Porsche Cayman 981 coupe – first photos unveiled!

These are the first photos of the next generation Porsche Cayman coupe, with the code 981. It shares the same look that debuted on the new Boxster, and we can probably look at the Boxster for the car’s specs as well. The Cayman will probably be powered by the same 2.7 litre motor in the base Boxster, making 265 horsepower. The more powerful Porsche Cayman S will likely be motivated by a 3.4 litre engine with 315 horsepower on the tap. Gearbox options are 6-speed manual or 7-speed PDK twin clutch.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• The Enthusiast on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:37 am

Dare I say this is the most masculine Cayman yet? Strong shoulder line and the bigger front air intakes make it more aggressive looking. I like!

• klc6969 on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:06 am

Yawn. Boring, still look like a frog.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
    • The Cayman may not get the attention for those who care so much about look. It’s the car for enthusiast driver, and I never heard any negative comment from reviewers about its handling and dynamics.

• Jimmy on Nov 29, 2012 at 1:03 pm

Cantiq.
      Way better than the 100% AbBeng Audi what I can’t remember the name.

• Pimp Daddy on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:54 pm

WOW ….

IT LOOKS ….

THE SAME :)

• kingston on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:35 am

The definitive driver’s Porsche & it looks 100x better than the old one,with the Porschearse syndrome.Bye bye Coxster,Hello Cayman!

• Volvo Supporter on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:36 am

NICE!!! rear lamp looks exactly like boxster….

• many confuse between Boxster & cayman ,it a boxster with a hard roof

• Kalun on Nov 29, 2012 at 10:08 am

Looks very refresh like most 2012 Porsche models.
    Very modern look.
    The best model of 911 is the old 1980 and the current 2012 model.

• What are the differences from the old model?

• In general, it uses electric steering instead of hydraulic on previous generation; although it lacks feel but it is to reduce fuel consumption. Other than that, it is generally less weight, more powerful and more efficient.

• Thanks GT3 for replying.

Exterior wise, what have been changed?

I hope the interior is being updated to the Panamera design too!

• The Enthusiast on Nov 29, 2012 at 2:05 pm

The obvious cosmetic changes are the new front air intake (it’s larger, more 991) and the tail lights. Design-wise, it has wider shoulder line (probably means it’s wee bit wider) and the side air vents look like from the current Cayman S. In fact, the line towards the side vents are more prominent. If you notice, the side mirrors are redesigned too. From the photos, it seems that Porsche is going for a glossy finish for its rear diffuser and LED tail lights.

• “Porsche designers are the laziest in the world”, “Their design looks the same as their 1970s model!” Those are the normal stereotypes on Porsche’s exterior design. But Porsche do really want to maintain the design as their original predecessor, that’s what makes a Porsche as it is. We should know the difference of revolution and evolution.
          About the interior, I’m not sure yet, but since the Boxster already had the central console like the Panamera, I’m sure this Cayman would surely have it :)

• Chris on Nov 29, 2012 at 1:46 pm

Very masculine. I like. I wonder will this be the best selling model for Porsche?

• No. Their best selling is Panamera and Cayene. Sports car market is limited. That’s why you see Ferrari also going to produce similar car like Panamera now.

• Chris on Nov 29, 2012 at 6:15 pm

Hi RCZ, thanks for the insight. I always thought that Boxter/Cayman/911 would be Porsche best selling model.

• been reading from some of the specialist porsche mags that the new boxster MAY be the best car porsche makes.

now that the new cayman is here, i assume we can now conclude that this IS the best car porsche makes ?

some of the 911 owners may disagree of course, but…

• Sam Loo Jr on Nov 29, 2012 at 3:01 pm

Low RV. Conti cars always sui kwan.

• Sam Loo Jr on Nov 29, 2012 at 3:02 pm

Better buy Toyota 86.

• KillBox1Alpha on Nov 29, 2012 at 5:44 pm

Nvm the 86…better buy the new incarnation of the Satria…

Hey…buddy…u think people buying Porsche look at RV?

• Sam Loo Sr,

Junior! 86 also low RV because people will think that it’s been whacked kao kao before you sell. You better stick with Vios or you makan sendiri.

• Joe Radzif on Nov 29, 2012 at 4:14 pm

dont care about others…

just love them (Porsche)

• albag on Nov 30, 2012 at 10:22 am

btw there must a reason why Porsche maintains shape and look for decades and decades… ppl must have love that shape till Porsche maintains it… dont fix it if its not broken… i feel that the new model looks great especially on the first photo…