. I have just booked a continental car and expecting to get the car by early next week trading in my current Japanese.
            I am fully aware of the maintenance issue of the conti as I had experienced before. But I can tell you those who had driven continental car before will unlikely change their taste to Japanese unless if they are running on tight budget. The suspension, the handling of conti such as passat, Volvo s40, p 405, p 406, Alfa Romeo 156, …., are something that Camry cannot match. Don’t believe me? Make the opportunity to drive anyone of the above for 1 day and then try another day for Camry.

• jens lehman on Nov 15, 2012 at 12:23 am

Couldn’t agree more. Right on the bullseye!

• Kalun on Nov 15, 2012 at 7:19 am

Well said!

The one who likes toyota the most are americans.
      They don’t see to favor look and spec sheet.
      They only thing reliability.

Lame right!

To all Malaysian T&H fan out there. Be neutral man! Each company has it’s own plan. And go suck it!

• better late than never, keep up the progress T. weather it will be success or failure time will tell, but it’s still progress.

• finally toyota is coming out with new tech. but d sad part is it will not come to this “boleh land” because of our “Euro 2? standards. really pokkai.

• Savvy88 on Nov 14, 2012 at 5:09 pm

Proton already followed the trend with their CFE engine and the usage of CVT. Toyota, you late la..

• dugong on Nov 14, 2012 at 5:17 pm

thats a good tagline for toyota….playing catch-up!

• Jimmy on Nov 14, 2012 at 9:44 pm

What? Is it copycat that you meaned?
      Typical, you invent, I copy and modify.

• I want VW on Nov 19, 2012 at 5:36 pm

And after I copy, you play catch up to my reliability hahahaha

• casio-edifice on Nov 14, 2012 at 7:14 pm

Always heard turbo system not reliable at high milage [power loss, eat oil, etc]. Why not naturally aspirated but allow it to rev higher? Such as 1.8L rev higher can make power equal to 2.0L…

• NISSpengAN on Nov 14, 2012 at 7:45 pm

Nissan is the best…

• mp_drucker on Nov 14, 2012 at 9:38 pm

sorry, it should be Nissan is better than Toyota

• Jimmy on Nov 14, 2012 at 9:51 pm

I thought only Mazdas have 6 airbags among all the brand new non-luxury mainstream Jap vehicles. Who has the best fit and finishes? Is it Toyota?
      May the public be aware of the importance of multiple airbags, jangan belanja RM180k dan tiada ESP dan 6-airbags. Safety is No 1 in buying cars.

• Gavin on Nov 14, 2012 at 8:23 pm

the term catch up is not even close to describing how far behind they are in the turbo downsizing scene

• Alex Chan on Nov 14, 2012 at 11:04 pm

way to go toyota!!..very gud move, i can feel the europe car feel so scary rite now..toyota is the best..high resale value summore!..euopre car = crap..low resale value / no value and always breaksdown..expensive summore!..thats why we chinese choose value…u want cheap car?..vote PR..PR the best lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • Can’t tell if it’s sarcasm or trolling.

• Turboman on Nov 14, 2012 at 11:27 pm

180k for a camry with no Stability control is not value. Its stupidity.

I am a chinese, but i am not stupid.

Lower resale value but full of safety features is not value, its our responsibility to our family members and other road users.

• i can feel that you are an uncle or a person with uncle minded, i don’t care what brand, i only care what brand can offer best thing at best price.

• I want VW on Nov 19, 2012 at 5:38 pm

Motorcycle for you then. 1000cc. Very powerful, and good torque as well. You can even buy the BMW… Safety is a metal 1cm thick around your mullet, and a 4mm thick leather jacket… Let the cows help you survive a crash…

• ah beng on Nov 21, 2012 at 11:00 pm

Alex Chan: If you Chinese so smart, why you still second class citizen? Think la before you talk! Make stupid comment and make your race look stupid!

• Overpriced on Nov 06, 2013 at 10:18 am

@Alex Chan, The Camry is not selling as well as its predecessor, you know why? Bcos UMW is banking on so-called value-seeking customers (not people like you bcos clearly you will buy whatever UMW selling) to just buy by the thousands yet failed to realise that increased price+lower specs+same old mechanicals are too much to swallow even for T-loving chinese.

• toyota owner on Nov 15, 2012 at 12:26 am

recent articles are very interesting. Toyota moving on to direct injection, honda moving on to dual clutch. my new ride has both. it’s a ToyHOnta ! New car buyers out-there, please buy with your heart. not by peer / family / sales agent pressure. my experience in hunting for a C-segment car was very eventful. met all kinds of people & sales gimmic and sometimes i wonder how some push their cars. At the end, it’s still like choosing your life-long partner. it’s the FEEL. RSV ? HAH ! RSV only plays a role in B segment below cars. those who can afford C/D segment cars, what’s RSV for you ? imagine you’re drive a merc / BMW and talk about fuel prices.

• myvifav on Nov 15, 2012 at 7:42 am

toyota supposed to make it 1.6l or 1.8l turbocharged like what europeans and proton do now, not 2.0l one. it can save much on insurance and road tax.

• frenzy on Nov 15, 2012 at 11:58 am

Hah! We forget about Toyota Caldina don’t we? Turbocharged since 2002

• That’s good news for JDM fans. For many years, Toyota’s plan was to be the first to go electric and the hybrid car was their bridging car from petrol to electric.

Now, they’ve finally realise the battery technology is still many years away from being practical. So the R&D money starts go back to the trusty ICE again.

Toyota always had the direct injection tech and it is used in the Lexus cars.

• Alan Hansen on Nov 20, 2012 at 5:04 pm

Toyota sells the most cars which burn the least fuel, last the longest and rarely fail. Their trucks have been off road legends for 40 years, hands down the best. Lexus is neck and neck with the best German Marques. If they don’t make a Direct Injection Turbo Engine now you can just wait for the Toyota / Subaru effort to bury the faulty crap that has been rushed to market by VW, GM and Ford over the years. Say your prayers because Toyota / Subaru / Panasonic / Tesla is going to eat their competition for lunch over the next five years.

• ah beng on Nov 21, 2012 at 11:05 pm

Alan Hansen:
    Ex-Liverpool foot ball player ah? Ok, understand your naivety. Its ok, you are excused for your lack of IQ. We wont criticize you.

• Peyno on Nov 23, 2012 at 7:07 am

Proton oredi moved to small size turbocharged, cvt
    Ah beng japs toyolta still with 4at and 2000 cc engine

Fiinally.. They follow proton n european maker

Ah beng butthurt