Jaguar XFR-S debuts in LA, more images and details

As reported earlier, the Jaguar XFR-S has made its debut at this year’s Los Angeles Auto Show. More details and images have cropped up, including the price: a smidgen under £80k (RM390k). Coventry’s fastest and most powerful saloon yet is set to go on sale in the UK next May.

Sharing its drivetrain with the first R-S model, the XKR-S, the car gets 550 PS and 680 Nm of torque from its supercharged 5.0 litre Gen III AJ-V8. An eight-speed Quickshift gearbox (first seen in the F-Type sports car) allows a century sprint time of 4.4 seconds, while top speed is a governed 297 km/h.

There’s a redesigned front bumper with a carbon fibre splitter and larger intakes to improve breathing, as well as a reworked exhaust for more aural excitement (watch the launch video below with headphones on). The wing of that rear spoiler is carbon fibre, while beefed-up bodywork and new aggressive 20-inch ‘Varuna’ wheels show the world that this is no ordinary pussycat.

Suspension has also been fettled with, with the rates of the electronic dampers firmed up to further improve handling. Changes there are, too, to the throttle response, differential and Dynamic Stability Control system. Jaguar says lateral suspension stiffness and spring rates have been reduced by 30%, and overall lift by 68%.

The interior gets a treatment unique to the R-S range of models – carbon leather on the seat bolsters and armrests, and dark aluminium trimming for the dashboard. There’s also a choice of contrasting colour stitching and micro-piping which can be matched to the exterior paint scheme.

Colour choices are French Racing Blue, Ultimate Black, Stratus Grey, Polaris White and Italian Racing Red. The XFR-S is a product of Jaguar Land Rover’s specialist ETO (Engineered To Order) division, a department responsible for the XKR-S, Victoria Beckham Evoque and Jaguar XJ Ultimate.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• common lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • BMW BEST on Nov 29, 2012 at 1:03 pm

Yala,if this one is T.camry TRD-S/H.accord Mugen-S then only you will be impressed.

• im not saying it’s common. Its just a slang “hey common lah, come to my house garage”
        lol, how shallow minded are you?

• BMW BEST on Nov 29, 2012 at 6:47 pm

Then you should write c’mon instead of COMMON.They are totally different genius

• VWPASSAT owner on Nov 29, 2012 at 12:10 pm

Hope nobody is gonna try to compare this car to toyota camry , honda accord, k5 or even..err proton preve..haha

• BMW BEST on Nov 29, 2012 at 1:02 pm

Beautiful…no other words

• Great car , and expected from Jaguar , the engine note should sound better than Pavarotti and Einaudi combine(definitely better than Gangnam style and its variations) .
    But jaguar, could you loose that blue paint and that rear spoiler. In quite a trend here in Malaysia. It’s called the Ah Beng syndrome .

• MrDDR on Nov 29, 2012 at 1:24 pm

Lotus should come up with 4-doors like concept before.

• They did, its call the Etern, it’s like a Panamera rivaling super saloon that looks super awesome and was to be launch in 2017 under Dant Bahar ultra ambitious 5 cars plan.
      Sadly , Hicom has kicked Bahar out and replaced with someone most ppl outside Hicom don’t know. And the Etern and nearly all of lotus future , in the dustbin

• Nice car.. But didnt Jag cane out with XFR alrdy?

• Thinker on Nov 29, 2012 at 2:53 pm

£80k (RM390k) << Before excise duty
    "wow wee can actually afford :D"

RM390K + Excise Duty = RM 1.3 Million
    "WTF :\"

• Sam Loo Jr on Nov 29, 2012 at 2:59 pm

Low RV. You will be shown hilux and you will lose arm ang leg when u sell.

• like the M5, it’s also blue

• Man Van removals service on Nov 29, 2012 at 5:38 pm

my all wishes with Audi..its my dreamy car!

• Lol seriously. A typo there, i suppose to type come on la. Why on earth i wrote common. I’m so shy and red like tomato now.