Mitsubishi Mirage officially launched – RM55k to 63k

UPDATE: Official studio images and scanned spec sheet added

After months of teasing and pre-launch announcements, Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) launched the new Mitsubishi Mirage in KL this morning. Osamu Masuko, president of Mitsubishi Motors Corporation Japan, officiated the launch of the Thai-made compact car.

The Mirage is powered by a new 3A92 1.2 litre three-cylinder engine with MIVEC. The DOHC three-pot unit makes 78 PS (at 6,000 rpm) and 100 Nm of torque (at 4,000 rpm), and MMM is keen to highlight the lightweight hatchback’s 21 km/l fuel consumption measured in the New European Driving Cycle (NEDC). That’s impressively close to what some compact hybrids can do.

By the way, the lean and trim Mirage weighs just 825 kg, or 850 kg for the CVT, enabling Mitsu to get away with a smaller capacity engine for the Mirage, which is classified as an eco-car in Thailand. MMM says that there’s no direct competitor with a similar concept in Malaysia, but price point rivals include the Perodua Myvi and Suzuki Swift.

The base GL model comes with a five-speed manual transmission. The self-shifting Mirage uses an INVECS-III CVT gearbox, and this can be had in GL spec or top-of-the-range GS with all the bells and whistles. The manual GL is priced at RM55,583, the CVT GL RM60,453 and the top-spec CVT GS costs RM63,375. These prices are on-the-road excluding insurance.

The rest of the hardware are as expected of a car in this segment. The suspension consists of front MacPherson struts and a rear torsion beam, the front brakes are vented discs and the rears are drums, while the steering is of the electric EPS variety. Speaking of steering, the Mirage boasts a turning circle of 4.4 metres, which is best in class. All trim levels wear 14-inch alloys with 165/65 rubber.

Features wise, the top-spec Mirage comes with quite a bit of goodies usually associated with bigger cars. The GS gets Smart Key keyless entry with push start button, digital automatic air-con and leather wrapped steering wheel/gear knob.

All variants get a two-DIN Kenwood audio system with USB, iPod and AUX interface and Bright View instrument cluster. Outside, only the GS gets a spoiler and fog lamps. Across the board, safety features include two airbags, ABS, EBD, ISOFIX child seat mounts and front seatbelts with pre-tensioner.

The Mirage can be had in five colours – Lemonade Yellow Metallic, Eisen Grey Mica, Red Metallic, White Pearl and Cool Silver Metallic. A live example of every colour is in the gallery below.

MMM is also offering optional equipment that can be fitted at the dealership. Buyers can add on an Aero Package (front/rear corner extension, side sill extension, side window deflectors RM1,999), Chrome Package (fog lamp garnish, front bumper plating garnish, tailgate garnish, scuff plates, RM750), Ralliart fuel lid cover (RM150) and “smart fit” leather seats (RM1,500). The green car you see here wears all the exterior add-ons.

The visiting Masuko told us that the Mirage has been very well received in Thailand, with over 45,000 orders collected since March this year. The Thai-made Mirage was launched in Japan in August, and close to 12,000 orders have came in. In Malaysia, MMM has over 500 bookings on hand, 90% of which are for the top-spec GS CVT.

Full gallery from the launch after the jump. Read our preview drive story here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• The Enthusiast on Nov 19, 2012 at 3:33 pm

This car is very cheap. In fact, only the top-ranging variant seems worth buying. Interior looks decent too. But my real question here is will it sway by a gentle breeze? Hahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 96
    • Kambeng on Nov 19, 2012 at 7:26 pm

wait another 1 or 2 years Proton going to rebadged just like Lancer > Inspira

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 61
    • yes, very very cheap. should be best seller after myvi. mistubishi ma like toyota and honda, can sell well only with badge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 29
      • T and H r different if M can sell well here why did they let p1 to rebadged Lancer? Rather get a Fiesta or Polo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
      • i check cheapest mirage thai spec.. no audio system, no ABS, no EDB, 1 airbag, no central locking sys, power window front onli, no driver height adjuster…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • Obama on Nov 19, 2012 at 10:48 pm

