2013 Honda Civic US market minor facelift unveiled

Top: 2013 Civic USDM facelift, bottom left: Honda Civic USDM pre-facelift, bottom right: Malaysian Civic

This is one of the quickest facelifts in history, coming in at only 1.5 years after the current 9th generation Honda Civic sedan was unveiled in the US. This is the US market car which looks different than our Asian market model to begin with, and the US car’s facelift was designed to correct criticism from the US market, so the Asian Civic that’s in our market might not get any update.

It will make its debut at the 2012 Los Angeles Auto Show on November 29. The Civic features a new open-mouth lower bumper with a horizontal chrome accent and a sportier, black honeycomb mesh grille, anchored by new integrated fog lights on upper trims. The grille is flanked by new clear-lens corner lights. There’s also a new more deeply faceted hood and a collection of new wheel designs.

Top: 2013 Civic USDM facelift, bottom left: Honda Civic USDM pre-facelift, bottom right: Malaysian Civic

The rear of the US market Civic has also been updated. A new rear bumper design and new rear trunk lid are capped by a clean, horizontal chrome trim piece. The rear bumper features integrated reflector treatments and a new lower diffuser panel finished with a honeycomb mesh vent.

The US market car’s taillights are now L-shaped and now carries into the trunk face. The pre-facelift US market tail lamps were kind of triangle shaped, and for the Asian Civic that we get here, it has a similiar triangle tail lamps design with a small part that extends onto the boot lid, like a sideways ‘tree’.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Pelar on Nov 15, 2012 at 11:53 pm

Why is it still so Ah Pek? Come on Honda. You can do bettet than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 90
    • Better then current version. I can see the improvement on design there.. But unfortunately not available in Malaysia so NO for this current ugly civic. I personally don’t like it at all.. i felt that the previous version is the best design ever.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 24
    • but still, the current model that came to malaysia recently is selling like hotcakes. i wonder why.
      by the way, the current accord is the us version right? why the didnt they bring in the US version of civic, instead, they brought the uglier version.?
      correct me if i’m wrong. cheers ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 17
      • frenzy on Nov 16, 2012 at 1:25 am

Our civic is American ‘s pre-facelift civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 21
      • frenzy on Nov 16, 2012 at 1:27 am

Now, it’s looks much better for the rear. Like a proper RM110K car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 9
      • crank on Nov 16, 2012 at 1:27 pm

People still buy it because it’s a honda. Most of them are loyal customers of honda and some of them play safe since honda cars are quite reliable and it has a good resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
      • Remember 2nd gen City? It was fugly, even worse than this but it was still selling very well.. Why? Because it is a Honda..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • of course ler..no choice ma..people keep buying cos of its reputation n quality..no much bcos of d design..if they bring this FL version to msia, surely sold like pisang goreng panas..huhu

• henry on Dec 03, 2012 at 2:41 pm

Bcoz malaysia still got many people without taste??

• Janji da 3rd Parti on Nov 16, 2012 at 4:26 am

Wow… HONDA REALLY KNOWS HOW TO SCREW THEIR CUSTOMERS.

Pity those who just bought the car …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 16
    • OMG…the rear lamp look like H.City old model…yucks..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • Something must be done on Nov 20, 2012 at 1:18 am

At least we see their effort… Loyal supporter will wait for your improvement.

• Gianny on Nov 16, 2012 at 12:16 am

Yes,no doubt it looks more like the Accord. Personally,I like the facelift, perhaps prefer by the older generation. Hope no price increase.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
  • Is ok. Malaysian no need this facelift. Brand is the most important…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 12
    • As long as it is a Toyota or Honda, everyone here like to say it is a crap, no matter how good it is.
      In my opinion, facelift civic>Altis 2.0>Jetta and 2013 accord>Passat>Camry. (New camry really crap compare to JDM).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 27
      • if you bring in some Germans into the mix, you should also bring in some K cars. BTW my opinion the Passat is way to low. should be above Altis 2.0 and below it the K5. just above the Camry is the Altis and Sonata(I getting tired of its look). Anyway my opinion :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
        • frenzy on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:38 am

