Subaru XV previewed at PJ showroom, Dec 19 launch

Subaru distributor Motor Image had on display two units of the new locally-assembled Subaru XV at its PJ showroom over the past weekend, with some visitors taking the opportunity for a test drive.

For now at least, the sole variant that will go on sale is the 2.0i, with a private-reg list price of RM150,735.20 (OTR with insurance). However, Motor Image’s website indicates an introductory price of RM139,800. The official local launch, we’re told, is set for December 19 – ahead of our previously reported January 2013 date.

Power comes from an FB series 2.0 litre four-cylinder boxer engine that pushes out 150 PS at 6,200 rpm and 196 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm, while drive goes to all wheels through an Active Torque Split AWD system and a Lineartronic CVT with six virtual ratios.

Tipping the scales at 1,430 kg, the crossover sits on some rather striking 17-inch alloys with 225/55 series tyres. Length, width and height are 4,450, 1,780 and 1,615 mm respectively.

The comprehensive equipment list includes AWD with Active Torque Split, Vehicle Dynamics Control, cruise control, reverse sensor, steering wheel shift paddles, dual front and driver’s knee airbags, automatic air-con and a two-DIN touch-screen AV system with remote that brings together DVD, USB, iPod, Bluetooth and GPS.

If you’ve missed this chance to see the XV in the metal (and possibly give it a go), don’t despair – the car will be travelling around the Subaru showroom network, with Cheras set to be its next port of call.

We’ve had quite a bit of a reporting history with this one – we first broke news of Malaysia being made the ASEAN production hub for Subaru last year, then confirmed the XV as the model to be locally-assembled at Tan Chong Motor Assemblies’ Segambut plant.

We then sampled the Japanese CBU car in Thailand, after which the Malaysian-assembled car surfaced at this year’s Indonesian International Motor Show. We’ve also interviewed Tan Chong International executive director and Motor Image boss Glenn Tan on Subaru’s plans for the ASEAN region.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• nice introductory price. But i dont understand why there should be one. You want to push into an already saturated market…just introduce it at 139k. Just shows that after the introductory price, you are making 10k more. And i dont believe you are selling at a lost with the 139k price tag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
    • teelim on Nov 15, 2012 at 11:05 pm

I totally agree with you.

And if/when they increase the price, I think its really hard for it to compete with the CX-5… unless of course you are a die-hard Subaru fan and/or must have a 4WD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • Ishak bin Md Din on Nov 16, 2012 at 11:38 am

Too overpriced. Better to get CBU Mazda CX5 and that is a super specced car. Now this Subaru CKD, quality will be sub par. There is a world of difference between CKD and CBU despite Malaysians not admitting it.

Come on lah, factor in Japan people are so highly focussed. Factory in Malaysia, people have teh tarik break 10 times in a day and all they focus is how to get kongkek. You decide lah which would produce better quality?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 13
  • Roger Tan on Nov 15, 2012 at 10:37 pm

Looks quite decent for its price…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
  • m4xspeed on Nov 15, 2012 at 10:42 pm

Definitely Bang for buck in M’sia, considering 4wd, 2.0 + nicknacks throwin it as package. Subaru will gain significant amount of customer with the right advert..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
  • Alpha on Nov 15, 2012 at 11:09 pm

I see no point getting this when the Forrester 2.0 is having nearly identical price tag..But perhaps this is for someone who is more,youthful,eh??

• So, Subaru XV or Mazda CX-5 is a better buy?

• Jimmy on Nov 15, 2012 at 11:45 pm

The one with ESP + 6 airbags. CBU Japan, definitely better, no arguement, except if you are worried about nuclear contamination.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
      • SUV driver on Nov 18, 2012 at 9:45 pm

The CX5 is now CKD too. For the most toys with less cash. Kia Sportage is great value…

• _xXx_ on Nov 16, 2012 at 4:04 pm

Sportage is a better buy….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 27
  • CKDenthusiast on Nov 15, 2012 at 11:43 pm

Subaru XV is no contender to CX-5. If you see it in rel life, to which I have, its comparable to Suzuki SX-4! Freaking small!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • ThePolygon on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:00 pm

Ok… first I thought it has big streering but now that you have mentioned it.. hmm…. I gotta drop by to have a look.