Value to money, Nissan Almera still the wiser choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 50
      • Power of Dream on Nov 20, 2012 at 1:12 am

value to money. preve still the best choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 105
        • haha… dafuk what u say? buy higher cc only keep people in government getting rich,,,, suck their ass. mirage powerfull maaaa,,, preve is “tin milo” maa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
          • STILL THE BEST CAR IS VW . U ALL BETTER GO TRY TEST DRIVE THEN U KNOW WHY…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
        • rafiq on Jun 16, 2013 at 9:54 am

Almera.uses.timing.chain=Maintenance.cheap
          Previe.uses.timing.belt==Maintenace.high
          Mirage.1.2cc==.3.cylinder==RM65,000..very.veryvery..expensive.
          How.come.you..guys.keep.saying.cheap.U.
          guys.must.be.loaded.
          Malaysians.arepoor.ma.unlike..u rich.people.

• and get 1 airbag for lowest spec..yes value for money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • JUNJUN on Nov 20, 2012 at 10:46 am

i saw this car in thailand last mont..it better than myvi…i like the front lamp…it challenger nissan march kia picanto

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
    • Malaysia_Boleh_Tipu on Dec 01, 2012 at 10:24 pm

Check out the starting price (converted to RM) in :
      India – RM 27,412.7316
      Filipina – RM 37,188.6015
      Thailand – RM 37,777.4906
      Japan – RM 38,997.0986
      UK – RM 41,517.2858
      Australia – RM 43,184.3845
      Indonesia – RM 44,212.1803
      Into your face, idiots! Inflated price like that you call cheap? You can buy Hyundai Elantra 1.8 Full Spec in US with that much money!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 3
      • BE END NO MONEY MA… SO SELL EXPENSIVE TO SUCK UR BLOOD TILL DRY …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
        • Rakyat_Malaysia on Dec 25, 2012 at 10:53 am

not BN no money la bro.. it’s those fcuk*ng rascals in umno especially that Mamak Kutty and his sons of a b*tch made NAP their way of filling up their families piggy bank.. it’s so obvious now.. that’s why that Mamak Kutty always interferes when NAP issues are brought up by Rakyat.. Najib and other corresponding ministers are only acting dogs of this Mamak Kutty.

• good option if you don’t like hybrid car i think.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
  • TS.Lim on Nov 19, 2012 at 3:38 pm

Will it be a bit expensive with the spec offered?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
  • Cheah Tat Cheong on Nov 19, 2012 at 3:41 pm

I hate to say this but the girls make the car look much nicer than it is…which makes it a Mirage in more ways than one, get it? :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 17
  • Ngan Tengyuen on Nov 19, 2012 at 3:47 pm

The price is quite reasonable when compared to MyVi or Viva. I think this will sell reasonably well.

So many MyVi on the road, kind of sick of it. I hope there will be a sea of change, a more diverse number of cars. Only in Communist Russia where everyone drives the same car – Lada.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 22
    • Hyundai de la junk on Nov 19, 2012 at 4:24 pm

Only in communist country people driving a same car ? How about south Korea ? Anyway this Mirage look damn boring & lame, don’t think it would sell well, 165/65 tayar sotong lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 111
      • why would u want to use wide/big size tyre like those ah beng on myvi and viva?? it’s a city car.. dont u get it?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 16
        • Hyundai de la junk on Nov 19, 2012 at 6:31 pm

Come on at lease a 175.

165 is really pathetic !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 44
          • jalan54 on Nov 20, 2012 at 2:11 am

175 for what? Such small car with small engine, 175 so that it consume more petrol?

If u haven’t tested out the car yet, pls don’t give shitty comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 7
        • yourMamas on Nov 19, 2012 at 8:07 pm

don’t blame him….he’s a rookie…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 9
      • Ridz1 on Nov 20, 2012 at 7:58 am

boy…. South Korea is not a Communist country…get your fact right otherwise u just made urself look stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
        • he meant that south koreans all drive the same car, hyundai and kia. not that its a communist country. chill.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
        • I think what his trying to say Is that s.korea all drive the same car
          Which is still wrong, upper class still buy jap premium(infinity/Lexus) or Cadillac . Even in Soviet Union the high politburo member drive scary and big Zil on specially reserve Zil lane

• Er.. not so mate. I’m living here in Russia and my average neighborhood has a healthy mix of germans, from porsches to vw, japanese and korean cars as well. Of course there are more Ladas comparatively, but not by much because Renault Logans that are priced rather competitively are getting a lot of love from the locals these days. Maybe “drove” is the word, but that’s no longer the case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
      • Do you have a Zil , I really want a Zil in Malaysia. That feeling of power that no merc can give.