Agree with you, but sonata still better looking than passat, it just like an box car with good LED light.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
        • The K5 is top of the list but second to Civic bcuz Honda Civics will always have a place in my heart. From my Primary school days watching Fast and the Furious and Initial D. To the launch of the manual-only Civic Type-R when I was secondary school, I always wanted to get a Civic. And my opinion, Passat may look simple, but there is something elegant to it that you can only get with Deutchland cars and I dun really know whats the hype with Hyundai, Elantra aside, They look over design, Kia offers better, no, the best balance in design.
          And judging from the mountain of dislike, not many ppl agree with me haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
        • Just me on Nov 16, 2012 at 1:53 pm

Forte is the best! Did you guys read CNN? Isreal military bombed a car with Hamas leader inside. The car shattered, all passenger killed. BUT you can still recognized it was Forte, because the front (emblem) and engine still survive the bombing…. Wakakakaka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 35
    • volkswagen on Nov 16, 2012 at 1:45 am

No matter how bad is the DSG and TSI, people still call it GOOD, BEST, WALAUEH, because it is German and it is expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
      • Same lo.. No matter what shit 4 speed box and old engine Toyota gives to Malaysian, people still call it GOOD, BEST, WALAUEH, because it is japanese and has a Toyota badge.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 6
        • volkswagen on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:49 am

In the end, typical Malaysian. That’s all. Btw this gen camry should have at least a cvt gearbox like in japan and better front look, after UMW, BAM! 4 speed and outdated design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
          • if all cars manufacturer providing cvt or dual clutch gearbox, then it would b great. my old honda city cvt is having problem. i call honda sc n they told me new cvt cost rm26k, if overhaul cost rm5k. i check with outside sc, to change one recon cvt cost only rm2k.

i dun know it is honda tat wana earn high profit or becoz lack of car is using cvt!!!!

• _xXx_ on Nov 16, 2012 at 5:00 pm

That’s why a car maker needs to do it right from the beginning. Once customers are screwed from the beginning, that it is…no matter how it improve, can’t help much. T&H design could be bad lately but they are still selling well! No need to be a genius to know the reason.

• unforgiven on Nov 16, 2012 at 12:33 am

Wow, I really like the FL model, really hope it’ll comes here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • VTEC KICK IN on Nov 16, 2012 at 1:38 am

Indeed, they should sell it at very first.
      Japs car ftw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • helmi on Nov 16, 2012 at 12:52 am

Don’t like.Prefer the current version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 58
    • You must be the few thousands that bought the current version. Butt-hurted. LOL.

Ok la, pity you..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
  • meemihun on Nov 16, 2012 at 1:32 am

they realize it’s too fugly so they quickly update it as Americans were not buying it,,,,here it dells becoz brand fanatics,,,malaysians don’t know how to boycott,,,..after Americans boycott it,,,they scramble to solve the fugliness of the car n this new look is better than the old lazy design,,,,,,,this shows Americans are not blind brand supporters unlike here,,,,,kudos to americans as they have proven the consumer purchase power

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 11
    • Most of the buyers still complain about the looks, but they fall in love with the handling without sacrificing reliability, easiness of maintenance and price and also good fc. It’s not blind brand supporter like here, what German made also call good and what japs made are bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 27
      • Cosmo Artemis on Nov 16, 2012 at 8:49 am

I don’t really can’t understand – IF they could design and build a car with great handling, more powerful and fuel save, why they CAN’T wrapped it in a beautiful-designed body? Cost saving perhaps?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
        • I know the answer. From the day Japanese started building cars, the only thing they weren’t able to do well is in designing the exterior. They are a group of people who emphasis on function over form and probably couldn’t understand anything related to art. They had to copycat the designs from earlier European models so that aesthetically, the car can sell. When they tried doing their own design, well, madness and rage ensured.

Go Youtube, Clarkson Car Years: How the Japanese Car Industry Rise and Fall.

