Ford Fiesta ST – US gets five-door hatch version

Ford is set to launch the Fiesta ST in the US, and though Team RS of Europe has had a hand in its development, working alongside SVT, the American version is a bit different to the European model.

For starters, there’s the configuration; the US is set to get the ST in five-door form, and it’ll be exclusive to the States, according to Ford. The car – based on the facelifted Fiesta – is making its debut at the LA Auto Show that kicks off today.

The power output is also different to that of the three-door European ST, which premiered in Geneva earlier this year. The 1.6 litre EcoBoost four-cylinder mill on the US version has 197 hp and 290 Nm, compared to the European ST’s 180 hp and 240 Nm.

Torque-wise, the company says that 240 Nm is already available at 1,600 rpm, with the full amount of twist coming on at 3,500 rpm. The transmission is a six-speed manual.

Like the European version, there’s electronic Torque Vectoring Control and a three-mode (standard, sport or off) Electronic Stability Control, as well as a 15 mm reduction in ride height. The rear axle gets increased roll stiffness to improve stability through fast corners, and the steering is more direct and responsive than the base model, with a quicker overall steering ratio of 13.6:1.

Elsewhere, the Fiesta ST will come with the mechanical version of the sound symposer system – which feeds the engine sound directly into the passenger cabin to accentuate feedback quality and response – first used on the Focus ST.

Exterior kit-wise, the car – which is finished in a Molten Orange tri-coat metallic shade – is dressed up with a unique grille and chin spoiler as well as a new rear diffuser and fascia extensions. Bright tipped dual-exhaust pipes and high-mount spoiler along with five-spoke 17-inch wheels complete the visual package.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Henry on Nov 28, 2012 at 6:52 pm

Chun. A worthy competitor to the Mini Cooper S and VW Polo GTi. Will it come to Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
    • nazgul on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:48 am

240 Nm is already available at 1,600 rpm?!!! wait a minute while i pickup my jaw from the floor…

• i hope there will be Auto Version in Malaysia. been driving manual for 10 years. dah penat…if Auto ada in Malaysia, i will buy :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • ramun on Nov 29, 2012 at 11:28 am

Stick shift pls. Our market is flooded with auto tranny. I don’t mind playing with clutch paddle for the rest on my life. Better bring both. Easier.

• Geoff on Nov 28, 2012 at 7:31 pm

bring this in for around RM130k, and itll sell like crazy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Come here with a three pedal model, price below RM120k and shut up and take my money.
    That said I’m still not a fan of the facelift design ,prefer the pre FL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • droll on Nov 28, 2012 at 7:51 pm

yummy!!! i hope SDAC will launch it here. but given the VW Polo GTi price fiasco, i doubt this would be below RM150k. :(

• If only our local edition is equip with Cruise Control, I’ll definitely go for this chick. And I’ve no idea why manufacturers tend to omit these feature in their entry level car over here. European & US edition seems to understand the demand of the market. Sadly, not for Asean especially, Malaysia

• Fugly, better buy Vios, Forte K3, or City

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 50
  • Cut out gaps between each? spokes on the rims and BOOM, Lamborghini Aventador’s rims! :D

• neutral on Nov 28, 2012 at 9:34 pm

holy moly…looks great…but if europe getting 2 door only…i suppose malaysia will only get 2 door too? and I think its manual only

• I hope is manual only, like the RS Megane and Focus ST.
      Sorry Auto folks, long live manual

• Kumar san on Nov 29, 2012 at 6:26 pm

Yup,agreed man,almost all of the cars i own are sticks,only 2 are slushboxes for the wife,even my eldest daughter drives and loves manuals,she enjoys my performance cars when i travel for work.

It’s the way to go if you ask me,even when i was in the U.S for almost 25 years,never once i owned a slushboxed ride.

On another note,this Fieta ST rocks! Hope SDAC does not screw it up when they can eventually bring it in,i booked the Focus ST though right after the launch since i already drove it overseas,it’s a proper front wheel drive Ford,enough said.This Fiesta will be no exception.

The ST nearly manages to dethrone the Megane RS 250 Cup for pure driver involvement,i have the Megane too,just finished tinkering with this,puts out 346bhp at the front wheels,simply awesome.The chassis is sublime.

I had the Golf Gti too,nothing wrong that,it just felt dull so i sold it and got the Megane.The Golf is a brilliant all rounder,it feels over accomplished.

Guys,if you have the cash to reward your selves with a proper excellent value performance hot hatch,i strongly recommend the Focus ST,or when SDAC brings this Fiesta ST in,get it.You will not be disappointed.

Cheers.

• I hope they price it at around 115k bcuz that will make this a better choice than the CRZ I’m kinda after. Whatever budget I have , anywhere 6 digits is quite a stretch gor me so a Focus ST is surely out of my reach for the foreseeable future
          Anyways great choice the Focus ST , hope you have fun with it.

• zzt231 on Nov 28, 2012 at 11:03 pm

woah…take this to malaysian roads and remote the ST badges all the wannabes will think this is just a regular ford fiesta until it smokes then

• The looks start to grow on me.

• Dream comes true performance car is always around the corner, yet traffic speed limit not any more works like brother.

• Well, bright side is that you can accelerate faster than any vios, city, civic, crz, 86 when traffic light turns green without even revving the engine . Looks so easy, is actually ez, very ez…

• yup..i seldom drive beyond the speed limit wt my GTI (opps!! maybe some time,….) BUT its the get up and go and effortless torque which i love.

• kingston on Nov 29, 2012 at 12:45 am

Pocket rocket!

• Stupid laa, still got people have short mentality, for them japanese car all the way till they die…F*c* laaa those morons!

• sepul on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:21 am

i might consider this if the price is around rm120k below.. maybe same price as polo tsi? huhuu

yes, likely to be a 3 door here as we will get the european version instead, like the focus st

• Pricer on Nov 29, 2012 at 4:24 pm

It is not possible to get under Rm120k in Malaysia with this kinda specs. Expect it to be at least RM200k ba.

• hazeem on Mar 05, 2013 at 1:31 pm

agreed with you it won’t be less than 120k, but it won’t be 200k too, since focus st only 209k. my wild guess it will be priced somewhere around 150-160k

• Suarez on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:35 am

They said facelift and they mean it! H and T pls learn from it!

• I have rm140k in bank, take it and I fly it out of your showroom.

• Peter on Nov 29, 2012 at 11:15 am

Very nice. Fantastic babe! I like this handsome angry-bird version.

• intermilan on Nov 29, 2012 at 2:58 pm

SDAC,
    Bring the US model spec to Msia, if have RHD version.
    5 door practicality is a huge turn on. Auto or manual? Both if possible. Price it competitively and it should be a huge success.

• TheVictimz on Nov 29, 2012 at 3:21 pm

The rear design looks too narrow, i dun like it.

• That’s hot, man !

• If sdac can bring a US specs Focus, what’s stopping them bringing a US specs Fiesta? Think about it guys…