BMW M6 Coupe now available in Malaysia – RM988,800

Two days ago, we saw BMW Malaysia post up a teaser of the new BMW M6 on its Facebook page, and this morning we’re greeted with the news that the M6 Coupe is now available for sale for a cool RM988,800 on-the-road without insurance. The drop top version is not available, at least for now.

As previously detailed, the M6 is powered by the M Division’s twin-turbo 4.4 litre engine with 560 hp and 680 Nm, as found in the F10 M5. With a redline of 7,200 rpm, this unit produces 10% higher horsepower and 30% higher torque than the V10 in the previous M6. Average EU cycle fuel consumption is a very decent 9.9 litres per 100 km, also a 30% improvement over the V10.

0-100 km/h is done in just 4.2 seconds, despite the car’s considerable heft. The gearbox is a seven-speed M Double Clutch Transmission with Drivelogic. Also included is Launch Control (max acceleration from a standing start) as well as Low Speed Assistance, which “enhances driving comfort in stop-and-go traffic situations.” Power goes solely to the rear axle via an Active M Differential.

Dynamic Damper Control allows drivers to choose between Comfort, Sport and Sport + settings. As anchors, the M6 comes with M carbon ceramic brakes with calipers featuring six pistons at the front and a matte gold finish. Oh, and the roof is made from Carbon Fibre Reinforced Plastic (CFRP) to save weight.

“No other car delivers such a level of dynamic performance, premium ambiance, stylistic look and feel, and efficiency better than an M car, and the BMW M6 Coupé is at the top of that very select family,” said Dr Gerhard Pils, CEO of BMW Group Malaysia.

The M6 Coupe can be ordered in nine colours, namely Alpine White, Black Sapphire, Imperial Blue, Singapore Grey, Havanna, Sakhir Orange, Silverstone, San Marino Blue and Space Grey.

We’ve written extensively about the M6 before this, so click here and here for full details and studio shots, as well as here for a huge gallery of on-location wallpaper worthy images.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• whoop, just below the six-figure mark.
    .without insurence hhehe.
    If I had that money I’ll choose either GTR or 911

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
    • bro, if i were u. i’ll choose this. caused GTR is way too popular in Malaysia and 911 is getting more and more and both are high-profile sports car. While M6 is expensive then the 2. its a sleeper. u drive it out, ppl will just assumed it as normal 6 series. which is good IMHO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
      • no don’t say If you were me cuz im not buying this car anytime soon, just say if you hav the money. Anyway different people will have different opinion. The M6 is more of a GT, long distance, comfortable and powerful. While the other cars are more sports orientated, types that attack corners again and again. It may be true that the GTRs and 997 911 is getting common, but they are the best at what they do. if you want a serious sleeper, or Q-car as I like to call it, Isn’t a M5 better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
        • cant agree more bro.. u have ur opinion and i have mine. happy commenting.

• I don’t think drive a GTR is high profile bcoz the second hand value is only 300k~400k…

• ben yap on Nov 16, 2012 at 1:50 pm

u mean just below the 7 figures mark? it’s almost a million ringgit.

• M6= It’s still a six figures.

:P

• yeah my mistake. 7 figure.
        I did write a comment on the correction, but it was’t posted for some unknown reason
        Thanks man

• No problem mate, sometimes & something will go haywire. Hahaha.

• f30er on Nov 17, 2012 at 10:50 am

after the proven global rusty cabin issues found in the new F20 and F30 3 series, better think twice..

• Alvin on Nov 17, 2012 at 8:36 pm

For this price, I might as well go for a Ferrari or a Porsche. Why BMW??

• crank on Nov 16, 2012 at 11:08 am

Beautiful car with an amazing price tag. Only for enthusiasts and people who has ka ching $. :-)

• Yes. Normal rich ppl will oni buy 5 series or the most 7 series. Unless u realli a enthusiast. Otherwise, average rich driver who can afford such pricetag would probably go for 750Li and hire a chauffuer. Lol.

• wow!!! not bad. thought it would be at RM1mil+. 988k. so F10 M5 or this beast?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Ishak bin Md Din on Nov 16, 2012 at 11:32 am

How can it be one million. We are being overcharge for our cars.
    These are luxury car prices in Malaysia vs world prices.

