First Renault Sport ‘teh tarik’ convoy by TCEC

TC Euro Cars, distributor of Renault cars in Malaysia, organised the first teh tarik and convoy session last weekend. As a platform to kick start the Renault Sport Owners Club, the event attracted 20 cars and 40 participants.

The day started at TCEC’s Renault showroom in Petaling Jaya, where the group of Megane RS 250 and Clio RS 197 cars started a convoy led by GM of TCEC, Reza Mutalib. They headed to Matrade, which played host to the Asia Klasika 2012 show. The show, which our sister site oto.my sponsored, showcased plenty of beautiful classics, including the Sultan of Johor’s private collection. Read our event report here.

After the event, the convoy headed back to the PJ showroom for the TT session and dinner at the showroom restaurant, Backerei Garden Café. The enthusiast owners, who occasionally exercise their cars at Sepang during RS exclusive track days, had fun catching up with each other, while TCEC took the opportunity to gain feedback and insights from the owners.

I’d love to join someday, but will first need to settle the small matter of owning a Megane RS!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• damn syiok. i wish i can own one :(

• Sam Loo on Nov 16, 2012 at 7:23 pm

This one depreciates more than kimchis. Can get at 50% off after 6 months

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
      • Fahmi on Nov 17, 2012 at 1:15 am

This guy above always talk about nothing but resale value..Who cares, if you so afraid about low resale value, find another crappy, over rated, under spec car…

• Astra VXR on Nov 17, 2012 at 1:22 am

kimchis got expiry date, better fully utilize before end of life as scrap.
        megane RS250 will depreciate gracefully as a collector’s car.

• Is Renault Megane considered as sport car? Or is it only a coupe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Lenny Lim on Nov 16, 2012 at 2:55 pm

Hi,

First of all, Thank you for covering the Event on the Renault Megane TT. However, I would like to add-on to what was written or rather improve on the accuracy but first let me introduce myself.

My name is Lenny and i’m a currently the president of this new Renault Megane Club which is officially called “RenaultSport RS Collectif”. We currently have about 30+ members and are actively trying to gather more.

Secondly, the TT was initiated by the club itself as a form of bringing all the owners together and making them known the club’s existence. Which then, We asked for TCEC’s support if we could use their premise and support which they have gracefully agreed hence the entire event.

I hope, this would add some clarification to the article that was posted. Thanks.

Regards,
    Lenny Lim

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • almost say bye bye to roc on Nov 16, 2012 at 7:17 pm

So Mr Lenny, it is organized by the club not TCEC.Btw, i wish i can be one of your TT family soon.But i got bit confused about the megane available in Msia.I research on web, the 2012 facelifted rs came in black and special metallic yellow,the front DRL’s is 6 bulb not 3 and the interior dash was black, and the RPM dial bg is white not yellow.Not so sure what i found on web is spec for the throphy 265 or cup 250.Can u explain a bit about this.

• RSwanson on Nov 17, 2012 at 10:00 am

Hi bro,

I can explain. The 265 is the facelift version of the 250. It’s got an additional 15hp that’s accessible by pressing the ESP button, slightly improved exhaust notes, and a better audio system.

At the moment, only the 250 is available in Malaysia. The 265 will probably be launched here sometime next year and it’s likely to cost more than the 250 too, in line with worldwide pricing. If you’re keen on the Megane, by all means get one now. The additional hp won’t be worth the few thousand RM extra and you can easily get more power than that through a remap.

Either way, you’ll definitely love the car!

• Almost say bye bye to roc on Nov 17, 2012 at 7:08 pm

RSwanson, thanks for your explaination.i test drove this car at TCEC last Wed.it was great driving experiences.the downside i found only the poor sound system (but who cares,its megane rs right) and the driver seat fabric already look like eaten by giant cockroach ( maybe because its the only test car available and its not leather like the special edition).mmm can’t wait the answer from the finance.hope everything work as i wish.

• RSwanson on Nov 18, 2012 at 3:46 pm

Did you test drive it around 1pm? If you were behind a grey Megane at the Phileo Damansara traffic lights, that was me.

Good luck with your financing! Hope to see another Megane on the road.

• Bujang Lapuk on Nov 16, 2012 at 3:04 pm

Ooooh, lovely lovely Renaults!

• start-a-fight on Nov 16, 2012 at 3:11 pm

what a beautiful sight!

• wuttaheck on Nov 16, 2012 at 3:42 pm

cannot park properly in the box meh?

• People who pay more than RM200k for a manual gadget-less no-nonsense fast car…..my kind of people :)
    RESPECT!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • This car is for real drivers ! No need peep though the window to see manual or auto.

• Severe Tyre Damage on Nov 16, 2012 at 4:53 pm

Does it open for Megane R26 owners aswell?

• RSwanson on Nov 17, 2012 at 10:03 am

I don’t see why not. Contact Lenny Lim or TCEC about this joining.

• janus mun on Nov 16, 2012 at 5:10 pm

renault megane RS 250 is a sportcar…..go try it out n u will know…its a track car made fr the street….more comfy than honda civic type-R(FD2R)….but i dont think can win over a FD2R….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • yamaha hamaya on Nov 17, 2012 at 1:13 am

u r right
      Megane rs250 lost to FD2R in terms of less doors 2 vs 4 and car dimension hatch-back vs sedan. LOL

• Honda Sucks on Nov 22, 2012 at 5:54 pm

gila ? hahaha type r also lose breath doing drag or long run with golf gti inikan pulak megane rs with 250HP ++ :-) .. type r baru 220HP bro.. jgn lupe!

• yamaha hamaya on Nov 17, 2012 at 1:08 am

Renault should rewards there Megane Sports owners with Cognac session convoy Not cheapo teh-tarik!

• Fahmi on Nov 17, 2012 at 1:16 am

Wow!! Lots of “SATRIA R3″….

• Fahmi on Nov 17, 2012 at 1:18 am

I mean 2 door hot hatches like VW Scirocco R and MINI Cooper S…

• TCEC, if you really want to get good sales for Renault…. Try to learn from the marketing strategy of VW Malaysia !!!

• These megane doent look good. Civic type r is a much better purchase. Vtec much more faster n stronger. And who is renault compared to honda. A wiser man shud opt for honda civic rather than these unreliable n n9 vtec machines

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11