• From friend that lived and worked in UKR and RUS, he said there are sea of Toyotas and other metal from Japan and Germany that its totally unreal for someone to imagine.

• YES…. FULLY AGREED…

• polo saga on Nov 19, 2012 at 3:58 pm

very small car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • OMG…the girls looked nicer than the car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
  • Unlike the Honda Brio, the Mitsubishi Mirage is sold in Japan as well. This means that it has to comply with strict Japanese regulations, which can only be a good thing. Although the exterior design may be dated, this is still a great car through and trough. Personally, for RM63k +, I’d much rather top up another 10k and get the Proton Preve CFE instead. Just my opinion. You don’t have to agree with me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 71
    • Couldn’t agree more.
      Even at RM60k ++, we can get a Preve CVT IAFM which is a reasonably good bargain. Bigger cabin & boot space, better handling and more or less the same safety features – considering the fact that Malaysian drives like mad nowadays.

Unless, we are specifically looking for a smaller class of cars and willing to spend RM60k ++ for this 1.2L car which I feel is a bit too expensive.

Anyway, let us have a test drive first. Who knows it might give a different impression.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 10
      • i like your commment..think positive..test drive first and you know the differents..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Really, test drive first…..similar scenario. Golf 1.4TSI or Camry 2.0G??? Test Drive first….and you will know Camry wins hands down…only on cabin space.
        Now Proton cars are notorious for high maintenance cost

• u know what? preve should be under 40k maa,,,, bru kereta rakyat. cc 1.6 (more higher to road taxes value)

• Zapruder on Nov 20, 2012 at 3:19 pm

Actually it’s for the rich who got 1 Alphard for their family balik kampung, and then drive BMW to go to work. Then they’ll buy Mirage for goin to wet market and pasar malam and Giant during weekend coz it’s small hence easy to park. At least that what i always saw in Kelana Jaya area.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • OMG…the interior was simple and nice, at least better than the ugly N.Almera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 19
  • Dkson on Nov 19, 2012 at 4:21 pm

This car is Myvi ,Swift size or Viva Alto size ?

• Myvi size with ViVA weight.. but interior is best in class based on what Mitsu FB said..dunno true or not

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • the greed toyolta on Nov 19, 2012 at 10:39 pm

Definitely myvi size.

Dimension……Length Width Height Wheelbase

myvi…….. 3750 1665 1550 2440

suzuki swift….3695 1690 1500 2380

mirage……….3710 1665 1500 2450

viva……….. 3575 1475 1530 2390

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
  • Team Xtina on Nov 19, 2012 at 4:31 pm

The price for the high-line ain’t tempting. Almera at RM69,800. Should be lower than 60K…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
    • Allen on Nov 19, 2012 at 7:21 pm

but you are forgetting that the 69800 is the lowest line of almera while u get the highest line in mirage
      my experience with buying car is to get the highest line possible because those high line are the most bang for buck compared to getting lowest line

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
    • Team Xtina on Nov 20, 2012 at 11:16 am

Christina Aguilera- ‘Circles’ homage to the pricing & to the those who intend to do so, i.e. supporters who bash non supporters or vice versa.!

Nissan do extent your variant to include Almera 1.2 Surprise us with your affordability and the rest is history.

• Hisyam on Nov 19, 2012 at 4:31 pm

Woah killer price! So tempted now. Good job Mitsubishi! :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
  • farghmee on Nov 19, 2012 at 4:53 pm

no back grab-handle at the ceiling?

• Power of Dream on Nov 19, 2012 at 5:17 pm

This car is good. Built in Thailand, but export for Japan Domestic Market. In malaysia, we get the same car.
    In other words, JDM Mitsu Mirage at RM64k for a CVT!