Luxury car prices

BMW 328i
    US$36,500 (RM109,500) RM300,000

BMW 528i
    US$46,900 (RM149,000) RM400,000

BMW 535i
    US$52,500 (RM157,000) RM600,000

BMW X5
    US$47,500 (RM142,500) RM580,000

Mercedes E350
    US$51,000 (RM153,000) RM400,000 (In M’sia for only CKD E250)

Jaguar XF
    US$53,000 (RM159,000) RM500,000

Jaguar XJ
    US$73,700 (RM221,000) RM1,000,000

Porsche Cayenne
    US$48,850 (RM146,000) RM570,000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 12
    • in Thailand M6 cost u around Baht10mil = RM1mil.
      in singapore it cost u probably around RM1.5-1.7mil.
      i noe we cant compare like this. but we cant compare dollar to dollar either. we must take into consideration of economy and currency strength.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • yes cars here are overpriced, but i think those prices are basic spec. for instance i tried building a bmw 328i with the same spec they sell in malaysia its about $48k which is roughly 150k here. but ohwell what are we going to do? even if we do one day reduce the taxes on cars it wont be a hundread percent because nearly all major countries are taxing cars nowadays.

• propa on Nov 16, 2012 at 11:36 am

can be yours for only RM 200000 a month!

• The steering are so thin. +1

• I feel headache everytime looking at car prices in Boleh Land!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • brother_snowdan on Nov 16, 2012 at 11:58 am

fuhhh…. gorgeous car for our AP king YB Snowdan lawan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • *seven-figure mark, my mistake

• miskin on Nov 16, 2012 at 12:18 pm

mengarut………….

• As always. Malaysia boleh price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • woody on Nov 16, 2012 at 1:06 pm

This is seriously Bang for bucks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Fellow malaysian are so lame. When we talk bout price is reasonable. Always get a thumbs down. Know ur status la, even without tax it wont be dirt cheap. If without tax, ppl will only buy more 5series or 3series with 2.0litre. I bet without tax ppl still wont buy engine capacity above 3.5litre. Unless u r realli cash rich. Accept it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
    • till now there are 10 ppl stil cant accept the fact that malaysian just want something new and not power.. judging how shitty malaysian drives, i dont think there are much enthusiast around to talk about performance and handling. dont tell me crap about proton’s lotus handling.. NAH..!..

• Davinnci on Nov 16, 2012 at 3:57 pm

1 million car moving on the street, equally to a semi D moving here and there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • BMW Fanboi on Nov 16, 2012 at 5:06 pm

Semi-D? Bro, in my area RM1M can only buy terrace house. Somemore intermediate. Somemore No. 44, Jalan 4. Somemore behind got indah water pumping station. Somemore infront got TNB substation. Ask agent if can lower price, she said a lot of ppl waiting to buy. I don’t believe so I said no. Next thing you know, ‘for sale’ signboard taken away and reno work starting :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • Davinnci on Nov 16, 2012 at 11:53 pm

Say semi D cost 1 mil is a conservertive estimation, my place terrace house is 1.5mil..

• YOU POOR?? nowadays there are many houses cost north of RM800k for a small house. my dad is buying a semi-D, cost 5 times more than the beautiful M6. and agent says its normal as all the houses there sold out. Damn!! so fellow. let the rich be rich and the poor let them work up the ladder. i used to be poor too. Get it fellow Malaysians?!!

• The problem with BMW is…it is too popular and getting too common nowadays in Malaysia.

So many previous generation 5 series on the road now.

Spending rm1mil on this car doesn’t really shows the price tag on the car, so not worth it. People who drive this price range of car don’t mind showing off, and unique is a must. BMW is just too common and similar now.

I like Porsche 911 the latest 991 model. It is unique, lovely tail design, and all praises from reviewers. Going to be my next car in 10 years time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • BMW BEST on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:53 pm

that is previous generation,you can also see many merc and audi on the road nowaday…but 6 series is something really unique and gorgeous,not to mention an M6!

• Xefron on Nov 16, 2012 at 7:23 pm

In Malaysia

RM988,800-You get BMW M6 Coupe

RM98,880-You almost get VW Polo Sedan.

Denggg.

• What a waste of money. Seriously. We are made to believe that buying all these expensive cars will make us happier & fullfilled. No wonder why we are living in an era where neighbours don’t even know each other, what more to have people who are willing to help others in need.

• kingston on Nov 16, 2012 at 11:30 pm

In the US this is a RM330K car,How is it possible that they can charge 3x as much(RM990K),seriously mad la our government :/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • lembu jinni on Nov 17, 2012 at 1:30 am

M3 already well known GTR killer
    Now M6 makes F430 sleepless nights

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • you guys there can easily hv dis baby, today go to magnm, toto, kuda shop to order $988B-988S, nxt day bring along ur darling to BMW dealer to buy in cash, 1 for you, & 1 for ur darling and you still hv 2 mils to survive