Honda Earth Dreams 2012 – 1.5 litre i-VTEC DI engine and G-Design Shift CVT sampled, CR-Z facelift tested

The Sport Hybrid systems, including the all-new single-motor Intelligent Dual-Clutch Drive, weren’t the only highlights at the 2012 Honda Meeting – Earth Dreams Technology showcase held in Japan. Honda also previewed its new direct-injection mills, in both 2.4 litre and 1.5 litre guise. The two Earth Dreams inline-four units wear fresh CVTs as well.

The 1.5 litre twin-cam DI unit, which offers 127 hp and 154 Nm, has both VTEC and VTC as well as auto stop-start in the inventory. The 11:0 compression NA unit features a new lightweight block construction, with active measures to reduce friction.

Key tech employed includes low-tension piston rings, a two-stage relief oil pump, high-tumble port, mass EGR and patterned piston coating. In terms of improvement, torque is up by 6%, and efficiency by 5% over a similar existing powertrain.

As for the CVT, the transmission wears a G-Design Shift badge, and for this one the company states that a “new cooperative control achieves ‘the joy of operating’ the car.” Such imagery aside, the new 6.2 ratio unit is claimed to have a quicker response, better efficiency and wider range.

Reduced friction is on the cards, as well as the employment of a new CVT transmission fluid. Elsewhere, the design incorporates a new high-precision pulley pressure control, high-efficiency oil pump and a new high-strength belt.

The new power and drivetrain was on a Fit at Tochigi, and there was a chance to try it out on the high-speed banked oval – the upper lane was closed off at the banked sections, but there was still ample acreage to stretch the car’s legs as part of what the company tagged the ‘Acceleration Fun’ part of the event.

Tuned towards offering economy without sacrificing drivability, the unit isn’t a veritable powerhouse, but it’s energetic enough. It’s also impressively smooth, especially the CVT. There’s none of the rubber-banding characteristics associated with the type, and what was coming off the unit was rather direct, almost auto transmission-like in feel.

The engine itself is quite willing, lively as it climbs up the rev range, and the smoothness carries through to higher band operation. A simple round across Tochigi won’t reveal what it’s like in the real world, so things will have to wait until it – presumably – debuts on the new Fit to show what it can really achieve, especially with regards to fuel consumption.

The bigger displacement unit, the 2.4, has pretty much the same bag of tech tricks seen on the 1.5 DI, with the inclusion of a double-arm chain system into the list. Output torque has been increased by 10%, and efficiency is up by 4% over the current unit. As for power output, the new 2.4 DI offers 184 hp at 6,400 rpm (188 hp in Sport trim) and 243 Nm at 4,000 rpm.

Aside from the two DI units, there were other engines on static display – the new 1.6 litre Earth Dreams i-DTEC turbodiesel, which will make its market debut in the new Civic hatchback in Europe in January, as well as a research three-cylinder petrol turbo mill.

No details were available for the three-cylinder turbo, and none were again forthcoming from the Honda engineers despite some serious prodding, but the unit does look rather 1.0 EcoBoost-esque in intent and form. It does look like Honda is viewing the downsizing card and at alternatives quite intently – might be that something like this would bridge the gap from its 1.5 DI to its 660 cc mills quite nicely.

Speaking of 660 cc mills, we had the chance to take out the recently-launched N-One kei car, in both normally-aspirated and turbo forms. The NA version offers 57 hp at 7,300 rpm and 65 Nm at 3,500 rpm, while the turbo delivers 63 hp at 6,000 rpm and 104 Nm at 2,600 rpm. The N-One only comes with a CVT, and from what was gathered at the event, that also wears a G-Design Shift badge.

The car looks cute, in a kitschy way – I quite like the front end, actually. The interior is rather neat too, if spartan. The front bench looks novel and there’s a decent number of cubbyholes for storage, and a push-button ignition and auto AC keeps it all tidy.