Just 1 thing i’m real dissapointed. Nissan manage to lower down the car price at launch.

Why not Mitsu? So proud of your JDM Kosong car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
  • At (top trim) price and spec I say is Worth it .Altough imma no fan of CVT, but I think it’s a much better buy for a beginner (P) driver than a Myvi.

• yeah..agree with you..even if you buy the high spec extrme myvi with 61k with higher rate you dont get smart entry and push start button , fully auto aircond and so on..this car have same power like myvi 1.3 too..

• Dash board much better than plasticy almera

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • I reckon Mitsubishi is targeting the Myvi market.

Being a Mitsu, it couldnt be lower than Myvi…

• Queen on Nov 19, 2012 at 5:48 pm

You color it pink and it will look exactly like a baby PIG.
    In Malaysia even baby pigs cost in excess of 50,000….Khaaaak PTUUUI!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
  • Sam Loo on Nov 19, 2012 at 5:56 pm

Useless junk with no RV.

Toyota is much better than this junk from MMM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 58
    • Kent Loh on Nov 20, 2012 at 10:16 am

Toyota Yaris???
      Well its very hard to find a Yaris on the road even in Klang Valley.And don’t mention the useless junk Vios in this post.One is hatchback,one is sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • _xXx_ on Nov 19, 2012 at 6:05 pm

Better book now before the 2 incompetant sons complain to papa…then the story of Polo GTI repeats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • krizalid on Nov 19, 2012 at 6:05 pm

imagine how much actually the price of this car without tax..

• aduss on Nov 19, 2012 at 6:16 pm

LAGI JIMAT, LAGI BEST,:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • OilChange on Nov 19, 2012 at 6:25 pm

cleverly priced!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
  • jens lehman on Nov 19, 2012 at 6:34 pm

Overpriced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • DewaSemut on Nov 19, 2012 at 6:39 pm

My goodness… the back seat is sooo flat… but this Mirage give metal door scuff plates, unlike Preve :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Potibala on Nov 19, 2012 at 6:41 pm

Brim recipient , shut up if you cannot afford this car. Go and buy a kapchai and fill Ron 95

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
  • gt owner on Nov 19, 2012 at 7:10 pm

Hope this car won’ t be rebadged as Proton since Mitsubishi-Proton tie-up already finished.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Allen on Nov 19, 2012 at 7:16 pm

all i can say abt this car is
    you can have the FC of a hybrid without the need to worry about the reliability of the battery and the cost of replacing the battery
    i tested this car, and its pretty nice car actually

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • chrisg on Nov 19, 2012 at 7:49 pm

Good offering from Mitsubishi. Just dont add on the fugly sliver ahbeng fuel cap.

Small city car is not for speeding. Dont become like ahbeng asking for larger tyres like 666 said above.

If can afford slightly more, swift is 10//10. Good handling and trims, punchy engine. All swift owners can testify to that.

Good car for the budget.

Or go for Preve. Give proton the suppport. Just dont buy dugong even if they drop the price to rm60k. Utter rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 23
    • I will start a habbit by replying to chrisg.
      Until the new Swift comes, this will be the choice
      Until Proton show its future plan, Others will be my choice
      Until the next Dugong look and spec like a Korean(should be soon given the Auris in UK, City or Fiesta will be my choice
      Ta….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • NISSpengAN on Nov 19, 2012 at 7:53 pm

Nissan still the best..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
  • lan87 on Nov 19, 2012 at 8:42 pm

I love Mitsubishi since the time my dad bought his Galant back in the 80’s… until now I am still loving Mitsubishi’s car, but honestly the price is a bit steep for a compact car… yes, for 55k many would say it is better than Myvi or etc. But for 55k u get the high-spec Myvi (with leather seats and etc.)… I think Mitsu should start selling it around 48k to attract more buyers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • I love mitsu the day I open my Proton hood and saw the word Mitsubishi on the side of the engine block.

