SPIED: Kia K3 – the new Forte spotted on PLUS

It’s the new Kia K3, or the Forte as it’s known to us here – this disguised mule was spotted on the North-South highway by reader Sallehuddin, who sent us these photos.

The second-gen YD wears cladding, but gives away enough cues to offer its identity, like the foglamps and that unmistakable grille. The rear bumper’s lower cladding features a mask line to straighten the kinks, but the lines are evident upon closer inspection. Also, the K3’s unique character line – which starts low-set on the front door just above the rocker – can be partially seen in the rearward shot.

The K3 was launched in Korea a couple of months ago, so the car’s ‘arrival’ here is pretty fast. The evaluator is likely running trials, and it won’t be until sometime early 2013 that the actual market vehicle debuts.

The Korean market vehicle wears a 1.6 litre direct-injected four-cylinder delivering 138 hp and 167 Nm of torque – guess we’ll have to wait and see what our new Forte will have.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Julian on Nov 21, 2012 at 5:54 pm

Is that really a Kia K3? It looks like the Rio Sedan as well!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 58
    • Just a kia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 72
    • Power of Dream on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:06 pm

considering Proton is private own by DRB now, then

Nissan almera CKD has become so cheap, RM66k to RM80k.
      Mitsubishi Miraga CBU Thai Made JDM quality RM56k to RM64k.
      (if u consider CKD Honda City, RM85k + is simply due to price comfirmed during proton by GOV time, New honda City may be priced lower)

Next: Kia K3 which supposed to be at RM90k range, will eventually get approval to sell :
      at RM80k range!

Guys, prepare cash!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 6
      • lets hope you are right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • prebet on Nov 22, 2012 at 3:09 pm

if you wait until the pakatan win the election next year..this car will be price at 60k, at 80k you can get a new civic..yeah PR rules!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 73
        • prebet on Nov 23, 2012 at 12:05 am

looks like 19 pr and 18 bn here…hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
          • Diamler on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:49 am

btw, i’m not into any politics. peace. u can say how bad is BN up here, i’m ok. i’m not into BN as well nor DAP, PR…

I just want a whole new government with zero corruption!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 8
        • slimershine on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:18 am

SWEET DREAM :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
        • Diamler on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:47 am

Let’s face it.
          PR may win. But, tax will never be reduced.

Malaysia is gathering debt year by year, more and more subsidies given out, the poor got so much sponsor from the government, education voucher, smartphone rebate, 1malaysia KTM..
          All this uses money.
          NEW LRT, uses money.

Even if PR naik, only any other, DAP let say, eventually they will ‘baru’ realize the real situation in malaysia.

Reduction of tax collection on vechicle, will causes the country to be in alarm state.
          In the end, who win does not matter, Tax shall remain, PR if win, a maximum o 5% may be introduced.. more than that is HUGE risk.

PR fans boy, think logically. Dont make fool of your PR. the PR man has now stopped shouting this matter. Hangat-hangat tahi ayam only. Not able to think deeply, analayze before promise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 69
          • hatibudak on Nov 23, 2012 at 11:30 am

we dare to give them a try for ruling the country. how do u know they cannot do any better than your lovely BN? debts year by year due to mismanage is tons compare to gula2 to rakyat u so called subsidy.

apa engkau takut sangat org lain perintah sampai nak begging org lain with your retorik assumptions? takut projek x dapat? typical umnoputra thinking only umno mampu memerintah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 30
          • Junk comment on Nov 23, 2012 at 11:07 pm

Hahaha….

• Kumar on Nov 23, 2012 at 7:14 pm

I agree with you bro.
          All these years “THE RAKYAT” HAVE BEEN RIPPED OFF BY THE BN/UMNO WITH ROCKET PRICE OF CARS AND THEY ENJOY LUXURY AND DEPRIVE THE RAKYAT” thanks to father of corruption and proton inventor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
          • nie feng on Nov 24, 2012 at 5:02 pm

Who said we didnt give PR chances??? I give my vote for Selangor.. others gave penang & kedah. What rakyat selangor get in return? Unisel bankrupt, water for the banglows but not for the majority voters who live in apartment !!
            Do u live in Malaysia by saying we didnt gave PR a chance???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 43
          • prebet on Nov 26, 2012 at 2:52 pm

nie feng- you live in apartment? i bet you not and you still enjoying the free water..i live in a teres house price 135k puncak alam there which is cheaper than the apartment at shah alam/sunway and i still get the free water..PR rules.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 17
          • MatLimMutu on Nov 26, 2012 at 5:05 pm

give 300mil to talam also n let rakyat who bought talam’s house suffer. ask MB to help but no reply also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
        • MatLimMutu on Nov 26, 2012 at 5:01 pm

in your dream… lalalalala..

• Vince on Dec 23, 2012 at 12:34 am

I see what you did there… XD

• Kalun on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:43 pm

I wonder why Kia Malaysia didn’t release the 2013 Kia Rio. That’s a god damn lice looking car. Bigger than a Fiesta and Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • If you check the American and European websites, they sell better built and equipped cars than they do in our region. I guess we SE Asians are just not worth it to Hyundai-Kia…. we have been dominated by the Japanese after all. It is an uphill struggle for Korean cars here. This might explain why Hyundai-Kia is neglecting us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
        • Kalun on Nov 22, 2012 at 7:54 am

Then why I saw a lot of Bruneians DRIVE a Kia Rio then? I meant a lot!
          That’s why I admire it. Better looking than this current Forte

• Agree with you, i live in miri and can see the rio everywhere with brunei plate.

• Does Brunei even count ? Their market is like 1/50th the size of ours. All cars sold in Brunei are imported. Same with Singapore. Unlike in US and Europe where the markets are big, and Hyundai-Kia have factories there. That’s what I’m talking about here.

• bojan on Nov 23, 2012 at 2:45 pm

True, just came back from Miri, there are many of them there. They doesn’t seem to care if got resale or not, if nice, just buy. Regardless if its Korean, Japanese, etc

• i thought few post earlier it was stated kia rio will be released, ofcoz maybe not the latest 2013 kia rio

• OMG…nice designed car…well done KIA. Simply better than T & H.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • blackened on Nov 22, 2012 at 9:17 am

the car looks interesting… i wonder..

• where’s the kia soul ?

they been teasing it since last year and all of the sudden every news about it had disappeared

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Black Dog on Nov 21, 2012 at 7:31 pm

Naza dare not bring in the Soul?

But then Malaysian buyers are not so adventurous when comes to buying special looking vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Hyundai De La Junk on Nov 21, 2012 at 6:00 pm

The RV value of present Forte will rock bottom, remember what happen to Spectra when Forte launch.

Anyway like Veloster & Rio which was tested long time ago yet still no sign of launching.