Around the track, belting it seemed a poor idea, especially with the NA, given that it’s really meant as a city car, but aside from a wooly steering at speed and some wind noise, the N-One gave a decent account of itself. Its behaviour is clean and the overall spirit is definitely perky. The turbo went around much easier, naturally, but performance isn’t the be all and end all – in Japan, it’s the cheaper NA that sells far better.

Such is the case too with the gangly N Box, which was at Tochigi in its turbocharged form, complete with Custom dress-up kit – the engine is the same unit as that on the N-One, and has identical figures.

Like the N-One, the normally-aspirated N Box does much better than its turbo sibling in terms of sales, but Japanese consumers do opt to dress it up with the Custom kit – it’s 50-50 basic and Custom as far as sales go, I was told.

Inspired by what the N-One achieved, I decided to let rip with the N Box, and at 130 km/h going into the middle lane of the bank, images of the vehicle tottering over flashed in my mind, but aside from a complete drop in steering weight, it chugged along happily.

As far as drive character goes, think of it as a bigger N-One. It’s not the prettiest thing, the N Box, but it is eminently practical (plenty of space at the back with the rear seats folded down), and sales reflect its popularity in Japan.

Last, but not least, the facelifted CR-Z. The example at Tochigi was an auto mule, but the additional juice incorporated into the revision helps add zip – you should temper your expectations, because it’s not jaw dropping, but there’s a definite improvement, notably going into the midband.

I finally figured out how the S+ button operates. Press it, and you get all the available power the car can muster, but the battery has to be at least four bars full; any lower and the system is unavailable. When available, a ‘S+ Ready’ indicator lights up on top of the battery meter display.

Operation is accelerator pedal dependent. The moment you ease off on it, the system disengages and goes back to normal output. Things are also good for a moderate time only, but it’s long enough for something like overtaking.

No word on when the car will arrive on our shores, but given that production of the pre-facelift model is all but over, you can work the math as to when it’ll tentatively arrive here. Oh, and apologies for not grabbing any pix of the CR-Z’s interior – there was simply too many things going on, and by the time I remembered we had left for the next section!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• i saw a juara!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 19
  • Funny that they still haven’t realized that adding a turbo into the 1.5L engine will boost the torque to 80% and more. But they somehow magically did it in the 660cc..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 15
    • rasyah on Nov 17, 2012 at 10:26 am

Funny la you..we’re talking about the honda NA engine..dont u realize since vtec was intro, most of the siR and type r engine can compete the others make n model engine ie turbo..supercharge n so on..that is why honda call NA technology..just a two cents comment from vtec type r fans!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • Yes I realized. But don’t you realized VTEC has been losing the efficiency war (even the power war) to the turbo pots. Wake up, turbo is the next age. Someone knock it into Toyota’s senses, I hope someone manage to knock it into Honda san as well.

Time to embrace the next change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
        • Honda F1 made 1.6l V6 turbos in the 80s, time to bring those back i guess! haha

• Sam Loo on Nov 18, 2012 at 4:35 pm

Some are still in the cradle back in the 80’s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • problem with making reliable turbo engines is costs especially with the current trend of 4-5 years warranty. another problem with turbo engines especially in jap engine is people like to tune or overboost them. it is also one of the reasons why toyota stopped production of the supra and the new gt86 doesnt have turbo

• rasyah on Nov 19, 2012 at 2:00 am

Noted that both NA & turbo engine have their own pros n cons..for me maybe honda have their own gud reason why not put in turbo into their car..NA engine is fun to drive especially sir & type r model only, so till i die will always go for vtec..i do respect ur opinion bro

• i-vtec boring one, have to rev rev rev each time to get power, turbo no need one, you can get it instantly lol

• rasyah on Nov 22, 2012 at 10:26 am

bdfg – do you know what vtec or i-vtec is?do you know about their technology & do u know why honda created vtec engine?google it..go for turbo if you dont know all the question above!!!