NAh quite impossible to be price below the Myvi, not CKD, not Malaysian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Omg the boot space.
    Almera is better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • first look = wow its mitsu..
    second look = is it Kancil?
    third look = This is Kia Picanto..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Jolly_idiot on Nov 19, 2012 at 8:55 pm

Ladies and gentlemen and all akua,

The new savvy or tiara is here. A big clap please….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 25
  • nighttrain on Nov 19, 2012 at 9:05 pm

why can’t people build pretty lil towncars.. dahla memang dibina HP dan torque rendah, at least the looks dept tu, comey sket ar.. ni hodoh. What’s a nice pretty hatch?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Fiat 500 and Citroen DS3/C3 is a pretty little hatch. Although it is Cheap in Europe, you have to pay a premium price in the southern most country that is physically connected to the Asian main continent

• DArkerMarker on Nov 19, 2012 at 9:05 pm

ralliart fuel lid gives 25hp extra….

• Kalun on Nov 19, 2012 at 9:06 pm

If it’s tax free, it would be competing with Perodua Viva. Rm30k full spec.
    This would be a great alternative for Viva and it offer more spec and safety features.

*IF IT TAX FREE LAH!

• koochai on Nov 20, 2012 at 8:34 am

take a peek at the price list
      there’s a whopping RM 20,000 difference in prices at langkawi & labuan vs rest of malaysia

• That’s mean the car price after tax is only 35k which mean not Mitsu but MY make the price high

• Good city car and for short distance drive. Its simple dashboard design put almera to a shame… Nissan interior forever ugly

• size like cherry qq /chevrolet mantiz…that price better buy preve right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • nighttrain on Nov 19, 2012 at 9:18 pm

Hate to say this about a KIA but the 2012 Picanto is a better looking city car, with a modern engine to boot, is it here already?

• I find that car has a HUGE front bumper, like the chin of jay Leno

• Bongcs on Nov 19, 2012 at 10:14 pm

Girls hurt you, car wont

• the greed toyolta on Nov 19, 2012 at 10:27 pm

if myvi with freaking expensive 62k price can sell so well…..i dont see why this cannot sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Iniesta Leong on Nov 19, 2012 at 11:15 pm

Equipment wise, it look decent. It being a jap make but the price is almost same range with myvi, reasonable pricing. It also equiped with keyless entry and push start button which you can normaly find in premium d segment car but I don’t think it will sell well as the myvi is so dominant in the Malaysia driver mind that it is the best car in the world and with good resell value. Mirage has an uphill task to get the job done

• RVP20 on Nov 19, 2012 at 11:24 pm

With that specs n that price….it would make preve is a steal now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Josh Ling on Nov 19, 2012 at 11:38 pm

For whoever bought this car, get ready to be asked “why this car and not Myvi (or maybe Almera, or some more popular and cheaper models)?” by people he/she knows. For me, this is a great model, just the price is killing it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • miskin on Nov 20, 2012 at 12:34 am

buruk ler penutup minyak tuh…..

• dass G on Nov 20, 2012 at 12:36 am

The front looks nice, but rear looks as if it was hit by a three tonne lorry.

• I completely agree the inverse, The front looks like a fish, the rear looks good for a small car

• Ajo haterz on Nov 20, 2012 at 4:37 am

Another option for malaysians as part from proton and perodua. Hope more options like this coming here to malaysia….

Habislah p2…..

• slimershine on Nov 20, 2012 at 4:40 am

Ralliart fuel cap rm150.. Whaattt? Even give free also i will throw it away. So ah-beng-ish.. Btw, for the price i will go for fiesta 1.4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Megane on Nov 20, 2012 at 4:45 am

Alahai Mitsui , tak payah la guna model cantik2 nie utk launch keta bargain basic small car , better save the cost and price the car lower haha . Guna budak sekolah pun boleh launch kereta nie

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • Should have allowed proton to rebadge this car at a competitive price to benefit proton, Mitsubishi and buyers.

• Abuya on Nov 20, 2012 at 8:38 am

Already saw last month. In my opinion, price is not attractive because you just need a few grand for Triton lite. Interior size almost like myvi. Dashboard and seat looks ordinary. But of course, the fuel consumption is very2 attractive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • I just test drive this small car recently. All look well except the tyres provided is a little bit noisy and bumpy if the roads condition is not the highway spec. This car is just nice for ladies to drive to work or just to send their small kids to school or go to shop. If you want to have a long distance driving, get a better car.