I bet the price would cost at lease 10-20K more as Elantra already cost 90+K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 85
    • Razor on Nov 21, 2012 at 7:14 pm

lol.. which model RV wouldnt go down when new replacement model comes out. Genius..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 16
    • Kalun on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:44 pm

If you care about resale value so much, BUY A FERRARI then! You will get more than you bought OK!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 16
    • tunggguuu on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:51 pm

so u kena before la? no wonder not happy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • If u care about RV, just buy a Toyota.. no new generation, only facelift..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • the greed toyolta on Nov 23, 2012 at 1:37 am

So you mean you want Kia to move backwards like Toyota and make the K3 uglier, cut cost and lower spec than the forte? Just to get better resale value?

I say u are nuts!!! Or sesat!! Go buy your vios TRD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • koochai on Nov 21, 2012 at 6:02 pm

fast…but not fast enuff…beware of Sam “RV” Loo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 21
    • _xXx_ on Nov 21, 2012 at 6:27 pm

the camry / toyota guy???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo on Dec 02, 2012 at 3:46 pm

Yes, the one that will point you at a Hilux should you drive into my used car yard trading in a kimchi

• ninjaturtle on Dec 06, 2012 at 8:34 am

i wish the tax be reduced just so used car dealers like you go will eventually go out of business.backward thinking. not creative.

• Wow that was fast! Preve better watch out

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
    • not as fast as preve. this car has low torque. only 167Nm as compare to Preve 205Nm? Similar Horsepower tough.

Fuel Consumption of KIA K3 (1.6 GDI, 6AT, curb weight of 1191 kg). Taken from KIA Korea website.
      Combined: 14.0 km/l
      City: 12.7 km/l
      Highway: 16.1 km/l

If this is true, it’s quite fuel efficient tough!

using same Elantra’s platform, this K3 would be at similar price range! RM90k!

Pls keep your year end bonus for next year K3. hee~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 24
      • baloney on Nov 21, 2012 at 6:51 pm

any idea for preve’s fuel consumption?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Power of Dream on Nov 21, 2012 at 8:26 pm

preve CFE 138hp/205NM:
        7speed Protronic CVT
        highway : 15.38km/l (constant speed 90km/h)
        (info from proton proven by preve users)

city: 10km/l at KL jam driving style
        (info from preve users)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
      • hey, it is still cool for a naturally aspirated engine to produce such numbers. CFE, which is a turbo, is only producing 135

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
        • Necromancer on Nov 24, 2012 at 12:11 am

LOL @ people who looks only on HP not Torque. Torque and it’s torque curve is the one that is important for daily driven cars since higher torque = able to carry more load. HP would only suitable for race cars not for family sedans.

• _xXx_ on Nov 21, 2012 at 6:30 pm

don’t worry LP700-4 pon bleh kasi kalah ape mau takut K3 ni?????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Kia K3
      Length =4,560mm
      width =1,780mm
      height = 1,440mm
      wheelbase = 2,700mm

Preve
      Length 4,543 mm
      Width 1,786 mm
      Height 1,691 mm
      Wheelbase 2,560 mm

hmm, not as fat and tall as Preve!
      but, got a D-segment wheelbase, resulting in slightly longer than Preve.

Due to the low hight and low profile design of K3, it would look much more fatter than Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 36
      • qwerty on Nov 21, 2012 at 7:31 pm

the preve’s wheelbase is 2650mm, not 2560mm.

and for a car to be categorised as a D-segment car, it has to have a wheelbase longer than 2750mm (camry, teana’s =2775mm). 2700mm only matches the Sylphy’s, previous gen Civic’s, and the Elantra’s.

• Kalun on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:46 pm

It’s base on Hyundai Elantra BTW!

• Further information,
      Kia K3 is approximately 150kg lighter than the similar size Preve.

Preve = 1340kg
      k3 = 1191kg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • mad aly on Nov 22, 2012 at 8:40 am

Yup, Preve facelift, better be good!!

• blade on Nov 23, 2012 at 2:01 pm

buy then try sprint with Preve..

• Ok Kia K3 it is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Pro-tong on Nov 21, 2012 at 6:17 pm

Gosh there goes Pro-tong Preve…sob sob.Development cost of RM 500 Million on Preve’ goes down the drain, same goes to G on the next election!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 89
    • mad aly on Nov 22, 2012 at 8:42 am

If Proton is pronounce Pro-Tong.. u should be called Tong-Kosong.. keep it up, bark, bark, baek like a dog.. after all u are DOG!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 28
  • bring in K3 and just take my money

provided still below RM100k full spec :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 11
  • look alike Volkswagen a bit.

hey, design is good and current forte is good too.

shame on proton…
    syok sendiri their preve…

prrrfffftthhhh!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 64
    • armandd on Nov 21, 2012 at 8:49 pm

Why is it every post you must condemn proton? Too much hatred in one’s heart is definitely not good for your health and will make you die faster.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 11
      • salambangi on Nov 22, 2012 at 9:03 am

This is the best comment that I have seen on Paultan. It’s funny too. Reading Paultan after a hard-work is really a pleasure. Kudos to Paultan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • beiar on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:40 pm

since when proton syok sendiri
      it’s from Italdesign

prrrfffftthhhh!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
  • wendy on Nov 21, 2012 at 6:26 pm

Please2 come with 6airbags, and tcs/vsc, price it between 70k-80k..ill be the first to book!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 10
    • Mad aly on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:35 pm

In ur dream la bro… Haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
      • jalan54 on Nov 22, 2012 at 3:05 am

Don’t you know current 2.0 Forte has 6 airbags and esc? Even kia k5 has 6 airbags. Now you know why you should buy k5 instead of camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
        • Stealth on Nov 22, 2012 at 10:59 pm

You buy a car based on how many airbags they have?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
          • jalan54 on Nov 23, 2012 at 1:32 am

Yes and no. Yes is because I always look at the safety features first and no is because number of airbags is only one of the safety features.

I’m surprise now a days still got a lot of people don’t really care much about the safety features of a car and to my surprise, still a lot of those people don’t know what VSC or ESC is, no wonder most of the car distributors in Malaysia still don’t introduce VSC or ESC and most of them still with 2 airbags only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
        • I didn’t believe you at first, but then I checked the Kia Malaysia website and I am quite surprised. Very surprised in fact. Nice to see an honest comment for once. But it’s also worth noting that Hyundai’s Elantra and Sonata for Malaysia both come with only 2 airbags. Not all Korean cars are safe… yet.

• wendy on Nov 22, 2012 at 11:30 am

why in my dream? fiesta 1.6 got 6airbags and tsc and price less than 80k.. and im not a bro okaayyyy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Sorry to break to to you; our JPJ is not that strict. Even the Camry and Accord don’t get 6 airbags. The Camry doesn’t even get VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
      • Whoops, typo. I meant ”Sorry to break it to you”.