It’s somehow a japanese trolling video but inside there, there is truth!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
          • It’s very rare to get a good looking Japanese cars. They are not known for that I mean there are a few, Mazda RX7 FD, 2000GT, Nissan Fairlady S30, can’t think of much. Japs cars are known or used to known for their good fuel consumption and good-to-drive factor. form over function

• Sorry, I messed up again,
            *function over form

• Beemer on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:45 am

If german can build something good look and quality, why can’t they make it affordable, if korean can build something nice and affordable, why can’t they build something good to drive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • aaronang on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:27 am

american are spoil with choices, malaysia got no choice. models offered here are limited with minimum accesories

• Brazbuz on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:46 am

U r wrong because civic sells quiet well eventhough design is so-so only. Since ugly design sell quiet well they facelift it to make it more attractive and attract new buyer which mean 1st time honda buyer. American are the same like malaysian sceptical about brand image…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • wrong again on Nov 17, 2012 at 1:48 am

Not true, US civic is top seller now..again, commenters are not the real buyers, they are just plain commenters, thats all.

• silver on Nov 16, 2012 at 2:24 am

if u do abit of research u will know that the honda civic version is selling quite well in the US… so u shold not bash the current civic with not doing any research as it will embarrassed urself. in actual fact the american’s love it.. in my on oppinion in real life the civic is actually quite good looking and most normal ppl that buys car prefer car design that has a longer life spend and praticality instead or sportiness and flare thats why wv and toyota RE SELLING so well all over the world..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
    • Like I said many time before, total sales doesn’t mean that the people like the car. Some just buy the car because they need 1 that’s cheap and also cheap to maintain. If sales can tell how people like a car, then Perodua Myvi is perhaps the most well-loved car in Malaysia!

Your argument is invalid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
      • Brazbuz on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:53 am

But u cant blame them because after sales is the most important aspect when buying a car. What the point buy a good looking, high speced and reasonable price car when it is breakdown u have to keep it at workshop for 3-4 weeks due to parts out of stock… Just my opinon because most of us stuck with the car at least 7 years…..

• Severe Tyre Damage on Nov 16, 2012 at 2:33 am

Looks like a bigger Honda City. I still prefer the previous Civic, especially the first version in Type-R form.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • At least Honda went through all the trouble to facelift the car in view of harsh criticism especially from Consumer Reports. Although still no looker with all those K cars around, but still A for effort.
    Please Honda, facelift the Malaysian ver as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • Most probably they will. Honda is not Toyota, yet.. Let’s hope it stays like that.

• lollipop on Nov 16, 2012 at 4:53 am

Very Nice,Most beautiful civic i assume,if it got TYPE-R aggressive performance & design ,It Perfect, honda is BACK!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • Both Civics are actually the same. Our Civic was designed to look more like the higher-end Accord with the horizontal lamp-bar while the US facelift was also meant to link their Civic with the 2013 Accord.
    Civic has the looks. It’s curvy, aggressive and athletic :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
  • With proton and honda officially signing up a joint venture together, what i will do is to wait for a rebadge of the honda civic. It might be priced cheaper as well. That will be a good thing for locals who are looking for affordable japanese cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
  • Reebok on Nov 16, 2012 at 7:43 am

The Malaysian consumer has become sophisticated lately, which is why the Polo Sedan is not selling well, and hence the 3-month free installment deal. It is basically an expensive alternative to Vios/City (infact City E has VSA while Polo Sedan does not). On the other hand the Polo 1.2 is selling well as it offers a value option not otherwise available, CBU. I believe this is the same reason the Brio is not being brought to Malaysia,

• frenzy on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:41 am

Seriously? Polo sedan looks like sh*t the rear even compare to dugong, like a proton saga with german badge. Who wants to pay 90k for a 1999 looks car?

• Polo sedan should be selling at 50k, not 90k. And you’re right, it looks like Proton Saga if seen from far.. First time I can say Polo Sedan copy Proton.. ahhahaha

Proton, you has success, someone copied you!

• beatnik on Nov 16, 2012 at 7:58 am

Looks more matured. They should have designed the car like this in the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Ok la.. at least now it looks not so cacat anymore. So where is the DCT and Turbo. :D

• Musalmah Endut on Nov 16, 2012 at 8:32 am

Some people like and some may dislike. It is really depend on individual taste and preference.

