Proton Prevé and Exora Prime launched at Thai Motor Expo, C-segment sedan priced from 625,000 baht

Sawadee krub! Hello from Impact Muang Thong Thani, where the 2012 edition of the annual Thailand International Motor Expo opens today.

Some may dismiss this show as a mere “year end sales” event, but our trips here have been profitable – Proton gave the Saga FL a world debut here in 2010, and the same event saw Honda unveil its Brio prototype to the world. There are a couple of interesting cars this year, not to mention the pretty ladies, but let’s kick off with the official launch of the Proton Prevé and Exora Prime for the Thai market.

When the Prevé was launched back home in April this year, it was billed as Proton’s global car, and it’s living up to the name, market-by-market. Last month, the C-segment sedan made its Aussie debut in Sydney and now Thailand becomes the Prevé’s second foreign market. Like in Malaysia, Prevé doesn’t replace the Persona here, but will be sold alongside the older sedan as a more upmarket option.

In Thailand, the Prevé can be had in three variants, Standard, Executive and Premium. The first two are powered by a 109 hp/150 Nm 1.6 litre Campro IAFM+ engine, while the Premium variant is shipped with the 1.6 litre turbocharged Campro CFE engine with 138 hp and 205 Nm between 2,000 to 4,000 rpm.

The five-speed manual option is available to both Campro IAFM+ powered trim levels (Std and Exec), but the turbo engine is CVT-only. However, all three variants can be paired to a CVT gearbox, even the baseline Standard.

The Punch-sourced VT2 CVT for the Campro IAFM+ has six virtual ratios while the CFE motor is paired to a “seven-speed ProTronic” VT3 unit with a higher torque limit. Only the Premium gets steering shift paddles.

No difference mechanically and in apperance between Prevés sold in Malaysia, Australia and Thailand, but there are slight spec variations due to unique market requirements.

In Thailand, ABS, EBD, Brake Assist and dual front airbags are standard across the board, with the Executive adding on side airbags. The Premium has the full package of front/side/curtain airbags and ESC. In Australia, every Prevé comes with six airbags and ESC, while in Malaysia, the Premium variant gets front/side airbags and ESC.

Proton’s deputy CEO Datuk Lukman Ibrahim tells us that moving forward, there will be a “harmonisation of standards” spec wise, bringing global standards to the Malaysian market. This will benefit the local customer as Proton pushes its cars in developed markets like Australia and the UK. “Safety should be the same for everybody. Going forward that’s the approach,” he said.

Safety kit aside, Thai-bound Protons are tuned to accept E20 fuel, and we also noticed a new Blaupunkt 2-DIN touch-screen head unit, which has a larger screen than the unit in our Prevé Premium. Check it out in the gallery.

Sold in Thailand by sole distributor Phranakorn Auto Sales, which also sells various marques from Chevrolet to Fiat, the Prevé range starts from 625,000 baht for the Standard M/T to 759,000 baht for the top spec Premium. Prices are on-the-road with insurance.

Meanwhile, Proton also introduced the Exora Prime variant to the Thai market. The 899,000 baht Prime will be the most luxurious version of the Exora MPV, which was launched in 2009 and is now Proton’s most popular model in the Land of Smiles. Unlike the regular Exora, the Prime is a six-seater with two individual seats in the middle row.

Exterior upgrades include a new front and rear bumper design, electric folding door mirrors, rear disc brakes, blacked-out headlamps, smoked rear combi lights, 16-inch gold-finished alloys and a rear garnish.

The meat inside consists of leather, walnut trim on the dashboard and metallic door switch covers and inner door handles. The front seat headrests incorporate 6.2-inch LCD screens for the DVD player and audio system with navigation and reverse camera.

Both new models are now on sale at 31 Proton dealerships across Thailand. A network expansion programme is ongoing as we speak, which will bring the dealer count to 35 by early next year, all 3S centres.

We managed to catch up with Proton’s new management at the show, so more details on the company’s Thai and export plans are coming your way. Stay tuned for more news from the Thai Motor Expo!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ngan Tengyuen on Nov 28, 2012 at 8:22 pm

am really curious… the model in golden dress, is she a TS or real lady… come to think of it, these TS in Thailand are more feminine than some girls around the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 11
    • Curiosity is bitter sweet. Let’s just assume it’s a she for now. LOL. Speaking about curiosity, I’m sure a lot of you guys are curious to know the exact sales figures of Proton in Thailand, and other export markets, no ? I compiled everything here http://a4rzero.wordpress.com/2012/11/29/proton-intl-sales/ . Enjoy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
      • kemio on Nov 29, 2012 at 1:17 pm

good data Aero.

• Kat97 on Nov 29, 2012 at 5:37 pm

Wow! Proton in Australia is in the luxury and supercars segment already. The number of units sold marginally higher than the ferraris, bentleys and lambos. Ah Proton making headway. :)

• Hameed Koyakuti on Nov 29, 2012 at 10:41 am

Stereng pun senget, ada hati mau jual eksport….ayo yo…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 47
      • JUNJUN on Nov 29, 2012 at 4:37 pm

so what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • walasizo on Nov 29, 2012 at 4:54 pm

it happens on conti cars also..for example, the steering of a new merc c-class is off-set from the driver’s seat…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OG4G0WYoCsM

• Hameed Koyakuti on Nov 30, 2012 at 12:17 pm

Merc did that on purpose….

Proton QC do not even realised its off-centered….

Thats the diff……..

• walasizo on Dec 02, 2012 at 11:38 am

there u go..they did that on purpose…thank u for supporting..=_=

• MatLimMutu on Dec 04, 2012 at 6:19 pm

so easy for you to buat fitnah..

