Proton Satria Neo CPS – new R3 examples spotted

Proton has been quiet on the home front the past few months, but things may be warming up again, with a familiar face taking the stage. Someone posted a photo in an Internet forum depicting a couple of Satria Neo CPS units on a transporter, waiting to be delivered to a showroom – can we expect to hear something along this front soon?

The black examples wear R3 badging, but in terms of exterior kit looks rather normal, which likely means that the car isn’t the much-expected supercharged banger that’s anticipated. In any case, it sounds too early – word was that a limited 300 unit production run of a supercharged Satria Neo CPS may go on sale early next year.

In 2011, we saw a black Satria Neo CPS with a Sprintex supercharger under its hood, with output stated as 180 hp and 200 Nm. Then, in March this year, there was another called the Artiga Concept, seen at the Proton Power of 1 event. That example also had a quoted 180 hp, but a higher degree of twist, at 240 Nm.

Then, in July, came the yellow S2000 Edition Supercharged Concept, which went on display in Johor in conjunction with the 2012 Malaysian Rally. Reportedly, the peak torque on this one is about 192 Nm at 5,900 rpm.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• tengga chutney on Nov 26, 2012 at 2:46 pm

Rebadge Reprice Resell

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 44
    • insperut on Nov 26, 2012 at 8:48 pm

Racing Rosak Repair

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 22
      • Bongcs on Nov 27, 2012 at 5:26 pm

Rindukan Raksa Rasuahan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • wow.. this is a good performance car
          good job proton
          finally can show these BMW and MERC and AUDI that we can smoke them kaw-kaw :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • Cari fasal on Nov 28, 2012 at 9:22 am

malaysia road warrior :)
            best handling..

also its “Race, Research, Rally” certified..

unlike Germanic crap, say only good but dont dare claim badge “R&D” unlike our proton “R3″…
            good work proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
          • Octavian on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:52 am

anak emas..Nsib baik ad NAP… even ad NAP pn rugi brjuta2.. bila politik msuk cmpur, jd ini mcmla… bought proton menteri kaya, bought imported menteri kaya juga..

• CarGuy on Nov 26, 2012 at 2:47 pm

Such an old car, and continuing to inject “life” into it. What a joke. They should be focusing on developing the new SRM. Or at least rebadge/reengineer a Honda. Wait, honda does not have any more “hot hatchbacks”. Too bad then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 70
  • SpoonKaki on Nov 26, 2012 at 2:55 pm

Just supercharge the Satria NEO to at least 180hp and sell it everywhere, then release certain “Type R” like series. Why is Proton Management not doing these money making thing, i don’t understand….
    I believe many local will support this “Civic EK9 reborn” like Satria Neo.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 19
    • unforgiven on Nov 28, 2012 at 11:09 am

The funny thing is the name Proton itself is already a very fast car, if the person himself is driving Neo. Unfortunately that’s only on the eyes of proton driver, sad case.

• YAY! gonna smoke Polo GTI for sure!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 82
    • Can meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 14
      • Ofcourse canot. With that specs, polo GTI will smoke him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 12
      • canot lo ofcourse

• Ryan L on Nov 26, 2012 at 4:07 pm

Of course he can… In his dreams.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
      • 180 hp and 200 Nm who say cannot? :D
        anyone wanna share?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 26
      • beatnik on Nov 26, 2012 at 4:30 pm

Can, coz the campro engine will end up in smoke..

Jokes aside, not long ago I spotted Exora with sprintex sc (stickers all over, monitoring gadgets inside) being tested by 2 mat sallehs..
        Still doing testing.. maybe the campro engine cannot take the extra hp & torque.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
      • frenzy on Nov 26, 2012 at 4:36 pm

Belum try belum tahu.
        But this is belum tengok sudah tahu.
        It’s possible IF someone swap evo x engine in it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
    • JeremyNg on Nov 26, 2012 at 4:06 pm

It cant even smoke Suzuki Swift Sport leh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 48
      • lincoln on Nov 26, 2012 at 7:15 pm

how do u know? dont just talk rubbish…give some fact here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 31
        • JeremyNg on Nov 27, 2012 at 11:55 pm

Fact ??!! The number shows the fact.

