Qoros stops Kia from using Quoris name in the EU

A German court has granted new Chinese carmaker Qoros a preliminary injunction against Kia, to the effect that the Korean company now cannot use the Quoris name for its upcoming RWD flagship sedan in the European Union.

Introduced in Korea as the Kia K9 in May, the name Quoris was chosen for the car’s export markets in July. The court determined that Qoros and Quoris were too similar-sounding and could cause confusion among consumers.

It’s just the EU for now, but Qoros states that it will continue legal efforts to protect its trademark in other territories. The preliminary injunction is currently served upon Kia in Korea and still can be appealed by Kia.

Established in 2007, Qoros is the result of a 50:50 partnership between Chery and global industrial holding company Israel Corporation. It will debut a a compact C-segment sedan at the next Geneva motor show in March, with first sales in China scheduled for the end of 2013 and Europe by early 2014.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Sam Loo on Nov 27, 2012 at 2:16 pm

Yeah, China 1, Kimchi 0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 42
    • Kent Loh on Nov 27, 2012 at 2:30 pm

Yes.This car copy 7 series design,the name also copy the Chinese name.Shame on Kia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 26
    • Kalun on Nov 27, 2012 at 7:41 pm

Patent Troll! Obviously.
      Alot of small companies like to sue the big company for money.
      Eg. Just look at the Tech news section.

Btw, Quoris isn’t a good name nor it sounds elegant. Kia should change it as alot in the european countries complain about the name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
      • Small company? These days just need one Chinese company to swallow the entire group of Malaysian public listed company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
        • Kalun on Nov 27, 2012 at 10:20 pm

Just give me a million dollar and I will buy all the valid patent.
          Then, I will sue the company you are working for with until it go bankrupt or have to pay back 2.5 billion USD.

That’s a huge flaw in the Patent system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • “as alot in the european countries complain about the name”

??? Who complain and in which european country?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • Kalun on Nov 28, 2012 at 8:56 am

Obviously you stuck never read other Auto blog or review from US, Australia and UK.
          They do complaint about the name. It’s not too luxurious as the car it self.

• what? really?? on Nov 27, 2012 at 10:31 pm

damn, what about RCZ, CRZ, RXZ? lol

• Kia please give up the quoris name
    The K9 is an awesome car, but i wouldn’t want to own something call the quoris

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 13
    • David D on Nov 27, 2012 at 3:04 pm

Maybe the Amanti name would be good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
      • David D on Nov 27, 2012 at 6:34 pm

For those of you who wonder why did I propose the name Amanti, this is because in the United States, Kia offered a large car, which of course is the Amanti, to compete with the good old American classics like the Crown Victoria as well as the Avalon. So, if the Quoris, which I too find it not such an appealing name, can’t be used in Europe, then the Amanti name should be resurrected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
  • NISSAN on Nov 27, 2012 at 3:26 pm

when i read this, what come across my mind is PENSONIC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • Please bring Qoros cars to Canada / USA and Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • MycarMylife on Nov 27, 2012 at 4:01 pm

Unlikely to MY , have the Israeli element there unless!! Nice car though .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • exora/evora

• gOOsh on Nov 27, 2012 at 4:01 pm

what about “KOROK”….? :)

• Sam Loo on Nov 27, 2012 at 7:08 pm

There is a Ssangyong SUV called Koranda.

Saw only many years back. Sounds like keranda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • mp_drucker on Nov 27, 2012 at 4:06 pm

From the picture, it seems that this Qoros has the shadow of BMW 3 series.
    Before Lexus can take on BMW, Mercesdes, Audi….etc, now Lexus has to watch its back for Qoros. I predict that Qoros will give a good run of money for Lexus. Those who knows the rise of Lexus should know the reason why i said so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • The K9 actually looks more like a 7 series…. If you compare them together , the similarities are uncanny.
      From the upright grill to the rear lights and especially the C-pillar and the rear doors quarter window , it really looks like a carbon copy of the big 7.
      Now I don’t doubt the greatness of his Peterness, but couldn’t he added some more Korean and authenticity.
      But than again, almost every Asian premium sedans (infinity, lexus and the Equus[the big hyundai]) try very hard to be something teutonic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Josh Ling on Nov 27, 2012 at 4:20 pm

no big deal, but hopefully it won’t have some counter effect. kia could have similar action against Qoros if they want to.

• qoros won’t sell well here because of the israel corporation company

• Oh… cuz there’s a relation with the ‘small big brother’ of the middle-east, the EU just back off for them, maybe to avoid any friction with them! What a double standard world we are in!

• I don’t really like Kia but if I was to choose between Kia and Qoros I’ll choose Kia of course! China brand, Meh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • flat_tire on Nov 28, 2012 at 2:06 am

sooo.. it’s gonna be Kia Quarry then.. or maybe Quacker.. or Queh.. or Qiasu.. etc.

• Kokopai on Nov 28, 2012 at 7:38 am

Dear KIA,

Why don’t you name you car “Keris” instead?

• shawal on Nov 28, 2012 at 8:57 am

you can keep both the stupid names

• kia should have patent the name first ^^
    they should have learned from apple v samsung