• Malaysian are not stupid on Nov 29, 2012 at 10:59 am

How come Thailand never slap 300% excise duties on Proton cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
      • 0% import tax for ASEAN make maa… non ASEAN made 80%(confirm) import tax, 10-60% excise tax(if not mistaken)..thai

• _xXx_ on Nov 29, 2012 at 1:02 pm

wow…equipped with Datsun pickup grille….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • _xXx_ on Nov 29, 2012 at 1:04 pm

wow…equipped with aircon grille mcm I punye 1974 sanyo wall aircon…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • _xXx_ on Nov 29, 2012 at 1:05 pm

like that how to beat LP700-4? I was completely wrong….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
    • Why we only hav 2 airbags in M’sia ? not only P1 even thought so called good safety German car VW Polo cost RM113k but still without side airbags but in Europe they came with side airbags !

• AES is a lolx we just want the better cars and safety cars !

• wow, proton made launch at Thailand, good to see

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 30
  • Wow…thailand got curtain airbag while malaysia dnt have..mybe proton assume we not concern on safety

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 15
    • 4g63tdsm on Nov 28, 2012 at 8:42 pm

Irks me to high hell, proton treating its home buyers this way.

If you can offer curtain airbags, at least make them an option here.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 7
    • RazorBlade on Nov 28, 2012 at 8:44 pm

We have AES maa.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 16
    • I thought the inclusion of 6 airbags standard for the Preve in the Australian market was due to stricter Australian regulations, but today’s outcome invalidated the above statement. Thailand’s safety regulations is inferior to Malaysia’s. It makes no sense to provide them with better safety equipment to ours at the same price. I am quite supportive of Proton ever since the Exora launch, but I feel cheated today. I hope Proton’s Deputy CEO is telling the truth… not cakap kosong. Nonetheless, as a constructive critic, I hope Proton updates the Preve with equal or superior safety specs to Australia’s in the future facelift.. that is, 6 airbags, ESC and BA standard on top of the existing specs today. As the home market, we should be getting the best specs, not the worst.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 2
      • MoFaz on Nov 29, 2012 at 1:47 am

Price of Preve Premium in Malaysia is less than RM73k, but more than RM75k in Thai, I think they add the curtain airbags and increase the price, probably the same thing is going to happen here in Malaysia too.
        thinking about it raised another question… the exact similar spec of Vios is a lot cheaper in Thai vs Malaysia because we have higher excise duty than Thai. but why Preve is almost the same price? would it be cheaper if without curtain airbags?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
        • Hmm, good points there. We’ll just have to wait and see what happens in the next few months I guess. I will try to stay optimistic as always… but I’m running out of hope for Proton. :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • BadBET on Nov 29, 2012 at 10:06 am

bla bla bla… in the end, proton still give better deal to Australian and other market, better service package etc.
          Bottom end : Wont consider proton until we given the same best deal as other nation.
          It just a case of ‘want or don’t want’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
          • MoFaz on Nov 29, 2012 at 2:25 pm

what do you say about Toyota giving 6 airbags for Camry in Australia but only 2 in Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
      • RedBeanBun on Nov 29, 2012 at 5:34 am

bcos in Malaysia, every accident fatal rate has nothing to do with car safety rating, its always drivers fault…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
        • BadBET on Nov 29, 2012 at 4:44 pm

to mr mofaz :
          toyota is jap company, what ever spec they want to put in their market is up to them. But Proton is a malaysian product, and its biggest customer is Malaysian, so why they give lesser spec to their biggest market? if you want to compare with toyota then please answer this: is proton quality already on par with toyota’s? Proton has burn the bridge with so many customers in the past, so why dont they look upon this matter more seriously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
          • MoFaz on Nov 29, 2012 at 6:01 pm

i’m not defending what proton did, but i understand why they did that. first of all, it is the requirements in australia that they must keep all safety spec similar across the variants. toyota did the same thing for camry, 6 airbags even for the lowest grade in australia but only 2 here.
            secondly, the competition is stiff. they did what kia did few years ago by offering more specs with a lower price than competitors. u can read that several years ago, kia did offer more features for US market compared to korean domestic market. and some particular model are so cheap in US that it’s still cheaper to import and ship from US than buying from showroom in Korea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
          • MoFaz on Nov 29, 2012 at 6:16 pm

and what so great about toyota quality “assurance”??.. last month, toyota recalled 7.4 million cars due to power window switch. sounds familiar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • BadBET on Nov 30, 2012 at 12:51 am

fact: the reputation of toyota quality is far better from proton. Do proton really need the government to enforce such law before provide better spec and deal for Malaysian? Why cant they as a Malaysian car manufacturer became the people’s champion, provide us with the best so Malaysian will buy proton because we want one, not because it is cheaper or no other choice. Since you like to compare with toyota so much, then let me ask you for the second time, answer in yes or no – do proton quality already on par with toyota? the only way Proton to success is to admit weekness and improve Malaysian confident. As long as we are Proton biggest market, then the best deal must come to us, Malaysian.

• MoFaz on Nov 30, 2012 at 1:54 am

allo brader, u didn’t get my point. i’m not saying proton quality is the best, but you should stop thinking that Toyota is perfect while obviously they have weaknesses too, with millions of cars being recalled from time to time…
            you keep blaming proton for whatever reason, but you just accept it if Toyota did the same thing. now i ask you again how do you feel when Toyota only give you merely 2 airbags while australians get 6?
            koreans know that if they allow imported cars to be sold cheaply in korea, hyundai and kia won’t stand a chance in their early stage. even now, the imported cars is only about 5% of market share in korea. people are being prejudice and they think that imported goods are always better. we have the same problem here, so gov imposed taxes on imported cars. but at least you could still see foreign brands get about 40% market share here.

• proton love thai people more than u maa….kesian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • here’s where u can see the difference between malaysian and other international car manufacturers. the korean, japanese, and european makes give the best specs for their OWN PEOPLE in their country first, whereas we here get the WORST specs by our NATIONAL CAR manufacturer, compared to exported ones.

• Rgshow2k on Nov 29, 2012 at 1:10 pm

furthermore, how come the price is much cheaper compare to Malaysia market ?