0-100 : 8.9sec vs 11sec ++
          weight : 1080kg VS 1200kg

Don forget suzuki come with short ratio gearbox. If compare with Rally car den different story

• Octavian on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:09 am

my brothers swift sport can sprint 0-100 in 9 seconds w/o any mods and no power induction in it plus added with my 88kg belly fat.. dont just look on Horsepower man.. gearbox, lsd, weight ratio, chasis..its all count.. btw, proton gearbox always rubbish..

• sub_zero on Nov 26, 2012 at 8:26 pm

satria neo, been smokin’ suzuki swift in IRC, BTCC, and SWRC since 2009

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 12
    • Hello on Nov 26, 2012 at 4:09 pm

I doubt it can past even polo tsi, or maybe the polo sedan. Lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 33
    • U are a joker. Power is not evrtyhg. Handling and the pacakge counts. Really ah beng.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 2
    • Kent Loh on Nov 26, 2012 at 9:08 pm

This junk sure will eat Scirocco R’s dust forever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 23
    • Actually we dont insult or make fun of proton. So u shouldnt evwn compare tis with a purebred polo gti.

Tis is a nice car thats it. It has its limitations. Btw many of you like to mod your cars to crazy hp etc. If you have the money buy a polo or peugeot for a start..no ned mod. 2nd hand polo or peugeot is still better than tis new 180hp neo. Test drive it and see which car gives you the safety and confidence to drive fast.

But with speed, drive responsibly. Respect other users and dont challenge any gti

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
    • Pls don’t compared to VW GTI ! but can smoke kancil 660 .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
      • I thought Lotus build Proton Satria Neo CPS for Malaysia? Why not just put Lotus Elise engin in Satria CPS?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • coz Lotus do not make engines, you know or not? and they rather get their engines from toyota rather than use proton camnotpro

• LE_buruk on Nov 27, 2012 at 11:14 am

even lotus used toyota engine la brader…

• Joe Radzif on Nov 27, 2012 at 11:42 am

Bro…
          Elise pakai enjin Toyota la…

• same case happen again… 1 model use 10 years…>.<"…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 20
    • alytheman on Nov 26, 2012 at 4:17 pm

so what!! this is Satria.. small volume car.. niche market… no body force u to buy it.. get lost!! basher!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 40
    • Uncle like to use wat. :) 1 model use 10 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
    • dugong on Nov 26, 2012 at 5:44 pm

somebody forgot vios! lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
  • taboogen on Nov 26, 2012 at 3:20 pm

2 supercharge neo’s on the way to JB..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • If proton rebadge that old ek9,dc2 with stock stdard b16a sure can make money…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • goguncas71 on Nov 26, 2012 at 3:33 pm

No need for a supercharger. The CFE is there. Just increase the boost and change to a bigger intercooler

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • go go satria

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 54
  • nabill on Nov 26, 2012 at 3:46 pm

very underated car….supercharged or not

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
  • nazgul on Nov 26, 2012 at 4:05 pm

given proton history of sabotaging early jumper…maybe the cfe in the pipeline once all 300 unit sold…

• vee-oh on Nov 26, 2012 at 4:17 pm

good la R3 mod this car..the standard Neo CPS smoked by 10 years old Satria 1.3 easily. Only at 4th gear can catch up, that one also looks like out of breath..nice looking car but not so nice engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • bentan bot on Nov 26, 2012 at 4:20 pm

they should come up wit saga, persona or inspira cvt wih r3 mode n accessories..sure can sell ma..

• shahar on Nov 26, 2012 at 4:27 pm

same shit only at a different day
    and the msian public gets excited !!
    DRB , Proton is in dire need of a major revamp and
    it should start by ditching the entire recycled fleet !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • *Yawn*

wake up proton! every corner of this world is hyped up by the releases of new hothach and how crazy people go for it. u got the platform dy, why didnt u make some make-over facelift ( like a REAL facelift, not bolt on bodykits), and throw away those old-tech CPS and put ya 180hp engine.