• momok on Mar 31, 2013 at 11:37 pm

vtec for saving n power. u drive slow valve open small.. high rev vtec activate valve open big. no need turbo as well + hgh maintenance also. vtec is successfully engine compare to vvti-campro-dvvt etc

• bmw owner on Apr 06, 2013 at 12:33 pm

years ago.. BMW said its a No, NO to their car, when Mers start with the supercharger/ kompressor.. and their are pround with NA M series.
            Now everything got turbo..twin somemore…

• Established companies like honda or toyota have their own philosophy and vision, for the really long term..
          Yes, the europeans are advance in turbos, and rite now it seems that downsizing with turbo is the recipe for power and effieciency…but t he japanese dont want to be the follower, and be the second best…they want to create and carve out the technological trend belongs to them. Look at how toyota focused on hybrid tech long time ago, and today the european turbos like: BMW is collarborating with toyota for hybrid tech, volkwagen, audi, porsche start producing hybrids…Recently, the latest hypercars from ferrari, mclaren hv been incoperated with hybrid tech…Why ferrari never turbo-charge their engines, and put a hybrid into their fastest road car in history? I think they see what toyota ,honda, mazda etc see too…
          If the japanese companies are using turbos nowadays, ( eg infinity borrows from mercedez, toyota with BMW..), thats for the short term gain ie : penetrating europe markets.
          Turbo, as what we see now, might be the future, but who dares to say hybrid is not? The focus in different technologies from different car companies is the key to open up more possibilities for advancement in mobility. The result of combination of technologies or the ideas will create something even better…
          So, let the japanese do what they do best for now, bcoz they are not stupid, they now what they are doing.
          They are not losing the wars, they are only losing some battles if u insist, but the war will never end.
          Sorry if u feel this is boring.

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 16, 2012 at 9:05 pm

I prefer driving N-one to commute in the city rather than myvi. Please bring it here. And price it reasonably. Let say 40-50k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
    • armandd on Nov 16, 2012 at 11:27 pm

Hmm, I wonder why… Perhaps because it’s a Honda?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
      • frenzy on Nov 17, 2012 at 12:42 am

No, it’s the 660 turbo engine which pay low road tax and have good amount of horsepower compare to kancil. It used latest technology from Honda without having too much electrical. Most importantly, it’s assembled in japan so the quality much better compare to Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
        • frenzy on Nov 17, 2012 at 12:43 am

I mean electronic, not electrica.

• no need la to ask open malaysia car manufacturing plant by honda and the rest of car maker.

• yeah those worker in Japan always better than Malaysian worker… maybe we need to replace all engineers in Malaysia with Japanese… better quality…. Malaysian only good as buyer… not working.. or manufacturing anything..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Or perhaps it looks cuter, if its built by proton or huanghai ill still buy it, quite hard to overcome the design of that car. Of course sad to say brand does play a role. :(
      But the new Myvi from some angle looks like the pig from angry bird or an angry bird .

• dozy888 on Nov 17, 2012 at 9:29 am

I feel Malaysian are a rich! Govt kindly Re-badge this N-One and subsidized this car.. Price it around RM8-28K.. Malaysian are rich! But please consider the not so privileged ones.. Why Tata Nano can price it’s cars at USD3K for Indian nationals but Malaysian cars are all so expensive?? Or are the unprivileged destine to ride motorcycles? Or Malaysian govt don’t care ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • usd3k oso indian national unable to buy maa..

• dozy888 on Nov 18, 2012 at 4:48 pm

At least someone made the effort to bring down the cost of ownership of owning a car..

• start-a-fight on Nov 19, 2012 at 9:22 am

and malaysian will complain that the car is not save and made from tin milo.. recycle somemore..

• Ohwell? on Nov 17, 2012 at 6:45 pm

40-50k? now you’re talking about the power of dreams :)

• So cute…the N-ONE!

• Who’s care what’s inside the car. I just look at the brand…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Severe Tyre Damage on Nov 16, 2012 at 11:11 pm

The N-One reminds me of my Kelisa.