• wendy on Nov 22, 2012 at 11:34 am

sorry to say.. that’s honda n toyota.. even their camry n accord are so empty.. thats y now we turn to korean.. japs cant beat kpop, samsung, their economy and now their car..japs are now left so far behind..sadly..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • I don’t know about K-Pop or Samsung but I know that most Japanese car companies are slacking in our South East Asia region. They’re resting on our laurels knowing that we will always buy Japanese cars because of our history. Still, Korean cars aren’t all that great either. They might look great, come with better features but that’s just one part of the story. Japan is still superior when it comes to innovation. Germans even more so. I have yet to see an innovative, mass- produced Korean car. Basically, Japan did all the hard work, Korea has just been drafting Japan all the way. Korean cars still have several more years to go. They’re not there yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
          • jalan54 on Nov 23, 2012 at 1:36 am

I’m totally agree with you, korean car still have a lot of work to do.

The problem is that korean car is improving and Japanese car in ASEAN still the same (maybe they think is not worth to invest so much this region), and if they keep doing so, I believe, Korean cars will take over the market here in Malaysia (unless those Korean Car Distributors screw up big time in Malaysia).

• Am I the only one who agrees with Aero here. I know Japanese will be heavily investing in SEA for the years to come after bitter experience in China lately. Yes, Japanese creates one of the most innovative cars. The gadgets we come to like in Korean cars were installed in JDM cars earlier. For Exp: The self parking system we see in the Korean spec K3 and Focus first introduce to the JDM in the 2cd gen JDM Prius, 5 years ago. Electronic gasoline direct injection, 5-speed automatic, 8-speed automatic, Rain-Sensing Windshield Wipers, digital navigation system, steering wheel mounted audio controls, front auxiliary input (for portable devices), electrochromic rear-view mirror, adaptive cruise control all saw action in Japanese first.
          Of course to be fair, innovation is still dwarf by American and Continental makes, Korean have’t yet made it to the list .So Korean cars are simply better(I saw it somewhere)no. Yes their cars have come a long way in such short period, but better sorry not yet….. Even their design and quality are still headed by experience Europeans. If the fingers have to be point, is to our local distributor who brought the wrong cars in.
          PS: I am the only one of my age not to be enslave by K-pop (classical for me) and Avoids Samsung phone (my pockets and hands are too small)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
        • i prefer sony than samsung.. galaxy s3 wear 1 week have to go send warranty but sony i use 2 years still doing great

• mystvearn on Nov 21, 2012 at 6:30 pm

How much will this cost? Hopefully lest than the Hyundai Elantra with more goodies thrown in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Power of Dream on Nov 21, 2012 at 7:07 pm

Nope probably, if they bring in the 1.6 GDi, is more powerful than Hyundai 1.6.
      Should at the range of 90k in the end. :D

• IMO somehow rather i feel that the current forte looks nicer than the new one. But that’s just me…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • Drebar on Nov 21, 2012 at 6:47 pm

Bye bye PREVE…banyak lah trade-in Preve beli Forte baru nanti…Kesian Proton…

Lain kali bikin enjin kasi betul jimat minyak…ini nama saja CFE Fuel Efficiency tapi lebih kuat makan minyak…

Better give up sell factories to Naza or Sime Darby group saja…let us buy cheaper Kia, Hyundai…stop this crap lah Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 58
    • armandd on Nov 21, 2012 at 8:51 pm

kesian you.. fanboy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
    • bongok on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:37 pm

Penggunaan minyak CFE kena banding dengan enjin 2.0l woi. Bukan dengan enjin 1.6l. Kalau jimat takat RM20 seminggu baik tak payah. Installment bulanan preve ratus-ratus boleh jimat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 9
    • mad aly on Nov 22, 2012 at 9:11 am

siapa lah trade in Preve yg baru dibeli xsampai setahun dgn K3 ni.. interest pun tak serve setahun… ckp biar logik pakai otak/akal…bukan pakai lutut..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
    • taboogen on Nov 22, 2012 at 10:58 am

cakap jer lah tak mampu nak tukar kereta baru

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Yay! It’s going to be here(going….. )
    Now if price dose’t increase by much (and judging the elantra it will increase) , it will be an awesome car in Malaysia, with the usual Korean goodies of course.

• Kia Forte K3….!!!

Better than TOYOTA DUGONG..
    Better than POTONG PREVE…
    and yes…better than NISSAN ALMARI..

Yeeaahhh!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 29
    • It’s K- dramapop fanboys like you who make Hyundai and Kia look bad. If you cannot back up your statements with legitimate FACTS, don’t bother commenting at all. Subjective comments are no better than hate speech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 15
      • What can you expect,K-fanoys and members of the anti-T&H faction dominate the sight on one side, And T&H faction members on the other, quite hard to put facts down. but former seems to dominate the comment sect

• mad aly on Nov 22, 2012 at 9:14 am

agree!!

they not even test drive the car.. !!

• Zapruder on Nov 22, 2012 at 8:36 am

Adik ni kanak-kanak tabika KEMAS ke?
      Lain kali eja perlahan2 dulu, kemudian belajar typing perlahan2 ok?
      Uncle tak marah, geli hati je tengok adik pelat2 ni. Nampak comel je. :)
      Ni surfing internet ni dah mintak kebenaran dari parent kan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo on Nov 22, 2012 at 7:59 pm

K3 wins by 50% when it comes to depreciated value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
  • As usual,when new korean car here,fans start to shout..’i want it/when will be lauch/i rather choose this compare to T,H,P’…but in reality, people will think twice when decide to buy it or not..look at the sales figure in previous posting..where the kia,hyundai???how many elantra on our road?? Kah kah kah..

But credit to kia coz always introduce new model which sometimes look over design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 57
    • Unclecar on Nov 21, 2012 at 8:08 pm

the performance ,feature,comfort is better than toy- ota. We don’t get what we pay, and a uncle car for toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
    • agreed. only those stupidos buy korean cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 59
      • jalan54 on Nov 22, 2012 at 3:10 am

I remember last time i did said something like you did now, only stupid ppl ell buy samsung, but look at the market now, most ppl buy samsung smart phone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
        • _xXx_ on Nov 22, 2012 at 12:38 pm

stupid ppl buy pro….produk yg bermutu rendah hahahahaa….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
          • _xXx_ on Nov 23, 2012 at 1:51 pm

hey hey wats wrong with my statement? I shouldn’t see any thumbdown, should I?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Sad but true, all the keyboard warriors here(like me and FFF down there) can only say so much but in the end the real market is the one that ignores the comments and buy a car. I see more new un-innovative looking Camry on the road than the cheaper and more awesome looking Elantra. And BTW, I don’t think Kia over designs their cars, Hyundai do.
      PS: Both yours and maybe my comment will be heavily dislike.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Cybermaster98 on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:25 pm

Did you bother to actually check your facts? Please do some research and tell me whats the sale figures for the Kia Forte.

