Made-in-India Dacia Duster coming to Malaysia?

Renault India has announced that it will begin exporting the Dacia Duster (branded as Renault Duster there) to the UK from January 2013. Marc Nassif, MD of Renault India, says that besides the UK, all right-hand-drive countries are potential export markets. Malaysia was mentioned.

“We are currently looking at Western Africa, South Africa, Malaysia and Singapore,” he told Autocar Professional. So could we be seeing the rugged Duster in town next year? If that happens, expect the Renault badge on the SUV as the Dacia name has zero presence in our market. Renault owns Romanian brand Dacia, which specialises in budget models like the Logan.

In India, the Renault Duster can be had with petrol or diesel power. The gasoline unit is a 1.6 litre with 104 PS and 145 Nm, making a a weak sibling to the two 1.5 dCi K9K diesel variants – one comes with 85 PS/200 Nm while the brawnier THP version offers 110 PS and 248 Nm of torque. The latter also comes with a six-speed manual gearbox, as opposed to five ratios.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• GOOD NEWS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • CarGuy on Nov 23, 2012 at 3:40 pm

This or some made in china junk? I’d rather have this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • dodol on Nov 23, 2012 at 4:15 pm

reliable than korean crap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 30
  • Misai on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:09 pm

Its looks like carrying Renault logo??

• Captain Obvious on Nov 24, 2012 at 9:37 am

Renault India has announced that it will begin exporting the Dacia Duster (branded as Renault Duster there)

• NIEKO on Nov 23, 2012 at 7:06 pm

oh may,this is iceing on the cake .welcome to Malaysia Dacia Duster

• Jaybond on Nov 23, 2012 at 9:20 pm

Perhaps,this is the first sign that Renault will bring in more ‘mass production’ models in to Malaysia/ASEAN..Renault Fluence (petrol engined version) and Renault Symbol could be the next new models introduction..

• hope it will sell very cheap here coz i would take this over the Rush or Nautica anytime.

• Diamler on Nov 23, 2012 at 10:45 pm

145Nm at RM65k.
    248Nm at RM75k.

• Diamler on Nov 24, 2012 at 5:09 pm

The Duster is quite small, being just slightly wider than a Kia Sportage but shorter. We used to have an economical 4WD like this in our country. It was called the Perodua Kembara. (Paultan, 2009)

furthermore, this is an budget 4wd. Not as luxury as we imagine. Interior Dashboard is very similar to Proton Saga BLM/FLX.

With the price i quoted. It should be reasonable.

145Nm at RM65k.
      248Nm at RM75k.

fuel consumption at best = 12km/1L for 1.6
      or 17km/L for 1.5 Dci.

• Jimmy on Nov 23, 2012 at 11:29 pm

Looks big, but is just slightly bigger than Vios. Well done, designers, or photographer.

• Jimmy on Nov 23, 2012 at 11:33 pm

My suggestion to TC/Renault Malaysia, price it at around Tiggo price, with 2 airbags and ESC, omit auto-this/that, should be able to sell.

• KillBox1 Alpha on Nov 23, 2012 at 11:49 pm

Looks pretty good actually….

• Bijan Kap on Nov 24, 2012 at 8:49 am

this is supposedly a budget suv but i bet the price will be ridiculous when it reaches our shores…thanks pak jib!

• Sam Loo on Nov 24, 2012 at 9:33 am

Hyundai and Kia finally has competetion (compare junkyard quality with scrapyard metal)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • _xXx_ on Nov 25, 2012 at 5:15 pm

ok lah I go buy camry tomorrow n u stop telling ppl korean makes are lousy ok? but wait…camry ’99 RM18k…depreciation >RM120k…..why??? RV is bad wat?

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Nov 24, 2012 at 11:43 am

The front styling of the car looks like it already met an accident :P

• Jilbaber on Nov 26, 2012 at 5:11 pm

It help, so you can’t tell the different when you meet with a real accident (hope you will)

• Black Dog on Nov 24, 2012 at 12:59 pm

Duster? What kind of name is that? Their target is to sell to teachers?

• Sharu on Nov 24, 2012 at 2:28 pm

There lauch 2013 Renault Duster 2.0 in the Gulf. Intro price is OMR 5,390 @ MYR 43,120(OMR 1 approx MYR 8.00) full CBU from India.

May be in M’sia the selling price will be around MYR 99,176 including 130% tax from OUR GREAT GOVT.

• Diamler on Nov 24, 2012 at 8:46 pm

maybe.. Suzuki Alto (Maruti A-star) at India is approximately RM25k, but when arrive Malaysia, It shoot up to RM50k+.

Dacia Laster is approximately RM45k at India,
      When arrive malaysia, hihest possible is at RM80-RM90k-RM100k.

with this price. I bet there’ll be hardly any sales.

of course, it’s great if they able to bring in only 1.5Dci 204NM, and get taxed similar to like Hilux or Triton,
      Then we will be enjoying this car reasonably at RM65k – RM75k range.

• After doing some comparison, owning a car in Malaysia is almost identical to Australia. You have to take into account factors like currency rate, fuel subsidies, ownership certificate, the number of ppl who can afford, highways and roads, toll rates and so on. For eg. If compare wit Singapore, the car costs very cheap but to own it is nearly impossible. You need to buy certificate of ownership that costs thousands of sing dollars and not everyone can get. You cannot stick to one car more 10 years, after that kena buy new car and new cert. Its a way to reduce number of cars in the republic. Then u got no highways to drive ur ferrari at 200km, then fuel price very pricy. Same goes to other countries except different factors. In Malaysia an individual can own 100 cars without restriction, oil subsidize, can still drive a car dat is already 20 years old and can drive like maniac on highways and if get summons just pay during discount.. No prob. The cheapest wud be Brunei but you drive your car mcm dlm compound rumah.

• In Saudi it is under Renault badge..called Renault Duster. The basic model with comes with automatic tranny and 4X2 starts from SAR54k or RM45k. Since its launched here this year I have not seen one on the road yet…

• Duster name sounds weird in Malaysian context. They should consider name-changing.

• NIEKO on Nov 26, 2012 at 7:47 pm

YES I DO AGREE THAT THE NAME HAS TO BE CHANGED

• Duster is very popular suv now in India..The price and quality is good for India . Malaysia Goverment will be impose 130% or 150% tax..so the price will be RM 90,000 to 120, 000..so people wonot Buy Duster for that price tag..pity our self..