Malaysian are richer ?

sigh, ……

• so, why didnt proton include 6 airbags into malaysia’s specs? total bullshyt.. can never trust proton.. short-changing malaysians

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 11
  • Davinnci on Nov 28, 2012 at 8:37 pm

The P is so attractive!

I mean those Pretties!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
    • Remember to use genuine parts bro. Imitation parts may cause accidents. ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • littlefire on Nov 28, 2012 at 8:40 pm

“Safety should be the same for everybody. Going forward that’s the approach,” he said.

The Premium has the full package of front/side/curtain airbags and ESC. In Australia, every Prevé comes with six airbags and ESC, while in Malaysia, the Premium variant gets front/side airbags and ESC.

WTF! Why we malaysian always have to live with lower safety spec?!? Even Thai ppl get extra curtain airbags also!!! Our life more cheaper compare to Thai & Australia?!?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 8
    • “Why we malaysian always have to live with lower safety spec?!?”

Possibly because Malaysian don’t want to pay for this additional airbags?

Price in Thailand with 6 airbags: RM76,500
      Price in Malaysia with 4 airbags: RM73,000

Are you willing to pay RM3,500 for two airbags more? ;)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 8
      • QChan on Nov 29, 2012 at 7:04 am

That’s right. There should be an option to specify more airbags and therefore you’ve to pay more.

Personally, I don’t need more than 2 airbags because 99.9% of time there’re no more 2 passengers including the driver! I also understand that airbags have expiry dates and airbags have to be replaced periodically – hence more money!

I don’t doubt the safety aspects of airbags but give us the option to choose! And as you mentioned, RM 3,500.00 difference is a lot of money. For my circumstances, I’d choose not to pay the extras! If you want more airbags – just pay more-lar………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 23
        • ProTips on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:53 am

Are you implying that 6 air bags are for 6 passengers? *facepalm*

But yes, please give us the option of paying more for more airbags. We’re the freaking manufacturers for crying out loud. If we can’t choose specs, who will build them for us?

• theanswer on Nov 29, 2012 at 10:40 am

this kind of mentality is the reason my honda omit extra airbag from jazz hybrid ckd. u buy 4 door sedan and u expect only 2 person will be in your car. and u need 2 only. bro..side airbag is for front passenger la.for rear, there will be curtain airbag.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 29, 2012 at 3:03 pm

Good god,
          You still don’t know how side and curtain airbags work do you? They have proven to work for side impact collisions.If anything, I rather NOT have front airbags, and have the side and curtain bags.

I would pay more for it, but its NOT EVEN AN OPTION. In this day and age, is 3500 really that much money, especially if you amortize it over 5-10 years for the life of the car? Just view it as buying extra insurance.

The problem is Proton, they have a knack of bundling safety gear with a whole bunch of other stuff that you don’t need inflating (or trying to justify) the price needlessly.

They should even make the base version with 6 airbags as an option. This brings safety gear to affordable ranges of most people.

• You got a point. On the other hand: Do you know how much logistics is behind that?
            As far as I know you can’t order a Toyota with additional airbags too? ;)

• theanswer on Nov 29, 2012 at 10:38 am

just put the price at the first place. ppl will buy. if u put an option..of course msian will buy without airbag. except those who read paultan, majority of msian dont even care to wear a seatbelt..a basic safety equipment..so do u think they care abt airbags?

• QChan on Nov 29, 2012 at 2:43 pm

“..of course msian will buy without airbag…”

Assumming that multi airbags options are available and if a car buyers chose to purchase with no airbags or only 2 airbags at a lower price, it’s his business – perhaps it makes financial and economic sense to him, then what’s your beef?

However, if car manufacturers give away 6-8 airbags for the same price – I have no issues with that at all! I’ll take it. See what I mean by freedom to choose and pay?

• unfortunately, u drive alone every freakin day…

• Vince on Nov 29, 2012 at 4:47 pm

I’d like to think that somehow due mass production consideration too. Proton might end-up keep stock of the 6 airbags model that hardly sold. Production, logistic, bla bla bla…

Unless we can start proving to them there’s such sizable demand here…unfortunately, many demand for our fellow Malaysians just now themselves. End-up who actually pays that extra money?

• magpie on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:23 pm

I rather have a 4, 6 airbag on baseline model than bodykit, gps, tinted, leather whatever acc that I can buy from acc shop. Period.

• RedBeanBun on Nov 28, 2012 at 8:44 pm

launched is one thing, cant sell or not is another story.

Just check how is the Australian feed back after similar launched in Australia.

Just Google will do, and we have so many people naive to thinking winning the argument against those aussie basher will win the people from buying the car…they believe competitiveness is by talking….
    Until they face the open market competition, only will they learn and improve. or else, forget about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 19
    • MoFaz on Nov 29, 2012 at 2:04 am

what feedback are you talking about??.. Preve is not yet available for purchase in Australia, until next year… maybe they still don’t even have a test drive unit there, yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
      • RedBeanBun on Nov 29, 2012 at 5:39 am

http://www.proton.com.au/

if your claimed is true, its even worst…launched a car now, and only let consumer test next year? the technology will be outs by others, btw, u see what is the top October selling car in the segment? its Mazda3. Same price with Preve.