• Hopefully the roof isn’t too sloping at the back. I still remember accidentally knocking my head while getting into the rear seat of the new Elantra… now phobia on extra-sloping roofs, LOL!

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 21, 2012 at 7:19 pm

Dear Hyundai, please make 1.8 version. 1.6 is underpowered for this quite heavy car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Hyundai did have 2.0 turbo engine which produce huge hp and nm, don blame hyundai, blame hyundai MY didnt bring them in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • It seems many people starting to jealous of this new K3/Forte.. Way to go KIA! dont bother about the resale value if u want to make profit please buy a house not a car.
    Boo! to H&T Owner..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 15
  • anson on Nov 21, 2012 at 7:45 pm

K3 nicer or civic? lolx..Our car markets are getting more interesting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Potibala on Nov 21, 2012 at 7:47 pm

Koreans are just guzzler. The us already suing them for misinformation on the fuel consumption report http://www.bigclassaction.com/lawsuit/hyundai-overstated-fuel-economy-class-action-lawsuit.php

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
    • kambinganas on Nov 21, 2012 at 11:19 pm

And Honda is no better:
      http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/02/02/honda-hybrid-lawsuit-heather-peters-wins_n_1248357.html

So your point?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Turboman on Nov 21, 2012 at 11:20 pm

Honda also same la.
      http://autos.aol.com/article/honda-civic-hybrid-lawsuit-ruling/

The stated MPG is never what u will get in real life unless u drive at 80kmh with the AC off, perfectly flat roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • Unclecar on Nov 21, 2012 at 8:13 pm

U know why they envy at korean car? because korean car is a car that make head turn,come with many feature..top safety rating, u r enjoying while driving, but they don’t believe or scare other people laughing at them for buying a korean car.But in reality,korean car is very good perform and good quality,Just the service support from NAZA is not good in MY, not because they have low quality.Many foreigners like korean car..And what i saw on youtube comment by foreigner, they all said toyota as a boring and shity crap..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 7
  • lollipop on Nov 21, 2012 at 8:14 pm

Hoho,Korean really knows this business well, They make it Signification Improvement by Design and History ,but hope improve the Engine and sound prove,current forte is worse to critic.

• Maserati on Nov 21, 2012 at 8:14 pm

Never ever trust FC figures from those koreans. Look at forte , give awesome FC figures but in real life, rubbish performance.

This will be the same, new shell, rubbish engine inside.. Only fools will buy korean crap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 42
    • umnokakipitnah on Nov 21, 2012 at 10:44 pm

they even get sued in the US for providing inaccurate FC to public!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
      • kambinganas on Nov 21, 2012 at 11:20 pm

You mean Honda:
        http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/02/02/honda-hybrid-lawsuit-heather-peters-wins_n_1248357.html

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
        • umnokakipitnah on Nov 22, 2012 at 11:22 am

http://www.leftlanenews.com/hyundai-kia-face-federal-lawsuit-over-wrong-fuel-economy-ratings.html

read again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • Jilbaber on Nov 22, 2012 at 6:28 am

what ur prove dude, blind opposition supporter!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Toyota,honda fans always insulting korean car, Padahal if saw a sonata, k5 on the road..they keep saw it..head turn pula.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo on Nov 22, 2012 at 8:02 pm

I would look at a K5/Sonata owner with the kesian look, coz they will be shown the Hilux when they sell their vehicle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 30
      • I more pity on you..you know why?you thought car is an investment kah??
        you just want buy a car for resale value? drive without fun/boring like camry?
        I would like to drive with fun for years..and didnot care about the resale value..cause I got money to buy new car..why i care about it? I just care about the comfort, the satisfaction..no a boring ride…kesian kamu…go buy a house la if u want investment…go for a financial class..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 9
      • Turboman on Nov 23, 2012 at 12:52 am

Sam

No new point? Always the same old same old point of RV and shown a hilux when wanna sell.

Creativity is not your strong suit is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
      • the greed toyolta on Nov 23, 2012 at 1:20 am

So what happens if i wanted to buy a crappy hilux? I’ll be shown the same shit isn’t it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • This should be Rio sedan..not k3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • akupung on Nov 21, 2012 at 8:27 pm

This disguised make it looks better than the real one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • beruk on Nov 21, 2012 at 8:27 pm

no. 1 ugly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 32
  • ridzhas on Nov 21, 2012 at 8:52 pm

my booking will start tomorrow at kia dealer.hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo on Nov 26, 2012 at 8:31 pm

You will regret this booking moment for the rest of your life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • chrisg on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:06 pm

If More buy koreans because of the value, looks, good package etc then only the hardcore h+t fanatics will one day shut their mouth and transplant their brains.

More ppl buy korean, more parts will be available. Rsv indirectly also will hold better after some time because it is no longer perceived as an inferior make. Anyway dont worry much abt rsv lah most imp are the features of t car. Make an intelligent choice.

Korean tech n quality are on par with the japs lah- i dont think dugong or citeh is any better then say forte.

Samsung and LG also can beat Sony

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
    • If….. that’s a nice way to put it.
      BTW ,I drive a City regularly, I don’t see anything bad with it. Yes the looks are not that of the K cars, but its a good car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Rgshow2k on Nov 29, 2012 at 1:46 pm

Well said !

• sepul on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:12 pm

off topic: the photo snapper drives a pug! a 408 to be exact :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • sepul on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:13 pm

off topic: the photo snapper drives a pug! a 308 to be exact :D

• sepul on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:14 pm

off topic: the photo snapper rides a pug! a 308 to be exact :D

• 23242re on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:16 pm

Paultan sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    THIS IS NOT k3!
    THIS IS RIO SEDAN!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 50
    • Paul Tan on Nov 21, 2012 at 10:54 pm

I am not sure what Kia Rio Sedan you have been looking at but it is quite different from this car. The Rio Sedan has a flat boot because the number plate is located at the bumper instead of on the boot.

http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=2012-kia-rio-sedan&image=kia-rio-ext-6.jpg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
      • Anthony Lim (Member) on Nov 22, 2012 at 2:15 am

The vehicle in the photos is the K3. Adding to what Paul has said, the Rio sedan’s rear is the definite giveaway that it is not the car in question. The Chinese market K2 does have its license plate set on the boot (http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=kia-k2&image=4.jpg), but the shutline on the rear bumper and the daylight opening at the C-pillar tells you that this isn’t it.

The front foglamps are a definite giveaway; that on both the Rio sedan and K2 are markedly different.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Kalun on Nov 22, 2012 at 7:56 am

Rio sedan doesn’t have that tail brake lamp on the boot.
        It’s look absolutely different.
        Seen it a lot in Miri here! Bruneians love to drive it.