• carlover on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:25 am

Though i don’t own one but wish to own one someday, this car is sleek and nice saw it on the road. Why people here are saying its ugly? Mercedes nice meh? VW design also ordinary, nice meh? How to define beauty? I like this car design better than the previous generation anytime, this one looks more executive, the 8th generation looks more ah beng.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • Sumo_Boy_Berlin on Nov 16, 2012 at 1:08 pm

Yes, I agreed. Your money your choice.
        People can buy car which suited their own taste as this is their money. If you don’t like the design of this car, you always can buy one you like/ or looks attractive to you provided you have the money to buy it.

• mojo1ne on Nov 16, 2012 at 8:40 am

Seriously…why does the tail look more and more like a camry?!?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • definitely better than US prefacelift.

• typical malaysian mentality…. most of the comments talks about looks more important than contents…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • what contents? i hope you did check out other brands’ “contents” and not only just tried T and H. Because it is so obvious ‘some’ other contents are better, if you only try and go feel the difference :)

• King Abra on Nov 16, 2012 at 11:00 am

Aesthetics is important as well bro. You paid for it,you define what you want :)

• TurboMan on Nov 16, 2012 at 11:02 am

A successful car should fulfil 2 criterias. Good design and great content.

The japs cars in Malaysia are mostly underspecced and looks boring. Mazda 6 2.5 is the exception but even that is kind of underpowered but in a country where cars are taxed by cc, that is a given.

The new korean cars look good, and specced well, however their engine is still not on par with the japs or germans. From 1-3k RPM its ok, but 3k RPM and above, it does sound kind of rough. Im not comparing them to the N52 smoothness as that is a 6 cyl engine but have you listened to the 4cyl engine in the Mazda 6? And compare that to the korean engines.

But how many car buyers know how does a 6 cyl sound like? Or rev their engine to 6k? Most just wants a car that is well specced, safe and looks great. Stability control, lots of airbags, CD changers, MP3, comfortable ride and looks great, RSV is important but no longer the deciding factor anymore as Malaysians have more disposable income today compared to say 10-20 years ago.

• I know how a Ferrari, Porsche sounds. They sound great!

Actually, RSV is still kinda playing a role in our life.. Our money and salary grew, but our expenses outgrew our money’s and salary’s growth at an alarming rate. I know who to “thank”, do you?

• Great comment, BTW you have a N52 engine Beemer?
        never sat in a straight 6 before, for me basically, content of the car dose’t matter much, I don’t really used the car USB or bluetooth, or any party features of the car, start-stop? you can show it to your friend but after seeing Top Gear UK muscle car road trip in America,where Clarkson easily drove Richard’s keyless Challenger off(seriously watch it), kinda have phobias. Automatic lights, wipers, handbrake?Imma not that lazy. The most important thing to me in a car that it drives great and dose’t look ugly and saves fuel. Something like the, I’am sure you’ll disagree, a manual Honda CRZ. Oh and safety you forgot safety

• TurboMan on Nov 16, 2012 at 2:10 pm

N52 is a rare breed. The sound when it passes through 4k rpm is orgasamic. The new ones are pretty bullet proof. The old ones ( pre LCI ) have issues with engine oil consumption and tappet noise. But the new ones are pretty robust. Lack of torque at low speed though. If u see a C250, make sure u switch to manual mode and drop 2 gears before he steps on it. If not, if u both floor the throttle at the same time, the time it takes for your gb to drop 2 gears, he is already 3 car length away.

I hope the state of this forum will be this way for a long time. Gone are the trolls who has nothing else to do but to come in and say “useless junk with low RV” to anything that they don’t fancy, and shower their T and H with so much compliments that sometimes it doesnt make sense. An ability to discuss things with facts and well articulated point is what differenciate a first world mentality and a 3rd world one.

Manual CRZ is a good car. Fun but underpowered for what it is. Its something like a smart roadster which i used to own. 700cc Turbocharged engine attached to a 800kg sequential manual car hardly 6in from the tarmac. 0-100 >10 sec but hardly matters. Very very fun

• very much agreed, I am still a novice when it comes to car ownership as there are still no car to my name, however I can understand engine sound. I drive to Subang everyday and sometimes there is a Maserati Gran Turismo passes by, love that V8. engine sounds will be more artificial in the future as Turbos began to take over. Kinda sad that we are sacrificing distilled engine sound for efficiency. As for the CRZ, unless I can afford something more high end like a GT86 or a Focus ST, cars at 200k , CRZ will be my target car. It may lack the power, but if you are good with a stick, its smiles all the way.