• MoFaz on Nov 29, 2012 at 2:23 pm

launch during autoshow is just like ‘introduction’ to a new-coming model. and some even show a concept, does it mean you can buy the concept in the market? and ‘next’ year is just like 2 months away from the launch event…

• MoFaz on Nov 29, 2012 at 2:54 pm

here, it says Exora will go on sale in Australia around mid-2013.
          http://www.caradvice.com.au/196862/proton-exora-australias-cheapest-seven-seater-due-in-2013/

• RedBeanBun on Nov 28, 2012 at 8:47 pm

and some jokers telling those Aussie basher that Preve/Proton is market share leader IN Malaysia as a reference to the Aussie…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • Kent Loh on Nov 28, 2012 at 8:49 pm

If you go to Thailand in November 2013,you will still see the Civic and Corolla Altis instead of Preve rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 49
  • kerata global

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
  • malay on Nov 28, 2012 at 9:02 pm

actualy preve not bad! just (proton).. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 16
  • hiusuck on Nov 28, 2012 at 9:08 pm

wow. i see something different.. on the preve, the touch screen it look bigger screen then Malaysia’s preve.. dafuq?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • frenzy on Nov 28, 2012 at 9:08 pm

That gold dress model, beauty and the shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • Its kind of funny when higher spec not available at our own country, but sold in adjacent neighbour…perhaps we should to golok thailand and order from there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Sirim on Nov 28, 2012 at 9:25 pm

So Honda cuts down four airbags for the Jazz CKD. Now Proton cuts two airbags and gives better GPS screen in Thailand. It’s official guys, neither does your government, your national cars and foreign car company give a toss about your safety. And you are still overpaying more than any other neighbor. And you have no choice in the matter.

Sincerely,
    NAP and the Government of Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 8
  • KenaTipu! on Nov 28, 2012 at 9:32 pm

As always the rakyat get the lesser model with inflated prices !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • MatLimMutu on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:55 am

thai got 6 airbags – RM67,500
      we got 4 airbags – RM73,000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
      • MatLimMutu on Nov 29, 2012 at 4:55 pm

sorry.. this is the betul one.
        thai got 6 airbags – RM76,500
        we got 4 airbags – RM73,000

• peYno on Dec 01, 2012 at 6:47 am

prrrfthh.. ko ingat baru nak mau jaja kununnya preve jual murah at higher spec in Thai… nasib baik tak kantoi,,,prrrtfhhh

• Angry with the spec for Global.. Treat Malaysian life like cockroach and no value..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 14
    • Rgshow2k on Nov 29, 2012 at 1:17 pm

jeff i agreed with you, just some ppl dun understand we rather buy foreign then local car.

some ppl still stubborn and dun wan to accept the fact.

• peYno on Nov 28, 2012 at 9:55 pm

preve got 4 airbags.. even camry UMW give 2 airbags

prrrtfhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 22
    • Expatriate VN on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:55 am

This is the result of NAP and cronyism practice in our auto market!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • peYno on Nov 28, 2012 at 9:59 pm

thai 6 airbags price 765000bath = RM76k.. are u willing to buy 6 airbags preve with RM76k???
    4 airbags :RM73k ( in malaysia)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 16
    • magpie on Nov 28, 2012 at 11:46 pm

Yes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • alytheman on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:29 am

now u say yes.. if Proton come out with 6 airbags with additional 3k top up from 73k… u will bash Proton like hell.. u will say 2 airbags cost 3k.. WTF.!!!

basher will always be a basher.. Good luck Proton.. u are trying ur out best.. hopefully you will get some credits from foreigners and please DUMP Malaysian.. most of us lupa daratan!! haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
        • magpie on Nov 29, 2012 at 10:58 pm

Dude, when I say yes to a 76k preve, that means I’m supporting proton, not bashing it.

• Peyno on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:40 am

So u dont buy preve now coz only got 4 airbags with cheaper price than thai 6 airbags with higher price??
        Neway… How many airbags ur car own now???
        Prffthhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • Expatriate VN on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:51 am

I say big NO even Proton offer Preve 6 airbag at RM 73K!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
      • Expatriate VN on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:52 am

I even don’t touch this car or any other model offer by Jaguh Kampung No. 2 with 10 ft pole!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
        • ..but the truth is u are still using 10 year old wira. ammirite?

• neo1point3 on Nov 28, 2012 at 10:07 pm

When Toyota remove ESC/VSA, offer 4 airbag only compare to US version, no one makes noise

When Proton offer two extra airbags for outside market, everyone makes noise.

Its not that Proton dont want to put 6 airbags in preve for local market. If they put, the price will be higher and most Malaysian will go for Vios “J”imat at the same price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 21
    • unforgiven on Nov 28, 2012 at 11:38 pm

You think Thai will choose Preve over Altis and Civic? Most who choose Preve in M’sia is due to no choice. If the choice is there to choose between 308 turbo, Mitsubishi Lancer, Altis and Civic for rm 80k, what will you vote?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 25
      • alytheman on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:32 am

why u compare Preve with Civic and Altis!! we have Inspira.. compare Inspira with Civic and Altis.. Preve is the model to show u how crap is ur City and Vios and Mazda 2 and the new Nissan Almera… Preve is the best among the rest on its class.. sorry to say..

The only thing Proton does not have is a Brand Value..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
      • Peyno on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:45 am

U think thai’s mindset like ah beng japs wannabe malaysua meh??? They expose to japanese car and get used of it… Jaos car si called asean made is nothing for them.. As long u can provide better spec n features.. Thais will buy… Thats why exora accepted well in thai

Unlike ah beng japs wannabe in malysia… Jepun celuo car us superior is old fashion thinking .. Reminds me of our parents era…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Its not about provide lower spec for lower price but proton should offer us malaysian full spec of preve since proton is our national car company.

Hows your feeling when your thai friend said he got preve and you know his car is better than yours.