• Alvin on Nov 20, 2012 at 10:11 am

obviously this kind of car is not meant for long distance or high speed driving.

• fuel cell phone on Nov 20, 2012 at 10:09 pm

In the site, the stock tyre size is 165/65R14.
      Not many choices for this size of tyre.
      Perhaps can upsize to 175/65R14 or 185/60R14, which have more choices including XM2, and increases comfort due to thicker profile.

• koochai on Nov 20, 2012 at 8:48 am

saw a truckload of mirages near westport yesterday evening…quite nice butt :)

• i’d rather get a hyundai i10 full spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
  • Xefron on Nov 20, 2012 at 12:23 pm

must be industrial trainee who prepared the slides.LULZ

• Maserati on Nov 20, 2012 at 1:39 pm

Its a very good car for the price ur paying. Only thing is the CVt gearbox. Wonder how reliable is that gearbox.

• VWPASSAT owner on Nov 20, 2012 at 3:02 pm

Gonna see it to believe it n test drive it. Should be ok for my 2nd car aka wifey’s car….go to nearest kedai also can for me

• Semut on Nov 20, 2012 at 5:44 pm

48K jer kat sini(LGK) for top of the line….

• Equinox on Nov 20, 2012 at 6:14 pm

Nice price. Nice model. The problem is , difficult to get bank loan due to strict conditions imposed by bank negara. Many wonderful cars but can only watch and admire.

• This car, this look, this spec, this price: If it were sold in 2005 also it is not desirable nor competitive!

• DArkerMarker on Nov 20, 2012 at 8:16 pm

I think Mitsu trying very hard to get rid of old stocks of unwanted fuel lids…….

MAybe Mitsu think that MAlaysian would buy the lids without second thought…

The RAlliart lid is so out-of-place for this Mirage…

• mekoani on Nov 21, 2012 at 10:05 am

Then convert it to like this – http://th06.deviantart.net/fs71/PRE/f/2012/253/8/1/mitsubishi_mirage_wrc_ralliart_by_idhuy-d5e8cvg.jpg

• kamil on Nov 21, 2012 at 11:06 am

comparison between i10 vs alto vs mirage would be nice.. :)

• Pity. Myvi will cucuk this anytime.

• cardreamer on Nov 21, 2012 at 5:32 pm

Just test driven the car..my verdict is..NO!

If you are looking for a car of this size and at this price range, you certainly have better options than this Mirage..even Proton Saga drives and feels better than this..

Suzuki Swift is now going for the same price..and it drives far better, more solid and lot more refined than this one..

Things i don’t like about this mirage..

1. feels very light, steering very light too
    2. engine sound very bad..sounds not sweet at all
    3. material quality very cheap
    4. Interior design too simple and out of taste..
    5. Driver position very bad..
    6. not fun to drive at all..plain and dull..

and you compare all these once you drive a suzuki swift..and you’ll know..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • What were you expecting a Mercedes Benz luxury-like car with engine sounding like Porsche 911. Its 3cyl econo car targetting fuel consumption…

• Richard C. on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:56 pm

I wonder if the Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia people know the the what MIRAGE means. Its definition is : Something that appears real or possible but is not. That’s why it is called COLT elsewhere.

• Jilbaber on Nov 22, 2012 at 5:59 pm

This car is perfect on everything except it engine ! I wish it came with 4 cylinder instead missing one..

• name required on Nov 22, 2012 at 6:11 pm

mitsubishi gone boring this day. their cant make any exciting after lancer came out. unlike the old day

• name required on Nov 22, 2012 at 6:11 pm

mitsubishi gone boring this day. their cant make any exciting after lancer came out. unlike the old day

• HONDA & TOYOTA are worst LoL….
      look at ugly design car almera..latio…city accord brio jazz crz…
      are you blind monkey????…

• aku tak perduli pasal kereta itu…
    apa yang aku mahu adalah untuk menjilat kemaluan dan ketiak perempuan kiri dan kanan mitsubishi mirage hahahahaha….sapa yang tidak mahu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
  • Aston Martin on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:09 pm

I own small cars and think I can comment on this car. If it’s me, I wouldn’t get it. 850 kg is too light. the car will float if running too fast. I drove a Kelisa before. And at this price, might as well get Suzuki Swift. Evergreen design, more than 1000kg, fast and stable.