• Paul Tan’s comment is the perfect demonstration of the true power of facts. So yes people, don’t judge based on opinion, judge based on facts instead. You won’t end up making a fool out of yourself this way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • DewaSemut on Nov 22, 2012 at 9:07 am

Boooo :O

• Cybermaster98 on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:21 pm

Spotted on Facebook:

Is Kia gonna do the same to the Rio like what was done to the Optima K5? Barely 10 months after the launch of the 2012 model, Naza Kia released an updated Optima K5 model with a new 2.0L engine that gives out 7Hp and 3Nm torque more than the current Theta II engine (now 170Hp & 201Nm). Hydraulic steering also replaced with electric steering now. Both these add on’s are major changes. Price still remains. Clearly demonstrates the lack of forward planning by Naza. Naza Malaysia cannot afford to do stuff like this if its serious about rebuilding the brand image here in Malaysia. Doesnt give current and future owners any confidence. Truly disappointing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • PeYno_Ai609 on Nov 22, 2012 at 6:48 am

Padan muka CM98.

JDM FTW!!!! Asean car celup eat sheet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • guest on Nov 22, 2012 at 10:39 am

Sometimes this sort of things is hard to predict. Like the early BMW E60 model they all carry the M54 engines. Not long after that the M54 is replaced by N52. Looking at the bright side, at least you get to enjoy the car earlier :) And hey, you dont always drive at max rev, so the extra few bhp doesnt really come into play on daily drives anyway

• DArkerMarker on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:27 pm

good!! Another competitor in the market. More choice for consumers.

Power to the people.

• 23242re on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:31 pm

Toyota and honda fans envy of korean car that make head turn, comfort, perform well, have feature that they didn’t have.. they keep insulting korean car, but when they saw korean car on the road, they turn they head panjang panjang tengok pula!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
    • Comfort (still boring Toyota wins)
      Perform (still static Honda wins)
      Make head turns(can’t argue that)
      Features and gadgets( ford is the new kid I the block)

Haters gonna hate

• Henry on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:37 pm

No need to disguise lah. Pictures and videos of the actual car is all over the Internet. Nice car.

• 23242re on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:42 pm

I’m here to apologize..this car is k3..sorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
  • omg omg omg…. direct injection engine weihhhh… can opt to this if the ecoboost fiesta is not coming

• Kalun on Nov 21, 2012 at 10:02 pm

I like Hyundai/Kia. It’s just that the servicing centre is kinda Crap in my area.

Most awesomely to hear that Hyundai/Kia engine is less worrying since the engine is quite reliable after it pass 10 years. Provided it’s a CBU model la!
    I have a Hyundai Matrix CBU directly imported from Korea LHD (bash me for that fugly car). It ran smoothly. Engine still like working. No current issue like oil leak, timing belt. But yes, I do complaint about intrusive wind noise quite heavy, engine seems to be underpower due to power to weight ratio, and some quality problem (Massively Brittle problem. My steering wheel peel off, plastic interior chipping, air vent plastic broken eventhough with a soft touch usage, door handle crack and brittle off.)

But no worries, hopefully Hyundai/Kia fix this issue. Especially the quality control. I repair my Air Cond/ Change the rubber bush twice during the ownership. Owned it for 10 awesomely years. Gone through alot of memories. But comparing with my another car Isuzu Dmax, D-max is one tough car after 8 years of ownership. No complaint nor any issue.
    Both are the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
    • you could have the best combi, Korean and Japanese car…..ta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
      • Sam Loo on Nov 22, 2012 at 8:03 pm

But, having Korean DNA is automatically low RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 20
        • go away, you’re annoying

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 11
        • the greed toyolta on Nov 23, 2012 at 1:19 am

Sam Loo so free bcos camry poor sales ar? now get back to showroom to work !!

Ppl in this forum are smarter than you think, not easily brainwashed by your repeated bullshit daily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
  • NISSpengAN on Nov 21, 2012 at 10:08 pm

New nissan slyphy still the best n better than kia k3…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 28
    • Just me on Nov 22, 2012 at 8:33 am

Kia engine is better, can survive Isreal bombing. That is what you call built to last. But the passenger killed though…..:-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • Robert Loo on Nov 21, 2012 at 10:27 pm

It is indeed a Kia K3, look at the fog lamp, it is not Rio !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • does malaysia version come with auto parking assist like ford? It seems like korean version has it
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?NR=1&v=MtnP-5H8WNw&feature=endscreen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • Chow 1 on Nov 21, 2012 at 10:52 pm

I like Japanese cars better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 34
  • Maserati on Nov 22, 2012 at 3:27 am

Ppl who know cars well will never buy korean cars . Not just judge a car by its looks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 33
    • Turboman on Nov 22, 2012 at 6:37 pm

Ya.

Ppl who know cars well will buy a 180K car with no stability control.

Ppl who know cars well buy cars with zero to very little airbags. Say 1 or 2 as opposed to 6 airbags.

Ppl who know cars well only look at RSV and absolutely nothing else.

What a noob!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 30
    • Sam Loo on Nov 22, 2012 at 8:05 pm

People that are business minded will buy 1 year old Korean Cars at 50% or lower trade in price an sell it off at at least 30% profit margin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 27
      • TurboMan on Nov 26, 2012 at 9:48 pm

Eh. Cars are constantly depreciating.

To be able to sell with a profit margin of 30 percent, u need a market that can take that price.

So if u think korean cars have low RV until u can buy at 50 percent off list for a one year car, where can u sell it?

Talking out of your ass again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
    • TOYOTA SUCKS on Nov 22, 2012 at 8:08 pm

NOOB GUY, they not buy because of the look.it’s because you get what you paid.and the performance wont lose to Japanese car too…ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 31
  • I wonder how big the boot volume is. This kind of design always compromises the boot size, like C-segment Elantra which only has 420 liter. Even some B-segment cars have more volume (Honda City: 506 liter, Ford Fiesta Sedan: 470 liter, Nissan Almera: 490 liter, Toyota Vios: 475 liter).

Current Forte has 495 liter boot capacity and I really hope this new Forte will also get the same capacity at minimum. Will buy a new car on year 2014 and definitely Korean cars are on my list mainly due to its active safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 29
    • Sam Loo on Nov 22, 2012 at 11:46 pm

If you intend to buy Korean, go for pre-owned.

1 year old version would cost you around 1/2 the price of a brand new one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 26
      • Turboman on Nov 23, 2012 at 12:59 am

Spewing shit again Sam?

To all PT.com readers, I still have my RM5k in the bank.

Some joker came with a silly revised deal with completely different terms though, but that proved absolutely nothing and no one has yet to take up my deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 31
        • the greed toyolta on Nov 23, 2012 at 2:07 am

Bro, whats your deal? u still got the E92 right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 29
          • Turboman on Nov 23, 2012 at 11:56 am

My deal is 5k for anyone who can find me a 1 year old modern accident free Kia/Hyundai for 50-75 percent off retail price, and i will personally give RM5k commission. Preferably K5 la.

Well, i still hv my RM5k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 29
          • Sam Loo on Nov 23, 2012 at 7:11 pm

Selling price is not trade in price. How many times do i have to repeat myself?