• alytheman on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:36 am

which part is better?? by only adding 2 xtra airbags and with extra 3k.. its not a offer but forcing to pay!! IDIOT!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • dont compare proton prevee to camry………baca dulu apa kereta.apple to apple lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • mivec on Nov 29, 2012 at 3:29 am

you still don’t get it. There is no manufacturer in the world except proton who offer higher specs in the export models compare to home models. Have u ever seen Japanese Toyota Camry has lower specs than Asean Toyota Camry or German’s BMW less equipped than non-German’s BMW. Proton sucks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
      • alytheman on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:37 am

yeah.. yeah keep talking crap keyboard warriors!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
      • start-a-figt on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:19 am

full of BS.. car sold in German have steel wheel.. and u have to upgrade to option… that’s how u put the price so damn low…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • mitsu mirage…the cheapest spec BAREBONE..around RM38k

• You possibly don’t know: BMW’s in Germany have in fact lower specs. The rest you have to order as options (what most buyers do)… ;)

• nazri on Nov 29, 2012 at 3:31 pm

when toyota remove ESC there’s lot comment in this blog

• 3k difference is not the question. My question to proton is with the export taxes and everything else, 3k increase is by far CHEAP. And getting those safety features, man I should be staying in Thailand. If everyone in Malaysia knows that the market outside malaysia has a better variance, definitely the malaysian public will loose hope for Proton. Proton is built and design by malaysians, for malaysians. Why are they so small minded when it comes to Malaysian buyers? Tak tau nak jaga hati. Definitely not 1 Malaysia at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
    • I dun think they care and we have been duped from day one. How do all proton owners feel now? CHEATED. I bet they do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • MoFaz on Nov 29, 2012 at 2:08 am

yes, stay la in Thailand, but don’t come to Malaysia to fill up your tank then go back to Thai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 31
      • BadBET on Nov 29, 2012 at 10:09 am

Is asking for better deal has become sin to you?

• dude.. that Faiz guy wanted to stay in Thai for the stupid airbags.. without even realizing that the gas is very high there…

• BadBET on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:45 pm

thats why I ask, why cant malaysian ask for a better deal from proton? I really dont understand the commonsense of over defensive mindset for proton. Just ask your self this question : can Proton have success in the global market if many Malaysian still think Proton as the only car money can buy due to tax structure? And ask your self how many past customer Proton had chase away due to their legendary past problem? Even the new Preve owner need to visit the service centre for lousy problem. Thats why proton really need to give better deal for Malaysian, so that they can have the market share they own before. They need to make MDM (malaysian domestic market) is the best before they think about expending to other country.

• Dude. Don’t talk so much. Do you EVEN support proton FYI??? My point is Proton should set their priority straight. You can go all out without even getting a feedback from us Malaysians. We have user rights. Our petrol are cheap, but the government covers it with high road tax and manufacturing tax. 3k ringgit difference to me is little. The export tax so cheap meh? Think bout it. For example, europeans have fully equipped cars, compared to export markets. Why? Cause they know that their local brands are very vital and picky. We do have rights. So, before you say anything, THINK before you say.

• MoFaz on Nov 30, 2012 at 2:17 am

Faiz, you too should THINK before you say.
            firstly, preve is the cheapest in c segment, almost fully loaded with all the gadgets and features, including turbo which you won’t get in forte, civic or altis…
            they have 6 airbags in the initial plan but probably reduced to bring the price below RM73k. now, why they keep the gadgets instead of the 2 curtain airbags? because they’re useful for everyday use. besides, people would still buy cars with just 1 or 2 airbags like almera and vios, even though those are more expensive.

• Peyno on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:30 am

Who said preve for kampung market malaysia… Preve for global market.. Designed for global…. Jepun celup asean made dumbed by japanese to asean kampung market car is designed for malaysian indeed… Thats why camry jdm n edm global spec is different with camry umw… Camry umw lower spec higher price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • BadBET on Nov 29, 2012 at 3:13 pm

are telling me that jap company give better spec to their people, and malaysian company give lesser spec to our people?
        Why argue when some people ask for better deal from OUR OWN malaysian company?
        I hope Proton learn from the jap on how to give better spec and deal to their home market.

• peYno on Dec 02, 2012 at 6:27 am

but now,..japs (toyota) learn from PROTON and European car maker… EV, CVT tech and downsized turbo engine…hahahha

• start-a-figt on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:20 am

kaya people talking… if u think 3k is cheap why u want to buy proton.. kamon man.. get real!

to me that 3k is still a lot of money even when it is a fraction of my pay..

• walaweh on Dec 02, 2012 at 11:21 am

3k diff increase for curtain airbags in thailand may seem small. As u mentioned faiz, with ‘exported’ tax@ thai auto tax thats ranging between 20% to 50% per car max, compare to malaysia minimum of 85% tax per car(local tax which prtn has been tax since 2005).

Even from the maximum in thailand 50% n minimum 85% in malaysia means there is 35% diff of tax percar atleast. So, 3k+ 35% diff isnt cheap.

Means, if in malaysia, they have to increase 35% the tax plus the additional 3k, then, u get preve with 6 airbags, i think shud be around 80k++. Isnt that the early tentative price that been rejected n bashed by malaysian when the try to gauge malaysia market interest when the want to launch preve? How was the feedback? Pretty bad huh, people said 80k for malaysian car is too expansive.

There is ur answer.

I dont support the move having better spec outside, but when the same spec but low price outside,people said prtn sell too expensive to own people, but cheap outside but they do forget about diff of tax structure.

If previous preve sold at 80k++ with 6 airbags in malaysia, 76k in thai, then they situatuion still the same, people bash why sell cheap outside, thai is only across our border n etc etc, mkn duit rakyat etc etc.

N they forget 35% atleast tax diff. If talking about minimum versus minimum, the tax diff is 65% per car. Thats why u get 50k++ vios in thailand, but do check the spec first. Its totally kosong, even kosong than vios j in malaysia n its manual. The same spec if not mistaken around 65k that will get u 2 airbags, abs, ebd n auto trans for vios in thai, malaysia around 85k. So, minimum 65% is big, it almost 20k diff for vios same spec in thai n malaysia. N if not mistaken, high spec city in thailand almost the same price as preve cfe, but hspec city is only 2 airbags n less equip than preve n its b segment, preve c segment
      So,its time to vote then :-).