• Sorry to say i do not agree. I drive Viva 1.0EZI weighing 780kg never floats while achieving top speed of 165km/h. Pleas do consider the other main factor…..fuel efficiency. No matter how i rev with small car it will only cost me RM0.13/km. Try doing that with your favourite Swift!

• mesteri3d on Mar 15, 2013 at 3:57 pm

saya ada kereta mitsubishi mirage dan my mam ada Suzuki Swift… pendapat saya mirage ini sangat bagus dan jimat minyak dibanding dengan Suzuki Swift… walaupun body dia ringan saya rasa kereta ini tidak terbang… jangan bandingkan kelisa… itu design fall…

• We chould be more focused on the coming election in march 2013. Im voting so we ALL get tax free cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • INTO YOUR FACE on Nov 29, 2012 at 2:40 pm

CHECKOUT THE STARTING PRICE(CONVERTED TO RM)IN :-
    INDIA – RM 27,412.7316
    FILIPINA – RM 37188.6015
    THAILAND – RM 37777.4906
    UK – RM 41517.2858
    JAPAN – RM 38997.0986
    AUSTRALIA – RM 43184.3845
    INDONESIA – RM 44212.1803
    The list goes on.. and the cheating of mahathir and his sons goes beyond our control.. if mahathir dies, things will get better soon.. so lets pray that old blood-sucking bastard die early..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • it is not good to pray for someone death.. what if i pray for the death of your parents or child or someone you love? do you like it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • Ash Menon on Dec 13, 2012 at 3:51 pm

Don’t worry. If praying for someone’s death actually worked, Sami Vellu and Mahathir would have died a loooooong time ago.

• Praise god on Dec 13, 2012 at 10:20 pm

For lower car price,, Amen!

• Bataman on Nov 23, 2013 at 11:38 pm

Why keep converting to RM and complain? Like everyone else don’t know the high tax rate imposed? What can you do about it? If you got money, migrate and buy cheap car elsewhere. For the rest of here still in this country for various reason, the Mirage is still a cheap car if you’re looking for a non-local car.

Don’t act smart but behave foolishly.

• dzuandiey on Dec 06, 2012 at 8:41 pm

wow…wanna grab it one.. :-)

• dad8home on Dec 09, 2012 at 11:30 am

The best car to own with its own class. I’m sure to grab one soonest. We are talking about cars here not about people without manners,

• walk me on Dec 10, 2012 at 5:29 pm

stop talking shit and go buy that shit now. Walk your talk then come back here and share with the rest of us and let us know how proud you are, if you have balls of course.

• i still love NEO … alalala

• Ash Menon on Dec 13, 2012 at 3:53 pm

Gotta hand it to the design team, they did a good job with the car. It’s very hard to come up with a center stack for a budget car that doesn’t look remind you everyday that you couldn’t afford something better (lots of blank space, unpressable buttons, etc), and quite a few car companies fail to nail it usually.

• Everythinig is fine except the price and engine was 3 cylinder. Suggest rebadge to Proton like Inspira or else it was difficult to market it out.

• why most of the malaysian always lookign for rebadge, aren’t original nice??
      screw the re-badge

• Some people talk like they have driven every car. Some people read the specs and a few reviews and can already comment. I bought it and I’m happy with it

Handles beautifully. What float? Very stable. Nice leg room at the back. Back seats are flat but comfortable. Would have preferred a X1, but it’s ok. Can’t compare apples with durians

• malaysia mitsubishi mirage GL have push start ?

• samlok on Oct 12, 2013 at 6:33 pm

no no too pricey for a 3 cylinder car

• newbie on Dec 30, 2013 at 4:24 pm

Any comment if compared with Swift 1.5? I’m thinking of trading my Swift & buy this Mirage. Paying RM850/month for the Swift. With all barang naik next year, thinking of cutting my monthly commitment.