• Super Petrol Head on Jun 17, 2016 at 1:01 pm

You can’t compare this two cars together. Totally different category. You can only compare the XV with the CX-3 or HRV.

• Wan Luqman on Nov 16, 2012 at 12:17 am

at this price tag, i rather have a ford focus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
    • Kalun on Nov 16, 2012 at 7:09 am

At that price tag in Sarawak/Sabah, I won’t get a Ford Focus.
      I would get 2 pick up truck instead.
      Or maybe get this one or cx 5 instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • SUV driver on Nov 18, 2012 at 9:47 pm

Yup we here in Sarawak much prefer SUV or pickups. That’s why I drive SUV….

• tcboy on Nov 16, 2012 at 12:36 am

fail job by son of TAN CHONG

• PauKaya on Nov 17, 2012 at 6:57 pm

the guy already pissed off half of the subaru fans in singapore. in any normal company, he would have been sacked…but then this is asia….

• Not a fan of its rear end, but then again Subaru never made handsome looking car. Maybe except the Legacy

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 16, 2012 at 8:48 am

Weirdly enough, with all these crossovers hovering about 140k, we don’t see more Suzuki Vitaras on the raod…. especially when they are going for 120K.

• umnokakipitnah on Nov 16, 2012 at 9:16 am

cool & stylo rims!

• Kalun on Nov 16, 2012 at 9:29 am

The front looks like a sedan car with oversize tyres

• it is actually am impreza on stilts. that’s why it is no bigger than a regular c-segment hatchback.

• looks smaller than ad.

• stallion on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:17 am

Can you please advise as to how much of the build is assembled? Ie are the wheels and bumpers slapped on in malaysia or is it the whole car? I understand the VW Passats CKD were coming in from Germany this way

• intermilan on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:43 am

if its similar in size to kia sportage, price it at RM139K max.

if its smaller and similar in size to suzuki sx4, price it lower than rm139K.

• Jilbaber on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:58 am

I opt this than the ugly CX-5..kudos to Subaru

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
  • EVERY SUBARU IS A HIGH TECH PERFORMANCE CAR, FOR HIGH END MARKET. The BOXER ENGINE and AWD are 2 unbeatable features that differentiate it from other brands. If you check back the history of Subaru pricing, you will find that this XV is definitely a best buy. If not under Tan Chong CKD project, this will be priced more than 200K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • SUBARU is high tech performance car for high end market. The BOXER engine and AWD system are 2 unbeatable features that differentiate it from other brands. If you check back the SUBARU pricing history you will find out that in fact this XV is a best buy. If not because it’s under TAN CHONG’s CKD project, it will be priced above 200K. I am just telling the fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • _xXx_ on Nov 16, 2012 at 5:53 pm

oh yeah? shd everyone here thank TC for the great job done now?

• Hglim on Nov 16, 2012 at 4:23 pm

Saw the car on Curve tis afternoon …..nice on exterior but interior so so only….will be in my consider list

• Jawabandar on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:46 pm

Exterior looks ok but the interior loses the awe touch.to me its bland.

• They should have brought in BRZ and sell at that price.

• Despite a quite good price tag for subaru, it’s just a introduction price which means i gotcha pay more when i can afford it? Sucks. =____=
    Even I’m a die hard subaru fans, for that price i can get more better option, Interior had no difference with basic cars, even the exterior are good for me. Yeah, Don’t tell me you will pay 140k for a car which have a better rims?

• Whoever wants the true subaru will get the Sti instead. XV, well it had other better Urban SUV.
    I really can’t imagine this stuff can smoke like sti,or drift around the corners.
    @.@ Family cars, toyota or honda or others will be better.

• There have a pro n con within CX-5 & XV.
    Info from sales person at Mazda distributor,now waiting list for CX-5 also took around 4-5 month.He also told me next year Mazda plan to built CKD for CX-5 because of high demand.Interm of space CX-5 much more bigger inside and outside+skyactiv tech. that can save fuel+panoramic roof.XV aerodynamic body+sport rim i think XV can attract young executive,XV more sporty like you drive a race car.

• subaru on Dec 03, 2012 at 2:40 pm

I’ve always liked the fact that Subaru looks different than other brands. Many suggest that they change this or make it look like that. I disagree. I like the individuality of the WRX. And the orange on black combo is awesome. If you want something vanilla, well then…

• Comparison btwn subaru xv and new honda crv??