• pak jabit on Nov 28, 2012 at 11:31 pm

sorry to say…my CFE engine still got leaking…can see oil spot on the floor…firstly faulty aircond panel replaced, then replace power window regulator n motor, then replace oil seal to deal with oil leaking but still got leaking…after reflash ECU can feel the ‘additional thrust’ but now feel no pickup again…i’m one of proud proton user but with all this problem can you think they can compete globally in term of quality?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
    • start-a-figt on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:22 am

pak jabit.. go to SC to fix ur car… u tell us here no good… if oil leaking is more or less the nuts is too tight.. like u!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • dear pak jabit, only a few will have problems like yours out of 100,000 units. poor pak jabit.. got a problem but came to the wrong place..

viva and myvi also got problems unsolved…

• Expatriate VN on Nov 28, 2012 at 11:59 pm

As usual, local market at lower specs with high prices, and vice-versa for oversea market! kereta Nasional konon! Patriotik, poorahhhhhh!!!!!!1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
  • thai babes are always a class BETTER than Mas and Indon…. screw those lucky thaimen….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • What a prejudice comment.

“Carilah calon suami atau isteri yang boleh membahagiakan kamu. Tak comel takpe.. Boleh tutup lampu” – Ustaz Azhar Idrus

• IF they are TRUE babes that is… you know..thailand. LOL

• This is how we get cheated. Shame on Proton. I had many protons but vowed never to buy Proton anymore. They rip us here and gives others better. Really shameful. Just check out the thai made cars there. Bloody cheap higher specs than ours. To all proton owners, eat your hearts out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • Peyno on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:26 am

So what car u drive now??? Jepun celup asean made??? Prffthhhgh
      Jdm n conti owner no big mouth…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
      • BadBET on Nov 29, 2012 at 4:51 pm

then what local car do you drive with your big mouth? If it is conti or jdm, you sure dont brag here (according to your own statement) right.
        why butt hurt when people ask for better spec and deal from proton since it will benefit most people with lower income like me.

• don’t worry.. you still got secondhand kancil. lol

• BadBET on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:52 pm

people always want jdm car, thats why I wonder, why cant our own Proton create a very good image of MDM (malaysian domestic market) which is on par or better than JDM.
            p/s: lower income people also have dream to buy new car (that worth every sen spend). :)

• magpie on Nov 30, 2012 at 1:14 am

BadBET, agree with u 100% on MDM against JDM. :)

• peYno on Dec 01, 2012 at 6:43 am

JDM= Vios, unser , innova , Avanza??? 2airbags, no high tech, no ESC, no multilink sus etc

MDM= preve, 4 airbags, ESC, hi tech, multi link sus…

• BadBET on Dec 01, 2012 at 4:26 pm

proton = better deal to non malaysian,
            toyota = better deal to japanese.
            fact or myth?

• BadBET on Dec 01, 2012 at 4:46 pm

jdm mean japanese domestic market. you are the only person to said unser is jdm (or try to missled other to believe proton decision is justified) . the main issue is the differences of proton car sold in malaysia and abroad. Please refer to the real JDM spec list to make comparison.

• kemio on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:23 am

same here, no more Proton.

• start-a-figt on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:27 am

how many?
      Saga
      Iswara
      Wira
      Satria
      Tiara
      Waja
      Juara
      Gen2
      Satria Neo
      Savvy
      Saga BLM
      Persona
      Exore
      Preve

if u born in 1960s then I believe u.. if not.. kamon!

• alldisc on Nov 29, 2012 at 3:55 pm

proton is disappointing. especially to consider the fact that we (Malaysians) are their biggest supporter in the whole WORLD!!

and look at how they treat us.

no one will believe that Waja in UK has 4 airbags while Wira 1.5 has twin airbags and rear disc brakes. and that was like 10 years back.

• yeah… like usual…

kera dihutan disusukan, anak dirumah kelaparan.

push stop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • the extra 2 airbag in thailand is for bulletproof…..but not in Boleh Land mar.i will not buy anymore new proton unless proton car offer the same as others country,save ur money n buy more expensive car, life is priceless,dont look for shorterm money that end up ur life !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Littlebear on Nov 29, 2012 at 7:40 am

I’ll take those girls instead of Proton cars any time ;-)

• Kind to outsiders but stingy to our own citizens. What typeof spirit like this. The spec might change due to different country law, but many of you forget that the transportation fees also not cheap. Just imagine from semenanjung to sabah and Sarawak, the price of each car differ between em 20k to 50 k depends to the size and cc. This is just by sea transport. I don’t think the Thai is generous enough to subsidy the transportation fees. Proton management are either a sucker or lacking of knowledge of mathematics.

• Faizul on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:09 am

good to hear about the ‘harmonization’. curtain airbag is almost standard nowadays in high spec variant. Proton should follow suit.

• tokmoh on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:13 am

Here got 4 airbags, esc, govt say we must be grateful! No other car rm73k+- can get that!

In the words of miti, proton give better spec “mungkin strategi pemasaran, mungkin…”

Tu la… bn terang2 tak nak kurang excise duty, undi gak… rafizi nak kurangkan excise duty, bg 1001 sebab tak nak vote dia. Padan muka. Lpas GE nnt harga minyak naik lg padan muka hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Peyno on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:24 am

In thai…Proton offer higher spec( only put extra 2 airbags) with higher price oso mau bising..
    Ni toyota umw offer lower spec with higher price in mslaysia.. Ah beng no butthurt??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Rgshow2k on Nov 29, 2012 at 1:34 pm

all is about fairness and professionalism.

thats our local car, we should get better and par with the export units. like any other country.

even TOYOTA, HONDA , or KIA and Hyundai they provides the highest spec for their own country coz they believe the marketing stratergies should start from the home ground and the country buyers satisfied and impressed then think global.

dont because of sick for global and just to show to Malaysian, OH KERETA NASIONAL SUDAH GLOBAL….. who will support ???

If proton can design a car like T and H or even Kia with the same specs and durability with cheaper price. i think everyone will buy it and love it.

think realistic ….. and be so defensive .