• MrBmw on Nov 17, 2012 at 8:59 pm

Yea, I agree. 6 cylinder cars are the best sounding cars I have ever driven( W210 E320 ).

Once you have driven one, you won’t feel like going back to driving 4 cylinder cars. 6 cylinder engines are smooth, refined and gives a good soundtrack when you rev it to 6-7k rpm.

This 6 cylinder engines really suits cars like BMW, Merc and other continentals.

• sit inside and look out all of the contents then ask your self is this worth for the price tag…

• Once this FL is manufactured, there wont be any economies of scale in production if there are two different designs sold worldwide. Might as well streamline most of the interior and exterior components.

So who knows we might get this FL model next year. We have to wait and see though. If Honda Thailand brings in this model in Thailand then Malaysia will surely get this model as well.

• polo saga on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:18 am

look much better than current version, Honda Malaysia should introduce this facelift version to malaysian. why should malaysian always suffer uglier design, lower specs yet higher price?

• Probably this US’s FL version re badge by Proton lol…. Same like Inspira case

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • am I the only one here who thinks the usdm facelift version is quiet stunning???

• Polo-GTI on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:56 am

I feel Sonata~

• aku nk taip melayu boleh…hahhaha..mmg aku setuju..design br xlawa nk banding design b4 ni..aku salah sorang owner 8th generation civic…tapi bila tgk lama n real..lawa jgk…apa yg aku suka new model..push start button n eco..now im waiting for new civic..hhhehe..btw civic 8th generation is best ofthe best..tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Sgt Scoop on Nov 16, 2012 at 11:32 am

You guys are hilarious!

• Fadli on Nov 16, 2012 at 11:41 am

Wow, I’m impressed, the USDM Facelift civic looks so much better, love the split combination taillights, looks so well balance, nicely positioned cropped perfectly by the boot shutline. Now that’s a clean CLEAN and proper design uncommon from a Japanese car..

• chrisg on Nov 16, 2012 at 11:54 am

Good arguments above. Diehard t n h fans will forever be t n h fans. But always dream of driving german marque once they can afford it.

Most young t n h fans are raceboys at heart. Executive cars have to be sporty, loud. Loyal to the brand.

Those on the other side of fence are more dscerning, well exposed. Probably already alrd driving a conti car, a peugeot for an upstart. Appreciates high tech and features when buying, rsv is not a concern. Because if you go for rsv then you limit your choice to only t n h, substabdard specs n at premium price.

Jap fans are such. Assume a range rover is as the same price as wish. They will still go for t wish. Because they dont know wats a range rover, they think its a police truck because its cheap.

I see some ppl going gaga over alphard, most overated ugly bus on the road. Inside may be spacious tats all. They buy becos they think its prestigous, not so much becos it seats many. How much is one?.now go compare a smaller peugeot 5008. Has only so so reputation becos its a lion nonetheless it thrashes alphard in terms of safety, features etc.

T n h dont need any mktg analysis selling their cars here. Just have few cars in all the car segments, price it higher than the best proton could offer, an empty box with 4 speed with flowery seats inside it will still sell very well.

In a way, the under the tree mechanics also are sales man for t n h. Under knowledged, traditional mech and used parts dealers recc t n h, because availability of parts (stolen n recond), rsv. Then only the get rich because the can serve on t n h customers.When they are rich, they buy merc or bmw or audi and alphard just to park in front of their shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
    • I that’s your definition of T&H fans I don’t see many of them at time of writing, I only see ppl praising the cars looks and improvement and that’s it actually. If I praised that a T or a H for some of its feature does it make me a die-hard T&H fan. I see more people disliking other people bcuz they say something like, Honda actually looks better now. There are more anti T&H fan frequent this site. Anyway you dis mention with facts unlike some of them blindly curse T&H.

• BTW, Are there ppl who go gaga over Alphards? wow, thats new to me.
      But there are ppl who will choose Wish over RR mostly because they want it to be less flashy or under-the-radar, or have shallower pockets

• chrisg on Nov 16, 2012 at 2:09 pm

I sincerely like your comments. You dont trash abt like me to bring forth your points haha.