Try trading in your kimchi. Prolly 45% of ori price if you are lucky

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 13
      • Sam Loo, can u find 1/2 years old K5 with price rm80k, if yes, i will give u rm10k for comission.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 30
        • Sam Loo Sucks on Nov 23, 2012 at 4:23 pm

I will give Sam Loo 15k commission if he can find me 1 yr old accident free Sonata YF for RM65k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 31
          • dugong on Nov 25, 2012 at 12:09 am

i don’t care whether selling price or trade in price or bullshit price. just get me a acc free 1 yr old korean car for 50% the price and you can get your commission. Otherwise stop talking kok here!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
  • brian on Nov 22, 2012 at 8:38 am

hope it will not rebadge as naza k3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • start-a-fight on Nov 22, 2012 at 9:11 am

why la? see what the politician teach us? all gadoh2 in here and much hatred felt whenever a spyshot come out?

why not all of us automotive fan just enjoy the spyshot as if it is a paparazi shot of a topless H-celebrities and be done with it?

anyhoo, Naza seems to get more trust from the korean as it is quite fast for them to do valuation here in Malaysia. Maybe this model will be produce by NAZA for ASEAN country market and that’s why it is so early come here. come 2013 official launch, NAZA already can produce and export this car.

I’m proud of our automotive industry.

btw. to start a fight, if Honda CKD, ppl bising, why not people bising for a CKD forte/k3?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Cybermaster98 on Nov 22, 2012 at 11:22 am

I think the Forte K3 only comes in the 1.6L GDI engine. If they do decide to bring this particular model into Malaysia it would be quite good. The 1.6L GDI engine gives out 138Hp, 167Nm torque as compared to the current Forte 1.6 which gives out 122Hp, 156Nm torque. But still less than the Forte 2.0L which gives out 154Hp & 194Nm torque. Really good acceleration on the 2.0L version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • chrisg on Nov 22, 2012 at 12:06 pm

Haha it never fails to amaze me whenever there are new launches by the korean makes, die hard toyo and ahon fans will be here to peep at the korean car. Wondering why their dugong is fuglier, or why their ahon citeh lacks such features although priced higher.

They they console themselves by thinking “oh i have rsv “(samloo mentality). No 6 airbag ok wat, i use my wife handbag to cover my face during accident, no vsc ok wat because i have camly” So with better perceived rsv they trade in for another fugly toyo or ahon! Vicious stupidity cycle.

So they criticise proton, koreans, even continental makes. Jap competitors are offering so much more if not comparable now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • adam lee on Nov 22, 2012 at 12:22 pm

DONT USE PREVE AND KIA…NOT SAME STANDARD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • they thought the clever..put proton to discuss at here..go to fuck off la..proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • amino on Nov 22, 2012 at 1:59 pm

Iam now using kia forte 6 speed no problem everything nice and okay , for me proton dah pakai dan tak akan beli lagi bye bye laju tapi bunyi macam macam ada macam screw loose ha ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 23
  • prebet on Nov 22, 2012 at 3:29 pm

dont forget to vote for pakatan rakyat if u want this car price at 60k..coz i will !!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 27
    • dream on, prebet…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 21
      • prebet on Nov 23, 2012 at 12:07 am

you can dream on your wish now if you vote for pakatan..your “wish” will come true man….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
        • i dont have to… my wish has come true… i’m driving Toyota Wish… no need Pakatan Kelentong Rakyat to do all this things…. hahahaha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 21
          • Sam Loo Sucks on Nov 23, 2012 at 5:39 pm

another cocky feller drive a cheap toyota wish only but more lanci than ppl that drive a ferrari.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 35
          • prebet on Nov 23, 2012 at 10:51 pm

2nd hand wish..everybody can lorr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
          • Sam Loo on Nov 24, 2012 at 9:05 am

You are a smart man indeed. Use the Wish for 5 years and can still retain at least 60% of value.

Buy a kimchi and lose 50% or more in a year. You do the maths

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 14
          • prebet on Nov 26, 2012 at 2:59 pm

who cares about the value?LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
          • Sam Loo on Nov 26, 2012 at 8:37 pm

I will personally show you a Hilux when you sell your kimchi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
          • TurboMan on Nov 26, 2012 at 9:55 pm

Sam. Still want to lie through your teeth?

I still have me RM 5k, dugong still has his commission.

We have our money where our mouth is. Unlike u, come and say low RV and gone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
  • AMR2311 on Nov 22, 2012 at 4:16 pm

Hopefully this car will be at Malaysia market around May or June 2013 before Hari Raya next year. Still confuse to choose between K3 or Elantra. My budget around is 102k & below, means can effort for 1.6 high specs. Hopefully the K3 1.6 high specs price will not higher than my budget plus more goodies examples like Automatic aircond(Elantra 1.6 high specs just got Manual aircond),DRL,Rear Combination LED lamp & if it got the SPAS(Smart Parking Assist) it would be better because I’m not good in parallel parking. But still need to see the actual car to compare it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 30
    • RedBeanBun on Nov 22, 2012 at 10:10 pm

Civic hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Loo on Nov 24, 2012 at 9:49 am

Come Raya next year, get a pre-owned K3 or Elantra or Chevy. You will be amazed that the value would have nose dived by 1/2

• TurboMan on Nov 26, 2012 at 9:56 pm

I still have my RM5k commission which i am willing to pay for whoever who can find me a 1 year acc free korean car for 50 percent off list.

But u r here spewing shit only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
  • paparazi on Nov 22, 2012 at 4:18 pm

wow! now a day korean’s products, don play play with,
    simply the best!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 35
  • Limbang man on Nov 22, 2012 at 6:40 pm

In Brunei since the release of some new Kia model… it was the best selling car…. Its much cheaper than the Japanese brand… with air bags, abs, and many more… further more the design is good and the reliability is getting better….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 31
  • Sam Loo on Nov 22, 2012 at 8:07 pm

I encourage more people to buy new Korean cars, coz I am expanding my kimchi used car yard.

Really pleasing to know that so many people trade in their kimchis within 1 year and lose an arm plus 2 legs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 27
    • SAM LOL JEALOUSand angry..
      Just join as kia or hyundai, peugeot,vw, merc, even proton or perodua as salesman (if they hire you). Dont have to sell dugong all your life.

If ppl are not buying its bcos your cars are not good enough. Dont lah only force them to buy BCOS OF RSV.

Haha how many airbag camly have oh…dugong j spec leh? Oh put sticker racing one so car more powderful ah??? Ic..secret of trd? Ok

Well korean cars now better than your city or dugong or camly or accord lah. Even preve is better. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 36
    • kalau kamu tidak suka korea car,then kamu bila bila boleh fuck off in here…kenapa kamu sini? envy?jealous? so datang- datang jeling jeling?
      bodoh li kamu ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 36
    • Sam Loo on Nov 24, 2012 at 11:50 am

I used to love Korean Cars, until I found out that the RV of my car was 60% after 1 year in 2004.

