Mitsubishi in Malaysia: CKD local assembly in 2013, i-MiEV commercial sales starting next month

At the launch of the new Mitsubishi Mirage earlier today, Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia CEO Tetsuya Oda shed some light on the company’s future plans in Malaysia.

“With the addition of the Mirage, the Mitsubishi lineup in Malaysia grows to 11 models and we are well on track to achieve annual sales of more than 30,000 units by year 2015,” Oda said in his opening speech.

MMM’s target for the Mirage is 400 units per month, but 30k is an ambitious figure when one considers that the company’s target for this fiscal year ending March 2013 is 13,000 units.

How are they going to achieve it? Local assembly will help, and Mitsubishi’s CKD plan was also something Oda touched on. “For us to develop further, we are continously exploring to opt for local assembly and it is our mission to realise local assembling of cars by the end of 2013.” No local partner names were mentioned (although it’s certainly not Proton), so stay tuned for more updates as we flow into 2013.

Lastly, the head of MMM also announced that the company – the first to register an electric car in Malaysia back in October 2011 – will start commercial sales of the i-MiEV by the end of 2012. We’re already in November now, so expect an announcement next month. With no special EV tax break (it gets what hybrids get) the battery-powered minicar won’t come cheap – we’re expecting a sticker price of RM150k to RM160k.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• the greed toyolta on Nov 19, 2012 at 9:39 pm

lol…malaysia motors malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • hahahaha well spotted. i thought it was just me.

• alldisc on Nov 20, 2012 at 9:58 am

who prepared that slide?? so humiliating… working and FB at the same time, i think. just like me…

• someone already crop the photo

• mr_em on Nov 21, 2012 at 10:54 am

ya laar photos already cropped… may be at the request of Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia as to remove the evidence of “error” on their part… anyhow on a more positive note… no need to be nasty to humiliate the person(s) who prepared the presentation material…
          a nice gesture from paultan.org admin by cropping the photo…
          be nice to others hopefully others will be nice to you and me…

cheers

• f30er on Nov 20, 2012 at 10:50 am

It’s not typo, Malaysia Motors Malaysia is the subsidiary of Mitsubishi Motorola Malaysia.

Source:
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malaysia_Motors_Malaysia

• Anonymous on Nov 19, 2012 at 9:42 pm

We shall till next year’s new budget for the subsidize of the tax of EV vehicles in Malaysia.

• Power of Dream on Nov 19, 2012 at 10:06 pm

CKD mirage? not something gonna happened. This car is considere underpriced, due to the extreme low tax on this car at thailand @ only 10%.

If ckd mirage in malaysia, cost may increase. unless it’s ‘Made in Malaysia’ with parts from local instead of importing.

CKD model possible:
    Not mirage,
    Not lancer due to Inspira
    Not Triton 4wd due to extreme low taxed.

ASX suv, Lancer Sportbacks.
    but i dont think there will be demand for Sportbacks even at RM100k.

For great demand, CKD ASX suv at RM99k. others are considered niche market. CKD wont bring any good.

Maybe, i hope for new Mitsu to arrive in malaysia? whole new sedan at RM65k-80k range to counter Nissan Almera?

• RM 150 k for the privilege to brag to your neighbors and friends :”HEY!!!! WHAT’S THE CURRENT FUEL PRICE!!!HAHAHA!!!”. Nope! would go for a hybrid. And where are the charging station in KL or PJ.
    Although thanks Mitsubishi for choosing Malaysia as a manufacturing plant, where others would run to Thailand and Indonesia

• boyolta on Nov 20, 2012 at 12:25 am

i think nobody hoped that Oda-san saw “Malaysia Motors Malaysia” on the presentation slide or someone’s head would roll. :)

• Malaysian don like local assembly…no quality they said…better assemble in thai only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • 2wheelers on Nov 21, 2012 at 12:20 pm

well said…we Malaysian dont have the quality and competency to do anything

• skiborne on Nov 20, 2012 at 12:45 am

is that “Malaysia Motors Malaysia” i see?

• gOOsh on Nov 20, 2012 at 8:08 am

“Malaysia Motors Malaysia”… nampak sangat lar the material not properly prepared & checked…

• malaysia motors malaysia – the idiot who prepared the slide is trying to embarass mitsubishi obviously

• Chow1 on Nov 20, 2012 at 10:19 am

Too much 1Malaysia Ad, the Malaysia keeps coming to brain.

• lance on Nov 20, 2012 at 11:10 am

Quick Question – as far as I know, JPJ don’t have an official way of charging road-tax for EV (cars without an internal combustion engine; C.C.)

I’ve always been curious about that … but I guess it’s “Apa Pun Boleh lar System” right?

Anybody got any idea? One Road Tax price for all E.V.s?

• Xefron on Nov 20, 2012 at 12:24 pm

must be industrial trainee who prepared the slides.LULZ

• intermilan on Nov 20, 2012 at 2:33 pm

30k unit per year?
    Angan-angan taik ayam..

• Malaysia Motors Malaysia – still having re-badge in mind for their “high performance” vehicles. :)

• Wait! Not typo error. In future all ckd also have new badge of Malaysia instead of mitshibishi. Give re-badge a whole new meaning. Hahaha

• Wonder if Danny is being asked by Paul Tan to delete or edit all the “Malaysia Motors Malaysia” comments posted here to avoid further embarrassment to MMM. oops…that’s the ninth time is was mentioned. LOL

• alldisc on Nov 21, 2012 at 2:40 pm

which one you meant deleted, Malaysia Motors Malaysia??

oopss… tenth time. spilled the beans again!!

• Learn Ping on Nov 22, 2012 at 5:16 pm

i-MiEV is finally here for sale. Well, RM150k++ is really a price for the $$$ people. Good for the $$$.
    $$$ guys & gals should act first.