• BadBET on Nov 29, 2012 at 3:16 pm

toyota is not malaysian product, but Proton is. go figure…

• peYno on Nov 29, 2012 at 10:22 pm

What??? toyota UNSER, VIOS, AVANZA and INNOVA form UMW toyota not malaysian?? so u think its japanese??
        prrrtfhhh

• BadBET on Nov 30, 2012 at 12:31 am

it create by the japanese. Or do you believe that Malaysian engineer from umw toyota had build it from scratch? But in the other hand, Proton is our pride and joy, that is why I really hope proton can be the people champion, to bring and provide the best to Malaysian. Proton market share had shrinking tremendously due to their ignorance, and still they dont bother to win us back.
          p/s: why you want proton to follow bad example from toyota while they had show the best example of JDM (people of company origin get the best deal). prrrtfhhh

• peYno on Dec 01, 2012 at 6:39 am

hahahha UNSER created by japanese??? so how many UNSER slod in JAPAN??? prrrtfhhhh

• vee-oh on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:39 am

Paul, you mean the pretty ladyboys, right :)

• As usual with protong, good thing are given to other countries to gain name and fame even though lost profit as they know our Malaysian will compensate for their losses in other countries. That why all our air bag which mean for our is being subsidies to the export model. We all shall be greatful as protong help to distribute your purchase on protong car air bag to other countries. For me I will not buy any protong again even though they put all air bag in malaysia as I don,t like get thing as the last resort in our countries for the national sucks car. I rather paid higher premium for jap car. That just me. No ofence to protong lover.

• klc6969 on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:14 am

Seriously, you think thai will be blinded and buy proton. There are much better car out there in Thailand. Proton still think they can compete globally but if they are brave enough, how about open the market in Malaysia first ? Malaysians who can afford nowadays will rather other make car than Proton. Sayonara Proton, just can’t wait for your demise and that old fart sitting on the high chair of Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • diamjer on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:47 am

1. no amount of airbag can save the malaysian driver attitude.

2. They argue on how many airbag they have in car, while at the same time they didn’t use seat belt. (especially backseat passanger)

3. Supposedly they concern about safety, but then they go against the implementation of AES

i’m not against more airbag though….
    so proton.. lu jangan cakap tak serupa bikin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • My thoughts exactly. Many front seat drivers and passengers don’t even wear seat belts. Better not to have any airbags, as without wearing seat belt, the exploding airbag will cause the driver/passenger more harm. What we need is enforcement, without that, driving in Malaysia is getting from bad to worst.

Even 100 airbags won’t make a difference!

• how many a/bag doesnt count into my decision when buying a car. so many other aspects can consider. haha..kue teow.

• TooDumb! on Nov 29, 2012 at 10:12 am

At least Proton has done the right thing by hiring those lovely ladies. Anything can lose, but face cannot lose.

• Preve… Look at the misaligned hood to fender line. Second look at the gaping panel below the start/stop push button and cheapo looking LCD, and these were all they got to bring as show car? Global car from a 30+ years of experience car-making brand, which looked no better than new kids from the land of Great Walls!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • with The preve, proton is heading in the right direction. I hope that they can improve more on the next model. Improve on your quality and improve on your costing!! I hope that Syed makhta guy is in it for real not just to rip Malaysian off like Tajudin did with MAS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • “heading in the right direction”
      This statement is so syok sendiri. Often used by politicians to fish for votes.

• Would you buy a model that doesn’t do well in its origin country?
    This is like selling Malaysian made discman to Japan.

• peYno on Dec 01, 2012 at 6:37 am

would u buy belta/vios that not doing well in origin country Japan and dumbed to 3rd world countries (ASEAN)??, some not even exist in its origin countries like Avanza, innova,unser

prrrtfhhh

• critic_A on Nov 29, 2012 at 11:08 am

u ppl talking bout proton should hav more airbags n this n that~~ not like u basher going to buy it also~

• sepul on Nov 29, 2012 at 11:17 am

everyone, if you all dislike the current government and what they did so far so much, then the next GE do your part and vote for new government

dont buy proton if you dont like them, and no need to comment bashfully either.. critics is fine, but make it constructive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • a.car.fan on Nov 29, 2012 at 11:18 am

Still no Proton in and for the Philippines. :(

• kampongcar on Nov 29, 2012 at 11:51 am

Potong just neighbour car, not goble car, philipine terlalu jauh sangat.

• Katak on Nov 29, 2012 at 11:21 am

I might be too young for this. But did Proton ever launch other models in Thailand before? Just curious.

• bystander on Nov 29, 2012 at 1:11 pm

Savvy was offered before

• Rgshow2k on Nov 29, 2012 at 1:41 pm

Proton not easy to go global market, as Thailand got their own plants for T and H even Nissan.

i dont preve will have good market in thailand, the only thing is the specs they offering.

Honda city sell for RM 56k to Rm 60k in thailand , its very very competitive for proton.

• peYno on Nov 29, 2012 at 10:24 pm

hahahha….. so preve more expensive than Honda city in Thai???

hahahah i tot ah beng always said more sell cheaper in overseas??

• start-a-figt on Nov 29, 2012 at 2:34 pm

yes for the matter of fact… they launch the CPS variant in Bangkok auto Show before and all people in Paultan.org make noise whhy not launch it in Malaysia first. then when launch in Malaysia they bash kaw kaw.. hahaha

• underskinned on Nov 29, 2012 at 1:29 pm

Govt should make VSC and 6 airbags as compulsory, so car companies will have to include them in every models without skimping on any.

Hear that UMW Toyota?

• slimershine on Nov 29, 2012 at 4:34 pm

“Why la Preve got 6 airbag at Thai but only 4 airbag at Mas. Better buy civic 2 airbag. No airbag also safe what. What most important is RV. Whahahaha”, jdm fanboy.

