2013 Toyota RAV4 makes world debut in Los Angeles

The fourth-generation Toyota RAV4 has made its first public appearance at the ongoing LA Auto Show, all grown up – quite literally, as it’s longer, wider and lower than the previous model. Measuring in at 4.57 metres long and with a wheelbase of 2.66 metres, it also looks significantly more muscular and dynamic, thanks in part to its angular design, a pronounced shoulder line and wheel arches.

For western Europe, powertrain options include a 149 hp 2.0 litre petrol, a 148 hp 2.2 litre diesel and a new 122 hp 2.0 litre diesel. The 2.0 litre diesel comes with FWD; the rest are AWD. Both diesels are driven through a six-speed manual as standard, but the bigger engine can be specified with a six-speed auto. The 2.0 litre petrol is mated to a CVT.

The US gets only one powertrain: the same 176 hp 2.5 litre four-cylinder paired with a six-speed auto. Both FWD and AWD versions are also available. No prices have been released, but we know the compact SUV pioneer should hit markets early next year.

Apart from offering more room, the cabin features a new, more premium-looking dashboard design, soft padding, new colours and trim finishes, and more leather around the instrument panel. The instruments and switchgear are backlit in cool blue. Forward visibility is improved by shifting the A-pillars, which are now thinner, further outwards.

That’s not all where interior revisions are concerned – due to a thinner front seat back, there’s more rear legroom. The rear seats have a larger surface angle, longer cushions and higher side bolsters for more comfort. They’re split 60:40 and can be reclined independently.

Load volume is now 547 litres, with an additional 100 litres in the undertray. The tailgate is now top-hinged (and electrically operated on some versions) and has a lip height of 645 mm, which Toyota proclaims is the lowest in its class.

With retuned suspension, revised electric power steering and an Integrated Dynamic Drive system with Sport mode (which influences steering, throttle and transmission), the RAV4 should drive better than its predecessor. Driving aids such as Downhill and Hill Start Assist are available, with the latter offered on all automatic transmission versions.

The Integrated Dynamic Drive system coordinates the Dynamic Torque Control AWD system, VSC and electric power steering to improve performance, handling and safety. A 4WD Lock button allows torque to be split 50:50 between front and rear wheels at speeds up to 40 km/h.

Safety kit comprises Lane Departure Alert and Blind Spot Monitor; both offered for the first time in the RAV4. There’s a new, high-rigidity, multi-path impact load body and anti-whiplash seats. Seven airbags are fitted as standard, including a driver’s knee airbag and twin-chamber front seat side airbags. Toyota says the car has been engineered for a five-star Euro NCAP rating.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Vader on Nov 29, 2012 at 4:20 pm

It look like bigger size all new altis..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Wanabe on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:51 pm

Thats the best looking Rav4 so far. Seriously this is a looker compare to Honda CR-V. Its dual vvt-i 2.0 should outperform Honda’s CR-V 2.0 what’s more with its off road capability

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
  • Alpha on Nov 29, 2012 at 4:26 pm

Damn,it’s ugly.The design is too fluidic.Like what Hyundai is doing.Not that I’m a Kimchi hater(I find Kia’s designs to be nice anyway),but I hate these fluidic looking cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 48
    • Same here, fluidic design tends to shows its age faster like cars from the 90s. But hyundai has been sharpening its design, looking at the new Santa Fe.
      BTW, I don’t see much fluidic design here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
    • Korean dog, just get lost!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 34
    • Sam Loo on Nov 30, 2012 at 6:58 pm

Kimchi fans just don’t seem to know the fundamental difference between quality and garbage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • Guess everyone else is designing ugly vehicles nowdays as compared to KIA or Hyundai. What happen to all the designers from Honda & Toyota cabut to KIA & Hyundai ready.. Hahahahahahaha

• i like the design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 10
  • Got some design cue like Pajero Sport. Especially the rear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • my goodnes. koreans did a better job on the kia sportage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 17
    • Jimmy on Nov 29, 2012 at 5:44 pm

Definitely. What happened to Toyota designers? Get your designers from Mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
    • Sam Loo on Nov 30, 2012 at 6:59 pm

Sure, 1 year later, the Sportage/Tucson will devalue by at least 50%.

Would just loev the look on your face when the used car dealer points you at 2 Hilux

• wong cm on Nov 29, 2012 at 4:54 pm

Is UMW going to import this superb SUV for Malysian market??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • 4g63tdsm on Nov 29, 2012 at 7:03 pm

Only after Toyota figures out how to engineer out all its safety features…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • agree… umw always gets the best quality and safe toyota to Msia… look at the record… only 2 were recalled out od hundreds of millions during recent recall mania…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • Jimmy on Nov 29, 2012 at 10:23 pm

You should make it clearer to Alex, it should sounds: delete, instead of engineer out.