I just cant stand ppl buying blindly tats all. Bcos if majority of ppl do, it will dictate the market. H n t are very capable of producing excellent cars, but not without consumers being brand loyal without looking at other aspects.

I used to love whatever the jap makes, but as i grow older and i start to become wiser with my hard earned money- i start to see whats in in it for me in terms of purchases i make.

For instance, i buy preve at rm60k vs vios, how much? 75k. One with lots of goodies vs barely naked specs. Rsv value i probably loose more than 60% after 5 yrs. Toyo maybe 50%. Then do the math. Quality of proton is so so? Or perception?.
        Then i can also compare the koreans, any good?

I have a friend, diehard t fan. Bought camry 2.0 last year and to him its an excellent car. Comfy as sofa, willowy ride n he boasts that he can handle with one hand doing 200 kmh on hways bcos steering is light. Well these are the ppl we must make them realise actually the car is not so good then. How many airbags eh bro?

• I was supposed my 12:48 comment is a bit on the harsh side. Anyway you do make a point, I’am no die hard T&H fan, but H always made something that catches my attention, Exp: last gen Civic or the current Jazz hybrid which I’am still aiming for. But put it this way, I see some just neglect T&H bcuz they make dull and relatively expensive product when compared to the K cars. But they are good cars never the less. I’m sure the premium over K cars goes to somewhere?. So don’t go and completely neglect them. If you read a comment I replied to NAME, I don’t really like fanciful gadget, just the ones to protect you, and good car to drive. Because experience tell me that I won’t use all the gadget. Jus an example: I will always get the XJ V8 over an S-class and 7-series. Because it looks better and more engaging to drive.(from what the reviewer says at least)

• frenzy on Nov 16, 2012 at 1:42 pm

Aiya, don’t argue with him la, he has free time sit in vw service centre waiting changing his DSG gearbox or TSI engine mar. He alsi attend what free DSG service campaign which he don’t know it is known as recall.

• chrisg on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:49 pm

Frenzy..tat is not arguing with me. He was stating his points. I even liked his comments. He is intelligent and probably driving a merc. If not a merc, but in near future.

But why do i generalise t n h lovers are dumb? Excactly bcos of ppl like you.

Im sure you look like a typical ahbeng with fully modified city. If you are aiming for an upgrade to civic or accord, work harder and be smarter.
        Dsg and tsi got problems? Ok. So if tat is my car then i have made a bad decision.

Girls love it though. And any man who drives a saga looks better

• The best car I drive is a still a H sad to say and my daily drive I’m sure mist will be tired to here by now is a manual first gen Sag. Personal bragging here: best cond Saga running around the NKVE

• chrisg on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:50 pm

Frenzy..tat is not arguing with me. He was stating his points. I even liked his comments. He is intelligent and probably driving a merc. If not a merc, but in near future.

But why do i generalise t n h lovers are dumb? Excactly bcos of ppl like you.

Im sure you look like a typical ahbeng with fully modified city. If you are aiming for an upgrade to civic or accord, work harder and be smarter.
        Dsg and tsi got problems? Ok. So if tat is my car then i have made a bad decision.

Girls love it though. And any man who drives a saga looks better than ahbengs in h or t.

• disgusted on Nov 16, 2012 at 12:32 pm

The US version seems nicer than the local one.

• The design is a bit better compared to the current one especially the Rear I would say. However, with the sales of the NEW civic being the best selling Non-National C Segment car in Malaysia, I doubt Honda Malaysia would bring in any soon because the current one is still selling very well. Probably maybe 2 years after ? When its time for facelift lol

• The new FL is a bit better looking than the current one especially the rear.. However, I doubt the FL is gonna launch here any soon as u can see that the Civic (Current) became the best selling non-national C segment car. With that kind of sales, I dont think honda malaysia would bring this in so soon. Probably 2 or 3 years after when its time to give it a FL