Coward marketing strategy la. the more u hold frm competing in the market, the more u loss in the end

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
    • trrrr on Nov 26, 2012 at 6:09 pm

dude…this is just special edition
      Preve Hatchback coming soon in the market….next year June mass pro…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • Preve? They didn’t even get the LED lights right. People have a standard of how many lumens brightnes to qualify as daytime running lights. The Preve ah, can’t be seen 5 meters away.

• pokngah on Nov 26, 2012 at 4:41 pm

I’m tired see satria neo on the road..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 17
    • voyager86 on Nov 26, 2012 at 7:00 pm

I saw more crz than satria neo on road now…….lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
      • Kent Loh on Nov 26, 2012 at 9:11 pm

Yes.The Honda CRZ better than this junk,even can smoke it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 33
        • So?
          No wonder there are many idiots and lunatics on Malaysia road nowadays. Drive like mad people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
        • Proffesionals on Nov 27, 2012 at 9:33 am

Dude. CRZ is not able to smoke this satria. Get your facts right. =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
        • LE_buruk on Nov 27, 2012 at 11:18 am

crz smoke neo…u must be drunk…crz is the worst car ever produce by honda…the old crx is better than the crz…

• voyager86 on Nov 27, 2012 at 7:13 pm

crz (sport mode, manual) can smoke neo (campro kosong 1.6 manual) from pickup to top speed, i am driving neo and my friend driving crz….just sharing no offense :)

• AH CAI on Nov 27, 2012 at 12:46 pm

if satria neo want to smoke CRZ,minyak kena full ma.. kuat makan minyak meh?

• faisal on Nov 27, 2012 at 2:04 pm

CRZ can smoke Neo. Agak-agak la beb. Evo 10 & Impreza pun kena tapau dengan Neo. Buka ni http://www.fiaaprc.com/media/2012/10/points-table-2012-after-round-6-final-classification-1.pdf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • Chris on Nov 27, 2012 at 8:56 pm

Pls lah crz looks nice but eat dirt ok. No power ok. Driving it makes u think its fast but it just cant go fast.

Ppl all think honda means fast and nasa use your engine ah?

• Of course they are quiet. Putting all their hope to Honda City ripoff in their next launch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • bro_Ne0 on Nov 26, 2012 at 5:00 pm

ahh..welcum back! not a bad car for wannabe’s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • just 300? should be more, many peeps still craving for satria neo R3 supercharge or turbocharge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Haish..come on Proton..

Hopefully it will be delivered with a better quality on the inside and at least, give some more improvement on the engine. Don’t just put up the same engine performance of CPS just because there’s some quarters want neo again.

• this is not the “real” R3 satria neo.. engine output is the same as stock satria neo CPS.. but they make it looks like satria neo R3 RS and comes in 4 colors.. poor decision by proton & DRB

• sepul on Nov 26, 2012 at 5:30 pm

cps is just like old vtec engine, should not be used anymore in this new age of green tech etc…

anyway, at least do a facelift on the neo

• sepucps on Nov 27, 2012 at 9:05 am

cps is euro 4 compliant engine..but, just recently launch polo sedan still use euro 2 engine..let alone the old vtec engine..

• start-a-figt on Nov 26, 2012 at 5:34 pm

when S2000 neo win something on the rally front.. ppl shout why not do anything about it?

when they come out with something…. ppl shout why don do new model?

i don understand this crowd.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
  • Sgt Scoop on Nov 26, 2012 at 5:40 pm

Nooooooooo. Proton, you lazy sods! Stop always taking the easy option. Get a proper brand halo going instead of buying in a supercharger and putting it in an existing car. Think (but don’t copy) the Audi R8 or Nissan GTR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
  • i sure hope proton got the rights to use the e01… 180bhp is not good enough…

• My source said that its neo cps with r3 bodykit and rims, nothing special with the engine and interior

• slimershine on Nov 26, 2012 at 6:20 pm

damn i love s.neo soo much.. but already got my fiesta.. hmm..