Now, the RV has further deteriorated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 12
      • prebet on Nov 26, 2012 at 3:02 pm

yeah i know you’re stupid in 2004 but please wake up it’s already 2012!you’re so funny..LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
    • Sam Loo on Nov 24, 2012 at 4:55 pm

Looks like more and more Malaysians are starting to realise the grave mistake of buying Korean :)

• David D on Nov 24, 2012 at 9:46 pm

I’m already using a couple of Koreans for 3 years. Solid, if not exciting, but it doesn’t break down sporadically, in contrast to what you expect. Face the fact, they have improved. Otherwise, why the hell would my family decide to get 3 Koreans at home? An Accent, a Matrix, and a Spectra5 respectively. Low resale value they are, yes, but from what I paid as compared to buying Japanese cars from the same years, I would say, I’m pretty happy with what I have.

You say we’re realizing the grave mistakes eh? Well, I have to thank the local Kia distributor for putting 6 airbags in an Optima K5 should I be hit sideways, for I will walk away with minor scratches, whereas you will be looking at certain death off plain ICU should you be hit sideways in your Camry 2.4. And that is one thing why I would be grateful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 30
      • Sam Loo on Nov 25, 2012 at 9:53 am

I would say the same like you if I was still using my Kia.

Spectra and Accent belongs to kimchis from my time. I know the nightmare that you are facing, despite its near zero RV.

Optima? OMG, the spare part prices will drown you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 13
        • David D on Nov 25, 2012 at 8:11 pm

What nightmares? Your nightmares? Don’t bullshit here. All cars have their flaws, but each car has its own plus points.

1) the 2010 Accent my sister is driving provides rather peppy acceleration, and can be rather fun to drive. On the minus side, it’s not as comfy as, say, a Vios, and the fact that it only came with one airbag is not something i like. And the fact that the car was delivered with some QC niggles does annoy me.

2) A 2008 Matrix, which my mum drives, is great for long distances, thanks to its comfy, sofa-like ride. And on top of that, it’s very spacious for a car this size. What i don’t really like is the fuel consumption, which is rather like a drinking elephant, thanks to the lethargic 1.6 engine from the Mitsubishi days. And the gearbox could be more refined.

3) My Spectra is not the old 2002-2008 Spectra hatch locally assembled here, but the newer 5-door Cerato, made between 2003-2009, which i bought at 31k. Frankly, the gripe i have is that this car has a small boot for what it is, a C-segment car, and secondly, the radio works kinda iffy. Oh, and there’s no door pockets in the rear doors. Still, as an overall package i won’t complain much, considering the fact that this car was imported straight from Korea. Reasonable to drive, ride in, as well as spacious enough for my work.

And you say spare part prices will kill me? Open your eyes Sam. It’s 2012, not god-damn 1999. Regular service for me costs between 200-300, with major services ranging from 600-850. And it’s on par with Toyota or Honda, if not better, and the better thing is that at least most parts are imported, unlike the Jap’s locally made parts.

Need i say more. This is my own experience. Not perfect, but not horrible either. So, my experience is not like your experience. And you have no right to keep harping over your rubbish, just because of your own experience. Wanna harp on and on with your nonsense? Go ahead. There will always be sane-minded commentators who wish that you would just go and burn with your atrocious behaviour, ala Kim Jong-Il. Pathetic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 31
      • Rgshow2k on Nov 26, 2012 at 4:25 pm

Hi Sam, i think you shouldnt be here in this forum as you keep giving negative points to Korean car.

this forum is for us to share comments and experience and not just pin pointing thing.

you are at the wrong side Bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
        • Sam Loo on Nov 26, 2012 at 8:39 pm

I am sharing my horrible experience of owning a kimchi.

I would not be doing that if I had a pleasant experience owning one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
  • damascus on Nov 22, 2012 at 9:10 pm

that is the faggit version of the Mitsu Lancer
    faggit ass Kia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
  • RedBeanBun on Nov 22, 2012 at 10:09 pm

Korean car K3 for korean = RM50+K at korea market..average korean monthly income is $3.4K = RM10,000, so 5 months salary.

Msia car for Msian = RM60K Preve at Msia market…average Msian monthly income is RM3K? so 20 months salary.

Now you see what the G has threaten us…

K3 vs Preve, and car for Msian is a debt burden…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 13
  • bBzrk on Nov 22, 2012 at 10:18 pm

Wait till you see the real car. It’s astonishing. I saw it on YouTube. Look even better the present Forte. Love it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
    • Pumpkins on Nov 23, 2012 at 8:31 am

Yes it’ll make Preve looks 10 years older lapuk outdated too…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
  • Dato' Jack on Nov 22, 2012 at 10:55 pm

well done proton preve, so many people love u now.. haters will be haters forever..its kia k3, but people still comparing it with preve… hey paultan, no story about nissan almera testdrive xcident? dont double standard la.. be democrasy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
    • Pumpkins on Nov 23, 2012 at 8:20 am

Yes well done Protong…people now can compare Preve just how SUCKS FUGLY it is against new Forte lah HA HA HA

Hoi Dato you’re blind or what cannot see just how damn FUGLY Preve is huh????????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 28
  • Pumpkins on Nov 23, 2012 at 8:15 am

Protong will be affected big time lah

They thought bringing Preve Hatchback will get more sales? Naza Kia will bring new Rio Hatch much better design and engine

So what’s next Protong? Facelift the Preve again? Ha Ha Ha Naza Kia can throw in Rio Sedan for fun, not to mention this new Forte also

Not enough Protong bring the Preve 3door hatch new Satria…but Naza Kia can hantam it with Rio or Forte 3 door hatch (ProCeed 3 door hatch)

Ohhh…thinking of rebadge the Brio Amaze as new Saga…HaHaHa that’s the reason it being develop first – to fool Protong to rebadge it…while Naza Kia finally hantam it with new Picanto even cheaper price

So how lah Protong? Being beaten left right depan belakang by Kia…

HA HA HA! GIVE UP LAH PROTONG! STOP KIDDING URSELF LAH! TOP GEAR GLOBAL JOKE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 34
    • junaidi on Nov 23, 2012 at 10:05 am

you’re really high bro.
      Its like you have a personal vendetta with proton, but the truth is whatever you do doesn’t affect proton, and vice versa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 32
  • Chris on Nov 23, 2012 at 10:49 am

Lets not drag Proton into tis.

Respect those who choose to buy Proton, have drive one or own one. Its probably due to budget reasons that ppl buy a proton.
    Quality wise etc may be still need improvments but it is still priced lower.

And the features and gadgets proton offer, arr way much better than say a j spec vio selling at rm70k++.

So if i were to buy a preve, and personally i dont think its ugly it is because i think it offers me more.