• bonbon on Nov 19, 2012 at 12:54 am

let put it as 4 years…. for sure ASEAN will be the place to dump all rubbish…

• 1st time conti on Nov 16, 2012 at 2:16 pm

Erm, which car fulfills all the requirirement below
    Safety : 6 airbags, ABS, ESP bla bla bla
    Handling & performance : torque vectoring, 170hp
    FC : highway + city 14-15cents/kg or 8L/100km
    Looks : good to me (but individual basis)
    price : cheaper than honda / toyota high spec
    RSV : THHUMBS DOWN !

but, I love it. can challenge any civics/altis/elantra on the road. from PLUS highway to cameron windy roads

• If I see any new ford focus around I better be cautious, dun want to have a bad day and meet you so you can challenge me and drive recklessly

• tunggguuu on Nov 16, 2012 at 2:42 pm

i have said this before…let me say it again…

how is 137K possible for a msian made 60% local content civic? how is that possible? can anyone answer me? n yet we c many buying those..as though its gold…

a better ford focus imported from thailand selling at 120k..n mind u the tax is higher when its a CBU car..

civic is a gud car but not worth the crazy price tag. profit margin by honda malaysia too high..

• Actually you are better off with the Hybrid variant at RM119k. more toys than the higher spec.
      And actually price wise is on par:
      Base Focus vs Base Civic: RM115k vs RM115k
      High Focus vs High Civic: RM132K vs RM136k
      I think Malaysia has a higher tax and labour cost than out northern neighbor, but that’s just a guess. If you are going to compare than compare spec list. The Ford wins hands down. But I believe the Civic has a better looking interior. BTW I personally prefer the Focus over the Civic.

• breezehaw on Nov 16, 2012 at 2:59 pm

it’s beautiful!

• CTRFD2 on Nov 16, 2012 at 4:34 pm

A rebadged Civic will not happen. At the most, Proton will rebadge the Honda Brio and share the same engine and hybrid drive train technology. For those waiting for rebadged Civics and Accords, it is a foolish and futile wait.

• albag on Nov 16, 2012 at 5:05 pm

the facelifted rear looks much better…

• I prefer the 8th generation civic. The new civic looks like the new camry and both are yucky.

Im a malaysian staying in sg. I suppose driving a non-proton, especially honda civic is considered very good already but when u r in sg, u see mercz and bmw so common here that u aim for those higher end cars liao.

1 thing for sure though, the quality of H and T has worsen over the years compare to the 90’s. What happened to the proud T six sigma method and great engine? Y so many recalls nowadays?

• T or H both are the same on Dec 04, 2012 at 9:41 am

6 sigma is only applicable for high volume of production ie exceeding billions usually for electric components, whereby claiming 3.4 defects per million,T ‘s 6 sigma appliable to their number of car parts they manufacture and not number of cars they produce. so mainly,T’s statistical process control is only 3 to 4.5 sigma which yields higher number of defects. what T fails here is not their 6 sigma, it is their concept of JIT (just-in-time) for readers out there, JIT is a concept of “produce when needed and keep low or none inventory” so imagine,you produce cars according to demand, it will be a last minute job ; do you think a last minute job can be quality, especially its a car?

• NISSpengAN on Nov 16, 2012 at 8:42 pm

Nissan design is the best…

• tanfocus on Nov 16, 2012 at 8:48 pm

AVH
    forgot about the followings
    Focus –> 170hp
    –> 6 air bags
    –> TC, TVC, EBD, VSC and etc
    –> auto city stop
    –> auto park (more of gimmic)
    –> cruise control + speed limitor
    –> blind spot wwarning & autodimminr rear glass
    –> can read your messages (certain models of phone and more of gimmic)

BTW, focus no RESALE value. remember ????

• A few feature is not really helpful for someone like me, TC, VSC, TVC ,C3PO. Nah I feel they hampered the driving more, the less the better, ABS and VSC is a must though. Auto City Stop at 40 kph, that’s a useful feature. Auto park, I can bet you my imaginary million euros that you will rerely use that in Malyasia, where parking is define as open spot than a proper parking, And if you do get a proper parking, there will always be a motorcycle blocking, or a car coming so close to you while you are going in (true story). cruise control and speed limiter? NAh not on the NKVE an LDP where I drive daily where speed is a variable factor. blind spot & autodimmer rear glass is a good feature for Malaysia tough, nothing against that, espacially the Focus has a terrible blind spot. And finally, read your message, can it read our funny English we put in our SMS. I know my phone dose’t.
      It’s a great car the Focus, but if I’am not really going to use most of the feature. At RM132k family car, I’am better off starving a few more months for a CX-5, especially after driving through that flood the other day. The other reason avoiding the Focus is because I know I will regret having that ‘so close yet so far’feeling (describe by Top Gear as the Porsche Boxter feeling) from owning my dream hatch, the Focus ST

• chrisg on Nov 17, 2012 at 5:48 pm

Bro AVH,

Sorry i cannot agree with you this time lah.