• OMG…first look at it,macam new altis…

• dashboard with leather stitching looks premium. now let’s see who gonna complaint about plastic

• Still dull especially the interior. But it’s quite an improvement over the current Toyotas design along with the US only Avalon. It will never be a kimchi , Toyotas will always play safe which mostly results a boring look.
    Kia still rules the design sector

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
  • sepul on Nov 29, 2012 at 5:14 pm

the back is almost like the mazda cx-5

i think toyota is moving towards design uniformity for all oversea models, especially for europe and the us, which is good.. the auris had a similar look

interior design still look cluttered to me though

• Chow1 on Nov 29, 2012 at 5:16 pm

Beautiful. Perhaps new corolla will resemble this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • thou i m not a fan of toyo, but this car looks nice like litter pajero. interior wise d design improve (my opinion only). hopefully when it wont b ckd here, else u will c all plastic materials.

• helmi on Nov 29, 2012 at 5:30 pm

I like the design. Looks mascular and strong. UMW Toyota, please bring this to Malaysian shore. Please don’t be greedy this time. If the price is about CRV more or less, I will book it immediately.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Austin on Nov 29, 2012 at 5:56 pm

Am I the only one here feel that it actually looks good?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • pelamz on Nov 29, 2012 at 6:12 pm

front face looks funny

• CRVs real competitor on Nov 29, 2012 at 6:30 pm

This is Honda CRV’s real competitor… UMW please bring the new RAV4 back to Malaysia! I’ll be the first to book this… The new generation CRV(for god knows what reason Honda Malaysia has no plans to introduce it here although the rest of the world already has the new CRV) interior looks so messed up.. Like the CRZ’s interior and the new Civic’s interior… It may be modern but its very cluttered and messy… I love how premium the new Rav4 interior looks… And the front facia, perhaps a new face for all coming Toyota models? Since the Auris (New Corolla), Wish, markX and Estima has started to have this uniformed identity. Loving it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Opaixx on Nov 29, 2012 at 6:41 pm

They will bring to malaysia, and rebadge to rush, or moreless.. Nautica.. Oh crap..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • bro, apparently u donno anything…. rush is the little brother of Rav4. nautica is the twin brother of rush.

• PakJib on Nov 29, 2012 at 7:42 pm

front look like current avanza ! haha but i really like this rav4 new look . keep it up toyota !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • DArkerMarker on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:45 pm

The dashboard looks like a piece of boring garden bench, stuck to the cockpit.

Toyota designer sleeping on the job again??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • The dashboard is horrible. Looks liked sign from the 90s. Front looks good though.

• Retard on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:29 pm

no matter so many models & shapes the internal toyata spare parts are the same wether it is a cheapo or luxury models. thats why people like it as long it can move forward. he he :)

• peyno on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:37 pm

another ugly car by toyota..good job

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Come here to Malaysia..

• I think the price here after import tax + excise tax + tax to the government should be around RM 190K.

• NISSpengAN on Nov 29, 2012 at 10:23 pm

Fugly! i think new honda CRV and mazda cx-5 are better than this RAV-4.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Rear like looks like Mitusbishi tail light.

• SUV lover on Nov 29, 2012 at 11:11 pm

i dunnoe izit only me or wht but I think this will make a good suv judging fr ground clearance and so on..personal opinion though

• looking-Good on Nov 30, 2012 at 12:18 am

not so TOYOTA look… more like Mitsubishi ~

• adam lee on Nov 30, 2012 at 12:30 am

look like subaru impreza…old version

• nabill on Nov 30, 2012 at 12:31 am

so ugly…too much design going on…very messy…like those funy brands from china

• Unimpressive compared to previous model. This time too soft and too japanese-ish look. Why other ppl should wear a kimono? Pls be more universal in design.

• Soyacincau on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:41 am

Problem is umw price at 200k…crazy n stupid, that’s y crv sold like hot cakes before the Korean Kia n Hyundai eat up the share. Now I don see why consumers look for others when cx5 at that price range of 150k..

• ben yap on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:52 am

one glance at the rear, i thought it is a mitsubishi pajero.

the horsepower is similar to a camry 2.0. same engine?

• torquealot on Nov 30, 2012 at 10:00 am

This is blatant copying of Mitsubishi Outlander design. Toyota design has lost its originality. http://outlander.mitsubishi-motors.com.tw/

• Nonbias on Nov 30, 2012 at 11:36 am

I am no Toyota lover but have you lost your mind? Which part of this looks the same as the Outlander? Be impartial, don’t just love or bash a brand without any facts.

• Doesn’t look masculine / sporty for a SUV. It looks like a sedan from the front. I like the old one.

• Look at that interior.. wow… loving it..

• a.car.fan on Nov 30, 2012 at 2:13 pm

The boys (RAV4, CR-V and Santa Fe) grow up so fast. :’)

• Night Hunter on Nov 30, 2012 at 5:15 pm

Front end especially grill, Headlight, copy Mazda…. CX-5 and 6 design…

rearend looks like ASX/Pajero Sport….

• Jetlee on Apr 30, 2013 at 9:51 am

hmm… RAV4 or CRV or Estima or Alphard or no money no talking…hehe..

• Jumpytiger Quan on Nov 01, 2013 at 7:47 pm

when will come to malaysia

• Jumpytiger Quan on Nov 01, 2013 at 7:48 pm

when will come to Malaysia I can’t wait already