• Power of Dream on Nov 16, 2012 at 11:22 pm

Honda N-one will never be rebadged as Proton. since it looks like an Iconic car.

maybe let it fully local made breed from Proton City in Tanjung Malim by utilizing the agreement with proton ? 660cc so should begin RM25k just like Viva. :D 660cc CVT for RM28k.

ps. N-1 is smaller than Viva, yet is meant to be Kei car in Japan.. Meaning it’s budget daily use car.

This would be meaningful of cash flow for both proton and honda.

• Can I elaborate on what is a Kei car here. From my knowledge you are not allowed to buy a car in Japan unless you have a parking space for it. If you don’t you can only have a Kei car, cars that are below 4m long, only have 660cc engine and a speed limited to 140kph. If I remember correctly they are meant to ease congestion and are taxed less and have yellow plates. In Malaysia cars like these , the Mira based viva and kancil, or the Move based kenari dun enjoy these kind of royalty. My mom used to have a kancil and stories of the car rocking in the turbulence of passing vehicles is kinda a scary. because of these perception of light small car are nothing but thin cans in the way of large reckless malaysian (lorry)driver and our road isn’t as well plan as Japan’s ,and there is no tax advantage, people will buy the bigger car, Myvi , Sagai. The N-one only advantage over the only other Kei car on sale here, the viva, is that it looks retro and cool. And I don’t think malaysian would want a 660cc car that is smaller than the viva. So no, as much as I like it, it won’t be coming here for the foreseeable future. Btw, Japanese Kei cars are the envy to all international car fans, and just add to that, there is no limit to the acceleration of kei cars. A 90s Daihatsu Mira( yes the kancil) avanzato TR XX 4wd can do 0-100 in under 6 sec.

• kawenih on Nov 16, 2012 at 11:38 pm

What? A new Honda engine but still using timing belt?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • thequestion on Nov 17, 2012 at 11:24 am

why, do you think timming chain is a new future thingy ?

• _xXx_ on Nov 19, 2012 at 12:08 am

why not? preve so new+advanced oso on timing belt wat?

• berkra on Nov 19, 2012 at 8:50 pm

why compare with preve, preve only jaguh kampung. compare with i-vtec la, civic so new using sohc only wat?

• frenzy on Nov 17, 2012 at 12:06 am

1.5 litre N/A 120+hp? It’s good actually!
    Correct me if i’m wrong.

• Yes you are wrong in the age of low inertia turbo.

Ford EcoBoost 1.0L, top end 120PS, 200NM from 1.3k rpm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
      • Sam Loo on Nov 18, 2012 at 4:40 pm

But not proven to be free of the sui kwan & kwai tai problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
        • Ok la, then you’re saying Toyota developing a sui kwan and kwai tai technology lo.. Dunno why they waste so much money to even develop it.

• rasyah on Nov 23, 2012 at 9:02 am

Honda L15A engine
      1.5 i-vtec
      120ps (roughly 118hp only)
      Roughly is good enough for daily driven

• The N-one is seriously a cute looking car. Price it at RM 45k at should provide a serious alternative towards the i10 or viva though I wonder ppl will accept 660cc engine. Although I am an anti-rebadge faction member, but I agree with Power of Dreams that it can be rebadge as a proton as long aesthetic wont be change much and priced below 35k horizon it could, I say could, be a success .The N-one is a Japan only Kei-car and Honda image which sells higher end cars here won’t be physically affected in Malaysia, altough this is only hunch and

• Must have accidentally press the submit comment button, complete one is down there

• Honda CRZ going facelift?
    suggest honda rename CRZ to CRY
    Imagine those driving hybrid CRZ are also hybrid species
    Homo-Sapien-Simien

