Toyota Motorsport to debut TMG Sports 650 at Essen

Here’s something with pace as well as space – Toyota Motorsport GmbH (TMG) has released images of its Sports 650 high-performance sedan, based on the Lexus LS. It’s no slouch – a twin-turbocharged 5.0 litre V8 producing 650 PS at 6,500 rpm and 765 Nm at 5,460 rpm feeds its power through an eight-speed high-torque capacity gearbox.

0-100 km/h is dealt with in an estimated 3.9 seconds, while top speed is an unconfirmed 320 km/h. Brakes are carbon ceramic Brembos, while the suspension is a multi-link setup with coil springs and Sachs dampers. There’s also a Torsen differential.

The pictures show some mean twin bonnet scoops, a liberal splashing of mesh on the intakes, an aggressive front bumper with LED strips, side gills and what appears to be a carbon-fibre bodykit with flared wheel arches that house sporty 20-inch BBS wheels, encased in 275/35 series tyres up front and 345/30 out back. TMG’s website says 295/35 series rubber is also available for the front wheels as a track option.

At the back, you’ll find a rear spoiler and lower diffuser, with the latter incorporating a very unusual tailpipe arrangement. We find the overall visual effect rather striking and tastefully appointed – what say you?

TMG’s Facebook post tells us that the car’s aerodynamics were developed in its wind tunnels, with considerable emphasis placed on handling, but divulges little else, so we’ll probably have to wait until the car’s debut at the tuner’s paradise that is the Essen motor show next week for more details.

Will we one day see TMG to Toyota as AMG to Mercedes-Benz?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• gOOsh on Nov 28, 2012 at 2:36 pm

ahbeng style…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 32
  • Kjryth on Nov 28, 2012 at 2:39 pm

Its almost perfect. Tmg sounds like a tea house in kl.

• Alpha on Nov 28, 2012 at 2:39 pm

Looks like a competitor to the S63 AMG. BMW better make a new //M7.Hehe.

• kiddo on Nov 28, 2012 at 5:28 pm

the S65 AMG is the only car capable of delivering that sort of power comparable to this beast.

Well done, Toyota!

• works on Nov 28, 2012 at 2:44 pm

So no more ISF? the colour doesn’t appeal much and it’s look cheap at some angle. germans do much better when it involve super saloon .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • works on Nov 28, 2012 at 2:52 pm

sorry..german should do much better when it involve super saloon. so it will be no more F marque line up?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
      • dunno on Nov 28, 2012 at 3:38 pm

TMG is for any car under toyota i guess….F sport series mainly for lexus…i guess la

• Where is the new >.< face?

• Josh Ling on Nov 28, 2012 at 4:11 pm

this is so apparent to be of last gen facelifted model lah…..where got new face o?

• frenzy on Nov 28, 2012 at 3:44 pm

Would it be Lexys GS-F?
    Glad to see German collaborated with Japanese.
    German engineering, japanese reliability.

• kingston on Nov 28, 2012 at 3:51 pm

Just plain badass!

• sepul on Nov 28, 2012 at 4:25 pm

i dont know what to say

• carazy on Nov 28, 2012 at 4:30 pm

its still toyota.. big no from me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Kalun on Nov 28, 2012 at 4:57 pm

I thought Lexus F series suppose to be sport tuning version?

• mpower on Nov 28, 2012 at 5:02 pm

Powerful, but plain design

• droll on Nov 28, 2012 at 5:24 pm

so is this going to be a high performance car from Toyota but without the Lexus price tag??

• Jimmy on Nov 28, 2012 at 5:33 pm

Toyota macam ni baru ada uhm. Good.
    I thought they are not good at performance vehicles.
    Put in more safety features in your Malaysian cars ya, be the 2nd Jap to offer 6 airbags + ESP. You are market leader and there are expectations! Don’t be bad contoh ok?

• I think TRD will always be the ‘AMG’ to the marque. Not too long ago there was a write up on where TMG would fit in all of this and it was said then the intention is not to take the place of TRD.

Still TMG’s activities is a whole lot more exciting and very high tech and they offer full engineering services. They can even run an F1 car development programme. Serious stuff for motorsport.

• Pro-San on Nov 28, 2012 at 6:07 pm

common thing about every touch on this car?

GERMAN ENGINEERED.

• KillBox1 Alpha on Nov 28, 2012 at 6:49 pm

Can it look any worse than it already is ?

• AsapHitam on Nov 28, 2012 at 8:54 pm

Toyota fanboy takeout TRD logo..and put TMG, now!! :D

• Turboman on Nov 29, 2012 at 12:03 am

As long as its not a kimchi, its worth buying

• TurboMan on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:05 am

Dude.

Get a life. Stop imitating me. I have been commenting on PT.org for a long time. I don’t write like that and many ppl know that.

Chances are u are Sam Loo.