• AuntyInTheCity on Nov 26, 2012 at 6:30 pm

Aiyorrrr…enough lorrr~~don’t hurt my eyes anymore~~Pity har aunty lar har~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • AripSon on Nov 26, 2012 at 6:31 pm

If Proton/R3 wants to make heads turn, just fit in the CFE engine with revise specs, higher boost (1.0bar); manual transmission with LSD. Just put in 1,000 units… Pricing circa MYR80k… Dont tell me they cannot do it!? Why so kiasu ler Proton oiiii… It is a sure hit/goreng pisang panas! Then conduct Neo-Cup Championship!!!

Anyway, there’s a good goreng pisang in taman majurapat ipoh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Dr. M on Nov 26, 2012 at 10:13 pm

It is good seeing so many comments. It means Malaysians want more from Proton. Hopefully it will be a surprise that we can sing “belum cuba belum tahu, sudah cuba hari hari mahu”.

Make both, supercharged (mampat) and turbocharged (padat) for the rakyet to feel your power!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • Aiyoh ! when r u gonna stop ?
    Might as well, come up with ‘Ah Kok’ lah…

• DArkerMarker on Nov 26, 2012 at 7:06 pm

proton is still lagging behind……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • Sam Loo on Nov 26, 2012 at 7:26 pm

This is a much better option that kimchi veloster

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
    • lollipop on Nov 27, 2012 at 1:35 am

in korea kimchi sell veloster around RM 40K ,and thier have Hyundai Genesis coupe 2.0T with 214hp, proton always go SAME style… freaking boring!!

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 26, 2012 at 7:31 pm

Wondering why Proton is stubbornly not wanting to put the CFE engine in the Satria. With a mild retune, its not unfeasible to get a more interesting 160hp and 240NM of torque from it.

• Fredo on Nov 27, 2012 at 8:30 am

bro, it is not feasibile as the packaging neo with the CFE will alter the car configuration and in this case the crash simulation indicate tht is will not pass the crash test. Major modification needed and it will cost lotsa money to do so if they were to go ahead with the idea. Knowing DRB, they will not simply spend money on not so good business case. its all about the business, nothing personal.

• keyboard.rosak on Nov 27, 2012 at 12:47 pm

a lot of changes needed to put CFE into Neo, especially on engine mounting

• my kancil tat day smoked a ferrari..kthxbai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Where was the traffic jam? :hehe:

• smile22 on Nov 27, 2012 at 8:49 am

Yalor, when the Ferrari parked behind ur Kancil.. u start engine sure can smoke him. So did u syiok maximum..??

• Samuel Schick on Nov 26, 2012 at 7:38 pm

what it need is a high compression engine

• wahhhh……125 hp old cps not enough…..want more!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

• estimate ~manual 64k, auto 68k. Expect lower as during launch..

• niceone on Nov 27, 2012 at 1:26 pm

that translates to additional rm7k from the normal neo cps. it better be worth it with engine tuning (better performance than normal neo) and probably some tech goodies inside and bodykit.

proton, dont do-the-honda / toyota, add some bodykits here and there and not touching engine at all, there you go, slap additional rm10k!

the normal neo cps is underpowered. so give this handsome looking car the power it deserves.

• Kaninabei on Nov 26, 2012 at 8:47 pm

The Neo can’t even beat a 17 year old Nissan AD resort standard. Or a uncle Lim Goh Tong teksi genting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
  • whats on Nov 26, 2012 at 9:05 pm

doesnt matter what topic paul tan put it here…end of the day proton sure kena hentam…bmw toyota ford suzuki story whatever…proton sure kena…crazy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • Expatriate VN on Nov 27, 2012 at 9:32 am

It is not national car but Cronies Jaguh Kampung No. 2 deserve kena hentam kaw kaw!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • theanswer on Nov 26, 2012 at 9:25 pm

still on my wish list. but too bad the roof is very low. anyone here can lend me a few mins his satria neo cps? wanna test it. heheheheh.