All those offered by ford are gimmicks? We are in 2012. Some functions are not real needs that add to the cost i agree but tis are the features even how unimportant you think, defines a well round car to an underspec car.

If only say your fav h or t offer this wat would you say?. Because t n h could if they want too. Their electronics are better than t europeans. They know because ppl hv brand loyalty, like you and majority of malaysians. Discard and underminr whatever competitors can offer so long as its toyo or hon.then its good enough.

Then i still strongly suggest buy a proton. Good gimmicks at lower price, good handling. Still a no?. So you see its the brand that many perceive as too good, toyo. Toyo can do nothing wrong.

• This unusually short period of facelift should mirror Honda’s anxiety over the success of current best selling c-segment car of north america, the car that wins many hearts there just by its look and good warranty packages.

• Bambee on Nov 16, 2012 at 11:07 pm

New FL seem not bad ma… got improvement.. why everyone keep bashing T&H o… asal the car nice then can d lo.

• armandd on Nov 16, 2012 at 11:38 pm

It looks much better. When will we get the facelift?

• Will be interesting to see would the 9th hybrid here getting the FL first since it is CBU from Japan.

• Chong on Nov 17, 2012 at 3:35 pm

If budget is not a problem, buy civic or crv? Civic is fun to drive but crv giv better in comfort n safety.

• sudonano on Nov 18, 2012 at 12:15 pm

Better you wait for the new CRV and then test both. CRV is comfy and spacious.

• Sam Loo on Nov 18, 2012 at 11:37 am

Those of ppl who deciding which car to buy is so easy, choose camry. Congrate to those choose camry. My father 2.4 camry i driving for 2 years is so reliable. Next time i earn more money i buy back latest camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • chong on Nov 18, 2012 at 7:25 pm

Yes toyota is a reliable brand b4 current camry just make me dissapointed. Looks ugly n bumpy. Unless u r 6ft tall, or the front seat design will make u feel like enjoying air asia flight.

• anson on Nov 18, 2012 at 8:03 pm

http://www.autoblog.com/2012/10/23/honda-warns-dealers-to-clear-out-2012-civic-stock-2013-emergenc/?a_dgi=aolshare_facebook

Please be aware!!!

• bitting one's foot on Nov 19, 2012 at 9:00 pm

Sam Loo on Nov 18, 2012 at 11:37 am

Those of ppl who deciding which car to buy is so easy, choose camry. Congrate to those choose camry. My father 2.4 camry i driving for 2 years is so reliable. Next time i earn more money i buy back latest camry

Finally, someone has spoken. After all these years of comment, cannot even afford an own car. Car pundit huh ?

• Kelvin on Nov 22, 2012 at 5:33 pm

GOod, the facelift Civic is better than current Civic. Used to admire Civic until the new Civic come in….

• Kelvin on Nov 29, 2012 at 5:52 am

Even Honda produce new Honda civic like box car, i think Malaysian people still buy. Because Malaysian people just looking at the name and H symbol and dont sense about design… so sad!

• James on Jan 11, 2013 at 2:04 pm

The design is purely down to personal taste, some people like it, some people do not like it – same goes with every vehicle design. Personally, I like it, and the new US version looks more similar to the Malaysian version than the old US version.

What matters is the specs, emissions, fuel economy and drive quality, all of which are very good (particularly the former and latter), and far superior, in my opinion than the less smooth, jerky drives currently offered by Hyundai and Kia – perhaps in 5 years time it will be different.
    8th generation was ahead of its time, like the 6th gen was, 9th is just carrying on the progression, nicely in my opinion.