Proton must do their part and can be as progressive as the Koreans and beat the Japs whom has been been offering us sub standard equipped cars stuffed with old but trusted tech.

Someone down your generation line has owned a proton too right. What makes them buy one?

Now ask anyone who drives a dugong or previous ugly city why the buy t n h? They can only tell you t or h veli good mah, the best mah, resale value high mah. But in actual fact no better than a persona.

I drive a mid budget conti. Still better than say entry level lexus.

Koreans now better if not on par (entry level, mid budget and excutive cars) with jap models.

But to majority of Malaysias, they still buy because of past brand loyalty or because their under educated mechanic tells them jap cars are easier to maintain.( ah beng mechanic can repair dugong or city only because its easier and they have businesslah! If ppl buy good car like peugeot ford new tech cars they die of hunger lah!)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 27
  • sam loo anak syaitan on Nov 23, 2012 at 12:25 pm

There’s nothing to be fighting for. Let all hyundai haters spend more money with other cars, it’s their money anyway; we tried to help them know what’s best, but donkeys never learn. We know korean cars are better nowadays and we know spending more money? for less equipped cars is stupid. Just let them be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 43
  • NIEKO on Nov 23, 2012 at 7:02 pm

Well I think 5th gear does not like hyundai’s
    design as much as you though and they were reviewing The new Elantra ,when i look at a Kia forte the the design is ageing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo on Nov 24, 2012 at 4:54 pm

5th Gear tells the truth when it comes to revealing the poor Korean Car Quality, Design, Workmanship, Reliability & Durability

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 14
      • Rgshow2k on Nov 26, 2012 at 4:20 pm

Hey Sam, i think you just pin pointing korean as we remember top gear also commented our national car too. ” Low price ‘ Low quality ” . ” High price , High quality”. you chose yourself.

AUDI, LEXUS , BMW , BENZ produced good quality car , ask ourselve can we afford to buy. always think the fact lah Bro.

in this world nowaday no more “free lunch”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 31
  • Rgshow2k on Nov 26, 2012 at 3:36 pm

Currently i owned the Honda City 2006 Idsi and i fall in love with this car since i bought it. But time flies my city now seem to be like getting sicked very often.

i’m as a Honda owner (although just a CITY) the maintenance is never cheap and normal servicing is acceptable around RM200++ and for major can up to RM 1k depend on your millage.

But if spec wise, i should say Korean Car has a big improvement fro example : K5 and coming K3. even forte although the design is not really attractive but its still a cool and fun to drive. i believe not everyone can drive the car with price range RM 80K to RM 100k.( abit over price ) like what our bros said for K3 selling in KOREA only around RM 50k++. But we cannot compare Proton (our national car)with KIA ( Korean National car) coz its different technology and manufacturing.

same thing, if those who hate KIA or those who hate Proton and it will never stop. coz, Honda and Toyota you drop their pricing. If those can afford to own T or H is good for you. and those cant afford our choice is only Proton, Kia , Hyundai , Chevrolet and Suzuki. that is the fact.

Remember every car have their valued coz THEY have spent thousand hours to do R&D just to built a car (including Proton). No point to Criticized ppl or Boo ppl. all is our call.

“Chose thing right if you think is right to chose”

just my 3 cents ……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 26
    • Sam Loo on Nov 26, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Your 2006 City (6 year old)is still worth between RM45k-RM50k. From recollection, the ori sales price was around RM83k

Depreciation wise, that around RM36k over 6 years (using RM47k is the price to-date).

If you had purchased an Elantra in 2006, its selling between RM25k-RM28k now (new price was around RM98k for 1.8) That’s a depreciation of RM72k (assuming selling price of RM26k).

Just do the maths and you will regret like hell if you get a kimchi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
      • Sam loo, my friend just want to sell his 2006 city, call for only 25k plus coz of the cvt gear box is going some problem, Just do the maths b4 u shoot some ppl else

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
      • Sam Loo on Nov 27, 2012 at 11:34 am

Check out the advertorial before you simply tembak.

Never do homework before posting, deserve to be shot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
      • Rgshow2k on Nov 27, 2012 at 2:40 pm

Hi Sam, i totally agreed with you, but sometime dont to into the eesale value coz, end up we buy something which we don really like .

Although Korean car with poor resale value, but think twice ” Are we selling our car every 2 or 3 yrs ? ”

like my CITY i have finished settle the installment(coz 5 yrs loan), im happy that my car still valued around RM 38k – RM 40k (just check with dealer last week) NO REGRET !

But, am as a typical chinese guy who love cars and i have to face the facts that im not managed to buy H civic RM 118k++ or T Altis RM 115k ++ so, only can go for Korean cars which full of features that H or T are not providing it.

There are 2 types of ppl when we want to buy car :-

1) Prefer comfort while driving .

2) Prefer sport and features in the car.

i would prefer (2).

I totally agreed with you that korean car resale value will drop like crazy (no objection). thats what we call “HUMAN NEEDS”

just my few cents ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
        • Sam Loo on Nov 30, 2012 at 11:12 pm

If you owned a Jap, you would have the choice of changing your car whenever you like without losing an arm an leg

If you have a kimchi, be prepared to lose an arm and possibly 2 legs when you sell the car within the 8 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Sam, your claims may be correct for older Korean models but the newer ones have much better residuals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • MatLimMutu on Nov 26, 2012 at 5:14 pm

ya ya design is better than the japs.. better than proton but still the quality not at par with the japs.. same as proton only..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
    • Sharu on Dec 02, 2012 at 8:58 pm

Sure not? Same quality as proton?
      Most of the parts (90%) are locally fabricated for Proton and the price is on par with Korean cars….
      My friend, the Korean are doing good and their are increasing the market share globally especially in the Gulf where climate this the major opponent for any car maker…
      And the service centre is EXCELLENT…

• MatLimMutu on Nov 26, 2012 at 5:14 pm

so better buy proton hahahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
  • apalagibising on Nov 29, 2012 at 1:27 am

I love this country so muchhhhhhh…. we are blessed with peace and harmony. New Forte .. I’m gonna get you in my porch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
    • Sam Loo on Nov 30, 2012 at 6:54 pm

1 year later, you would wish that you have never bought a kimchi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • civicEK on Nov 29, 2012 at 11:25 am

when will be K3 come to bolehland?

• ah beng on Dec 04, 2012 at 1:00 pm

haiyaa…oledi have new forte tested…even old forte also can’t afford…blim 2.0 only rm500.. what about the new KIA Lio…and i wish arr get KIA Cee’d.. i hope eveli month oso get blim arr…

• the between-lower-middle-income people on Dec 19, 2012 at 3:08 pm

suddenly fall in love with new civic…civic vs k3 which one you’ll prefer?

• Samlok on Feb 24, 2013 at 11:16 pm

Please everyone don’t buy this k3 so that it can remains its cheap prices