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • The N-one is seriously a cute looking car. Price it at RM 45k at should provide a serious alternative towards the i10 or viva though I wonder ppl will accept 660cc engine. Although I am an anti-rebadge faction member, but I agree with Power of Dreams that it can be rebadge as a proton as long aesthetic wont be change much and priced below 35k horizon it could, I say could, be a success .The N-one is a Japan only Kei-car and Honda image which sells comparatively higher end cars here won’t be physically affected in Malaysia, altough this is only hunch and I am in doubts weather such a deal will solidify.
    The 1.5 DI at least show that Honda is still in the game of downsizing their engines, although the power could be a bit more promising. Will it be in the next gen Jazz/fit(said to be launch next yr) and city?
    Lastly the CRZ ,I wonder S+ will be available in manual. If it does it makes me want a CRz even more. reminds me of n2O from all the Nfs or fast and furious during school days. Now pray for a better financial backing. :)

• N box looks like a cheap copy of vellfire

• Kalun on Nov 17, 2012 at 7:27 am

Malaysians, unlucky for us. We can’t enjoy these cool Direct Injection VTEC because of our “Euro 2” fuel quality.

Hopefully Honda make a Turbocharge DI Honda CRZ. This will smoke those Toyota Prius Fans.

• _xXx_ on Nov 17, 2012 at 8:40 am

Good engines but why mate them with CVT? Where’s the fun of driving?

• why no turbocharged 1.0l, 1.2l, 1.4l, 1.5, 1.8 engines? it seems that they try not to compete against each other now. less healthy competition means less choices for customers and they can monopolise specific segments

• Honda is assembling a new army force..

• tokmoh on Nov 17, 2012 at 2:52 pm

N-one, N for Nippon (Japanese for Japan)?

Maka demikian, Proton haruslah me-rebadge-kannya kepada M-satu, atau Kereta Nasional 1Malaysia. Baru berbuah sikit MoU diorang tandatangan haritu.

• chrisg on Nov 17, 2012 at 4:20 pm

All brands, all cars that are introduced to the market should have a period of say 3 years before any cosmetic changes is allowed by law to be done to the car. I see a lot of cosmetic changes coming from toyo, hon, pro, per.

The pain and horror of new owners pre botox.
    Taken for a ride by manufacturers.

European cars dont do it, as often.

I dont know if the auto industry already has this in ruling. Evrthg is dictated by sales of course, if not selling well change the looks. But as a responsible manufacturer, you would not want to hurt your buyers.

Manufacturers now just have to give the best offerings they can, gadgets that some of you deem useless but still adds value to the driving pleasure. Not using consumers to test to acceptance of the car but already having a blueprint of a better looking equipped car of the same model to be sold in case this new released car sales dissapoints.

Crv just launched a year and half ago here? Now a better version will be out so soon..

Just my thoughts

• you are quite optimistic, and determine I have to say, to see T & H fall from grace. Exora, CRZ and Civic aside, I don’t see any cars from the manufacturer you just listed aggressively coming out with face lift. Hurt buyers? what about pleasing potential buyers? The CRZ Face lift give me even more reason why I like a CRZ, not only cosmetic, but mechanical changes as well and that’s what I call a proper FAcelift. I know that P1 and P2 cars gets better from the original shit the longer the cars stays in the market. Exp: My family has an Alza bought a month after its launch, and immediately it has problems, NVH is unacceptable, brakes makes sound like an old lorry, electrical having probs. While my friends mom who just got herself an Alza dose’t have any problems 2 months so far. Put it this way, mobile phone manufacturer changes their model every year. Just to face lift a car after a year and a half, and not just cosmetics, that’s progressing to please it’s customer to me. The only way you could hurt the present customer feeling is to sell it cheaper. And let me add this, Although it’s true that Conti car don’t facelift the car that often, every year, they add features/gadgets silently into a model that the previous model dose’t have. Eg: The Merc E class is going to be aggressively facelifted next year, the E class is launch a year before the the CRZ.

• chrisg on Nov 17, 2012 at 4:36 pm

Sometimes when a company becomes too big, leading for too long they become defensive. Worried abt maintaining their sales therefore selling the same proven tech and design lines ie toyo.