• Hadi75 on Nov 26, 2012 at 10:33 pm

Got the looks but not the oommmphhh……come on proton do it properly la…..

• GoNe'o' on Nov 26, 2012 at 10:48 pm

Every now and then shit the same thing until whole of Malaysia smelly with their shit….Always wants to cheat rakyat and some stupid rakyat always support this bullshit and buy their shitty car…..change rakyat change!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
  • Proton management can never think logically. If this model can have 4 or even 5 doors hatched, their sales should boost up a least two times. So far among all the model of proton, this is the best. The manegement should attend extra marketing strategies class. Ha! Ha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • armandd on Nov 26, 2012 at 10:49 pm

Just make it Proton, and blast of those pesky vios TRDs with ancient 4-speed autobox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • dennis on Nov 27, 2012 at 12:32 am

some ppl here dont own neo but bullshitting alot about the car..crz is the only car overrated..if crz was proton..sure crz kena bash kao kao..typical malaysian thinking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • adam991 on Nov 27, 2012 at 12:38 am

Proton Tipu orang Malaysia. Kereta yang tidak quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
  • ahmadjohnson on Nov 27, 2012 at 7:50 am

I’m still waiting for Inspira 2.0 manual R3

• uncertain buyer on Nov 27, 2012 at 8:29 am

http://flic.kr/p/bqDL3S

Some of the pictures of Proton Artiga during Proton Motorshow at Bukit Jalil…is this the prototype of new satria neo?

• tupakamaru on Nov 27, 2012 at 10:22 am

although i own 2 vw, deep insight I would like to buy this one…why???? because I can….hahahahaha

• Hmmmm…… so now Proton with Honda?! Satria with V-tec engin!

• MatLimMutu on Nov 27, 2012 at 10:59 am

i want satria cfe!

• koochai on Nov 27, 2012 at 11:00 am

so proton…where do i sign…?!

• bila launch ini?

• taurus5653 on Nov 27, 2012 at 1:09 pm

coming Thursday in Subang around 230PM…i just got the invitation for the launching ceremony..

• Camry Lover on Nov 27, 2012 at 2:41 pm

i think for once, Proton should take the risk and do this. Lose money also never mind since you have already lost so much anyways.

– NEO with high boost CPS engine (180hp + 240nm)
    – 5/6 speed Manual transmission
    – High quality interior. Revise the dam dashboard.
    – Price it at about RM85k

i believe it will sell…. a lot of it!

• chris on Nov 27, 2012 at 8:59 pm

Camry lover…
      Quality interior means got plastic wood trims like camry and curtain seats ah?
      Chassis can handle or not such power..

• bonbon on Nov 27, 2012 at 11:09 pm

one more point, -remove speed limit and AES at certain highway

• mayonis on Nov 27, 2012 at 2:56 pm

i think this one just a special edition R3 accessories only. which will boost the price up extra RM4k perunit. no modification on engine.

• koochai on Nov 27, 2012 at 4:28 pm

coming this thursday :)

http://my.news.yahoo.com/return-neo-035648056.html

• kamil on Nov 27, 2012 at 4:55 pm

ahhh.. cannot beat ‘vios’ maa.. (ah beng style) hehe..

• Bongcs on Nov 27, 2012 at 5:30 pm

Please, do it on the race track.. sad to see a lot young people die on the road..

• douche on Nov 27, 2012 at 7:07 pm

Nothing special la this car. Just a neo with r3 rims n badge. Ive seen a lot of it in proton’s shah alam plant

• kobealex on Nov 28, 2012 at 12:35 am

Skeptical since its a year end launch, remember Inspira “R3” just to clear stocks for the year? hmmm… shall see what’s in it this coming Thursday…

• khairulZ on Nov 28, 2012 at 8:56 pm

price http://www.oto.my/car-for-sale/22811/new-2012-proton-satria-neo-r3-1.6-cps-selangor