• MatLimMutu on Nov 29, 2012 at 4:57 pm

the thais r stealing our cheap petrol lorr

• What global? 2 most important markets US & China also cannot enter. Not to mention other regional market like the Europe and India pun tada.

• Chow 1 on Nov 29, 2012 at 5:29 pm

Looked at the Rav4 , then looked at this, I feel…. (fill in the blank)

• The extra 2 airbags are important as they are curtain airbags which means the rear passengers are protected in case of a side impact collision. The side airbags merely deflect the impact force on the B pillar leaving no protection to the rear passengers. To get 5 star ANCAP rating here, the car will need 6 airbags, ABS with EBD and ESC. Plus it will need ISOFIX mountings and three point ELR seat belt for all the passengers. No more 2 point or lap belt for rear center seat. Check it out if the local Proton or any CKD cars in Malaysia has all those features. Chances are rarely will have all of them.
    A good thing with my Volvo car is that safety is never compromise. It already has 6 airbags, ABS with traction control way back then. A fellow club member walked away unscathed when his Volvo was t-boned by a driver in a VW Passat running a red light. The VW driver ended up in hospital. The Volvo is totalled but it has done its job well with the driver unharmed. All airbags deployed correctly and the use of high tensile steel and Volvo’s Side Impact Protection System or SIPS worked. Check it out. Later Audi followed with Procon-Ten system while the Japanese followed with GOA and Honda with G-CON. Now Volvo has up the ante with world’s first bonnet airbag designed to deflect pedestrian from hitting the windscreen in a collision. It can be seen in the new V40 which scored amongst the highest possible marks in ANCAP.
    Before you laugh at the need for bonnet airbag, remember the poor drivers killed by the livestock and other big objects on highways. I recalled a case where the highway operator was found liable for the livestock wandering into the highway and a car hit the animal. The driver is killed and hence the court case. You can drive as careful as you want but you can’t control the others.

• “Volvo’s Side Impact Protection System or SIPS worked. Check it out. Later Audi followed with Procon-Ten system”

Yes, I checked it out. Wikipedia:
    “procon-ten (lower case initial “p”) (an acronym for Programmed Contraction-Tension) is a proprietary Safety Restraint System (SRS), used by German car manufacturer Audi, from 1986″

“SIPS was released in the Volvo 700, 900 and 850 series in 1991.”

So Volvo invented the system in 1991 and Audi followed in 1986? ;)

• Retard on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:45 pm

i do own a proton bcoz it’s cheap, but then my next car will no more proton bcoz i don’t want
    1)noisy interior
    2)poor fuel consumption
    3)timing belt enjin
    4)so so design
    5)unsteady internal control panel
    except mitsu lanspira
    but still i won’t buy a proton brand & proton rebranded cars. ok ok ok

• nicholas on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:47 pm

Proton cars are actually not bad, just quality issues… a lot of Malaysian dislike Proton not because of its car, is because they are forced to pay A LOT more for foreign cars because of Proton, and plus the quality issues, it became a hate hate situation for many…

• half-Blood Prince Perak on Nov 29, 2012 at 10:32 pm

Warna Biru Nampak Cantik Tapi… Apa Corak proton Emblem ini sekarang… Technology engine Malaysia design from other country?
    napak…preve(1st Photo) macam nak jatuh pulak logo pun tak nampak…

• preve looks like previous generation made-in-china cars. ugly. shameful.

• Typical Proton marketing. When its about exporting, the cars suddenly got better quality. It has been practiced since introducing the first Proton in the UK. This is a strategy to entice and creating illusion. Anyway, the quality wud later deteriorate slowly until it reaches the same level as Malaysia.

However, after driving my father’s preve i feel it has the quality of good stable car. Probably wit Honda as partner, Proton will improve further.

• Pumpkins on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:40 am

Toyota = Thailand NATIONAL CAR

Protong stop kidding yourself go away from Thailand lah

Jagoh kampong will never survive Open competition

Thai buyers always happy to buy Vios at Baht500K/RM50K than any craps from Protong

• peYno on Dec 01, 2012 at 6:33 am

thai ppl thinking not like stupid ah beng maresia laa.. vios means taxi in Thai.. but in maresia .. vios means = superior japanese brand.

• BadBET on Dec 01, 2012 at 5:00 pm

why blame the consumer when it is proton fault that they tarnish their own reputation. Not every body will just swallow anything proton gave them. It just feel sad when reading somebody try to protect Proton in the wrong way.

• Giggs on Dec 13, 2012 at 5:42 pm

Actually VIOS is too small to be Taxi
        here in Thailand, Taxi means Corolla Altis

• Can I make note a mistake in this article, a check with proton website in thailand indicates that a manual option is available for the CFE Turbo

http://www.protonthailand.com/index.php?action=preve_spec&lang=en

• Peyno on Dec 01, 2012 at 2:00 pm

would u buy belta/vios that not doing well in origin country Japan and dumbed to 3rd world countries (ASEAN)??, some not even exist in its origin countries like Avanza, innova,unser

• VW & BMW OWNER. on Jun 18, 2013 at 11:58 am

I’VE DRIVE PROTON PREVE FOR 6 MONTH.(RENTAL)..THAT CAR IS JUST OK..BUT I LIKE PROTON WAJA CPS.. FEEL BETTER THAN PREVE. ;)). EVEN BMW 3 SERIES M SPORT 325I SOME TIME CREATE PROBLEM..(BMW @ Banyak Masuk Workshop)so far the best car for me …VW PASSAT CC.

• VW & BMW OWNER. on Jun 18, 2013 at 12:00 pm

proton still the best ..if u compare to MADE IN CHINA…GEELY , CHERRY AND ETC…WORST IN THE WORLD….HAHAHAHAHA

• mrupai on Mar 08, 2014 at 10:39 pm

Preve cfe performance is excellent but swallow to much gas. If Proton can make it more economical with the current engine performance they will see stronger sales in coming years.