Whereas aggresive competitors start innovating and sell their USPs to customers. Offering more in perceived value. Like the Koreans.

The Europeans are always good in offering something different. Benchmark for luxurious motoring comes from the Germans.

But now its so globalised of course you dont call a kia a korean design. So its good. They know what buyers want.

You cant say the same abt toyo or honda. Typical jap looks and tech. So it will surely lose its position one day if toyo or hon do not start to listen to the buyers. Ppl going dual clutch, dry clutch, 7-9 speed, turbo and twin charging. But japs are still firm believers of cvt, (fiat started it if im not wrong), offering sh*t like dugong to the market here, naked camry.

Proton should be sharing platforms with the europeans or koreans. Jap is passe. Unless they wake up again. Im referring to auto industry.

My fav jap makes:
    GTR, engineering marvel(new)
    Mazda rotary
    Old toyotas, datsuns

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Oh, this is your comment as well, chrisg. Anyway words like typical japs and old tech may define you as a anti T&H faction member. Have you seen the international site lately on the new (UK)Auris and the teased RAV4? please don’t tell me thats a typical Japanese design(I don’t really how to define typical). Look at the Honda N-One, it looks retro. If you are solely pointing at the Malaysian distributor of T&H I don’t blame you, I am with you. But internationally they are are still good. I have nothing against the European cars, but you do realize VW ,Ford and pug aside, most European marques are a premium over the Japs, treated as a premium brand.
      And Proton to share platform with Korean marques? They make good design and quality is because those departments are led by Europeans, their driving dynamics and engine balance still plays second to the japs. And I do agree that Proton should JV with vee-dub or Ford, but VW went away and Ford is busy dealing with their home market. So none of them are available to Proton. You make it sounds like Honda makes sXXt. Honda tech are still respectable and although they don’t make things like eco-boost but looking at the EarthDream tech, they are still in the game albeit a bit slow .They still develop and built their own transmission system, instead buying it from Getreg or ZF(I am no fan of CVT). So If Proton(or DRB Hicom )be a good boy there should be good things coming from this JV, and I don’t mean re-badge.

• MoveOn on Nov 17, 2012 at 6:50 pm

Honda definitely made one of the best NA engines, well, turbo is actually proved to be effective also, compare to all those TEC stuffs:)

lets see where Honda can place themselves with the big boys from other side of the word;)

• Davinnci on Nov 17, 2012 at 11:25 pm

If this N one engine enter Malaysia market, Protong become Sotong for sure

• Hahahaha on Nov 19, 2012 at 10:09 am

if pricing is right that is, Honda always priced like a Honda never a proton or perodua. if its true then it will be a head to head competition with mirage

• nabill on Nov 18, 2012 at 12:30 pm

this ‘earth dream’ name should be wiped out…sounds lame….bt finally honda comes out with sting that can wow us n hav some nice technologies rather than jus run of the mill..its has been a looooooooong time coming….

• last time twin cam, then go back to single cam, then now return back to twincam……honda always make changes with no sense..like civic fd wiper also got many time design change…then finally spare part susah cari…n mahal

• mu_77 on Nov 18, 2012 at 7:45 pm

The N box looks unique. All these city ‘kei’ cars represents the symbol of japs auto. Fun and iconic.

Btw, I think we can see 2 different characters of East and West approach to automotive engineering. Canr really direct compare. But now turbo is the trend. Even Proton has decided to go FI.

• crz boo club on Nov 20, 2012 at 9:16 am

the most ugliest car ever…..now days in malaysia many jokers own this car their face structure like they own a supercar. Alo, its a damn hybrid la….

• now they just follow europe tecnology direct injection, clean engine?
    beware of carbon build up, thanks to malaysia fuel quality

• Jason Wong on Nov 28, 2012 at 1:27 pm

My Volkswagen Polo GTI can easily beat any of those car anytime.

• Driver on Nov 28, 2012 at 2:16 pm

Ya, your polo GTI can beat any of those car. But your driving skill can’t.